Reading Reviews for Always
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by mymischiefmanaged Immeasurable

22nd July 2014:
I loved your comparison of Remus's death to his transformations. It's a poignant reminder of the way he (justifiably) saw his werewolf state as completely separate to his human state, and it gave you the opportunity to give a really unique description of the moment of death.

Is the picture of James and Lily standing behind first year Harry somehow connected to what Harry sees in the Mirror of Erised? It made me think of it. Even if not, it's a lovely touch.

I laughed at Sirius saying Lily would get the most use of the skillet to hit James around the head - it's so completely in character for Sirius and is also very Remus that he'd remember it.

James and Sirius still sharing their extremely close friendship is lovely, and it's also lovely that this in no way detracts from the fact they both so clearly value Remus's friendship. It doesn't matter that he's not part of their duo. That doesn't get in the way.

Remus crying when he realises what's happened is spot on but still very upsetting.

I love how you've cast James as protector. It's how I really want him to be, and is a perfect counterbalance to Sirius's humour.

It's a very bittersweet ending, for all the obvious reasons and of course because this isn't how old times were for them. Peter isn't there so it can't quite feel normal. But then that's far from the only unusual thing about their situation so it doesn't matter.

I really loved reading this and will definitely come back to read more of your work.

Emma x

Author's Response: Howdy! Thanks for the wonderfully kind review!

One of the things I definitely wanted to do from the get go was make the transition different from what you normally see. I have enjoyed seeing everyone's varying reactions to it. For me it largely comes from my vision that the "afterlife" could actually be in some ways more of a "second" life - fundamentally different of course, but a lot like living still.

You are the first person to mention the Mirror of Erised reference! I definitely didn't think it was thinly veiled, but you're the first to comment on it and that made me happy! I wanted to incorporate that specifically as it ties with James's mention that Lupin will be able to sense when Teddy needs him and be able to see into his life at only certain moments and I also wanted there to be a way for James and Lily to have a "family photo" featuring an older Harry, and this was the only real opportunity.

I'm definitely glad you liked the characterizations and the story over all!

Thanks again for the kind review! I would love to hear from you again soon!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Karou_Marauder Immeasurable

14th July 2014:
Hey there!

I really like the start, how Remus describes the transmission (is that the right word?) between life and death. It's the way I'd imagine him to describe it, relating to books and stuff.

Haha, I love that little bit about the skillet. It gives us an insight to the Potters' lives and what they're characters are like, which totally fits with my headcannon.

I feel so bad for Remus, pulled out before he can live a whole life with Dora and Teddy. Teddy...gah, it's too sad! You convey that really well though, Remus's emotions and thoughts about them.

It's so sweet how James is the protector. It's an interesting side to him - I'm taking a shrewd guess that you think it was James's idea to become Animagi? That's probably wrong, but it's a nice characterisation in this story anyway.

That made no sense, did it? :P

Anyway, I love the ending scene and how they're gambling for old times' sake.

-Karou

(PS. It's really nice to be able to leave a review without worrying about the length, isn't it? :P)

Author's Response: Howdy Karou!

I'm really glad you like the transition. I wanted to do something a bit different with it that was not overused or cliche, so hopefully I did that.

And oh, the skillet. For some reason I think Lupin would've been broke before the wedding and mostly alone but would know that James would not have thought of cooking and Lily might've had other wishes so he wanted to look out for them. Honestly, it was a bit of a device to draw some lines in the characterizations of each Marauder, but I'm glad you enjoyed it!

As for James being the protector - I definitely think it was his idea to become animagi. My idea of James is that beneath the bravado and pranking, there was immense talent, loyalty, and a wealth of emotion for those who were important to him. Sirius on the other hand I view as more WYSIWYG. With his whole family situation, I imagine he would've been completely sick of not begin able to be himself and so once he was free of them he just put himself out there. And as far as the humor goes, I imagine in dark times it was his go-to coping mechanism. It inhibits him from being as close to people in those moments, but those who know him well come to accept it as a good thing and just part of who he is.

