Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Hogwarts Reclaimed
  
65 Reviews Found

Review #1, by UnluckyStar57 Ravenclaw - Alexfan

12th June 2015:
Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015

Hi there! I love this look at Neville after the Battle, and I also like that you sort of showed a zoomed-out look at Harry and everyone as they milled about after the Battle. Of course, everyone was doing their own thing, but there were lots and lots of people who wanted to bump fists with the Boy Who Lived and celebrate.

But Neville, that shy guy, needed his quiet moment. He's going to be very popular, definitely, as all unsung heroes usually are, but I can tell that he doesn't want it. Nah, he's more of a plant guy, sitting amongst his plants and being all chill. It's a good thing that Luna is there to provide a sanctuary in the midst of all the chaos. Although I don't ship Neville/Luna all the time (I'm a sucker for a good Neville/Hannah or a Luna/Rolf), I can see the potential for a ship right there. Even if it's just a friendship, they're definitely rock solid in that category. And they're both such cuties anyway, and I think you captured their post-Battle relationship quite perfectly in such a small space of words.

Well done on this!!

 Report Review

Review #2, by UnluckyStar57 Ravenclaw - BookDinoaur

12th June 2015:
Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015

Ah, the infamous sentient Puffapod! I should've read this last year, but I'm glad that I saved it until now. Inanimate objects with feelings and thoughts are always my favorite things to read about, and I had a good laugh at the dorky lil' Puffapod's expense. (Oh, excuse me, I meant PEDIGREED Puffapod.)

The Puffapod, like any good soldier, thinks of their mother's wisdom when going off to war. Holding themself high as they fell into battle was a remarkable show of character. I think the Puffapod is probably a Hufflepuff, because they found a way to combat the icky Death Eaters, trolol. And I love that Professor Sprout came back to care for the Puffapod personally. I think that Sprout probably understands the Puffapod--she probably speaks the same language and everything!

Very cute chapter. I like this Puffapod, I think!

 Report Review

Review #3, by UnluckyStar57 Ravenclaw - Leonore

12th June 2015:
Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015

Hi Leo! I love Neville, so this is a good chapter for me to visit. :)

Neville is a character that always catches my eye, because I am still so amazed at his transformation throughout the series. He started out as such a shy, stuttering kid, and then he became a leader. So that letter from his gran is huge, especially since he spent most of his Hogwarts career feeling like he had to somehow measure up to the achievements of his parents to be worthy of his gran's attention. Now he's achieved his own things, and I'm super glad that his gran acknowledged that.

Dumbledore's Army Forever, indeed! It's a great slogan, and I'm glad that you chose it to be a sort of representative moment from all those times when the DA was subversively leaving those messages all over the school. It looks like it was a routine mission for Neville, but there was so much at stake. He could've been caught, but this time, he made it back safely. Happy endings are always best to think about, especially when it's so late at night. :)

Great chapter! It's nice to see such a normal moment in the midst of all the hullabaloo that goes on.

~UnluckyStar57

 Report Review

Review #4, by UnluckyStar57 Ravenclaw - BookDinosaur

12th June 2015:
Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015

Hi Emily! Awww, this is so cute! I love cats, and I love Luna, so combining the two things makes perfect sense.

Erica is quite an adorable person. Her concern for her cat is above all other needs, like food, rest, comfort, et cetera, and I think cats actually prefer that they are the center of everyone's universe. So going on a quest to find a cat is logical. It's like looking for an incredibly fluffy, purring Holy Grail.

Luna is the perfect character to help Erica on her quest, especially since Luna has a knack for the odd and out-of-the-ordinary. Luna herself has "lost" many things, due to people taking them, so she is able to empathize with Erica's plight. It is very important that Erica was able to see how Luna was different--breaking Hogwarts etiquette by not being part of the celebration because of the noise, and because sometimes solitude is better than partying.

Again, this was super cute!

♥Mallory

 Report Review

Review #5, by kenpo Ravenclaw - Leonore

11th June 2015:
Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015

This was something I'd never really thought about! Harry's relationship with Kreacher was so... weird, and changed so much throughout the books. I like that Harry would've asked him if he wanted to be free. He seems to understand enough that Kreacher would be really upset by being freed.

I really enjoyed the way that you wrote the beginning. For the first couple paragraphs, it wasn't really from anyone's POV, so when we finally sort of "settled" into Kreacher's POV, it felt nice.

I think it's cool that you wrote this from Kreacher's POV rather than from Harry's, as I probably would've done.

OH before I go, another thing I really liked was the way Kreacher sort of imitated him, because he was so unsure about eating with his master.

