Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Event Three - Ginny's Story
  
31 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MargaretLane Ginny and Luna

1st March 2015:
OH! That actually makes a lot of sense. It DOES sound as if Ginny was pretty isolated in her first year and it makes sense the other kids would be gossiping about her, especially if they know she released the Basilisk. Even without that, she must have seemed pretty out of it, and probably came across as a bit odd to her classmates.

It also explains how she and Luna became friends, which is something I wondered about, as they don't seem to have much in common. Ginny's so down-to-earth and Luna's so dreamy. And then being in different houses, they wouldn't have much opportunity to spend time together outside class. And it also explains how come Ginny seems to have no friends in her own year and house, in the books. Even though it's most likely only a group of about 10 people, most of the other characters we see DO seem to have friends among their own housemates. And like college, houses are somewhat self-selecting, so it would make sense people would have more in common with others in their own house.

Aren't they rather young to be talking about mascara? Particularly considering the era. I had certainly never heard of it when I was 12, and that was back in the '90s. A lot of my classmates were getting into their looks at that age, all right, but not to the extent of being SURPRISED if somebody didn't wear make up yet.

I like the idea of her having created the bat-bogey hex.

"All the births of" would probably sound better than "all the births for."

I really LOVE the importance you give Ginny in Luna's life here. Sometimes she seems almost to exist only as a hanger-on of the trio, so it's nice to get a reminder that she has a life apart from them, which obviously she must.

Author's Response: Hey there! So I'm actually the most embarrassed about this one. I know my tenses got messed up at the end of it.

At the same time, I really, really dove into Ginny's past and her own story with this one. I'm glad you agree about how she felt so isolated in her first year at school. I think that would carry over - and I also noticed that Ginny is almost never mentioned hanging out with the Gryffindor girls in her year. She is always either with Luna, Hermione or a boy. So, I concluded that she and Luna were best friends.

Haha - yeah, maybe a bit young for mascara (although I see some young girls wearing makeup these days).

After writing this, it is totally my head canon that Ginny and Luna were best friends and that is why Lily's middle name is Luna :)

Thanks so much for this review! - and ALL of them.

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #2, by MargaretLane Ginny and Fred

1st March 2015:
Shouldn't it be "a week's time," rather than "a weeks time"?

You've written that letter really well. It sounds convincing as a letter from Hogwarts and they can be hard to write. And it makes sense that the incoming Seventh years would need to discuss options with their head of house, as they probably wouldn't have covered any of the N.E.W.T. course in Muggle Studies or Defence Against the Dark Arts. The first seemed to be nothing but propaganda and the latter involved learning Dark Arts themselves.

And again, the placing of the word "Fred" on a line on its own creates a stark feeling, almost sending a shiver down my spine. It just reminds us so clearly of what she's lost.

And I love the way she doesn't feel ready to return to normal life so shortly after her brother's death and all the other awful things that have happened.

Ginny and Mrs. Weasley seem to be taking Fred's death worse than the others, probably because they have less to distract them.

And I like the idea of the trio taking part in the rebuilding of Hogwarts before they begin the rest of their lives.

LOVE the details about Fred's methods of degnoming and his teaching Ginny to break into the shed. Both sound SO like him.

I think the fact she's crying is a good sign. It sounds like she's been kind of numb all along and getting the emotion out might help her.

The part about her and Fred racing to the broomshed while everybody else is still in bed made me smile. It's so siblingy.

I was expecting it to be George, when she thought she saw Fred.

Author's Response: Hi there!

Thanks again - I'm glad you liked this one as well. I picked to write about this because I hadn't seen a story done about Fred's death from Ginny's POV. I've seen Harry, Ron and Molly, but not Ginny. I was so happy to see that you picked up on all my little details - I really did try to think through what everyone would be doing the summer after the war. It made sense that Harry (at least) would be at Hogwarts. He always felt that was his home away from home and his sense of duty to the wizarding world was so strong that he would probably feel obligated to help rebuild. I think you're right about Molly and Ginny not having the distractions.

Haha - yeah, I thought people would figure it was George, but it's Harry!

Thanks again!

♥ Beth



 Report Review

Review #3, by MargaretLane Ginny and Arnold

1st March 2015:
OK, I think I meant to read this before, actually, but didn't get around to it.

I think it should be "dragged," not "drug" in the first line.

I love your use of language. That "every night" is such a simple sentence and yet, the way it stands alone makes it stark and almost ominous.

And the next paragraph confirms that ominous impression when it mentions her nightmares. In some ways, the tone here reminds me of the first chapter of "Actions Speak Louder than Words" and you know how much I love that.

