Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Sacrifice
  
48 Reviews Found

Review #1, by jehehdj Of Late Nights, New Acquaintances, and James Potter

20th February 2017:
Nice book I really like it so far good job

 Report Review

Review #2, by Spyci Of Stolen Kisses, Apologies, and Quidditch Matches

21st May 2016:
Completely in love with this story. Whilst I am interested in what goes on with AJ and James, I am so so interested to see how she's going to go about dealing with her siblings now that they're on the last warning. Please update soon!

 Report Review

Review #3, by beka_wotter Of Stolen Kisses, Apologies, and Quidditch Matches

10th October 2015:
This story is SO GOOD! Literally I couldn't put it down and I have so many questions so I really hope you update soon so I find out the answers quicker haha but yeah I'm really intrigued by this story and I love it!

Author's Response: Haha awe thank you so much! I'll be updating soon (the next chapters my favorite so far). Thank you so much I'm glad to hear you're enjoying this story!

- Leigh xxx


 Report Review

Review #4, by MalfoyMannor Of Olivia Thomas, The Three Broomsticks, and James Potter

30th June 2015:
What really happened in the dungeons with Adam and Lucy?

are we going to find out in the next chapter?

 Report Review

Review #5, by MalfoyMannor Of Late Nights, New Acquaintances, and James Potter

30th June 2015:
Lucy sounds so cute and annoying at the same time :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by the_jasmine_apple Of Olivia Thomas, The Three Broomsticks, and James Potter

26th May 2015:
s2g if you don't update soon i will explode. Please update really soon! I love it!

Author's Response: I'll update ASAP! Thanks for reviewing!

- Leigh xxx


 Report Review

Review #7, by likeness_of_a_seabird Of Beginnings, Aurors, and Torn Photographs

20th May 2015:
Hello, here for the Hufflepuff May Review Exchange!

I actually read this a while back, I just never got around to reviewing it. :P But I am here now to rectify that mistake!

That part I loved the most is AJ's interactions with her siblings and her reactions to 'The Incident'. It's obvious that she cares for her brothers and sisters a lot and is afraid to lose them. These little things, like how she reacts to the sight of the Aurors wearing the Ministry robes, how she can't really bring herself to smile and how it puts her on edge seeing Dean make notes about her situation after she has basically said, "Two of us have got jobs, there're people who help us if we need it, we can take care of ourselves, now please leave us alone." Then the moment when her siblings go upstairs to pack and she's got a few minutes to herself and we see how worried she is that her siblings will be taken from her because they believe she's incapable of taking care of them. It really sets the tone for the story and establishes a part of AJ's character; from what I've seen so far, I can safely say she's not the type of person who will not - or rather, cannot, given her family's situation - reveal her weaknesses to other people but who is, on the inside, worried and uncertain of the future.

Speaking of the family's situation, I'm really curious about what happened to AJ's parents. Based on the scene with the photograph being torn, it has something to do with their father and his involvement with dark magic... and he claims it's something his whole family has done? Did I understand that correctly? If yes, I believe I don't like that man at all. I'm really curious about what happened to their mother, and if their father was somehow involved in that one as well.

Oh, Adam. It's obvious the family situation is having an effect on him. I foresee a lot trouble for him... or caused by him, whichever comes first.

The shorter version of the review: loved this and can't wait to see what happens next and what really happened during 'The Incident'!

- Emmi

 Report Review

Review #8, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Of Olivia Thomas, The Three Broomsticks, and James Potter

16th May 2015:
*Raises eyebrow* What is James' problem? He's making me mad! lol

I really hope Harry talking to Adam does some good... but honestly that boy seems so stubborn sometimes!

I can totally understand AJ being embarrassed about working at the pub, but her friends will definitely understand - she's so responsible and taking care of her siblings!

I really, REALLY want to know what happened with Adam and Lucy, and all these references to the Incident are making me even more curious! What does she mean by "like her parents", and what would her boggart be? I need answers! :P

Anyway, this was another great chapter dear, and I'm definitely ready for the next! Please update soon!

 Report Review

Review #9, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Of Injuries, Sacrifices, and Suspensions

16th May 2015:
Okay, I saw that there was an update to this, but I didn't realize there were TWO since I last read - YAY!

I feel so sorry for AJ because of the suspension thing, but really it's kind of hard to feel sorry for her in this chapter, because she really has made so many amazing friends! And opening herself up to falling in love is SO great - it really is a HUGE step for her and I'm so happy and excited!

I'm pretty worried about what the repercussions will be for her family, but I hope it's nothing terrible.