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by Pretense Of Perfection Immeasurable

12th July 2014:
What a beautiful story you've written here. Marauders stories are always my favorite, and I think you did a wonderful job at capturing the subtle nuances between the three of them, both as individuals and as a group. I really like that you didn't to the typical way of white lights and perfect peace, where there is no pain. Your setting of the afterlife was quite unique, and you made it quite convincing. It's sad to see how James and Sirius still feel the pain over their losses, but it's done in such a well-rounded way that their life after death seems a lot like life, full of both high and low points, and challenges and adversity to overcome. You did amazing with their characterization, although I am really curious to know what happened to Peter, and I think maybe Remus would be too, eventually, given that he's still adjusting to his new surroundings. I love how the three boys kind of act like nothing has changed, reverting to their old ways before James and Lily died, but the truth and weight of the world since sort of weighs on them, giving this story a very bittersweet tone and setting. Beautifully written!

--house cup 2014 review--
gryffindor

Author's Response: Ahh the Marauders! I love writing them and I'm glad you thought I did them justice!

As far as the "afterlife" goes, what I strived for was exactly what you mentioned - for it to be a lot like life - because I'd like to view it as almost a "second life". I imagine it drawing on their earthly life heavily in terms of their connections, emotions, and memories, and the world being smaller and limited to friendly faces, but still having a special ability to see and connect with loved ones across the boundary at certain points, even when it causes pain. Wow. That was a nonsensical run-on wasn't it?

Anyway, as for Peter I visualize him being in some form of horrible place. What I think might be best for him is to be forced to see these reunions and the happy times the people he betrayed in life are able to enjoy without him in death. He'll see that in time he'll be completely forgotten, but will be forced to watch it all unfold in deep anguish, with no ability to interact or atone. Am I merciless to Peter? Maybe. But I have ZERO tolerance for betrayal.

Well then. My rant is at an end now! I'm really glad you liked the story!

Thank you for such a nice review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing Immeasurable

12th July 2014:
Hey again Kevin!

Okay, you know how to pull on my heart strings don't you? I was a bit reluctant to start this when I knew what it was about just because I didn't want to end up an emotional wreck but oh well, I couldn't resist. I love your version of the Marauders.

I thought you did all the characterisation really well, but particularly Remus. Doing it from first person meant we got more from him anyway and you did it perfectly.

Your descriptions were as ever, lovely. I loved the way you described the transition to death... it worked really well for this. Then I really liked the idea that the 3 of them ended up back at James and Lily's house. It seemed really fitting.

I think this was a great idea for the prompt and I also have to commend you again for the short time you wrote it in. great job!

Lauren :)
House cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Howdy Lauren!

I'm glad you like my Marauders! I really love that era (well, the characters anyway, I'm too lazy to do detailed research about it to infuse it with cultural elements like era-appropriate attire) and when you talk about fraternal bonds, even if a million other people did it, to me the Marauders were the only option.

I'm really glad you thought I got the characterizations right and that you enjoyed the transition from what I'll call "life" to "second life" (since that's how I wanted to paint the afterlife in this).

Thanks so much for another wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Elenia Immeasurable

12th July 2014:
Hello there ^^

This was such a lovely story. Marauders are my absolute favourites from the HP world so I was really excited to read this. I wasn't disappointed!

I feel like I've been reading a lot of afterlife stories lately, but I don't really mind. The beauty about that is that they're often so different. Everyone always has their own version of what happens after death so it great to read all those different versions! And yours was excellent!

I'm glad you chose Remus's POV for this story, it worked really well. He was very much in character as were the other two Marauders, so great job on that!

The first person POV fit really well with the story ((It's funny how I think it's the easiest of them all and you say it's the more challenging one (x ))

My favourite part was the mention of Remus's wedding gift for James & Lily d:

Great work!

-Hanna

Gryffindor - House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Howdy Hanna! Thanks for the kind review!

One of my worries going into this story (along with getting the characterizations right) was it being something of an overused plot. You're definitely right that there have been a lot of afterlife stories lately (especially for the prompt) and I wanted to try to do something different with it and I'm glad you enjoyed it.

I don't usually do first-person, but since I had enjoyed success with first-person from Lupin's POV previously with Apogee, I decided to chance it - especially as I wanted to capture the feelings more deeply and have an opportunity to take a crack at the transition from life to afterlife.

I'm also glad you liked the pan. Honestly, something just made me want to put a line like that in there to lift the mood a bit, but I also think given the dark times, a relentlessly practical Remus could have actually given such a gift in theory (especially since he probably wouldn't have much money to be able to spend on it).

