Reading Reviews for Complicated
  
384 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Margie In Which Mysteries Are Solved

9th February 2016:
Hi Emma,

I finally caught up and holy wow. Two things stand out: first, I'm glad that Al has come off the pedestal Liv put him on - I like him more now and I'm a lot more comfortable with the character. Second, I am really angry at Cassie. I mean we haven't actually got an explanation so I suppose I should hold back but being pregnant isn't enough!

I am probably being unfair because I am an adult and a muggle brought up in a non-judgemental environment (with parents) - things look different when you're a teenager especially if you don't have someone to turn to for advice and hey maybe the wizarding world is super conservative and Cassie would be treated a lot worse there than she would be where I am from. Plus there's more to it no doubt just as there was more to Al's cheating.

I am curious about the cottage though...?? Is it rented? Who from? My guess is that the aurors, and especially Harry Potter, know exactly where Cassie is but they agreed to keep her whereabouts a secret because she's of age (seems slightly flimsy but legally sound). It would explain why they stopped looking for her.

I wonder how much James had to do with that? When did Al find out? I mean clearly he wasn't happy about Liv being kept in the dark - I can believe that he was looking out for her. Man poor Liv. And poor Scor wow.

So, Cass deliberately let Liv and Scor think she was hurt, kidnapped or dead and didn't respond to any of their letters or get in contact at all. Of course this all looks more complicated than that - the picture says she cares but clearly not enough? Or in any kind of supportive way? I'm so mad that I don't think I'll care even if Cass bitterly regrets everything.

I think one of the worst parts is that there's a possibility that Cass was right not to trust Scorpius and Liv with this because they weren't mature enough to handle it - hey Liv's gone through a lot and she's getting there but she's still got a long way to go. It's what I'd be wondering if I was Liv anyway. The idea that I somehow wasn't trustworthy would be haunting.

Eh it's this story so it's not going to be as easy as 'Cass is the bad guy!' but I want to hate her and I don't want Liv to have to go through what comes next... which is going to be messy, whatever it is. Man Liv has had a brutal crash course in seeing things from the messy, flawed adult perspective these last few months.

I do want to say that you deserve so much praise for this chapter and this moment in the fic because it is so nuanced. I feel so outraged on the main character's behalf but at the same time I'm left thinking about it from so many people's different points of view. It paints such a vivid picture of a large cast.

What's more you've been writing a story with themes that come up quite frequently in stories on this site - teenage pregnancy, slice of life drama, friendship and romance - but you've come at them from such a different angle that it takes you by complete surprise. You don't spell anything out. Well done! It continues to be such an amazing story.

Man I just can't write a short review - this was supposed to take me 10 minutes before bed but 30 minutes later...

Anyway! Emma you're amazing and I am looking forward to the next chapter. (sort of [I'm still so mad and I want to hold on to that for a bit])

Margie xx

P.S. See, already, I don't want Liv to hate Cass because it will only make her miserable and maybe Cass doesn't even deserve it but the desire to be petty and hold onto how badly Liv has been treated is so strong.

P.P.S. I am so glad that Oz and Joe are out and open about their relationship. They're so great. I got really emotional.

P.P.P.S. For the record, my guess is that the baby is Scor's. Why she would then run away is beyond me though.

P.P.P.P.S. I am so intrigued about James Potter now. Is he being a really, really good head boy?? (if he is I'll swoon a little)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Shartae In Which Mysteries Are Solved

9th February 2016:
Omg is that who James is sneaking off to see Cass?

 Report Review

Review #3, by whykay In Which Mysteries Are Solved

9th February 2016:
Albus is the father. Rose and Scor would have gotten together by now. Shit hits the fan.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Romana In Which Mysteries Are Solved

8th February 2016:
My money's on James being the father, I've being say I had the feeling james was connected to cass. Al is loyal to his brother. Loving Scorose interaction. How will scor take this , not only did his long term girlfriend cheat on him, but stayed hidden while he was a murder suspect. Some relationship/friendships can't be fixed. How will liv handle it. Cass put her through a lot. I she'll wait and see.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Violet Potter 434 In Which Mysteries Are Solved

7th February 2016:
hahahahaha
I WAS RIGHT !
I SHOULD BECOME A DETECTIVE!
WAHO
HEHEHEHE
anyways lovely writing, I've never got this far in the story before-you must of recently updated or something
but seriously, I need to find out if I was right about it being james'-tho after reading that al cheated on Laura it could be him
anyways
from me x

