Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Forbidden Wanderings
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Lostmyheart A Surprising Encounter

18th February 2016:
Hi Nix!

I'm here for the Slytherin Review Tag thread. I can't believe I haven't read this before! It's just my kind of story, involving Draco of course, but that he isn't that evil boy he seems to be.
This is exactly how I've imagined him to be, a boy who is being forced to be the way he is in the books, hating mudbloods and Harry. Instead he's this more thoughtful character who wants more to his life than hating.

You wrote this so wonderfully well, and I love his thoughts about the Thestral! Even comparing himself to the creature. And I laughed at the comment about the bloody Hippogriffs! Haha :D So nice!

I really enjoyed this short story of yours!

- Avi

Author's Response: Hi Avi! So glad someone finally revived the Slytherin Review Tag! I do love Draco and I really enjoyed the idea of this story but I still don't think it's as great as it could have been. But I'm so glad you enjoyed reading it and believed he was realistic. Thank you so much for this lovely review!

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #2, by Nix's Secret Snowflake A Surprising Encounter

17th December 2015:
Hello!

Well this is just lovely!

I am so happy to have the chance to read Draco in a good light, interacting with a creature that is, in many ways, just like himself... completely misunderstood.

You explained Draco and his position very well! It is sad to think that someone at such a young age could think that killing and torturing could be fun or good. It paints an awful picture of the upbringing he had and of his parents.

I am just so in awe at how well you were able to develop his character in such a short time frame. You have a great handle on your character and the story line all the way through and it made this so enjoyable to read!

Wonderful Writing!

-Your Secret Snowflake

Author's Response: Hello again! I love Draco and the thestral! Even though I don't think this is my best writing, I adore the idea that it could have happened.

Draco is such a tragic character in HBP and DH. All the bravada is gone and he finally realized what it's like to be a Death Eater and that it's not all it's cracked up to be. I think it's likely that growing up with Lucius for a father that Draco though being a Death Eater would be more glamorous and fun than the reality. But Draco has always been a character that comes pretty easily to me and I think that's why I'm able to develop him so quickly.

Thanks so much for this wonderful review though, I am so happy you enjoyed the one-shot!

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #3, by adluvshp A Surprising Encounter

23rd September 2015:
Hey Nix! Here for the Slytherin Hot Seat Review =)

I really liked this! I think it's very interesting what you did here - comparing Draco to a thestral. The way you expressed how much Draco had changed, how tired he was of his life, and how much he disliked all the "evil", was very nicely done.

The descriptions were very good and I enjoyed reading it. The writing style was pretty straightforward which was fresh. It wasn't overly descriptive and it wasn't dull either. Good job there.

The plot concept itself is what I liked the most about this fic. And of course Draco's characterisation. It was a nice insight into his thoughts and could even be considered a missing moment of sorts.

For CC, I'd just say, the writing came across as slightly stunted at times so perhaps a proof-read could help you smooth out the flow? Make it read nicer so to say. I'm only saying this because I've read some of your other wiring and it's phenomenal so you can definitely improve this piece too, if you want to =)

Rest, it was a great little fic and I liked the read. Great idea, great writing, and super characterisation. I'm glad I got to stop by!

9/10
Cheers
AditiDraco95

Author's Response: Hi Angie! I'm so glad you liked this! And that you liked the comparison between Draco and the thestral. This was probably the first idea that came to mind when we got the prompt for this challenge and I really enjoyed writing it.

I haven't actually read over this story in ages but now that it's been a couple years, maybe it's time I did. I totally understand what you mean by the writing being stunted, I don't know why but I really struggled with putting my ideas in to the right words for this, and it definitely shows.

Thank you so much for this lovely review, though! I really appreciate you taking the time to stop by!

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #4, by 800 words of heaven A Surprising Encounter

29th July 2015:
Just before I begin the review properly, I want to say something about this line: "Being a Death Eater was not all it was cracked up to be." No, duh, Draco!

Hey, hey, hey! I'm dropping by to shower some review love on my fellow Slytherins who participated in the HC 2k15! I visited your page, fully intending to read something newer, and then I came across this story and I was like "oh! This looks cool! Surely I must have read it already, though..." And then I clicked on it AND I HADN'T. This shocks me immensely because:
a) I don't pass up misunderstood Draco stories all that often
b) It's from the House Cup from last year, so by all rights, I should be more on top of things
c) THESTRALS. WHY WOULDN'T I HAVE READ A STORY ABOUT THESTRALS ALREADY.

