Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for The Passing
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Crescent Moon  glory days, lifetimes, friendships past

21st July 2015:
This is so beautiful and so sad at the same time. You're writing is amazing, I loved it.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for reading and reviewing! I'm happy you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #2, by The Basilisk glory days, lifetimes, friendships past

7th January 2015:
I've been staring at this review box for at least a minute, waiting for my tears to dry up so I could actually write this review.

This one shot was absolutely amazing, heartbreaking, emotional, perfect in every single way. From characterization, to setting, to description, to emotion depiction it was the saddest roller coaster I've ever been in in a missing moment.

Let me pull my minds together and actually say something worthwhile here. Your characterization of ALL the Marauders was spot on. I am especially happy to see how you chose to portray Peter. As you may well know by now, he is very under-appreciated in stories such as these. I can understand WHY, but I will never understand how can people think that he wasn't a big part of the Marauders. Just because he wasn't as good looking, or smart or accomplished as James, Sirius or Remus were, I've always pictured him as the glue of the group. It's impossible that the three would be friends with Peter just so that they could use him as bait for their pranks or the such. Otherwise, why would Sirius and Remus be so hurt and mad about his betrayal?

The sadness with which Remus remembers Peter throughout this story, how his stomach clenched when he entered the cave and saw the ground littered with dead mice, how he recalled staying behind with Peter when they were running up the hill, these are like snippets from my own thoughts and feelings. Remus has always been the more mature one of the group, the voice of reason. I can easily imagine then that there were times when he remembered the good times with Peter, not just the bad. And I can easily imagine, like you did even if you didn't express clearly, that Lupin misses him - all of his friends.

One again big big congrats on a wonderful, well rounded one shot!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this beautiful review. I'm so sorry for such a late response. I do forget to check my reviews when I drift off HPFF for months at a time :(

I love your thoughts on Peter and I agree. Peter was 1/4 of the Marauders. He may not have been as much in the limelight as the other three, but he was there for a reason. I imagine him being stable, friendly, and mischievous in his own ways. I also think he would've had interests and strengths that added to the Marauders, not detracted. Obviously, he was a very flawed person in the end, but I don't necessarily think he began that way--just that his fear consumed him alive.

I absolutely think Remus remembers the good times with Peter. I think of them as a subgroup, like how James and Sirius were a duo. Remus probably remembers the old Peter with nostalgia, sadness, and anger, and is probably angry with himself for missing him.

Thanks again for reading :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by caapotter glory days, lifetimes, friendships past

14th September 2014:
So beautiful! Congratulation. Great one shot! Caa xx

Author's Response: Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #4, by wertyuityghjfgcutryjjf glory days, lifetimes, friendships past

27th August 2014:
that was amazing! weryutrsed45fg4675r68tuy6tresfg4hf5jg6kh7j8

Author's Response: Thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by randomwriter glory days, lifetimes, friendships past

12th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Hello again. This might possibly be my favourite story of yours yet! I really love the marauders and this story was just so beautifully written, I couldn't help but tear up a little. If I must be honest, this is my third time reading this and the effect is yet to wear off.

Your writing was amazing, as was your grasp on the marauders. You got each of them so well, but you wrote them together even better. You've captured them and written them so well, and I think that you truly managed to write about all that they represented really well.

Parts of this were sad, parts of it were funny, parts of it were nostalgic. You gave me so many feels and I can't even begin to gather myself from it all, you know.

I'm really glad you chose this particular missing moment to write about. I've often thought about their first conversation alone after Peter's escape. The one where they truly sort out all the events of the last twelve years or so. This was such a heavy conversation. There were so many things to discuss and sort out, and I am so glad that they didn't just sweep things under the rug. They faced everything, but there wasn't much anger or betrayal because they understood each other so well and really thought from the others' point of view.

I love that they argued a bit, but at least they got everything out into the open. The memories they were talking about, all the stuff they were reminiscing, it was all so well done and I absolutely loved all those bits! In fact, I can't find something I didn't like about this story. I'm favouriting it.

Seven years they’d spent swearing to each other that they were more than the sum of their parts. Sirius had gone to any length to prove he was different from his family. Remus had spent every month in pain, trying desperately to remind himself that he was more than an animal. In the end, they had caved to the beliefs they had so strongly sworn against. These lines were absolutely gorgeous. Almost all your lines, even the lighter dialogues, were so full of meaning and weight and I wanted to quote them all and tell you why and how much I loved them, but I can't. This part however, blew me away. You'd captured it so well.

I'm in awe of your writing. This story, and you, are both amazing!

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much for the many lovely reviews you've left me. I'm honestly kind of speechless at how kind you've been to wade through so much of my work. Responses for all them will be coming soon, but I just wanted to at least let you know I've seen them and appreciate them :)

I'm really happy to hear you enjoyed this one-shot! Marauders is always a fun era for me to write -- there's just so much angst and friendship and material to work with. I feel like everybody's stories are so connected that it's a dream to work with (even in my mind, this is a companion one-shot to my James/Lily one-shot).

Yeah, I really liked working with the idea of 'the first conversation too'; I know they had a conversation during the actual capture in PoA but it was really brief and things got action-packed fast. And they do understand each other really well and face things together. I really did want to go into why and how a friendship could last a lifetime.

