Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Seek and Chase
  
55 Reviews Found

Review #1, by AbraxanUnicorn The Disadvantages of Being a Prefect (Lily)

16th March 2017:
Oh dear, Lily. Stoddard Lestrange does not sound like the sort of person you'd want to be on the opposite side of. I loved your explanation of the Bat Bogey Hex and the duelling scene was brilliant!

Poor Jacob getting stuck in the trick stair - but I thought it was kind of mean of Lily not to warn him about it, although I guess if she thought he'd been at Hogwarts for four years already, he'd know. Hmm. I still don't know what's going on with that.

Then Stoddard strikes again with a portable swamp during Prefect rounds. There seems to be something fishy about the easy way Stoddard duped Jacob to leave him lying on the floor; I'm not sure I completely believe Jacob's version of events there.

Another great chapter. When I have more time, I'll return to review more chapters. Until then, best of Nargles luck!

Brax X

 Report Review

Review #2, by AbraxanUnicorn Arithmancy (Jacob)

16th March 2017:
Ooh, I love the CI for this!

So, second chapter, and there's a change of narrator - Jacob Walker. It transpires from Jacob's internal dialogue that he did in fact study in Canada, so I'm not sure why Sagitta thought Jacob was at Hogwarts in all Lily's classes (except Herbology)? Hmm. Still a bit strange.

I love the part where they are using their names to predict their careers. I always wondered what arithmancy was all about, and now I know :)

And Jacob - will he be a sitter for the Gryffindor Seeker position, or will there be much rivalry? I look forward to finding out.

I'm with Jacob on book size - 1500 pages makes it a monster tome!

I liked the interaction between Lily and Jacob in this chapter :) This one was another fun read and I'm going to head straight to the next chapter...

Brax X

 Report Review

Review #3, by AbraxanUnicorn Return to Hogwarts (Lily)

16th March 2017:
Hello! I'm here to do a spot of HPFT Nargles reviewing for the Wittiest Ravenclaw story category.

I can see straight away why this story got nominated; it oozes wit and humour from the first few sentences. I'm still giggling to myself about the "writing home" part within the first few lines and thinking how typical that is of most teenagers to not bother unless they needed something. Anyway...

I love Lily's character and her internal monologue in this, which is funny without being overdone. I'm interested in what's going on with Jacob Walker though - who is he? Was he in Canada for four years, or has he been at Hogwarts all along? Hm. That part was a bit confusing, I admit, but it sounds as though Lily also found it strange, so I'm guessing it will be explained later on?

I loved the bit where no-one else got the password and they were all stood outside Gryffindor tower, unable to get through the portrait-hole. Ha!

This was a very fun, readable first chapter. I will try and review as many chapters of your story as possible, but I have so many stories that I have yet to look at, and so little time to read them all in...

Brax X

 Report Review

Review #4, by SilverMoonFairy Quidditch Tryouts (Jacob)

11th March 2017:
*salute*

Kicked a first year out of the chair? What a crappy dude. That's pretty mean. (I'm secretly cackling, don't tell Walker.)

I'm glad he addressed his own shortcomings of not thinking about how everyone plays quidditch. (Seriously, it's like the only wizard sport...) That way Lily doesn't have to make fun of him too much. (I would totally laugh in his face.) Lily is a nicer person than I am. (I think.)

I like the whole tryouts thing. I actually have my own tryouts scene to write here soon and I'm dreading it, but you have pulled it off pretty well. Too bad it got rained out. I would actually laugh if Jacob didn't get the Seeker position. "What? But I was the only one!!!" - "Sorry, dude, the Beater was better than you." - "He didn't even go after the freaking ball!"

Hahaha, maybe in a crack fic.

I wonder what he's going to dream about. Probably the T he's going to get on his unfinished Potions essay. That'll ruin his GPA.

I will hopefully be back later to finish the other... 23 chapters after the Nargles are done. (I must understand the ENIGMA. I thought the dual POV would help, BUT IT DOES NOT.) Until then, adding to my favorites list so I can find it again!

