Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Wordless
  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Dojh167 Wordless

20th June 2015:
Hufflepuff House Cup 2015 Review

So for the first couple paragraphs I was like "Okay, people died in the war and we're sad now, it's normal. But maybe this is about Hannah and Neville get together?" and then when I found out who was dead, it became "NO NOT OKAY." And I don't even feel that strongly about this character, so good job making me feel invested.

I found it really touching that Hannah and Susan were still friends after all of these years. The way that you describe how Susan's cheeks had always been endearing and the way that she closes the curtains on the garden are both very evocative.

This was actually a really sweet story, despite all the sad. I think it's very rare for people to write about older single women, and you did a really good job of capturing them both in a realistic way here.

Sam.

Sam.

Author's Response: Hi Sam!

Well, I'm both happy and sorry that you felt bad for Neville's death? I mean it's great that I made you feel upset about it but I'm kind of sorry (not sorry) at the same time :P

I love imagining friendships lasting for all that time! I'm way younger than Hannah and Susan are here but I have some friends I've known for such a long time already and I'd love to think we're still going to be friends that far into the future. There's something about people you've been friends with a long time that means you know what the other needs, and it was nice to be able to write about that :)

Thank you so much for your lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #2, by DracoFerret11 Wordless

20th June 2015:
Hello there! This is DarkRose from the forums, here to review for you for the House Cup 2015! So, let's go over things:

Plot: Aw, friendship. I seriously think I need to read more friendship stories. They really move me, as this one did, and they're a good break from all the romance. ;) I really loved the premise here, and I think you did it justice.

Characterization: I loved Hannah and Susan. You described their connection and friendship so well, and all I can hope is that I have a friendship that lasts that long! They were so sweet in such a quiet way. I loved how...unremarkable it all was. Just friendship. Quiet as it sometimes is.

Emotions: I felt so bad for Hannah, losing Neville, but they had lived so long, and her friend supported her so much, that I couldn't be completely sad. But you showed that grief in a really nice way. I believed it.

Overall, this was lovely. It was sad and emotional, but the friendship you portrayed outshone all of that. I loved reading about that, and I think you did a great job!

--Emily (DarkRose)

Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015

Author's Response: Hey again, Emily!

There really aren't enough friendship stories on the archives, are there? This prompt for the HC was a really good one in that respect and it was great to write about friendship helping people through because it honestly does so much. I'm really glad you liked the characters in this, and that you think I portrayed their friendship well! I felt terrible killing off Neville in this story, but he had a good life and she still had her friend's support at the end of it, so hopefully that made it a little easier, like you said!

Thank you so much for this review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by The Basilisk Wordless

10th January 2015:
Hiss Hiss. I slither towards your story, ready to petrify with my review.

This was beautiful, touching, so moving, and so deep. I am running out of words already to describe just how amazing this one shot was. I loved, loved reading it. I was so captivated by it from the very beginning. Your descriptions were beautiful and I could visualise the scenes in front of my eyes. It was so sad that poor Neville was dead - at least he lived a long healthy life.

You portrayed Hannah's grief beautifully and aptly. I swear I am on the verge of tears now and my heart really hurt a little reading this. But what I loved most about this impeccable story was the concept of Hannah and Susan's friendship. It was such a short prose and yet it conveyed so much. I could feel the friendship between the two, how they always stood by each other, and I was so moved. I have a best friend like that too, and this story reminded me of her. So thank you for bringing this smile on my face. I can only hope that each of us find such an amazing friend who stands by us through thick and thin.

All in all, this was such an awesome one-shot and I'm so glad I read it. You really nailed it. Great job!

10/10!

Author's Response: *hides* No, please don't petrify me, Basilisk! I'm very well behaved and also take the precaution of always carrying a mirror with me, honestly!

Wow, this review... I'm petrified in a different sense, because I'm not sure that I deserve so much praise... I'm really glad that I was able to write something that actually touched you and that you were captivated from the start.

