Reading Reviews for Smell the Roses
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Elenia Smell the Roses

12th July 2014:
Yay for three stories for the HC! I can't believe how you guys do it, write three amazing stories in such a short time! I bow down to you all!

This too was a great story. Your writing is so beautiful and the details and descriptions work really well. You really should write more, dear ♥

Next-gen characters are always difficult in one-shots because the readers never know what your character is really like and you have to make their personality shine through. I think you managed that really well and showed us what kind of a person she is.

The Snidget was adorable and I chuckled when it pecked Lucy's finger.

I really liked the ending and how she appreciated the forest environment even though she admitted being more comfortable in the city.

Great work, dear! You're a very talented writer!

-Hanna

Gryffindor - House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: I'm honestly not quite sure how I did it, either. :P Thank you so much - I'm glad you liked it, especially the snidget. :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by jessicalorewrites Smell the Roses

11th July 2014:
Hey!

This was such a cute, light-hearted take on the prompt for event 3. I actually wrote about golden snidgets in mine too, but yours is sooo much better written it's untrue! Your grasp on nature and wildlife seems very sound it and manifests itself here with the confidence of your approach. It made me giggle when the snidget seemed to be laughing at Lucy :P

I also liked how you incorporated Molly and Lucy and Lucy's job into this. Not many have done in similiar fics but I really like how you do give the readers some backstory in this! It helps me understand Lucy and her motivations for being in the forest. Also, it just makes it that little bit more adorable that she wants to stick around in the forest at the end :)

Overall, I loved this take on the prompt! Congrats!

xo

{House Cup 2014 Review - Gryffindor}

Author's Response: Aw, that's awesome! I don't think that

When I finish my current WIPs, I'm actually thinking of writing a novella or novel about Lucy and her job in the Department of mysteries. You're right, she and Molly really don't get covered enough, and it's a shame.

Thank you so much for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by nott theodore Smell the Roses

11th July 2014:
Hi there, Branwen!

What a coincidence that we both chose to write about Golden Snidgets! I haven't seen any of the other house cup stories containing them so it was really interesting to see how you chose to describe them and use them in this story. I loved your version of Lucy here, and thought that you created her characterisation very well for a one-shot - the fact that she's never been that interested in nature stood out to me, as did the mentions of Molly which did a lot to give a picture of the relationship between the two sisters. When we got to the forest and the interaction that Lucy had with the Snidget, I thought it was really cute. Your description of the bird was great and I think my favourite part when Lucy was talking to the Snidget and then getting the impression that it was laughing at her - it's a different version of most interactions I've seen in these house cup stories but I liked te idea that the Snidget could understand her and laugh at her. This was a lovely story!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Oh, that is a funny coincidence! Not that many people did, I don't think - I loved the wide variety of creatures people did write about, though!

I'm glad you liked my characterization of Lucy. :) Thank you so much for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by UnluckyStar57 Smell the Roses

10th July 2014:
Aw, this is so cute!! I was squeeing before I was halfway through it. :)

A word limit means that there isn't much room for extensive characterization, but I think you characterized Lucy really well throughout the whole thing. She works for the Department of Mysteries, which makes me think that she's really serious, but she stops to "smell the roses" and see the Snidget. :)

Aghh, the Snidget!!! So cute! I love the interaction between Lucy and it--the thought that it would laugh at her is just so adorable. :D

Really fantastic story! It was very enjoyable to read. :)

House Cup 2014 Review

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! :) I'm really glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #5, by evil little devil Smell the Roses

9th July 2014:
This was really cute and very lovely!
I love how well you managed to craft Lucy's character in such a short space of time. I really started to feel as if I knew her as the story progressed.
Also - I love that you mentioned that Molly was in the Department of Magical Transportation - because I know this was written before it, but JK released a new snippet on Pottermore which mentioned that Percy was working in that department - so to have Molly there is very fitting!
The snidget was super adorable! This story was like a breath of fresh air. I really felt as if I were with Lucy, going out into the wilderness after having spent a lot of time indoors (it's been pouring with rain where I am for days, so I haven't been much venturing outside of late). Even more than that, this was such a calm story, a small, simple, peaceful moment in amongst a flurry of more action-filled stories.
This was an absolute delight to read! I loved every word :)

- House Cup 2014 Review.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! It was definitely cool to see the snippet on Pottermore that lined up so nicely with my head canon (though I think it also cast Victoire as a blond, and she will always be a redhead to me :P).

I'm glad you liked this! :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by charlottetrips Smell the Roses

9th July 2014:
This was actually really adorable. I like finding a quiet moment in the hustle and bustle that is known as the magical Wizarding world. So many times, the stories we tend to focus on telling are the ones with all the whiz-bang and excitement of "all those things that we don't have" that we forget that the Wizarding World would also have the quiet moments of nothing that exists in our world.

Is the golden snidget an actual bird in the HP lexicon?

The whole behavior of the bird was fun to read about, but I would say my favorite line was:

"The golden snidget was not, it seemed to Lucy, really big enough to be eating a dried cranberry. It clearly came to the same conclusion, because after that first failed attempt to pick up that cranberry, it focused on the flax seeds."

Just because you gave it so much life in the way its "eyes were bigger than its stomach" (to quote my father).

All in all, just a lovely way to end my night!

Char
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: The golden snidget is in the HP lexicon! It's almost extinct at this point, though, because it used to be used instead of a golden snitch in Quidditch games. :(

I'm so glad you liked this. Thank you for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #7, by patronus_charm Smell the Roses

8th July 2014:
Hi again!

I really liked the whole setting you gave to the story and to Lucy with the whole you must not ask questions as terrible things may happen if you did as that fitted with my idea of the department of mysteries so well too. I really liked Lucy’s character too because even though it was a short story, you built up so well and she just seemed so sweet, genuine and lovely and I really liked reading about her.

The choice of the Golden Snidget was a really cool one too because it matched Lucy’s characteristics so well. It also had this strange enchanting air about it, like you just wanted to be pulled into reading about it and you conveyed that so well through Lucy’s reactions to it. This was a really great one-shot and I’m so glad I got the chance to read it!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by ohmymerlin Smell the Roses

8th July 2014:
Hey, Branwen!

I always adore reading your stories. There's something about your characters and style of writing that I can never get away from!

And of course, you didn't disappoint with this one-shot!

I loved Lucy so much! Working in the Department of Mysteries seems super interesting and I liked that she's just learnt not to ask questions about her work anymore.

The little snidget seemed so adorable! I could almost imagine the little round thing chuckling and then eating out of her hand. You painted a very vivid picture and I just ached to be sitting there next to Lucy, patting the tiny lil thing :'D

I loved how gentle she was with it and how kind she was with the food and stuff! I thought that was so sweet!

10/10

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #9, by maskedmuggle Smell the Roses

7th July 2014:
Hey!

I really liked your story, and I definitely enjoyed it! I've only become aware of golden snidgets through this event, and it's so fascinating to see a story about a lesser known magical creature. I thought the experience Lucy had with it was really beautiful, and I loved the whole plot of the story, and how Lucy ended up there, as part of her job. I especially liked Lucy's characterisation - the things she said to the bird was so endearing and really emphasised what an amazing experience it would've been to see this golden bird. I also loved that Lucy wanted to climb up the tree, but stopped herself upon considering how the snidget would feel about it - that just really reminded me of how we should treat nature and animals with respect, which I'm glad you conveyed here. I thought this was really well written, so nicely done!

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login