Reading Reviews for Complicated
  
177 Reviews Found

Review #1, by tessalina22 In Which Slytherins Speculate

23rd November 2014:
Omygodshh i'm so addicted to this story!!! Seriously this is the best!

 Report Review

Review #2, by ilovegeorgeweasly101 In Which Slytherins Speculate

19th November 2014:
There's no way scorpius could have hurt her and now he'll be super mad at Ollie for running!!! Ugh!!! Please update soon!! I love your story and can't wait for more!! Congrats on your dobby!

10/10

Clea

 Report Review

Review #3, by Roisin In Which Slytherins Speculate

10th November 2014:
Woah, I thought I reviewed this chapter!

Anyway, I really liked what you did with this. Olivia seems to be in a kind of confused shock, and I thought your wrote that really well throughout. Like, setting off individual sentences ("Scor had been taken away for questioning ... He's terrified of law enforcement"). It gave the impression of her trying to just kind of process all the individual facts. And by putting her into this kind of psychological space, it really helps us understand her (admittedly cruel) decision to run away from him. I also feel like you have an impressively strong command of Olivia's character. Throughout, we know she has a difficult time with emotional depth, and I appreciated how that struggle permeated this emotionally dense chapter.

Also, for stories featuring romance, I sometimes get frustrated when rather unhealthy relationships get romanticized. I like that she and Albus are generating a genuine friendship and intimacy, and that the romance doesn't NEED to be the source of conflict, since there's already enough of that going around from elsewhere.

Oh, and I really like your new story summary!

Hope you update soon, and congrats on SotM! I hope you don't think that since no one else was nominated, it's less of a win. It's just that you can't second SotM nominations, and so clearly everyone just agreed that it should go to you :)

xoxo
Roisin

 Report Review

Review #4, by daliha In Which Christmas Is Not The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year

1st November 2014:
Hey I'm here for the october review swap! I know I"m late and Im so sorry but RL was crazy this week!

Anyway, I loved this first chapter Olivia and Jason's bickering made me smile typical Gryffindor- Slytherin rivalry, interesting though how you have Katie and Oliver interacting with Pansy someone they didn't really interact with at school, even though they are a dysfunctional family I find their interaction believable except for Pansy she seems over the top but I think she was like that in the books as well. I love how you kept Oliver and Katie in character, and Katie's kindness towards Olivia, it broke my heart, I know what it like to have family drag you into their drama XD

Great chapter, I'll go on to the next when I get the chance :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Spyci In Which Slytherins Speculate

28th October 2014:
I SHIP IT SO HARD. Whilst being worried about Cass, of course. Please update before I have a mental breakdown!!1!1!

 Report Review

Review #6, by macpp In Which Slytherins Speculate

26th October 2014:
I started reading this last night just before I went to bed and couldn't stop!! I was up half the night and half asleep at college today (I know college on a Sunday wth). I know I should but I don't really like Cassie so I'm semi hoping she doesn't come back. Don't shoot me! I don't want something bad to happen to her though because it would totes delay the other characters relationship developments.
I love Albus.
Update soon plz

 Report Review

Review #7, by Madamam In Which Slytherins Speculate

26th October 2014:
I think Scor is going to be very mad that Ollie ran away from him and coincidently into Al's arms. I really like Ollie and Al but I can't help but think that Ollie might be a little but in love with Scor...

 Report Review

Review #8, by Madamam In Which Scorpius Is A Moody Cow

25th October 2014:
You're an incredible writer. You've wielded these teenage characters better than any writer I've read on this website. I've got quite a bit of an analysis of Ollie, Scor, Cassie and the rest of the 'Wotter' clan!

First off, Olivia! She's probably the most likeable character and not just because she's the narrator. She's a real teenager. You've really breathed spirit into her character. She's incredibly honest and level headed. But she's also a bit judgemental and close-minded like a 16-year-old would be. She's trying to be cool, like she has no feelings, because she's too young and inexperienced to see vulnerability as something to be proud of rather than a disadvantage. She's guarded herself because she has her own set of beliefs and they're all she's ever known simply because she's just a kid. But at the end of the day she's got her heart in the right place which is why she can't see that Scorpius and Cass might not be the best friends to her.

