9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by wolfgirl17 Killer in Me and the Killer in You

18th November 2014:
Hey Olivia!

Wolfgirl here for Review Tag!

This story was really interesting. Rodolphus is mentioned so infrequently in the books that your characterization if him really captured my attention. It's strange to think of anyone being able to love Bellatrix, and I always wondered how anyone could when she is so clearly in love with the Dark Lord.

Not to mention those rotting teeth =/

But anyway, this story was really interesting. I kind of like the way you him loving her in spite of her obvious dislike for him and the way you had him use her obsession with the Dark Lord to continue to live. Very Slytherin indeed.

I'm kind of sad this is just a one-shot. You've really hooked me with this persona of Rodolphus.

Keep up the great work!

xx-Wolfgirl

 Report Review

Review #2, by Cannons Killer in Me and the Killer in You

25th October 2014:
Hi there, stopping by from the Review Tag!

I must admit I have never paid this pairing much, if any, attention at all. You have done a really good job at humanizing a murderer, someone nobody should pity, and yet I can't help feeling slightly bad for Rodolphus.

Through showing us his love for his wife you prove that everyone has feelings and ambitions no matter how 'evil' they are or what they have done. The comparison with Bellatrix is striking and points Rodolphus in an even better light.

I really liked how you subtly described Azkaban, it gave the story some depth.

My favourite line was this one - In some ways, Rodolphus thought it was weird that Bellatrix didn't love him; they were alike in so many ways, most of them relating to the Mark they both carried on their forearms. -- It really enforced the idea that there was more to Rodolphus then first meets the eye.

I really enjoyed reading this through and thought it was a powerful and thought provoking piece.

Cannons

 Report Review

Review #3, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Killer in Me and the Killer in You

20th October 2014:
Wow. Just, wow. I am pretty much speechless. This is so different from anything I have ever read.

First off, I've never read something from Rudolphus' point of view, or even about he and Bella's relationship. And I never thought in a million years that I would wind up feeling sorry for Rudolphus Lestrange... but by the end of this, I did! And that just goes to show how incredibly talented you are!

Now that I think about it, I think that the way you portrayed their relationship is probably EXACTLY how it would have been - this is very believable, and I think you were really able to get inside Rudolphus' head and take a close look at how that would have affected him.

This was intriguing and interesting and just flat-out awesome!

Author's Response: This review... thank you *hugs*

When I started writing this, I didn't think I would end up making myself feel sorry for Rodolphus Lestrange. But somehow that happened. *looks confused*

I think this is a very accurate description of reality. We know JKR said that Bellatrix loved Voldemort, so Rodolphus was just... there, but we didn't know his feelings, so I thought I'd write about that.

Thank you for this amazing review... again.

~Olivia


 Report Review

Review #4, by Veritaserum27 Killer in Me and the Killer in You

2nd October 2014:
Hello!

I'm here from the BvB battle from the common room.

I'm so glad I chose this story - I think you did a great job portraying Rodolphus as a man in love. He isn't deluding himself to think that Bellatrix feels the same way but he can't help himself from loving her and caring for her all the same. That's what love is - a selfless act. He is even willing to accept that Bella loves the Dark Lord and although he feels guilty for using that power, he still does what he does out of love for his wife.

I also like how you conveyed the decrepit conditions of Azkaban. Your descriptions were fantastic and while I can't feel sorry for Bellatrix and Rodolphus, I could totally understand their discomfort.

Nice job putting so much emotion and description into so few words!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Hi Beth!

Rodolphus's love is definitely selfless, in that he would do anything for Bellatrix, even knowing full well how little he means to her. Even though he accepts that Voldemort has won the battle for Bellatrix's heart - even though he never entered in it - he's still jealous of his master because of that. His wedding ring, which means a lot to him, is a prop to Bellatrix, so she can say she made a good marriage.

Azkaban is definitely a filthy place. And while I can't see anyone feeling sorry for Bellatrix and Rodolphus, they definitely are living in squalor.

Thanks for this lovely review!

~Olivia


 Report Review

Review #5, by patronus_charm Killer in Me and the Killer in You

12th September 2014:
Hey there!

Ooh this was really interesting to read as it was such a unique viewpoint and I honestly never expected Rodolphus to be like that when I started reading it. I really liked the fact he genuinely seemed to love and care for Bellatrix as it does give me some hope that the Death Eaters were in fact somewhat normal.

You included tons of little mannerisms to show that he did care for her which was really sweet and I really loved them all. I think my favourite one and the one which stayed with me for the longest was the one when he was trying to get her to eat and push her a long a little bit more so she could be with her Dark Lord again and that strange idea was really interesting to read.

The ending was really sad! I never thought I would pity a Death Eater but I certainly did then because while they were in Azkaban there was no Dark Lord and no rival for his affections so Bellatrix was just his, but now they were out of it again he was back in second place and just generally forgotten. Though, it just goes to show how great your characterisation of him was if you made me pity him which was something I never thought would have happened.

Great one-shot! :D

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hi Kiana!

I thought that since we only know one-side of Bellatrix and Rodolphus's relationship I would write my view of the other side. Although the Death Eaters certainly aren't normal, they can love - a canon example being Lucius Malfoy.

Rodolphus was fleshed out more than what was presented in the books; he was a minor, malevolent character who, it was assumed, was entirely bad. The fact that JKR didn't say what Rodolphus felt towards his wife gave me so much room to write this. He's definitely torn between two goals: serving the Dark Lord and getting Bellatrix to love him back, which is impossible while Voldemort is alive.

I'm glad you enjoyed it and thanks for the lovely review!

