10 Reviews Found

Review #1, by teh tarik Padfoot and Prongs

12th July 2014:
Hey again, Kayla!

Awww, this was such a lovely piece about James and Sirius's friendship! You know, I've never really read a fic that focused on their friendship, despite there being thousands of Marauders fics lying around, and these two being one of the most popular friendship duos around. I guess I don't read a lot of Marauders! But gah, I loved this! I loved the humour and fun of their relationship: everyone believing they were studying early for exams when in fact they were learning how to break the law. :P And Sirius feeling like he's been sidelined like salad! Gah, that made me giggle a bit too much. Lily coming up to him and smacking him on the back of his head, telling him pretty much to stop hogging Prongs. And Sirius feeling like she is the one who's hogging Prongs. That was too cute!

And then gah, the ending. :( :( You could have stopped anywhere in one of those happy places, and you didn't. INstead, you carried on right to the bitter end. I mean, Padfoor crying by their graves and freaking barking at the moon? *sobs* Whyyy. :( :(

GAH. This is too tragic. :(

I loved this, Kayla! This was such a beautiful piece of writing!

-teh
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hello again!

Haha, end on a happy note? PSHH.

Haha but thank you for this lovely review! You're so sweet! ♥ ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by maskedmuggle Padfoot and Prongs

10th July 2014:
Hey Kayla!

I love the Marauders so much, and I love James and Sirius' friendship. It was definitely very heartwarming reading about their friendship for the large majority of the story, but then, as usually happens, the ending is so heartbreaking. I really liked how you portrayed some of the different stages of their friendship: from their first meeting, to the animagus bit to James' wedding to Lily. I do think the story was lacking some description and felt a bit abrupt in some memories, such as when they were nicknaming each other, but that seems to have been because of the word limit. I'm amazed how much you managed to convey in less than 1500 words! You definitely portrayed the strength and the specialness of their friendship really well and I enjoyed reading this. :)

- Charlotte

Author's Response: Hey, Charlotte!

Yeah, I originally had so much more and I know it feels abrupt but I had to cut it :'( I seriously had rambled on about so much in this one-shot, mostly about the emotions (I always suck at description though so there probably still wasn't enough of that anyway, haha! :P) so I definitely get that it's very abrupt and kind of... limited. :P

But thank you so much for this lovely review! I really appreciated it! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by Unicorn_Charm Padfoot and Prongs

10th July 2014:
Hi Kayla!

I'm not crying. I swear I'm not crying.

I never can resist a good Marauder story, especially Sirius and James. This was wonderful! It had the right mix of funny, heartwarming and utterly heartbreaking. My favorite part was Lily telling Sirius how she would be the third wheel. I can so see that being the case! I also loved Sirius holding Harry for the first time, and nearly panicking when Harry gurgled. I got a kick out of him telling James he was sorry that Harry had his hair haha.

This story was perfect for that prompt. Their friendship was portrayed brilliantly. I loved this. Just absolutely loved it! I do not have one bad thing to say about any of this. Excellent job! Thank you so much for sharing this!

House Cup 2014 Review

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Aw, sorry for making you cry! D':

(jokes I like knowing I make readers cry ehehehehehehe)

Thank you so much for this amazing review! You're just such a lovely person, omg! ♥ ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by UnluckyStar57 Padfoot and Prongs

9th July 2014:
Hi! Happy House Cup tidings to you! :D

I love how you immediately established the bromance between Sirius and James. They were always there for each other, even when times were rough. The scene in which James called Sirius "Snuffles" was really cute. I like seeing different people's interpretations of the way that "Snuffles" came about. In this story, it makes sense that it came from James. :)

I think you did a really great job on this! The friendship that Sirius has with Lily is just priceless. He seems to have gotten over his dislike of her, and they're a perfect trio--except James would get mad if Lily stole Sirius from him. Heehee. :D

Brilliant work!

House Cup 2014 Review

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this amazing review! It really means a lot to me! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by evil little devil Padfoot and Prongs

9th July 2014:
Hello again, you reviewing ninja!
This was such a sweet series of flashbacks, they were a treat to read. There were so many lovely moments!
I loved that you had Sirius hold out his hand, like a proper pureblood boy, and then James just high-fives it. That was so in character, and so perfect. And then James answering the door after Sirius has left home with only "you smell like a wet dog".
I think my favourite part was the part with Lily, and having her tell Sirius that she's the one who will always be the salad, that was so cute, and so well done.
You absolutely did their friendship justice. In just a series of short snippets you managed to explore so much of their relationship, and that is fantastic. This was a really enjoyable read!

- House Cup 2014 Review.