And it definitely makes sense that students would be having nightmares that year. It must have been horrific.

Oooh, that bite sounds pretty nasty. And yeah, considering the year that's in it and how many students probably need to see Madame Pomfrey as a result of being tortured or as a result of trauma, going to her over a bite would probably seem a bit like wasting her time.

Wasn't attendance at Hogwarts compulsory that year? And weren't the Snatchers going after kids that didn't go? I thought they mentioned something about somebody being a truant at one point.

Poor Ginny. It seems like the stress is getting to her a little, which is hardly surprising. She and her friends are being tortured, one of her friends is being held captive and her brother and the guy she's in love with have disappeared and she has no idea if they're in danger.

Oh! And on top of that, she feels the other students are depending on her, and she's really only a kid herself still. Poor, poor girl.

Author's Response: Hi there!

Wow! Thanks for reading this short story collection, but I have a confession to make. Since I wrote this for the House Cup, it was done really, really quickly and I've never gone back to edit any of the stories. I know there are lots of grammatical errors and I've even got some issues with present vs. past tense in one of the stories. *hides behind the couch*

But your wonderful reviews have made me want to go back and revisit these. I really did enjoy writing them so much. I felt so connected to Ginny by the end of it. She really did have a hard job - always being left behind and wanting so much to be part of the action must've been truly frustrating for her.

Thanks so much for your kind words!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #4, by Super Santa Ginny and Luna

28th December 2014:
Hello-ho-ho!!

You know, I think this was my favorite of the three. I always wondered about Ginny and Luna's friendship, how they got together at first and kept this friendship going and I think you made a rather good point in this story.
The starting point is great; of course Ginny would seem strange to her co-gryffindors considering her last year where she hadn't been herself and the maturity she must have gained from that experience would make her much more mature than the rest of her classmates.

Also, I remember being 12 and going through the exact same thing. In the bathroom and hearing some girls talk badly about another girl in my class (not about me though); after hearing that, I went to talk to the girl and she became my best friend - still is to this day.

So maybe that's why I love this story so much, it hit very close to my personal life and reminded me of one of the most important friendship I have.

Have a good end of holidays (almost half way over already!!)

Author's Response: Hi there Super Santa!

This is my favorite too! I really loved writing about Ginny and the story about Lily Luna - well... I just couldn't pass it up.

Ugh! Oh no - that's awful that you heard those girls talking - but I guess it ended well! I'm so glad you're friends still!

Thanks so much for this - and all your reviews!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #5, by Super Santa Ginny and Fred

26th December 2014:
Ho ho ho! Super Santa is here again!!

Sorry if it took a few days, as you know, I've been pretty occupied in the since the 24th but now that I've had a short rest, I can get back to this great little collection of stories!

About this specific sotry, I really, really enjoyed it. I though you found the perfect emotionnal tone and balance as well. I love how you set the tone at the beginning and gave an overview of how the Weasley's were coping with the loss of one of their own. It felt totally believable that each of them would react the way you write it.

I also thought the trigger point was brilliant. Searching for her carreer and finding a way to move on with her pain and sadness (well, not completly of course but at least progress a little).

I really enjoyed this story, nicely written and original, good job!!

Author's Response: Hi there Super Santa,

I really love all these reviews - and I love getting feedback on this story. Like I said, not very many people have read and reviewed this one.

Thanks so much Santa!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #6, by Super Santa Ginny and Arnold

22nd December 2014:
Hello and merry Christmas! I hope you are having a great holiday and enjoy time with your loved ones as well as all the delicious food that comes with this time of year.

I really enjoyed this little story and how it was kind of the darker side of friendship shown in it. Your take was really good because it is so true that our friends make us angry at times but we never stop loving them. I really liked how your describeday the mood of the castle during the war and how it affected the different students.

Another Creevey? You have no idea how much I love this! And especially since he seems just like his older brothers.

I had a really good time reading this, the writing was clean and no grammatical errors jumped at me. The pace was also interesting and kept me wanting more (in a good way because you delivered!). Great little story!

Santa

Author's Response: Hi Super Santa!

Eep! Thanks for choosing this story. It doesn't get as much attention and I really liked writing it.

Yay! You liked my Steven Creevey character - not everyone was a fan. I wanted to have someone that Ginny could verbally attack that would make Colin mad enough to hex her. It had to be another brother.

Thanks again, Santa!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #7, by Panda Weasley  Ginny and Luna

19th October 2014:
Hi Beth!
I love this chapter a ton! I think it's super super sweet and I love being able to see Ginny and Luna's friendship and how they even became friends in the first place. I really like how the whole friendship started by them being teased in the Girls Bathroom. I like that they joined forces and became life long friends.

