Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Kiss My Lips and Swear to Die
  
81 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Rainbowtui Equilibria

28th August 2017:
Hey, I've read this a few times now and I have to say that it is one that I revisit and reread.I have enjoyed it and have fun imagining possible endings, I think my favourite at the moment however realistic or unrealistic it may be involves Freddie and Lyss gradually becoming comfortable with each other and their group of friends and their interwoven friendships maturing and strengthening as a result of the events. Perhaps even a glimmer of romance between Lyss and Freddie, a look ahead to the future (it has hope, unlike a flashback and I like hope, I need hope). Who knows, that's my current favourite. If these ramblings do inspire you somehow please do write because my imaginings are half-formed and I can't sink into them like I can with this story,and even when I get ideas they don't come out anywhere near as intelligibly as you can write. Apologies for the rambling.

 Report Review

Review #2, by BBHP Welcome to Reality

1st August 2017:
I am flying through this story so fast, I haven't even taken a minute to review. It's so, so good. I've loved every bit of it. The teenage angst, the friendships, the family relationships are all so perfect.

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks for giving this story a chance and taking some time to review. Reviews like this make me both happy and sad because on the one hand, I'm over the moon to see that you liked it, but on the other hand, it's on hold for the foreseeable future :(

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #3, by alias999 Equilibria

5th June 2017:
I've just had a marathon session reading this story. This is unique idea beautifully written. I was so disappointed to see that it is on hold. I hope you overcome your writer's block. Please please continue with this gripping story

Author's Response: Hi there!

Sorry it's taken me a while to reply. Unfortunately, I think this fic is indefinitely on hold :( Inspiration just ran dry for it and the lack of response at the time just made me depressed. I truly am sorry, but thank you for reading it and reviewing. I'm glad to know that there were people who enjoyed it.

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #4, by Sunshine The End

5th March 2017:
Hi! I just started reading this fic :)) You are a wonderful writer.

Leading up to this chapter, I was feeling really irked with how lightly all the characters were treating the fact that Freddie has been nonconcensually kissing Alyssa for years and I was waiting for some indication that she would acknowledge that his actions weren't okay.

Of course, accusing someone of rape is a really big deal and Alyssa is not completely fault-less, but Freddie kind of needed to realize that he had to stop.

Overall, I am really enjoying this story, these characters, and their interactions and can't wait to read the rest!

Author's Response: Hi,

Thank you for the review. I'm happy to see that you're enjoying it and you saw the real issue with how everyone is demonising Alyssa's reactions to Freddie. They're both flawed in the way they approach the situation, but his actions hold far more weight.

I'm sorry that I didn't continue this. I just lost all inspiration for it and wish that wasn't the case :/

Thank you for giving this fic a chance.

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #5, by luna1306 Equilibria

1st January 2017:
So it has been a couple of months now so I assume that this fic is now abandoned. So i just wanted to say thank you for an awesome story and to. Ad you've lost interest. Also I think it's really to bad no one reacts to your story (I've just read it in like a week time) because it was great.

So thanks and goodbye I guess

Author's Response: Hey,

Yes, this fic is on indefinite hold. When I first started this fic, I really enjoyed it and I loved seeing the response to it, but somewhere along the way, it all just fizzled out. I stopped enjoying writing it - it felt more like a chore than anything else - and people stopped responding at all. I know there are always more readers than reviewers but it felt like no one was even bothering with it in the first place. I came to ask myself whether it was worth it or not.

At first, I thought it was just because the chapters were so dreary. Once I started to make everything lighter again, I felt sure that my old muse would come back and people would start responding again. But that didn't happen. I had one sentence in CH20 for ages before I realised that I was doing no one any favours. It didn't seem like anyone would miss it if I stopped writing the fic.

It makes me really happy to hear that someone out there enjoyed it. I honestly can't believe you read it all in a week's time and I'm sorry to have abandoned it when I think of that.

There's still a chapter lying in wait if you'd like it? I wasn't planning on uploading it ever, but I did say that I would put it before I put the fic on hold. I just never got around to it.

Either way, thank you for reading the fic and thank you for reviewng.