Great story!
-Georgia

 Report Review

Review #6, by Tonks1247 Ravenclaw- snufflesthedog

11th June 2015:
Awww! This was such a sweet story! I absolutely adore Neville, because he’s just Neville and he gets nervous and is a little insecure and I feel you really captured those aspects of him well here. Then there is Hannah, who we actually don’t know too much about. I feel, even with as few of words as you used, you described their relationship and how they were together. It was pretty cute.

Also love how Neville proposes on the anniversary of the battle of Hogwarts. It seems really rightful that there is a party of sorts on the anniversary as it really was a turning point in the Wizarding community. Also rightful that as Neville goes to propose, something goes wrong—like a chandelier falling in the middle of the Great Hall. Even better when he proposes despite things going crazy like that!

Also: I absolutely adored this line. Made me giggle just a little bit:

“Forget butterflies in his stomach - he had Blast-Ended Skrewts.”

Quite enjoyed the read!

--Mikaela
-Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015-

 Report Review

Review #7, by Tonks1247 Ravenclaw - lumos_knox

11th June 2015:
Oh. My. Gosh.

I absolutely loved this. I will admit, it took me quite a number of paragraphs to read before I really knew for sure who the narrator was and who they were talking about. Once I did figure it out, it was pretty obvious going back and looking at different part.

The repeating phrase of ‘look at you now,’ especially with all of the accomplishments and changes listed in between, was enough to get me a little teary eyed. The fact that Mrs. Weasley had so many good words and made so many true and kind observation about a boy she acted a mother as in place of the mother he never had…just lovely. This was such a powerful story in so few words and that repeated phrase really helped to draw together cohesively.

Quite a beautiful story! Great story!

--Mikaela
-Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015-

 Report Review

Review #8, by Panda Weasley  Ravenclaw - kenpo - For You

11th June 2015:
Hi kenpo!
Reviewing for the 2015 House Cup representing Ravenclaw.

First of all I am going to say that I love this chapter. I know that this was written in the midst of some crazy competition, but I think that this is really good. I know that you might consider this a bad piece of writing, but I would disagree with that.

I found this story very interesting. I never thought about how it must have felt for Teddy to go to Hogwarts knowing that that is where both of his parents died. I think you characterized the stubbornness, resentment, grief, and then wonder very well. I felt that I was a sad 11 year old boy on the train to where my parents died. I liked that at the end you showed how the magic of Hogwarts won him over. It seemed very realistic that that moment was what made him finally understand what his parents died for. I really enjoyed that.

Keep up the excellent writing!
~Panda

 Report Review

Review #9, by Panda Weasley  Ravenclaw - Beeezie

11th June 2015:
Howdy Beeezie!
This is for the 2015 House Cup for Ravenclaw.

I would like to start off by saying how utterly sweet this chapter is. I think that you have all of your characters personalities down, and they are all done well. I would say that Hermione almost sounds a little too concerned about school. She definitely has a need for learning, but she also just lived through a war. I don't think she would be that eager to pick up a Defense Against the Dark Arts textbook again. That said I think the rest of this short chapter was done well. I found it sweet how Ron cut off her school rant with a kiss. I can totally see him doing that in my mind. I found that this story was well written despite the fact that it was written in the midst of last years House Cup. Good job!

Excellent work!
~Panda

 Report Review

Review #10, by Panda Weasley  Ravenclaw - Leonore

11th June 2015:
Hey Leonore!
Here for the 2015 House Cup for Ravenclaw.

I would like to start by saying that I really enjoyed this short little fic. I thought that your characterization of Kreacher was on point, and Harry sounded very real as well. I can see him sitting on the edge of the bed and thinking about that. Pondering what to do. Kreacher's reaction was as expected of course. I enjoyed how his first instinct was that it was a threat, and then once he let it sink in he realized that it was just a small suggestion. He could do whatever he wanted. I've always found the characterizing of House Elves to be a bit of a toss up. The are either done reall well, or really bad. I think your Kreacher fits the really well category.

Excellent job! Marvolous writing!
~Panda

 Report Review

Review #11, by wenlock Ravenclaw - Leonore

22nd August 2014:
This made me smile. What a funny, unique perspective.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Cassius Alcinder Ravenclaw - MargaretLane

2nd August 2014:
I remember being pretty fascinated by the opening chapter of book 6 and all its insights into the relation between the magical world and our own.

It was interesting to see the challenges that Kingsley would be facing having to clean up the old regime's mess. It's also good to see that he was able to use his experience working in the PM's office to help bridge the gaps between worlds.

