Reading Reviews for Complicated
  
428 Reviews Found

Review #1, by TumTum In Which It's More Than Just Quidditch

20th April 2016:
Hi Emma,

OMG! HOLY HELL that is quite the ending to a chapter - the bit where everything slowed down, the /dent/ in Al's skull. It's a really horrifying image. Oh gosh please don't kill him Emma!

Anyway - back to the rest of the chapter. Kudos to you, I really enjoyed the quidditch match overall - I felt like you kept the action going smoothly. Mixing up Oliviaís observations and Lucy Weasleyís commentary helped things seem choppier and fast-paced. Also, it was fun when things got going!

I really love the Slytherin team youíve built (except for those beaters omg) and I got such warm, fuzzy feelings from seeing them show their solidarity to Scorpius. Especially when Olivia walked out onto the pitch with him.

When the Gryffindors came out I thought it sounded like theyíd maybe had a row just before but I might have been reading too much into it - either way I felt so sorry for them.

ďYouíve made me crossĒ - ha Oliviaís ability to massively understate her feelings is funny but also very familiar. I do that too!

I love that Al stopped to encourage her when she was having what read a little like a panic attack - that he noticed, that he put reassuring her above his allegiance to his team even when she hadnít been talking to him for a while and that he was able to do it so gently and sweetly. It was just so Albus and such a good moment - when he touched her hair it was just so lovely!

Things had been going so happily for them before Cassie so it felt like a relationship with a lot of potential but it wasnít until that moment that it felt like they were in love or that they might be? The way she just sprang back into action. And he made her laugh!

I loved the back and forth between Olivia and Jason - the way they both seem at their best in the air and how good natured they both are about it. I couldn't help thinking about the first chapter when Jason was talking up his team and how proud he'd seemed of them. At the time it made him seem... I don't know just obsessed and without much table conversation but now it just makes me happy to read him doing what he loves - he and Olivia both. They've come so far :')

I think one of the reasons I enjoyed this chapter so much is that we get to see Olivia thriving in her element, doing something she loves with confidence. Itís also why I am dreading next chapter because I canít see her coping well at all. That and oh gosh poor Albus. Perhaps she will be pushed to realise how much she cares for him?

Whatever the case it's going to be messy. Will Cassie be involved too? In which case it will be even more messy!

I hope that at some point we get to see Olivia being confident and amazing again - doing well in potions, doing a really impressive work of art which she pushed herself hard to achieve, winning at quidditch. That would be cool.

I've still got to find you on the forums Emma! I do want to catch up too.

Margie xx

 Report Review

Review #2, by Kristina1990 In Which It's More Than Just Quidditch

19th April 2016:
This is an absolutely terrible way to end a chapter. You are such a mean person... :O I can't wait to find out what happens next!

So Cassie also finally made it out of her chosen exil. It must have been hard for her to take this step after all this time and as much as she deserved to be frozen out for a while, I hope Liv realises that this was a big step for Cassie nevertheless.

Great chapter!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Romana In Which It's More Than Just Quidditch

19th April 2016:
Oh I hope this will be a quick update, I don't think I can wait another month. :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Lobelia Saville-Baggins In Which It's More Than Just Quidditch

18th April 2016:
AHHH NO NO NO NO NO!!!
Also...CASSIE NO. JUST NO, GIRL. NO.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Only one can survive In Which It's More Than Just Quidditch

18th April 2016:
THAT IS WAY TO CRUEL HOW COULD YOU. GAH!!!