Another great chapter, and I'm off to the next!

 Report Review

Review #10, by TreacleTart Of Nightmares, Returns, and Reunions

10th May 2015:
Hey Leigh!

I'm here for our review swap!

I read the first chapter of this awhile ago and I remember thinking it was a really unique story. The whole idea of Adina being left to care for so many children and this mysterious thing that happened to her parents. I was happy to see that it continued throughout this chapter.

You descirbed Adina's worries and fears so well. Oh and the exhaustion! I really feel for her. This is truly more than one teenage child should ever have to handle. I'm actually amazed at how she's taking it all. The meltdown with her little brother would've been enough to cause me a meltdown of my own, so I'm really impressed that she was able to keep her cool.

I really appreciated the notes from Madame Rosmerta and Harry. It's nice to see that there are so many people trying to help her get through this. I'm sure with all of the support she has, they'll make it.

Now for a bit of constructive criticism. I noticed that there were a few points in this chapter where I was confused about what exactly was going on and had to go back and re-read. I think that's mainly due to how it transitions rapidly from one scene to the next without any way to signify an end. One of the more confusing areas for me revolved around her brother throwing his tantrum. I was kind of vague on what exactly happened and why he wanted her to use magic so badly.

All in all, I am enjoying this story so far. I think you've got a unique plot and some very interesting characters. Good work!

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Hi, Kaitlin!

Thanks so much for the review. I'm impressed with AJ too; I wouldn't be able to handle it either, Adam's tantrums (or any of it really).

The support she gets is awesome, I agree. Rosmerta helps so much, and Harry does his best.

I'm definitely editing chapters here as soon as school lets out, so I'll add your CC's to my To Fix list :p Thanks for pointing all of that out, I've been searching for more and more reasons to convince myself to edit.

As for Adam wanting AJ to use her magic, he was just being a defiant, lazy kid. :p

Thanks so much!

- Leigh


 Report Review

Review #11, by Dianainga Of Injuries, Sacrifices, and Suspensions

12th April 2015:
For some reason, I did not expect to like this story...but it is intriguing. Cannot wait to see where this goes! Interested to find out more about what happened during the summer to AJ and her siblings. Love the way you developed Louis and James. Anxiously awaiting your next chapters!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm so happy AJ managed to earn your liking :) And thanks! You'll learn more about The Incident the more you read, and Louis and James aren't even close to done developing ;)

Thanks so much!

- Leigh


 Report Review

Review #12, by Chicken addiction Of Injuries, Sacrifices, and Suspensions

12th April 2015:
I really like this story!! And I'm curious to see where it goes :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much! :)

- Leigh


 Report Review

Review #13, by WhiteFeather Of Injuries, Sacrifices, and Suspensions

10th April 2015:
This story is developing really well! I'm really excited for you to update again :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much!

-Leigh xx


 Report Review

Review #14, by TreacleTart Of Beginnings, Aurors, and Torn Photographs

10th April 2015:
Hello there!

I'm here for our review swap! So I know that chapter 7 is your newest chapter, but seeing as I haven't read this story before, I really wanted to start at the beginning.

You did an excellent job of drawing the reader in to this story and the world you've created. Immediately upon reading, I felt sympathy for AJ and all of the problems that have been thrust upon her. Barely legal and having to raise multiple younger siblings, working a job, and scraping to get by. It's so tragic.

Throughout the chapter you alluded to "The Incident" It did a great job of building up the suspense without giving away too much information. Each time she brought it up we would get a bit more and a bit more. It was really quite intriguing. I will have to read on to see what happened.

I really appreciate how you included some familiar characters in this story. It was nice to see Harry, Dean, Madame Rosmerta, and Professor McGonagall. I especially liked seeing the fatherly version of Dean. It was very sweet.

Also, I really loved the names you picked for all of your characters. They all sound so Irish to me!

I did notice a few typos throughout, but they're nothing too major.

"leave us alone until them." should be "until then"

"Adalyn was the eldest, of 15," The way this is written makes me think Adalyn is the oldest of 15 children. I think what this should say is "Adalyn was the eldest at 15."

"I contained my confident posture." I think contained should be switched for the word maintained.

"younger brother’s next soothingly" I think this was supposed to say "neck" instead of "next".

"I rose an eyebrow" should be "I raised"

All in all, this was a very attention grabbing first chapter. I will have to check back in on the future chapters to find out where it goes and more about this mysterious Incident! Great work!

~Kaitlin

Author's Response: Hi Kaitlin!