I would predict that Kingsley is going to do a much better job than the likes of Fudge.

 Report Review

Review #13, by MargaretLane Gryffindor - Cassius Alcinder

2nd August 2014:
I like the fact that he has been pardoned officially, but that people remain suspicious of him. It makes sense that people would have doubts as to where his allegiances truly lie after everything that has happened.

I had to laugh at George's comments. And at McGonagall's comment that she didn't see eye to eye with him because he's always wrong.

His rebuttals were somewhat half-hearted in places. I guess there isn't as much one can say to insult people who've just defeated the Dark Lord. And his final comment about his father hearing about it was SO in-character.

Very amusing story.

 Report Review

Review #14, by magnolia_magic Hufflepuff - SereneChaos

29th July 2014:
AKDLFAKDSF SERENE YOU WROTE A DEAN/LUNA. I love you for this! And you wrote them so well! Ugh my Dean/Luna shipping heart is so happy now :)

Your Luna is absolutely spot-on. You got her eccentricity just right. I'll definitely be looking back at this for inspiration when I write her again. And Dean! He's just how I imagine him to be. The dialogue rings true to both characters, and their sweet conversation gives the story heart. And I love the message about the resilient paper clip! Even if Luna doesn't quite give Dean the explanation he expects (which is so Luna, really), the theme of shaking the dust off and moving on still shines through.

I loved this! You did an awesome job with it! Very uplifting and adorable :)

--Maggie

 Report Review

Review #15, by Chazzie Gryffindor - TidalDragon

29th July 2014:
Eeek, I loved that. It was brilliant to see Slughorn as he grew older, forging new contacts and then new beliefs. It was very IC and for that I really enjoyed it, because you showed his internal conflict in a way that made the reader feel a bond between them and Slughorn. I'm guessing that it is Slughorn, as there aren't many people who would fit the criteria set out, but if I'm wrong then I guess I've not been reading the books well enough. Really great.
Lottie

 Report Review

Review #16, by monstrosity Ravenclaw - Leonore

28th July 2014:
Hello!

More than the plot, which I love, it's the writing style used in this piece that I can't help but admire. While you never explicitly say that Kreacher's loyalties had changed until the very last line, the entire story moulds itself into that one message. Small things in here mean so much more.

(And this is where I start my huge analytical rant.) The sandwich is a request and the fact that Kreacher brings so much more than just the sandwich shows that whatever Harry asks him to do, he's willing to do it and exceed his master's expectations. It's the first sign that Kreacher is on Harry's side, without Harry having to force him to be so.

Then the fact that they share food as if they were equals, shows how Harry views Kreacher. I mean, Kreacher did play a role in instigating Sirius' death by not giving Harry's message to Sirius. For something like that, I would be hard-pressed to forgive Kreacher. Yet here, Harry not only forgives Kreacher, but treats him better than any other wizard. This shift in dynamics is just really sweet to watch.

Finally the message on Freedom. What I get from this story is that freedom is not defined as a situation where creatures don't have masters. Freedom all depends on how you use whatever you've got. It's a scary and unknown thing for Kreacher who, in a strange sense, found comfort in being subordinate to wizards because it was familiar. Yet, he realizes that freedom isn't something to be afraid of because he doesn't need to be given clothes to feel free. He can make his own choices as Harry's house elf. Out of his true support for his master, these choices would inevitably coincide with Harry's wants, but not because Harry forced him to do anything.

Overall it is a fantastically written piece that really showed the relationship between two characters in a different light. Great job, hun!

 Report Review

Review #17, by monstrosity Hufflepuff - evil little devil

28th July 2014:
Hello!

I think this is the first time I've ever read a story with Victoire as a protagonist, mostly because I'm not a big fan of Victoire/Teddy. However, this story is just mind blowing. I'm amazed at how much character, passion and life you've given to one name in so few words.

I like how Victoire really does seem like victory personified. The boldness, the untamable spirit and the fact that she lives life to the fullest without losing her head. I love that she travels the world twice: once to experience it's beauty and the second time to preserve that beauty by helping its people out.

Bill sounds like someone every father should aspire to be. His advice really hit home and showed that this was the technique people used to move on from the war. Instead of wallowing in the guilt and pain of it all, make a change. Help someone in need. It's fantastic. I love how he fights for werewolf rights now that he's got a taste for the kind of social treatment they go through.

What really intrigues me is that Teddy and Victoire are both products of parents who've fought in the war and experienced pain. Yet these two are so full of life, living in such a carefree manner that nothing can get them down. I guess it really fits with the last two sentences of the story.

