Reading Reviews for Complicated
312 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Aubs In Which It Keeps Raining

3rd November 2015:
Please update soon im getting quit impatient!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Ella In Which It Keeps Raining

31st October 2015:
I love this story but I wish you would bring cassie back soon !!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Crescent Moon  In Which It Keeps Raining

26th October 2015:
I can't believe I forgot to review! Because I'm loving this story so much. I'm such a bad person.
I feel so sorry for Ollie, her and her mother's relationship is just so sad. But I'm loving all the Potters and Woods. And best of all Scor is back! Oh how I missed him. I can't wait for more Scor. And Al is just being far too sweet as always.
I can't wait to read what's going to happen next, and I'll definitely try to review on time this time!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Roisin In Which It Keeps Raining

6th October 2015:
Alright just wanna pat my back for calling another thing--I KNEW that the trauma with Liv's mom would end up reuniting her with Scorpius! I KNEW it!

Like, Scorpius is a much older friend than the rest, and there's more closeness and history between the families (even if it's awkward). However crappy the two have been to each other kind of pales to what's going on now, and I'm just SO HAPPY that they've begun resolving things.

I was genuinely on the edge of my seat throughout that whole interaction hoping that no one would screw it up, and YAY it all worked out!

Also, Albus/Scorpius FRANDSHIP! That ending left me SO weirdly giddy and excited you have NO idea! Like, I couldn't stop just grinning like a fool and I can't really explain why. Maybe because Scorpius got over his shock and weirdness and wasn't all bratty about Liv making new friends/dating-ish someone, and because Al didn't go into some super defensive/territorial mode (which, yeah, would be pretty unlike him). YAYAYAYAYAY!

I mean, I doubt it will be smooth sailing from here on out because, you know, STORY. I'm really interested to see how things play out once they're all back at Hogwarts. I mean, Scorpius doesn't really have that many other FRIENDS (there's the Quidditch dudes and all, but his main people were Cassie and Liv), and I'm curious about how/if he'll fit in with Liv's new Wotter friend-group. There are so many directions this could go, and I'm so excited to see what you'll do!

This is definitely a very "turning-point-y" moment and the story.

What will happen with Liv/Al? What will happen with Scorpius? What will happen now that Liv is quasi-step-sisters with Laura? AND WHAT IS GOING ON WITH CASSIE?!?!?!

EeEeEeEeE! Please update soon!


(And I realize I didn't really comment on the story as a whole. THE REST WAS GREAT TOO! It was weird seeing Olivia sort of play along with her mom. Like, what's it going to take to shake up their relationship and get some real communication going?)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Fer In Which It Keeps Raining

5th October 2015:
OMG! I love Scorpius and Ollie so much, they are like brother and sister and they're the cutest pair ever. I like how Ollie's relationship with Jason has improved, and I love how they love her so much. I kinda hate Pansy, becuase she's horrible mom, and well yeah. Anyways I absolutely loved Scorpius when he came back, he's so darn cute.


 Report Review

Review #6, by Roisin In Which Al Talks

5th October 2015:
OK back! Got all excited and just read through this and the next chapter last night without stopping to review so now I am back!

First off, I really want to commend you on the whole first kiss sequence, because it was just SO realistic and resonant. While I've never been on either side of that /exact/ situation, just so much of what they both said and did struck so many familiar chords. Just really REALLY well done. And then the way Olivia got almost childish at the end being all like "well I won't change my mind" was really good, because it subtly showed the whole situation calming down and becoming nice again.

Also, I think there's a sort of weird movement in any sort of Teen narratives (be they OF, tv shows, fics, whatever) to show parents/families/adult authority figures as super duper "NO BOYS IN YOUR ROOM EVAR"--but that's never seemed all that realistic to me. Like, I think you produced a really realistic scenario, well hinted at with the flash of Katie in the doorway holding tea and seeming a bit awkward. Like maybe she thinks it might not be appropriate to let a boy be in Olivia's bed snuggling, and then Olivia isn't her daughter, but then Olivia's been through a lot and SO WHAT it's just snuggling. I think a lot of the time, teenagers will just sort of make choices (like "this person is sleeping here tonight") without really discussing it with adults, and then the adults are like "ERM" but don't really know what to do about it.