Sorry,
Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #6, by Robin Equilibria

23rd October 2016:
did you drop the story?

Author's Response: hey,

to put it shortly: yes. kiss my lips and swear to die is on hold indefinitely. i don't want to officially abandon it because there is a chance i will return but it is not any time soon. why? well, i lost my enthusiasm for it months ago and was only updating out of loyalty to a mostly silent readership. across all websites, no one was responding to what i was writing - i mean, this is the only review on this site to this chapter, months after i updated to ask me if i've abandoned this! - so i figured no one would miss it.

i did explain why on tumblr a couple of months ago - if you would like a proper explanation, you can always drop by my ask box for a link to the post. i accept anon asks.

plums xo


 Report Review

Review #7, by Robert Greetings from Neverland

18th July 2016:
When's the next update coming up? You've updated Dormitory 2.6A several times since the last update. Please don't drop the story or something like that

Author's Response: Hey,

Worry not, I'm not abandoning this fic and there is a new chapter on the way. CH18 has been written in its entirety, but I need to work out some kinks before I put it up. It should be up by the end of next week at the very latest (I have a lot coming up or else it'd be online sooner). Yes, I have updated Dormitory 2.6A a lot more (though to be fair, half of those updates are just me adding in a CI), but that's because I've sort of hit a wall with KMLASTD. I know where I'm going with it, but the words just aren't going onto the page whereas with Dormitory 2.6A, I wrote 3k in my most recent setting.

Sorry for the long wait!

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #8, by beka_wotter Greetings from Neverland

6th June 2016:
I love the message you're conveying through the story but I also love it's becoming a little more lighthearted! Liv and Hayden have barely been in it but I already think they're super cute and I like Isabella a lot too! I really do feel quite sorry for Adelaide bless her, and I'll be even happier when James gets his camera back. Freddie and Alyssa moments are always interesting too! Can't wait for the next chapter x

Author's Response: Hey,

So glad you're liking the change in direction because so am I. It's exhausting writing all the angst and I can't wait to upload CH19 because that is almost completely ridiculous in its lightheartedness with just a hint of heaviness right at the end :)

Liv and Hayden have been meeting up with each other in 'secret' more months more or less and they are adorable.

James will be getting his camera back in the next chapter ;) But it's also a sort of heavy/reflective chapter since we find out just why he stopped wearing it in the first place.

Thank you for the lovely review!

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #9, by AIP Alexander Turning Tables

10th May 2016:
It really is an awesome story! One of my favorites in fact! Any idea when you'll get around to posting the next one?

Author's Response: Hey!

Aw, it's great to see you like the story and I am so so glad that it's a favourite of yours. It's currently exam season at the moment so I don't really have a lot of time to write or update, unfortunately. Thanks for the review!

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #10, by AIP Alexander Oh Snap

9th May 2016:
Hi! I just started to read the story, and even though i have several more chapters to go, i wanted to make note of how much i am enjoying the story so far. I love the fact that it's about Freddy for once, and for some reason i really enjoy the setup of your characters! I also find it hard to believe you haven't received any more reviews! Either way! i hope you keep posting new chapters cause i am sure to read through them at a faster rate than what you can write!

Author's Response: Hey,

Thank you for the review, you're such a sweetheart. I'm really glad that you've enjoyed it so far and I'm glad you like the characters! You're right, Freddie's not written about enough which is a shame because you can do so many things with that boy.

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #11, by bANAna Turning Tables

5th May 2016:
I love Alyssa, Freddie, and Liv so much! (I know Liv wasn't actually in this chapter, but I love her so much, I had to include her!) Thank you for this chapter, even with the writers block, it was great to read. Freddie and Lyss have both grown so much and I love seeing them interact when it is just the two of them. I enjoyed this chapter and the ending felt appropriately awkward and sweet. Can't wait to read the next one! Hopefully, we will see Freddy give Lyss another charm some time soon.

Author's Response: Hey,

Thank you for the review! It's great to hear that you like where it's going - I bet you're glad all of the killer shouty-angsty-drama chapters are behind us now, huh? :P There's plenty more of awkward Freddie to come with a (sort of) gentler Lyssa too. I love writing that.

