Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Pride and Joy
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by nott theodore Pride and Joy

28th April 2017:
CTF Jailbreak Review

Hi Olivia!

This was a super sweet story to read! I don't think I've actually read anything with Hermione and her parents, except for the stories when she's altering their memory so that they think they don't have a daughter (*sob*) or when she's going to try and find them in Australia, so this was a really lovely and refreshing read.

You did a great job of getting across how close they are as a family and how much the Grangers love their little daughter. It must be so hard for Muggle-borns' parents to deal with their children going off to school and becoming part of a world that they don't belong to, let alone understand, and I loved seeing them trying to make sense of everything that Hermione does at school.

I think the grades that she got for the year was a really great way to then go about them discussing it, because grades, although they're different, are something that most parents can understand and be proud of, so it was like a link between the two worlds. I loved the fact that the Grangers are still so proud of their daughter, even when they don't necessarily know what she's doing or realise that she gets to fly on a broomstick (in theory of course, since Hermione doesn't favour them :P). I loved this!

Sian :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by princesslily_36 Pride and Joy

28th April 2017:
Hello Olivia! Here for the CTF ATTACK!

Nice image of the Granger family household. We never saw much of Hermione's parents in the book and it's lovely to see them the way you've written it. A quiet happy morning, I can almost feel the sunshine through the windows!

The word 'Marks' is so British! Because we say it that way in India too, and it's 'Grades' in the US (which takes a little getting used to obviously). I'm not sure if you're British, but if you're not that's bloody brilliant attention to detail!

Aww, look at Mr. Granger, a typical dad wanting to boast about his daughter to relatives. It's so sweet of Hermione to patiently explain all the lessons to her dad! And Mr. Granger, struggling to understand and yet knowing how proud he was! And the song in the background was so apt.

This is such a cute and adorable one-shot, and a sweet image of the Granger family. I love fluffy one-shots. I'm in fact wondering if you could add a sequel for when she brings Ron home to her parents. I'd love to see Mr. Granger's take on his pride and joy.

Thanks for a wonderful read (and I secretly hope you're the flag author so that this game ends quickly!)

Cheers
~Ysh

 Report Review

Review #3, by rosehedwig Pride and Joy

6th September 2015:
This was an amazing story, even as short as it is. It fits so well with the bookworm, smart Hermione that I have come to know and love! This one-shot is well thought-out, written and generally amazing! One nitpick though, quote "Hermione answered, taking a drink of her orange juice." I would suggest changing 'drink' to 'sip'.
As I hate to assign dates to years with the books/movies, i'm guessing that this is set in the holidays after 1st year?

 Report Review

Review #4, by alicia and anne Pride and Joy

27th July 2015:
Hello! I am finally done with work and here for your surprise! I hope that you like it!

I really enjoy that they spend their mornings having breakfast together and listening to music. That's really sweet and adorable.

Of course Hermione gets all outstandings! As if she could get any other grade :P Her parents are so proud and you've really shown that here. :D

Mr. Granger is right, that song that they were listening to was very appropriate for the moment, and what he said about her brought such a smile to my face! I really want to know how they act when she brings Ron home to meet them (of course in my head they get all of their memories back etc :P)

This was such a cute one shot and so adorable! I loved seeing this little scene between the Grangers, and you wrote it brilliantly! Keep up the amazing work.

 Report Review

Review #5, by maskedmuggle Pride and Joy

11th June 2015:
Hey!

Aw this was such a cute fluffy happy one-shot! I really love reading about Hermione, especially as a young girl. We so rarely see anything about her parents, so I loved Mr and Mrs. Granger's appearance in this story and how you characterised them. I really liked how they seem like such a loving family and so supportive of Hermione. I thought it was great how it all fit in with the song playing in the background - the lyrics really did match what the parents were thinking. Of course your characterisation of Hermione was great as well. I almost felt like it would have been good to see Hermione worrying about her marks when asked when they would arrive - seeing as this is something she seems to do even though everyone knows she's done spectacularly. I also did think it was a bit surprising and a bit hard to believe that they are the type of family to go on spontaneous vacations (even though they may have planned it out), without telling Hermione about it beforehand, since they seem like such an inclusive family unit. I really enjoyed reading this though - I've been reading a lot of sad/dark stories lately so this was such a great piece to bring a smile to my face!

- Charlotte
Ravenclaw House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #6, by Ron Weasley Pride and Joy

23rd January 2015:
Merlin, I forgot how annoying eleven year old Hermione was!

Of course she would get outstanding in everything, I bet she was glad they didn't give her a mark for flying-it's one of the few classes she was terrible in! Probably because she spent too much time reading books about it and no time practicing.

I can confirm that her parents were that embarrassing when she brought a boyfriend home, because muggins here was that boyfriend! Her mum cried most of the time, though they hadn't long been back from Australia and had their memories restored so maybe their daughter surviving a war had something to do with that...

Don't tell Hermione this, but I'm enjoying reading these stories on the Muggle interweb. I can't seem to find the Ron Weasley FanFiction pages though, do you know where that might be?

Author's Response: Hi Ron!

This review is awesome and I honestly don't know how to reply to it. I'll do my best.

Flying was a class that I didn't really see as important. I think its only mention was the one time where Harry caught Neville's Remembrall and got on the Gryffindor Quidditch team. It was never brought up after that. So I decided to remove the marks portion. Besides, there was never any mention of a Flying exam in June.

