Reading Reviews for Complicated
  
186 Reviews Found

Review #1, by marauderfan In Which Slytherins Speculate

16th December 2014:
Ok, I am the worst, I feel bad that I haven't reviewed all the chapters up until now but I just kind of read all of the chapters in this binge-reading session and now THERE'S NO MORE. No but that's good because now I have to take a breath and leave you the reviews and compliments you deserve! I'm sorry I haven't done so until this point!

I really love Ollie, I think she's a fantastic character. I love her spunky attitude, and I also love how she has all these frustrating faults (like running away from Scorpius at exactly the worst time aaah) because they make her so human. I am really worried about Cassie - although she can be a difficult person I did like her (maybe just because I'm seeing her through her best friend's eyes, haha.) and how terrifying that must be to have your best friend missing! I feel so bad for Scorpius too as he really has no one.

Although at the moment this is working against her friendship with Scorpius (though hopefully not for long?) I love Olivia's interactions with the Gryffindors and how well she fits in with them and how much they accept her. She and Al are so cute together. But mostly I love that the romance plot hasn't even started yet, how they're just building up to being friends. It goes at a realistic pace and I appreciate that.

Your minor characters are really excellent as well! Joe and Oscar are the best. Who says Slytherins can't be cuddly? :D

So glad we happened to do that review swap the other day. I've favourited this story and eagerly awaiting the next chapter. :D

Author's Response: Haha I'm absolutely honoured that you took the time to read through all of this!! Of course it's okay to not have reviewed the chapters in between :)

I'm so glad you like Ollie. I really enjoy writing her, and I think although she has her flaws there is also (I hope) a lot to like about her. I think I'm understanding her a bit more with each chapter which makes writing her a lot of fun. And of course not having Cassie around is a big thing for her to deal with.

And thank you for pointing out that the romance plot is moving at a realistic pace! I worry a bit that it's taking too long, but really didn't want it to feel rushed. Also it's giving me lots of time to be indulgent and work on their characters a lot before throwing them together, which on a selfish level makes it very satisfying.

Joe and Oscar are I think my absolute favourites :)

Thank you so so much for all your wonderfully kind reviews! They've really brightened my day :)

Lots of love,

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #2, by BellaLestrange87 In Which Christmas Is Not The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year

15th December 2014:
Hi! I'm here for our review swap! I'm sorry I took so long - I feel asleep when I got home and then I had French homework to do. *sighs* School is getting in the way of fanfiction.

I can immediately see why this won a Dobby for Best Dialogue. Everything everybody says sounds so realistic, something that teenagers would say. There's a big difference between this amazing dialogue and the canned stuff I've read - and written too. *winces in memory*

I loved the opening line. It sucked me in immediately; I wanted to know exactly why your MC hated Christmas. (And then, upon reflection, I realised that to some extent I agreed with her. Madhouse is the perfect way to describe what my house looks like when my entire family is over.)

I love what you've done with the characters. Oliver was so into Quidditch that it's entirely logical that he would marry someone also passionate about it. Maybe it's because he doesn't have a life outside of the sport so any women he notices are involved with it in some way? And I have to say, I was really surprised to find out that Pansy Parkinson was Olivia's mother. She didn't seem all that timid during her Hogwarts years, although your depiction of her still being in love with Draco sounds like her. I think JKR said in an interview that their relationship was doomed to fail because Pansy was based off of horrible girls she knew in school. Judging from the way she was acting in their train compartment in HBP, she was deeply in love with him. (And apparently still is.)

Even though this probably sounds cruel, I like how you turned Katie's being cursed into something that affected her long-term. From what I gathered when I read the book, the necklace was affected with heavy Dark Magic, and stuff like that doesn't just wear off. She spent so much time in St. Mungo's, and was still affected when she came back - she couldn't remember who had cursed her (although, to be fair, that might've been the Imperius Curse she was under). I know from experience that when you get hurt the injury doesn't wear off immediately, it takes time, and something as severe as Katie's cursing would definitely affect her for the rest of her life.

What a very rambly paragraph.

I keep wondering who Pansy would've married. The name Andrew doesn't sound very purebloodish. (Look at you, Olivia, inventing new words.) From what I gathered, their marriage was arranged, which suggests pureblood, and judging from Pansy's alignment during the war with Voldemort, a "respectable" one too. If there's no love in their marriage, cheating (as is implied) is very likely to happen, and the way Pansy catches her husband sounds entirely plausible, too. Stupid man. Hide your evidence!

