Reading Reviews for Event Three: Dragon Taming
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by teh tarik Dragon Taming

12th July 2014:
Hey, me again! :P

Ooh, I loved this! I always love dragon stuff, and it's always fun reading about Charlie and all his dragon adventures; he's probably the coolest Weasley of all, - well, as cool as Bill - and definitely the most adventurous. This was wonderful! I loved how you wrote him, his fun-loving and slightly reckless self, and the side of him that thrives on that dangerous edge. And how he deals with Norberta! Awww, I don't think I've ever read a fic that has even mentioned Hagrid's baby dragon before, and to see her doing well and in good hands in Charlie's dragon sanctuary is just wonderful! I love that the timeline of this piece is really clear - months before the Triwizard Tournament starts. It makes this story function as a missing moment of sorts, and I always love these.

I also love that you've named one of the dragons Tiamat! It's a totally fitting name for a dragon!

This was a lovely piece, Kayla! I really enjoyed reading this as well as your other two entries for the HC! Great work, my dear!

-teh
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Ew it's teh... pls leave me alone

JOKES. NEVER LEAVE ME ALONE :D

Haha, thank you so much for this lovely review! AHHH! I always think Charlie is MUCH cooler than Bill, let's be real :P

Haha, I can't remember the exact meaning but I think Tiamat did mean dragon! I literally searched 'dragon names' in Google :P

Thank you so much for your lovely reviews! You're such a beautiful person! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by UnluckyStar57 Dragon Taming

10th July 2014:
Dragons are very real and alive. I agree. :)

This was very interesting to me because it showed Charlie's job in very good detail. I enjoyed reading about the systematic way that they approached Stunning Norberta and leading her to the pen. And I'm glad that they don't close their mouths with magic--that just seems a bit cruel.

Oooh, this was before the Triwizard Tournament? Very nice! I like the way you tied everything in--Charlie, Norberta, the dragons of the Tournament. It was fun to read!

Also, the person with the clipboard would TOTALLY have been me. It's important to take notes! :D

House Cup 2014 Review

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Yes, dragons are real! :D

Hahaha, but a clipboard would not be useful when learning how to deal with dragons! :P I HATED bringing clipboards/notebooks on excursions in school because I preferred to actually DO the thing rather than write down boring things :P So that was definitely a bit of my personal bias cropping up, haha!

Thank you for this lovely review! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by maskedmuggle Dragon Taming

9th July 2014:
Hey Kayla!

This was such a great one-shot. I really enjoy reading about Charlie and dragons and this was no different. I thought you did such a stellar job characterising Charlie and capturing his excitement for danger and genuine appreciation of the dragons - this made the whole story so much more realistic. The other thing I really liked about this was how you incorporated things from the HP books that we recognise - such as Norberta, and the Triwizard Tournament reference - this also added to the believability of the story and also made it really interesting to read about. I loved how Charlie puts the dragons before himself, disregarding his own injury while interacting with Tiamat.

I also loved your simile with dragons just as puppies that breathe fire, haha. I suppose that's one way to see it! All in all, I thought this was an enjoyable read that was nicely written, especially the dialogue between Charlie and Sam/Alina/others.

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hey, Charlotte!

I admit, I got the simile with dragons being puppies from How to Train Your Dragon 2! I'd recently watched it and Toothless reminded me of a massive puppy/kitten and I just imagined all dragons to be like that, haha!

Thank you so much for this amazing review! I really appreciate it! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by evil little devil Dragon Taming

9th July 2014:
Hello again!
This was really great! I've always had a soft spot for Charlie, and I really wish he'd had some more page-time in the books. He just sounds so fearless and adventurous, and you've written him very much like that. I love how much passion he has for the dragons, and how he looks beyond the dangers associated with them in order to train them and befriend them. I think this fits in with the spirit of the prompt very well. I could also really see the Weasley in him - he reminds of Fred and George in particular. I feel like he would approve of their joke shop venture!
This was just so heart warming to read! I've read so many sad stories from the House Cup, which have all been wonderful, but it's really nice to read a story that is so happy.

- House Cup 2014 Review.

Author's Response: Haha, I absolutely LOVE Charlie and dragons so I'm glad to hear that you liked reading it! :D

Quite a few people have mentioned that he's kind of like the twins in this piece and I guess it's true! They were related, Fred and George couldn't have stolen all the mischief from the Weasleys! :P

Thank you for this lovely review! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by nott theodore Dragon Taming

8th July 2014:
Hello again, Kayla! Yay, another of your stories! These are so good and I think this might have even been my favourite of the three stories you wrote for the house cup, because even though the others were great it's quite nice to read something happy for a change :P (not that I can complain considering I rarely write anything happy...)

