Reading Reviews for Complicated
  
439 Reviews Found

Review #1, by lhod23 In Which Everyone Sleeps in the Hospital Wing

6th June 2016:
I cried reading this. So sad and so sweet. That last sentence just cuts right through the heart. I hope there's an update soon!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and taking the time to review! Two to go now xx

 Report Review

Review #2, by Fuzz In Which Everyone Sleeps in the Hospital Wing

5th June 2016:
Well, I admit that I've read this entire fic in one sitting and I'm just going to say that I appreciate the personalities that you've given each of the characters. I do like this chapter and the wrap around. Funny how things at Hogwarts always seem to go full-circle, isn't it? Looking forward to seeing what happens next.

Author's Response: I'm so glad you're enjoying it! Two chapters to go now xx

 Report Review

Review #3, by Margie In Which Everyone Sleeps in the Hospital Wing

5th June 2016:
Oh man my heart :( I really loved this - seeing how everyone reacted and seeing the Potter family accept Liv just like that - well clearly they have already accepted her it's just that she hadn't realised. Keep it up man, I can't believe this story is nearly finished!

Margie xx

Author's Response: Thank you! This was a quieter chapter but I'm really glad you liked it. Emma xx

 Report Review

Review #4, by Lobelia Saville-Baggins In Which Everyone Sleeps in the Hospital Wing

3rd June 2016:
I am so happy you updated!
But so sad about Al...
But so happy Liv decided to forgive him!
But so sad that none of them know if he will wake up...
argh...what are you doing to me??!


Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! So nearly finished now! I've really loved all your kind and thoughtful comments throughout xx

 Report Review

Review #5, by Kristina1990 In Which Everyone Sleeps in the Hospital Wing

1st June 2016:
Ah... Quidditch is bloody dangerous. Really, honestly, it's pretty mental. Who voluntarily gets a bludger tossed at them which can potentially crack a skull? That. Is. Crazy. But ok, that's beside the point. Hopefull, Al will wake up and everything will be peachy in the end.

There will be a lot of conversation when Al does wake up and I'm looking forward to some truth and honesty ;).

Great chapter!

Author's Response: Haha I know - I think severe Quidditch injuries are a bit overdone in fanfiction so was reluctant to do it...but then it's literally such a dangerous sport and Hogwarts just lets them go for it.

Thanks for reading and taking the time to review :)

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #6, by :) In Which Everyone Sleeps in the Hospital Wing

1st June 2016:
I love this!!! It's so well written and I need to know what happens next!

Author's Response: Thank you! So glad you're enjoying reading x

 Report Review

Review #7, by Dumbledore In Which Everyone Sleeps in the Hospital Wing

31st May 2016:
YEYY! I'm really glad you finally put up another chapter! This one was short but it was still very good.
I would have liked it more if it had more action but I liked all the interaction between Ollie and Albus' family.
It's almost ending, isn't it? That makes me sad. This will always be my favourite fanfiction ever.
Thank you for your amazing criativity and writing!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'd originally planned to have 31 chapters but I split this one in half because it was going to end up being far too long, so there should be two more coming. Nearly over but I'm planning a follow up about Lily that will feature some bits of Al and Liv xx

 Report Review

Review #8, by victoria_anne In Which Christmas is a Disaster

14th May 2016:
Hey E!

I'd been meaning to return to Nine Years, but I keep seeing this, and keep putting it off to finish other stories before starting a new one but argh I just couldn't resist!

You've got me laughing in front of my computer straight away. I already love Olivia. Just her thinking about the way her mother's brain works has me totally hooked! Olivia's rather cynical and somewhat negative when it comes to her family, yet she's not unlikeable. How u do dis?!

Ah, she's a Slytherin. Well, then ;)

I honestly love the relationship between Olivia and her mum, the way mum is so ladylike and proper and forcing it onto Olivia. I totally guessed she was Pansy! She still seems a little hung up on Malfoy, and I like that you brought the cursed necklace into it. That was tense!

Oh my goodness such drama! Even I feel overwhelmed! I can't wait until Olivia gets back into the normal swing of Hogwarts, ha ha, the Madhouse is too crazy!

