Reading Reviews for Event Three: Misunderstood
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Shadowkat Misunderstood

11th June 2015:
Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015!

First off, Remus is one of my favorite characters. Somehow, I connect with him very easily, and this was absolutely heartbreaking to read, knowing all that's happened and will happen.

Remus was convinced once before that he wasn't just a monster, back when the Marauders were all intact. Hogwarts became home to him, just like it had to many others, and he was happy. Then it was all ripped away, and it's understandable that he fell back into how he used to view himself. With everyone gone, no one was there to tell him otherwise, and sometimes the most dangerous thing is to be alone with nothing but that voice living in your head, telling you lies about yourself like with Remus. Then Sirius came back, then he found Tonks. With both it ended in tragedy.

I hate thinking about how much the world hurt him, everything he gets being taken. Your story leaves at such a hopeful place, but that only makes it worse, knowing how short amount of time he has to enjoy it.

Excuse me while me, myself, and my pessimistic state in this moment finds a box of tissues.

Author's Response: Hi Kat! Thanks for your review. :)

Remus is one of my favorite characters too, though this is the only story I've ever written about him. Sorry for it being heartbreaking--I feel like most of the post-Marauders stories about him are. :/

I sort of played into that whole mentality of Remus thinking that he's a monster. Hogwarts was his home, much like it is for Harry, and having it just all go away was really tough. You're right--one of the most dangerous things is to live inside your mind, which can be a mean place. Too much tragedy for Remus Lupin, I know. :/

Yeah, my story became a little hopeful, but if you know the whole story, it's just super sad. I'm sorry for giving you some sad feels!!

♥Mallory


 Report Review

Review #2, by St. Brigid. Misunderstood

15th April 2015:
Yes, I am returning for a very special reason - to say thank you to somebody who has spread a lot of happiness around the site.

In my day, my society was known for its treatment of the ill and disabled. I believe that in other societies around the world at the time, the ill and disabled and mentally ill were often treated as outcasts, whereas that was totally unacceptable in my society. Mocking the disabled was a crime under our law. So I must admit to being slightly horrified at the way Remus has been treated.

You portray his anxiety so well, the way his condition dominates his life and he can never truly be free from the anxiety it caused him. You make me feel so much sympathy for him.

The use of the word "people" in this line: "In a world filled with people who were different from normal people", seems a bit repetitive. It might sound better to say something like "in a world filled with people different from the norm."

The part about the harm which can be done by assumptions really made me shiver. It's so true and so horrible.

In my society, being an outcast was the very worst thing one could be. Some of the later monks and nuns went abroad, across Europe, setting up monasteries, but they did this mostly as a form of penance, even martyrdom. So I cannot imagine how awful Remus's isolation must feel.

Remus is portrayed as an angrier character here than I have seen in the past, but it makes sense; he has a lot to be angry about.

I'm really glad that by the end of the story, he has come to see that he is more than just his condition.

This is such a fantastic story, really brilliantly written and expressed. I'm glad I got to read it and I'm also glad you suggested all of us characters appeared to review in the first place. I shall soon disappear again, but before I did, I wanted to thank you for calling me forth.

Author's Response: St. Brigid, thank you for coming back to bless me with a review.

Yes, unfortunately Wizarding Society has a history of treating werewolves and other "creatures" as lesser than wand-carrying wizards (even though werewolves were often wizards and witches as well). It's so brilliant that your society's laws preventing the mocking of the disabled. I wish the Wizarding World would do that.

He had a very hard time of things, and I wanted to take some of the aspects of canon and examine them more closely, even though this was a quick one-shot for last year's House Cup. I'm glad that you were able to sympathize with him.

Ah yes, editing mistakes! The quick time frame in which this was written didn't allow me to make many edits, but I will certainly go back and rectify that! Thanks!

Being Othered or cast out from society is the absolute worst. Monks and nuns were sort of socially acceptable outcasts, I think, because they did the work of the Lord and felt called to lead a life of solitude, but Remus did not choose the werewolf life. It's unfortunate how different these similar circumstances can turn out.