I think it was also a really nice touch that you showed their friendship throughout the years they were at Hogwarts and on. I also really like how the story ended with Harry telling Luna that they gave Lily her name. I think that was a really sweet touch, and that he broke all the traditions to do so. I like to think that Luna was at the Potter's house a lot and playing with the kids. "No Jamesie, Dirigible Plums don't go on your head. Lily watch out there is a Wrackspurt above you." I can almost see her being their so often she was practically a Potter herself. I mean she almost already is, isn't she? Oh well I'm getting hopelessly off task aren't I?

I really like this story, but I have one little thing I would change. This story contains 4 memories, but only 1 of them is after Hogwarts. I understand that you are doing only really key points in Ginny and Luna's friendship, but I think the story might flow better if there was more than just one memory from after Hogwarts. That's only a suggestion though, you don't have to do it if you don't want to.

I really liked this story, I love reading all your stories in fact! Marvelous job!
~Panda

Author's Response: Hi there Panda!

Yay - another one of your awesome reviews ♥

I was so, so glad to see that you got to the end of this set of one-shots. I'm really proud of this one. I really, really got to think a lot about Ginny while writing these - but because of the time limit, I need to go back and edit them a bit. I'm so glad that you see Luna as practically a Potter - she was really close with both Harry and Ginny. I think most people assume that Lily Luna was named because of Harry's relationship with Luna, but I think that Luna and Ginny were best friends - and I'm so glad that I got the chance to show that a bit.

I never really thought about the fact that I showed three memories during Hogwarts and only one after. Hmmm... I'll have to revisit that.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #8, by Panda Weasley  Ginny and Fred

5th October 2014:
Hi Beth!
I love this chapter a lot. I love the way you show Ginny and her families experience after Fred's death. A lot of stories just show George, but I like hearing about the rest of the families story.

I really love how many things around the burrow remind Ginny of Fred. I think it was a really nice touch to share her memories of him. It was really sweet. I also like how she gets back into flying, and that's how she works past the pain of his death.

This short story is really sweet. I love it. You can really tell from reading your writing that you are a talented writer. I can't wait to read more of your work!

Excellent job,
~Panda
(B vs. B RB)

Author's Response: Hey there,

I'm so glad you liked this story. I really enjoyed writing it. I thought so many people focus on how Fred's death would affect George, Ron or Molly, but what about Ginny? She was always the one left behind and this time... it was just too much.

Grieving can be so hard. Everything reminds you of the person and sometimes it is soft and sweet and others it just swallows you up. I'm glad you liked how she got into flying! I liked adding that part to the end!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #9, by Panda Weasley  Ginny and Arnold

3rd October 2014:
Hi Beth!
I love this cute little story. I don't think a lot of people write about Ginny's perspective during the war. I thought it was really interesting! I love the way you tell about Ginny's day and her interactions with the rest of the students. I thought the part with Steven and Colin was interesting to. It's not something one would normally see Ginny doing but when you get the details about what her day had been like so far it makes sense.

I think my favorite part was at the end with Arnold. He started out her day bad, but then at the end made her happy. I love the personality you give him, he sounds so adorable! I wish I had a pygmy puff...

There is one part that is a little odd that I noticed. When you are first introducing Steven you say he is a first year. In the next sentence you say hi is a second year. That's just a little error, easy to fix, just wanted to point it out to you.

Something else I noticed that was odd was the whole thing with Steven Creevey. From the books we just hear about Colin and Dennis Creevey. Colin would be in his 6th year (with Ginny) and Dennis would be in his 4th. It's never mentioned that there is another Creevey brother. If he was a 2nd year, he would have been at Hogwarts for Harry's 6th year. Also, if the Creeveys are muggle born wouldn't they be in hiding? They would be able to be at Hogwarts.

I'm sorry that I noticed this, because now it throws your whole story off! I know how much that sucks. If you want, PM me and I can help you fix it. Sorry.

Overall I thought this story was really good! I can't wait to read the other chapters but I'm going to contain my excitement so I can review for you later on in review battles. I love reading your stories, you are a very talented writer!

Excellent work!
~Panda

Author's Response: Hi Panda!

I really enjoyed writing about Ginny during the war - and I think you're right, most people don't consider her perspective. That was really appealing to me and why I chose to give her some attention for this set of one-shots.

But I have to say, that I think these are my absolute *worst* stories on the site. There was a deadline for The House Cup *and* a word limit, so I was really pressed on each of these. To be honest, I think this is my least favorite of the three.

