Reading Reviews for Pending Further Investigation
  
167 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Shay_Gryff xxi. legacies [or] the llodewick institute

29th December 2015:
Great job, once again! As you can see, I spent another good few hours speed reading through this story as well, and it's another wonderful piece!

One quick critique, though I'm sure it was purposeful. I feel like the ratio of queer to cis/straight/binary professors was slightly off balance. There were a few characters (Teddy mostly) where I felt like their queerness was slightly forced. It wasn't so much the amount of queer characters, as the amount of queer professors. I don't know maybe I'm just sleep deprived but it felt like at least half of them were queer, and for a few it felt like it was tossed in more for awareness factors than for developed character points. It did not, however, distract from the story.

I look forward to reading your other TFWMS pieces!

-Shay

Author's Response: thanks, i'm glad you enjoyed the story!

we'll have to agree to disagree on the representation of queer characters tbh.

hope you enjoy them!



 Report Review

Review #2, by Priya xxi. legacies [or] the llodewick institute

23rd December 2015:
Hi :) I went through both the Memorial Scholarship + Pending Further Investigation in one go. Didn't even feel exhausted afterwards - that's how much I love it. Thank you for these brilliant stories, I'm definitely going to keep reading your work! Love the language, the several references to ancient languages/ classic literature (a thorough nerd here!) - the wittiness in the characters' responses, I adore it all. The stories of their struggles, their determination, and how they grit their teeth - keep moving forward despite the uncertainties, really mean a lot to me. It's inspiring - and I thank you for that!

Have a fantastic day!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Enigmaticrose4 xxi. legacies [or] the llodewick institute

28th November 2015:
This definitely got me emotional. I've never read any next-gen stories before (preferring AUs), so this will definitely be the series I use to compare the rest to.

My only issue with the entire story was Teddy being genderqueer and Victorie not accepting it. True, there are many people in the world that can't accept that, usually due to ignorance and prejudice, but that doesn't seem right for the daughter of Bill and Fleur. Especially as she's part-veela, an entirely female race and thus not entirely human or constrained by human society beliefs.

 Report Review

Review #4, by RoseFromGryffindor xxi. legacies [or] the llodewick institute

23rd September 2015:
This story. Ugh. I might die.
When I first read to Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship, I was in love. I now have a pending reading list from things I found on there (including Paradise Lost and the Iliad). When I was scrolling through suggestions earlier today, I saw this and literally did a little dance because I was so happy. I loved this book beyond measure. It met all of my incredibly high expectations and crushed them. Everything was brilliant, and all of these characters make up a part of me. I connect so deeply with them, and I bid you farewell now before I write an essay longer than the foot and a half the Professors assign...

 Report Review

Review #5, by HeyMrsPotter v. the proverbial boot [or] the only way is up

11th September 2015:
Woah, serious chapter!

I feel so sorry for Lester! It's horrible to be in that situation where you can't make ends meet. I adore him though, his main concern in the whole situation was for Lily. Lily having a roof over her head, Lily having the wedding, and Lily not relying on her parents. He is just so lovable. It's such a shame that that concern and his pride got him into trouble though, and taking this muggle job probably isn't going to end well!

I can see why this was nominated for a Dobby :D

Dee

 Report Review

Review #6, by HeyMrsPotter iv. day one of forever [or] the ladder of adulthood

11th September 2015:
I feel like thatís enough of a step up the Ladder of Adulthood to sacrifice braless cereal eating at 2pm.Ē


ďI hate bras.Ē
Holly and Rose summing up basically my entire thoughts and feelings.

I loved the attention to detail in this chapter as far as the job side of things went. I liked that you wrote about the different numbers each house would have in them, it's always been a flaw in the books for me that each year saw fairly even numbers of the houses.

I'm dying to know what happened with Holly and Brodie, I hope she tells Rose about it in the next chapter!