Until next time,

Plums xo

(Sort of irrelevant, but oh my God, I didn't even realise that Liv wasn't in the chapter! I think she's been in all of them but two. Bloody hell.)


 Report Review

Review #12, by navyfail Hell Hath No Fury

24th April 2016:
I honestly thought I left a review on this chapter.
And then I come back to see I haven't, so sorry about that!

This chapter has so much going on, oh my!
Freddie actually uses the Great Hall as a platform to raise awareness for his mistake and Alyssa cuts off Sarah's hair! Not to mention that she even calls a teacher out for just standing there and doing nothing!

I have to say everyone's reactions were very interesting.

I mean there was this:
"You can't blame him. Have you seen how short the dresses she wears on the weekends are?”

“It’s bloody Scotland. Have some self-respect.”

And then there was people like Isabella.

Both girls and boys were really nasty, I have to say. I mean there were girls defending Freddie and shaming Lyssa and there were boys saying she a tease! Even though the accusations and explanations that came out after were horrible, I have to say they were pretty realistic. Teenagers aren't the nicest I have to say. And in school you actually notice more bullying and mean comments passed than nice things.

I love how Liv keeps standing up for Lyssa and I'm really curious about her secret. I'm sure in time we'll know but I'm still very interested. I also like how the two friends agreed to take their time telling each other. Sometimes we all need time and space, ya know?

I think the ending was kind of brilliant really. Sarah seems like she's kind of getting the whole picture now, and I think that is really important since if she is beginning to wrap her head around it maybe others will too! I also like Isabella a lot and hope she is around more often. She seems very levelheaded, a quality I tend to like in characters. And the last line really sums the situation about Freddy well and was a great ender!

Can't wait for the next chapter and lovely chapter, as always!

~Sama

P.S. I didn't look over this review so please excuse any majo grammar/spelling mistakes.

Author's Response: Hey,

Haha, no worries, we all do that ;) I've made that mistake more times than I can count. Anyways, onto the review. My responses will probably be all over the place, just saying.

Yeah, even though Freddie's changed, he's still...well, Freddie and when you couple his penchant for dramatics with his guilt, it was inevitable that he was going to bring the issue to light so publicly. This chapter really sees some important issues come to light - for example, the way that teachers simply stood by and did nothing as you said. Then, there's the comments that other people have on his announcement with a lot of people saying some really mean stuff, especially because Alyssa's seen as this really moody, mean Gryffindor and Freddie is genuinely popular and liked. For many people, there's really no win-win situation for Lyssa which was pretty horrible to write, but necessary.

Liv's secret is really harmless, she's just overthinking it. She's going to realise that in a couple of chapters :)

Phew. Glad that the ending worked out okay - I really did struggle with it since it was a really heavy chapter. Sarah and Isabella are representative of two viewpoints and Isabella's *slight* success in getting Sarah to see the other side. Isabella's slowly going to slide into the chapters as a secondary character to shake things up a bit and get Lyssa a new friend after so long.

Next chapter will be submitted into the queue by the end of this week!

Thanks for the lovely review,

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #13, by RoseVaughan A Lost Boy

28th March 2016:
What a strong story teller you are! Absolutely love this story to the point where I have read all the published chapters in one sitting.

Whilst dealing with the issues raised in the story sensitively, the teenage dramatics and angst come through and leave me with the hope that they will find a level of maturity that signals their transition into young adults.

I'm hoping for Fred and Lyssa to end up together with Lyssa revealing a softer side to her character, like that when with her family and Liv, and Fred realising he can be who he wants to be rather than what others expect of him.

Looking forward to the next few chapters especially the ones where happiness comes back to the characters.

Oh and I really like that you highlighted how messed up the Wotters are because of the war, I mean after all they had to go through of course they were going to have issues coming to terms with the consequences of such horrific sights and acts.