 Report Review

Review #6, by Violet Potter 434 In Which Louis Weasley Dances

7th February 2016:
hola,
me again
one, I still love it
two, you write good, real good
three, i've decided on it,
cass, is most definitely pregnant and im now pretty sure james I the father
anyways keep on writing good and make up for my terrible English-yes i'm fully british and can't speak the language better than a 4 year old :)
from me x

 Report Review

Review #7, by LittleMissAutumn In Which Mysteries Are Solved

7th February 2016:
Cassie's pregnant?! I'm guessing it's Scorpius' but is that why she left?? Woah! I wasn't expecting that one. Update soon please! :)

Author's Response: I'm working on the next chapter so hopefully will be able to update soon. Thanks for taking the time to review :)

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #8, by Violet Potter 434 In Which Albus Potter Has A Hero Complex

7th February 2016:
bonjour
I love this story
you probably hear that a lot, I mean its great why wouldn't you, nut anyway I thought you should hear it again
I've read up to about chapter15-16 before but haven't read the rest or for that matter, ever reviewed so I thought i'd just do that now

as I've read this before I know that cass dispears and I've always thought bc of the same thing and reading the last 3 chapters has made me think i'm right
so i'm ust going to guess that cass disappears bc shes pregnant and that's why she doesn't hav any alcohol in the last 3 chapters. also she makes it so dramatic bc she seems like a person who likes drama and is a sort of attention seeker, also I don't think the child is scorp's and may or not be james but that's most probably not right so just ignore that.
anyways I love this story, keep writing

from me x

ps. I love e ae Cassandra god choice

 Report Review

Review #9, by Lobelia Sackville-Baggins In Which Mysteries Are Solved

6th February 2016:
I KNEW IT I KNEW IT I KNEW IT I KNEW IT!
I KNEW SHE WAS PREGNANT
AND AFTER LAST CHAPTER I KNEW IT WAS AL'S BABY
I FREAKING KNEW IT!!!
I'M A SEER
I SHOULD TEACH TRANSFIGURATION
I LOVE YOU, I'M SO GLAD YOU'RE BACK, I LOVED THIS CHAPTER, AND I FREAKING KNEW IT
Sorry. XD Love you!

Author's Response: Haha you did know it well done! Still a little bit more to go though :)

Thanks, as always, for another lovely review xxx


 Report Review

Review #10, by Ohnoshedidnt In Which Mysteries Are Solved

6th February 2016:
OMG NO YOU DID NOT JUST DO THAT! I actually think my heart stopped when I read Cass? Now, you have no choice to update again, very soon migh I add, and explain to us how this happens. You also need to put in whether or not Ollie gets mad or is just so happy that she's found Cass she forgets that her best friend nearly worried her to death and almost made her lose the people closest to her. Thanks again love!

Author's Response: Yayy I"m so glad you're still reading and enjoying. I"m working on the next chapter so hopefully will be able to update soon, and Ollie's reaction will definitely definitely be a big feature - she's not in any hurry to forget :)

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #11, by Crescent Moon  In Which Mysteries Are Solved

6th February 2016:
You can't leave us on a cliffhanger like that! It's just so mean! (Though a really well written cliffhanger, full of suspense, that if I wasn't so desperate to know the story I would be very happy with.)
First off though this chapter was so cute! So many couples! And Scorpius/Rose relationship's coming along nicely even though I feel that the reappearance of Cassie is going to muck it up. Actually I feel her coming back is going to muck everything up.
Down to theories now. I think the child's James'. At first I thought it was Scorpius' but then she would have told him. Then I thought it might be Al, but you couldn't do that to Ollie. Not with it already being bad enough that he knew where she was and didn't tell her. Which brings me to how Al knew, meaning James must be the father. And that he's been sneaking off to visit Cass. It must be right? And that's why they found the necklace Scorpius gave her because she felt ashamed for what she'd done and torn it off or something? Please tell me, I've got to know!
I'm just feeling so sorry for Ollie right now! She's going to be so heartbroken! And she's going to have no one as she's going to be so mad at Al for not telling her and keeping his brother's secret. And Scorp! But he's got Rose now so I feel ever so slightly less bad for him. Just, I can't wait to see how Cass is going to explain this.
I need more and I need it soon! I'm so sad that this story is coming to it's end. I need it to go on forever it's just so good! Loved it!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Raylis In Which Mysteries Are Solved