Dee

 Report Review

Review #7, by HeyMrsPotter iii. a ravenclaw and a hufflepuff walk out of a bar [or] a farewell tour of sorts

11th September 2015:
This is another brilliant chapter, Lisa.

The relationships you write are just so amazing, and make for effortless reading. Holly is quickly becoming my favourite character. She's totally relatable, especially how she get's all soppy when she's drinking and just hugs everyone, I get that LOL. This Brodie character is a great new addition to the story, I'm hoping he continues to be as nice as he initially seems to be!

On to the next!

Dee

 Report Review

Review #8, by HeyMrsPotter ii. save the date [or] how far we've come

11th September 2015:
I am officially in love with Albus and Scorpius! I love their impromptu setting of a date for the wedding, and the fact that contributing factors were wanting to get married before Lily, an easy time to get off work, and spring being too cliche. Brilliant. Also, I'm deffinitely referring to them as Pottfoy now because omg perfect ship name.

I really love the character that you've given Astoria, her excitement for the boys is totally infectious. Draco reigning her in was a nice touch too.

Another great chapter, Lisa!

Dee

 Report Review

Review #9, by HeyMrsPotter i. twenty-one shots [or] the end of an era

11th September 2015:
Hi, Lisa! I'm still on my Dobby quest!

I haven't read The Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship but I'm hoping to be able to follow this story well enough to get a grasp on it for Dobby voting. I have to say, it didn't stop me from LOVING this chapter. Seriously HILARIOUS. I think you should just spend the rest of your life writing drunk people because omg how perfect was the first half of this chapter♥ I laughed out loud at nearly every line, especially the plural of Albus conversation.

And then that ending! That has to be the most unromantic yet adorable proposal ever♥

I'm looking forward to the next chapter :)

Dee

 Report Review

Review #10, by Hannah B xxi. legacies [or] the llodewick institute

30th July 2015:
Just read both your stories in this verse and I love them! I loved the characters and the diversity. I also really enjoyed how it was realistic and they weren't always perfect or nice. Great work!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Rowan xxi. legacies [or] the llodewick institute

15th July 2015:
I love how much representation of the LGBTQIAPD+ community is present in your writing. Thank you for that - it means a lot to me.

 Report Review

Review #12, by crestwood iii. a ravenclaw and a hufflepuff walk out of a bar [or] a farewell tour of sorts

28th June 2015:
Ok, back here again. It's been too long, I'd say. This is one of my favorites of all of the excellent chapter titles in this story. And the chapter image!! One of your best.

I appreciate the mad potioneer aesthetic. I haven't actually seen it, but I appreciate it. The image of Rose as a party animal is not one that I saw coming from tfwms, but one that makes sense to me. Enough vegetables to ward off scurvy is my favorite portion size for those, generally.

When you think about it - Rose and Holly are kind of unlikely best friends. Well, at first glance anyway. They're very different in most visible ways. But I've felt a connection with plenty of people who are very unlike me in very crucial ways. I think people are probably more complex than people give them credit for, even fictional ones.

You've put a lot of thought into the clubbing scene, I can tell. I can very much back the decision to do so as I've gone through and mapped out Wizarding Britain for no reason other than to figure out where the best bars would be. Also, can I just gawk at performance magic.

I am obsessed with the idea of Holly and Lily finally getting along. I always wanted them to. I actually wanted Lily to get along with everyone. She always kept herself at arms length, although for good reason.

I forgot Brodie is introduced in this chapter. That man has my heart. I wish I could speak French, even badly.

You're so good! On to the next chapter!

Slytherin - House Cup 2015 Review

 Report Review

Review #13, by maskedmuggle v. the proverbial boot [or] the only way is up

28th June 2015:
Hey!