Thanks for all the wonderful feedback! I try to have canon characters around a lot, and I loved Dean too much to not have him part of the story somehow :p

And thanks so much! The trick to their names was just to start with the same two letters each. :D

Thank you for the pointers! I'm going to start editing chapters soon so I'll add these to my To Fix list :)

Thanks!

- Leigh xxx


 Report Review

Review #15, by PaulaTheProkaryote Of More Quidditch, James Potter, and Puking

30th March 2015:
Alright. I'm dying to read more. I don't want whatever happened to Adam and Lucy to be Adam's fault. I think that would put too much strain on the new found relationship with the Weasley-Potter clan. James is cool and distant most of the time, which I think is exciting.

Author's Response: Hi!

I don't want what happened to be Adam's fault either, but who knows what happened? ;) It would definitely put a lot of strain on the relationship. And I've been purposely keeping James cool and distant. That's just how he is :)

Thanks so much!

-Leigh


 Report Review

Review #16, by HarryGinnyLove88 Of More Quidditch, James Potter, and Puking

29th March 2015:
very good :)

write soon, wright? :)

Author's Response: Thanks! Another chapter will be up soon :)

-Leigh


 Report Review

Review #17, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Of More Quidditch, James Potter, and Puking

21st February 2015:
AW!

It is SO sad to finally see what AJ's nightmares are about... but it is also SO sweet to see Dom right there by her side, comforting her. Words can't even express the mix of emotions I feel over that. Like I said, the Potter/Weasleys are definitely doing her some good, and I'm SO glad she's got Dom as a friend!

And Wow. I kind of had a feeling Vinny might react badly about her new friends, but I really hope he learns to get over it soon. I know AJ doesn't want to lose him, she just wants (and really needs) more friends, also. And I think it shows a lot of maturity on her part to finally realize that, and realize that she's been pushing everyone away for so long.

*Gasps* Oh no!! What happened?!? Not to immediately assume he's done something wrong, but, what did Adam do? And what's going to happen now?!? Oh, I hope they don't try to take Adam away from AJ! Oh no!! This is the absolute *worst* cliffhanger ever!! I need more, soon, please!!

Author's Response: Hi!

AJ's nightmares are always very sad :( And Dom is an amazing friend to her, as well as all of her cousins/twin. I'm glad she has them too!

Yeah, unfortunately that's how Vinny is. He doesn't know how to share. AJ definitely doesn't want to lose him.

And it's alright, AJ always thinks 'What did Adam do?!' when something bad occurs. You'll find out! :D

Thanks so much!

- Leigh xxx


 Report Review

Review #18, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Of Louis Weasley, Quidditch Try Outs, and the Library

21st February 2015:
This chapter was probably my favorite so far! It's just SO hilarious, from Dom, Louis and Freddie's bickering, to the Library scene... I love it!

And I LOVE how all of the children are finally starting to find friends, get along, and be happy and LAUGH. It just breaks my heart that AJ fights with that happiness... but I think the Wotters are doing her some good!

Really, really great (and hilarious) chapter, and I can't wait to read the next!

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks so much! This was such a fun chapter to write. AJ having fun made me so happy.

The kids are starting to calm down. AJ doesn't know how to cope with having fun, which you'll learn about around chapter 15 or so. But the Wotters are doing a lot of good, yes!

Thanks so much!

-Leigh xxx


 Report Review

Review #19, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Of Red Hair, New Mates, and Hufflepuffs Galore

21st February 2015:
Oh my Goodness… I LOVED seeing the scene from ‘Sweet Talk’ here from AJ’s POV! It really reminded me of when Harry and Hermione went back in time in POA and we got to see things from behind them… I really love how the two stories tie in together! Really!

And WOW... Dom psycho-analyzing AJ to her face? Well, at least she's not doing it behind her back, I suppose. :P

And haha! I called it! (The 'Friendship with Dom' thing). I'm not sure how it will turn out, but it's definitely a start!

Aw... the way Vinny and AJ used to sit together is so cute - and it's sad they can't do that anymore, but again, it was also sweet how Vinny agreed so easily to move to the Library with AJ. And it also shows AJ's maternal instincts, and how selfless she is, to always think of the kids that way.

And whoooaaa. His 'girlfriend'? So, are AJ and Vinny official? I'm rather confused about their relataionship, lol. But then again, I think maybe they are, too. :P But it is SO CUTE AND SWEET AND SQUEE-WORTHY how they are always each other's 'first choice'! Aww!

