Reading Reviews for Pending Further Investigation
  
170 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodore xi. epiphanies [or] the ace of hearts

27th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hi Elisabeth! I'm excited to get a chance to read and review more of your stories for this - this is one I've had my eye on for some time and I'm so glad that I got a chance to read some of it for this!

I loved this. I mean, I probably don't need to say that because it's your writing and your plots and how could I not, but I'm kind of grinning a lot right now because of the fact that I got to read about two ace characters here and that's just so unusual in fic, and if you do see it, it's kind of mentioned but never focused on or explained, and this just feels so important to read.

I really loved Holly and Brodie here. It's the first chapter I've read about them but I already find them so interesting and likeable that I'd like to read more. Also they are so brave to consider letting the other people in the school know about their relationship and explaining it properly. It's got to be nerve-wracking to do something like that when there's so little understanding of asexuality but the idea of improving ace visibility for other kids in the school who might be struggling right now is awesome and I want to hug them for it.

I also loved the way that you managed to include the explanations of what it means to be ace in here in a natural conversation for them. I loved this whole chapter!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by princesslily_36 xi. epiphanies [or] the ace of hearts

27th April 2017:
Aaah an LGBTQ+ story!! *squeals*

This community is amazing as it has taught me so much about the diversity in sexuality out there and how love is of so many kinds (ok, I went a little off track, but that never ceases to amaze me.)

I am SO loving the idea of Queer Hogwarts and having a few people on staff to talk to is bloody brilliant. All kids need some support to understand themselves and each other!

Aww Holly's experience with Cerise gave me a lovely insight into the many things that ace people struggle with during their early years, especially if the person they love isn't ace. And Rose, through Holly's eyes, Rose seems just so sweetly protective (then again, I love Rose so I maybe biased). Hollys feelings about her relationship with Cerise is wo well written - so natural, so real.

This line: I meant whether youíve understood it, absorbed it, let it seep into the deepest darkest corners of your soul. - how did you come up with it? So beautifully worded and feels so apt for the conversation they are having.

And this. THIS. but I didnít even know asexuality was a thing until I was twenty-two, I just thought people exaggerated a lot about how much they liked sex - Why is this story so wonderful on so many levels! Brodie's experience was enlightening insight into a man's perspective on ace too! And his narrative was less emotional than Holly's, more laced with wry humor. Just so perfect!

I am so happy they both found each other. I wish everyone in this world finds someone who understands them the way these two do.

Thank you for leaving me with a happy fluffy feeling!!

Cheers
~Ysh

 Report Review

Review #3, by melian xi. epiphanies [or] the ace of hearts

27th April 2017:
Ah, Elisabeth, this was a lovely read. Though, to be frank, some of it DID sound like a sexuality pamphlet. IT was an excellent explanation of asexualty, for those who don't know what it is or aren't aware it even exists (and you know as well as I do that there are people like that). The idea of Holly and Brodie sleeping together but that's it, just sleeping, is something that quite frankly a lot of people woudln't be able to get their heads around. And so Holly is right, in that a role model from the staff is needed to champion this sort of thing. I totally get her reluctance because lots of people don't like to be the centre of attention like that - I"m one of them - but sometimes you have to, you know? So this was kind of one of those scenes where the character realises what it is they have to do. They might not be happy about it, but they do it. And that's what real bravery is.

Sorry. You may not have meant it that way, and I know you don't identify as Gryffindor in any way shape or form. So if I'm totally off base, feel free to tell me.

I also really loved how Holly felt that the days had shrunk by several hours. It really does feel like that when you start full time work - the hours just melt away and you feel like you've blinked twice and the day has suddenly disappeared. We've all been there, but you put words to the feeling beautifully.

Great chapter, Elisabeth! :)

cheers Mel

 Report Review

Review #4, by Rainbowtui xxi. legacies [or] the llodewick institute

8th February 2017:
I'm curious, are you kiwi?