6th February 2016:
omg...please tell me albus didn't knock her up or something, lol. that would be the worst twist. ahh, the horror of the cliffhanger! now I can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Haha more details next chapter. Thanks for taking the time to review :)

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #13, by Jess In Which Mysteries Are Solved

6th February 2016:
Fantastic story. I cant believe we finally know where Cassie has been all this time. I'm going to guess that her baby is either Al's and thats why he was acting so nervous. Or James and thats why he has been sneaking out of the castle. Please update soon! I cant wait!

Author's Response: Yayy I'm so glad you're enjoying it. I'm working on the next chapter so hopefully it'll be up soon :)

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #14, by mss In Which Mysteries Are Solved

6th February 2016:
Wow!! Is this where James has been sneaking off to?

Author's Response: Oo I love hearing people's theories. More details next chapter :)

Thanks for reviewing! Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #15, by Only one can survive In Which Mysteries Are Solved

6th February 2016:
ASDFGHJKL WHAT!? The owls weren't going at all far to drop the letters. They are pretty much dropping letters to the house on the next block. But there are so many questions now. Why didn't she tell Liv or Scorpious? Why didn't she tell anyone? How is she surving by herslf because if she was working the aurors would have her already. Who's child is it because if it was Scorpious' then she would of..OMG IT'S AL'S ISN'T. It makaes sence now. She was the one that Al cheated on with. She got pregnant and Al knew. Al told his father who in turn told the aurors not look their. Al gave Cass the money and means to survive. Al takes Liv to Hogsmeade. Liv goes to the path. Al knows that Cass is their and tries to stop Liv. It all makes sence. Thats why he gets nervous near the path. That's why Cass doesn't respond to any letters. She hates Gryffindors. Imagine the "shame" of bearing a child of not oly a Gryffindor but also the son of THE Harry Potter.
Besides that major reveal of Cass being alive it was such a good chapter. Im glad Scorpious is finally letting go and is getting comfortable with Liv's new friends. *Cough Cough Scorose Cough Cough* I'll be really sad to see this story go. I really hope you make a sequal or something...but then again I dont know how it's going to end. Mabye the story will be better off without a sequal. I really hope you update soon because I REALLY want to know whats hoing to happen. Again really good chapter and hope for a quick update

 Report Review

Review #16, by Yaya In Which Mysteries Are Solved

6th February 2016:
Woah. This makes so much sense. But I really didn't see it coming. Gah! Who is the father?!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! We find out about the father next chapter :)
Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #17, by Gi9 In Which Mysteries Are Solved

6th February 2016:
Oh my God, oh my God, oh my God! I'm shocked. I can't believe she was right there the whole time. I suspected she ran away but had no idea why. I thought it had something to do with her family, I don't know. And why was Al so nervous?? Please, please, PLEASE! Don't tell me she is the girl he hooked up with and he's the father of the baby. I want to cry right now...I hope I'm wrong, this would be a mess and would destroy Olivia. BUT it would explain why she hid it from Scorpius. This story is killing me XD

Author's Response: Ahhh I love hearing people's theories - not going to confirm or deny because spoilers but I promise next chapter it's all revealed :)

Thanks for reviewing! Emma x


 Report Review

Review #18, by rosiful In Which Mysteries Are Solved

6th February 2016:
Oh my goodness!!! It's CASSIE!!!

I am so so SO glad we're going to finally figure out what is going on with her!
I did have a suspicion that she was pregnant, but I didn't expect her to be hiding out in Hogsmeade! I wonder who the father is... I sense a whole lot of drama coming and I can't wait!

Really looking forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Haha lots more drama to come...

Thanks for reviewing! Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #19, by merlins beard In Which Mysteries Are Solved

6th February 2016:
I can't believe this is why she ran. Oh god why didn't I think of that? I mean I had my suspicions that she ran on her own, that she wasn't abducted... but THIS? NEVER DID I THINK OF THAT. WHY DID SHE RUN? WHY DIDN'T SHE TELL SCORPIUS? WHY IS SHE SO CLOSE TO HOGWARTS? HOW DID THE AURORS NOT FIND HER THERE? WHY WAS AL SO NERVOUS? DID HE KNOW SOMETHING? OH GOD, PLEASE, NO! HE CAN'T HAVE KNOWN. OLLIE WOULD NEVER FORGIVE HIM. NEVER.