I can imagine that one would be worried that someone was only trying to be their friend for pity, after something so horrible happened to them. I hope AJ has found/finds good friends in Freddie and Dom.

I'm glad to see that Adalyn is doing well, and I think it's equally heartbreaking and sweet the way the two of them are trying to check in with one another and keep tabs on the rest of their siblings.

And Awww, Vinny is jealous. I'm not sure if that's endearing, or upsetting. But again, I kind of saw that coming. :P

Another great chapter!

Author's Response: Hi!

I loved writing the same scene in two different POVs! It was so much fun. I'm glad you liked it too!

Dom's a little awkward. But she does it to everyone. She just has no filter :p

Yes, definitely a start! :D

They aren't dating, no :D But I love their relationship. I'm going to write some prequel one-shots from before this novel, and some of them will be about their friendship before. I love them :D

I hope she finds good friends in them too!

Adalyn is very strong, much like AJ. They're more alike than they care to admit :p

And yes, Vinny is jealous indeed. :D And everyone saw it coming, but it's important anyway :)

Thanks for the wonderful review!

- Leigh xxx


 Report Review

Review #20, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Of Late Nights, New Acquaintances, and James Potter

21st February 2015:
Nope, I'm still not finished! I'm sorry it has taken me so long to get back to this, but I'm really glad to be getting back to this story! I've really missed it!

You provide such detailed information that it was really easy for me to pick up where I left off.

I really liked the endearing scene between Vinny and AJ, but there seem to be at least two other people here who are so sweet and willing to help out: Scorpius and James. I have a slight suspicion that they both want to date AJ, and I'm curious to see how that will all play out later, especially considering that Vinny is pretty much head-over-heels for her. I hope that doesn't affect their friendship.

And Adam... what can I say? It's awful what that Selwyn boy said to him, but his reaction wasn't the greatest... I really, really hope he calms down - I can't bear the thought of him being taken away from AJ, and she certainly doesn't deserve that - he's a child and he's going to act out, and that doesn't mean he should be separated from his family.

And Lily.. Haha! She's cute, but I completely agree that she can be a bit annoying. And I'm not really sure what to think about what she said about Dom, psycho-analyzing everyone and wanting to be AJ's friend. I think it would definitely do AJ some good to have more friends, but I don't know how perceptive AJ will be to that, considering what Lily just said.

And poor AJ. She really needs some time alone, to focus on being more 'her' and less 'Mum', but she's afraid to be alone. :(

Anyway, this was another fabulous chapter, dear, and I can't wait to read the next one! Really, really well done!

Author's Response: Hi!

I have no problem waiting. After all, I'm responding to this three months late anyway :p

I love writing Vinny/AJ scenes, so I'm glad you loved it! And hmm, Scorpius and James do seem to want to help out. And you'll have to wait and see how all of that romance/friendships work out! :D

I hope he calms down too. I can't bear it either, and I know AJ would feel as though it was her fault. And yes, he is just a child, but in the eyes of the ministry, so is AJ (even though she's physically an adult). They feel as though she can't handle four children.

Lucy is cute! She can be annoying, but she's my absolute favorite minor character to write!

AJ does indeed need time for herself. I feel terrible as well :(

Thanks so much for the great review!

- Leigh xx


 Report Review

Review #21, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Of Nightmares, Returns, and Reunions

4th February 2015:
That dream was really scary and awful. I hope her father didn't really say those things to her, but for some reason, I get the feeling that he did. :( And awww, poor Adam. His reaction made me want to cry! It's a good thing AJ woke up when she did, or they'd have been late!

I really love the way you portray the interactions between AJ and her siblings. They're very sibling-like, obviously, but there's also a mothering tone there, too, which is completely understandable and realistic, given the situation.

I really, really feel sorry for AJ now. Things are definitely taking a toll on her, and she has SO many responsibilities that are really hard for a teenager to deal with. She does a good job of keeping it together, but it's perfectly understandable for her to be depressed. I just want to hug her and help her with her siblings. :(

It's so sweet how all the children pitch in to help out, cooking breakfast and everything. It's really important for them to pull together, and they're doing it! And Aw for Rosmerta's letter! She's so sweet, and it's really helping them out! Oh, and I meant to say something earlier, but I think it's also actually helpful that Harry and Dean are the Aurors (and MLF) in charge, since they know the family and are more likely to be helpful and understanding of the situation.

And Aww! Right after I remember to say that, Harry goes all sweet and wonderful and sends that letter! Aww!