Thanks again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by CambAngst Immeasurable

10th July 2014:
Hi, Kevin! Getting in a few more reviews before bedtime. The most important four words of this review:

House Cup 2014 Review

Just kidding, but they are important. Anyway, on with the review.

I thought you did an awesome job with this. This is a tiny thing, but you want to know something I really appreciated a lot? The fact that you didn't identify this as a House Cup piece in your summary or in a note at the beginning. Because in the absence of that, I honestly had no idea this was written for the House Cup. And that is high praise, my friend. What I'm saying is that this didn't have that "written in a hurry to meet some arbitrary prompt(s)" feel to it. It feels like something that you'd been thinking about and wrote because you wanted to. That's pretty rare in challenge and House Cup entries.

Your description of Remus's passing was one of the most non-cliche I've ever read, and I loved that. No sudden feeling of peace, no life flashing before his eyes, so sudden flash of green followed by nothingness. Just a simple passing over from one place to the next.

I wasn't sure at first why he'd come to James and Lily's house, but it came to me pretty quickly. He was happy there. Also, James and Sirius were already there. I loved the little details, like the arrangement of the furniture and Remus's almost absurdly practical wedding gift.

Random thought of the moment: Where do you think Peter woke up after Voldemort's silver hand choked the life out of him? I'd like to think maybe in a cage in Ron Weasley's room in the attic of the Burrow on a hot, stuffy day. For all eternity...

OK, enough of my pondering, back to your story. The introductions of James and Sirius felt perfectly in character for the two of them. I'm not sure what you would have done with Lily if she'd returned from her walk, but I don't think the story loses a thing without her. This is more about old friends reunited, supporting one another.

Gah, what an awful moment when the complete, horrible truth crashes down onto Remus. He couldn't bear the weight of it without his friends. But they're there: James offering spiritual support and comfort while Sirius summons creature comfort and some good humor to help the process along.

I didn't see a single typo or grammatical problem in this and it all flowed really well. You did our house proud with this! Good job!

Author's Response: Howdy Dan! Thanks for another deliciously detailed review!

Not putting that House Cup bit in the summary was actually a mistake! At first I thought we actually HAD to have that in there, so your review kind of made me panic that this hadn't been counted, but looking back it obviously did so that was a relief! I appreciate you saying that it didn't seem rushed though! Ironically, this is actually the one I wrote the fastest, but I think that's just because I feel pretty "at home" with the Marauders and so it was more in my wheelhouse than my other two prompt pieces.

I'm glad you found the characterizations and the setting believable too. I definitely struggled with where they'd first meet because I didn't want it to be too elaborate or too cliche, but somehow James and Lily's house just felt right.

I'm also excited you liked the transition. When I thought about it, I figured that so much of what is depicted of that transition in art, film, literature, etc. seems so grandiose. My idea of the "afterlife" is something more of a "second life" and so I wanted to do something that was more of a mundane "phase switch".

As for Peter...I actually like to think that his life after death involved being on the outside looking in. That his "setting" would be basically being forced to watch how the people he betrayed strode forward, found solace, and thrived in new ways after their passing. Where was Peter in this moment? Watching the type of reunion he would never be able to be a part of. Aching unbearably.

Thanks for the great review!


 Report Review

Review #7, by maskedmuggle Immeasurable

10th July 2014:
Hey!

This was such a wonderful story. I definitely have such a soft spot for the Marauders, and I loved your portrayal of the friendship between Remus, James and Sirius. The plot of this was great and you definitely set it at such a good time that really highlighted their different characteristics. I certainly people that you succeeded in capturing the three's collective friendship as well as the individual friendships. I also did find the characters believable, particularly with Remus feeling like he had failed everyone - so canon, so great job there! What I really liked was how James and Sirius comforted Remus in different ways due to the different nature of their character. I also liked your portrayal of the afterlife of a place where they could find peace, despite the difficulties of it. Great idea for a story, and it was well written as well.

- Charlotte

Author's Response: Hello hello! You are super for reviewing all three of these! I really appreciate it!