He is quite angry here, but maybe that's just because I'm prone to writing angry characters. I think that he might've had a bit of fire in him, especially regarding the injustice with which he was treated, but it would've mellowed out by the time he met Harry.

He is so much more than his condition, and the main reason I wrote about him is because I wanted him to realize that and not feel so bad.

Thank you so very much for reviewing me before you once again leave us!

♥Mallory


 Report Review

Review #3, by The Basilisk Misunderstood

22nd March 2015:
Hello. It is I, The Basilisk.

Aha I loved this story. I know what it feels to be a misunderstood monster - I feel I've been treated in a similar fashion by your kind. Unfortunately, I have not been as lucky as this Remus to have found a home - people are still terrified of me, and I guess rightly so, because just looking into my eyes can give you death.

So anyway, I could totally relate to Remus. You did a great job of characterising him. I could feel his emotions very strongly throughout. The narrative was just brilliant and the descriptions were very powerful. I liked the plot idea here, especially the ending when Remus finds his place. A pity he had to leave it later on.

All in all, you did a good job of writing this and I had a nice time reading it. It was smooth, well-written and moving. No pesky grammar issues either.

Hiss Hiss,
The Basilisk

Author's Response: Basilisk! You have returned to visit my AP. How sweet of you! :)

I'm so sorry that people misunderstand you. If it were up to me, I would invite you to live in my dorm. However, there's a "humans-only policy." Utter baloney, right? Anyway, Remus found a home at Hogwarts, and he thanks his lucky stars every day for that.

I'm so glad that he was relatable and that his emotions came through very strongly. It's really terrible that he ended up leaving Hogwarts, but for those shining months, he truly made a difference as a professor and inspired a lot of people.

Thank you so very much! I'm a stickler for good grammar, so I'm glad that I didn't err too noticeably!

♥Mallory


 Report Review

Review #4, by toomanycurls Misunderstood

6th August 2014:
Love. That's all I can say. I love this story.

i'm quite a remus fan and I've written a lot of stuff from his perspecitive. I think you capture him beautifully. It was heartwrenching to read his view of him being a monster but you laid it out so that it felt like a logical opinion for him to have. I felt so sad for him and really really wanted to give him a hug.

Dumbledore's intervention was wonderful. I love that Dumbledore refused to let Remus remain an outcast of society.

NOW I'M JUST FULL OF SAD FEELS THAT HE WASN'T ABLE TO STAY AT HOGWARTS WHERE HE WAS ACCEPTED AND WASN'T A MONSTER (not that I thought he was one to begin with). I move your last line about monsters.

Please write more about Remus.

-Rose

(BvB)

Author's Response: Aw, thanks so much! It makes my day to read that you loved my story. :)

Ooh, you're a Remus expert! I'm so glad that I did him justice in your estimation! I'm so afraid of writing canon characters, but I took a chance with Remus and Dumbledore, and I really enjoyed writing them. :)

Remus's thoughts about how he's a "monster" are really harsh, but I thought that it would have made sense for him to think that about himself in his pre-Hogwarts-professor days. I wanted to give him a hug, too. :/

Dumbledore is awesome! He knew that he needed a DADA teacher and he knew that Remus Lupin was struggling, so he put those two ideas together and gave Remus a chance that the rest of the world denied him. Wise move, Albus! :D

I KNOW I'M SO SORRY I GAVE YOU SAD FEELS, but Remus couldn't have stayed at Hogwarts forever, unfortunately. I wish he could've. The DADA curriculum might've worked out a bit better. Thank you so much! He's definitely not a monster, and he really needs to learn that. :/

Aww, you're so nice! Maybe I will write more about him in the future. :D

Thank you so, so much for this splendiferous review!!

~UnluckyStar57


 Report Review

Review #5, by patronus_charm Misunderstood

12th July 2014:
House cup 2014 review and a phone one!

