Reading Reviews for The Lucky Girls
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by alicia and anne The Lucky Girls

25th July 2014:
I absolutely adore the fact that they've built doll houses out of cardboard boxes. They're so cute!
And the dolls that are magical and renact things for them are brilliant!

Young Roxanne and Dominique are so cute together, I love how close they are, it's not something you see much of in Next-gen stories (Or at least what I've seen) so it's nice to see Roxanne and Dominique as the ones who are close.

Roxanne stuck up for Dominique! she's seriously the best friend and the best cousin, she's so understanding and so brilliant for her and I love how accepting she is of Dom coming out as gay, and that she could be there to support her when she came out to her family.

Awww no! That ending is so sad!!! I wasn't expecting that at all.
I absolutely loved how you wrote this, and you showed the amazingly close friendship between the two girls just brilliantly and how they're always there for each other. I loved this so much!

 Report Review

Review #2, by UnluckyStar57 The Lucky Girls

9th July 2014:
Oh no. I thought that I wasn't going to be sad/melancholy/thoughtful/feels-y at the end of this, but once again, you packed all the feels into the story. :P

Arggh, Roxy and Nicky as children were cute--and I'm not even a big fan of children. The clues that Nicky was not really into guys were already there, and it seems to me that Bill was starting to accept and be okay with it already. I'm very glad that he wasn't like, "Oh, Nicky, that's not how you should play," because that would set things up for tension later on.

Awww, Gracie, Nicky, and Rox in the dorm. I like the banter that the two cousins shared. It was very lighthearted and it showed how strong their friendship was.

Rox on the case of those mean boys was FIERCE. Seriously, that was scary! That scene played out really well. :)

But the scene at the end, with the two of them as old ladies, was what killed me. I didn't cry like I did with "Hero," but I was really sad to learn that Gracie died. Still, it was lovely that Rox and Nicky stuck by each other throughout all of those years. :)

Again, another really great story with an extra helping of feels. I'm going to have to read your stories with extra caution from now on, just in case you decide to kill off a really awesome character or something. :P

House Cup 2014 Review

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hi again!!

Hehe, the sad ending kind of crept up on me as well but it felt like a good way to show a more mature situation for their friendship. I do love the feels (who doesn't!).

Haha, I don't like kids much either as a general rule but they were cute to write. I imagine Bill being pretty accepting and just loving his kids no matter what, and that he'd be able to tell his daughter might be gay even when she was young.

I loved writing the banter! They're so funny. And hehe, Rox is pretty intense. I liked writing the way she got back at the boys for bieng rude to Nicky.

Thanks so much for the wonderful review, my dear!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #3, by maskedmuggle The Lucky Girls

9th July 2014:
Hey!

This was a really great story with some lovely moments and some sad moments too. The beginning was so cute, especially in showing us how their friendship originally developed from when they were little kids playing with toys, as children do. I thought the jump to the next moment actually worked fine, and it was nice seeing what their lives were like 10 years later. I thought you did a good job using the difficulty of Nicky/Grace's relationship to depict just how protective Rox was of Nicky and how special their friendship was. I also loved the inclusion of humour
in here, through some of the dialogue that was written. The final scene was very sad but touching as well. It was so beautiful to see that their friendship was still as strong as ever and that Rox was strong enough to comfort Nicky in such a difficult situation. I found this to be a really great portrayal of a beautiful friendship.

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi Charlotte! :)

Aw, thanks so much! I really liked writing the first scene especially, since they were so cute and imaginative. Because the word limit was so short I didn't get to use as many scenes as I would have liked, but the ones here were quite fun.

Hehe, I'm glad you liked the humour in the middle scene! I was giggling to myself while writing it. I tried to show a few different situations where their friendship was tested or displayed, from simply keeping one another company and having fun to dealing with the loss of a loved one.

Thanks so much for the lovely review!! :D


 Report Review

Review #4, by evil little devil The Lucky Girls

9th July 2014:
This was so sweet! I really love it. You wrote their friendship so well, how close they were, and how much they meant to each other.
I loved how you portrayed homosexuality through those dolls - I think it really shows that homophobia is not something that is inherent in people, but something that is socially conditioned. It's also great to see the lgbt representation, because there's generally not nearly enough.
I love how fiercely loyal the two of them are to each other. Rox is fantastic, she's so strong and confident and fearless. That part where she confronted the boys harassing Nicky was hilarious! She's also got quite the sense of humour :P
This was such a sweet little story, it was an absolute pleasure to read.

- House Cup 2014 Review.

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Thank you! I'm so glad you liked their friendship, it was fun to think up the little situations which could show how close they were.

Yes! I love how you described the way homosexuality was portrayed. I really like the idea of heteronormativity evolving into something more open and accepting through children. I agree, there definitely isn't enough in fanfiction.

Rox was awesome to write! I'm glad you liked her humour in that scene, hehe. :P She's definitely inherited her father's humour and sass.

