Reading Reviews for The Banshee of Clan O'Kennedy
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by maskedmuggle The Banshee of Clan O'Kennedy

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ooh, this was such a unique idea for a story. I've definitely always thought of a banshee in a very negative light, but you portrayed it in a different way here, and I liked getting such a detailed and in-depth insight into the banshee's character. It was so interesting reading about the life of the banshee and what she had done in the past. I thought integrating this with Seamus Finnigan was a really cool idea, especially since he's a minor character and I love reading stories about minor characters. This story also gave me such a neat insight into Seamus as well and how difficult it would've been to lose a brother like that. You wrote this really well, particularly with your descriptive language in informing the readers what the banshee looked like, and the thoughts of the banshee. Very original plot, I enjoyed reading this!

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #2, by UnluckyStar57 The Banshee of Clan O'Kennedy

8th July 2014:
Oh my gosh. I need to stop reading your stories before I go into public for the day. They make a mess of my emotions, darn it!

The banshee in this story did not seem dark at all. I felt myself empathizing with her--after all, it's only what she was made for, and not necessarily what she wants to do. I like that you explained that she wasn't actually a human or a fairy--the poor thing is stuck between two worlds, and she's the herald of death in one of them.

Argggh, I didn't make the Seamus Finnegan connection until the very last minute. Grrr. That's really, really sad, and you should feel awful about killing the Finnegans. (No, actually, it was really amazing, but the feels!) The revelation that the Banshee will come for Seamus a mere two years after he gets out of Hogwarts makes me very sad. Why couldn't it be more than that? And what is the cause of his death? I'm curious to know...

Another fantastic House Cup story. It wasn't as sad as "Hero," but it was beautifully haunting all the same.

House Cup 2014 Review

~UnluckyStar57

 Report Review

Review #3, by evil little devil The Banshee of Clan O'Kennedy

7th July 2014:
Oh wow, I really loved this! I love that you took a creature that is supposed to be very scary and evil and made it so much more than that. You made it more like a thestral - a creature of death, but not the creator of death, and I love that!
I did not realise this was Seamus until the end, and I had forgotten that his boggart was a banshee. The way you've woven this lovely back story around that is amazing, because it completely works in with canon.
This was a very unique story, I really enjoyed reading it :)

- House Cup 2014 Review.

 Report Review

Review #4, by patronus_charm The Banshee of Clan O'Kennedy

7th July 2014:
Hi again Jenna!

You really are the expert of building such magical and enchanting backstories to each character, seriously, it just felt so dreamy and mystical with all the folklores, legends and magical characters coming together to build up this banshee’s life so it was really cool to read. Your language was used so well too as it was almost poetical so it fitted so well with the story.

Hearing the way she haunted the world and people was so creepy, and I was almost ready to start feeling really creeped out by her as it just so horrible reading her thoughts but then you made her more relatable again with the mention of Seamus. I loved how you mentioned the boggart as it made me laugh way too much as it was interesting to see it another light though. But then that humour made the next bit even sadder with his early death which was just so cruel and horrible that he had to die so soon after the war. I really liked that the banshee was so moved by him that she would cry out for his death as that was kinda sweet in a weird way. :P

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #5, by ohmymerlin The Banshee of Clan O'Kennedy

7th July 2014:
Hello!

Oh my, I got chills! This was so brilliant! It definitely did portray a new side of the banshee, it was so sad that Seamus had a brother! I know it isn't canon but you wrote it very well! I especially loved the integration of the Irish folklore! It was very clever!

But it's so sad that he dies so soon after the war! NO! He's meant to be safe and happy and ALIVE. Not dead. NOOO!

I also really liked that you made the banshee's voice to not be a scream as most people know it, but a song in her mind. It was a very interesting twist but it made sense!

It was also great that you managed to put Seamus' boggart in the story! I'd always wondered why it was a banshee (I was completely unaware of the Irish association with it) and you've given such a good reason I kind of don't want to accept any other reason, haha! :P

This was an excellent one-shot! I really enjoyed reading it!

10/10

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014

 Report Review

Review #6, by Iellwen The Banshee of Clan O'Kennedy

5th July 2014:
OH MY MERLIN YOU WENT BANSHEE FOR THE PROMPT!!! This amazes me to no end - I love banshees and I just adore your portrayal of this one! You know this means this one-shot immediately becomes one of my favourites, right?! :p

And I've never thought of Seamus much until now, but I can definitely picture him losing his younger brother and forever be scarred by the sight/sounds of the banshee!!
I love the wonderful background you thought of adding, going back generations and generations, tracing the banshee's lonely duty back to so many decades! Just wow!