 Report Review

Review #6, by LittleMissAutumn In Which It's More Than Just Quidditch

18th April 2016:
WHAT you can't end it there! D; What about Al?? Is he going to be okay?? This chapter made me smile a lot because I know Liv's beginning to be happy again (so we need to save Al!). Ok. Rant over. :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by blackzero In Which It's More Than Just Quidditch

17th April 2016:
What a evil way to end the chapter on a cliffhanger. Please update soon.Thanks for such an awesome chapter

 Report Review

Review #8, by marauderfan In Which It's More Than Just Quidditch

17th April 2016:
Ahhh! lakjofjhasdjkfhk what a cliff hanger I can't believe you left it there O__O

That aside, and my panic about Al's well being, I really loved the rest of the chapter. I was kind of amused by Liv and Al's heart to heart in the middle of the game, but I loved that you included that, as it shows that Al really cares more about her than about Gryffindor's fate in the game. After all, it is just a game and that was an important thing for Liv to remember because she'd been really panicking with all the pressure before. I also really loved that you pointed out that the game had progressed while they'd been talking, because it's not like everything would stand still while they talk - instead both sides have made goals and I don't know, I just really loved that scene haha.

Poor Scorpius though - it' easy to see why the game means so much to him. I can't help but wonder if he's noticed Cass though. I love that he and Olivia switched brooms halfway through the game! Ahh! Sounds super dangerous and I'm glad it worked out. That's dedication.

Also loved the interactions between Olivia and Jason. They both seem like they're just in it for the fun and I adored Jason's enthusiasm at saving Olivia's goal haha, and how they encourage each other despite being on different sides. Okay, yeah, she said "Nice one, moron" but we all know by now that that's a term of endearment haha.

THE ENDING THOUGH ASKDJFKSJDLKA. I hope Al is okay!

Awesome chapter! Well done writing a quidditch match as well :D

 Report Review

Review #9, by Violet Potter 434 In Which It's More Than Just Quidditch

17th April 2016:
OH MY FLIPPING GOSH!

WHAT THE HELL JUST HAPPENED?!?!?!

AHHH HHH HHH HHH !

I HAVE NO WORDS!


BLAAA AAA AAA!


please let him be okay
he'll be okay
you're a nice person
you won't hurt him TOO badly
will you?
no?
good
thanks

I'm sure he'll be happy to hear that

and those beaters had better be kicked off the team
I don't like them
(basically please kick them off...for me;) ?)

great chapter, you really brought the game to life for me, so amazing work

anyways got to go because I have the feeling I'm going to start not making sense again soon

please, please, please update quickly because I NEEED to know what happens!

from screamy me xx

 Report Review

Review #10, by Scose In Which It's More Than Just Quidditch

17th April 2016:
What? Omg. I cant believe that happened. Really? A cliffhanger?
:O
Update soon or i think ill die of worry for Al :(

 Report Review

Review #11, by Giý9 In Which It's More Than Just Quidditch

17th April 2016:
This match killed me. It was so intense and not at all boring. I am not a big fan of reading quidditch matches...(I know, I'm terrible, but I find them boring, sorry). I think it's difficult to write and to mix the character's pov with the commentary, but you did a great job ;)

Poor Al, I hope he's alright. I'm glad they finally talked, although just for a bit. Bu WHY did Cassie turn up at the match???

I was wondering how many chapters there are left...(I DON'T WANT THIS TO END, I LOVE THIS STORY TOO MUCH)

 Report Review

Review #12, by BlueElephant In Which Stories are Told

12th April 2016:
Really really loved this chapter! I wasn't sure what was going to happen after the previous one, but I love how Liv and Scorpius are thinking about themselves instead. It was so sweet of everyone to help Liv out with her school work. Also having Lily be the one to explain the situation to Liv was a great move, I felt like I forgave Al too! Can't wait for the next one, hopefully with some more Al in it :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Crescent Moon  In Which Stories are Told

12th April 2016:
I loved this chapter.
Cassie is just vile. I'm so glad they're deciding not to reply to those letters and very happy that they're deciding to make fun of them instead. Although I doubt they're not completely rid of her yet. But it's really nice to see Scor more back to himself in this chapter.
I loved that she's putting all her anger into her school work to forget about everything. And Slughorn! Personally I've never liked him in the books so am pleasantly surprised how you've made him true to canon but at the same time likeable which is really great.
Loving baby Potter. And how she currently seems to be the least messed up of the Potter siblings. And her reasoning, how she(/you) were able to give both sides and make Al's more understandable. Hopefully this'll mean Ollie might think of talking it through with him soon. I need them to get together again, because well... shipping...
But back to Lily, I was creeping on your reviews and saw that you've got some ideas for a Lily fic and I really like that idea. I can't wait to see where you'd take it if you decide to go with it.
And Amethyst's story is just so heartbreaking and I hope it'll help Ollie to see more of the other side and possibly even a new friendship?!
Anyway, as always I can't wait to read what happens next and your writing's brilliant as usual.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Margie In Which Stories are Told