 Report Review

Review #5, by ❤️❤️ xxi. legacies [or] the llodewick institute

9th January 2017:
Hello.
I love this story. I love all your stories. Lisa, I think you're my favorite author here.

Thank you so much for writing this, truly, it means so much. I really wish I was more coherent instead of just.. worriesome in this way but honestly, this was incredible, and you deserve any credit coming your way. Thank you so much for writing. This chapter was ADORABLE. This entire fic was!!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Pythagorace xiv. november twentieth [or] until death do us part

26th December 2016:
This chapter is so beautiful, I cried so much! I especially loved the second paragraph of scorius' vows, 'you have defined what love is...'

 Report Review

Review #7, by DeliriusBlack xii. cross the line [or] don't say the a word

7th April 2016:
this is i think the first time you've had a non-binary character in the FWMS universe and that just makes me really happy thank you so much for writing for queer people i kind of love you

 Report Review

Review #8, by oldershouldknowbetter i. twenty-one shots [or] the end of an era

21st March 2016:
Hi there, here for some BvB-Diadems edition.

I remember the last time that I reviewed one of your stories, I was so fresh and new to the site and to the world of fanfiction in general. I think it could have possibly been one of the first BvB rounds I participated in. One of the things uppermost in my mind is the upset that I caused you from some ill phrased comments about the fact of your Scorpius being gay. I am so invested in Rose/Scorpius, to me it has such a potential for drama and exploration. But the thing that your story taught me, as have others on this site, is the validity of the Albus/Scorpius pairing. So invested was I with the hetro-normative version of the narrative, I didn't stop to consider the non-hetro-normative exploration of the same themes. I like Rose/Scorpius because it sets itself up for a few classic romance tropes - the Ill-Crossed-Lovers one (Romeo and Juliet) and Hate-Turns-To-Love one (Pride and Prejudice) amongst others. What I failed to see was that Albus/Scorpius can tread the exact same waters. Now that I have read other stories along the same lines, and even had a go at one myself, I can see the attraction the pairing holds.

Anyway, let me get along to the start of this story shall I?

Whenever I delve into one of your stories, I can immediately see why people rave about your work. I am always taken with the lovely way you write. Your words have such an elegant flow to them which makes your stories so effortless to read. It is really quite remarkable.

I am also impressed at the way you've written 'drunk'. It is quite a hard situation to convey without it turning to the ludicrous. You portray it well, like your protagonist is swimming through treacle - there is a slight disconnect between the world, his brain and his tongue.

It is also a tricky thing to write the story from the drunk person's perspective and still keep everything lucid. You do so and drop in the introductions for this story of your characters from the last one. Not only that, but you do it in a way which gives a good taste of all their individual characters - even James, who gets a mention but no lines.

ďThe us is part of the nominative singular ending,Ē Scorpius said. Beautiful.

The twenty first, you establish it as such, comes to a close with Scorpius being a bro, and a considerate one at that, and Lester returning to the party that convieniently fades to black.

The morning after happens, as it inevitably does. Funnily enough I am typing this in at work, on my night shift, with a guy who is a bit muted from his birthday bash the day before. So, while I was not privy to his condition imediately upon waking, it is peculiar to have such a parallel to reading your story. He comes too with a wonderful helpmate to ease his readmittance into the world proper. Lily is so caring towards him: warning him about the light; then fixind said light; and to top it off, bringing him a patented potion for curing hangovers as made by one Rose Weasley. [What is it about Rose that makes her character such a perfect fit for being good at potions? I don't know, but I am certainly taking the same tack with my Rose, and I have seen plenty of other 'Rose Potioneers' out there too]

It perks up your protagonist so much so that he begins to realise what we have been thinking about Lily: that she is so good. He lists the wonderful things about her and it brings him to the obvious conclusion, which in his particular emotional state, he just blurts out. He preposes!

But it's not just the product of lowered defences, no. He considers what he has put out there and it's right and true. To his imense delight, Lily choses to accept his clumsy proposal and thus begins the story. It certainly makes us want to come back for more.