I am so glad I finally caved and started reading this, I really love it so far. I haven't even met Scorpius or Cassie but I can already tell they're going to be brilliant and fleshed out, because you are a writing queen and everything you do is amazing.

I'll be back soon!

♥ B

Author's Response: B! Your reviews always make me smile so much.

I get a bit stressed when people review the early chapters of Complicated because it's my first story here and there are lots of things I'd change now, but I'm glad you liked it!

Olivia's definitely a cynic. She softens a little bit later on.

Thank you so much for such a lovely review xx


 Report Review

Review #9, by Anon In Which It's More Than Just Quidditch

12th May 2016:
This story is amazing!! I stayed up way too late last night reading it and now I'm dying to know what happened to Al.

Author's Response: Yay thank you so much for enjoying it and for taking the time to review - really glad to hear that you like it xx

 Report Review

Review #10, by anon In Which It's More Than Just Quidditch

9th May 2016:
I've never reviewed but today I decided to review your chapter because it's so fantastic!
I absolutely love your writing. Complicated is my favourite fanfic so far! Please update soon :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for such a lovely review! I'm so glad you're enjoying reading. Next chapter's up now :) xx

 Report Review

Review #11, by anon In Which It's More Than Just Quidditch

9th May 2016:
omg please update this I'm dying
this is my current favourite fanfic

Author's Response: Yay thank you! So glad you're enjoying it. Next chapter's up now xx

 Report Review

Review #12, by TumTum In Which It's More Than Just Quidditch

20th April 2016:
Hi Emma,

OMG! HOLY HELL that is quite the ending to a chapter - the bit where everything slowed down, the /dent/ in Al's skull. It's a really horrifying image. Oh gosh please don't kill him Emma!

Anyway - back to the rest of the chapter. Kudos to you, I really enjoyed the quidditch match overall - I felt like you kept the action going smoothly. Mixing up Oliviaís observations and Lucy Weasleyís commentary helped things seem choppier and fast-paced. Also, it was fun when things got going!

I really love the Slytherin team youíve built (except for those beaters omg) and I got such warm, fuzzy feelings from seeing them show their solidarity to Scorpius. Especially when Olivia walked out onto the pitch with him.

When the Gryffindors came out I thought it sounded like theyíd maybe had a row just before but I might have been reading too much into it - either way I felt so sorry for them.

ďYouíve made me crossĒ - ha Oliviaís ability to massively understate her feelings is funny but also very familiar. I do that too!

I love that Al stopped to encourage her when she was having what read a little like a panic attack - that he noticed, that he put reassuring her above his allegiance to his team even when she hadnít been talking to him for a while and that he was able to do it so gently and sweetly. It was just so Albus and such a good moment - when he touched her hair it was just so lovely!

Things had been going so happily for them before Cassie so it felt like a relationship with a lot of potential but it wasnít until that moment that it felt like they were in love or that they might be? The way she just sprang back into action. And he made her laugh!

I loved the back and forth between Olivia and Jason - the way they both seem at their best in the air and how good natured they both are about it. I couldn't help thinking about the first chapter when Jason was talking up his team and how proud he'd seemed of them. At the time it made him seem... I don't know just obsessed and without much table conversation but now it just makes me happy to read him doing what he loves - he and Olivia both. They've come so far :')

I think one of the reasons I enjoyed this chapter so much is that we get to see Olivia thriving in her element, doing something she loves with confidence. Itís also why I am dreading next chapter because I canít see her coping well at all. That and oh gosh poor Albus. Perhaps she will be pushed to realise how much she cares for him?

Whatever the case it's going to be messy. Will Cassie be involved too? In which case it will be even more messy!

I hope that at some point we get to see Olivia being confident and amazing again - doing well in potions, doing a really impressive work of art which she pushed herself hard to achieve, winning at quidditch. That would be cool.

I've still got to find you on the forums Emma! I do want to catch up too.

Margie xx

Author's Response: Writing Quidditch is so stressful - I'm hugely relieved that you enjoyed it.

Olivia's such an understater haha. I think it's because she's a Slytherin. Gryffindors would be much more melodramatic.