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you so much for this lovely review! I'm so glad to hear that you think I did their friendship justice! It really means a lot to me! ♥

Thank you again! :D

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by nott theodore Padfoot and Prongs

8th July 2014:
Hi again, Kayla! Aw, this was such a great story and I love the fact you chose to write about James and Sirius for the friendship prompt!

I really loved the way that you built this story up from the beginning to the end of their friendship to show how eternal those bonds can be. The transitions between them worked really well and one of my favourite things about those sections was the way that you changed the writing style ever so slightly each time, as if it was maturing as James and Sirius grew up, so at the beginning it captured that childlike nature and then at the end it captured Sirius's sadness that his best friend was gone.

I think you portrayed both of their characters and their friendship really well. It was great that you managed to show the playful side of it and then the element which runs much deeper, that eternal bond which shows they're more like brothers, who are always there for each other. I loved the way you introduced Lily into the story and the salad comment as well (so funny!) when Sirius was feeling left out. The dialogue in those parts was brilliant, too. And it was great all the way to the end, when you decided to give me all the sad feels :(

But lovely story, Kayla! ♥

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hello again!

I'm so glad you liked it! It's such an honour that you liked it! :'D

Thank you so much for this amazing review! You're just so sweet! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by MischiefNotQuiteMannaged Padfoot and Prongs

8th July 2014:
These are a beautiful collection of snapshots in Sirius life. You've really captured the mischievous young boys, the (slightly) more mature men.And saddest of all Sirius alone without James.

I can feel the strength of the bond between the two of them; lily feeling like an outsider is heartwarming proof of that. I can tell just how much she loves James, and that she understands how strong his bond with Sirius is.

My favourite snapshot has to be the one where Sirius is told that he's going to be Harry's godfather. It's exactly as I imagined it to play out!

The Sirius' at their graves is touching, you really captured his pain and loss, and I can feel how and why this loss affects him more than Azkaban.

House Cup 2014 Review!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this lovely review! It really means a lot to me! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Freda_and_Georgina Padfoot and Prongs

7th July 2014:
For the House Cup 2014 Review
I love how James responds with a high five. And their mysterious quarrel, and how it's settled.
Deciding on the nicknames was cute too.
I love how Sirius phrased the line about Prongs "finally marrying the girl he never shut up about."
It was a great story! It felt short of course but that was just the challenge.
GO HUFFLEPUFF!!
--Freda

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this lovely review! I would have expanded this one-shot but there WAS a word limit so it is a lot shorter than what it was meant to be!

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by HeyMrsPotter Padfoot and Prongs

7th July 2014:
Kayla! This was such a gorgeous series of snapshots into James and Sirius' friendship over the years.

I think you have done the most amazing job of capturing the marauders personalities, like, siriusly amazing ;) I love that you started right at their first meeting, and you did a great job of writing them growing up though they never really matured :D I think my favourite parts were the interactions between Sirius and Lily, I always imagined he would be jealous when James finally got his girl, and you portrayed that perfectly. And of course, she would be the one to fix things between them!

My poor heart broke when Sirius realised that Peter had betrayed them, and then it broke even more when he was sitting by their graves and apologising for not being there for Harry.I just wanted to hug him and tell him it wasn't his fault! I'm totally with you about the marauders and the unfair circumstances, if all was right in the world they'd all still be alive and Peter wouldn't have done what he did and everything would be perfect! (but then the whole series wouldn't work :( )

Anyway, I adored this.

Dee -House Cup 2014 review.

Author's Response: Ahhh, thank you so much!!!

Haha, I feel like Sirius would be extremely resentful of Lily until she (literally) smacked some sense into him. I'm glad you enjoyed that part though! :P

Thank you for this amazing review! You da bomb~~ ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by TheHeirOfSlytherin Padfoot and Prongs

7th July 2014:
Hello again!

The new friendship, the growing bromance, the family... THE ANGST. You set up these whole lovely moments, all the important happy stuff, and then BAM, dead. It's... it's... it's awesome... as weird as that sounds. My favorite kind to read and write. :D

You picked the best friendship to write about. James and Sirius are like the bromance to compare all other bromances to (except maybe Dean and Seamus - not as cool, but still good). And I loved how you wrote them, they really are brothers and they should always be together because it's not right to not see them together.

Them picking their nicknames was cool. It's definitely Snuffles, though. I call him Snuffles. :D

The ending! That was so sad. I hate the idea of Sirius being sad, going to visit graves instead of them. But you wrote it really well.

Loved this!

Sam.

House Cup 2014 Review.

Author's Response: Ahhh thank you so much!!! ♥

Originally I had the nickname setting out so much longer and better but I had to cut it because of the word limit :( But maybe one day I'll expand on it in a whole new one-shot haha :D

Thank you so much for this lovely review, Sam! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login