Take care and please update soon

Author's Response: Hey,

First of all, thank you very much *blushes* I'm so glad that you like the story so much and I managed to suck you in, especially because this is one of the stories where I'm always somewhat stressed out about whether I've portrayed everything correctly. I want to bring to light the serious issues that are explored here, but I also want to do it in a (semi) realistic fashion since as you said there will be teenage dramatics and angst when writing about teenagers. KMLASTD really is about the tipping point when they do transition into more mature people.

I feel like you summarised what's going to ultimately happen when you said "I'm hoping for Fred and Lyssa to end up together with Lyssa revealing a softer side to her character, like that when with her family and Liv, and Fred realising he can be who he wants to be rather than what others expect of him." Though Freddie's change is the more drastic one, I'm hoping for the two characters to influence each other to become better people.

Don't worry, the happiness is on its way. It's going to take a small transition from angst to reflective before it's fully blown banter, but it's a-coming.

Yeah, I think that fics sometimes gloss over the fact that the Weasleys would be scarred significantly by the war and that the kids would pick up on some stuff as they grew up, even if the adults tried to hide it. Fair enough, it's not relevant in many fics, but I think it slotted in nicely here, especially when considering Freddie's character.

Thank you for the lovely and insightful review,

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #14, by Purplenotebook A Lost Boy

12th March 2016:
Does Alyssa have mental disabilities? I mean she didn't care when she held fire in her hands and her pain or other people's pain doesn't affect her. She also pushes people who care about her away. That's not really normal.
I hope Fred can help her get through with whatever issues this may be.(I love Fred)

Author's Response: Hey,

No, I don't think she does have any, though it's an interesting point you make. The incident with the burning picture in her hands was when it finally clicked in her mind that her dad had left because he didn't want to be a part of her life. She was aware of the physical pain, but too upset to care because she just wanted to get rid of his picture. I suppose her lack of care for other people's feelings can be read in the way you're interpreting it; personally, I see it as a personality trait, but it would certainly be interesting for it to be deeper. You've actually given me something to think about - thanks for that! :D

Freddie and Lyssa will (sort of) be helping each other with their issues, but there will be a greater focus on his.

Thanks for the review!

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #15, by Mirrormirrorlove A Lost Boy

11th March 2016:
Oh my gosh Freddy is such a sweetie. He is such a gentleman and only wishes to please her but alyssa is just cruel. She is constantly only thinking about herself and yes kissing without permission is wrong but she doesn't have the right to ruin Freddy's life bc of it and send him to theropy. But all the same I'm super shipping them and absolutely cannot wait until they get together!!!

Author's Response: Hey,

I don't think Alyssa is cruel. Yes, she is exceptionally self-centred, but do remember that she has been the focus of gossip for the past few days and has always sort of been in the spotlight because Freddie kissed her without permission. She didn't ruin Freddie's life. He is responsible for his own actions and he recognises that - hence him going to therapy of his own accord because he personally wants to be better.

Thank you for reading and taking the time to review. Things will be getting better for them soon so stick around if you want to see them together :)

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #16, by annimal16 A Lost Boy

11th March 2016:
He
Love the story it suced me right up.

Author's Response: Thank you!

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #17, by coolcoolcool A Lost Boy

7th March 2016:
I like Lyssa and I think she's right and I don't think she was ever over-reacting to the stuff Freddie did. I feel like Freddie doesn't deserve her actually haha but I am not adverse to them making up but only if Freddie works through his issues.

Author's Response: Hey,

Yay! Another person that likes Alyssa. I'm glad you agree with me on all those points. Thank you for reading and reviewing!

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #18, by princesslily_36 Oh Snap

6th March 2016:
FOR THE HPFF REVIEW-A-THON

That letter at the beginning was very telling of how close Alyssa is with her mum, it was nice to know she mentions Freddie a lot to her as well. Wonder what her mum had to say about that. Mothers tend to be exceptionally perceptive about these things, especially when it comes to their daughters, right? Especially the kind of mum you have described, the one who would conduct a Ministry search if she didn't respond :D

“Try again,” she says sweetly. - Ah Liv... what else are friends for if they don't call you at your nonsense and force you to come out with the truth. And of course, whispering 'ship names' like you mentioned. I love that!