Yeah, I know about my discrepancies about the Creeveys. I did create Stephen, because I needed a first year for Ginny to hex - AND I also needed someone who would feel the need to protect that person.

I am fully intending on going back and rewriting each of these. I know I can make them better - maybe I will completely take out the Creevey brothers.

Thanks so much for the compliment about my writing - even though this is my worst story, I'm so glad you still liked it!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #10, by 800 words of heaven Ginny and Arnold

9th August 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

I was going to read another chapter of Hurricane Luna, but I thought I'd give this a go instead. I don't often read stories about Ginny, and one does not find many set during the seventh book.

I thought this was a really interesting idea, using Arnold's unusual behaviour as a spring board for starting up the DA. Tensions are running high - even the pygmy puffs are feeling the pressure.

I felt as if Ginny's characterisation was a little OOC - but not a lot. Obviously she was under a lot of pressure, and everyone was expecting her to have all the answers when she didn't and on top of it all she wasn't sleeping properly and having a terrible day, but she seemed a little... harsh. But everyone is entitled to have an off day from time to time!

My favourite part of this was the beginning, when you were describing her nightmares and that place between awake and asleep. It was very lovely to read.

Lovely story! I really enjoyed this "a day in the life of a war zone" type of writing :)

Author's Response: Hi hi!

I've been on a bit of a Ginny kick lately, mostly through this story. I'll admit this chapter, of the three is my least favorite. I intend to go through an edit each of these.

Ginny is a character who likes the action. She is a true Gryffindor and an incredibly talented witch at that. However, the role she is forced to play in her sixth year requires patience, silent strength and support for the fellow classmates. Most of this is not in her nature. I tried to show "a day in the life of" when it just gets to be too much for her. I wanted to portray a day where things just got worse and worse and it was the unconditional love of a pet that gave her the grit she needed to pull through for her friends.

Thanks so much for this review!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #11, by toomanycurls Ginny and Fred

7th August 2014:
Now, I'm sure I validated this. Right? Maybe (don't go back and check in case I'm wrong)...

my initial review for this was "love love love love" but I decided to point out things I really like.

I feel like there's something carthatic about being able to go back to a hobby like flying after a tragic event. You did a great job showing how the act of flying let Ginny regain a bit of her old self and have the gumption to move on.

You also made this painfully sad without having to push too hard on my feels. I really felt Ginny's grief and her need to find meaning after her brother's death. I like that she was able to process some of her feelings but didn't completely resolve them. You brought her to a realistic place after the time on her broom.

Harry and Ginny's interaction was great as well. I love that they're still a bit tentative around each other but there are definite feelings there.

This was a lovely piece!!

-Rose

Author's Response: Hi Rose!

So excited to see you reviewed this ♥

I really enjoyed writing this piece, although I would like to go back and edit it a bit more, but I was happy overall with the way it turned out. I've really come to love Ginny's character over the past few months and I think she gets extremely undersold for the value she adds to her family and Harry's life. At some point, I think I might write a longer version of Ginny's struggles - and triumphs.

I was worried that the little bit at the end of Harry was coming off as too cliched, but I couldn't help myself with the sugary sweetness of Harry and Ginny!

Thanks for this review Rose!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #12, by Dianainga Ginny and Luna

27th July 2014:
This made me cry! We know from Deathly Hallows, how much friends meant to Luna...and for Harry and Ginny to name their daughter after Luna was the highest compliment. I loved this chapter and I love Luna!

Author's Response: Hello again!

I wrote these three one shots for a challenge on the forums and now it is in my head canon that Ginny and Luna were indeed best friends. I skimmed back through the books and found that they were often written together and ginny, although described as popular, is almost never with another girl (except Hermione). I'm so taken with this fact that I think I might write a few more stories with Ginny and Luna! Thanks for taking the time to review. Sorry I made you cry, but your kind words made my day!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #13, by Beeezie Ginny and Luna

11th July 2014:
Oh, ouch.

I'd never given much thought to how the events of CoS would affect how Ginny was perceived by her classmates, but now that you've brought it up - of course it would. Given how much time she spent possessed by Voldemort, I'm sure she wasn't making a lot of friends, especially since she seemed to be withdrawn and quiet the rest of the time. And then, of course, she was kidnapped into the Chamber itself, and when she came back for her second year, she already had to play catch up because everyone else had established their friendships the year before.

Given how odd Luna was perceived to be all through her Hogwarts career, I can definitely see their friendship getting its initial start because some nasty girls in their year were gossiping about them (though it did seem a little odd that twelve year olds would be talking about mascara and people looking "boyish").