I CAN'T WAIT TO SEE HER REACTION TO ALL OF THIS. ONLY SIX MORE CHAPTERS TO GO, THE END IS SO CLOSE, AND I REALLY REALLY REALLY DON'T WANT THIS STORY TO EVER END. YOU SHOULD WRITE A SEQUEL.

sorry for the over-excited reveiw

♥ Anja

Author's Response: Anja! I was so excited to see your review. I'm so glad you're still enjoying reading it. Next chapter will hopefully be up soon :)

Thanks for the lovely review! Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #20, by LittleMissAutumn In Which Olivia Likes Cuddles After All

2nd February 2016:
I adore this story! I know I'm supposed to feel bad for Cassie being gone but I've never liked her and honestly her disappearance have made everyone's lives go really well. It's an awful thing to say but it's true. Albus and Olivia are really cute together and her/Scorpius have a great friendship. I like the character development that both of them have.

Update soon please! :)

Author's Response: Yay I'm so glad you like it! Next chapter's coming soon :) xx

 Report Review

Review #21, by marauderfan In Which Olivia Likes Cuddles After All

30th January 2016:
Hello! Once again it's been ages since I properly reviewed and I'm sorry. But I have been following the story and loving every chapter. This chapter is really good and one of my favourites so far. I love how you show so well that the same events can be perceived in such different ways as to result in two wildly different versions of the story - two perspectives on the same thing equalling two entirely different stories. Because for Laura, she was suffering through a difficult time and Al cheated on her - but for Al, he was trying to help her, not able to, tried to break up with her and she rejected it, and then he had a one-night stand. Two entirely different stories.

I'm kind of irritated with Al for telling all of this - I mean yes it relates to him, but I think a lot of this is also really personal for Laura and she should have had a say in how much was told to Olivia. I did appreciate the new perspective it gave me as the reader, about Laura. She's still not nice, but i can understand her amd why she is the way she is.

One person I am annoyed with is Olivia. Why did she decide to have this important conversation while drunk? That is the opposite of a good idea. Thank goodness for Scorpius, being a sensible person and a good friend and not letting Olivia fly her broom. And talking of Scorpius, he's changed a lot since the beginning, a good change. I'm glad he's learned from his falling out wih Olivia earlier and I love how he is fitting in with the Gryffindors, and really figuring out what's important, like how he appreciates the friendliness of the Gryffindors after moving past the rivalry, and that he sees that Olivia is happy.

Okay, well this was a great chapter and you really have a wonderful story here. Nice work, and I look forward to reading more!

Author's Response: Hello! Noo don't apologise, it's always lovely to hear from you when you have the time to review :)

A few people have said that about Al, and I think it's true that he probably shouldn't be telling Laura's story, but then at the same time Laura kind of forced his hand a bit by half telling Liv what had happened. Hopefully it's understandable that Al would want to explain his actions.

Scor's development as a character is one of my favourites, and he's still got a little way to go before the end. I'm glad you liked him here.

Thanks for taking the time to review! Next chapter just went up :)

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #22, by maraudertimes In Which Christmas is a Disaster

24th January 2016:
Hiya! Review swap!

Okay, so although this was tense and full of awkward family moments, holy was it good! I love the Wood family, even though I know this story isn't about them. Their dynamic is so great and it's obvious that Katy and Oliver really love each other.

I'm curious as to why Olivia is named Olivia. It's so close to Oliver that I wonder if perhaps there was a reason for it? But then again, it could just be that Pansy liked the name :P

I really don't like Pansy, and I never have. I really liked how you wrote her though, because you've kept her adoration for Malfoy intact, and you've kept her vain. The fact that she's so insecure about what her daughter looks like is a testament to how awful of a mother she is. I'm sorry for saying that, but you don't give your daughter diet books for Christmas.

Olivia's father is also somewhat of a disappointment - he doesn't even know what position she plays? I really feel bad for Olivia, having to grow up in that situation, although it doesn't seem as if she cares too much about her extended family, so maybe she makes do?

In any case, I really like Olivia and also I really love her dynamic with Jason. Them trying to relieve tension with Quidditch banter, all while it being also somewhat serious speaks to how they may not get along but they're also looking to keep the family dynamic from breaking apart.