Ok this was so sweet and moving and gave me so many feels. I really loved how you explored what Remus thought of his scads as it isn't done that often but it was just so interesting to read and see how intense his dislike for himself was. Yay for Dumbledore that moment was really sweet with the way he brought Remus back to a normal life and made him believe in himself because Remus' changed mindset in the last section really showed that and the power Dumbledore had in changing people for the better. This gave me so many feels!

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for your review--and on your phone, too! You're so dedicated. :D

I'm so glad that I gave you so many feels! That's my job! :D Yeah, I really wanted to show Remus's self-loathing so that I could further contrast it with his feelings while he was teaching. Dumbledore rocks my socks, and he knew that Remus deserved a chance. (Even though the rest of the world AND Remus didn't think that he deserved one.) Remus needed the DADA position, not only to better his financial position, but to learn that other human beings valued his presence. :)

Feels are good! Thanks so much for reviewing!

~UnluckyStar57


 Report Review

Review #6, by Unicorn_Charm Misunderstood

12th July 2014:
Hello there!

Oh Lupin... How horribly he always thinks of himself. You did such a wonderful job capturing his self loathing and his doubt of himself. He is such a wonderfully tragic character. Loved by so many, yet hated by himself.

I loved how Dumbledore did not mention anything about why he was hanging around in Knockturn Alley, or the state he was in. He just greeted him graciously and didn't think twice about offering him a job. It was really rather sweet.

I absolutely adored the ending of this. Even though we all know he will eventually lose the only job he ever loved. But, it was so lovely to see him begin to embrace, and even like, who he is.

I really enjoyed reading this. It was a wonderfully done story. Thank you for sharing!

House Cup 2014 Review

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Hi!

Remus is so blinded by his own self-loathing that he can't see how much other people care for him. He is ostracized by society, but he ostracizes himself to some degree because he doesn't think he deserves to be happy. :/

Dumbledore always knows what to say, that's for sure! He needed a DADA teacher, and I think that asking Remus why he was skulking in the Alley would have made Remus more reluctant to accept the position. Also, he was trying to be uplifting, and no one wants to talk about Knockturn Alley when they're trying to be uplifting. :)

Thank you so much! Yes, he did lose his job (thanks, Snape...), but he learned how to stop hating himself so much. He learned that other human beings valued his presence, and that's one of the most important things for a person to know about his/herself, I think. :)

Thanks so very much!

~UnluckyStar57


 Report Review

Review #7, by evil little devil Misunderstood

10th July 2014:
Remus is one of my absolute favourite characters, and reading about his life always makes me so incredibly sad. He just had so much pain and loss and rejection, it's heartbreaking.
I think you really nailed his characterisation - how much he lacks self-confidence, how worthless he thinks he is.
I love that you had Dumbledore actively seek him out to give him the job at Hogwarts. Dumbledore had confidence in him even when he didn't have confidence in himself, and I think that's very Dumbledore.
You wrote his slow realisation that he was worth something so well, and his passion and enthusiasm for teaching, and for helping others. And while of course we know he will always struggle with these issues of self-confidence and worthlessness (as we see with Tonks), it's really nice to read how far he's come.
This was an absolute delight to read! I really enjoyed it :)

- House Cup 2014 Review.

Author's Response: Thanks for another great review!

I'm so sorry to have made you sad. :/ I wanted to explore his character a little bit, and the "overcoming adversity" prompt was too hard to resist. I'm glad that you thought I nailed his characterization! He's not worthless, which Dumbledore tries to tell him, but he definitely thinks he is. Dumbledore is the sort of conniving old wizard who has good intentions, but also has a greater design in mind. He had confidence in Remus and knew that he needed a DADA teacher, so the seeking out of Remus made sense. :)

He will always, always be plagued by a lack of self-esteem, but Harry's third year at Hogwarts gave him a slew of good memories to look back on. And he got to help people, which is what he likes to do. :)

Thanks again! I have enjoyed reading your reviews! :)

~UnluckyStar57


 Report Review

Review #8, by ohmymerlin Misunderstood

9th July 2014:
Hello!