I think it's a parent's duty to be embarrassing when their children bring home special somebodies. Of course, Ron, your parents already knew Hermione, so they didn't really have a lot of stuff to use, besides things she already knew about.

Ron Weasley Fanfiction... bahahahahaha. I've never actually looked, to be honest. I think Hermione would be amused, though. (I might mention that it's the InterNET, though, not the interweb.)

~Olivia


 Report Review

Review #7, by 800 words of heaven Pride and Joy

8th August 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

This story looked really cute and the summary was super funny, so I thought I'd give it a go.

I really love the idea of this story! We never really see muggles reacting to their magic kids' crazy lives. Actually, we see the Dursleys but they're a bit crazy and biased so that hardly counts. It was super fun to read Hermione's parents' reactions to her grades!

I love how they're so supportive of her despite having no idea what on earth is going on. I loved her mother's reactions to flying! I had a good giggle, and it's past midnight here so I'm super glad that no one can hear me :P

Lovely read :)

Author's Response: Hello!

I thought since we didn't know much about Hermione's family life with her parents I would show my own view.

I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

~Olivia



 Report Review

Review #8, by UnluckyStar57 Pride and Joy

12th July 2014:
Heehee. Hermione seems more like the parent than her parents do! I like that she has to explain everything about the magical world to them because they're so oblivious to the things that only wizards can see and experience. I would think that she would fail flying it it were a class, hahaha. So it's probably best that it isn't counted as one. :)

Where are they going on vacation? I would like to know! Are they going to visit Hermione's relatives? If so, they'd better not bring the report card along. That would certainly raise some questions! :)

I enjoyed the dialogue between Hermione and her parents. It was very sweet, an. I like that her dad is a bit of a sap. All in all, this was very cute and fun to read. :)

House Cup 2014 Review

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hello! I think Hermione's parents wouldn't be as used to the wizarding world after only one year, that Hermione spent mostly at school, so I decided to write them as oblivious (stealing your word). Since Flying is only a frst year class, and JKR never mentioned an exam for it I didn't count it as an actual subject.

I didn't have any specific destination in mind when I wrote this, and let's hope they leave the report card at home! :)



 Report Review

Review #9, by Unicorn_Charm Pride and Joy

7th July 2014:
Hi there!

This was such a cute little look into Hermione's life with her parents. We don't really get to see much of Mr. and Mrs. Granger in canon. It really must have been a strange and overwhelming experience for them, and I think you showed that really well. Especially with them not really understanding what the courses were.

The only - very small - bit of CC I have is, I couldn't ever see Hermione saying, "Are you going to be this embarrassing when I bring a boy home?" She was just never that type of girl. That's just my opinion though.

Other than that, I thought this was a really well done one-shot. It was really cute and very sweet. I loved her father calling her sweet little pea. That was adorable. :)

House Cup 2014 Review

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Thanks! I thought that Hermione's home life wasn't covered in the books, unlike Harry and Ron's, which was much more detailed. Also, I think if I was introduced to a secret world in the middle of my adult life I would be quite overwhelmed too.

About the CC - on hindsight I can't see Hermione saying that either, but it's something I say a lot to my parents, and I wanted to sneak it in somehow. And thank you :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by Infinityx Pride and Joy

6th July 2014:
Hello there!

This was such a cute one shot! I've never read anything about Hermione's life away from Hogwarts, and the setting, the year and the premise, all make this story quite a unique one!

I love that they're listening to Stevie Ray. Just. Love it.

It's so cute how clueless muggle parents are when it comes to dealing with things in the wizarding world. I wonder what their reactions would have been when they first saw wizarding money! Haha, I love how you've brought flying into the report. Mrs Granger is adorable and the ending is so sweet!

The only CC I have is that you could add some more description. Maybe you could linger on some details in the setting and add some imagery, or focus on one character and their thoughts during this whole exchange.

Overall, this was wonderful to read! Great work!

~Erin

House Cup 2014, Event 5.

Author's Response: Hello! It's nice to find someone with the same musical tastes as me :)

About the CC, I know - description is something that I struggle with, since I tend to bulldoze through whatever I'm writing and come back and fix it later.

Mr. and Mrs. Granger would probably be very clueless, since Hermione spent the majority of the last year at Hogwarts, so she couldn't help them get used to the wizarding world.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by TidalDragon Pride and Joy

6th July 2014:
Howdy!

Kudos for tackling a topic that seems to get just about zero play outside of the the Blacks, the Malfoys, or the Weasleys - family! Extra kudos for tackling Hermione's parents, who basically never seem to get any action in fics unless it's a story about Hermione (with or without others) going to find them and restore their memories.

As far as the writing itself, I thought you were strongest at the start. You were a bit more patient with it and added some descriptions and thoughts into the mix. Later on, things got more straightforward and were never really developed. For example - many more questions could have been asked about her marks, but none ever are.

The biggest thing I'd consider is how the song ties in to the story. Setting it up at the top is certainly an option, but I think has a tendency to neuter the impact of the lyrics later on. Then when you presented the lyrics as part of a dialogue, it seemed to de-emphasize them further, whereas I think you want them to be central and high impact. Just a thought.

Thanks for sharing!

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Yes, I did notice that the Grangers don't get a lot of notice - both in fanfiction and in the actual books (it's usually Hermione mentioning her vacation or Harry spotting her parents in Diagon Alley shopping). Thanks for the CC!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login