Albus is super lovely and reassuring. I would like one of him in my life. Thank you for liking them!

And I think I've said it to you before but writing Jason has become one of the things I like most about this story which was really unexpected as he didn't feature much in my early planning.

Thanks as always for such a kind and thoughtful review. Just (finally) managed to get the next chapter up xx


 Report Review

Review #13, by Kristina1990 In Which It's More Than Just Quidditch

19th April 2016:
This is an absolutely terrible way to end a chapter. You are such a mean person... :O I can't wait to find out what happens next!

So Cassie also finally made it out of her chosen exil. It must have been hard for her to take this step after all this time and as much as she deserved to be frozen out for a while, I hope Liv realises that this was a big step for Cassie nevertheless.

Great chapter!

Author's Response: Yay thank you for liking it! Sorry for the cruel ending.

Liv's a bit preoccupied at the moment so isn't really thinking about Cass, but they'll get their moment xx


 Report Review

Review #14, by Romana In Which It's More Than Just Quidditch

19th April 2016:
Oh I hope this will be a quick update, I don't think I can wait another month. :)

Author's Response: oops so six weeks is probably not what you wanted but next chapter is finally up xx

 Report Review

Review #15, by Lobelia Saville-Baggins In Which It's More Than Just Quidditch

18th April 2016:
AHHH NO NO NO NO NO!!!
Also...CASSIE NO. JUST NO, GIRL. NO.

Author's Response: I'm sorry! Next chapter's up :)

Thanks for reviewing xx


 Report Review

Review #16, by Only one can survive In Which It's More Than Just Quidditch

18th April 2016:
THAT IS WAY TO CRUEL HOW COULD YOU. GAH!!!

Author's Response: I'm sorry! Next chapter is up but it might not make it any better. xxx

 Report Review

Review #17, by LittleMissAutumn In Which It's More Than Just Quidditch

18th April 2016:
WHAT you can't end it there! D; What about Al?? Is he going to be okay?? This chapter made me smile a lot because I know Liv's beginning to be happy again (so we need to save Al!). Ok. Rant over. :)

Author's Response: I'm Sorry! But thank you for a lovely review :) xx

 Report Review

Review #18, by blackzero In Which It's More Than Just Quidditch

17th April 2016:
What a evil way to end the chapter on a cliffhanger. Please update soon.Thanks for such an awesome chapter

Author's Response: Haha I'm sorry! Next chapter's finally up xx

 Report Review

Review #19, by marauderfan In Which It's More Than Just Quidditch

17th April 2016:
Ahhh! lakjofjhasdjkfhk what a cliff hanger I can't believe you left it there O__O

That aside, and my panic about Al's well being, I really loved the rest of the chapter. I was kind of amused by Liv and Al's heart to heart in the middle of the game, but I loved that you included that, as it shows that Al really cares more about her than about Gryffindor's fate in the game. After all, it is just a game and that was an important thing for Liv to remember because she'd been really panicking with all the pressure before. I also really loved that you pointed out that the game had progressed while they'd been talking, because it's not like everything would stand still while they talk - instead both sides have made goals and I don't know, I just really loved that scene haha.

Poor Scorpius though - it' easy to see why the game means so much to him. I can't help but wonder if he's noticed Cass though. I love that he and Olivia switched brooms halfway through the game! Ahh! Sounds super dangerous and I'm glad it worked out. That's dedication.

Also loved the interactions between Olivia and Jason. They both seem like they're just in it for the fun and I adored Jason's enthusiasm at saving Olivia's goal haha, and how they encourage each other despite being on different sides. Okay, yeah, she said "Nice one, moron" but we all know by now that that's a term of endearment haha.

THE ENDING THOUGH ASKDJFKSJDLKA. I hope Al is okay!

Awesome chapter! Well done writing a quidditch match as well :D

Author's Response: So glad to hear you enjoyed it! I think Al's too nice to prioritise Quidditch over somebody he cares about, although he probably annoyed the rest of his team.

Jason has quickly become one of my favourite things about writing this story so I love it when people enjoy him :)

Lots of love xx


 Report Review

Review #20, by Violet Potter 434 In Which It's More Than Just Quidditch

17th April 2016:
OH MY FLIPPING GOSH!