Banshees are such sorrowful creatures, their cries and screams so easily misunderstood because they are so close to the dead... And humans fear death... I think you've expressed it so wonderfully with "the banshee's crooked heart ached for his pain"!

Indeed, what a lonely existence it is to only be seen when a loved one is to die...
Kind of like a Grim Reaper... (Er.. Quick explaining of a trail of random thoughts: I had to imagine a Grim Reaper that follows one specific bloodline, like the banshee is bound to a clan, and for some reason a little plunnie involving a Supernatural crossover kinda started bouncing around in my tiny brain... For an even weirder reason, it kind of made me laugh a little... Aaaanyway, back to the review ^^)

I loved to bitter sweet ending (it literally gave me shivers and goosebumps). Also, love the discreet way you reminded the reader of the Boggart and Seamus' Ridikkulus (I had completely forgotten about that bit^^)

I really don't think anything could be said or done to improve this one-shot, as I find it perfect as it is! :D

Amazing read, thank you so much for writing this!!!
Banshees rock and so do you ♥

*Gee

Author's Response: Hi Gee!! :)

Wow, thank you so much!! I've wanted to write a story about a banshee for a long time and so the House Cup prompt was just the perfect excuse. It really means a lot to me that you liked it!! :D

It was so interesting to think of ways to tie the banshee's story in with the different generations and Irish lore. I really loved it. I agree, the banshee is automatically a grotesque figure but the mythology behind them shows how they don't cause death but just foretell it. They're a little misunderstood for sure, and I wanted to show that.

That's actually a really cool idea! :P She is a bit like a Grim Reaper, who exists for both the dead ones and the survivors and grieves for them.

Thank you! I'm so glad you liked the ending and how the story actually tied into canon in the end. Once I realized that Seamus was Irish and remembered that his Boggart was a banshee the pieces just fit perfectly.

Thank you so much for this amazing review, lovely!! It truly made my day and made it again just now when I was re-reading your kind words! :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by MargaretLane The Banshee of Clan O'Kennedy

25th June 2014:
Well, of course I had to read this.

Midsummer is pretty appropriate at the moment, as we've just passed mid-summer's day. I assume you meant that. Weird that it seems to be called midsummer's day around the world, when most countries don't consider the summer to start on May 1st, as we do.

LOVE the comment about the Irish stars always shining brighter than English ones. It's such an Irish thing to say.

And the last centaurs in Ireland? That's intrigued me. Actually, you now have me wondering if Ireland would have less species of magical creature than England, like it does with ordinary animals - no snakes, no moles.

I LOVE the line "all were merry, save for the banshee". I don't even know WHY I like it. It just sounds really good.

I presume you know Brian Boru died 1,000 years ago last April. I was thinking of writing a Founders era fic in commemoration - having students from Leinster and Munster dueling in the corridors over the result - but didn't get around to it. Anyway, a story mentioning Brian Boru is rather appropriate this year.

I'm totally willing to believe Seamus could have a brother, especially one who died young, but he could probably even have one a good deal older or younger than him that Harry didn't know about. SOME of Harry's classmates MUST have had siblings after all, unless single children are way more common in the wizarding world. Dean, Hermione, Seamus, Neville and Harry all being only children seems a bit much. It means Ron was the only one in his dormitory with siblings.

And I really like the fact that Seamus is afraid of somebody else in his family dying, rather than simply fearing the banshee itself. That makes a lot more sense.

Why did you have to make Seamus die two years after the Battle of Hogwarts? It's so sad that he survived a war only to die shortly afterwards.

Brilliant story. Apart from the reference to the "potato famine" rather than just "Famine" with a capital F, which is always a give-away, I would have thought this was written BY an Irish person if I hadn't known. In Ireland, the Famine is just "the" Famine and always gets a capital letter.

Author's Response: Hello! :) Ah, I'm so glad you dropped by - you really are the perfect reader for this!

In a lot of the folklore I've read dates like midsummer are sort of special, so it felt right to start the story then with a fairy romp. Though stories like this sort of play into the stereotype of Irish culture being very glamourized and idealized with rural life, I did really enjoy writing it even if the actual reality of life in Ireland is a lot more than a rural paradise like seen in some literature.