But there you go. I hadn't. So here I am.

I really liked Draco in this! He walked the line between who he is for the first six books, an arrogant idiot who believes he's the best thanks to his pureblood status, and someone who realises he's not all that special and his sense of entitlement is complete and utter hocus pocus. He doesn't believe in Voldemort, hates the way he and his family are being pressured, and is kind of terrified of Bellatrix because he realises just how insane she is.

But he's still arrogant. He still thinks of himself as a hero. He wants this war to be over, so he can make it a better place. It feels as if his arrogance and privilege have found themselves a new outlet in righteous indignation. It was super interesting to read about him in this sort of "transition phase".

Thanks for the lovely read. I really enjoyed myself, if it was lost somewhere in my ramblings :)

Author's Response: Well, hi!

lol, yes, that line is kind of obvious but... well... it had to be said.

I'm so glad you liked Draco in this. I didn't notice much the transition phase but I also haven't really looked at this since the day I wrote it up and posted it... But yeah, I did want to show a changed Draco who still has some of his arrogant ways but has just been traumatized by all that he used to believe in and look up to.

Again, I'm so glad you liked it! And thank you for this lovely review!

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #5, by AdinaPuff A Surprising Encounter

27th July 2015:
Wow. If you keep writing such powerful stories, I just might start crying.

Honestly this hit me right in the feels. Draco has always been such a tragic character, so afraid and desperate. He wanted to be different, wanted to change, but didn't know how. He wasn't strong enough. And you captured that perfectly.

And comparing Draco to the thestral is something I've never done, but now I can't imagine not finding them so similar. You did such a good job at showing how they are the same. And having Draco love that animal just makes me want to cry even more. He does have a heart!

So many questions that fans have asked over the years were answered in your own fashion. How Draco really did change, especially after Dumbledore died. How he doesn't want to be him anymore. How he hates himself. How desperate and scared he was. You just did so good at covering the entirety of Draco in just one short one shot.

I loved this!

- Leigh xxx

Author's Response: Awww, don't cry!

This was not my favorite story, probably because it was so rushed and I thought I could have done better, but it does seem to get good reviews, even though it's been a while since I've gotten any. But I'm glad you liked it. Draco is a very tragic character in this, and it is a very sad and angsty one-shot.

Finding similarities between Draco and the thestral was probably the easiest thing for me. He was the first character I thought of when I wanted to write about thestrals and he worked out fantastically for that. And it was nice having Draco love at least one animal, after being very much not fond of most of the others we've seen him encounter with.

Draco is very sad and torn, and defeated in this one-shot and I'm glad that comes through. I've always thought he realized the wrongs of his ways in the end, and that's what I really wanted to portray here. I think he goes on to be quite different from the bratty child we meet in the first book.

Anyway, thank you so much for this lovely review and the other reviews! It was so great to read them! And thanks again for doing this swap with me!

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #6, by wolfgirl17 A Surprising Encounter

19th February 2015:
Hey Nix!

Ellie here for our review swap =)

This fic was really interesting and I must admit I enjoyed it immensely. I liked the way you really framed Draco's psychological state with this one, and while the bit about killing people was a little inaccurate (his failure to kill is his biggest redeeming feature and the reason he stays out of prison) it was still intriguing to read.

I like the way you drew the parallels between Draco and the Thestral. During the war it's very accurate likeness.

On a side note, I absolutely love your banner. It's so pretty. It's the reason I clicked this one. A pretty banner and a Draco story and I'm hooked every time.

Keep up the great work. I hope to read more from you soon.

xx-Ellie (wolfgirl)

Author's Response: Hi! I had to go back and reread this story before I could answer this because I haven't looked at this one in ages.

I'm really glad you liked it though. I know it's not perfect and it could have been better. Of course, Draco never kills in the HP universe as far as we know, so I did take this a bit far AU-wise, but I really just wanted to emphasize on his sorrow and grief. Maybe I should rewrite it though, since it's been so long since I wrote it, and the House Cup has been long over and done with. I don't know.

And thanks about the banner, even though I did not make it. It is very pretty. Thanks so much for the review, I hope you get to read more soon, too.

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #7, by Gabriella Hunter A Surprising Encounter

7th October 2014:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums with our swap, sorry that it took me a minute! I was really curious after reading this summary too so I thought I would stop by and see what was going on with your Draco. It's really interesting to read other interpretations of his character too, this was a lot of fun.