Cassie and Scorpius are both insecure, especially Scorpius. Cassie's claims to be her friend and I'm sure she really does care about Ollie but she's always putting her down with little regard to Ollie's well-being. I mean Cass's independent after having to care for herself but Ollie's still very innocent and kind of scared even if she puts on a tough exterior. Scorpius is also really insecure. He can't easily make friends so he gets mad at Ollie for stepping outside her comfort zone. Ollie's absolutely loveable and I think Scor knows that which is why he's threatened by the Wotter Clan because he knows they've taken a liking to her and there's a high chance Ollie may become very good friends with them and they might love and appreciate her personality more than he does. Ollie as usual is fiercely loyal to her friends but that's probably because they're the only friends she's ever had and they're all she's ever known (until the arrival of Al/Rose/Louis of course!).

The way you've portrayed the self-absorbed character of Cassie in the first two or three chapters in incredible because from just a small introduction, I feel like I already know her like the back of my hand.

The Wealseys and Al are incredible too. They've all got distinctive voices and very real personalities. There's no doubt Al is starting to like Ollie as a friend because she's hilarious and incredibly honest with a great sense of humour. I think Al likes that he can have a real conversation with her and she'd be honest with him unlike the fake plastic girls he has to deal with.

I love your Rose. She's just like how if imagine her to be and I really want to see her interact with Scorpius more. I want to see his interaction with a girl who's completely new to him unlike Cass and Ollie. I think that would be incredibly fun and perhaps Scorpius might realize he can do better than Cass. Then again, Cass could totally be misjudged by me which is really why I'm excited to read on. I really want to see Ollie admit and accept her new friendship with the Gryffindors who seem like they might be better friends to her, friends she deserves. And I want to see something more between Rose and Scorpius. I think it would be hilarious since she's so sweet and he's so moody! I really think he needs some positivity in his life and someone selfless to love him. I think Scor would be awkwardly hilarious when outside of his comfort zone. I really want Rose to break through his walls and through all the judgement and dislike he has for her family. Perhaps the Wotters can win his over too like they're doing with Ollie. Because let's face it, Cassie may love Ollie and Scor but she loves herself a whole lot more.

So there you have it, my mammoth sized review. I know it's awful but I NEVER leave reviews. Your story is an exception!

 Report Review

Review #9, by RUMBLERORE In Which Slytherins Speculate

23rd October 2014:
So I've been meaning to read this story for like a month now and I've had it open in a tab the entire time and I FINALLY got around to reading it and it is amazing! (idk if any of that made any sense) I'm so obsessed with Olivia and I really like Al too. The way that you write is incredible! Especially the parts where Olivia is drunk. You do such a good job at those parts. Honestly I love this story so much. I'm not sure how I feel about Louis at this point, but he has his upsides. Also, Joe makes me super uncomfortable but he's still adorbs. And idk if you were planning on developing more characters into the story or not, but I think it would be really nice if there was a bigger part with James in it. At least to see more of the interactions him and Al have. But idk. I just feel like I would like James' character. Even though Al is number one. Okay so this whole review is me rambling about nothing. I'm so sorry. I'm super excited to read more though!

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much for such a lovely review! I'm honestly so so happy to hear that you're enjoying reading.

And I'm glad you mentioned drunk Olivia...I feel I maybe enjoy writing drunk characters a bit too much.

There will definitely be a bit more James coming up, but Al's always going to be the main Potter brother in this one :)

Thank you so much for taking the time to review, I really really appreciate it!

Much love,

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #10, by Dianainga In Which Slytherins Speculate

18th October 2014:
More, more, more! I really love this story. I am a huge Al fan so I really like the sweet way you are portraying him...he really takes after his dad with the hero persona! I like Ollie and think there is something really suspicious about Cassie.still do not believe totally that she is a victim. Keep updating OFTEN!

