Reading Reviews for Friendship never dies
  
10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by patronus_charm Friendship never dies

12th July 2014:
Hi Erin!

Wow I really love this story it was so cute and good and fitted the friendship prompt so well. I really like how you decided to have lots of different segments in this chapter and each one showing a different side to their friendship as I really got a feeling for how much they meant to one and how they had always be there. I think the scene which really have me a ton of feels was the one when Sirius was back from Azkaban because it almost seemed as if Remus didn't really know what to say to him or how to cope and it just showed how much Sirius being innocent meant to him. Another thing was even though you included other marauders in this story this friendship always stayed as the main focus.

House cup 2014 review! Also a phone one so sorry for typos!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Beeezie Friendship never dies

12th July 2014:
This one-shot made me feel so, so bad for Remus. That one night really did essentially steal everything from him, didn't it? With his condition, it was so hard for him to make friends, and when James and Lily died, Peter appeared to die, and Sirius was arrested, he was left with so much guilt and sadness and overwhelming loss... and I can't imagine that there were many people he could confide in about it. And then when he finally got someone back, Sirius was hardly back before he died.

I loved the snippets of their friendship that you showed. They were so clearly filled with such significance to Remus - Sirius's "solution" to his "furry little problem," the four of them running together... But I also liked the idea that Sirius wasn't quite gone - it's an interesting concept, especially with the veil being so mysterious.

Great job. :)

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #3, by UnluckyStar57 Friendship never dies

10th July 2014:
No, this was not humor. This made me sad because Remus was sad. And when Remus is sad, I'm not happy. :(

But at least I didn't cry. You actually made me laugh with the pigeon-girl insinuation. That was funny. :)

I like how this story interrupts itself. First older Remus is being melancholy--the parts that had Sirius' voice in italics made me saddest of all--and then, younger Remus is doing things with his best friend. In a fanfiction world of the Sirius-James bromance, it's nice to see more Remus-Sirius friendshipping coming out. But did I detect just a little bit of WolfStar in the section about Sirius giving Remus a hug? :)

Good for you for trying something new! I think you did a wonderful job with it. :D

House Cup 2014 Review

~UnluckyStar57

 Report Review

Review #4, by evil little devil Friendship never dies

9th July 2014:
This was such a bittersweet story. It's so sad to think about all that Remus has lost, and all that the Maruaders went through in general. But at the same time, their friendship makes me happy. The lovely, fluffy flashbacks were a real treat, I think you really balanced those with the darker present times very well to create this lovely, bittersweet atmosphere.
It makes me very happy to think of Sirius watching over Remus from beyond the veil. I also love that you chose these two to focus on for the friendship prompt - I've read a lot of entries that focused on the Marauders as a whole, or James and Sirius, and so I really enjoyed the focus on Remus and Sirius. In my headcanon, I've always seen them as being quite close, the perfect yin-yang pairing of recklessness and over-thinking.
This was a real delight to read, it's a well written, lovely story.

- House Cup 2014 Review.

 Report Review

Review #5, by ohmymerlin Friendship never dies

7th July 2014:
Hello!

This was written so beautifully! I love the friendships between the Marauders and you really managed to capture that here in this one-shot! I could feel Sirius' frustration at not being able to talk to Remus. It felt like he was banging on this glass door and all I wanted to do was just kick the bejeezus out of it and let them hug and be reunited bUT I CAN'T D':

You wrote them so wonderfully and it seemed to really stick to canon! I loved the interactions between the two when they were in wolf and dog form. It was so sweet! ♥

So clearly I loved this story. You did such an amazing job on it! ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #6, by maskedmuggle Friendship never dies

7th July 2014:
Hey!

Wow, I really loved this a lot. I thought all the different moments you wrote about were really well written. I particularly loved how it kept transitioning from the good old times to Remus' utter isolation, which was really heartbreaking to see. The juxtaposition between the happy and sad really evoked such powerful emotions from me and I just feel so sad for Remus right now, despite his realisation at the end that he's not really alone. I just loved how in the happy memories you really characterised all of them well, and really depicted the Marauders' great sense of friendship. All the dialogue was written really well, especially Sirius' unheard words to Remus.

The only little nitpicky thing I'd comment about is that I found this bit a little abrupt: "Wha..?" Remus took in the smirk on his best friendís face. They knew his secret. And they were still his friends. It felt abrupt because one second they didn't know, and the next Remus just suddenly accepts that they do know. It felt a tad unrealistic as I would personally imagine Remus would question them further or go into more denial. Anyway, that's only a really nitpicky issue, and I honestly really enjoyed reading this story! I thought it was really nicely written, and you did a fantastic job portraying their friendship.

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #7, by Lostmyheart Friendship never dies

4th July 2014:
Eriiin (draws a heart)

This was such a beautiful story! I'm in such awe for your amazing writing skills!
This story was so perfect in every way... I loved it.

LOVED.

IT.

I'm so glad I got to read it :) And it's a story I made a banner for... though it's been haunting me and I've been wanting to make you a new one :D haha. And now that I've read your story, maybe I can make a better one :b

Anyway, I loved this story. It was so sweet and fluffy, but with a with spoonful of sadness as well. The perfect combination.

Continue to write these great stories! You're amazing, Erin. Never forget that.

- Avi

 Report Review

Review #8, by crestwood Friendship never dies

26th June 2014:
Hey, crestwood here for the review swap you proposed on the forums!

Wow, this was so sad. I really enjoyed the use of the flashbacks and wow, I've never seen anyone write Sirius talking from beyond the veil, what a great idea! This was such a nice little one-shot, I really enjoyed it a lot :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by toomanycurls Friendship never dies

26th June 2014:
Hi!! Thanks for doing a review swap! This story is so sad but still bittersweet. I do kind of love the idea of Sirius kind of following Remus around after he falls through the veil.

I really love how jucular you made the marauders while they were at school. You show their friendship in such a realistic way. It seems very realistic to have Sirius make Remus a bit more playful and lighthearted.

Your scene with Remus and Sirius on the full moon was really incredible. I don't think I've read one where they communicated as animals. I like how you did it. Except when Sirius talked about being cleared - that caused a buch of feels. A lot of sad feels but good ones for their friendship.

Where you could have ended this on a very low note, I like that you gave it the positive ending where Remus can still feel Sirius is near him.

Great one-shot! Go 'Claws!

-Rose

 Report Review

Review #10, by Ravenclaw333 Friendship never dies

25th June 2014:
Hiya! Here for that review swap you offered!

So I've been wanting to read this since you posted your summary in the CR and you did not disappoint! Full disclaimer: I love Remus and Sirius. I absolutely adore them and I will read any relationship of them - best friends, soulmates, lovers (I'm a Wolfstar shipper at heart but even their friendship in canon is sacred to me) but you've brought them to life at a whole new level and it's amazing to see. Your characterisation is perfect, spot on, flawless (insert synonyms here) and you've managed the difference in tone and voice between them as teenagers and as older men. I LOVE the addition of Sirius's voice from beyond the veil, watching Remus - the desperation at seeing him like that, contrasted with the humour and teasing that epitomised their friendship in life - it's really well done. And the final note of hope and knowledge that even separated by death they will never leave each other is such a brilliant way to end it - there's a line in the Iliad where Achilles says he will never forget Patroclus, even in the Underworld where men forget all memories of the living, and that line hit me like a tonne of bricks when I read the final sentence of this story (fun fact for you there)

Brilliant, brilliant piece!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login