Haha, I'm glad you liked the line about the stars - it did feel quite Irish! I also was thinking that it added to the sort of nostalgia of moving from Ireland to England like Seamus and the other members of the clan do.

I sort of imagined that as well! Like the magical creatures would have been driven away from Ireland or slowly migrated away or something like the Irish diaspora.

You should totally write a Founders story about that - it would be so cool! I'd love to read a story about that and involving Irish history.

Ah good, I'm so glad you found that plausible. And yes exactly, what are the odds that all of them except Ron would be only children? Seamus' story was sad to imagine but fit well with canon, in a strange way. I quite liked writing it.

Yes! This way, he sort of gave a significance to the banshee instead of her just being frightening in her own right. She personifies death, in the way the dementors personify fear, although the banshee herself isn't an evil figure.

I'm sorry! :( He sort of had to die for the story to come full circle, though it made me sad to do it.

Ah, I feel like I should have known that about the Famine due to all my studies, but I've gone and changed it. :) Thank you so much - that means so much to me as I do love Irish literature and culture, and do firmly identify with my Irish ancestry as well. Thanks so much for the amazing review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by toomanycurls The Banshee of Clan O'Kennedy

25th June 2014:
Well... I might be kind of stalking your page. :P (and doing the review tag)

I hate you a little for having such a wide range of narrative voices you can do. This sounds like an Irish person is narrating it. It also flows like a bit of folklore should - like it's being spoken.

I love your take on the banshee and that she's a guardian of the dead. Of course Seamus would mistake her intentions and think of her as the cause or at least a portent of his brother's death.

The banshee was a really well done character. I loved that this line about her " One who is smoke and voice cannot be driven away." Also, her almost wasting away shen she thought the clan had died did a remarkable job showing how connected she was to the clan.

This is another lovely story! Are you going to write a third? :D

-Rose

Author's Response: Hi again! Hehe, stalking my stories is always appreciated, especially when I was stalking yours right back. :P

Hehe, thank you! That means a lot. I was looking over my AP the other day and just thinking how weird it was that I wrote so many different, odd characters. It's wonderful to hear this sounded like a story that should be told aloud!

Yes, the poor banshee. Even though it's not her fault that she foretells death, Seamus' fear of her is understandable as he sort of puts the blame on her, not on chance or fate. It's quite sad for both of them.

I'm pleased you liked that line! She's more like a guardian of the clan than anything, and she really does care about them and weep for them in her own way - she laments and keens, not kills.

Thanks so much for another wonderful review, Rose! :) I did end up churning out a third, though I wasn't overly excited about it, but such is life. This one and Hero are far closer to my heart. :P Thanks again! ♥


 Report Review

Review #9, by 800 words of heaven The Banshee of Clan O'Kennedy

25th June 2014:
REVIEW SWAP!

As always, your writing is full of description and creepiness! I think I've read your Edgar Allan Poe story at least three times - I keep coming back every time I need a creepy fix! This was just awesome!

I absolutely loved all the Irish folklore! It reminded me of all those stories I used to read when I was young about mischievous faerie folk and the mercurial elfin people. And the banshee fit in quite well with it all, even though she didn't feel as if she did. I think her jarring presence is exactly what made her such a perfect fit for the landscape of this story. She's surrounded by death, and by extension, grief. It showed the flip side of all those folk tales - you cannot have light without the dark.

And the Seamus twist! Totally awesome! It was very believable for me - there's like zero things about Seamus in canon except his "proclivity for pyrotechnics" and "me dad's a muggle - mam's a witch" so this interpretation of his biggest fear fit right into one of those gaps! Awesome stuff as usual :)

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Have you really? Haha, that's awesome - I'm glad it's creepiness stuck with you, I do love writing my creepy one-shots. :P

I'm so glad you liked it and all the Irish references. It was so fun to write - I've wanted to write this story for a while and this gave me the perfect outlet. I'm pleased you liked the banshee and how she fit with the landscape as well: though she's a dark figure, she longs for the light, and it's not her fault that she's linked with death. In a way, she's like a guardian of the family, but nobody can see it that way. It made me quite sad for her!

Ah, I'm so pleased! Haha, oh Seamus, well it was fun to expand on him and try and fit this story into canon and even add to canon in a sense.

Thanks so much for the review, lovely!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login