I really like the ending. When I've been caught in the middle of an argument, my first impulse has been to try and leave, and get away from it all. I like that Olivia needed to use the same tactic.

Overall, I loved this first chapter, and I'm definitely going to keep reading! To be entirely honest, this was on my reading list (I added a bunch when Dobby noms happened), so I was going to review it anyways (but probably in the distant future).

~also Olivia

Author's Response: Hi Olivia!

Sorry for taking so long to get back to his - everything's been a bit manic and busy.

Wow, thank you so much for such an extremely thoughtful review. All your comments really mean so much and I'm so grateful to you for putting the time in to review :)

Pansy's character will, I hope, start to make a bit more sense later on, although she's definitely still a pain. She's married to Katie Bell's brother, who is a pureblood but it wasn't an arranged marriage. I'm not sure how much of their story will make it into 'Complicated'. If it doesn't all become clear I might be tempted to write a one shot about it later on :)

Katie's curse was, I think, always going to have to be a part of who she grew up to be. She lost a huge chunk of her final year at school because of it, and it would have to leave some kind of a scar on her. I thought it was good to recognise that something like that would have a long term effect and, although Katie's grown up and moved past it, it's never something that can completely leave her.

Honestly thank you so much for all your lovely comments! Reviews like this really mean a lot and makes writing such a pleasure :)

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #3, by Veritaserum27 In Which Slytherins Speculate

15th December 2014:
Hey Emma!

Here for the third chapter of our review swap!

Oh! The Albus/Ollie feels right now are so - gah! I'm all over the place right now because I'm so, so sad for Scorpius.

He really needs someone right now and Ollie just... I don't know what happened, but the emotions were so high she couldn't deal with them. I really like how you said in an earlier chapter that Scorpius was always 100% honest and that was really important to him. I think he's gonna need Ollie to remind everyone of that. His Slytherin "friends" were quick to point out all of the checks against him - his temper, Cassie's ability to push buttons, the fact that he's a Malfoy. I feel like everyone is being a bit unfair and I'm just worried that there may be some irreparable damage done. I don't feel like Scorpius trusts people very easily and this is an excellent example of him getting Ollie right now. Perhaps her Gryffindor friends can teach her a few things about loyalty.

I think you've done an excellent job of showing Ollie's slow process of growing to accept others. She is obviously pretty comfortable with Al, Rose and is getting better with the other Gryffies. Maybe she's growing as a person as well!

What a cliffhanger! I can't wait to read what happens next!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: And again, THANK YOU THANK YOU! Everything you've said is just so lovely, and I really appreciate it.

Scor's having a tough time, and I wanted to make it clear that he's struggling even though Ollie's not really in the right frame of mind to help. He really needs her and she doesn't feel able to be there for him, which is definitely going to be a problem for them both.

Ollie's slowly developing as a character, and I'm really glad that's come across. I think (hope) that Al brings out a healthier side of her, and helps her become a happier person.

Thank you so much for the swap and for all your lovely comments! I've just finished with your reviews too and was super impressed by everything :)

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #4, by Veritaserum27 In Which Quidditch Is Played

15th December 2014:
Hey Emma!

I'm here for the second chapter of our three chapter review swap.

Wow. I mean just. Wow. The writing in this was amazing. I know I keep repeating myself, but I cannot believe how amazing your work is. I hope that you intend to become a writer - or something along those lines, because it would be a shame to waste your talents.

This Quidditch match is one of the best I've ever seen written. I think that is due in part to the fact that you took your time to set the scene before the match started. The reader knew that the players had the goal of getting to 300 points more. Also, I really liked how you had the call of the game in italics. It really helped to break up the feelings and emotions that Ollie was going through from the semantics of the game.

Joe and Oscar. I can't even with those two right now. They are an epic couple. E.P.I.C. I'm in love with how you've portrayed them. I have to admit - I sort of wanted to see a fight - but not before a Quidditch match - haha! Maybe something is brewing for later on?

Oh my. Poor, poor Scorpius. He does NOT need or deserve this right now. I feel like this is going to get worse before it gets better. I'm also not really happy with the MLE. They did not need to do this in front of the entire school on the pitch.