I'm glad to hear you felt it was mission accomplished with the dimensions of friendship. That was the biggest thing I wanted to do here and I wasn't quite sure how Sirius had come off throughout. I've gotten mixed feedback on him - mostly good, but some who thought he was too flippant under the circumstances so it's good to have another person who thought he was handled well. Your comment about the different types of comfort was really what I was going for there and so it's good it came across.

Thanks for all the reviews!


 Report Review

Review #8, by randomwriter Immeasurable

10th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Hello, hello Kevin! *hugs* I don't know why, no... how I could have taken so long to get here! This one-shot is one of the best stories I've read for prompt three. I love it so much!

As you may, or may not be aware, I too did Marauders, with a focus on the friendship between Remus and Sirius, and mins is set after Sirius' death, but AH! THIS idea and the way you wrote it and the dialogue and everything!! Oh gosh, don't judge me, but I had tears forming in my eyes. I love the Marauders and I feel so sad when I think about how they never got the lives they truly deserved. It's so unfair!

As for the narrative, I know you aren't too fond of the first person style, but I LOVE it. I use it often and I find that it's easier to establish a deeper, personal connection if it's written well, which you've done. It isn't awkward or abrupt in points. It flows well and carries his thoughts out to the readers very well. I think you captured Remus very well, but I've known that you can do this after reading Apogee. You also showed how you can write dialogue very well. It's witty, effective and put a smile on my face. The ease in their banter was so sweet to read and it hurt me so much more. *sigh*

I like how you've kept the wives away from this one. As much as I'd love a full blown reunion, this focuses on their friendship and the infinite nature of the bond they shared. The time window you chose to write about was clever. It helped you showcase the prompt well.

From beginning to end, I was hooked. I couldn't stop reading this one, and throughout this I was hit with melancholic nostalgia. It was so bittersweet.

Your description of death was rather interesting. As was the part about the transition from life to death to the after life. The characteristics of after life are interesting :p (Unlimited supply of chocolate? I'd go for that YES!) But no, I value life too much and you showed how the marauders did too. Still, friends through everything, life and death. You did well, Kevin. You did :) Great story!

Author's Response: Howdy Adi! Thanks for the incredibly kind words! Being an enormous Marauders fan, writing their afterlife reunion was definitely a story close to my heart so it feels REALLY good to hear such nice things about the story!

When it comes to the first person, it's not so much that I don't like it, as it is that I'm not very experienced with it. I definitely know what you mean though about it being more personal and that's pretty much why I did it here (well, that and I was emboldened by the response to Apogee and wanted to see if I could capture Remus well AGAIN to convince myself it wasn't a fluke :p).

Hah. I had to thread the needle on the time frame didn't I? And yes, I kind of fudged Lily out a bit, but I did want it to focus on the friendship for the prompt and I thought it would be nicer if Lily wasn't about (poor Lily).

Bittersweet. I'm glad you used that word because it's exactly what I was going for with the whole mood of the piece!

And I'm glad you found the transition interesting - I wanted to do something a bit different with that moment to start the story, while still using the "fade-to-black" of death and "wake-to-white" of the afterlife, just in a different and more seamless way. Like a transference of consciousness from one plane to another in the space of a blink. Hopefully that came across.

I'm really glad to hear you liked the story and thank you so much for the incredible review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by MissesWeasley123 Immeasurable

9th July 2014:
Hello Kevin, this a House Cup 2014 Review!

Ack, the dreadful first person. SO hard to write, and almost as hard to read. One of the main reasons I stay away from it is because it's so.. personal and we aren't able to get the feelings of other characters, etc, if you get what I'm saying. This story though... this is brilliant. I am in awe of the way you've pulled it off in this story!

I think you wrote Remus really well. His subtle, kind demeanor played out really well in this,especially that moment when he's describing how he had failed, as I think in that moment, his character and true fears and emotions come out, if that makes sense.

You showed the friendship of the Marauders brilliantly. Sirius was characterized so well, and I really do think you have a knack for writing him. James was amazing too. The entire concept was interesting as it's the moment before Tonks dies as well, and then we have just the three of them, no Lily or anyone, and that was really touching.

All in all, Kevin, I am so amazed at your quality of writing in such a small period of time! It is commendable. Very nice writing, I had loads of fun reading it. Great job! ♥

Nadia
~Go Lions!

Author's Response: Howdy Nadia! Now that we're done I can finally respond to all these!