Grief is a really terrible thing to experience, and unless you're very lucky, most people have experienced it in some form... it's not an emotion that seems to be written about very often, so I wanted to portray that here - I'm glad you think I did a good job. I also really wanted to portray the friendship well, the sort of friendship that lasts through the years and gives someone support when they most need it. You're very lucky to have such a friend and I'm very happy to have reminded you of her with this story!

Thank you for the lovely review, Basilisk!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Pretense Of Perfection Wordless

12th July 2014:
Poor Hannah and poor Susan, they've both been through so much it breaks my heart. I love how their friendship remains strong and true, no matter what. You really managed to capture the core of what makes two women stick together and be there for each other, and you did so in such a beautiful way. Their quiet acceptance of one another's presence really shows how much they love each other, as Susan just needs to be there, and doesn't need to try and say anything. You did a wonderful job with portraying Hannah's grief, it felt very raw and real, and anyone that has lost someone will be able to relate to her grief. I love the ending, it really shows how strong the bond between Susan and Hannah is. I think the message of hope at the end is very well written as well, and I love how you described all of their hardships and then went on to show how they would both always be there for each other. Few authors can truly manage to portray such a strong friendship, and you did a beautiful job of it.

--house cup 2014 review--
gryffindor

Author's Response: Hello again, Fae!

I'm so happy that you liked the way that I portrayed Hannah and Susan and their friendship in this story! I really wanted to show the side of friendship that isn't often shown in fanfiction, and it's certainly one that develops with time, and I'm glad that you liked the way I did that.

I always imagine that they have a really strong bond and deep friendship and that the two of them being there for each other was really a way for them to get through.

Thank you so much for this and all the other wonderful reviews you've left me!


 Report Review

Review #5, by maskedmuggle Wordless

12th July 2014:
Hey!

This is so amazing I can't even. I loved the way you portrayed Susan and Hannah's friendship. This was written so well, and I really liked the things you chose to tell us, and how you managed to recap so much of what had happened in their lives in so few words. From the beginning it was really sad - as all funerals are - and I definitely think you did such a good job conveying just how difficult the loss was for Hannah. What I particularly loved about this story was that you really highlighted just how special a friendship Susan and Hannah had - we could clearly tell it was extremely significant to the both of them, and that was what this prompt was all about. I really, really enjoyed this story, and I thought it was terrifically written :)

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi Charlotte!

I'm so pleased that you enjoyed this story! Hannah and Susan are two characters I've never written before but always thought about, and I imagine them having a really strong friendship after all they've gone through as children.

It was so hard to write the opening, with all the sadness and Neville having passed away, but I really wanted to write them in a position that showed their friendship in a way that no other friendship Hannah had could help her through.

Thank you so much for this lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by CambAngst Wordless

11th July 2014:
Hi, Sian! Just one or two more reviews before bed. Just one or two more...

House Cup 2014 Review

Wow, this was really, really lovely. You did an amazing job of capturing the true value of a lifelong friendship. The depth and the strength. And you picked two characters that are pretty near and dear to my heart. I'll let you in on a little secret, one that I don't think I've ever put in a review response or MTA response. A lot of people asked what happened to Hannah in Conspiracy of Blood. Why she wasn't part of the story with Neville. What I had planned on -- and I just never found a way to work it into the plot -- was for Hannah and Susan to be in a relationship that started after Neville and Hannah separated. I still have it penciled in to possibly include in a one-shot some time.

Anyway, this review is about your story, not mine. Your description of the funeral was very appropriate to the event: stark and empty and kind of cold. And things don't get any easier after the service. You captured beautifully how I've always felt that wakes feel to the grieving family members. It's supposed to be an uplifting sort of event, but it's really more of an ordeal. A chance for dozens of people to awkwardly attempt to comfort the survivors, but in reality it only forces them to wear that stony outward face for even longer while they're suffering on the inside.