Fantastic chapter! I can't wait to see what happens next!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Yayy thank you thank you thank you I can't express how much it means to keep hearing such lovely things from you :)

I was a bit worried about the Quidditch Match. I couldn't quite figure out how to follow the overall match at the same time as writing a player, so I'm really glad you think it worked!

And Joe and Oscar are I think my absolute favourites in this story, except maybe for Al. I love writing them and how much they care about each other.

Thank you so much for such a kind review!

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #5, by Veritaserum27 In Which Scorpius Is A Moody Cow

15th December 2014:
Hiya!

I'm here for the first chapter of our review swap! This chapter was an absolute delight to read! You truly have a gift for writing. I know you won a Dobby for best dialogue (CONGRATS, by the way!), but I feel like this story is so, so much more than that - and your talents run much deeper. This is one of the few stories that I read with absolute ease. In addition to that, you're obviously building to a great mystery and have characters that are developed to the fullest.

I think I'm in love with Rose. She's confident, brash, loyal, funny and super smart. Not to mention, incredibly magically gifted and fearless. The only thing I'm wondering is why she's still speaking to Laura Brogan after what she did to Albus. Rose seems like the type to take her family's feelings seriously - especially when they've been wronged. Maybe she figures she can get catch more flies with honey than with vinegar...

I feel so bad for Scor in this chapter. He has a point. Ollie has been ignoring him - okay she has a legitimate excuse, but since he doesn't have a super-huge network of friends, I can see why he needs his closest friend right now.

I'm really getting concerned for Cassie. Moreover, I'm wondering why Olivia isn't more worried about her. I mean, I know Cassie is flaky, but to just go missing?! Hmmm... This is a great little mystery you've got going!

Thanks for doing a swap!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Hi Beth!

Wow, thanks for such a lovely review. Your comments always make me so happy, especially because I love all your work so much :)

Rose is one of my favourites. I keep wanting to put more of her in than the plot requires, and am almost certainly going to write a spin off novel at some point that focusses on her. I hope that her dynamic with Laura will become a bit clearer later on, but I'll come back and look at that when I edit to make it a bit more real. You're right - Rose definitely isn't in a hurry to forgive Laura for the way she treated Al.

And I'm glad you're sympathetic towards Scor! Lots of people have been quite unforgiving and think he's overreacting, but I hope it's clear that he's having a hard time and is struggling without the support he's come to expect from Ollie.

More will be revealed about Cassie soon :)

Thanks so much for the lovely review and for the swap! I'll get to your other chapters asap xxx


 Report Review

Review #6, by Dirigible_Plums In Which Christmas Is Not The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year

15th December 2014:
I SAW ALBUS POTTER'S NAME IN THE SUMMARY.

Sorry, I had to get that out. You have successfully captured my intention and after reading this little gem of a first chapter, I am definitely going to read on. I stopped by for the review swap by the way (and I'm not regretting it).

As I have more or less said, I enjoyed reading the first chapter. I think Olivia's narrative style is established quite well here and you've managed to balance the speech with the description. No unnecessary details that she wouldn't notice aren't here and I'm glad you avoided the essay on the dress as well ;)

I like that Christmas is exactly the opposite of what it should symbolise. The fact that Olivia is part of a broken family is interesting to see and I look forward to seeing how it's pulled off later. I was surprised that Pansy wasn't as snobby as she was portrayed in the books but I suppose people change and her frailty could possibly be an effect from the war. I think you presented the pureblood behavioural instincts effectively and how she tries to impose it on her daughter.

I don't really have any constructive criticism here except for the following: instead of 'I let my voice drip with irony', I think I would use 'sarcasm' instead. I don't think 'irony' was the right word to use since she's mocking him. It's not a certain twist of events that has ended up putting him or her at a disadvantage. I hope you understand what I mean.

Dirigible_Plums xo

Author's Response: Hello!

Haha, there's a lot more Albus in later chapters I promise. He's one of my favourites so I couldn't resist writing him.

Thank you so much for all your lovely comments. I had a lot of fun writing this opening and although there are a few things I'd probably want to edit now it's always really nice to hear that people are enjoying it :)

And yes, you're absolutely right about the irony/sarcasm distinction. Thanks for pointing that out! I'll change it when I next come back and make some edits.