I like how in your story everything isnít perfect and happy, as that can get a bit tiring to read about. Itís also not as realistic. I donít think Iíve read a fic yet about next-gen characters being legit broke, so itís definitely refreshing to see something like that here. I did feel very sorry for them though, especially with that letter coming by evicting them :( I thought you portrayed Lesterís feelings very well, how life wasnít fair and there wasnít much he could do about it. Everything leading up to his attack just kept on building and building that pressure and Iím surprised that Lester managed a Periculum - but itís probably a very good thing he did.

I liked the Albus/Lester interaction and their friendship - they know each other well enough to be able to say crap to each other but Albus still does really care for Lester (although the ending seems Lester pushed him a bit too farÖ) I am really surprised that getting a muggle job is illegal/will cause the MLEs to chase after Lester - it makes it sound so serious, and I canít really see it being an offence, let alone one so serious? Surely muggleborns should be able to work in the muggle world? Although I guess I can see the dangers of that.. (this would be an interesting topic to discuss hmm..),

- Charlotte
Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #14, by maskedmuggle iv. day one of forever [or] the ladder of adulthood

28th June 2015:
Hey!

Another new character comes in - yay for Teddy Weasley! Itís quite surprising to see that there are so many new staff joining Hogwarts this year, but I guess it makes for more characters and more excitement! And I can totally imagine it happening with more and more kids joining Hogwarts. I really want to find out more about Teddy and how he won the scholarship nowÖ (another spin off fic perhaps? :P) and wow, I think I was jut as surprised as Holly for her to become Head of Ravenclaw, but thatís such a cool idea - to have this young adult whoís barely out of Hogwarts to be the head - shall be interesting to see how she deals with it! Itís just amazing seeing how young they are and already achieving great things ^_^

- Charlotte
Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #15, by maskedmuggle iii. a ravenclaw and a hufflepuff walk out of a bar [or] a farewell tour of sorts

28th June 2015:
Hey!

Guess whoís back for another review.. :D I totally relate to Rose with the ponytail or nothing hairstyle - that is so me. I know LGBTQA is something close to you, and I really liked how you really incorporated it into your fic and made it very realistic, with a wizarding gay bar - of course that should be something that should exist! I loved how active and supportive Rose (and Holly) were of the cause. Iím not very knowledgeable about it, so whilst reading your fic (the first one and this one) I have had to look up a few of the words, which is good because itís given me a better understanding of it all. I REALLY like Brodie! He seems such a decent awesome guy and Iím so glad he and Holly are clearly connecting! ♥ As always, brilliant writing, all your dialogue just flows so well, and Iím onto the next chapter!

- Charlotte
Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #16, by maskedmuggle ii. save the date [or] how far we've come

28th June 2015:
Hey again!

I feel like Iím starting to repeat myself, but seriously, your writing is fantastic. From the very beginning of this chapter, I really loved how the characters are so unique and distinct. I loved how Albus reacted to Lester/Laineís engagement by worrying over how he and Scorpius still hadnít set a date, and how he canít help but think of it in a competitive sense at needing to be first. I just love love love how cute and adorable Albus and Scorpius are together - every time theyíre alone together their interaction always makes me smile. Iím laughing at the idea of Malpott or Pottfoy haha those are PERFECT. :P I also really liked how Astoria and Draco are characterised here - very realistic! Off to continue reading! ♥

- Charlotte
Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #17, by maskedmuggle i. twenty-one shots [or] the end of an era

28th June 2015:
Hey!

As I said I would - Iím back for the sequel! Yay Iím so happy Lester and Lily are still together, and that they are going to GET MARRIED! Iím a bit sad there wasnít a fancy proposal but in the circumstances, it worked, and the way Lily responded was cute. Anyway, I just have to say I adore your dialogue, as itís always witty, well written and amusing to read. As in the first fic, I love your characters, from Rose making them hangover potions to how they all just have so much fun when theyíre together. The idea of Albi/multiple Albus made me chuckle. Iím so excited to keep reading, and Iím glad this fic is already completed so I can just keep going until the end. Fabulous writing as always!