Especially in these three chapters, Al has been sort of the one person to say the right thing--like, he's the first to really acknowledge the scope of what happened to her mom and the issue of mental illness, and the first to think that hey, maybe she should visit her. I could sort of fault various adults for not stepping in to do that (her dad comes to mind), but mostly, I think that teenagers need their friends/peers a LOT, and stuff coming from friends/peers can be much more powerful. Lucky Olivia has a friend as good as Albus :)

I'm also curious, because I felt SURE that Al was talking about Laura, but then he sort of makes it seem like he wasn't. I suspect he WAS talking about Laura, and intentionally disguised that to sort of protect her privacy. Which I would respect. Like, yeah he cares about Liv and is close with her, but that doesn't mean that Liv necessarily has a right to know Laura's secrets.

In a way, Albus might seem almost TOO good, but I sort of think that might be ok. Like, he's Harry and Ginny's son after all, and the middle child, so I like to think he'd be especially well-adjusted. And then if the person he's talking about IS Laura, then that would be a case for him being human. Because then everything she did to him would get a little bit explained (not necessarily justified, but explained), and then his anger at her would be realistically human (rather than infinitely and unrealistically compassionate).

And some people ARE just REALLY nice!

And I know I say this, like, every other review, but OH MAN Cassie is gonna be SO SURPRISED when (if?) she reunites with Liv! Olivia has changed SO VERY MUCH from the person she was (/pretended to be) at the start of the story. And Cassie hasn't been around to see how and why that change occurred, so it's gonna be CRAY.

On to the next!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Roisin In Which It Gets Worse Before It Gets Better

5th October 2015:

So YAY Olivia's mom isn't dead! I mean, I don't like the woman at all, but it would hardly help Olivia to have her die. Especially after having had so fraught a relationship--if her mum had taken her own life, Olivia surely would have ended up feeling HELLA unnecessarily guilty :(

Also, can I just say real fast, I TOTALLY called that Clementine was Laura Brogan's mom! NAILED IT! What a perfectly complicated and terrible turn of events! Like, OH MAN. I really felt for Olivia through all of that. And while her dad is nice enough in a lot of ways, he's just always been so PASSIVE and not really involved and that's all gotta hurt.

I'm also curious, because I suspect you might do more with Laura Brogan. Like, you've hinted at some nuance before--that there may be more to her, and that maybe she's having a hard time. And then here, there were a few little clues that she might have some sort of eating disorder or something (which would itself be indicative of a larger anxiety issue). Very interesting things.

Also can I just repeat my theory that James knows something about Cassie? Because I'm SURE that James knows something about Cassie!

And I noticed you did sort of a subtle thing, where after Olivia got splinched, she referred to her cousin as "Jason" and not "the Moron." I mean, "Moron" has evolved into something more like a term of endearment recently, but I thought it was apt that she'd be too freaked out for such petty things in that moment. Nice.

YAYAYAY lovely lovely Albus! Nice going, James!


 Report Review

Review #8, by merlins beard In Which It Keeps Raining

4th October 2015:
Aw I love the end of this chapter.

So, I'm almost a little ashamed to say that I had forgotten about this story until you asked for the swap on the forums... I had some catching up to do (the last 5 chapters I think), but I made it here at last.

Wow, things have certainly changed for Ollie. The sketchbook is back and she's drawing again! I love that she started doing that again. I also love that she's started becoming close with the Gryffindors (especially Al, he's my personal favourite in any next gen story)...

Olivia has to go through so much! Why do you keep torturing her? First she loses her best friend, then her other best friend stops talking to her, then her mum ODs, her dad is dating the most horrible woman and has replaced her with the "perfect child"... that really is a lot to take in. I love how well it all fits together.

James! I love James! I love that he thinks of getting Al, and I love that the adults let him stay. It seems so right, and you've written them to be perfect for each other. Al is so strong and confident, yet concerned and sweet without being patronizing.

That hospital visit turned out to be exactly what I expected! Pansy would just keep doing what she does, and not even pay attention to her daughter's needs and emotions. She doesn't even ASK where Olivia is staying or if she's doing okay. What kind of mother does that?

Oh thank god, Scorpius is back!!! I missed him. And wow, Albus and Scorpius are being civil towards each other. I hope that stays that way. Olivia needs them both there at the moment.