Thanks so much for the swap and for the lovely lovely review!

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #7, by marauderfan In Which Draco Malfoy Makes A Joke

15th December 2014:
eep! I couldn't help it, had to keep reading, besides this chapter needs more reviews.

I love that they all sit on the rooftop at Christmas. The roof was always my favourite part of my house growing up, haha!

I really like Scorpius and Cassie. They seem like such great people and I really love the friendship that the three of them have! I like that they and Olivia could all hang out together and I was thinking how cool it was that they never made her a third wheel, but then they did. :p Ah well, it happens :p

Omg Rita Skeeter still writing the worst gossipy excuse for news. WHY IS THIS IN THE NEWSPAPER? Tomorrow's headline: "ALBUS POTTER STUBS TOE." I swear. That woman needs to get a life :p but I kind of loved that you included her in here!

I like the way you've written Draco Malfoy. Granted we haven't seen him interacting with any of his old school enemies, but he seems to have matured a lot and is a pretty decent guy, at least at this point.

Reading this story makes me wonder why I had never read anything by you before, because you're a wonderful writer! I'm sure I'll be back :)

Author's Response: Haha, and thank you for continuing to read!

Writing Scorpius and Cassie is extremely satisfying. I really enjoy both of their characters and am a big fan of writing strong friendships, so thank you for commenting on that :)

And I couldn't resist throwing Rita in there...

Honestly thank you so much for giving such lovely feedback. It really means a lot :)

Emma x


 Report Review

Review #8, by marauderfan In Which Christmas Is Not The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year

15th December 2014:
Review swap!

I must admit, this chapter title made me kind of happy since believe it or not, I am actually a total Scrooge. :P

Gah, who is this crazy mother who is trying to force her daughter to care about her appearance all the time? Oh. Pansy. Ok I get it. Ugh. Actually this should make for an excellent read, since I think Pansy can be a really interesting character :D

Ahaha, Olivia and Jason are such wonderful friendly cousins. Their greeting made me laugh!

Aw, that's really sad that the cursed necklace made Katie lose her chances with Quidditch. It's really sad, yet totally believable and it was such a huge event in her life so I'm glad you included a reference to it in here.

I loved Olivia and Jason's 'business transaction' for the gifts they didn't want, haha. They can actually be kind to each other sometimes, and they're really good at dissipating awkward situations by arguing with each other.

Oh no, what a horrible thing to find out on Christmas O__O I actually feel sorry for Pansy, which is not something I thought I'd say. Ahh, worst Christmas! I do really love Katie though, she is so sweet and I really hope Olivia realizes that her extended family cares about her, even if they aren't obvious about it all the time.

Awesome chapter and thanks for the swap!

Author's Response: Hello hello!

Thank you so much for the lovely review. All your comments are extremely kind and have made me super smiley. Now that I'm a bit further through this story there are aspects of this chapter I'm not a huge fan of and would definitely like to come back and change, so it's always reassuring to get some nice feedback!

Thanks so much for the swap.

Lots of love,

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #9, by Dawn In Which Slytherins Speculate

8th December 2014:
I just read this all in one go and really enjoyed it!

I like your writing and that Dobby for Dialogue was well-deserved :)

Oh no is Cassie actually hurt? My theory throughout has been that she ran away because she is pregnant and doesn't want anyone to know and that she cannot come to terms with the feelings she has for Scorpius.

I love how nice you have made the Gryffindors and I really like the premise of this story; it is very refreshing and unique, a story about Pansy Parkinson and Katie Bell's brother's daughter seems like it would be really random but you really make it work.

Can't wait to read the next chapter!

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you so much for the lovely review!

I'm so glad you're enjoying the story and finding it original.

The next chapter should be up soonish :)

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #10, by tessalina22 In Which Slytherins Speculate

23rd November 2014:
Omygodshh i'm so addicted to this story!!! Seriously this is the best!

Author's Response: Yayy thank you! I'm working on the next chapter now so it should be up soon :) xx

 Report Review

Review #11, by ilovegeorgeweasly101 In Which Slytherins Speculate

19th November 2014:
There's no way scorpius could have hurt her and now he'll be super mad at Ollie for running!!! Ugh!!! Please update soon!! I love your story and can't wait for more!! Congrats on your dobby!