The little snippet about the Department of Mysteries was also terrific. You captured both Ginny and Luna perfectly, I think - I could practically hear Luna's voice in my head talking about her earrings while Death Eaters swarmed around them. Ditto the bit at the Battle of Hogwarts, and I absolutely loved the ending part, where Luna discovers that Harry and Ginny's daughter is going to be named after his mother and her.

This was beautiful. Great job.

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Hello again.

Wow - THREE fantastic reviews. Thank you so much! My new head canon is that Ginny and Luna are/were best friends from Hogwarts. I had so much fun writing this (I feel like I was trying to PROVE that they were best friends through this story - haha).

I know that Ginny was often described as "popular." But she is rarely mentioned as being with any other girls (Gryffindor girls) except Luna. Most stories have Ginny being best friends with Hermione. I think they were friends, but Hermione was really, really busy with studying - and keeping Harry and Ron out of trouble.

I also always felt kind of bad that all of Harry and Ginny's kids were named for people who were important to Harry. Of course he would want to honor his loved ones that would never be around to meet his children, but I mean honestly, can Ginny at least have ONE MIDDLE NAME TO PICK???

Thanks again, I loved all of these reviews from you!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #14, by Beeezie Ginny and Fred

11th July 2014:
I love the way you handled the aftermath of the war in this one-shot - because you're absolutely right! Voldemort getting defeated ended the war, but it didn't end the suffering. I can definitely see why Ginny thought that once the war was over, everything would be okay... but it wasn't. I don't think it would have been even if Fred hadn't died, but especially since he did, the war probably won't ever really, truly end for her. It certainly won't for her mother - the metaphor of each of them being stuck in giant bubbles that they couldn't pop was both brilliant and incredibly, incredibly sad.

Fred haunts the house they grew up in together - there's no way around that. And, I thought that it was really, really interesting that you depicted everyone else as basically spending as much time out of the house as possible. It's a great way of subtly acknowledging the fact that everyone grieves differently.

However, while I thought that you did a great job at portraying the grief, I also felt like you did a terrific job at portraying the beginnings of Ginny being able to cope with it. The idea that she would use flying - something that both she and Fred loved to do - to help herself process his death was ingenious, and I thought that Harry's appearance at the end was a great example of how a simple affirmation of life can help people to process the deaths even of those closest to them.

This was a great one-shot.

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Thanks so much for this lovely review! I was so relieved to see that you liked it. Grief is always tricky to write. It is easy to land to far over the mark or fall just short of believable. I think this is the piece that I worked the hardest on, of the three.

So glad you liked the part with Harry! That just came to me and I thought it might be a bit over the top with fluffiness for a dramatic piece, but I just couldn't take it out. I think that Ginny AND Harry needed each other to overcome their own demons from the war and I really liked that I found a way to show the very beginnings of that.

Thanks again, Branwen. This review made my day!


 Report Review

Review #15, by Beeezie Ginny and Arnold

11th July 2014:
I really don't read enough fics about the time Ginny, Neville, etc had at Hogwarts while Harry, Ron, and Hermione were off searching for the Horcruxes. It's a side story that actually really intrigues me, so I was really happy to see that this was about it. (I'm trying to review all the Ravenclaw entries, at the very least. We'll see how successful I am!)

I thought that you covered Ginny's emotional state with amazing insight. This was such a stressful time for her - she had no idea whether her (ex-ish)-boyfriend, brother, and close friend were okay or even quite what they were doing, and I can absolutely see that uncertainty being made a million times worse because the people around her would assume that she did know more about the situation than she really did.

That her poor mood started because her pet bit her also struck me as really realistic. When you're under a huge amount of stress, it really doesn't take much to set you off. But I also liked that it was resolved, to some extent, when she was able to take concrete action to that end - I feel like paralysis and feeling helpless are often even more debilitating than the situation itself.

A little bit of cc - I wasn't sure that it was necessary to have a "Steven Creevey." It's certainly possible that there was a third Creevey brother, but given that the Creeveys were Muggleborn, it seemed unlikely that a third brother would also happen to be a wizard - and are we sure that the Creeveys were around Hogwarts in DH, anyway? I know Colin died, but I always assumed that he just came back because he was summoned by the DA coins, not because he'd been there from the start.

That's super minor, of course, and overall, this was an excellent story! I just thought I'd point that out. :)

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Hello!