Haha. Adam's fit is sad, but hilarious at the same time. He's such a typical 11-year-old. :P But I love the motherly/fatherly advice all of the other siblings give AJ, and how Adam calms right down at the mention of their mother.

Oh no! They missed the carriages! Thank goodness for that shrinking spell, or they'd all be even more tired when they get to the castle.

Aw, the feels! Vinny and AJ's reunion was just too sweet! And my heart nearly broke at the relief that AJ felt about not having to worry about losing her siblings, not having to worry about paying the bills... :'(

Hahaha!! Crabbe, as the new Mr. Filch! Hilarious! It makes sense, I mean Filch couldn't stay there forever, could he? It's just so funny, but also realistic, to see the next gen's version of him. :P

This was another amazing chapter, dear, really. I am getting hooked on this story as well. Can't wait to read what's next!

 Report Review

Review #22, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Of Beginnings, Aurors, and Torn Photographs

4th February 2015:
Well, now that I have finally given you the reviews I owed you from the Rescue Mission, now I can give you the ones I owe you from the Hot Seat! :D

Okay, so I just finished reading "Sweet Talk", and when I read AJ's name in the summary of this, I was like :O ! I had to read it! I was already interested in her story, and now I get to read it! Yay!

I am really, really curious as to what happened the night their parents disappeared, and why on earth would their father say that his children had used dark magic? I hope to find out more soon!

I can't help but feel nervous right along with all of the children during this, and I think you described their actions and their feelings perfectly, even if they don't express them. And it is SO great, so brave and strong and sweet of AJ to take care of her younger siblings like this, to keep the family together. She's a very unique, likeable and strong character, and here you go again, introducing me to something I haven't seen in Fanfic before - an older sibling stepping up and being a parent to their younger siblings! Every one of your stories is just dripping with originality and I LOVE it!

Awww, I can't say I blame Addison for tearing the picture, but now I'm even more curious as to what happened with their parents! And I feel so sorry for AJ, she seems so stressed. :(

I'm starting to realize that this story ties into two of the other stories I've read, and I really love that! You're very talented, dear! This was an exciting, intriguing first chapter, and I can't wait to read the next! Well done!

 Report Review

Review #23, by oldershouldknowbetter Of Beginnings, Aurors, and Torn Photographs

25th January 2015:
Hi there, here for the review swap. I was a bit tardy and find you've already completed mine, so I'll see what I have to do to catch-up.

I liked this whole chapter as a start; as an intro into what is to come. There is a fair bit of mystery, a few dark deeds in the past and a promise of things not always going to run smoothly in the future.

You hit the ground running with the story: Mystery; four younger siblings (at least); parents never to return; and finally the presence of two Aurors.

The presence of Harry is good because it brings in that possible James angle that we have been promised in the story description. Having Dean Thomas there is unusual, but nicely explained/reasoned as he is revealed to be the father of AJ's best friend. Having the aurors doing the job of social workers, I didn't find as jarring as some of your other reviewers. I think it's a good fit - they are handling the case so they will handle this (especially given the connection Dean has with AJ) - especially with what you reveal.

Quote: "... this {incident} had occurred out of dark magic ... while there was no evidence that we had used dark magic ourselves, our father had claimed that we had used it, as well"

I loved all of that. I am really intrigued to find out what has happened.

Ah, we now have a catalogue of all the siblings, there are only four others, and all five have names beginning with A!

I like the characterisation you have of Harry, I think it's well done. Having him un-intentionally cause her disquiet by using her full name is good. I don't know if he doesn't realise, or if he is intentionally doing it because he wants to maintain a professional distance or if it's because he doesn't want to be overly familiar (knowing he's not as close to the girl as Dean is). It could be one reason it could be all - they are all valid and illustrate Harry's character well.

So often characters are sorted into houses in these fan fictions solely because the author wants them there and not for having any of the characteristics of the particular house. It is so fantastic, as you have done here, to have a Gryffindor actually being brave. AJ is doing her absolute best to stick with her family and support them in the face of what must be almost insurmountable odds for a teenager. A true scion of Gryffindor house.

The youngest though is destined for Slytherin. And I see you have put Albus into Slytherin as well, something I never usually mind as it allows him to be friends with Scorpius that much easier.

I like how you allow her to have one moment where she can let her guard down a bit and be a kid and that is when she hugs Dean. It is a tender moment and fleshes out her character well as she doesn't allow it to overwhelm her - she still has to maintain her control to look after her siblings.

It is only now that I realise that 'Vinny' is in fact Vincent and is a guy not a girl. A girl who has a best mate as a guy is not common and is another thing that adds dimension to her character.