Olivia herself is also a great character, albeit a bit ah... witchy. I mean she is a witch it makes sense, you know? But yes, I still really like her and you've really created a well-rounded character with her!

I'll review two more chapters but I'm going to do a bit of writing first - but don't worry I'll get to them ASAP! :)

Thanks for the review swap!
Lo :)

Author's Response: Hi Lo,

Thanks for the lovely review. I'm really glad you liked Katie and Oliver. I'm enjoying them lots and have ended up putting them into my Lee Jordan story quite a bit because I wanted to write them more.

I think maybe Katie suggested to Andrew that he name his child Olivia, and he agreed without really thinking about the fact he was naming her after Oliver.

Pansy's terrible. More on that later :)

THank you for such a kind review! Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #23, by @lilylover365 In Which Olivia Likes Cuddles After All

24th January 2016:
I applaud your amazing story crafting skills! 24th fantastic chapter in a row!! But you already here that all the time don't you?;) anyway... I heard you had a blog and that you sometime put little hints about what's in chapters to come on it and I was just wondering what your blog was because I sort of want in!!:) thanks again

Author's Response: I just wrote a fairly self-indulgent post on my blog on the forums, so don't so much have an official blog with hints. But definitely have a look if you're interested :)

Thank you for reviewing! I'm really glad you're enjoying reading. Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #24, by @aubs1307 In Which Olivia Likes Cuddles After All

24th January 2016:
Okay. First of all I can't begin to express to you how overwhelmingly happy I am that you have updated not only once, but TWICE in an extremely short amount of time! You have made my week:) but now, what's happening with Cassie? Is Ollie going to have a talk with her dad? Is she going to talk to her mother? I can't wait for the chapters to come and know they will surpass normal standards;)

Author's Response: More on Cassie next chapter :)

Thanks for the review! Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #25, by Unwritten Curse In Which Olivia Likes Cuddles After All

24th January 2016:
Okay, okay. I'm here.

And like I said, I'm angry at EVERYONE.

Here's why:

1. Liv was an idiot to get drunk before talking to Al. Because then she didn't really process anything he said. She so quickly forgave him. I do think he deserves forgiveness, but she wasn't even MAD after he told her he had a one night stand that he can't even REMEMBER. I'm mad about that. It was a jerk move, regardless of how confused he was.

2. Which leads me to why I'm angry at Albus. (See above) BUT ALSO because he admitted that the story he told about his "friend" was really about Laura. I had a feeling that was the case, but I'm kind of upset with him for spilling the beans. I feel like that was Laura's story to tell. But he told it for her.

Okay there's really no one else to be upset with in this circumstance so I was being overdramatic when I said "EVERYONE." Well, I'm also mad at Laura, but I've been mad at her for a while now and you already knew that. I am less mad at her after the last couple chapters, though. She's been humanized and I'm starting to understand where she's coming from, though I don't think grief is ever an excuse to act like a jerk to the people who love you. (This coming from a girl who also lost her father at a young age. Grief sucks, but it's not an excuse to abandon all decency, especially when people are trying to help.)

I do have to say that I'm loving Scorpius right now. He learned from his stupidity and now he's giving really sound advice about not jumping to conclusions and LISTENING to people. I loved that. I love how much he cares for Liv and that he's warming up to Al.

I think Liv is going to be a little confused when she wakes up in the morning. She needs time to process what happened and she needs to do so SOBER. Liv. Stop avoiding your problems. You need to have a real heart-to-heart with Albus. He deserves it and you deserve it.

Anyway.

I saw on your blog that we find out what happened to Cass next chapter. I am SO EXCITED because I want to know if my suspicions were correct. If they are, my review will just be "*mic drop*" except not really. ;)

You're awesome. Thanks for writing this and for sharing it and for putting up with all my rambling fangirl-ness.

--Gina

Author's Response: Gina I'm actually in love with you and your reviews. They always make me so smiley. Thank you.

Liv was definitely a bit of an idiot here, and Scor was a bit of an enabler, but she did manage to go and talk to Al rather than completely run away from her problems so I think she's getting better in some ways.

And I completely agree about Al. It's not really his story to tell. His flaws are starting to come out.

And yayyy thank you for liking Scorpius. He's slowly coming back round to being lovely, and I'm liking writing him lots. I wanted to show how he's developed over the story.

Thank you thank you. Emma xx


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>