Okay so I'll just stop rambling now. Sorry for the incoherent review, that happened due to lack of sleep on my part. Please forgive me... :hug:

I loved this chapter, and I can't wait for the next one. Is it back to Hogwarts already? I wonder how mych things will change for Olivia there, now that she and Al are together...

Thanks for the swap!


 Report Review

Review #9, by Lobelia Sackville-Baggins In Which It Keeps Raining

4th October 2015:
And that kiss in the rain! *swoon* Perfect, beautiful, cliche, feels, gah!
That conversation at the hospital...oh boy. I guess nothing has changed, has it? I mean, Pansy is still Pansy, I suppose. I'm just glad Liv has a good support system now.
And I can just imagine Harry and Oliver lying in the mud, surrounded by their progeny, laughing about getting old. My feels are being pulled every which way. Dammit.
I'm so happy you're back, and I can't wait for more!
Love you!

 Report Review

Review #10, by AUBS In Which It Keeps Raining

4th October 2015:
YAY!! I'm so happy you decided to update!!! It's been so long I was getting worried! Please continue to update quickly!;)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review :) I'll try to get the next update up in not too long xx

 Report Review

Review #11, by MalfoyMannor In Which It Keeps Raining

4th October 2015:
Albus and Liv though :P how cute

finally Scorp talks to her :)

really thought the ending of this chapter was unexpected and sweet

Author's Response: Aw thanks so much for the review. Glad you're enjoying it :) E xx

 Report Review

Review #12, by Julia In Which It Keeps Raining

4th October 2015:
I wasn't expecting the ending but it made me so happy!

Author's Response: Haha glad to hear it :) Thanks for the review! x

 Report Review

Review #13, by anonny In Which Al Talks

29th September 2015:
I really love this story! I read it all the way through in one night. Can't wait to see what happens next!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! Chapter 20 just went up :)

E x

 Report Review

Review #14, by Margie In Which Al Talks

29th September 2015:
Hi Emma,

Yeah it looks like there might actually be a quidditch match I can't wait! ^_^ When I saw that they needed another seeker my mind went straight to Scorpius... but that seems unlikely at this point... what with him hating most of them and not speaking to Ollie.

This chapter has given me a lot to think about. I'm really glad you're being so understanding about mental health. My sister has been mentally ill for a long time and I think actually it happens to a lot of people - either to them or to someone close to them.

I completely understood Liv's desire to pretend it hadn't happened which would have left her really unprepared for anything that followed after or for coping with what had happened so thank goodness for Al.

I was really relieved when Al broke away from their kiss because while it's the most natural thing in the world to want intimacy and comfort - after all that it would have been the worst idea. I cringed at it though because it is so humiliating to be rejected but hey it turned out ok in the end.

On the whole Al and Liv's interaction throughout the chapter made me feel odd. He's being just exactly what she needs and without him it would have been much worse for her but the contrast between their maturity is so striking - it felt like Al was much older than Liv. What's more it made it clear how much she only trusts Al. It did seem like she's warming up to her family though (I loved the breakfast scene especially Oliver, his flowery apron and his enthusiasm to play quidditch - what a dork haha).

Reading the chapter again lent a lot of perspective. My guess is the girl he was talking about was Laura Brogan. It wouldn't be that surprising if she went to his muggle primary school especially if her dad was a muggle and several characters have mentioned how Laura had been through a tough time. I imagine it's supposed to be a secret and not Al's to tell so I can see why Al would lie even to Liv to protect Laura in those circumstances. Still. I wonder how Liv would respond to that. Hypothetically.

Suspecting that Al had been through something very similar before made me wonder what he would have done differently the first time round. It could mean he would be more wary of saying the wrong thing. If it was Laura did she go to him for comfort and intimacy and it blew up in both their faces? Did she blow hot and cold on him and how did he take that rejection or the realisation that she hadn't kissed him or more just because she was in love with him?

If that's the case it would be tough to get close to someone again with that same fear in mind. I suppose what I'm getting at is that he was probably feeling a lot more fragile about it than he let on. It could also prove to be very difficult for him in the next few chapters.

Al has done a lot for Liv in this chapter and I hope that when Liv is feeling stronger and wiser that she can be there for him if he needs it. I suppose I'm worried that she'll take him for granted but that really doesn't seem like her, when I think about it. That line about her being aware of a change in her that meant that she felt more responsible for the happiness of those around her, especially Al, gave me a lot of hope in that direction.