So sorry that I'm just getting to this. The house cup is now over and I am freed up a bit. I'm so glad you liked this. I had to write it under a deadline (obviously) and I know it isn't my best work, but I agree that there is definitely a story to be explored about those that were left behind at Hogwarts during the Trio's seventh year. Especially for Ginny. I know that a lot of people don't think of her as a brave character or worthy of Harry, but I think there is a different kind of bravery at being the one who has to stay behind and "hold down the fort." Ginny was fabulous at this.

The reason that I created Stephen Creevey is because I needed a reason for Colin to want to hex Ginny. He was so affable that I thought the only thing that would make him angry enough was for her to lose her temper with his little brother. Dennis Creevey was only a hear behind Colin and Ginny and I didn't think Colin would be as protective of him. I'm actually not sure about the Creeveys being at Hogwarts during that year... you may be right about that.

Thanks again!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #16, by UnluckyStar57 Ginny and Luna

10th July 2014:
Wow, girls can be so incredibly mean. :/

I'm glad that it was the catalyst that forged Luna and Ginny's friendship, though. They are unlikely friends, but they work. You know, I never thought about how they became friends until I read this. I think I like your version of events. :)

This was really fantastic throughout. I like the way you moved through the events over the years--the Department of Mysteries, the Battle of Hogwarts, et cetera. The only problem I saw was that in January 2008, you switched from past tense to present tense. You might want to check that section for continuity. :)

Great story collection! Go Ravenclaw! :D

House Cup 2014 Review

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hi again!

I know what you mean about the tenses! I noticed that after I submitted the chapter and I didn't go back in and change it because I wanted to get it validated for The House Cup. I will fix it at some point - it's on my list.

I really thought a lot about Ginny and Luna when writing this - and even looked up some scenes in the books. Ginny is almost never mentioned with any other girl other than Luna or Hermione. I figured she got on better with the boys (having six brothers) and Luna and Ginny probably both needed a friend at the same time. I really think that Lily Luna was named because Ginny wanted to honor her best friend.

Thanks so much for reading/reviewing ALL of my House Cup entries!


 Report Review

Review #17, by UnluckyStar57 Ginny and Fred

10th July 2014:
Oh no... Ginny and Fred. So sad. :/

But I like that she's remembering the happy times while she's flying, because it seems that staying in the house just makes her sad. It looks like she was better friends with Fred than George--although the twins were very similar, Fred and Ginny might have had more in common. I feel sad that Ginny is so torn up about his death, but it makes a lot of sense. He was her brother. :/

The Trio rebuilding Hogwarts? That's awesome! I never gave much thought to how Hogwarts would be rebuilt, but it seems like a good job for the war veterans. They watched their beloved castle fall, and now they get to watch it rise again. :)

Another great chapter!

House Cup 2014 Review

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hi UnluckyStar57 - so glad you liked this. It was a little tough to write - with all the emotion and pain that Ginny is going through. When I looked up in the books the time that they mention that Ginny is good at Quidditch, it was a scene where George was talking to Harry and Hermione - so I had Fred be the one who actually helped Ginny break into the broomshed. It worked well for my story. Thanks again!



 Report Review

Review #18, by UnluckyStar57 Ginny and Arnold

10th July 2014:
Awww, Arnold the Pygmy Puff!

For a minute, I forgot who Arnold was, but this reminded me. :) It's hard to picture a Pygmy Puff with teeth--they're so fluffy and adorable! But I guess that everything in the magical world is dangerous, Pygmy Puffs included.

The bite was just the beginning of Ginny's bad day. I really found it awful that she Silenced Steven, but her temper must've been raging pretty terribly. And then the homework! And the punishment! Ugh! I hope this all turns around in the next chapter!

I think Arnold helped out with his cuteness at the end, though. :D

Very well-written! Now I'm going to go see what happens next. :)

House Cup 2014 Review

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Haha! I had to look up Arnold's name - I kept calling him "Albert!" I actually had to write it down next to my computer because I kept typing the wrong name when I was writing this!

I'm glad that you picked up that the the bite was just the beginning. My goal was to have the bad day just get worse and worse until Ginny was at her wits end and then to have Arnold make it all better.

Thanks for this lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #19, by evil little devil Ginny and Luna

9th July 2014:
Oh wow, I think this one was my favourite! It was just so sweet. I loved their first meeting in the bathroom, where Luna made Ginny's anger disappear so easily. You really captured Luna's way of looking at the world in that moment, I think. She's not always the easiest character to write, but I think you wrote her spot on!
I love this friendship! I always wondered how they met, and how close they were. The battle scene was so well written. You really drew me right into that moment, and the action was so well done (I'm incredibly jealous!). The sheer relief they felt when Harry appeared brought tears to my eyes, you made me so invested in the story.
I love that you linked the naming of Ginny's daughter to Ginny. I had always just kind of assumed it was more Harry's influence, because I loved the friendship that developed between him and Luna in OOTP - but I love the idea that Ginny was as close, if not closer to Luna as well.
This was just really, really lovely. It was a real delight to read!