Author's Response: Thanks for such a lovely review! I'm glad my Al works for you :)

And Cassie's definitely supposed to be suspicious :)

I'm really happy to hear you're enjoying reading. Will try to update soon xx


 Report Review

Review #11, by Zeeqad In Which Slytherins Speculate

18th October 2014:
I kinda hate Ollie for running away from Scorpius when he clearly needed her. That's not something a best friend or even a good friend would do.

Great story by the way, read it all in one go and can't wait for more.

Author's Response: Aw, don't be too harsh on her. She's suffering too. But yeah, it wasn't a very supportive move and Scor won't be happy.

Thanks so much for such a lovely review! I really appreciate it and am really happy to hear you've been enjoying reading :)

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #12, by Hedwig_Pie In Which Slytherins Speculate

17th October 2014:
AWMIGOD ROLLERCOASTER OF EMOTIONS MUCH LOVED IT IT WAS EXCELLENT TRULY OH JUST SLJDKSCDFKVNDF

Author's Response: Hiya,

I just wanted to thank you for all the lovely reviews. It's really great to hear from people enjoying the story and I really appreciate your taking the time to review multiple chapters!

Thank youuu,

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #13, by Hedwig_Pie In Which Quidditch Is Played

17th October 2014:
WHAT WHAT WHAT WHAT WHAT WHAT THIS IS AWESOME

Author's Response: Haha thank you so much!!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Hedwig_Pie In Which Questions Are Asked

17th October 2014:
LOVED IT. i really love their relationship, its so normal and understandable and well explained. none of that OMG ALBUS I HATE YOU FOR NO APPARENT REASON etc, etc. its really good - they act like normal teenagers to all their issues and its just really good. i love it.

Author's Response: I'm so so happy you said this! I think my priority with this story has been to make believable characters, and it's great to hear you think they're understandable. I'm not a fan of the hating each other/being secretly in love with each other for no reason and decided to stay away from it.

Thanks so much for all these reviews! I really appreciate it xx


 Report Review

Review #15, by Hedwig_Pie In Which There Are Prefect Patrols

17th October 2014:
i really like ollie after this chapter! she's just so calm and nice and a good person. laura sucked before. now she really sucks. no laura.

Author's Response: Haha, Ollie probably wouldn't want to be described as nice, but she's definitely fundamentally a good person xx

 Report Review

Review #16, by Hedwig_Pie In Which There Is An Attempted Kidnapping

17th October 2014:
liked it. very well written portayal of laura exploiting al. poor al. laura sucks. great chapter

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Laura's a pretty complicated character but definitely pretty rubbish to Al. I'm glad you found it convincing :)

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #17, by b In Which Albus Potter Has A Hero Complex

17th October 2014:
this is lame, oponbjvhnnmbnbg

Author's Response: Hiya,

I'm guessing you're not enjoying reading then (although you made it to chapter three so presumably don't hate it too much?). That's okay, obviously I can't make you like my writing.

If you do keep reading I'd really appreciate some feedback on why it's not working for you. I'll come back and edit everything later and really try to take into account any feedback people leave me in reviews so that would be really helpful.

Thanks for taking the time to review, anyway :)

Emma x


 Report Review

Review #18, by Sunshine&Daisies In Which Slytherins Speculate

15th October 2014:
I love this story! Keep up the good work. I look forward to seeing how Cassie and Al's relationship evolves.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm really glad to hear you're enjoying reading :)

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #19, by Irishseeker In Which Slytherins Speculate

15th October 2014:
Oh my god CAS-SIE. Locket. Blood. Scorp-this just keeps getting better and better oh my god. Poor Scorp though :'( but it is true about the boyfriend always being the first suspect but could Scorpius of done it? I would normally doubt it but I really don't know right now. I really like how you fit everything in and CONGRATULATIONS ON THE DOBBY. Your dialogue is fantastic and it is so well deserved and it's so great to see this story getting the awards and recognition in deserves.
Can't wait for the next chapter!
IrishSeeker x

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much for taking the time to review :)

I'm really glad you're enjoying this. This chapter's been one of my favourites to write and is a bit of a turning point in the plot so I'm really happy people are liking it :)

And thank you!! I'm super thrilled about the Dobby!