Thank you so much for reading! And thank you for your many kind words :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Elenia glory days, lifetimes, friendships past

11th July 2014:
Hi there (:

Such an interesting story! I've many times though about that moment when Sirius and Remus properly meet after so many years and have a real talk about the happening. I think you did an excellent job describing that moment. They were both just the way I've imagined them.

When I think about that, I always see them fighting a little, so I'm glad the conversation wasn't completely calm and peaceful between them. Twelve years of anger and frustration doesn't go away that easily.

I loved how you started the story and mentined the size of the room, Remus would be awake of that! And how hungry Sirius was, poor bloke. That was an excellent point.

Such a lovely story, I'm so glad I read it!

- Hanna

Gryffindor - House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #7, by UnluckyStar57 glory days, lifetimes, friendships past

10th July 2014:
Such a loaded conversation. I thought that Remus and Sirius were about to fight a little about the moments that were long past. It's no use, of course, so I'm glad that they were able to calm down and look back on everything--happy and sad.

The description of the path to the cave is really intriguing. It is a palimpsest--the present lined with the memories of brighter days--and that sort of remembering foreshadows the conversation that occurs inside the cave.

Really brilliant story. I enjoyed reading it!

House Cup 2014 Review

~UnluckyStar57

 Report Review

Review #8, by nott theodore glory days, lifetimes, friendships past

10th July 2014:
Hello there! I'm reviewing some of the house cup stories and I wanted to say congratulations for this story making it onto the home page of the archives!

I thought that this was a great story which captured a really interesting missing moment from the series. I've never thought about it before but Remus and Sirius must have had to talk after the night we see in the PoA, because there's a lot for them to discuss and forgive as well. I'm glad you chose to write about it and I think you did a fantastic job of capturing their characters really well, as well as writing the dialogue between them in a really believable and authentic way. You made me feel really sad with this story, especially when Remus began describing Lily and James's funeral and they reminisced about the old times; the fact that Remus lost them all so young was so upsetting. I'm just glad he got a friend back here!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #9, by evil little devil glory days, lifetimes, friendships past

10th July 2014:
I was really excited when I saw you had an entry for the House Cup, I am a massive fan of your work!
And this was no disappointment. This has been a moment I've always wondered about - how these two managed to forgive each other for suspecting each other. And you wrote this so well! You have this gift for wrapping me up in a swirl of emotions and carrying me away with them. You managed to make this moment feel so natural, and so raw and real. It really could have been thrown into the books.
Your characterisation was spot on as well. This felt exactly like how they would have this conversation, and how they would interact.
This was just so lovely to read! No matter how sad they make me feel, I can never get enough of stories about the Marauders.

- House Cup 2014 Review.

Author's Response: Hello! Sorry for the late response and eep, thank you :)

Wow, thank you. I've been really interested in the Remus and Sirius dynamic too; there's just so much there - betrayal, suspicion, imprisonment, but brotherhood, trust and eventually death.

I'm really relieved you found the characterization okay. There's always a concern for me when I'm writing canon characters that I'm making things out of character. Especially with really well-known and beloved characters like the Marauders.

Thank you for reading and reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by zealousVisionary glory days, lifetimes, friendships past

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

That was a lovely piece, and it broke my heart!

I really liked the way you conveyed the emotion's of the characters through their conversation. The characterization was also done quite well, and I could really connect to both Remus and Sirius. Hearing about James and Lily's funeral made me so sad.

My only critique would be to perhaps add a tinge more description to make the story richer, but other than that, amazing job- I really liked this story!

 Report Review

Review #11, by maskedmuggle glory days, lifetimes, friendships past

9th July 2014:
Hey!

This was an incredible piece of writing. I just loved everything about it, despite the sad emotions I'm now feeling. Every time I think of James and Lily and how it all came about.. it's heartbreaking that a small misunderstanding, one traitor.. led to all the suffering. You definitely conveyed that really well here, particularly in your characterisation of Remus and Sirius and showing how they both felt guilt for thinking the worst of the other. I loved how they were still able to settle into a comfortable conversation about the best memories of the past and the good old days. The dialogue was impeccable, it absolutely captured all the feelings they both would have been feeling at that time and gah, this was just amazing.

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #12, by momotwins glory days, lifetimes, friendships past

28th June 2014:
This is a wonderful story. Sirius and Remus are just spot-on, and their conversation was just so great I don't think I blinked the entire time I read this story. I love how they talked it out and forgave each other in such a GUY kind of way, kwim? They didn't linger on it, they were just like "This is what I was thinking" and then moved on. Good stuff. Fantastic job on this :)

Author's Response: Wow, thank you :) It means a lot getting such a nice review from you! And I really tried to keep it in a guy kind of way too -- I didn't think they were much for inner angst around each other.

Thanks again for stopping by :D


 Report Review

Review #13, by HarrietHopkirk glory days, lifetimes, friendships past

28th June 2014:
Reblog if you cry every time. Good Lord, Celeste, what have you done? This is so good and so sad and I weep.

Author's Response: Aww thank you for reading, Hattie :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login