Okay. I do NOT like Sarah Fancourt. I know, I'm not supposed to. But really, taking a jibe at somebody's monetary status is SO NOT COOL. *sorry I get worked up about things like that* and then the outright LIES. She continued to do that during the detention. Now I'm really mad. Well, Freddie Weasley would never go for that bird, definitely not. But then again, he's so self-involved he didn't notice that Alyssa was REALLY in a bad mood *shakes head reproachfully at Freddie* He did try to be supportive, I appriciate that... just wish Alyssa did too :P

XOXO
Ysh

PS: Now I want a Toblerone too!

Author's Response: Hey Ysh,

I know her mum only appears briefly, but yeah, Lyssa loves her mum to bits and vice versa. I always thought it'd be incredibly hard for them to be apart because they are literally the most important people in each other's lives. And yes, she does mention Freddie (along with Adelaide and James) quite frequently in her letters... She just doesn't realise it ;)

Liv and Adelaide have totally been shipping Freddie/Lyssa (Fralyssa??) since Day One. Not so much in future chapters for Liv, mostly out of steadfast loyalty/guilt, but things always change.

Ah. Sarah Fancourt. I don't like her much either. I had this brief change of heart when I was going over chapters/planning out future ones where I felt I had done her a great disservice. She falls very obviously into the Annoying Evil Girl Out To Steal Love Interest and wanted to make readers understand her POV later on - not agree, but understand. . . It didn't work out. Sarah Fancourt will forever be the girl that would flaunt her status while she's in a setting like Hogwarts and try to get away with it. She's just plain old petty.

Freddie, like many boys, doesn't know when to take a clue. He genuinely thought he was helping. He wasn't.

Thank you for the review! :)

Plums xo

Omg. Now I want a Toblerone too. But it's almost midnight and it's a bank holiday. *cries in pain*


 Report Review

Review #19, by navyfail A Lost Boy

6th March 2016:
For the HPFF Review-A-Thon

I don't know if I'm happy the whole chapter was on Lyssa and Freddie or sad that they are no where near getting along yet. Don't get me wrong, they finally cleared most everything up but they've both changed so much, especially Freddie. And I just want them both to be normal again! But nevertheless I like some of the points you brought up in this chapter, especially how Freddie pointed out how no one ever tells you that kissing a girl without permission is wrong, not directly anyway. And also I love how you made Freddie mention that everyone in the school actually encouraged him instead of putting him down for his actions which is very true and actually happens a lot. And when Lyssa told him that to everyone he was the golden boy whether he thought of himself as that or not, I saw myself in her... because even if I'm not brave I probably would have pointed that out as well.

But on to my favorite part: he outright admitted he likes her and she finally accepts that he did all of that because he likes her! No more going around the subject! And throughout when they are talking Freddie has to stop himself from being amused and smiling and oh my, he is so adorable!

I think it's obvious that I still ship them because even if they aren't at a good place right now I do believe they will somehow work everything out. You know after Freddie redeems himself by switching his actions and Lyssa begins to see him a bit more differently.

Also on last thing: you started this story out with Lyssa stating that she isn't a damsel in distress and that Freddie doesn't need to save her. Is it just me or did Freddie in a way end up being the one who needed saving?

Anyway, I look forward to future updates as usual! And I'm super excited that the major angsty bits are almost done because even though I love angst I really do miss the lightheartedness of this fic! And old Fredddie, of course. ;)

Till next time...

~Sama

Author's Response: Hey,

I am finally responding, instead of being a waste of space and being unproductive ;)

Hm, I'd suggest being both happy and sad since we humans are complex characters. But no seriously, even though they're not yet getting along, they're taking a step in the right direction and that's what matters. They would never be able to get along without clearing the air. Now that most of it's out of the way, they'll start easing into an entirely new dynamic.

Hint. Hint.

Yeah, I'm actually surprised by how much Freddie's changed too because I wasn't intending to do it that drastically. However, this is just the immediate aftermath of him finding out the magnitude of his actions and as he said himself, he was always "one of the good guys". With the people he has for family, he feels like he's seriously failed everyone, including himself. Rest assured, however, the easy going Freddie will be back (with the help of a much too curious Lyssa among others).