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #20, by AdinaPuff In Which Slytherins Speculate

15th October 2014:
Ema!

Another marvelous chapter, of course. Lots of Oz and Joe in this one. Yay! Joe's my favorite. I love his character so much. I'm glad Ollie defended Scorp to them though when they started dishing out reasons as to why Scorp would do something to Cass.

More hints on Cassie! I wonder who did that to her. Charms on the locket? OH MY GOSH WAS IT THE CREEP AL RESCUED OLLIE FROM ON NEW YEARS EVE (I think it was New Years). That would be a great, huge plot twist.

You've got the wheels in my head turning thinking about what could have happened!

More soon, please! :)

-Leigh

Author's Response: Leigh!

Yayy thank you so much. Joe's one of my favourites too :)

But yes, Scor will always come first for Ollie.

Hehe this review's made me really happy, thank you thank you.

Will try to update asap!

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #21, by flauschdrache In Which Slytherins Speculate

15th October 2014:
I don't know why I haven't reviewed this story before but I'll do so now. It's amazing! I was hooked after the very first chapter. I love how each and every of your characters has their own voice. I wish I could master that as well as you do! And I'm so curious about what happened to Cassie. I have absolutely no idea what could be going on so I guess I'll just have to wait and see.

Al is such a sweet charcter and since I feel that James II is usually the more prominent Next-Gen Potter child it's so refreshing to read something about Al.

Keep up the good work. I cannot wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Great to hear from you!

I'm so glad you're enjoying reading, and your comment about every character having their own voice has made me really smiley.

I usually read James II fics so I'm not quite sure why I ended up writing Al. I think he turned up because I knew I wanted to have Scorpius in there as a best friend. But I'm enjoying writing Al a lot.

Thanks so much for the lovely review! I really appreciate it.

Emma xxx


 Report Review

Review #22, by TumTum In Which Slytherins Speculate

15th October 2014:
OK I have a new theory about Cassie. No actually I have 20 now, they keep on doing circles in my head. This business with the necklace doesn't look at all good and she could have been kidnapped or assaulted or even murdered (gasp) but I don't know. Or at least I'm less inclined to think so though I am very conscious that she's got that dangerous combination of being a vulnerable person without much protection and having an independent streak a mile wide. But it would be easy enough for Cassie to set up the necklace as a fake clue right? And she is clever and manipulative.

That would be particularly cruel though to her friends. There is something so personal about getting rid of something that so clearly represents her close relationship with Ollie and Scorpius and it feels pretty symbolic of her to leave it behind as a false clue - like a complete break with her past and Ollie and Scor. The thing is, I'm pretty sure that Cassie had secrets from the two of them but were they a big enough deal to force her to leave school (did she care about school? Not actually sure but I suspect not much) and her friends who she appeared to love very much? Because even if she did have secrets there's nothing there to suggest that she didn't love them as she appeared to. I don't know but that doesn't seem quite likely either. But that's partly because I can't imagine what would make her go to such lengths.

At the moment, I suspect that Cassie is in trouble but that there will be revelations about secrets that she has been keeping that will confuse things and change the way Ollie sees Cassie, making her doubt their friendship? Whatever the case you're a genius at setting up this mystery.

I do have another theory about a secret she was keeping even if it doesn't explain her disappearance: she had something going on with Amethyst Twine, the person who has been acting even more strange since they came back to school, since Cassie went missing? Were they having an affair? (my mind is like a torrid soap honestly) I would be surprised if Ollie were to judge Cassie unkindly for being with a girl but maybe Cassie felt the pressure to stay with Scor even if she didn't feel it in order to maintain her friendship with them? And at the same time I think she did care deeply for Scor. Pssh I don't know.

I still think James knows something about this and I hope the latest revelations urge him to do something. Perhaps Al will provide a link for James and Ollie to meet and put the pieces together?