This was a brilliant one-shot! I can't believe how well you managed to get Remus' personality! It was so spot on! The way he thought and the (rare) moments he talked was so /him/ and seemed so canon and real! I felt so sorry for him when he was saying he was hiding so he wouldn't hurt anyone. Even though he was starving and in pain and all alone! Even though he's the one that's suffering, he still thinks of others in front of him. That was so perfectly in character!

The scene with Dumbledore's was brilliant. I loved that he used the same line ("You brave, brave man") when he was talking to Harry in the afterlife in the Deathly Hallows! That was a nice little parallel there! I also liked that he tried to reassure Remus that although some people thought he was a monster, Dumbledore clearly did not think that.

And then Remus saying that Hogwarts was still his home was so touching :') I really loved that part!

Such a beautiful one-shot! Great work! ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Hey there!

Thank you so much! I am SO afraid of writing canon characters, but I really enjoyed exploring Remus's personality and seeing if I could get it right. I'm super happy that you thought I did it! :D Yeah, I definitely thought that he would be the type to put other people's safety over his own happiness/safety/well-being, so his reasoning for hiding away from society made a lot of sense to me.

Yes! I'm so glad that someone caught that! I intended for Dumbledore to act as a comforter and guide, much like he does for Harry in the afterlife. And the old wizard has had several years to try out his encouraging material on other people before Harry. I would like to think that he's said "You brave, brave man" to several people, Remus included. :) No, Remus is not a monster, but he probably still thought that even after he got married to Tonks, unfortunately, :/

Hogwarts is home to those who are wandering or lost. Remus is one of those. He found a good niche in the castle. :)

Thanks so much for your lovely review!

~UnluckyStar57


 Report Review

Review #9, by maskedmuggle Misunderstood

6th July 2014:
Hey!

I really enjoyed reading your story and your depiction of Remus here. The first section was so powerful and you really wrote it brilliantly. I could really feel his despair and how tough everything was for him. You really put me in his shoes and it felt completely realistic. I really loved the second section as well, and seeing Dumbledore appear was awesome. I thought you really nailed down Dumbledore's character and I absolutely loved the dialogue in that section - especially the wise things Dumbledore said, like how Remus continued to put others before himself. I just found that particularly poignant because that's so true! I did find that the last sentence in the second section was a bit abrupt. I would have liked to see the conversation continue on a bit more after "There are many who would disagree with that."

I also really liked the third section because it truly showed Remus overcoming his huge adversity. I loved him being able to see himself in a different light and realise how awesome he is! The way you wrote the story with the three different sections really worked so well because it showed Remus' progress from suffering so much to salvation. I definitely really liked this, well done on a great story!

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for another awesome review!

I'm so glad that you liked my depiction of Remus and Dumbledore. Canon characters scare me a little--especially major characters like Dumbledore--so I tried my best to keep them as close to canon as possible. That being said, I did try to delve further into Remus's struggle in order to imagine what he might've been doing before he got the job at Hogwarts. Dumbledore gave him a good kick in the rear--figuratively, of course--and his words definitely sparked a change in Remus's outlook on life and on himself. It does end quite abruptly--I'll see what I can do when I edit! That was a product of worrying that I would exceed the word limit and worrying that I'd run out of time to submit my entry.

The prompt was "overcoming adversity," after all, so I wanted to make sure that Remus made the transition from extremely sad and lonely to functional and happier than he'd been since he lost his friends to the war. I'm glad that the progression of his character made sense! Thanks so much!

~UnluckyStar57


 Report Review

Review #10, by Tainted Angel Misunderstood

1st July 2014:
I enjoyed the spin you put on this. Very well done. I enjoyed readings this.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your review! It was unexpected, and I appreciate it so much. :) I'm glad you enjoyed reading my story!

~UnluckyStar57


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login