WHAT THE HELL JUST HAPPENED?!?!?!

AHHH HHH HHH HHH !

I HAVE NO WORDS!


BLAAA AAA AAA!


please let him be okay
he'll be okay
you're a nice person
you won't hurt him TOO badly
will you?
no?
good
thanks

I'm sure he'll be happy to hear that

and those beaters had better be kicked off the team
I don't like them
(basically please kick them off...for me;) ?)

great chapter, you really brought the game to life for me, so amazing work

anyways got to go because I have the feeling I'm going to start not making sense again soon

please, please, please update quickly because I NEEED to know what happens!

from screamy me xx

Author's Response: Haha I'm sorry! Next chapter's (finally) up though!

I'm glad you enjoyed the game. I find Quidditch scenes difficult to write so it's always reassuring when people like them.

Lots of love xx


 Report Review

Review #21, by Scose In Which It's More Than Just Quidditch

17th April 2016:
What? Omg. I cant believe that happened. Really? A cliffhanger?
:O
Update soon or i think ill die of worry for Al :(

Author's Response: I'm sorry I'm sorry! And then I took such along time to update.but next chapter's here now! x

 Report Review

Review #22, by Giý9 In Which It's More Than Just Quidditch

17th April 2016:
This match killed me. It was so intense and not at all boring. I am not a big fan of reading quidditch matches...(I know, I'm terrible, but I find them boring, sorry). I think it's difficult to write and to mix the character's pov with the commentary, but you did a great job ;)

Poor Al, I hope he's alright. I'm glad they finally talked, although just for a bit. Bu WHY did Cassie turn up at the match???

I was wondering how many chapters there are left...(I DON'T WANT THIS TO END, I LOVE THIS STORY TOO MUCH)

Author's Response: My original plan was to have 31 chapters in total, but it's looking like it'll end up being 32. Very nearly there though!

Thanks for such a lovely review xx


 Report Review

Review #23, by BlueElephant In Which Stories are Told

12th April 2016:
Really really loved this chapter! I wasn't sure what was going to happen after the previous one, but I love how Liv and Scorpius are thinking about themselves instead. It was so sweet of everyone to help Liv out with her school work. Also having Lily be the one to explain the situation to Liv was a great move, I felt like I forgave Al too! Can't wait for the next one, hopefully with some more Al in it :)

Author's Response: Thank you! So glad you enjoyed it x

 Report Review

Review #24, by Crescent Moon  In Which Stories are Told

12th April 2016:
I loved this chapter.
Cassie is just vile. I'm so glad they're deciding not to reply to those letters and very happy that they're deciding to make fun of them instead. Although I doubt they're not completely rid of her yet. But it's really nice to see Scor more back to himself in this chapter.
I loved that she's putting all her anger into her school work to forget about everything. And Slughorn! Personally I've never liked him in the books so am pleasantly surprised how you've made him true to canon but at the same time likeable which is really great.
Loving baby Potter. And how she currently seems to be the least messed up of the Potter siblings. And her reasoning, how she(/you) were able to give both sides and make Al's more understandable. Hopefully this'll mean Ollie might think of talking it through with him soon. I need them to get together again, because well... shipping...
But back to Lily, I was creeping on your reviews and saw that you've got some ideas for a Lily fic and I really like that idea. I can't wait to see where you'd take it if you decide to go with it.
And Amethyst's story is just so heartbreaking and I hope it'll help Ollie to see more of the other side and possibly even a new friendship?!
Anyway, as always I can't wait to read what happens next and your writing's brilliant as usual.

Author's Response: Cassie's so awful I sometimes think I've overdone it a little bit. But she's not quite done in this story yet so maybe she'll redeem herself a little bit at the end haha.

I really don't like it when stories about teenagers act as if they don't have school work and commitments to fit in around all their drama, and then realised I was completely guilty of that. This is my attempt to fix it and get Olivia to sort herself out a little bit.