This whole chapter felt like a turning point for Liv in some ways. I've said before, I think, that she potentially could do with more agency (not that there has been a lot that she can do and she's such a child still in many ways) and I hope that this gives her a chance to use some.

I think it's interesting that Liv is being introduced to the idea that someone can project a happy, strong image but be breaking down on the inside and I wonder if she would apply that thinking to Cassie if and when she next sees her.

I'm looking forward to this quidditch match (if we get to see it that is) and to Liv seeing her Mum and hopefully understanding why her mum did what she did.

Thanks for such a good chapter Emma! Margiexx

Author's Response: Margie you're reviews are always the best! Thank you so much!

I'm glad that you appreciated the mental health discussion. I really wanted to handle it tactfully and it's good to hear that it worked - I didn't want it to be upsetting or triggering for anyone.

You're exactly right about Al and Liv. In this chapter, she's in a really vulnerable place and he's very much the mature thoughtful one. It wouldn't be fair for something to happen between them here because they're just going through completely different things. You're right that Al's past experiences have let him be more thoughtful and think more carefully about what to do.

Yes! I just described this chapter as a turning point in another response. You're exactly right. Liv's finally starting to make a conscious decision to help herself, even though she still needs Al to support her in that.

And I like that thought about Cassie. I hadn't actually thought of that but yes, Liv's always seen Cassie as a very strong person and that's obviously not really the case, which is something she needs to learn.

Thanks so much for such a thoughtful review! E x

 Report Review

Review #15, by AUBS In Which Al Talks

23rd September 2015:
Please update quickly! I'm getting so bored with all the other stories!Thanks for being amazing!

Author's Response: Chapter 20 just went up :) Thanks for the review! Emma x

 Report Review

Review #16, by CambAngst In Which Al Talks

21st September 2015:
Hi, Emma!

I felt like there was a natural-feeling progression to this chapter as Olivia gradually went from being devastated and overwhelmed to being calmer and more in control. Hopeful, even. She's had a lot of ups and downs in this story, but I'm hoping that the end of the last chapter was pretty much rock bottom for her. It would be nice to see her be happier and stronger for a few chapters.

It seemed that Al saved her from ending up as a puddle on the floor at the start of the chapter. She's clinging to him for dear life and he's just trying to get her to a place where he can calm her down or at least let her cry herself out. It's not a bad strategy on his part. Seems to work out well.

I think I saw a small typo in the first part:

I could feel his breathe in the movement of his chest more than in the air against my neck -- his breathing?

Al is such a gentleman! If there's anything I could possibly critique you on, it's that sometimes Al seems a little too good to be true. But, he was human enough to acknowledge the struggle in this situation. He obviously wanted to keep the kiss going, but he didn't want to take advantage of her in a vulnerable situation. Like I said, such a gentleman!

Aww! James and Jason are adorable. Well, James is anyway.

Oliver burned his hand in his rush to turn around and swore before nodding eagerly. -- He'll not only play, he'll give a big pep talk before the game and insist that everyone needs to practice when it's over.

I have to say, you set up a pretty amazing visual with Al and Olivia baring their souls to one another in the rain. Especially Al. He's been a little mysterious throughout the story, at least in terms of how he got to be so sensitive and such a good listener. That's doubly true when you compare him to James, Louis and some of the other Potter/Weasley males. Now it makes more sense. After what happened with his muggle friend, he's probably scared to death that it will happen again. That another person he cares about will be in trouble and he'll miss the signs. Nicely written, Ms. Emma!

You closed out the chapter on a really high note. Things aren't going to be easy, but I still felt good for Al and Olivia.

Excellent job! Until next time...

Author's Response: Hi Dan, sorry for the slow slow response. This review was lovely, thank you so much.

I think this chapter marks a bit of a change for Olivia. She's really been propped up a lot by Al, Rose and Louis, but this is the first time she's really made a conscious decision to start changing things. You're right that it ends on a hopeful note.

Ahh I know, Al's potentially a bit too perfect at the moment. More on him later :)

I now desperately want to write Oliver's pep talk.

Thanks so much for such a kind and thoughtful review.