Good Luck with the Diadems, I can certainly see the reasons that this story has been nominated.

Andrew,
Oldershouldknowbetter.

 Report Review

Review #9, by Shay_Gryff xxi. legacies [or] the llodewick institute

29th December 2015:
Great job, once again! As you can see, I spent another good few hours speed reading through this story as well, and it's another wonderful piece!

One quick critique, though I'm sure it was purposeful. I feel like the ratio of queer to cis/straight/binary professors was slightly off balance. There were a few characters (Teddy mostly) where I felt like their queerness was slightly forced. It wasn't so much the amount of queer characters, as the amount of queer professors. I don't know maybe I'm just sleep deprived but it felt like at least half of them were queer, and for a few it felt like it was tossed in more for awareness factors than for developed character points. It did not, however, distract from the story.

I look forward to reading your other TFWMS pieces!

-Shay

Author's Response: thanks, i'm glad you enjoyed the story!

we'll have to agree to disagree on the representation of queer characters tbh.

hope you enjoy them!



 Report Review

Review #10, by Priya xxi. legacies [or] the llodewick institute

23rd December 2015:
Hi :) I went through both the Memorial Scholarship + Pending Further Investigation in one go. Didn't even feel exhausted afterwards - that's how much I love it. Thank you for these brilliant stories, I'm definitely going to keep reading your work! Love the language, the several references to ancient languages/ classic literature (a thorough nerd here!) - the wittiness in the characters' responses, I adore it all. The stories of their struggles, their determination, and how they grit their teeth - keep moving forward despite the uncertainties, really mean a lot to me. It's inspiring - and I thank you for that!

Have a fantastic day!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Enigmaticrose4 xxi. legacies [or] the llodewick institute

28th November 2015:
This definitely got me emotional. I've never read any next-gen stories before (preferring AUs), so this will definitely be the series I use to compare the rest to.

My only issue with the entire story was Teddy being genderqueer and Victorie not accepting it. True, there are many people in the world that can't accept that, usually due to ignorance and prejudice, but that doesn't seem right for the daughter of Bill and Fleur. Especially as she's part-veela, an entirely female race and thus not entirely human or constrained by human society beliefs.

 Report Review

Review #12, by RoseFromGryffindor xxi. legacies [or] the llodewick institute

23rd September 2015:
This story. Ugh. I might die.
When I first read to Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship, I was in love. I now have a pending reading list from things I found on there (including Paradise Lost and the Iliad). When I was scrolling through suggestions earlier today, I saw this and literally did a little dance because I was so happy. I loved this book beyond measure. It met all of my incredibly high expectations and crushed them. Everything was brilliant, and all of these characters make up a part of me. I connect so deeply with them, and I bid you farewell now before I write an essay longer than the foot and a half the Professors assign...

 Report Review

Review #13, by HeyMrsPotter v. the proverbial boot [or] the only way is up

11th September 2015:
Woah, serious chapter!

I feel so sorry for Lester! It's horrible to be in that situation where you can't make ends meet. I adore him though, his main concern in the whole situation was for Lily. Lily having a roof over her head, Lily having the wedding, and Lily not relying on her parents. He is just so lovable. It's such a shame that that concern and his pride got him into trouble though, and taking this muggle job probably isn't going to end well!

I can see why this was nominated for a Dobby :D

Dee

 Report Review

Review #14, by HeyMrsPotter iv. day one of forever [or] the ladder of adulthood

11th September 2015:
I feel like thatís enough of a step up the Ladder of Adulthood to sacrifice braless cereal eating at 2pm.Ē


ďI hate bras.Ē
Holly and Rose summing up basically my entire thoughts and feelings.

I loved the attention to detail in this chapter as far as the job side of things went. I liked that you wrote about the different numbers each house would have in them, it's always been a flaw in the books for me that each year saw fairly even numbers of the houses.

I'm dying to know what happened with Holly and Brodie, I hope she tells Rose about it in the next chapter!