10/10

Clea

Author's Response: Thank you so much! The next chapter should be up soonish - I'm working on it at the moment.

So sorry for such a delayed response and for the long wait between chapters! I'm working on it :)

Lots of love,

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #12, by Roisin In Which Slytherins Speculate

10th November 2014:
Woah, I thought I reviewed this chapter!

Anyway, I really liked what you did with this. Olivia seems to be in a kind of confused shock, and I thought your wrote that really well throughout. Like, setting off individual sentences ("Scor had been taken away for questioning ... He's terrified of law enforcement"). It gave the impression of her trying to just kind of process all the individual facts. And by putting her into this kind of psychological space, it really helps us understand her (admittedly cruel) decision to run away from him. I also feel like you have an impressively strong command of Olivia's character. Throughout, we know she has a difficult time with emotional depth, and I appreciated how that struggle permeated this emotionally dense chapter.

Also, for stories featuring romance, I sometimes get frustrated when rather unhealthy relationships get romanticized. I like that she and Albus are generating a genuine friendship and intimacy, and that the romance doesn't NEED to be the source of conflict, since there's already enough of that going around from elsewhere.

Oh, and I really like your new story summary!

Hope you update soon, and congrats on SotM! I hope you don't think that since no one else was nominated, it's less of a win. It's just that you can't second SotM nominations, and so clearly everyone just agreed that it should go to you :)

xoxo
Roisin

Author's Response: Roisin!

I'm so sorry for taking so long to respond! Thank you for another extremely thoughtful and kind review :)

All your comments about Olivia really mean so much. She's finding it hard to deal with her feelings and figure out what she actually thinks about what's going on, and her response to Scorpius is kind of the culmination of this confusion. The chapter's definitely emotionally dense but I'm glad you thought it worked.

And I totally agree with you about the romance! I think too often, especially in this kind of young-adult-type genre, the relationships we're supposed to support are actually quite unhealthy and damaging to one or both people. I'm trying to make Olivia and Albus good for each other.

Thanks for a lovely review, and thanks for the SofM nom! It really means so much, especially from you.

I'm working on the next chapter now after a few crazily hectic months so it should be up soon!

Lots of love,

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #13, by daliha In Which Christmas Is Not The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year

1st November 2014:
Hey I'm here for the october review swap! I know I"m late and Im so sorry but RL was crazy this week!

Anyway, I loved this first chapter Olivia and Jason's bickering made me smile typical Gryffindor- Slytherin rivalry, interesting though how you have Katie and Oliver interacting with Pansy someone they didn't really interact with at school, even though they are a dysfunctional family I find their interaction believable except for Pansy she seems over the top but I think she was like that in the books as well. I love how you kept Oliver and Katie in character, and Katie's kindness towards Olivia, it broke my heart, I know what it like to have family drag you into their drama XD

Great chapter, I'll go on to the next when I get the chance :)

Author's Response: Hello! So sorry for such a delayed response!

I've really enjoyed exploring the possible relationship between Katie/Oliver/Pansy so I'm glad you found it interesting. Pansy's definitely over the top but I like to think it all makes sense later on when we understand more about her.

Katie's one of my favourites to write so there'll definitely be more of her :)

Loved the swap - let me know if you ever want to swap again. I'm usually much more speedy with my responses!

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #14, by Spyci In Which Slytherins Speculate

28th October 2014:
I SHIP IT SO HARD. Whilst being worried about Cass, of course. Please update before I have a mental breakdown!!1!1!

Author's Response: Yayy thank you for the review! I'm working on the next chapter now so hopefully it should be up soonish xx

 Report Review

Review #15, by macpp In Which Slytherins Speculate

26th October 2014:
I started reading this last night just before I went to bed and couldn't stop!! I was up half the night and half asleep at college today (I know college on a Sunday wth). I know I should but I don't really like Cassie so I'm semi hoping she doesn't come back. Don't shoot me! I don't want something bad to happen to her though because it would totes delay the other characters relationship developments.
I love Albus.
Update soon plz

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Haha I've been there with stories on this site before...sleep suddenly doesn't seem too important.

And you're definitely not the only one to feel that way about Cass so don't worry :)

Thanks so much for such a lovely review. I'm sorry for being so delayed in my reply! I'm working on the next chapter now so hopefully should be able to update soon.