-Liz

 Report Review

Review #5, by SilverMoonFairy The Disadvantages of Being a Prefect (Lily)

11th March 2017:
*salute*

I feel like the tone of the story has changed. In a good way. A lot of the set up is out of the way and the focus is more on what's going on, which I like. This chapter was pretty engaging with the dueling and the revenge prank. Bat Bogey Hex gets 'em every time.

I also particularly like that they had to patrol the dungeons. It makes sense to me. If a Prefect is patrolling their own territory, they're more likely to be lenient on students from their house that they catch. (Unless your name is Percy. Percy was a special case.)

Okay, one more chapter and then I'm moving on to other categories. Goodness, I take too long to read. I always stop in the middle to get s snack or a drink and I get distracted and wander away like an unsupervised toddler...

-Liz

 Report Review

Review #6, by SilverMoonFairy Arithmancy (Jacob)

11th March 2017:
*salute*

I want to take Arithmancy as a 5th year. Apparently homework is easy! (Or it would be for me. I'm pretty good at math. And only a paragraph? 5 minutes, done, eat my dust, Walker!)

I'm a little concerned that he wouldn't know quidditch was a thing in England. I mean... The Quidditch WORLD cup, right? Did McG forget to put in his acceptance letter that he was allowed a broom because he's not a first year? And they made him Prefect? Really? WHO IS THIS ENIGMA?! Does he have secret manipulative powers over the staff like, "Hey, I just got here and my scores are AWESOME, gimme that badge..."

Good on Lily for scolding him. He's a prefect, he should be aware of the common room announcements. This guy is going to have to step up his game if he's going to be a Gryffindor! (Or work with Lily.) (I still have so many questions. Like the biggest burning question, why has he always been here but never been here?!?!?!?! Freaking enigmas... Making me read the next chapter and such... XD)

-Liz

 Report Review

Review #7, by SilverMoonFairy Return to Hogwarts (Lily)

10th March 2017:
*salute*

Hello, hello, Liz here with some gnarly Nargle reviews.

So, I'm not really sure what my first reaction is. It's certainly amusing already, but I'm so confused about this Jacob Walker. How is he simultaneously from Canada but also having been at Hogwarts all this time? Does he have a timeturner? A doppleganger? A twin separated at birth with the same name? The ability to apparate on school grounds without a license? Is he just a liar? WHAT IS THIS?!

I like that Lily is a Ravenclaw. It took me a long time to ever break away from writing Ravenclaw students. They are my favorite.

I'm hoping to read a couple more chapters, but I think 27 might be a few too many for me for the duration of the reviewing event, haha.

-Liz

 Report Review

Review #8, by maraudertimes Arithmancy (Jacob)

18th September 2016:
Hi!

Okay, I really like this chapter because it kind of gives more backstory to Jacob than anything else. It doesn't really further the plot, more so just capitalizes on him as a character. The fact that he keeps reassuring the reader that he's not a nerd, or that he only does assignments to get them out of the way, and his grades, really emphasizes that although he likes Quidditch, he really is a smart guy. Sort of a undercover-nerd trying to reassure everyone he really is a jock!

Also, his little quips with Lily - even though he told his parents they aren't dating or anything - kind of gives me the impression that oooh, someone likes their co-prefect! I think that their interactions are going to get a lot cuter, but for now I think they're tiny little babies, super cute friends who may or may not be developing slight crushes, and that's still adorable!

I think the one thing to watch out for is that Jacob's only fault is that he's a bit lazy, and even then he just really doesn't like to wake up early. He seems exceptionally smart and great at Quidditch, but there's nothing really 'wrong' about him. Oh, and when Lily went up to drop off her book, there's no mention of her coming back.

Other than that, I really enjoyed this chapter and I'm super excited to keep reading! I just love Quidditch stories, and you write it beautifully!
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by redheadedpotter Ordinary Wizarding Levels (Lily)

6th August 2016:
Such a great fanfic! Please write more Lily/Jacob because they're such a great couple and you are such a fantastic writer!

 Report Review

Review #10, by :) The Quidditch Cup (Jacob)

4th August 2016:
THIS IS SO GOOODDD!! I love this fanfic!! Please keep writing this!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Veritaserum27 All Over (Lily)

3rd January 2016:
Hi there Olivia!