Yes, I think the fact that there was no one else telling him to back off is a really important thing to mention. People can be easily influenced by everyone else's reactions and people were encouraging him to go on. So he did.

Yes, another milestone has been reached! Freddie likes her and she accepts it. Now that is some serious character development if I say so myself. And yeah, even as she's more or less bringing his flaws to the light, he still fancies her. He just can't help admiring/being amused by her, really :P

As for the shipping, it's one step at a time. I am pleased to say that this is the lowest point in their relationship and things will be going up from here onwards. Of course, it won't be completely smooth sailing.

Bloody hell. That last point did not occur to me, but I think it might just be my favourite comment.

(I am so putting that on my tumblr at some point. Don't worry, you'll be credited :P )

Don't worry, I miss the lighthearted bits too! I've just submitted the last really heavy chapter and I am actually writing the chapter where James is happy again. That's right - JAMES AND FREDDIE ARE COMING BACK SOON.

Thank you for the lovely review!

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #20, by princesslily_36 The Sleeping Beauty of Gryffindor Tower

6th March 2016:
FOR THE HPFF REVIEW-A-THON

Another one for the round!

Haha, Loved the parallels to Math and Ancient Runes! I personally was hopeless at match, so I totally feel Olivia here. And her wanting to rush to the bathroom - SO. DARN. REAL. Your scenes, your characterizations, your emotions have always been so darn real! How do you do that? How do you write like that?

The Disastrous Effects of Amortentia ? Wizarding chick-lit? You're killing me here Plums. You really are! And ALyssa is so disdainful of it. Well of course, she likes 'To Kill a Mockingbird' AND idolizes Hermione, why wouldn't she?

I've read SO MANY characterizations of Molly Weasley, especially over the last two days - but a NOTORIOUS BLACK MARKET RUNNER isn't on any one of them! Percy's daughter doing everything illegal imaginable? Whoa! But honestly, nice of her to stick up for Colin, even if she did in a very Bellatrix-Lestrange kind of way if I might say so :D

For the next five minutes, we all do our own things... - The imagery this paragraph created was my ABSOLUTE favorite. The common room scene was just in the air, right in front of my eyes.

Poor Fred, all he wanted was five minutes, and he sounded honestly genuine about it, why couldn't she just give him that? But I did like that they were having a decent enough banter by the end of the scene. And the ending was precious. Knock off the seeker was what she said!

XOXO
Ysh

Author's Response: Hello again ;)

I actually was alright at Maths, but I know some of my friends struggled so when I'd rattle off something I had just done, they'd stare at me blankly. Now I'm the one looking blank as everyone goes on variables in Psychology so I totally know how Liv feels too :P

I'm not even joking, I'm pretty sure that little tidbit about the bathroom arose from me asking myself why no one needs to take a quick trip to the loo in fics. Like I'm pretty sure it's a necessity. So I just decided to slot it in haha.

Also thank you ;)

Wizarding chick lit must be the best chick lit. ENOUGH SAID. And Lyssa's totally snobby about it, like "who cares about whether Stefanie Finkle goes dateless to the Yule Ball when Atticus is dealing with the real problems?" but even she is not immune to The Disastrous Effects of Amortentia.

No one is.

I don't even know where that characterisation of Molly Weasley came from. I was writing and she just barged into the scene like the black market ruler she is and to be honest, I love it. Powerful women are always a plus and I just love how she's the complete opposite to Percy in his school days.

Poor Freddie indeed. I mean, the poor bloke's been straddling a broomstick for hours. With Crazy Ste Spinnet. That's not something to take lightly.

And of course he'd do what she suggested. :P

Thanks for the review!

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #21, by princesslily_36 The Flood of Frustration

6th March 2016:
FOR THE HPFF REVIEW-A-THON

PLUMS! Best time to be reviewing KMLASTD!