- House Cup 2014 Review.

Author's Response: Hi!

Wow. This review was awesome! I'm so glad you liked this one the best! I actually went through a few of the books to see when Luna had been written and she is almost always with Ginny. I thought about it for a long time and decided that they must've been best friends. Ginny is almost never shown with any other girls (other than Hermione). She seemed to get on much better with the boys - probably because she had six brothers.

For the ending and naming Harry and Ginny's daughter after Luna - I realized that both boys were named for men who were significant mostly to Harry. I think that when it came time for their daughter, Ginny would really want her best friend to be honored.

Thanks again - all three of these reviews were such a treat to me! ♥

~Beth


 Report Review

Review #20, by evil little devil Ginny and Fred

9th July 2014:
This was amazing! You're doing so perfectly with Ginny's characterisation, I absolutely adore it. You're exploring her grief really well too, and how she would go about trying to reconstruct her life after such a terrible loss. I really enjoy stories that are set immediately following the war, exploring how the characters would go about rebuilding their lives after such horrible things had happened to them.
I love that this was how she realised what she wanted to do with her life. Being reminded of Fred, and then flying again after so long. It was beautiful!
That line about her and Molly floating around in separate bubbles, unable to pop it to get to each other - that was beautiful, that sometimes, no matter how much you want to comfort someone or be comforted by someone, it's just not always possible.
This was just so well written. I felt like I was there with her, realising that there is a light at the end of a tunnel, a way forward through all of this grief and pain.

- House Cup 2014 Review.

Author's Response: Hi again!

I'm so glad that you reviewed each of these one-shots. I felt like they got better as I moved along. I kind of grew with Ginny a little bit. This one was a little difficult to write. I knew that everyone would have been so devastated by Fred's death - especially Molly and George, but I wanted to show it from Ginny's perspective. Like you said, sometimes you are so caught up in your own grief, you just can't see past it to help others. I also thought the flying thing worked well for Ginny, as we know she becomes a professional Quidditch player. Remembering how flying always felt for Harry and that Ginny probably liked it equally well, that was a good way to help her overcome this particular low point in her life.

Thanks so much!

~Beth


 Report Review

Review #21, by evil little devil Ginny and Arnold

9th July 2014:
This was fabulous! I really love your characterisation of Ginny - I can definitely see her being enraged at the situation, and feeling rather isolated, especially once she's separated from Luna as well as the trio. This is the kind of story that could totally slip straight into canon - and I love stories like those. They're like extra special little glimpses into the lives of the characters we know and love so well.
This is such a great backstory for how the DA was reformed! I loved watching Ginny struggle with all the expectations that had been placed on her, and then coming up with a solution for them.
This was really great! It was a treat to read :)

- House Cup 2014 Review.

Author's Response: Hello!

Thanks so much for this review! I feel like I wrote the story so quickly to get it validated for The House Cup and I want to go back and edit it. I really appreciated your kind words! I though a great deal about Ginny while writing these three pieces and it just dawned on me that she probably had it pretty rough during her sixth year at Hogwarts. She didn't know where Harry, Ron and Hermione were; her parents were being tracked by the ministry; EVERY SINGLE family member was part of the Order (except her) AND she was completely away from her family for the first time in her life. To top it all off, people at school probably assumed she KNEW something about Harry or what was going on with the war when she really didn't. All of that, compounded with her fiery temper probably had her right on the edge most days.

I was so excited to see that you felt it could slip right into canon. That is quite a compliment.

Thanks again!

~Beth


 Report Review

Review #22, by HeyMrsPotter Ginny and Arnold

8th July 2014:
Hello!

After the House Cup story event, I now have such a huge fondness for Pygymy Puffs since reading lovely stories like this one!

What I love about yours is that Arnold is the catalyst for an event that we know happens in the books, the DA reuiniting. I think you've got a really accurate portrayal of the castle whilst it was in the hands of the Death Eaters. There's an underlying threat that you subtly hint to, and I really liked how you spoke about the mood of the staff as well as those of the children. Poor Ginny having to deal with all of that on top her her firends and the boy she loves and her brother being absent! I'm so glad that Arnold made her not only feel better but also inspired her to use the Room of Requirement and get the DA back together.