First person is definitely not my go-to choice, but for some reason it appeals to me with Lupin. I figured that it had worked well for me in Apogee and was interested to see if I could hit that again - so I'm glad you thought he was well done in this too.

I'm also psyched you thought the Marauders were all well done. It was a delicate dance with James and Sirius because I wanted them to be themselves, but also different in shades because they have (especially in James's case) been dead for some time before Remus joins them.

I'm glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for the super review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by UnluckyStar57 Immeasurable

9th July 2014:
Oh Remus Lupin...

He's probably my favorite Marauder, so I'm super happy that you wrote it from his perspective! First person PoV seems to be the most challenging--and yet, the most prevalent--PoV to write in, and I think you did a great job. You set the scene well by describing the interior of the house--but you didn't use TOO much description, which is good. First person narrators are never omniscient. :)

I also love the angle that you took to analyze the different friendships amongst the trio. Remus sometimes takes a backseat to Sirius and James' bromance, but I think it's more realistic to show that Remus also had a part in it all. I like that James is the protector--it really fits for him. And with James' guidance and Sirius' jocosity, they're going to help him to get used to the ever-after. :)

You did a brilliant job on all three of your House Cup pieces, but I think this one is my favorite. :D

House Cup 2014 Review

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hello hello hello! Thanks so much for this too!

First person POV is, believe it or not, something I don't have a huge amount of experience with, but I thought since the plot was basically Remus' transition to death where he would find his friends again, it was important to capture that from that perspective. I'm glad you thought I did a good job with the POV.

I'm also really glad you thought the friendship was handled well. Obviously that's the crux of the story, but I wanted to kind of explore the group dynamic, but also slightly how each one of James and Sirius individually connected with Remus too, so hopefully that happened.

Thanks so much for this (and all) your reviews!


 Report Review

Review #11, by evil little devil Immeasurable

8th July 2014:
I think that one of the few things that makes the tragedy of the Marauders bearable is thinking that they may be together again in death. You wrote from Remus' perspective very well, he's always been my favourite Marauder, and so it's always a delight to read about him. You really captured both his anxieties and worries, and his good heartedness in this. I loved the group dynamic you created between the three of them. The only thing that would have made this better for me - and this is completely personal opinion - is the inclusion of Peter. That's completely just me though, I know a lot of people wouldn't want him to be there because of the bad things he's done, but I quite like to think of him finding some sort of redemption and forgiveness in death. Again, that's completely personal opinion though! And this story was super enjoyable regardless. You really captured their friendship very well, and very much in the spirit of the prompt.

- House Cup 2014 Review.

Author's Response: Hello hello hello!

I'm really glad you thought I did Remus and the Marauders dynamic justice. Obviously accomplishing both was central to the story, but having not dedicated a lot of time (even in my Marauders Era novel) to exploring their dynamic in its "natural" state (i.e. not while there's something causing friction or they're planning a prank or something), I was interested to see what people thought! I'm glad you thought I did a good job with it!

Re: Peter, I actually did think about including him, though I'll admit it was not in an entirely positive way - it would have been Remus thinking briefly how he wished it were REALLY like old times and Peter were there, but then taking a hard line in his heart about the betrayal and blaming him for James and Sirius being there with him. That's probably because of me though - I prize loyalty as one of my top (if not my very top) value, and so I can't stomach the idea of him getting post-mortem redemption or forgiveness after his betrayal. Shrug.

Thanks for another wonderful review though!


 Report Review

Review #12, by patronus_charm Immeasurable

8th July 2014:
Hi Kevin! I’ve always seen you round the forums but never really had anything to do with you, so I thought I would change that and check out some of your stuff :)

Ok, I had way too many emotions going through me as I read this. There was the excitement of the Marauders all being back together again (well, apart from Peter but who really wants him around? :P) and then the sadness of nooo, Remus you’re dead and gone and left Teddy all alone and then just the general cuteness of it all, so I feel so mixed up right now but I will try and say something coherent.

I thought you wrote Remus really well and throughout this one-shot it was just so him from the little bit of reserve at the beginning, to the eating of the chocolate and always being able to read his friends so deeply and really know what’s going on in their mind. Moving on from that, I thought you wrote the Marauders so well together too, and you had this really bittersweet air going on which I thought fitted the whole story so well.