- Charlotte
Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #18, by kenpo xii. cross the line [or] don't say the a word

28th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Ravenclaw

I have a lot to say about this chapter. I'm going to start with the Teddy part, because I feel like that's what I have the most to say about (and the other things are just little things). I'm sort of irritated with both of them, especially Rose. I mean... Teddy also shouldn't have done anything, but it just sucks that Rose took an already touchy situation and made it worse. Eugh and I know I shouldn't say Rose did it, because they both obviously did it, but... you know? I feel like Teddy and Victoire's situation is repairable. I know that how she reacted was all sorts of wrong, but... I can understand it. If you've never heard of non-binary gender, and you're getting that huge shock, you might not react as well as you should. I'm not saying her reaction is okay, but there's still room for her to come back in a few days and say "I'm sorry for how I reacted, I love you, can you help me understand what you're going through?"

Sorry. That was such a huge ramble. I'm just feeling a little annoyed with Rose and Teddy.

(disclaimer: since I haven't read this in a while, I might be forgetting other characterisation of Vic that make her actions less understandable. If that's the case... whoops!)

Also amused about Teddy being all "nope they don't call me sir nope nope"

Whew. Okay, now I'm going to mention some of the little things. Try. Urgh. This is why I need to write reviews while I read.

OKAY. The age line businesses. I love it. I can totally imagine there being a bunch of places that are just sick of teens running around, so they just make themselves invisible to them. Hah. Haha. And the Hogwarts Espresso is genius.

I also liked Rose's and Holly's banter all throughout there. I can relate to it being difficult to stay appropriate at times!

Great chapter!

-Georgia

 Report Review

Review #19, by kenpo xi. epiphanies [or] the ace of hearts

28th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Ravenclaw

AH I didn't even know how much I missed Holly, but I did! I really did! I loved this chapter, especially with them talking about how they want to be transparent with their students, because I think that's just so important. I saw a lot of that first hand at my high school, where there were a number of out teachers who were always there for any students having trouble. Sorry, I'm rambling, because I love it so much.

And then Brodie talking about all the girls he's dated and slept with, and... she made him go to a Healer?! Ugh she sounds awful. I like Brodie and Holly! I like them a lot. And I'm so excited to see how them being open with their students goes, and how the faculty will react. I guess that just means I have to keep reading, huh? ;)

I don't know why, but my favorite part very may have been the fact that you specified how they like their tea. I have no idea why. I just enjoyed it tremendously. Maybe because little details like that make the characters seem so real.

Also, shout out for mentioning how much work being a teacher it.

-Georgia

 Report Review

Review #20, by kenpo x. the hopping pot foundation [or] uncharted territory

27th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 - Ravenclaw

Ahhh, I've been away from this story for so long! Shame, shame! It took me a bit to get back into it and remember exactly what's going on, but you do a good job of writing in a way that gave me enough context clues to get it together.

I liked the description and existence of the pathway around the Malfoy Manor. I like knowing that they're so close to muggles, but just sort of pretned that they're not there. I can totally imagine that happening, especially having Granddad Malfoy upset about Scorpius going off.

The accident made me feel on edge - something that you were probably going for. Being in that situation would be so stressful, especially since some of the things they're used to doing just don't work. And then having to just leave... it would be stressful.

LAKSJDFLKJA I LOVE SCORPIUS' IDEA. He's great. Oh my, yes he is. As usual, I appreciate your attention to detail.

Scorpius' thoughts at the end broke my heart a little. I know that I'll eventually probably have to make that type of decision, even just for short term, and I'm already dreading it. Ugh, I can totally relate to how he feels. At least with me, I know that my career goals take me in that path - he didn't know that was going to happen! I hope he and Al can really talk about it, or that he can talk about it with someone else. Oh dear... I'm worried about what's going to happen with them!