I'm here for the BvB and I hope it's okay with you that I picked this story, instead of Binary System, to review. I'm just so caught up in these characters, that I wanted to keep going with this.

This chapter was really sweet! -And totally what these characters needed right now. They've had such a rocky road for the past few months and it was so nice to see the pace slow down a bit. I love that you've kept them in character - there is no way Lily is going to want a Madame Puddifoots type of Valentine's Day. I really adore how these two are so mature in their relationship. There still seems to be regular teenage stuff going on around them, but Jacob and Lily really understand each other and care about each other. In a sense, they are still figuring things out, and I like that it's not moving too fast, either.

But I must confess, I don't really believe that Alexandra is dead. It just seems too nice and neat. I think the guards transporting her were in on it and they helped fake her death, so she could escape. You're going to drop a huge bomb on us next chapter, aren't you?

I also love the brother/sister relationship with Albus and Lily. They are comfortable with themselves and each other, but not in a way I've ever seen them written. Usually, it's something like "no one understands Albus because he's too moody," or "they're the absolute best of friends and would die for each other." This is really refreshing - and fits so well with your story.

So... when's the next chapter coming out, hmmm? I gotta know what happens next!

♥ Beth

 Report Review

Review #12, by navyfail Return to Hogwarts (Lily)

22nd December 2015:
Hello, here to spread some holiday cheer!

First off, I really like how your characterization of Lily is a little different than what I've read from others. Instead of being flirty and very social, you made her more the exact opposite. And I would have never guessed that she would have liked reading!

Jacob Walker seems interesting. Right when he said "no, I got you" I immediately thought American. That's something we would say haha. But he's Canadian so pretty close. Also he wasn't at Hogwarts last year, so how does Sagitta already know him?

I'm surprised Lily isn't more bothered about the fact that her brother turned her hair brown. Is it permanent or temporary? Also, I wasn't sure if her hair changed color this summer or way before. Sorry, maybe I missed a detail.

I do wonder where the other prefect was. Guiding the first years alone sounds difficult and if it was me I would be pretty mad that I had to do it alone. Maybe there is no other prefect this year?

The nightmare was interesting. It actually makes me wonder who Jacob is as a person (I'm getting a little suspicious now, maybe it was the hand moving up her leg) and how strong Lily's feelings for him are going to get.

Anyway, great start to a story! I feel like I know Lily well already and the dream definitely makes me more curious. Thanks for the lovely read and happy holidays!

~Sama

 Report Review

Review #13, by Veritaserum27 Interlude the Second

11th August 2015:
Hiya Olivia,

I'm here for the final posted chapter of Seek and Chase (as least thus far) to leave a review for the BvB review fest from the common room.

I love the fact that you've put interludes into this story. It does a nice job of breaking up the different sections of the novel. And this is definitely a change up - as the two main characters are now a couple, we can move on to the next phase in their romance AND there is clearly a new section starting up with the mystery part of the story as well.

Woah. I did not see that coming. Alexandra is DEAD?!

Wait - but they didn't find her body and she had a wand. Maybe she was stunned and fell and then caught herself with a charm right before she hit the ground? I'm not sure, but she seems like the kind of villain that would be pretty hard to kill - hee hee.

But what a great twist to the story. Gosh, I hope that other auror is alright as well - it doesn't look good for him.

Please update soon!

♥ Beth

 Report Review

Review #14, by Veritaserum27 Common Knowledge (Jacob)

11th August 2015:
Hello Olivia,

I'm here to read and review all of the posted chapters of Seek and Chase as part of the BvB Review fest!

Oh, boy - this chapter did not disappoint! YES! FINALLY - they are together - I'm so happy right now! And the way it happened was so cute.

What I love, and I mean really love about your writing is the element of realism you weave into your characters and their story lines. Jacob and Lily are completely down-to-earth teenagers. They have really common problems that most teenagers have, and they react appropriately (and believably) to those issues. Lily isn't overly dramatic and Jacob isn't a super-macho hero - but at the same time, they are completely lovable. Oh, and there is the fact that and ultra-evil witch from their parents' past is hunting them down... yeah... there's always that - haha!