Emma x

 Report Review

Review #17, by Fer In Which Al Talks

17th September 2015:
Hey, So I started reading ir yesterday and I hoy yo the latest chapter yesterday, it is amazing. I actually thought that Olivia's dad was with Cassie (I don't like her very much).
I love the relationship between Liv and Al but I really miss Scorpius because he's Liv's best friend and living life without him mustn't be an easy task.
Well overall I love the story and how you write and I really hope you update soon.
-F xx

Author's Response: Hi Fer! I'm so happy to hear you're enjoying reading. Next chapter just went up and there's some Scorpius in there for you :)

Emma xx

 Report Review

Review #18, by Romana In Which Al Talks

14th September 2015:
I came across your story while looking for a Scorose fan fic. . I like how your dealing with hard hitting issues and toxic relationships. The problem with toxic people in your life is that you don't know their toxic until after they leave. As a Scorose fan I look forward to the progression of that story line. The mending of the relationship between Olivia and scorpius, the acceptance of the wotters in his life, moving on from Cassie and falling for rose. Sounds like a story all on its own :). Another story all on its own is the story of Cassie. With rejection from her mother , mixed with little parental guidance, it's no wonder she is a bitchy wild child. Why did she leave, where is she (the letters Olivia sends are going somewhere) will she return and if she does how will this effect the new and improved relations with the wotters and the moron. I stay tuned for the answers.

Author's Response: Hi! I'm so glad to hear you're enjoying reading. The idea of toxic people is definitely something I'm trying to explore here. Ollie's had a lot of people in her life that have been really damaging, and this is kind of documenting how she manages to escape that. More on Cassie soon :)

Thank you for the review! Chapter 20 just went up. Emma xx

 Report Review

Review #19, by Ali In Which Al Talks

9th September 2015:
This is so amazing! 10/10

Author's Response: Really happy you're enjoying it. Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by rosiful In Which Al Talks

9th September 2015:
So, last night I stayed up to 2am reading this story and was completely exhausted today at work, but it was totally worth it because this story is awesome and incredibly addicting (obviously). I'm quite surprised I haven't read it before actually, but once I started I just couldn't stop. I would've stopped and reviewed every chapter... but I just had to know what happened next!

I love all the characters you've created. They all have their own distinct personalities, even if they aren't always nice!

I am so curious as to what is going on with Cassie. I'm absolutely convinced she is pregnant... but then she disappeared.. and then there's the whole necklace thing...
I am dying to know what is going on with her!

I am so conflicted about poor Scorpius. I know he's been a massive jerk to Liv, but he has been through so much and I feel so bad for him. First Cassie disappeared, then he is accused of her kidnap, then Liv ran away when he needed her most and he has no one else to turn to. But, he really shouldn't take it all out on Olivia.

Al is just the cutest thing ever! He and Olivia are just adorable together!

I am really, really looking forward to the next chapter.
I have so many theories, but I have no idea where you will take this story!
Please update soon?


Author's Response: Aww thank you so so much for this lovely review! It really made me smile so much. This story's definitely been getting less reviews in more recent chapters so it's really lovely to hear from new readers and know that you're enjoying it :)

I'm glad you feel conflicted about Scorpius, that's kind of how I feel about him too. He's hurting a lot and it doesn't really excuse his behaviour but he's not a bad person at all.

Genuinely thank you so so much for such a lovely review. I'll try to update soon :)

Oo also I don't know if you're still writing Bertie Botts but definitely let me know if you update because I want to know what happens next!

Emma xx

 Report Review

Review #21, by AUBS In Which Al Talks

6th September 2015:
Yay! Ive been waiting so long for this chapter to come out! Excellent as always! Please update faster!!Thanks;)

Author's Response: Haha I'll try to get the next chapter out soon. Thanks for reviewing :) xx