Lots of love,

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #16, by Madamam In Which Slytherins Speculate

26th October 2014:
I think Scor is going to be very mad that Ollie ran away from him and coincidently into Al's arms. I really like Ollie and Al but I can't help but think that Ollie might be a little but in love with Scor...

Author's Response: Oo, interesting...more on this next chapter. I don't want to give spoilers but it's always fantastic to hear people's theories.

Honestly thank you so much for the reviews. They mean even more given that you've said you don't usually review stories. Thank you for all your thoughtful comments.

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #17, by Madamam In Which Scorpius Is A Moody Cow

25th October 2014:
You're an incredible writer. You've wielded these teenage characters better than any writer I've read on this website. I've got quite a bit of an analysis of Ollie, Scor, Cassie and the rest of the 'Wotter' clan!

First off, Olivia! She's probably the most likeable character and not just because she's the narrator. She's a real teenager. You've really breathed spirit into her character. She's incredibly honest and level headed. But she's also a bit judgemental and close-minded like a 16-year-old would be. She's trying to be cool, like she has no feelings, because she's too young and inexperienced to see vulnerability as something to be proud of rather than a disadvantage. She's guarded herself because she has her own set of beliefs and they're all she's ever known simply because she's just a kid. But at the end of the day she's got her heart in the right place which is why she can't see that Scorpius and Cass might not be the best friends to her.

Cassie and Scorpius are both insecure, especially Scorpius. Cassie's claims to be her friend and I'm sure she really does care about Ollie but she's always putting her down with little regard to Ollie's well-being. I mean Cass's independent after having to care for herself but Ollie's still very innocent and kind of scared even if she puts on a tough exterior. Scorpius is also really insecure. He can't easily make friends so he gets mad at Ollie for stepping outside her comfort zone. Ollie's absolutely loveable and I think Scor knows that which is why he's threatened by the Wotter Clan because he knows they've taken a liking to her and there's a high chance Ollie may become very good friends with them and they might love and appreciate her personality more than he does. Ollie as usual is fiercely loyal to her friends but that's probably because they're the only friends she's ever had and they're all she's ever known (until the arrival of Al/Rose/Louis of course!).

The way you've portrayed the self-absorbed character of Cassie in the first two or three chapters in incredible because from just a small introduction, I feel like I already know her like the back of my hand.

The Wealseys and Al are incredible too. They've all got distinctive voices and very real personalities. There's no doubt Al is starting to like Ollie as a friend because she's hilarious and incredibly honest with a great sense of humour. I think Al likes that he can have a real conversation with her and she'd be honest with him unlike the fake plastic girls he has to deal with.

I love your Rose. She's just like how if imagine her to be and I really want to see her interact with Scorpius more. I want to see his interaction with a girl who's completely new to him unlike Cass and Ollie. I think that would be incredibly fun and perhaps Scorpius might realize he can do better than Cass. Then again, Cass could totally be misjudged by me which is really why I'm excited to read on. I really want to see Ollie admit and accept her new friendship with the Gryffindors who seem like they might be better friends to her, friends she deserves. And I want to see something more between Rose and Scorpius. I think it would be hilarious since she's so sweet and he's so moody! I really think he needs some positivity in his life and someone selfless to love him. I think Scor would be awkwardly hilarious when outside of his comfort zone. I really want Rose to break through his walls and through all the judgement and dislike he has for her family. Perhaps the Wotters can win his over too like they're doing with Ollie. Because let's face it, Cassie may love Ollie and Scor but she loves herself a whole lot more.

So there you have it, my mammoth sized review. I know it's awful but I NEVER leave reviews. Your story is an exception!

Author's Response: Hello!

I'm so so sorry for taking so long to respond, especially given how thoughtful your review was. I've been super busy and wanted to save time to do justice to your review in my response. I'm not sure I'll be able to but thank you thank you anyway.

Everything you've said about my characters is so what I wanted to come across, and it honestly means so much to hear that it's come through. I'm so glad you like Olivia, and all your other comments are so thoughtful and kind.

You comment about Cassie loving Ollie and Scor but loving herself more is spot on. Thank you so much for saying it.

I don't know what to say to get across how much I appreciate this review, but THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU. I've had a bit of writers block over the last few weeks but you've definitely inspired me to keep writing and try to get an update in before the queue closes.