I really like Jacob's story about Canada (I mean the story was sad, but I like that you included it in the story). Again, you've made him such a believable teenager. Stuff like that happens every day and the fact that Jacob was willing to share this completely humiliating story with Lily tells so much about how much he respects and cares for her and their relationship. He doesn't want any secrets between them. Lily recognizes the reason he's been reluctant to make a serious move is because of this and she is so sweet. Gah - the feels!

I also like how the pair handles the party. Not every teenager thinks it's an awesome idea to get completely drunk at every opportunity. This doesn't make Jacob or Lily weird - and they still go to the party, but they leave on their own terms. Great job.

On to the next chapter!

♥ Beth

 Report Review

Review #15, by Veritaserum27 The Attack at the Ministry (Lily)

11th August 2015:
Hello Olivia!

I'm here to read some more of this awesome story -and it's going to be for the new BvB review fest this time - woot!

Wow - this chapter was quite action packed - you did a great job with the battle scenes, both with conveying Lily's reaction to things and getting the curse and counter curses just right. It's tricky to write that kind of action - especially when there are so many characters involved.

I just knew that Lily wasn't going to go home - there was no way she would be leaving the ministry when Alexandra was there. I was so worried when they were in the broom closet, because there is no escape, but I guess it turned out alright. Lily is an awesome character - I love that she isn't afraid of anything and is ready to fight for what's right. Just like you said, like father, like daughter.

I did catch a few typos in this chapter. There was one here:

Jet of light whizzed around our heads, green and red both, from people fighting.

I think it should be "Jets of light..."

and here:

Now, you two need to leave with everyone else and fight somewhere safe to go.

This is when Harry is giving orders to Lily - I think you meant to say "find somewhere safe to go..."

there was also this one:

It was something Alexandra told Jacob before we knocked her out. She said that she was actually his uncle and she wasn't adopted.

Alexandra would be Jacob's aunt not his uncle. Unless that wasn't a mistake and you just gave us another clue?!

And Alexandra is REALLY his aunt - not adopted. That's interesting... and I'm wondering if his parents are keeping anything else from him.

I guess I'll just have to keep reading to find out!

♥ Beth

 Report Review

Review #16, by madness The Attack at the Ministry (Lily)

30th June 2015:
Loving it, as usual :)

Author's Response: Glad you loved it :)

~Olivia


 Report Review

Review #17, by Veritaserum27 New Year's (Jacob)

11th June 2015:
Hi there, Olivia!

Ravenclaw - House Cup 2015 Review

WHAT?! How could you do this to me? I saw your A/N that updates would be coming sooner and I HOPE SO! I need to know if Lily and Jacob are okay! I knew something was going to happen. And what is going on with Jacob's house? Why didn't his parents just come clean with him about it? I don't think he wouldn't taken it too badly - other than the fact that his Mom was nearly a part of that attack. This story is getting so good and I'm just worried about what is going to happen next. Again - great job with the interaction between these two awesome characters. I was so excited that they finally kissed - and then you left us with that cliffhanger. Gah!

♥ Beth

 Report Review

Review #18, by Tonks1247 Arithmancy (Jacob)

11th June 2015:
Back for another chapter! And I will admit, it took me re-reading the first couple of paragraphs before I realized the POV switched. I know it had Jacob’s name in the title, but I’m apparently unobservant today…

Anyways. This chapter was just as good as the last! I love that there is an opportunity to learn more about Jacob’s character by having chapters done in his POV! He doesn’t seem quite so fishy as he did in the previous chapter, although many of the same questions still exist….

His character is quite fascinating. I enjoy reading how he and Lily interact, and how he’s determined they are nothing more than friends because they haven’t known each other long. Also love how he tells Lily she’s done her equation wrong just as she tells him his is wrong. It’s an interesting dynamic and I like how Lily goes off about how she can be athletic and smart.

Their interest in Quidditch does give me a moment to feel ridiculous. Because the story is called Seek and Chase and ones a Seeker while the other is a Chaser and I’m feeling a bit slow. I caught on.

Anyways. On topic. This was another great chapter! Can’t wait to get in further and see how this whole thing develops! So far so good!

