Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for The Moonlight War
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Mike guarneri Chapter 41:Tests

2nd June 2016:
I really hope you continue this. One of the best stories out there. Easily one of the best written lunas.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Guest101 Chapter 3: Drinks and Debates

29th July 2015:
Lovin' the dynamic between Jeff, Kevin and Sarah! I can't wait til they begin their mission at Hogwarts...

Author's Response: Hey, glad to hear the supporting cast is well received as well. I'll admit Jeff and Sarah used to be a lot more bland than they are now and Kevin is a far less frequent character, but it makes me happy to know someone enjoys their personalities now. Thanks for another great review, hope to hear from you again sometime in the later chapters :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by Guest101 Chapter 2: The Believer

29th July 2015:
Wow! I'm only two chapters in, but already your writing style makes me feel as if I'm reading the actual works of J. K. I particularly love the way you've written Luna--my fave character!

Author's Response: Wow, I really can't think of much higher praise than that, being compared to Rowling herself! Thanks so much, it really means a lot to hear that, and really, to hear anything from a fan is great. Well if you like Luna, there's plenty more of her to come, about 130 chapters worth. I hope you enjoy the rest of the story :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by dumbledore_wannabe Chapter 30: The Dawn

17th April 2015:
Well, guess I can stop waiting for Owen to pull a Snape on us. Seems he WAS as black as he's been painted, after all!

Author's Response: Haha yeah...that's why I didn't say anything about him after your last review. If I very pointedly ignore something you've commented on, you're either 100% right or 100% wrong. Owen has...left a legacy...however. You'll get a bit of that in the next chapter and you can see a hint of what he was planning in "Five Quite Bitter Beings". Thanks for the review, next chapter should be up in a day or two :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by dumbledore_wannabe Chapter 29: The Darkest

12th April 2015:
Well, I've finally caught up with all the current chapters and am officially sucked into the story. The plot thickens! I have great confidence that we haven't seen the last of a few currently-missing folks, and have some ideas about how they could return. I also have a thought about the potential redemption of a certain someone who I don't think is as black as he's been painted thus far (no, NOT Voldemort!). I don't, however, have a good idea about what Hermione is up to. Very curious to find out!

I suppose I'm liking Michael better now even if he's still not my favorite. (Some spy, though, to expect that a bunch of drunk teenagers could keep Luna's identity a secret... ah well.)

I'm really enjoying what you're doing with Luna. The way you write her is so true to the feel of how J. K. Rowling wrote her, but you have fleshed her out and given her substance, the type of substance and strength that I think JKR implied was there.

Almost 100 more chapters to come. How awesome! :) Thanks for writing this story!

Author's Response: Wow, I'm going to just be totally honest hear and say how good it feels to have someone get up to date and really be enjoying the story :)

I will not confirm or deny any plot points or potential dramatic return of some slowly-warming characters ;) Hermione's motivations will become clear soon, however.

I actually like your comment about Michael being a poor spy, Hermione actually calls him out on that word for word after the duel with Snape, something to the effect of "What kind of spy gets peer pressured into fighting a teacher?"

I'm glad you're liking Luna so far, though :) In my opinion she only gets better from here on. I just submitted the next chapter, you may have noticed its been a while since I added one. I was keeping this somewhat a surprise, but I recently joined Deviantart in order to commission a whole lot of pieces to use in Moonlight War :) (The validators are going to LOVE me with my 15 chapter updates to add images). I wanted to hold off updates until I had at least half of those images in, but I decided to go ahead and add chapter 30 now. I'll put an authors note in the most recent chapter once I get those images in, but be on the lookout for them, the pieces I've received so far are really great quality, they have some amazing artits over there.

Until then, thanks so much for the kind words, reads, and reviews. I hope you enjoy the rest of the story even more than the first section :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by dumbledore_wannabe Chapter 14: The Hunt Begins

10th April 2015:
I am really enjoying this story, and am glad to know that you have so many more chapters coming! I always liked Luna, but felt that she was never as well-developed as I would have wanted. I'm pleased we are learning more about her. As Ron once said, "She's great, isn't she? Always good value."

I have to say that, so far, I find Michael annoying. I have the feeling that we are supposed to like him, but I just canít, at least not yet. Heís arrogant and has too much anger going on, despite his apparently good heart. And Iím finding it a little hard to believe that he would be in his current position at his age (but maybe one has to be very young to have the degree of... recklessness?... that would be needed for his job.) But, all that said, he is at least an interesting character, and I have a feeling that we will eventually be learning why heís so angry, which may make me more kindly disposed toward him. Maybe Luna will soften him up. And the fact that I have such a definite opinion about him must mean that he is well-written. :)

Iím off to read the next chapter. Thank you for this story!!