-Georgia

 Report Review

Review #21, by InkStainedFingers v. the proverbial boot [or] the only way is up

7th June 2015:
As I was reading this chapter, I realised that this is probably one of the first chapters of PFI I had to actually wait for. I was lucky enough to discover your wonderful writing when you had already finished TFWMS and had already posted the first few chapters of PFI, so this was possibly the first chapter I waited for. Itís hard to describe the happy excitement that floods though you when you check the authorís page of the amazing Ravenclaw333 and Pending Further Investigation has been updated. I would have immediately sent an excited text to my friend (possibly at some ungodly hour of the morning, but what are friends for if not to wake you up with texts about your favourite fanfiction after midnight?) and then hungrily devoured the new chapter.

(Almost everything about that process has changed now: PFI is finished, your status updates on the forums alert me that you have posted another beautiful chapter, I often have forewarning of when you are about to post something new anyway, and your penname is now ad astra. The only thing which hasnít altered in the slightest is the surge of excitement when I click on one of your new chapters or stories. And now Iíll stop talking about this and try and say things about this chapter.)

I love your Lily. I mean, I love all your characters, but Lily is wonderful. I really like the way you start the chapter, bluntly saying that Lily is not a morning person, and then introducing the problem of why sheís awake and actually doing things not long after dawn. I love how she ignores Lesterís question and responds with one of her own. I feel so sorry for them, sitting in bed with the terrifying numbers in parchment-and-ink and worrying because they are in debt. They donít deserve this.

And poor Lester: he is struggling with so much here. He doesnít tell us, or Lily, how much heís in debt by but I assume itís quite a bit more than twenty-three Galleons. And ďbut buying Lilyís ring had pushed him further into the red than heíd ever thought heíd beĒ... ďapparently they didnít understand the concept of estrangedĒ... ď Fate was not about to drop Galleons into his lapĒ... poor Lester. (I feel like I have to mention how I love that you capitalise ĎFateí.)

I love the world-building stuff you have in this chapter: how it is illegal for wizards and witches to get Muggle jobs; the little bit of information about how the pounds-to-Galleons conversion at Gringotts works; the letter from ĎGoldstein & Daviesí and the insight it gives into the legal system of the Wizarding world; the use of the Periculum charm. Itís all brilliant.

The scene with the girl at the Muggle supermarket is one of the moments when Iím reminded of the conversation Rose, Albus, Scorpius and Lester had in TFWMS about how the Sorting Hat considered Slytherin for all four of them. Lesterís quick manipulations of the truth, coupled with the fact that he is doing something illegal in order to survive, seems very Slytherin. (Until I wrote this I had forgotten that Lily is a Slytherin.) I love the line ďshe was far too stubborn and proud to accept their helpĒ.

Youíre good (really, really good) at writing emotional and high-impact scenes about sensitive topics, and I think youíve outdone yourself with Lesterís panic attack. Itís so real and painful and you can feel the raw emotion. It really isnít fair: itís terrible how just when everything seems like it might almost start being nearly okay again this happens and everything is far worse. I feel so so sorry for Lester. And itís absolutely incredibly written.

And the conversation between Albus and Lester at the end of the chapter is amazing. Youíre fantastic at dialogue, and here itís perfectly balanced. The line between friends, Healer-and-patient and brothers-in-law they walk is beautiful. When you think of high tension scenes in PFI, you donít necessarily think of this one (at least I donít) but it actually is incredibly high tension. Because they know each other, because theyíre friends, what should be a simple conversation between a Healer and a patient becomes extremely personal. There is anger and concern and so much confliction between them: ďYou think Iím not trying? You think I can control this? How dare you.Ē ďIím not waiting around to see you hit rock bottom, and Iím not going to let my sister see that either.Ē Albus is amazing in this chapter. He seems so strong: heís doing something that must be incredibly difficult but he does it. But there is a tiny part of me which thinks that he made that their conversation much harder, much more difficult, much more personal than it needed to be Ė but thatís just as much Lesterís fault, isnít it?