I absolutely thoroughly enjoyed this :D

Dee -House Cup 2014 review Educational Decree #4

Author's Response: Hi Dee - another lovely review from you! This story was my least favorite of the three that I wrote for the house cup, as it did not come out as finished as I would have liked. I'm glad you enjoyed it. My goal was to portray Ginny's side of things. She was very passionate but always told that she was too young to fight alongside the others. That must've caused great frustration, compounded by the fact that she was separated from her family for the first time in her life.

Thanks again - I really appreciated your kind words!


 Report Review

Review #23, by patronus_charm Ginny and Luna

7th July 2014:
Ok, I this chapter has to be my favourite one because all the feels!! ♥

I really loved the first section as it was just so unexpected yet made so much sense. I always forget that Ginny was rather mad in her first year, so thatís probably why I forget that others would probably tease her and I liked that you included as it helped me understand and relate to her a little more than I would have done before. I really loved that scene with Luna too and how Luna was the one to help her through it, as it was really sweet seeing them together from such a young age.

I think the two battle sections were the most emotional as they really were on the edge of living and dying if that makes sense so itís no wonder that the two of them were drawn together in it. I really liked how you showed that they both helped the other carrying on fighting through it, because it made me wonder if they both would have survived otherwise.

Omg, I think the last section brought me to tears when they announced the name as it was just so sweet and so adorable to see that Ginny had realised how much they had been through together and how Luna really did know her, so honouring her with her daughterís middle name was a lovely touch. Gah, this was so emotional but perfect! ♥

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

Author's Response: Kiana!

Three wonderful reviews in a row - thank you so much!! I actually went back through a few of the books to read about Ginny and Luna and I've come to the conclusion that they were indeed best friends (it's my headcanon now - there is no changing it). They are frequently written together and Ginny is rarely written with another girl (except Hermione). They also battle along side each other both at the department of mysteries and in the final battle. I think that it was Ginny more so than Harry that wanted to name their first girl to honor Luna. Although Harry and Luna were close, I believe that Ginny and Luna had a very special relationship.

Thanks again Kiana - all of your reviews were so lovely!


 Report Review

Review #24, by patronus_charm Ginny and Fred

7th July 2014:
Hi Beth!

Ah, so many feels I donít know what to do! I thought you dealt with the horror and shock of Fredís death brilliantly and I really felt and believed everything Ginny was going through and I felt as if I was suffering along with her. What I think was so effective was how she kept on referring back to past events and how Fred was there, and how everything was happy then and now he was gone and that just heightened his loss even more so.

I really loved Harry and Ginny together and I thought you wrote them together really well and I was really cheering on them on even they I donít usually. Just everything about them felt so natural and so real from their dialogue to the way Harry just seemed to know what Ginny was going through and knew what to say and that was really sweet. Though just to say quickly, when she thought that Harry might have been Fred I think I broke down then as I just like why, Fred, why are you gone and went on a massive sobbing first.

But this was lovely despite the sort of angst fest! ♥

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

Author's Response: Kiana!

I'm so glad I gave you an angst fest! I mean, I'm not glad I made you feel bad, but the fact that my story moved you like that is one of the highest compliments for a writer!

And with Ginny - no less! I know that you don't like her character, but I thought a great deal about how the war would've affected her. She was so fiery and passionate and it must've just drove her INSANE to have to stay back and wait.

And then Fred died.

Ginny was the youngest and the shock of losing a loved one probably hit her fairly hard. She was somewhat expected to take care of Molly, but she just couldn't.

Thanks for the compliment about Harry and Ginny together. I was worried that was going to come off as too cliched, but so far people seem to like it!

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #25, by patronus_charm Ginny and Arnold

7th July 2014:
Hi Beth!

I really enjoyed reading this as it was really interesting to see how Ginny was coping with the pressures of the war going and leading a secret revolt against the school. You showed that really well with the way she kept on freaking out to certain things such as poor Steven Creevey, though it did make me laugh a little how these Creevey people just never seem to learn when no means no.

Another thing which was really cool was Arnold, as he was surprisingly cute as I wouldnít expect a pygmy puff to be so cute! I really liked how close the two of them were and how he was sort of her anchor of calm in all of this chaos as it was just really cute to see. Especially so in the final scene where theyíre cuddling together!

Onto the next chapter :D

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

Author's Response: Hi Kiana,

Thanks for this review. I wrote each of these stories so fast and I will go back and edit them at some point, but I was so glad to see that my main point got across.

Yeah - the Creevey brothers are annoying. I needed a reason for Colin to hex Ginny and since they were good friends, I figured the only way was if she had attacked a family member!
Thanks again!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>