I love Charlie and dragons too! I've hardly seen any stories like this when it's just showing Charlie in his work environment and how much he loves his work - most of them involve some sort of romance but I loved the fact you didn't feel the need to include that here. You captured Charlie's character really well and I think that the dragons were a great choice for the prompt because even though they can be dangerous, he clearly gets a lot of happiness from working with all the dragons. I liked the explanations about how they handled the dragons and why they had to do certain things like keep some of them in pens rather than letting them roam free. And he reminded me a little of Fred and George in this because there was a bit of cheekiness to Charlie's character, especially with the mischievous way he was thinking of transporting the dragons for the Triwizard Tournament. This was so fun and interesting to read - you did a great job with it!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Haha, this was definitely my favourite as well! I love Charlie so much :P

In my head canon, Charlie is asexual and all he cares about in life are his dragons, haha! So whenever I see romance in Charlie stories I'm always put off because my Charlie is like, "What do you mean romance? I HAVE DRAGONS." :P

Haha quite a few people have said it's like Fred and George slightly, which is true! I grew up in a big family and we all rub off one another and so we're all cheeky little monkeys so it's extremely plausible if all the Weasleys (except maybe Percy) had some cheekiness, haha!

Thank you so much for this lovely review! I'm so glad you enjoyed it! :D

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Freda_and_Georgina Dragon Taming

7th July 2014:
For the House Cup 2014 Review
Just the story description by itself made me smile. :)
I've always wondered what it would be like working with dragons. Charlie's got one chasing him and he acts like it's child's play! I guess it is the job for him. No wonder he gets so many burns.
It seems like Sam is a good friend for Charlie. Aw, of course he'd want to ride the dragons. :) Heehee. "You're no fun" perfect. The closing line is brilliant too, I could hear Fred and George saying the same thing.
GO HUFFLEPUFF!!
--Freda

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review! It was so sweet!

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by HeyMrsPotter Dragon Taming

7th July 2014:
Hi, Kayla! Me again :)

I think this is my favourite of your three entries (only by a milimetre though, they were all amazing!)

Charlie is obviously the Weasley sibling we know the least about from the books so there is a certain amount of freedom when it comes to writing about him in fanfiction and I think you've written him amazingly. I love that he has the slightly cheeky side to him that's similar to Fred and George:
"You're no fun," he said with a grin. "What could happen?"

I loved everything about seeing Charlie at work, from his fun interactions with his peers; bonding with Sam over their British accents. The way he took on the role of teacher with the other dragon keepers; correcting the spell names. I loved how experienced you made him, knowing the history of dragon keeping as well as the best way to do the job. Most of all I loved his passion for the dragons, always putting their happiness first as much as he could whilst keeping them captive, his indignation at the fact they had to be kept captive in the first place, his love of flying the terrifying creatures and most of all this line here:
When trained correctly, they were just like very large puppies that breathed fire. the sheer blase-ness (yes that's a word) of this comment is just too perfect for words.

This was clever, well written, funny, and a brilliant idea for the magical creatures prompt. I LOVED IT SO MUCH.

Dee -House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: This is definitely my favourite piece as well, don't worry, ahaha!

I feel like all the Weasley kids (well... maybe with the exception of Percy) would have a bit of that cheekiness in them! I grew up in a big (extended) family and we're all slightly cheeky. It's like it's a part of the rules to be cheeky :P

Yeah, I'm a big "NO CRUELTY TO ANIMALS!" person (which everyone should be tbh) so I wanted to reflect that even in the Wizarding world they have a bit of unfairness.

Haha, but thank you so much for this review! I'm glad you loved it! :D

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by TheHeirOfSlytherin Dragon Taming

7th July 2014:
Hey! About time I came over, don't you think? :D

Anyway... CHARLIE!!! I love Charlie stories so much, so you can imagine how excited I was when I saw this! He's often portrayed as the bad boy in a way, strong and rebellious and a little dangerous looking with the scars, but the moment you put him with dragons he's like this whole other person, he's so adorable. They're like his best friends or family, the way he talks to them and looks after them and even plays with them (I loved that part at the end). You got it down really well, I think.

Aww, when he didn't like chaining Norberta up, I didn't like chaining Norberta up. From your writing, I could just imagine the look on his face and I didn't like it. Charlie should always be happy with his dragons.

I loved the little interactions with Sam (awesome name, by the way) and Alina. The whole team dynamic seemed natural and fun and you can tell they're good friends and have worked together for a while, which is probably a very good thing when dealing with animals that breathe fire. :P

And I agree: Dragons are so real. :D

Great story!

Sam.

House Cup 2014 Review.

Author's Response: Hey, Sam!

I reckon Charlie's just honestly a big goof ball who loves dragons more than his family and I'm glad that it seemed that way when I wrote him, haha! :P

Hahaha, Sam IS an awesome name ;) Yeah, you kind of have to get along if you're dealing with life-threatening animals, wouldn't you say? :P

Thanks for this awesome review! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login