I don't think it was Scorpius but I think it's interesting that even the Slytherins wonder and I reckon that part of the reason that Ollie ran from him is that she entertained the thought, even if it was just for a second. After all she's the only one who knows that he had told Cassie that he loved her and was rejected. It will look that way to Scorpius I suspect, either way, poor guy.

It's difficult to tell what Ollie thinks because she's been in denial up till now and at the moment she's just shocked and frightened and upset. I felt awful for her because Scor and Cassie are her family atm and I was so glad when she bumped into Al who was so good and caring. I love him a lot right now and I hope he sticks around because I think he will be able to ground her. Also I just love him and want to see more of his character and how he will react to this situation when he knows more. Will he be helpful to Ollie above being comforting? I do think (hope) that each time something like this happens, Ollie trusts him a bit more.

I loved this chapter and I wanted to hug Ollie but at the same time it's getting frustrating still not knowing much about Cassie especially when Ollie can't or won't process all this information and investigate it because she is too closely involved. I feel for her 100% but at the same time I want her to try because I think she is the person best placed to find out the truth. That's where I hope this story is going although whether I'm right or wrong I don't doubt that I'll enjoy it. Well done for getting the balance between emotion and mystery just right.

Congratulations on getting your Dobby, it's very well deserved ^_^

Margie xx

Author's Response: Margie!

Your reviews make me smile so much. Thank you thank you.

It's great to hear your thoughts on Cassie. I won't comment on them now because *spoilers* but it's super interesting to hear what you're thinking so thanks so much for all of that.

I will say that Amethyst Twine's role in this story is definitely going to get bigger.

You're right about Ollie being the only one who knows about Cassie's reaction to Scor saying he loved her, and that's a confusing level of responsibility for Ollie to have. She's struggling without her best friend and isn't dealing with things sensibly. Having Scor being suspected doesn't help.

I'm so glad you said Scor and Cassie are her family! That's the kind of friendship I've been trying to write :)

Al's just an all round good guy. He's decided he cares about Ollie and won't listen to her not wanting his help, which is for the best because things are pretty lonely for her right now. But more on that in the next few chapters :)

Thank you so much for such a kind review! I really appreciate the time and thought you put into giving feedback.

Much love,

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #23, by CambAngst In Which Slytherins Speculate

15th October 2014:
Hi, Emma! I was really excited to see a new chapter posted!

Wow. I thought the last chapter was going to be hard to top for shocking revelations, but you definitely did it here. If Cassie is doing this all for a laugh, I have to say that she's going to impressive lengths. Then again, I'm not so sure that's what's going on any more. I'm assembling clues in my head and the puzzle still doesn't have many pieces. The latest hint is that it seems like Cassie disappeared from King's Cross. So she nearly made it to the train. Hmmnn...

It's interesting to get a read on Scorpius's likely guilt or innocence from people who aren't as close to him as Olivia. His fellow Slytherins seem to find it at least plausible that he could have done something to Cassie. Perhaps not likely, but not outside the realm of possibility, either. I feel like their doubts had a lot to do with Olivia's reaction to Scorpius later on.

I really liked the way that you paced the conversation between Olivia and Scorpius. As he reveals each new piece of information, I could feel her reaction changing. She went from being unconditionally supportive to... I guess "confused" would be a safe way to say it without overstating anything. I didn't get the impression that she thinks Scorpius did it, but I think the lingering doubts combined with evidence that could be interpreted to mean that something bad happened to Cassie was too much for her. So she runs...

... into Albus's arms. I've been wondering how you were going to pull this off and you did it with a lot of finesse. It didn't feel too easy. There was a good measure of trauma involved. You played into Olivia's vulnerable state and Albus's hero complex. Bravo! I think all the hard word you've been doing to build up these two characters really paid off in this moment.

I didn't see a single typo in this chapter, so kudos for good editing. It all flowed nicely, a smooth, enjoyable read. Great job! I can't wait to see what's coming next.

Author's Response: Hi Dan :)

This has been one of my favourite chapters to write so far. It's a scene I've had in mind from the beginning so it was really satisfying to finally get it down on paper.