--Mikaela
-Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015-

 Report Review

Review #19, by Veritaserum27 Christmas Cheer Should Be Near (Lily)

11th June 2015:
Hey there, Olivia!

Ravenclaw - House Cup 2015 Review

Aww, cute scene on the train! I want MORE Lily/Jacob (and I refuse to call them Lacob), but haha at your ship discussion last chapter :) Your story does a fantastic job moving this couple at a realistic pace. They aren't throwing themselves at each other in the second chapter and the way you've made both of them very deliberate in their interactions, convinces the reader that they both really care about each other. It just makes me want them to be together MORE!! Yay! The Potters live at Number Twelve, Grimmauld Place. I love it. And I really love the parallels between your story and OotP, where Harry and his crew used extendable ears to hear what was really going on as well. Lily is right - there is definitely more going on than the adults are letting on. I've gotta know more!

♥ Beth

 Report Review

Review #20, by Veritaserum27 A Useless Feeling (Jacob)

11th June 2015:
Hi there Olivia!

Ravenclaw - House Cup 2015 Review here!

The Prefect's Bathroom scene was really sweet and cute. I thought you handled it well. Lily is not the kind of person who can openly discuss her feelings with others, but I really enjoy reading the dynamic you have between her and Jacob. He does an amazing job of picking up on her emotions, and simply "being there" for her. She seems to be able to calm herself down just by being near him. I think he wants to do a bit more than that, but, typical teenage boy, he's playing it safe for the time being. And hmmm... is this a bit of foreshadowing? I'm wondering if this crew is going to heed the warnings of their professors and stay away from an "active" role, or if they are gonna take matters into their own hands. I guess I'll have to read the next chapter to find out!

♥ Beth

 Report Review

Review #21, by Veritaserum27 There at St Mungo's (Lily)

11th June 2015:
Hi there Olivia!

Ravenclaw House Cup 2015

I'm so excited I get to use the House Cup as an excuse to finish up this awesome story! What?! How did Jacob know something was going to happen? I really don't want to be suspicious of him, but I feel like Lily might be a little worried about it as well. I thought you did a good job of describing her feelings throughout this chapter. She was so, so worried for James (me too!) and then when she saw he was alright, but the damage might ruin his hopes of being a Quidditch referee - she knew she had to get out of there. I also liked that you made her panic a little when confronted by Alexandra. Good point - that Lily is a really young witch and not nearly as skilled as an adult. Also, as she pointed out, her life has been fairly well protected. Harry and his crew were sort of forced into learning to fight at a young age. But the next-gen kids don't have that sort of experience. I'm also worried that more is going on - and that maybe Jacob or his family haven't revealed the whole truth to anyone. How could Alexandra look like Jacob if she were adopted? That's a stumper. Off to the next chapter!

♥ Beth

 Report Review

Review #22, by Tonks1247 Return to Hogwarts (Lily)

11th June 2015:
Hey!

I’ve been around the forums for a while (now that school doesn’t own me for a couple months…) and I have heard a lot of good things about this story. I figured why not give it a shot, with having reviews to write and such?

I really enjoyed this first chapter! I feel you did an excellent job at introducing Lily’s character and she is honestly a lot different than what I envisioned in my head. I think it’s great though, because the image you painted of her was definitely something I could see as well. You included a lot of little details—like that potion and her hair—that really helped develop her character and gave me a sense of knowing.

You also introduced her character in relation to others, which was great as well! Sagitta is definitely someone who I can understand entirely.

“After that, she followed me around for a week apologizing and I eventually got sick of it, so of course then we became friends.”

I laugh at the fact that something went wrong and then they became friends because Sagitta wouldn’t leave her alone. It may be related to the fact that my best friend of 12 years is someone who I was NOT fond of when we first met and she continually followed me and bothered me until we became friends and now here we are, still putting up with each other…

I am also quite interested in learning more about Jacob Walker. Weird that Sagitta talks like he’s been there for years with him when he was actually in Canada. Really want to know what’s going on with that whole situation there. Makes me wonder where that’ll lead and how Sagitta knows Jacob and overall what’s to come? Obviously something if Lily is dreaming about him….