Overall, it's a really well written story and I'm glad I got the opportunity to read it!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Chazzie Ravenclaw - Singularity

28th July 2014:
That was captivating, truly. I loved the way you managed to make George see reason, and Angelina basically telling him that he needs to start living again. It was also kinda cute how they both knew how Fred would have reacted about the shop remaining unopened. There was a fair bit of description going on there too, which made it a lot more solid to read. I loved the bit about Fred and George being mirror images, and Angelina pointing out that they weren't. Two sides of the same coin perhaps, but both just oh-so-slightly different. Your closing sentence was brilliant by the way. It rounded everything off just nicely. Well done with the House Cup!
Lottie

 Report Review

Review #19, by Chazzie Ravenclaw - Veritaserum27

28th July 2014:
Hey there! Oh my gosh that was brilliant :') 'Winky swung across Hogwarts' kitchen on a rope made of twisted spaghetti.' I mean, is there any better way to start a story? I don't think there is. It was so randomly spontaneous that I was grinning from the start. It was adorable how all the house elves decided to work their hearts out to help those in the hall heal, forgoing sleep even though they'd also fought the battle against Voldemort. Which would make them happy I guess, as they are serving Hogwarts and its guests and making the headmistress proud. Loved it!
Lottie

 Report Review

Review #20, by Chazzie Hufflepuff - ohmymerlin

28th July 2014:
Hello! Well to begin with, I'll admit I did feel really sad. But then you started to weave the subtle hints of hope into the story. That today was bad, but tomorrow would be better. That they could all learn to live without Fred. That it would take time, but they could get through it together. I think that friendships would be likely forged and strengthened at the end of the battle, and families torn apart by the war could heal again. But as Ron says, eyeryone needs time to mourn. I really enjoyed this.
Lottie

 Report Review

Review #21, by Chazzie Ravenclaw - newgenerationlover

28th July 2014:
Hello! I've got to say, this was a rather funny story. The original stories were perhaps a bit too... Gruesome? Morbid? Terrifying? for younger readers. I know that I had several nightmares as a kid from the Little Mermaid, involving jumping into the sea and turning into foam. In one dream a seagull ate me. (Yes, I have a weird imagination.) Anyhoo, back to your story. It was great! The sort of thing that could easily happen, given that it would keep the children busy whilst their parents/careers/elder friends and relatives try to help out with the dead and injured, and your character was socially awkward enough to make me wince for her. I loved that you mentioned the pureblood child along with the others, showing that not all the purebloods were evil and believed in Voldemort. Basically. Kids are funny creatures.
Lottie

 Report Review

Review #22, by nott theodore Ravenclaw - MargaretLane

28th July 2014:
Hi! When I realised that we'd both written about the same moment I had to come and check this story out!

I really enjoyed reading your interpretation of this moment. You went a lot more in depth than I thought to and I think my favourite thing about it was the way that you portrayed Aberforth and explored all of his thoughts and feelings around what happened to Ariana. Aberforth's very conscious of the fact that his brother was so much more intelligent than him here in this story and I think that's an important thing to highlight - it can never be easy because of the competition between most siblings, but in this case, there's something even worse that's caused conflict.

I really liked the fact that you wrote about Albus having gone down to the Hog's Head to have a drink with his younger brother, and the fact that they did keep up their relationship even if they weren't the best of friends. It makes a lot of sense considering Aberforth was in the Order with his brother.

I really liked the dialogue that you wrote between them as well. They're such hard characters to write - particularly Albus, I think - and you managed to reflect their speech from the books and keep them in character. It was really sweet to end on such a hopeful note with the reconciliation between the brothers!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by SereneChaos Hufflepuff - emmacweasley

27th July 2014:
I like how even then, Ginny knew she'd end up with Harry. :) Thanks for sharing this story!

 Report Review

Review #24, by SereneChaos Hufflepuff - teh tarik

27th July 2014:
Ah! I feel like every story I read by you, even this short and sweet one, leaves me blown away. Besides the beautiful writing, I loved how you mentioned the two ghosts 'bumping' into each other, and the Fat Friar having a secret store just for himself! It seems so like him to do that!

 Report Review

Review #25, by SereneChaos Hufflepuff- marauderfan

27th July 2014:
This was such a good idea for a story! Nothing quite says 'moving forward' than two enemies becoming friends. Possibly my favorite phrase (that I've read in this entire collab so far) has been the description of Sybil's eyes like sooty nebulae. That's beautiful, and so fitting for how Firenze would see it. Lovely.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>