12th April 2016:
Hi Emma,

Oh gosh brace yourself for a massive splurge of ideas. I don't have enough time to refine this at all so I hope it all makes sense. I'm really happy that I could help! It's a relief seeing Olivia be able to have something simple to concentrate on like studying (ha) but seriously it's good that she has the work to distract her. I am curious to see what she wants to do in her future (I am so invested in this character oh goodness).

Questions and Thoughts about Cassieís Letter

Iím curious is she writing to Scor too? Has she officially told him or does she expect that Ollie will have had to tell him? Without even acknowledging it in a letter to Ollie?

I can see why the letter made them both angry. She doesnít really acknowledge what she did to them at all and I agree with Scorpius that she comes across as self-involved. She chooses a lighthearted tone as well which really doesnít help (itís like she doesnít know how to talk to them anymoreÖ).

Then thereís the little part about being glad to have James because he understands. The implication is that Olivia and Scorpius wouldnít have understood? I donít know but it would make me jealous and sad because it doesnít say anything good about their old relationship and how little they understood Cassie? Or she understood them? Just - ouch.

But it also seems like she is still really skirting around the issue of what happened and especially her part in itÖ I donít know but I can see that Olivia is too angry to air out some of the thoughts that she has about the whole situation. Like that the picture that Cassie has of the three of them was in that mostly bare cottage - a detail Olivia noticed and even recounted to Scorpius. Or how vulnerable Cassie had come acrossÖ even if it really doesnít show in the letter.

All that said, I am struck by how young Cassie is by how badly she is dealing with all of this and I am interested to see she gets on as a mother? Also it seems like Scorpius really isn't willing to admit that she's in a difficult position.

Lily Potter

I like her a lot already and I laughed when Olivia thought she was scary. I also fell in love with all of the Potters a little during her story - all loving each other and protecting each other fiercely. It sounds about right. I love the idea of her and Olivia flying together next year and maybe becoming friends (and teaming up against Al ha).

Amethyst Twine

I am so happy that she finally gets to speak to Olivia! Iíve felt so bad about her all alone and not speaking to anyone but at the same time I completely understand why Olivia laughed at her rather than reaching out. Itís a very ugly, human thing to do and I did it at school - not in a malicious way but in an uncaring way. I donít know, itís something about those who are ostracised that makes most of us stop thinking of them like people. Look at the way we interact with homeless people.

Anyway! I was right about her being gay ha (not with Cassie though) but itís such sad circumstances :í( I hope that some one gets to know her better - in what ways is she a Slytherin? What does she like to do? Iíd like to see her have a future at Hogwarts. I was a little surprised that Olivia reached out the way she did but pleased - maybe this whole thing has made her more compassionate or maybe she was always this way.

I also think that you made some interesting points about forgiveness and holding onto anger before itís too late but itís thrown foreboding over the whole thing, like - what on earth is going to happen??

Iím not sure how I feel about them forgiving CassieÖ But forgiving isnít the same as going back to how things were while pretending nothing happened. I do think that if Cassie comes back to Hogwarts now sheís going to get a lot of nonsense that nobody deserves and Iíd be surprised if Olivia didnít at least feel like she should do something to help out.

Also! I love that Rose got so excited about study plans and really appreciated how bubbly and enthusiastic she is (itís a good personality type for Olivia and Scorpius to be around).

Thank you for this chapter! I have even more thoughts but this is long enough as it is. I'll chat to you on the forums soon - I haven't signed in in a long time!