Dee

 Report Review

Review #15, by HeyMrsPotter iii. a ravenclaw and a hufflepuff walk out of a bar [or] a farewell tour of sorts

11th September 2015:
This is another brilliant chapter, Lisa.

The relationships you write are just so amazing, and make for effortless reading. Holly is quickly becoming my favourite character. She's totally relatable, especially how she get's all soppy when she's drinking and just hugs everyone, I get that LOL. This Brodie character is a great new addition to the story, I'm hoping he continues to be as nice as he initially seems to be!

On to the next!

Dee

 Report Review

Review #16, by HeyMrsPotter ii. save the date [or] how far we've come

11th September 2015:
I am officially in love with Albus and Scorpius! I love their impromptu setting of a date for the wedding, and the fact that contributing factors were wanting to get married before Lily, an easy time to get off work, and spring being too cliche. Brilliant. Also, I'm deffinitely referring to them as Pottfoy now because omg perfect ship name.

I really love the character that you've given Astoria, her excitement for the boys is totally infectious. Draco reigning her in was a nice touch too.

Another great chapter, Lisa!

Dee

 Report Review

Review #17, by HeyMrsPotter i. twenty-one shots [or] the end of an era

11th September 2015:
Hi, Lisa! I'm still on my Dobby quest!

I haven't read The Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship but I'm hoping to be able to follow this story well enough to get a grasp on it for Dobby voting. I have to say, it didn't stop me from LOVING this chapter. Seriously HILARIOUS. I think you should just spend the rest of your life writing drunk people because omg how perfect was the first half of this chapter♥ I laughed out loud at nearly every line, especially the plural of Albus conversation.

And then that ending! That has to be the most unromantic yet adorable proposal ever♥

I'm looking forward to the next chapter :)

Dee

 Report Review

Review #18, by Hannah B xxi. legacies [or] the llodewick institute

30th July 2015:
Just read both your stories in this verse and I love them! I loved the characters and the diversity. I also really enjoyed how it was realistic and they weren't always perfect or nice. Great work!

 Report Review

Review #19, by Rowan xxi. legacies [or] the llodewick institute

15th July 2015:
I love how much representation of the LGBTQIAPD+ community is present in your writing. Thank you for that - it means a lot to me.

 Report Review

Review #20, by crestwood iii. a ravenclaw and a hufflepuff walk out of a bar [or] a farewell tour of sorts

28th June 2015:
Ok, back here again. It's been too long, I'd say. This is one of my favorites of all of the excellent chapter titles in this story. And the chapter image!! One of your best.

I appreciate the mad potioneer aesthetic. I haven't actually seen it, but I appreciate it. The image of Rose as a party animal is not one that I saw coming from tfwms, but one that makes sense to me. Enough vegetables to ward off scurvy is my favorite portion size for those, generally.

When you think about it - Rose and Holly are kind of unlikely best friends. Well, at first glance anyway. They're very different in most visible ways. But I've felt a connection with plenty of people who are very unlike me in very crucial ways. I think people are probably more complex than people give them credit for, even fictional ones.

You've put a lot of thought into the clubbing scene, I can tell. I can very much back the decision to do so as I've gone through and mapped out Wizarding Britain for no reason other than to figure out where the best bars would be. Also, can I just gawk at performance magic.

I am obsessed with the idea of Holly and Lily finally getting along. I always wanted them to. I actually wanted Lily to get along with everyone. She always kept herself at arms length, although for good reason.

I forgot Brodie is introduced in this chapter. That man has my heart. I wish I could speak French, even badly.

You're so good! On to the next chapter!

Slytherin - House Cup 2015 Review

 Report Review

Review #21, by maskedmuggle v. the proverbial boot [or] the only way is up

28th June 2015:
Hey!