Lots of love,

Emma x


 Report Review

Review #18, by RUMBLERORE In Which Slytherins Speculate

23rd October 2014:
So I've been meaning to read this story for like a month now and I've had it open in a tab the entire time and I FINALLY got around to reading it and it is amazing! (idk if any of that made any sense) I'm so obsessed with Olivia and I really like Al too. The way that you write is incredible! Especially the parts where Olivia is drunk. You do such a good job at those parts. Honestly I love this story so much. I'm not sure how I feel about Louis at this point, but he has his upsides. Also, Joe makes me super uncomfortable but he's still adorbs. And idk if you were planning on developing more characters into the story or not, but I think it would be really nice if there was a bigger part with James in it. At least to see more of the interactions him and Al have. But idk. I just feel like I would like James' character. Even though Al is number one. Okay so this whole review is me rambling about nothing. I'm so sorry. I'm super excited to read more though!

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much for such a lovely review! I'm honestly so so happy to hear that you're enjoying reading.

And I'm glad you mentioned drunk Olivia...I feel I maybe enjoy writing drunk characters a bit too much.

There will definitely be a bit more James coming up, but Al's always going to be the main Potter brother in this one :)

Thank you so much for taking the time to review, I really really appreciate it!

Much love,

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #19, by Dianainga In Which Slytherins Speculate

18th October 2014:
More, more, more! I really love this story. I am a huge Al fan so I really like the sweet way you are portraying him...he really takes after his dad with the hero persona! I like Ollie and think there is something really suspicious about Cassie.still do not believe totally that she is a victim. Keep updating OFTEN!

Author's Response: Thanks for such a lovely review! I'm glad my Al works for you :)

And Cassie's definitely supposed to be suspicious :)

I'm really happy to hear you're enjoying reading. Will try to update soon xx


 Report Review

Review #20, by Zeeqad In Which Slytherins Speculate

18th October 2014:
I kinda hate Ollie for running away from Scorpius when he clearly needed her. That's not something a best friend or even a good friend would do.

Great story by the way, read it all in one go and can't wait for more.

Author's Response: Aw, don't be too harsh on her. She's suffering too. But yeah, it wasn't a very supportive move and Scor won't be happy.

Thanks so much for such a lovely review! I really appreciate it and am really happy to hear you've been enjoying reading :)

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #21, by Hedwig_Pie In Which Slytherins Speculate

17th October 2014:
AWMIGOD ROLLERCOASTER OF EMOTIONS MUCH LOVED IT IT WAS EXCELLENT TRULY OH JUST SLJDKSCDFKVNDF

Author's Response: Hiya,

I just wanted to thank you for all the lovely reviews. It's really great to hear from people enjoying the story and I really appreciate your taking the time to review multiple chapters!

Thank youuu,

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #22, by Hedwig_Pie In Which Quidditch Is Played

17th October 2014:
WHAT WHAT WHAT WHAT WHAT WHAT THIS IS AWESOME

Author's Response: Haha thank you so much!!

 Report Review

Review #23, by Hedwig_Pie In Which Questions Are Asked

17th October 2014:
LOVED IT. i really love their relationship, its so normal and understandable and well explained. none of that OMG ALBUS I HATE YOU FOR NO APPARENT REASON etc, etc. its really good - they act like normal teenagers to all their issues and its just really good. i love it.

Author's Response: I'm so so happy you said this! I think my priority with this story has been to make believable characters, and it's great to hear you think they're understandable. I'm not a fan of the hating each other/being secretly in love with each other for no reason and decided to stay away from it.

Thanks so much for all these reviews! I really appreciate it xx


 Report Review

Review #24, by Hedwig_Pie In Which There Are Prefect Patrols

17th October 2014:
i really like ollie after this chapter! she's just so calm and nice and a good person. laura sucked before. now she really sucks. no laura.

Author's Response: Haha, Ollie probably wouldn't want to be described as nice, but she's definitely fundamentally a good person xx

 Report Review

Review #25, by Hedwig_Pie In Which There Is An Attempted Kidnapping

17th October 2014:
liked it. very well written portayal of laura exploiting al. poor al. laura sucks. great chapter

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Laura's a pretty complicated character but definitely pretty rubbish to Al. I'm glad you found it convincing :)

Emma xx


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>