Olivia, however, is. "We had an essay?" she hisses to me, eyes wide. - HAHAHA!! This is so me! I have been in this position SO MANY TIMES in high school! Loved this! Also, Professor Chang seems to be filling McGonagall's shoes to perfection - the scary exterior and expecting perfection and being so totally unrelenting about Quidditch... Especially this line - I was a seeker once; I know that it's possible to balance homework and extracurriculars."

Evanesco is indeed the - James Potter, let go of your camera or else I will confiscate it.” - James Potter is really something isn't he (whichever era might he belong to!) Love the Fred and James troublemakers scene, very much like their namesakes! However, Freddie's the smitten one here isn;t he? (and very cutely so!)

Olivia is still sticking to her stance that Fred and Alyssa should get together (Listen to her, woman!), despite the fact that Alyssa can't bear to hear it. I wonder why she thinks dating is reckless or pointless? Darn, why is she refusing to admit that Freddie fancies her?

“Sexually?” he suggests wickedly. - OMG! I laughed so hard at that! I mean, not just that, the build up the preceded and her reaction that followed.

LOVE. LOVE. LOVED IT.

XOXO
~Ysh

Author's Response: YSH,

Classic Liv - forgetting her homework, I mean. She's a good student, but essays are just so not her thing. I don't think they're anyone's thing, really :P *Memories of me widening my eyes and saying forlornly, "Miss, I think I've left mine at home - I looked everywhere and can't seem to find it!" come to mind*

Oh, I do love James, even though he's been very morbid for the past few chapters at the moment. He and Freddie just can't help themselves with the troublemaking - it's literally in their genes.

Alyssa mostly thinks that dating is pointless because of her dad. It's something casually mentioned throughout the fic, but it'll properly be explained later on - basically the fact that her dad walked out on them made her write off relationships for life. Admitting that Freddie fancies her leads the way to something she doesn't particularly like the sound of.

I JUST HAD TO WRITE THAT LINE. It was just too good an opportunity to miss and one that Freddie definitely would've pounced on it. You just KNOW he would.

Thanks for the review! :*

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #22, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap The Flood of Frustration

6th March 2016:
“For the HPFF Review-A-Thon”

“Yes, Lyssa. The boy that has been kissing you for the past two years has no feelings for you.”

Yes, well…I thought the same thing too but really I was in denial because I too thought relationships were a waste of time. If anything they’re a lot of work so you do waste a lot of time. What? I’m cynical.

Anyway, I still like Fred. Actually I thought he was extremely likeable and not that unbearable in this chapter. He doesn’t go over the top with his comments. At least not yet anyway so I just see him as silly, charming and a bit of a lighthearted goofball.

Another thing I really liked about the chapter was the fact that you changed the scene quite a bit. I have a hard time setting the scene and then going from one place to another so whenever someone else does it with ease I have to compliment them on it.

I also liked the addition of To Kill a Mockingbird. I’ve just never seen it done in a story on HPFF. No one really makes outside references unless they write a completely AU story and I say why not, it’s completely plausible they would have had to read the book.

It’s a muggle classic!

I think my only thing was the end. I kind of felt like the end was sort of flat. I can’t put my finger on why exactly but it just didn’t completely work for me. Maybe it was the closing line. That could be it. It needs a little bit more oomph.

Author's Response: Hello again :)

Oh my God, your response to that line is exactly what's happened with Lyssa. In CH14, she finally accepts that Freddie fancies her, but she doesn't really care because she thinks relationships are a waste of time. o_O

Freddie's a bit of sweetheart in that sense. Really, being lighthearted is what he's about and he just likes messing around - half of his comments to Lyssa aren't even that serious. Yeah, he fancies her, but most of it's teasing, really. It's the other stuff that's his major flaw.

I understand what you mean about the difficulty with transitioning from scene to scene so thank you complimenting me on that ;)

A Muggle classic, indeed! It really is plausible that they would read at least one Muggle classic if they're studying Muggleborns. I think I mostly included it because I was reading it at that moment, but the argument still stands.

Oh my God, that ending! I spent so long on it, trying to figure out how to make it better because I totally get the bit about how it's a little flat and not being able to figure out just what's off about it. I'll probably come back to it at the end and fix it up.