Author's Response: First off, thanks so much for the review! Its been...a while...since I got one. I'm really glad you like my slightly different take on Luna. Obviously, I love her character and think she's wonderful in canon, but I realized early on in this that canon Luna simply can't be half the main pairing of a full length novel. She needed to be more than "a vague expression" and weird ideas and one liners, with occasional sage advice. Evolving her as she grows closer to her friends and boyfriend and thus becomes a little more socially capable without altering who Luna is has been a big deal to me, although it helps to have Hermione (the logical one) and Sarah (the crazy one) as foils for her character.

And you know what, you SHOULD find Michael annoying, at least a little. It seems like you're bordering on dislike of him, but since you pulled a great quote from canon, I'll butcher my own when Remus tells Harry something about his father like "Of course he was an idiot! A lot of people are idiots at his age!" Michael's seventeen right now and in addition to the (often undeserved) confidence that comes with that age, he frankly does deserve a good bit of his ego. The thing is, he's only lost a few times in his life (in magical duels, I mean) and most often to Voldemort. Losing to Voldemort wouldn't humble him - it would be like being a pretty good Quidditch player at Hogwarts and then getting beat by the team that won the World Cup last year. Losing to Voldemort is almost expected, so it wouldn't kill his confidence - it might make him a little angry, however ;) And you will indeed find out what is always eating at Michael and causing him to flare up here and there in the next few chapters, or at least one of the reasons. You mention hoping Luna will help him grow, and - in my TOTALLY unbiased opinion - she does just that. Remember, you're only on chapter 14 of a roughly 125 chapter story, and Michael's still a kid at seventeen. With time skips, Moonlight War ends up spanning ten years, so I hope you'll see that over that decade age, responsibility, family, and frankly getting his butt kicked all work to turn him from a hotshot teenager alternating between threatening anyone who looks at him or Luna and declaring his undying love for her into a mature, responsible adult who learns to trust other people to be as competent - or more competent - than he is.

There's a chapter coming up shortly called "Life Starts Now" which subject matter aside, I feel is an excellent title for the chapter that really dives in to what this novel is about. You could almost say everything up to that point is a prologue, a setup for the heart of the story. I won't spoil anything, but I will say that from there on it becomes less about the entire group and more focused on Michael and Luna as a couple.

I'm really, really glad you're enjoying it so far and I hope I'll hear from you again sometime soon :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Claudius Chapter 17: The Legend of the Yongheng Tree

6th January 2015:
So, I'm back. I still love this story, and I think more people should read it - and leave a review if they do! Keep up the good work and thanks for publishing this!

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for another review! It's really great to know someone's following the story chapter by chapter :) I'm sorry updates haven't been as fast as usual, but I just started my last semester at college with 19 hours, plus work, and I'm doing a lot more revisions than I planned to as I'm going. This chapter is almost completely new. But I think the revisions should drop off soon, now that the original is picking up in quality. Anyway, thanks again and happy reading!

BoredOneNight


 Report Review

Review #8, by Sunflowers Chapter 13: The Wolf Pack

31st October 2014:
Loving all of it so far, thank you!

Author's Response: Thank YOU for the review, I'm glad to know people are enjoying the story all the way up to now :) It only gets better as it goes, so I hope you like the rest too. Happy reading,

BoredOneNight


 Report Review

Review #9, by Alice M. Chapter 12: Smile in Your Sleep

28th October 2014:
I've been following your story for a while but just now I saw that you only have one review, which is sad, so I thought I'd change that :) You are a really good writer and your new characters are refreshing. I hope you update soon.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review, I really appreciate every one :) I'm updating as fast as the queue will allow, so you should be seeing something new soon.

Thanks again,

BoredOneNight


 Report Review

Review #10, by Claudius Chapter 2: The Believer

24th July 2014:
So apparently I have given the honnor of leaving the first review on your story. The first thing that comes to my mind is that it has an enormous amount of dept. I can feel there's a story behind a lot of the characters, a veil of mystery that will dissapear in due time... No seriously, I loved it. It would have been far more easy to write a story about an average auror who disguises himself as a student and tries to protect Harry Potter, but no, your character is much more... interesting? I'll definitely stick arround to see where this is going, for you have stirred my appetite ;) I want more! Keep up the good work, I enjoy your style!

Author's Response: Wow, I can't believe I got a review only two chapters in. Thanks so much man, it means a lot to me to get feedback already. I'm glad you find Michael interesting, but I'd actually put him as about the third most interesting character overall. It's mostly a product of the fact that I started this story when I was fifteen - six years ago now - and frankly my writing has improved a LOT since then. But I'm glad you're really enjoying the story so far, I'll be posting chapters as often as the queue allows, hopefully the next will be up in about three days. Thanks again for the review,

Spirit of Fire


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login