What I liked about this entire thing was that Draco was forced to realize and accept that he had made a bad choice in his life. The weight of being a Death Eater wasnt' anything like he had thought it would be and I really loved the conflicting emotions that you gave him. On one hand, it was something that he had always wanted but now that he's faced with the reality, he has to find out what kind of man he really needs to be.

I was really upset though to read that he had actually given in to killing people though but he DID redeem himself somewhat when he said that he hadnt' wanted to. I wonder though how long he's going to hold on to that? Hm...

The thestral came as a nice surprise too! I wasn't expecting it and for some reason, I thought he was going to have a moment with either Hagrid or Luna, I have no idea why. The Forbidden Forest seems like the sort of place where you go to think about the darker things and I'm glad that he actually bonded with such an unlikely friend.

The ending of this though had me wanting to read more and it would be great to know if he ever saw the thestral again. But this is just a one-shot so I'm merely hoping.hahahaha.

Well, I think that this was a really unique and original little one-shot! I enjoyed it and I hope to see you again! :D

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you for reading this story. Although it's not my favorite because I feel it is very rushed, but I do love writing and reading Draco.

This particular story takes place during his seventh year and it's finally hit him as to what's he's involved in, and as much as he wants to, he knows he can't get out of it. And that's what I really wanted people to get from this, that he's basically between a rock and a hard place.

Maybe I go too far, saying he's killed, and I don't know if he does or not in canon, but I think it's a possibility. But I think killing has affected him much more than he thought it would, he's grown up and he's starting to see the reality of what it means to take a life.

I do love the bit with the thestral. I can see why you may have been mislead, sadly there were not many pictures of thestrals so people are in the banner who are not in the story. I don't think Draco would have reacted well to meeting an actual person in the forest though. He turns to Myrtle in HBP, but that's different in my opinion since most people don't seem to like her or talk to her. But I think it'd be even easier for him to talk to an animal, like a thestral, who can't repeat what he tells them.

Haha, and I don't know if he ever sees the thestral again. He could, but he may not even know if it's the same one. But I enjoyed leaving such a sad story or a bit of a hopeful note.

Anyway, thank you so much for the lovely review! I'm sure you'll see me again soon as I have some reviews I've been meaning to leave for you.

Nix


 Report Review

Review #8, by StarlightAsteria A Surprising Encounter

12th August 2014:
Hi!

I think this is really well written. It's sad, but ends with hope, and I think the thestral is an interesting choice, that fits well with Draco's character. That moment when he sees himself in the creature was really touching, and I definitely think that what he says about outward appearances is true in both cases.

You do a good job of writing Draco's fall from his social status, and the remorse for the terrible things he's done is handled well. The only thing I would say is that the bit where he says that when he was younger he'd thought it would be fun, I found slightly jarring. I do think that when he was younger, Draco would have wanted to join the Death Eaters because he saw the power and influence it gave his father, but that's just my opinion :)

I really like your writing, and I'm definitely going to read your other stuff :)

Celi :)

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks! I wrote this up pretty quickly so I'm glad you think it's well written. It is sad, but I do try to make it hopeful at the end. I enjoyed writing the bit with the thestral, or at least it came pretty easily to me. I tried very hard to keep Draco in character and still show his softer side. Maybe I went too far saying he thought being a Death Eater would be fun, but basically I meant that he didn't sign up for torturing and killing innocent people. But Draco was quite a little prick as a kid/teenager, so maybe he did think it'd be fun to torture his enemies a bit, but as an adult with his own life on the line as well, he suddenly realized the cruel reality of it all.

Thank you so much for the lovely review. I do hope you check out some of my other stuff. Most of it isn't as dark and sad as this.

I will get to your review soon, but I've been a little busy these past few days.

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #9, by DmsSlytherinPrincess A Surprising Encounter

15th July 2014:
I enjoyed this!
It was a look at Dracos emotions, which was what I imagined him feeling while reading the books and some movies.
I liked the part about him mentioning the hippogriff it made me laugh and how he admitted he was naive and what not.
I think this story was deep, given it's length. Good job!!