 Report Review

Review #22, by Lobelia Sackville-Baggins In Which Al Talks

6th September 2015:
I've been checking multiple times a day for an update (I know, I know, but at least I'm still on break), and you didn't disappoint (I'm not even sure that's possible). I LOVE how things are moving forward with Al and Liv, and how they trust each other so much that they share things like what Al just did...and poor Al, too. Thank you so much for shedding light on mental health, though. It's very important and very misunderstood, sadly.
And can I just say...I know that the James and Jason head-on-shoulders thing is a hey-we're-bros-look-at-the-bromance sort of jokey-thingy...but for a second, I thought that they were being serious...and I actually kind of liked it. Huh. Crazy, right? I mean, if they were for real, James wouldn't joke about spooning with Katie (because who talks about spending the night with the s.o.'s mother?!), but...I thought that it had the potential to be sweet. Okay, I probably got the wrong idea here, didn't I?
Anyway, Oliver in the flowery apron made my day. I had a big, goofy smile on my face when I read that, until things got serious again.
Love you, and can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Hi! Haha, I'm glad you're enjoying it enough to check so often! I'm trying to keep updates a bit quicker at the moment :)

It's a relief that you thought the mental health discussion worked. It's very much a serious topic and I wanted to talk about it but was worried about not doing it justice.

James and Jason basically love each other loads, but yeah...just friends at the moment. They're super cute though. Thank you for liking them!

Thanks so much for the lovely review. I'm so so glad you're still enjoying reading :)

Emma xx

 Report Review

Review #23, by Shinicha In Which It Gets Worse Before It Gets Better

1st September 2015:
OMG I just realised to my horror that I actually never left a review for this story! I'm so sorry, I don't even know how this happened.
And I honestly want to make it a long and good one, only I'm currently on my phone on an island :(
I'll therefore just comment on this chapter for now.

Okay, so the question just WHO this girlfriend of her fathers is has bothered me quite a while (when Daphne was about to spill it in Hogsmead and Olivia refused to know I was like whaaat nooo).. But I never would've guessed THIS. Not only the bad one of the MLEs but also Laura's mother?!?!

But Olivia wandering in Laura's room was a continuation from last chapter's surprise: that she'd actually be friends with Rose and was once apparently non-bitchy. This only heightens the suspense of what happened for her to turn on Albus.. And if and when this misunderstanding is cleared; will it be too late for her, or will Liv be the one who'll be ditched? :/ :/

We haven't heard anything about Cassie in a while! I still wonder if my suspicion of her being pregnant is correct..! (But why run away and not simply abort...? What about the violence she seemingly encountered..?)

I love how the katie-side of Liv's family is growing on her. The moron really is quite attentive; and I loved her 'reunion' with Al. I can't wait for the next chapter, I'm sitting on needles!!! :)

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so so much for this review. Everything you've said is so kind and I'm really happy to hear how much you're enjoying this story. It's always lovely to hear that people have been reading and liking it.

Cassie's still going to be in the background for a little while. Olivia's struggling without her but right now her other problems have pushed it a bit further back in her mind. It's good to hear your theories on her disappearance :)

I'm so glad you like Katie and Jason! Jason's really making progress with Liv and I'm enjoying writing it a lot. And then Al's just super kind and lovely to write.

Next chapter's up now. Hope you like it!

Thanks so much for the lovely review. Emma xx

 Report Review

Review #24, by Unicorn_Charm In Which Al Sits Still

31st August 2015:
Hey Emma! Here for our swap!! ♥

Every time I come back to this story, I just fall in love all over again. It's just so good, it's not even funny. You're amazing, my dear!

I really like how you don't exactly tell us that Olivia is depressed, because obviously she is. You show us by her telling us how she hasn't washed her hair or doesn't take any care in her appearance as of late. And that she's lost weight on top of everything. She's clearly stressed and definitely not coping well, which is made totally clear by her just giving up on herself.

I think it's sweet that Al is going to do this with her. He barely bats an eyelash and has a, "yeah, lets do it!" attitude. I love him. He really is such a wonderful person, but not too unbelievably wonderful that he seems too good to be true. He's just a nice guy who has faults like everyone else. Your characterization is brilliant. :)

My stomach dropped when she got in there and saw Scorpius. And then my heart completely shattered for him seeing him completely broken. I know he hasn't been the nicest person during this story, but he's really had a rough time of it since Cass disappeared. I kind of just want to hug him and let him know everything will be alright. :( Ugh, I knew that seeing Al there would make him really angry, which it totally did. I wish he'd see that Al really wasn't that bad and maybe make a new friend, but I don't see that happening. Poor Olivia. He really shouldn't push her away like this. He needs someone. I want to hug him and shake him all at the same time.

Al is just so sweet! Gah! They're both so freaking cute together!!