Sigh.

C'est la vie, as they say.

Thank you for the review.

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #23, by dirtydeedsdonedirtcheap Unwilling Damsels

6th March 2016:
“For the HPFF Review-A-Thon”

Freddie wraps his arm around me again. “We’ve been together for nearly two years now.”

Lord, the forwardness of this one.

“Welcome back, Weasley,” I say, “and stop kissing me before I snap your wand.”

That can be taken two different ways. Either way if I was him I would be afraid.

Okay, so I’m really glad I decided to read this! I was a little put off only because my name is Alyssa too so I tend to stay away from stories where the characters and I share the same name. It’s funny because I have the same attitude that she does and dealt with an idiot who kept trying to kiss me all throughout high school even after we broke up in college too.

Maybe I kissed him back a few times.

Well, this isn’t about me and my poor dating decisions. ANYWAY.

I thought the chapter flowed wonderfully. I liked her narrative. I think she’s a compelling character because she’s strong from the very beginning but I guess we will find out her weaknesses later on in the story because let’s be real, everyone has a weakness.

I also really like Freddie. I think he’s funny but it’s not too over the top where I’d completely consider calling him a sleazeball. He clearly just doesn’t know how to act around a girl and she makes it worse by getting all riled up.

That was a lesson I am still learning today. Ha-ha.

Oh! I also like her friend. I think she’s a good compliment to her character and I can’t wait to see what kind of trouble they all stir up together.

Author's Response: Hello!

Your reviewing skills are pretty admirable since this had me laughing out loud (and my dad looking at me with a decidely unimpressed expression) :P

Freddie is very forward indeed. Probably not the wisest thing since - as you said - "stop kissing me before I snap your wand" really could be taken both ways and I'm sure Lyssa would be happy to oblige with both interpretations at this point XD

You know what, I'm really glad you decided to read this too! I can see why you'd be put off if you shared the first name with a character - I imagine it'd be something like reading fan fiction about yourself almost - though thankfully, I have never had to deal with that. One of the perks of having an Arabic name that's not too popular, it seems. And wow, if Lyssa does share some traits with you, I can see why you'd be even more put off! I feel like I have to give you a gift for reading this now ;)

Yay! Another person on Team Lyssa. A lot of people think she's unnecessarily unpleasant, but I quite like the fact that she's like that - not everyone can skip over rainbows and sprinkle glitter. Yes, she's a fiercely independent character and I guess that might be both a strength and a weakness. She's so proud of herself for being like so that she's obstinate.

Also, thank you. Glad you like the narrative and the flow of it.

FREDDIE. I feel like you've summarised him pretty well - what he's doing is wrong, but he's not doing it with malicious intents or because he feel entitled to Lyssa. He genuinely doesn't understand that it's wrong and, as we see later on, is very willing to change. He's a complicated character to write, that Freddie.

Thank you for the review!

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #24, by beka_wotter Chinese Whispers

28th February 2016:
Loving this story, it's a lot deeper than I thought it would be but it's a refreshing change and not the typical hate each other fall in love story line, can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Haha, it's deeper than what I thought it'd be too! Thank you for reading and reviewing :*

Plums xo


 Report Review

Review #25, by Carmela xx Chinese Whispers

28th February 2016:
Wow that was brilliant! I can't wait to read the next chapter litreally I think I might die if I don't read the next chapter within a week, so update soon!! This was such a great chapter and I feel sorry for poor Alyssa. What's going on with James!? I hope it's all revealed in the next chapter, anyway excellent chapter Alyssa was as witty and sarcastic, and just overall great, as always! Can't wait for the next chapter.

P.S sorry for the slightly overdramatic review :)!

Author's Response: Hey,

Haha don't be sorry about being excited - I love overdramatic reviews and I am also an overdramatic reviewer :D

The next chapter will actually be coming soon for once. I have a couple of things to put into the queue, but then CH14 is coming to HPFF.

Yay, I'm glad people are starting to feel some sympathy for Alyssa, especially because I know she's not the nicest person in the world.

Thank you for the review!

Plums xo


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>