I like how in your story everything isnít perfect and happy, as that can get a bit tiring to read about. Itís also not as realistic. I donít think Iíve read a fic yet about next-gen characters being legit broke, so itís definitely refreshing to see something like that here. I did feel very sorry for them though, especially with that letter coming by evicting them :( I thought you portrayed Lesterís feelings very well, how life wasnít fair and there wasnít much he could do about it. Everything leading up to his attack just kept on building and building that pressure and Iím surprised that Lester managed a Periculum - but itís probably a very good thing he did.

I liked the Albus/Lester interaction and their friendship - they know each other well enough to be able to say crap to each other but Albus still does really care for Lester (although the ending seems Lester pushed him a bit too farÖ) I am really surprised that getting a muggle job is illegal/will cause the MLEs to chase after Lester - it makes it sound so serious, and I canít really see it being an offence, let alone one so serious? Surely muggleborns should be able to work in the muggle world? Although I guess I can see the dangers of that.. (this would be an interesting topic to discuss hmm..),

- Charlotte
Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #22, by maskedmuggle iv. day one of forever [or] the ladder of adulthood

28th June 2015:
Hey!

Another new character comes in - yay for Teddy Weasley! Itís quite surprising to see that there are so many new staff joining Hogwarts this year, but I guess it makes for more characters and more excitement! And I can totally imagine it happening with more and more kids joining Hogwarts. I really want to find out more about Teddy and how he won the scholarship nowÖ (another spin off fic perhaps? :P) and wow, I think I was jut as surprised as Holly for her to become Head of Ravenclaw, but thatís such a cool idea - to have this young adult whoís barely out of Hogwarts to be the head - shall be interesting to see how she deals with it! Itís just amazing seeing how young they are and already achieving great things ^_^

- Charlotte
Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #23, by maskedmuggle iii. a ravenclaw and a hufflepuff walk out of a bar [or] a farewell tour of sorts

28th June 2015:
Hey!

Guess whoís back for another review.. :D I totally relate to Rose with the ponytail or nothing hairstyle - that is so me. I know LGBTQA is something close to you, and I really liked how you really incorporated it into your fic and made it very realistic, with a wizarding gay bar - of course that should be something that should exist! I loved how active and supportive Rose (and Holly) were of the cause. Iím not very knowledgeable about it, so whilst reading your fic (the first one and this one) I have had to look up a few of the words, which is good because itís given me a better understanding of it all. I REALLY like Brodie! He seems such a decent awesome guy and Iím so glad he and Holly are clearly connecting! ♥ As always, brilliant writing, all your dialogue just flows so well, and Iím onto the next chapter!

- Charlotte
Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #24, by maskedmuggle ii. save the date [or] how far we've come

28th June 2015:
Hey again!

I feel like Iím starting to repeat myself, but seriously, your writing is fantastic. From the very beginning of this chapter, I really loved how the characters are so unique and distinct. I loved how Albus reacted to Lester/Laineís engagement by worrying over how he and Scorpius still hadnít set a date, and how he canít help but think of it in a competitive sense at needing to be first. I just love love love how cute and adorable Albus and Scorpius are together - every time theyíre alone together their interaction always makes me smile. Iím laughing at the idea of Malpott or Pottfoy haha those are PERFECT. :P I also really liked how Astoria and Draco are characterised here - very realistic! Off to continue reading! ♥

- Charlotte
Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #25, by maskedmuggle i. twenty-one shots [or] the end of an era

28th June 2015:
Hey!

As I said I would - Iím back for the sequel! Yay Iím so happy Lester and Lily are still together, and that they are going to GET MARRIED! Iím a bit sad there wasnít a fancy proposal but in the circumstances, it worked, and the way Lily responded was cute. Anyway, I just have to say I adore your dialogue, as itís always witty, well written and amusing to read. As in the first fic, I love your characters, from Rose making them hangover potions to how they all just have so much fun when theyíre together. The idea of Albi/multiple Albus made me chuckle. Iím so excited to keep reading, and Iím glad this fic is already completed so I can just keep going until the end. Fabulous writing as always!

- Charlotte
Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>