Scorpius doesn't seem suspicious to Olivia, but I hope it's clear that he could seem guilty to other people. It's confusing for Ollie because obviously he's still her best friend but then she's seen how other people aren't convinced by him. So yes, she doubts him.

And Albus...I really don't want to slip into the trap of having some guy who comes and fixes all the problems and sorts something out. Ollie's strong and she doesn't need somebody, but then it's good for her to have someone in her life who's actually kind and supportive. This chapter was definitely a bit of a vulnerable girl/hero complex guy moment though.

I'm so glad you enjoyed reading! Thanks so much for such a wonderfully kind review :)

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #24, by hoodwink In Which Slytherins Speculate

14th October 2014:
Wait, what just happened? I'm so conflicted in what to feel... I mean Scorp getting taken away for questioning and Ollie running away from him (AND THE BLOOD ON THE CHAIN, WHAT WHAT WHAT, NO.) but then there's that cute bit at the end where Al comforts her. Too many emotions! This is a great chapter, it felt too short though, compared to the other ones, but that's a minor detail haha. I really like where the story is going right now and that the mystery of Cassie is becoming more prominent (as in something actually happened to her?!). I can't wait to figure out what happens next! Keep up the great writing, I love it (:

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to review :)

This chapter's the shortest I've written by quite a bit, but I felt like there was enough going on and it was probably time to cut it off at the end.

I'm so glad you liked everything! And Al's definitely lovely. This is one of the moments I've had solidly in mind since I started thinking about writing 'Complicated'.

Thanks for all the (extremely kind) feedback! I'll try to update soon :)

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #25, by Veritaserum27 In Which Questions Are Asked

12th October 2014:
Hi Emma,

I'm back to get caught up on this story, but first I need to officially congratulate you on your well deserved Dobby. Awesome job! This story is getting better and better. The more I read, the more I realize how much work and careful planning you put into it - I'm totally hooked!

Now I'm seriously starting to get worried about Cassie. And I know that Scor and Ollie are both trying to convince themselves that she's just being "Cassie," but I don't think either one of them buy it, either. They are both starting a slow panic.

Grrr. Pansy makes me so mad. It's like she's trying to live vicariously through her daughter and making every effort to blame her for her own problems. There was no "congratulations on making prefect" from either of her parents (if Ollie even bothered to tell them), just loveless letters. I am a bit intrigued by her father's letter. Does he know something about Cassie?

So, I must admit, Rose can be a bit annoying (and I'm a huge Rose fan, so it takes a lot for me to admit that). But I do wish she would call Ollie by the name that she prefers. I can see how Rose is stuck in between her two best cousins here, but I'm on Al's side. What Louis did was unforgivable, although I'm starting to think Louis may have a bit of a drinking problem. Even so, Al is his cousin and his best friend and - you just don't do that.

The MLE officers? Hmmm... I feel like they know more than they are saying. The mystery is building.

Ooo - Al was so sweet here. Ollie is lucky - she could've been seriously hurt.

Poor, poor Scorpius. I love the character you've made him. He is fiercely loyal to the few that he holds dear and his small world is falling apart. It stands to reason that he would feel a lot of animosity towards the Wotters. They have a large family (read: support group) and are regarded as the next generation of heroes, while his is still paying for the crimes of his father. And the explanation as to why the MLE officers scared him was awesome. Ugh - I think that boy's been through enough - Cassie come back and take care of him!

Great chapter!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Hi Beth!

Thank you so much! I'm totally thrilled. And congratulations to you too!!

Pansy is definitely pretty awful, but Olivia almost definitely didn't tell her parents about being made prefect so maybe that doesn't come into their many flaws. Her father's letter.will be explained later :)

Aw, Rose is just trying to be nice and be a good friend. But her and Ollie are a bit of a clash really at the moment. They're getting there though.

I'm so glad you like Scorpius! He's one of my favourites and he's obviously having a bit of a hard time. But Cassie might not be back any time soon...

Thanks so much for coming back and taking the time to review! I'm horribly behind on your wonderful story but will make sure to come back to it soon!

Emma xx


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>