Margie xx

 Report Review

Review #15, by Lobelia Sackville-Baggins In Which Stories are Told

10th April 2016:


 Report Review

Review #16, by marauderfan In Which Stories are Told

10th April 2016:
Hi! before I begin just want to apologise in advance for any typos as this is a phone review. So anyway, just caught up on the two latest chapters and what a - well, complicated - time Olivia is going through. Everything has just kind of spiralled out of control, but it seems like (and I hope Im right, for poor Olivia's sake) that things will improve from here. it's already gotten pretty bad. but I guess we haven't seen Cassie's reaction yet to the fact that her friends won't answer her letters and how everyone knows her secret. She's pushed al of her friends away in the meantime (all two of them) and when/if she comes back to Hogwarts she'll be probably petty and furious with Scor and Olivia, who deserve a lot better than that. Cassie really was so selfish and the fact that she doesn't even really apologise,c while unsurprising, is really sad.

But I think thingas are turning around, and I loved how you showedOlivia's friendships with other people strenghening in order to fill the hole left behind by Cass. I have to say I really love Jason, and how hisfriendship with Olivia has changed throughout the novel. Now, he's someone she can rely on when she neds help. Maybe she still doesnt seek him out for that, but he cares about her and it's becoming evident that she apreciates him. And thank goodness for Jasons good advice too. Ollie definitely needed to talk to Scor and I'm glad Jason convinced her too.

Poor Scor, this was really not easy for him either. But at least this time around he's back to being friends with Olivia, and they can help each other through. I have to admit I laughed at the two of them feeding Cassie's letter to a pygmy puff and then laughing about it together. Sure, it was immature, but they're healing together.

I also reallt loved Lily in this chapter! she has a good head on her shoulders and she definitely provided the perspective Olivia needed. I like her straightforwardness too. What she said about Al makes perfect sense, and I'd been expecting something like that. Of course Al wouldnt want to betray his brother, and Cassie was probably what thry were fighting about a few chapters ago. And I feel a tiny bit sorry for James, but mostly annoyance that his secrets and how he handled it impacted so many people.

I liked hearing a bit about Amethyst as well, who has kind of just lurked in the background most of the time, and then her spotlight is this sad story :( but I hope Olivia decides to talk to Al.

brilliant chapter!

 Report Review

Review #17, by blackzero In Which Stories are Told

9th April 2016:
What a chapter !!!/Lily showing more maturity than her brother's.

Author's Response: I loved writing Lily here and seem to have accidentally started planning a potential Lily story to start writing after this is complete.we'll see.

Thanks for reviewing! Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #18, by Lobelia Sackville-Baggins In Which Ripples are Made

8th April 2016:
Oh boy.
I'm glad Ollie told Scor. I'm terrified of Cass's reaction when she finds out that everyone knows. My goodness...they really didn't handle this like adults, did they?
I can't wait to see what happens next. This had a distinct hit-rock-bottom feel to it -- can't wait to see what no-place-but-up looks like.

Author's Response: You're back! And yep, this is pretty much rock-bottom.but not quite obviously because I'm just incapable of giving poor Olivia a break.

Thanks for another lovely review :)

Emma x


 Report Review

Review #19, by liara In Which Ripples are Made

1st April 2016:
Yess I love the story..plzz update soon.

Author's Response: So glad you're enjoying it. Thanks for the review x

 Report Review

Review #20, by couldyoureallyknow In Which Ripples are Made

31st March 2016:
wow that was a really well written chapter. very emotional.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for such a kind review xx

 Report Review

Review #21, by Crescent Moon  In Which Ripples are Made

29th March 2016:
This chapter is so sad. My heart bleeds for Ollie and Scorpius.
I loved all the friendship moments in this. With Joe and Rose and Louis and especially Jason. I love Jason. He's just so sweet. And how he makes Ollie see sense and makes her go and tell Scorpius is just so good. I really need more of him.
I don't know what I want to happen with Al. Because my heart's saying that she needs to forgive him as they're great together and she needs him to balance her out but my head disagrees. Because he hid something big from her and I don't know how or if she's going to forgive him for that. I can't wait to read what happens when she's finally forced to confront him about it.
And James, what a idiot (trying to keep this PG). Spreading it all over the school like that. I know it was bound to get out but still with everyone laughing about it. What's going to happen with the aurors now? Are they going to have to do a follow up now she's been found. Because I can't help but think Cassie should be charged with something for all that time they wasted looking for her. And what about her brother? How does he find out what happened, or did he already know?!
I really can't wait to read what's going to happen next. And needless to say anymore but amazing writing as always.