Thanks so much for the lovely review!! :D


 Report Review

Review #5, by ohmymerlin The Lucky Girls

7th July 2014:
Hello!

Awh, this was so sweet! I loved how Bill noted that the girls were unusually reasonable when it came to decisions :P Many kids that I've met aren't very reasonable when it comes to decision making so it was cute to see that Rox and Nicky were, haha!

I really loved the way you portrayed their relationship! ESPECIALLY loved how Rox hexed those nasty boys for being the things that were shown to the whole common room if you get my drift ;)

It also made me giggle that only seeing /that/ once was enough for Nicky, haha!

I loved how you wrote this one-shot. The two were such a dynamic pair and I loved how close they were!

You did such an excellent job on this! It's definitely a 10/10 ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Aw, I'm glad you liked this little story! Haha, I imagined the girls having too much fun together to waste time fighting, which marks how well they get along. I'm sure Bill was happy about it!

Hehe I totally get your drift. :P That scene was so fun to write. Rox is very feisty. Ahah I love the innuendoes you noticed. :P

Thanks so much for the wonderful review!! :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by patronus_charm The Lucky Girls

7th July 2014:
Hi Jenna!

I really like the fact that you made Rox and Dom as I rarely ever see them together, well rarely ever see Rox at that (which is probably a good thing as thatís my sisterís name so Iím always like why are you in FF? :P) so it was really nice that you chose to write about these two characters. I really loved the first section with them being kids, it was just so cute and how they were so similar and so different. I really loved Billís thoughts too, as itís not often parents appreciate who their children are friends with.

The section with Dom and Gracie being together and Rox not being the most comfortable with it was really interesting because even though Rox wasnít like yay, I love you two being together, she still stuck up for them when that was needed which just showed what good friends they really well and I really loved seeing that.

Omg, that ending Ė so many feels. I was laughing at the way they were like we can laugh at Lilyís skirt, but crying too at it being a funeral and them being in pain because of it, and it was just such a strange but wonderful mix of emotions which left me all over the place. This was such a great one-shot!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

Author's Response: Hi Kiana! :)

I'm glad you liked me writing about them! In my head canon it makes sense for the girls to be around the same age and their characters here mixed together quite well. I think Bill and the other parents would love the fact that the girls got along so well.

I think Rox was maybe a little jealous that Grace was taking up a lot of her best friend's time, but of course she has Dom's back when the time calls for it. :P

The ending was a bit of a surprise for me: I really wrote this one-shot with no planning but it felt right to end it on a more tragic note and showing the realities of ageing and losing a partner while still being there for one another.

Thanks so much for all your kind words, Kiana! :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by toomanycurls The Lucky Girls

3rd July 2014:
:-o how did I not review this already?

I love how you showed Dom and Rox as friends as kids and that they'd pair up their chick dolls together not having a reconcieved notion of love being bound by gender. LOVE. It was a delight to see that Bill was okay with them pairing up the chicks (and that his issue was a kids toy kissing, not two girl dolls kissing).

Your description of how different the two girls looked and yet how close they were as friends really stood out as a great section here. I especially like how much they got along even through disagreement. Most kids that age have various arguments throughout daily life. Rox reading to Dom at the hospital was especially sweet.

Rox not only being (comfortable is the wrong word here but something along those lines) with Dom and Gracie was great. She was like her advocoate. Not just with the jerks at school but with their family. I loved seeing her use magic to defend them - at least to get back at those guys for them. Can we have more Roxes in the world? We just need her to go out and support people.

Ugh - your final scene just ripped at my heart. I was so sad that Gracie died and also so that she and Rox were friends into their old age.

Lovely story!!

-Rose

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Ahh, I'm so glad you liked this! It was the HC entry that I felt the least confident about so getting this nice feedback is really lovely. I thought the dolls were a good way to introduce gender and love in a very innocent, unassuming way and that by seeing how cool Dom and Rox were with two lady dolls being in love Bill could see that it was okay as well.

Thank you, I really liked that section as well for some reason. I imagined them as just both being really easy-going people and wanting to get along all the time, and being quite mature in solving their differences which could persist in their lives.

Yes! Rox just has no patience for people picking on her cousin, haha, and I imagined her as being quite good at communicating with people whereas Dom is maybe a bit more held back. I agree, I wish there were more Roxes too!

Aw, I'm glad you found it sad as that was the intention but it was sad to write as well! This was one of those stories where I sort of wished I had more words to play with as there were so many gaps to fill in.

Thanks so much, Rose! ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by momotwins The Lucky Girls

28th June 2014:
I love this story, especially the ending. It's just so very sweet, I love the thought of them being lifelong besties like that. So protective. Just perfect cousins! They're so sweet as little girls playing with their dolls, and always so accepting and loving. It's nice to see that kind of friendship and support. Great job with this story.

Author's Response: Hello!! :)

Aw, thank you so much! This story was just so lovely to write and I loved imagining the friendship between the two girls. It's the sort of friendship I think everybody deserves to have in real life.

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login