It is confusing getting all the different siblings straight (especially as their names all begin with an A), but you have good, solid pieces of charactisation here and there. Like the interaction AJ has with Adelaide - her kindness, in allowing her sister an easy meal to prepare, immediately tells us what she is like. Then we have Adam's, not really petulance, but argumentative nature. There is a warning AJ gives us of a possible source of drama in the future - Adam my get himself into trouble in the future at Hogwarts by responding inappropriately to someone else behaving inappropriately. We shall have to see.

There is a shout and for a moment we fear something bad has happened, but it is 'just' an old picture of their parents. I say 'just', but you use it's presence to reveal much more: their parents were childhood sweethearts; the problems in their parent's lives have been going on for a while; and finally the illustration of Addison's character - unforgiving and implacable over his dislike/hatred for their father, or at least his father's actions.

So on to Hogwarts next and the sorting of Adam and the reuniting of the two friends (in AJ and Vinny) there is a lot more to come in this story and I for one want to see how it evolves.

 Report Review

Review #24, by toomanycurls Of Beginnings, Aurors, and Torn Photographs

25th January 2015:
This chapter has me kind of hooked. I love the criminal aspect you brought into this with the complicated homelife. The subversion from the Ministry is great - that Adina would recoil at the pride Harry and Dean showed in their Ministry outfits is an incredible way to show where she's at vis-a-vis the government. It is very interesting that they have aurors checking up on children - almost like they're suspected of being criminals themselves.

I'm dying to know what happened to their parents and why their father is on trial. This is such a novel premise for a next gen story!! I do like that Harry is at least a bit more kind to the kids. Even if they had been involved in something horrid, I can't see Harry being cold towards children. Already I admire Adina so much for her effort to pull and keep the family together. that's so much responsiblity for someone her age. Aw, Harry is just really sweet with them asking about quidditch and their first year at school. It must be a bit hard for him to have to follow up on a case when it involves friends of Albus and James.

Ending with them looking at a picture of their parents at the Yule Ball is driving me nuts! I must know more about them and it's a mark to your good writing that I'm so caught up in knowing more about this. Excellent chapter!

-Rose

Author's Response: Hi, Rose!

It does have a criminal aspect of it that definitely ties in to a lot and complicates everything. I'm glad you interpreted the Ministry robes response nicely :) Some people were confused.

Yes... almost like they're suspected criminals themselves ;)

You'll eventually find out what happened :) I always imagined Harry to be easier on the kids. Especially because his kids know them. AJ does have great courage and selflessness. It's way too much responsibility for a seventeen year old.

Thanks so much! I'm glad you liked it!

-Leigh


 Report Review

Review #25, by marauderfan Of Nightmares, Returns, and Reunions

19th January 2015:
Puff REview Day!

This is a great chapter. AJ's emotions come across so strongly, and you have such a contrast of feelings in this chapter from her terror at the nightmare, to her frustration at trying to manage so many things and get everyone on the train on time, to her relief at being back at school in a loving environment with her friends.

What an intense start, it's obvious AJ has been through so much, and to start the day with that sort of thing it's easy to see why she'd be so on edge while trying to manage all of her siblings, particularly Adam, what a handful! I thought you did really well at writing all the kids though, particularly Adam having a tantrum :p

Vinny seems really wonderful, and I like the closeness and the caring in their relationship. From the moments we saw of him, he seems like a pretty chill guy which must be so nice for AJ after the stress of home.

Ahaha, I love the idea of Crabbe being the next caretaker. Only didn't he die in DH? Or was that Goyle who died, I can't remember.:p

Which one of the Weasleys was that who pushed Adam forward? Based on the fact that Albus (and therefore Rose) are older than first years, I'm going to guess that it's one of Percy and Audrey's kids. Anyway I'm glad Adam has made a friend already haha.

Great chapter!!

Author's Response: Hi!

AJ's just a complete mess of emotions, in case you couldn't guess :p she feels a lot and I'm glad that you've picked up on that.

Ugh the family dynamics took a lot of thinking out, and thanks so much for the compliment about Adam! He's definitely the hardest for me to write.

Vinny is wonderful. He can be chill... sometimes... ;)

He did die. :p But it was a slip up I haven't gone back and edited out. I gave the caretaker a different name in the later chapters.

Good guess! It's Lucy. :) I'm glad Adam made a friend too; I was worried, like AJ, that he wasn't going to. But he did!

Thanks!

-Leigh


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>