~Olivia


 Report Review

Review #6, by milominderbinder Killer in Me and the Killer in You

7th September 2014:
Reviewing for Team Blue!

This was a really interesting story. I can honestly say I've never read a story about Rodolphus before and I hadn't even really thought about him much, but this has suddenly made me so curious about his life.

I suppose I always imagined he would be very similar to Bellatrix, in that sort of twisted and evil and single minded way - and I suppose he sort of is, but you also gave him redeeming qualities here with his love for Bellatrix, which made this really interesting and complex to read.

Even though he is a killer, and admits that he thought they would fall in love because they are both killers, he is almost nurturing towards her. Trying to get her to eat and helping her survive even if it means manipulating her emotions slightly, shows a deep care for her which actually made me feel for him.

It's so sad that he accepts she will probably not love him back the same way he loves her, but continues to love her anyway, and try and look after her. It's so interesting to see such an evil person portrayed in a loving way, and it just goes to show how complex people can be, with so many different facets to their personalities. That made this feel very realistic, so I loved your characterisation of him.

My favourite lines were:

Now, what he didn't know was whether she had been insane before and it was just starting to show now. - this was really interesting because his love for her didn't diminish at all even when he thought she might have always been crazy.

Even if she was going to hate him again, he could still love her privately, the way he had loved her ever since they got married (and before that). - this sentiment is so sweet and also sad!

So yeah, I thought this story was good, well done!

~Maia

Author's Response: Hi Maia!

Yes, Rodolphus is a rather overlooked Death Eater, isn't he? He would be similar to Bellatrix - anyone sadistic enough to torture Frank and Alice would definitely belong in the Death Eater camp.

I thought since we didn't know Rodolphus's side of the marriage I would come up with this. He definitely has more than one part to him - I really don't like characters who are evil through and through (so I suppose if you rationalize enough Voldemort had a reason for going bad - he was really mad about being abandoned in a Muggle orphanage.)

I think a part of him always knew that something wasn't quite right with Bellatrix. If he was married that long to someone like her he would definitely know their mind.

There is definitely a bit of sadness in this, especially since we know how this ends - Bellatrix dies and we don't know what happens to Rodolphus - if Tonks kills him in the Battle of the Seven Potters, or if he was defeated at the Battle of Hogwarts.

Thank you for the lovely review!

~Olivia


 Report Review

Review #7, by StarlightAsteria Killer in Me and the Killer in You

27th August 2014:
Hi!

I thought this was such an interesting portrayal of Bellatrix and Rodolphus's relationship - you do a very good job of making them more than simply evil death eaters, and making me feel actually quite sorry for two characters who are traditionally seen as the villains of the piece.

Rodolphus caring (as much as he is able) for Bellatrix in Azkaban I found strangely touching and genuinely sad - it isn't a take that many people have chosen to portray.

Well done!

Celi xx

Author's Response: Hi Celi!

Yes, Bellatrix and Rodolphus are usually portrayed one way, aren't they? They're elitist servants of Lord Voldemort who hate everybody. While I'm willing to admit that that is a perfect description of Bellatrix, we don't know enough about Rodolphus to make that judgement.

I thought since nothing was known about Rodolphus's feelings towards Bellatrix I should contribute something. His bitterness about being second to Voldemort is a nice contrast with his desire to serve.

Thanks for reviewing!

~Olivia


 Report Review

Review #8, by Infinityx Killer in Me and the Killer in You

8th August 2014:
Review tag!

This is the first story I've read from Rodolphus' PoV, and I loved it. Initially, I thought it would be dark, filled with filthiness and terror that comes along with any Azkaban scenario. But this was a whole other perspective and brought out a new depth to Rodolphus.

The way you've characterized him and his thoughts about being a Death Eater are so different from anything I've read before. I think we all forget that Death Eaters are human beings too, but without the compassion that others feel. Here, it didn't seem like he was a cruel person at all. You showed a whole other side to him, one of a man who is desperately in love with a woman who couldn't care less.

I love how you've shed some light on the humanistic side of Rudolphus and I my heart just went out to him when I read this. Great work!

~Erin

Author's Response: Hello, and thanks for the lovely review!

With this story, I wanted to show that Death Eaters were human as well, and were just as capable of love as the "good guys". I thought Rodolphus and Bellatrix's relationship was a perfect opportunity to do this, since JKR said in an interview that Bellatrix loved Voldemort.

~Olivia


 Report Review

Review #9, by 800 words of heaven Killer in Me and the Killer in You

6th August 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

First review! Woohoo! I don't often read Rodolphus stories, mostly because they're scarce to be found, so I was intrigued enough to give this a go.

Oddly, I felt myself sympathising and empathising for Rodolphus. His love seemed genuine and he obviously understood his wife well. It was sad to see him accept that Bellatrix would never love him, but I admired him for sticking through their marriage anyway and wanting to keep her alive. Many people would be driven to anger and hate, especially since they were in Azkaban.

I really enjoyed this look into Rodolphus' mind. His matter-of-fact acceptance of his lot in life and his bad luck in love was so endearing. Even his talk of essentially being assassins was nice to read. I loved that he treats them as part of his life - he doesn't make a big deal out of it. Some people are accountants. He's an assassin for the Dark Lord.

Lovely read :)

Author's Response: Hello! I figured that not a lot of people would write about him, so I decided to try.

Personally, I find that the majority of Death Eaters, aside from Snape and sometimes Lucius, tend to be portrayed as evil through and through, and not capable of love (which some of them no doubt are). It leaves plenty of leeway for writing without having to stick an AU label on it.

Thanks for the lovely review :)



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login