Oh, TAGgged! Slytherin Review

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for checking this out. I'm really glad you enjoyed it! I really did want to showcase Draco's emotions properly during this period in his life. And I'm glad the hippogriff comment made you laugh, I wanted to add a little bit of humor into the story just to lighten it up because the rest of it is pretty dark.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by crestwood A Surprising Encounter

14th July 2014:
I love this version of Draco you've written here. This is really incredibly poignant for how short of a story this is. I think you've portrayed Draco's mental state well, in that he may still have those old prejudices, but he doesn't believe in them with the same force that he thought he did. Because of course, there's a difference in disliking someone and wanting to personally murder and torture them. Voldemort using him to get back at his father and torturing and extorting him into doing his bidding can't be something he enjoys, in my opinion. It only makes sense that he'd wish for Voldemort to lose the war, even if he can't change sides, for fear of his and his family's safety. Such a realistic peek into his mind in this! The way he relates to and understands the Thestral is a nice little touch. I never thought of the comparison myself, but it definitely makes sense. This is excellently written, amazing job!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I really like this version of Draco. I think he goes through a lot that changes him in his later years of Hogwarts and it shows in the little bits we see of him in the books and movies, and I really just wanted to expand on that.

Thanks for the lovely review!

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #11, by UnluckyStar57 A Surprising Encounter

11th July 2014:
I love how you showed how Draco has changed since he was younger and brattier. His sixth year changed him a lot, and it is very easy to believe that he is sick and tired of the awful horrors of war. I feel bad for him because he can't even walk away from it all. He has to stay and fight for the wrong side because his parents are too thickly embroiled in Voldemort's plans. Draco's meeting with the thestral shows his change in personality most of all, because in his earlier days, he would've scorned the creature and laughed about it with his friends.

This was a really neat look at Draco's personality post-HBP. I enjoyed reading it. :)

House Cup 2014 Review

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much for reviewing! By his sixth year, and especially his seventh, Draco doesn't have his easy, cushy life anymore and I think that really changes his perspective on a lot of things. You're right, he does have to stay and follow the Dark Lord's orders for fear that Voldemort would hurt his parents if he were to leave. And I think he's too afraid of Voldemort finding out if he were to become a double agent of sorts, incapable of believing anyone (even Dumbledore) could save him and his family. That and I don't think he'd be able to deal with the reactions (of the Golden Trio and his own friends and family) he'd get from joining the other side, I think he just has too much for pride for that. So he sucks it up and does as he's told. But it's not easy, and I really wanted to portray that in this story.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing this story.

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #12, by evil little devil A Surprising Encounter

11th July 2014:
What an interesting exploration of Draco! He's not my favourite character ever, but you've done a really good job with him. I do think you're right, I think he did change after Dumbledore's death - he realised his heart wasn't in it, he wasn't as passionate about the DE cause, so much as the perceived glory surrounding it.
You captured this kind of transitional moment very well. He's still rather arrogant and all the things you expect from Draco, but he also really has than down-beaten, self-loathing feel that really comes through in the last two books. You've set him up for becoming a much better man than he was a boy.
I like that you reminded us of his usual disdain for magical creatures, I think that really helped to keep him in character. His interaction with the thestral was fascinating, I can see him seeing a thestral of all things as being beautiful.
This was a lovely character exploration, I really enjoyed it :)

- House Cup 2014 Review.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I really enjoy writing characters like Draco, who aren't protrayed so well in the books, and kinda edge them to the right path. I wanted to keep him canon, but changed. I knew I had to put something in there about his previous disdain for magical creatures or else it wouldn't add up in the end. I'm sure we all have the hippogriff scene engraved in our minds at this point, lol. You can't just make a switch in character like that automatically.

Thank you for the lovely review!

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #13, by maskedmuggle A Surprising Encounter

8th July 2014:
Hey!

There's so much about this that I love! Not going to lie, I usually hate Draco and think he's a jerk, but I loved the way you portrayed him here, and you definitely offered me such a different insight into him, and I especially must commend you for making him also seem so canon and believable. As such, I thought you did a stellar job characterising him here, such as showing me how his attitude towards hurting others had changed and how he much he actually wanted Voldemort to be defeated so he could show others how he had changed. Then I loved how you showed he actually had a good side to him through his interaction with the thestral. Your description of the thestral was absolutely accurate and Draco's experience with the thestral was so well written, as was the rest of the story. I really thought this was an absolutely brilliant fic, and I really enjoyed reading this!

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi! I love that you hate Draco and still liked my portrayal of him, lol. I think Draco gets a bad rep for what he did (was supposed to do) but he was going through a lot in his last two years at Hogwarts. And thank you so much for the kind words and this review. I'm really glad that you enjoyed it.

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #14, by Tainted Angel A Surprising Encounter

30th June 2014:
I really liked this. Good seeing inside of Draco and seeing something softer, gentler.

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm glad you liked it. We never really see this side of him in the books/movies, so I really enjoyed writing it.

xxEE16


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login