There was one thing I noticed:

“Whenever I was surprised, like I just was, I tended to turn into this I watched as he easily hefted the trunk down the stairs.” I think this is two sentences that didn’t quite get separated? I think only a period is needed after this, but then again, I’m not sure. Something to look at.

This was a really interesting chapter and cannot wait to continue on and read some more!

--Mikaela
-Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015-

 Report Review

Review #23, by Veritaserum27 A Sudden Shock (Jacob)

3rd June 2015:
Olivia!

Hello! I'm here for the BvB.

WHAT ARE YOU DOING TO ME?! I canNOT with this chapter. I'm just... I can't... I did NOT SEE THAT COMING!

Okay, okay... I'm calm - sort of. I can do this.

So the beginning was really intense and I was sorta confused as to where they were and how they got there and then I thought finally! He's gonna go through with this and then Alexandra showed up and Jacob was trying to fight and protect Lily and then it was a dream!!

And I really like how Lily and Jacob can pick up on each others' emotions. It shows a deeper understanding and a much closer relationship - even closer than they both realize. Lily picked up on this immediately and she eased his stress with her warm smile.

The talk with Declan was good. Jacob needed to have someone else point out the fact that he and Lily are obviously into each other. And I really like Declan's character. No crap - just lays it all out there.

And then we're back to the sweet awkwardness between them. And I'm SO, SO, SO happy you let him actually get to asking her out before you dropped that bomb on us.

No, no, NO! Not James. Ugh! I think this might really shake Lily up. Even though she is pretty tough, I'm worried that an attack on her family will affect her more deeply.

Awesome chapter!

♥ Beth

 Report Review

Review #24, by Claire Evergreen Return to Hogwarts (Lily)

3rd May 2015:
Hey! Here for the BvB Battle.

For as much Next Gen as I've read, I can honestly say that I've only ever read maybe one or two other fics with Lily as a main character, so I'm really excited for this!

I never really thought about Lily much until I started writing a fic with her, but I really love your characterization of her. She comes across as a real person and not just a collection of similar traits. The crossover between Quidditch and academics with her is perfect. I know that the two aren't mutually exclusive, but they tend to be in fics, so to see Lily excel in both is wonderful. Her complete indifference to prefect duties is also really interesting, so I'm definitely interested in the reason she received the badge and not someone else.

Normally, I'm a stickler for canon, but I'm really excited to get to know the other Malfoy children that you've mentioned here. Sagitta sounds really interesting and from what we've seen, she compliments Lily really well. I really like Amanda as well, but that may just be because I'm partial to anyone related to Lee :P

Jacob definitely is the most interesting character here, though. I'm intrigued as to why Sagitta would say that he's been in classes with them for the past four years when he hasn't, as well as what is going to happen between him and Lily (because come on, we all know that it's going to happen at one point or another...she says hopefully). I can definitely relate to Lily here, but if he's as attractive and nice as he seems, I would not blame her one bit for hooking up with him.

This is absolutely fantastic! I'm definitely stopping by for more when I have time.

-Claire

 Report Review

Review #25, by Veritaserum27 The Guessing Game (Lily)

2nd May 2015:
Hi Olivia!

I'm here for the BvB!

I love this story so much and I realized that I read this chapter, but never reviewed it! Oops - so sorry! I smile all the time when I'm reading this. I just love the voice you've given to Lily :)

Parvati Bones - LOVE it. You are a genius. With just one simple name, you've given me sooo much to think about! Did Parvati marry Susan? One of her siblings? And of course Parvati would find it infinitely interesting to write a story about Aurors - and of course she wouldn't feel the need to get her facts straight - heehee! I'm going to beg you to write Parvati's story now...

No - no - NO! I thought that at least one of them would've summoned up the courage to say they liked each other! Geez - let's get a move on, people!

Corvus Malfoy? I'm interested...

Really cute scene with the girl talk. You wrote it so well - just like the rest of this story. And yay! The girls know who she likes. Although I'm wondering if this could be trouble for Lily - she seems to trust them.

I'll be back for more.

Great chapter!

♥ Beth

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>