It just dawned on me that there isn't a single word of dialog in this entire story, and I thought that was a fantastic choice. The story is all about quiet comfort through the presence of a dear friend. I don't think words were necessary at all. In fact, they might have detracted.

The little details about Susan and Hannah's lives that you introduced helped to round out the picture and ground the extent of their friendship and mutual dependence. It was a nice touch.

Your writing hit just the right tone for me: serious and mournful, but not weepy or hysterical.

Great job! Go Gryffindor!

Author's Response: Hi Dan!

I'm really glad that you liked the way that I portrayed the funeral and the wake in this story. They're meant to be for celebration, but it's very rare that they can be that for those people who really miss the deceased, and this was definitely the case here. Poor Hannah, having to appear because it's what's expected of her but not wanting to at all.

I didn't want to include dialogue since I had the last line in my head from before writing this, and it didn't feel necessary to expand things with dialogue - the quiet comfort is what's important there.

I'm really glad you liked my characterisation of Hannah and Susan as well, and the details about their friendship.

Thanks for this great review, Dan!


 Report Review

Review #7, by randomwriter Wordless

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review: Educational Decree Number Five

Hello Sian *tackles* I've been wanting to read this and I'm glad that this decree gave me a chance to read it. It's so sad and sad stories, hopefully, count.

I CAN'T BELIEVE YOU KILLED NEVILLE. I realised it was a funeral, but the fact that it was Neville dawned on me slowly. I love Neville and I hate this because it's making me sad, but I also love it because it's beautifully written, just like everything else you write!

I love the friendship between Hannah and Susan Bones. It's not something I've given much thought to, but like with all your stories about minor characters, you've made this come alive. I think I will always believe that they were destined to be friends now.

I like how they're there for each other through all the highs and lows of life. It's incredible! :) I love how you've mentioned all those tragic happening, and shown us that their friendship was built on a very strong foundation. They survived all of it and it's amazing. Their friendship is beyond superficial things like gossip. It's a beautiful bond that's a lot more than something transient like that! It's built on the strong foundation of mutual support, respect and admiration. It's nice to see that Susan was there for Hannah during such a difficult time, and with her friendship, I'm sure she will be okay!

Such a nice story, Sian! :) I loved it!

Author's Response: Adi! *hugs*

Honestly, I'm surprised that a load of people don't hate me more for this - I do feel bad for killing Neville but he had a good long life, if that helps?

I'm really glad that you liked the friendship between Hannah and Susan and the way that I captured it. They've been friends for a really long time, and their friendship does run a lot deeper than anything like gossip, which means that Susan is the best person to be there for Hannah in this.

Thank you so much for this lovely review, Adi! ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by MissesWeasley123 Wordless

9th July 2014:
Hi Sian, as this is a sad story, it should totally count for Education Decree #5 and also, this is a House Cup 2014 review!

I think one of the greatest things about this story, was how you showed that female friendships aren't always gossiping, etc. The small things in this story is really what made it amazing. The things like how they had both experienced loss, the bridesmaid and godmother things, those were what really showed an impressive light to their friendship, and I thought you did wonderfully with it.

Hannah's pain is so evident, and for Susan to be the one to comfort her just makes sense you know. The entire funeral is something to get teary-eyed about in my opinion, and you handled it so, so well. Their grief is superbly depicted in this story, and we all know how amazing you are at angst ant toying with people's emotions! :P Such beautiful writing Sian, I am stunned at how well you can write in such small period of time!!!

Nadia, let's gooo Lions

Author's Response: Hey Nadia!

I'm really glad you liked the way I portrayed the friendship between these two women! Of course gossip has probably formed part of their friendship in the past, but this is much deeper and when they need to be, they're there for each other. I'm really pleased you picked up on all those little details as well!