I LOVED the whole bit with the sketchbook! It was adorable and so personal and kind of intimate and I just love it! ♥ It's so nice to see that Al brought that out in here again in a way. Any kind of artistic release is a great way to deal with stress and depression. That should help her a lot if she ends up sticking with it. I hope she does!

Haha! Rose sounds a little bit like her mother, doesn't she? With Al saying why he doesn't want to ask her to help him pack. That made me chuckle. :D

The whole bit with Clara and Esther was funny. Of course they'd be wondering who she spent the night with. I would, too if my roommate was out all night when that was kind of out of character for her to do alone. And I LOVE that she put on a Gryffindor colored jumper! ♥ ♥ I want Al and Olivia together right now! They get along so well and they clearly both like one another, they just haven't admitted it yet. Olivia hasn't even admitted it to herself, but she does. She totally does. :p

This was a great chapter! I love the sweet little moments with Al and Liv! Ugh I just love this story!! Can't wait to continue on!

Thanks for the swap love! ♥ ♥

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Hi Meg! Your reviews always make me smile so much. Thank you thank you thank you.

I'm so glad you like Al. I love writing him so much. It's such a relief to hear that he's believable and that people like him with Liv. I wanted him to be the one that reminded Liv of the sketchbook. It's a part of herself that she tied a lot to Cassie and Scor, but actually she should be able to access it whether or not she has them, and I wanted Al to be able to show her that.

Thank you for such a lovely review! I'm so happy you liked the chapter.

Emma xx

 Report Review

Review #25, by CambAngst In Which It Gets Worse Before It Gets Better

30th August 2015:
Hi, Emma! I'm all caught up!

GryCReMo (Review #49)

So... that was a pretty big mistake Daphne made there at the end of the last chapter. I take back anything kind I might have said about her in previous reviews. (Did I say anything kind about her?) She is an idiot.

Wow, even Olivia's owl is being awful to her at the moment.

At first I was sort of like Olivia: relieved to see her dad come along. But true to form, her dad takes care of that situation quickly enough. It's hard to fathom how the man can be this emotionally tone-deaf. I'm composing a list in my head, the topic being, "Things Olivia's Dad Should Have Considered". It's long. A few highlights:

▷ Does Olivia perhaps want to go to the hospital to make sure her mother is alright?

▷ Is Olivia tired or hungry?

▷ Why on god's green earth would Olivia want to immediately cosy up to the woman who just contributed to her parents' break-up?

▷ Is it possible that Olivia knows this woman's daughter from school and might or might not get on with the girl well enough to be roomies?

▷ Should I maybe act my age and not my hat size for just once and try to act more like a father?

I could go on, but you get the point. It's really no surprise at all when Olivia snaps.

On a side note, I guess this explains the "tough time" that Laura Brogan was going through. I'm in one of those "feel bad but don't feel bad" kind of frames of mind. Is it bad that her home life was going to pot? Sure. Do you fix that by betraying people you were obviously close to? Yeah, not so much.

You did a pretty convincing job of writing Olivia's splinching. I'm pleased to see that there are better solutions in the magical world that dousing her with ditany and waiting it out.

Hey, James knew exactly what to do for once. People usually write him as such a jerk in Albus-centric stories. I appreciate the fact that you gave him this moment of being an awesome friend and big brother.

I'm really curious where you'll be taking the story next. Do you have an idea of how long you mean for it to be? Maybe this would be a better MTA question. Until next time!

Author's Response: I kind of enjoy writing a horrible Daphne, but the more I do it the more I want to write something Hogwarts era to explain her a bit. Maybe I'll get to that at some point.

Olivia's dad is pathetic and selfish and every point you've made is definitely something he should have considered. He kind of goes half way to doing his job as a father and then fails where it really matters. In some ways I'd like to develop him more but every time I try he stays a terrible human being.

You're totally right about Laura. It's not okay to be bad to other people because you have your own problems. It's okay to be sad and angry but not to be cruel, and she's been cruel.

My current plan for this story is 31 chapters in total but I've had a few times where I've split a chapter when I'm halfway through writing it so it'll potentially be a bit longer than that. I just put up 19 so I feel like I'm hopefully getting there (slowly but surely).

Thanks so so much for all your comments. I really appreciate the time you take to leave such careful, kind reviews.

Emma x

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>