Thank you for liking Lily! Lily fic is very much in the works so look out for it :)

Thanks, as always, for such a thoughtful and kind review xx


 Report Review

Review #25, by Margie In Which Stories are Told

12th April 2016:
Hi Emma,

Oh gosh brace yourself for a massive splurge of ideas. I don't have enough time to refine this at all so I hope it all makes sense. I'm really happy that I could help! It's a relief seeing Olivia be able to have something simple to concentrate on like studying (ha) but seriously it's good that she has the work to distract her. I am curious to see what she wants to do in her future (I am so invested in this character oh goodness).

Questions and Thoughts about Cassieís Letter

Iím curious is she writing to Scor too? Has she officially told him or does she expect that Ollie will have had to tell him? Without even acknowledging it in a letter to Ollie?

I can see why the letter made them both angry. She doesnít really acknowledge what she did to them at all and I agree with Scorpius that she comes across as self-involved. She chooses a lighthearted tone as well which really doesnít help (itís like she doesnít know how to talk to them anymoreÖ).

Then thereís the little part about being glad to have James because he understands. The implication is that Olivia and Scorpius wouldnít have understood? I donít know but it would make me jealous and sad because it doesnít say anything good about their old relationship and how little they understood Cassie? Or she understood them? Just - ouch.

But it also seems like she is still really skirting around the issue of what happened and especially her part in itÖ I donít know but I can see that Olivia is too angry to air out some of the thoughts that she has about the whole situation. Like that the picture that Cassie has of the three of them was in that mostly bare cottage - a detail Olivia noticed and even recounted to Scorpius. Or how vulnerable Cassie had come acrossÖ even if it really doesnít show in the letter.

All that said, I am struck by how young Cassie is by how badly she is dealing with all of this and I am interested to see she gets on as a mother? Also it seems like Scorpius really isn't willing to admit that she's in a difficult position.

Lily Potter

I like her a lot already and I laughed when Olivia thought she was scary. I also fell in love with all of the Potters a little during her story - all loving each other and protecting each other fiercely. It sounds about right. I love the idea of her and Olivia flying together next year and maybe becoming friends (and teaming up against Al ha).

Amethyst Twine

I am so happy that she finally gets to speak to Olivia! Iíve felt so bad about her all alone and not speaking to anyone but at the same time I completely understand why Olivia laughed at her rather than reaching out. Itís a very ugly, human thing to do and I did it at school - not in a malicious way but in an uncaring way. I donít know, itís something about those who are ostracised that makes most of us stop thinking of them like people. Look at the way we interact with homeless people.

Anyway! I was right about her being gay ha (not with Cassie though) but itís such sad circumstances :í( I hope that some one gets to know her better - in what ways is she a Slytherin? What does she like to do? Iíd like to see her have a future at Hogwarts. I was a little surprised that Olivia reached out the way she did but pleased - maybe this whole thing has made her more compassionate or maybe she was always this way.

I also think that you made some interesting points about forgiveness and holding onto anger before itís too late but itís thrown foreboding over the whole thing, like - what on earth is going to happen??

Iím not sure how I feel about them forgiving CassieÖ But forgiving isnít the same as going back to how things were while pretending nothing happened. I do think that if Cassie comes back to Hogwarts now sheís going to get a lot of nonsense that nobody deserves and Iíd be surprised if Olivia didnít at least feel like she should do something to help out.

Also! I love that Rose got so excited about study plans and really appreciated how bubbly and enthusiastic she is (itís a good personality type for Olivia and Scorpius to be around).

Thank you for this chapter! I have even more thoughts but this is long enough as it is. I'll chat to you on the forums soon - I haven't signed in in a long time!

Margie xx

Author's Response: Margie! I've taken such an unacceptably long time to respond to my reviews again. Very sorry about that because your comments always make me smile so much.

I'm really glad you like Lily. I'm starting to work on a novel-length fic centred around Lily's sixth year and am enjoying her and her relationship with Olivia a lot. They'll definitely end up friends :)

I've had Amethyst's story in mind since the beginning but I'm worried that I haven't really done her justice. It's definitely easier for Olivia to laugh at her than try to figure out what's really going on. I think talking to Amethyst and Laura about their different experiences is helping Olivia start to question some of her assumptions about people.

Lots of love xx


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>