I felt so bad writing about Neville's death and poor Hannah, but at least Susan was there to comfort her? You know I honestly don't mean to write angst all the time, it just sort of happens :P But thank you for your lovely review, and your compliments on my writing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by CassiePotter Wordless

9th July 2014:
Hello!
I'm so glad I read this story! I thought it was really interesting to read about Hannah, because I also wrote about her. I loved your take on her life, and how she and Susan stayed so close over the years. The fact that Hannah has just lost Neville and is so devastated over it shows how much Susan means to her by the way she stays with her and is just there, not trying to make her do anything she's not ready for. Their friendship was beautifully written, and I had such a clear image of them sitting together. I loved the way you described how their lives played out after the war, and how they were constantly there for one another. It was such a realistic friendship, and it felt so natural, that it made everything in this story that much more poignant. This was a wonderful story, and, once again, I loved the way you wrote Hannah! 10/10
Cassie :)
*House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi Cassie!

I really enjoyed your story about Hannah too, so it was great to get this review and see what you thought about it!

I'm really pleased that you thought I captured the friendship between Hannah and Susan well. I felt so mean writing about Neville's death but I'm glad it seemed realistic for Susan to be the one there for Hannah when it had happened.

Thank you so much for this great review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by UnluckyStar57 Wordless

8th July 2014:
Wow. This left me, quite literally, wordless.

But I must come up with a few words. It's for the House Cup, after all. :)

Oh, Hannah Abbott/Longbottom. How I love her. She's a minor character that I can never see too much of in fanfiction, so I was really glad to find out that she was one of the main focuses of this story.

It's super sad that Neville died, though. I hate that!! Well, I'm glad that he lived to a good age, but I never like it when Neville dies. :/ How did he die? Old age? I'm curious.

But the main point of the story is that Hannah's best friend, Susan, is always there for her through thick and thin, death and life, sickness and health. (It's a whole lot like marriage, but not exactly!) :) It was really sad to see that they had both been through tragic times, but they were there for each other throughout. I can picture them living in a cottage together for the rest of their days as cute little old ladies. :)

House Cup 2014 Review

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Aw, wow, thank you!

I really love Hannah too! And, ahem... I'm sorry for killing Neville! In my head canon, he just dies from old age (I wouldn't be so mean as to do something awful to him!) and then poor Hannah is left to pick up the pieces.

Aw, I can picture Hannah and Susan plodding along together after this as well, and I'm really pleased that you liked the way I wrote about their friendship! At least Hannah's still got Susan there for her, right?

Thank you for this lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by evil little devil Wordless

8th July 2014:
I swear all of the House Cup entrants are trying to break me! Between dead Nevilles, grieving Andromedas, and characters struggling to cope following the war, my feelings are taking a beating!
This was so incredibly sad, I teared up a little. It's so hard to imagine the Hogwarts-age characters dying, they feel so immortal to me, perhaps because they've been with me for so long. Your writing is stunning, Hannah's grief is so raw and real and open, it flows of the page and into my soul.
I love that despite all the tragedy that has befallen both of them, you've managed to ground all of this sadness in a strong friendship which feels like an anchor in a storm in this story - like it's saving me from completely balling like a baby, while at the same time it saves them from complete despair.
This was so beautiful, and such a treat to read. You have a really lovely writing style, I am definitely going to be stalking you in the future!

- House Cup 2014 Review.

Author's Response: Oops, I never tried to break people but I'm really bad at not writing angst, so I'm sorry your feelings have suffered from this!

Eep, this is such an incredible review and thank you so much for all your kind words! I really wanted to show that Hannah would have suffered a lot when Neville died (although he had a good long life before this, I'm not that mean!), but there is something that does help her move past it. In a situation like this, I think only those who know you best can really help and I'm really glad you liked Hannah and Susan's friendship in this story!

Thank you so much for this and all the other wonderful reviews you've left for me!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Elenia Wordless

8th July 2014:
Oh my Godric, what are you doing to me? I seriously had to stop reading after a few paragraphs and calm myself down because I realized it was Neville's funeral and I got all teary from the mere idea! When did I become this emotional?