Author's Response: I really enjoyed writing some of the friendships here - Jason's my favourite to write at the moment so it's fab to hear you liked him. And I think Ollie needed him in this one.

And James is absolutely an idiot. I don't think I realised how much I was going to dislike him when I started writing this, but he acted of his own accord.

Thanks for a lovely review! Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #22, by Margie In Which Ripples are Made

29th March 2016:
Hi Emma,

Well this was tough to read. Poor Olivia. I am glad she told Scor although I winced when she listed everything there was to tell him (there's a lot there to process). I liked that moment when Jason put things in perspective and as soon as she realised that she was in the wrong she just got up and got it over with. I felt quite proud of her and glad that he was there (with his pyjamas under his robes - I found that tiny detail so charming). I was also touched by that long hug from Rose, Louis' support and Joe's sugar quill bless him.

I am really curious to see what happens next. The secret's out, Scor has had his time to himself to process, Liv has realised that Al isn't going to come and save her from this one... so what happens next?

I am also a little curious about how things in school are going. I mean I can see why it would the last thing that Olivia would want to think about but is she keeping up with her studies? Are the exams just round the corner? Is she putting any thought into her future? I seem to recall feeling put out at 16 that I couldn't just take a break from school and my responsibilities with all the things going on in my personal life but at the same time they could be a welcome distraction.

Anyway! Thank you for updating and I hope you're doing OK?

Margie xx

Author's Response: Hi Margie! I've missed you - lets catch up on the forums soon?

I don't feel very confident about this chapter so I'm really glad that you liked it. Jason's quickly becoming my favourite character to write which I love, because I wasn't that bothered about him at the beginning.

And you're so right - I badly need to mention school more in this story. In my other WIP novel I'm writing about Ravenclaws so put in loads and loads of school bits and pieces, and I think it's really lacking here.

Thanks for a lovely review xx


 Report Review

Review #23, by blackzero In Which Ripples are Made

29th March 2016:
Thanks for the update. I hope All and Ol quickly reconcile their differences. She needs Al more than she is willing to accept. I am waiting for the part when Sco and Ca are confronted.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! Glad to hear you're reading and enjoying it :) xx

 Report Review

Review #24, by peacock33 In Which Ripples are Made

29th March 2016:
Cassie's actions seem so irrational - to just disappear and it's incredibly terrible that neither she nor James spoke up when they knew a murder investigation was going on and that Scorpius was a suspect. I feel really really bad for Scorpius. Cassie is beyond selfish that she didn't even care about breaking it to him herself and wouldn't even let him know the truth so he could move on. I hope that Ollie and Scorpius doen't spend too much time being bitter and hating her, but moving on with their live and not letting her hang over them like she has been when they thought she was dead. It would be really weird if you end up having Cass marry James, Ollie with Albus and Scorpius with Rose - seems too forced for them all to be one big happy family after this. But I'm interested to see what happens next.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! Cass is definitely selfish and Scorpius is going to hurt for a little while. It's definitely not going to end up one big happy family, but we've got four more chapters to go so hopefully everything will be resolved in a way that makes sense! I'm really glad you're still reading :)

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #25, by Shinicha In Which Family Matters

15th March 2016:
Hi! I just wanted to say that I'm sorry that I'm so bad at reviewing. I'm very rarely online as I'm so cramped with work. But I need to tell you that I still LOVE your story and follow it, and that I'm so happy and thankful that you continue writing it!
I'm also excited to find out what will happen next now that the suspense has somewhat lightened and made space for another round of drama :D
Great work!

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you so much for such a kind review. I'm so glad to hear you're still enjoying reading. Next chapter hopefully will be here soon :) xx

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>