One of the best things about your writing, as Iím sure Iíve said before, is how you discuss so many important issues, and how you include so much diversity in your characters. You educate your readers through your stories so effortlessly, so naturally, in a way that seems anything but forced. In this chapter, with Lesterís attack and conversation with Albus, you talk about mental illnesses, but itís something that runs through both TFWMS and PFI. Support networks, panic attacks, potion dependency, how refusing to take medication you need is just as bad as becoming dependant on it. Youíre not afraid to put these things into your writing, making it so helpful, so relatable to so many people. Itís absolutely wonderful.

(Iím really sorry: that was me distracting from talking-about-this-brilliant-chapter to talking-about-your-brilliant-writing-in-general again.)

Thank you, so much, for this fantastic chapter (and for all your brilliant writing).

 Report Review

Review #22, by HappyMollyWeasley xii. cross the line [or] don't say the a word

29th May 2015:
As I've already told you, I enjoy this story very much. I actually like it better than the prequel too. The characters are struggling to find a balance between acting as the adults they are, and betraying the youths they recently were. I remember being a young teacher myself when I accidentally let profanities slip out of my mouth. The embarrassment and shame was awful...

The real life Bechdel test... That was a good one! :D

The was you use Holly and Rose here is amazing. Together they show exactly what Brodie says. There is no gold star system. Rose likes sex, and she's not interested in a relationship (for the time being, or permanently. Could be either, and it really doesn't matter in my opinion.). Holly wants an emotional involvement, but she's not interested in sex. No gold stars, it's fine either way.

Teddy... I can only assume that it was a shock for Victoire, if she didn't know anything at all before. Teddy has had some time to think, but to Victoire it might have been totally new. Still, it's not an excuse to say things like that. Teddy need her to be loving and supporting.

"I'm married." "I know." Well, what else can you say...


Molly

 Report Review

Review #23, by HappyMollyWeasley viii. reality bites [or] disillusionment, thy name is rose

29th May 2015:
Sean and Rose! I didn't see that one coming, but then again... neither did Rose, did she? I suppose she's allowed to have a bit fun, if nothing else. She totally deservers that!

Rose brewing contraception potions for her students! I like that, because it's a sign of actually caring. The rules of only giving the potion for the older students doesn't prevent the younger, but in fact endangers them instead. The Ministry is blind and old-fashioned, which you've shown on several points in this story. (Although legal age of consent varies in different parts of the world it's not unreasonable to believe that teenagers actually do need contraceptions, because that's just the way it is.)


Molly

 Report Review

Review #24, by HappyMollyWeasley vii. sparks fly [or] things could definitely be worse

29th May 2015:
"You guys would make great parents." Oh, this almost made me cry. It's so true, and I can't help feeling utterly sorry, although I've read Serendipity already... I guess Holly felt a little stupid saying that though. It's so unfair that (male) gay couples have so slim chances for a baby. Female couples could get an insemination, legally and safe (at least where I live, I know it's not the case everywhere!), but that's obviously not an option for them. Anyway... They're still too young, and for now the puppy will do. :-/

"Holly's got a boy-frieeend!" This made me smile and giggle. I am SO rooting for this!!!


Molly

 Report Review

Review #25, by HappyMollyWeasley vi. the rollercoaster [or] love is a battlefield

29th May 2015:
Hi again!

This story only gets better and better, and I just can't stop reading. (But I had to take a break to get back and review the chapters I've read all too fast because I was impatiently wanting more or because I was reading on my phone... So here I am!)

I love the interaction between Albus and Scorpius in this chapter. We got to see them at their best, and at their worst. Just like they are! I love how they've both grown and matured since TFWMS, but that they're still the same characters. (Not only them, but the other characters too, but they're my favourites.)

The loophole in the law is awesome! It's believable, and I'm prepared to accept this as canon. Dean and Seamus! :)

Ginny and Astoria are great, and I love the dynamics in that part of the story. I hope we'll see more of the Mums!

Molly

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>