This bit – ‘‘Dora had risked everything to choose me and I had left her without a husband. And Teddy. I had failed him worst of all. I had made him a fatherless son.’ I have no words, no words as Ronks are my OTP so I was just in a ball of tears rocking to myself but it was written so well too and really did honour them!

This was a really great one-shot!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

Author's Response: Howdy Kiana! Thanks for stopping by and leaving such a wonderful review!

I'm really glad you thought the bittersweet vibe worked for the story. Obviously the Marauders' (the loyal ones) friendship transcending death was the core of the story, but I also drew some inspiration for that from what I sat down and thought I hoped the first moments of life after death would be like. A reunion where you're happy to see the people you loved who've gone before you, but where it's impossible to avoid your own sorrow for those you've left behind and the things you've left unsaid or undone.

I'm also glad you thought I did Lupin justice. I took my first crack at him in Apogee, when I was really quite intimidated by the prospect of doing such a well-liked canon character justice, and that went well and had a similar tone to this piece so I thought - why not go for it? I'm glad it worked out!

Thanks so much for the wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #13, by ohmymerlin Immeasurable

7th July 2014:
Hello again! :P

This was really sweet! I love seeing the Marauders interact and although it was so nice to see, it kind of ached that the reason they were all joined together again was because of their deaths :'(

I think you wrote Remus' character very well! I liked that you made James ache to be alive and with Harry, it seemed very believable of him. Also, your take on Sirius was interesting. To be quite honest, I felt like he was a little too immature (I know he's generally quite an immature person though) so maybe you might want to work on that a little more? Instead of having him just say, 'Ah you'll get over it/deal with it soon enough', maybe have him acknowledge that it's going to be difficult for him but still try to make him happy, if that makes any sense? :P

Anywho, this was a really nice one-shot. I quite enjoyed reading it!

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Hello again to you!

I definitely wanted this story to be bittersweet and it sounds like I accomplished that at least. I'm glad you liked the characterization of Remus.

As for Sirius, he's the one of the Marauders I probably struggle with the most. Sometimes it's hard to lock myself into his more serious side, especially when he's around James. My effort I suppose was to show Sirius as being more distant from it and being the type to go for more straight humor and normalcy as comfort while James did the heavy lifting.

Thank you very much for the feedback though! I have more Sirius to write in the novel I have going and I'll definitely keep this in mind!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Unicorn_Charm Immeasurable

6th July 2014:
Hi there!

I can't seem to keep myself away from fics involving these men, so I thought I'd review this one. :)

I absolutely loved the description of his passing here. How it's not like you see in stories. It wasn't slowed down, or with his life flashing before his eyes, or any other cliche we read about our last moment. That was very unique and I truly enjoyed that.

I thought the way you've written all three men was great. They are not the same boys they may have been during their Marauder days, but you can still see glimpses of that in them. I really enjoyed the line with Sirius telling James that Harry is skilled in dueling, just like James.

I wanted to cry reading Remus' reaction to leaving Tonks without a husband and Teddy without a father. That was so unbelievably sad.

It's very impressive, considering the circumstances, that you managed to end this on a lighter note. Seeing them all just playing a game, as they did while they were teenagers, was very sweet.

This was a wonderfully done story. I very much enjoyed reading it!

House Cup 2014 Review

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Howdy Meg! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

It's super to get your thoughts on this story as it's the one nobody had reviewed for me. My goal for it was definitely for it to be different - but also for it to carry a certain blend of heaviness and light. I imagine that if there is an afterlife, like many of us believe or hope for, it would be that way. First being overwhelmed by your surroundings, then realizing your own grief for those you've left behind - the words left unsaid and things left undone - before realizing you should enjoy the gift of those who are there to help you through it. Those you've loved in life and have loved you in return, who I would hope would be there to ease the transition.

I also wanted the transition to be almost from one life to another because in a sense that's the way I hope things would be. No slow exit to magnify the final moment or memories to magnify the pain - just a shift from one life to a new one, a ceaseless one, that while completely different, is in the best senses simply a new form of the life you just ceased living (if that makes ANY sense).

At any rate, I'm glad you liked it and thought I kept the guys in character! I'll stop rambling now and just say thanks again!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login