This was such a beautiful story. You managed to express Hannah's feelings so well and I could see how fresh her pain still was. Gosh, I just wanted to cry and hug her.

You wrote both her and Susan so well and I think they both remained very true to their canon. I loved that little mention of Susan closing the curtains because Neville's garden might be too much for Hannah at the moment!

Their friendship was so strong and you wrote it so beautifully. Oh, if I could only hug this amazing piece of literature ♥

Seriously, this has to be one of the best one-shots I've ever read! But I think I need to read something fluffy now or I'll really start crying (x

You're perfect!

-Hanna

Gryffindor - House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi again, Hanna!

Ah, I'm sorry! I don't seem to be able to write happy, fluffy stories very often and the angst fought its way through :P It was horrible to write about but if it's any consolation he had a good long life beforehand!

I'm really happy that you thought I expressed Hannah's pain and emotions well, as well as her friendship with Susan! It's great that you picked up on the mention of the garden too :D

Thank you so, so much for this amazing review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #13, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing Wordless

6th July 2014:
Hey Sian!!

I'm back again and once again, I love hat you've done here. In my head, I believe that Hannah and Susan would have definitely remained friends so I like that I got to read a story about just the two of them, albeit a sad one. I think it was a perfect moment to show the strength of the pairs relationship though.

I'm also so impressed you wrote this without using any dialogue at all! It didn't need it though, trust me you got all the feeling in there you needed!! My heart was breaking!

My favourite lines were at the end... So much was said with so few words. The fact they were bridesmaid and godparent for the other and were there through the good and bad. Truest what friendship is all about.

Great job dear... I thought this was great!

Lauren :)
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi Lauren!

I'm really pleased that you enjoyed this story! Hannah and Susan went through so much together at school and I really like the idea of them remaining friends for the rest of their lives, so I'm glad you liked the way that I portrayed their friendship here!

The last line was one of the first things that came into my mind when I was thinking about this story, along with the title, so it kind of fit that I didn't use any dialogue. I'm glad that it worked!

Thank you for a lovely review, Lauren! ♥


 Report Review

Review #14, by HeyMrsPotter Wordless

6th July 2014:
Hi, Sian! Long time no review!

This story is definitely right up there with the amazing work of yours I've read already. I always feel such envy when I read your work, you are seriosuly talented lady! You always manage to say so much no matter how many words you use.

Between your story and Nadia's, my poor heart has taken a beating tonight (no pun intended!) Poor Neville, and poor Hannah! And if that wasn't enough Susan lost her only child! Do you hate these characters, Sian? :P I joke, writing angst is quite clearly where your talents lie, and as sad as this story was, it was lovely reading how Hannah and Susan had supported each other through all of the awful things they had suffered in their lives.

And of course, it wouldn't be your story if it didn't have the most envy-inducing beautiful descriptions ever. Like, can we just talk about this?:
Susan Bones, elderly, grey, but still with the kind brown eyes and soft round cheeks which had endeared her to so many people as a girl. Just perfectly Susan.

As always, I simply loved this.

Dee -House Cup 2014 review.

Author's Response: Hey Dee! Ah, I was really excited to see you'd stopped by my page, and sorry for the long delay in responding!

Oops, I'm sorry Dee! I don't seem to be able to write a lot of fluff without including something that's sad so yeah, these prompts were hard for me! If it helps, Neville had a good long life and they were really happy together? I don't hate Susan and Hannah though, I promise! I'm really glad that you liked my portrayal of their friendship and thought I captured Susan well too!

Thank you so much for the lovely review, Dee! ♥


 Report Review

Review #15, by patronus_charm Wordless

6th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

Seriously, Sian, I canít cope with anymore of this angst! At first I thought I thought this was going to be a really cute Neville story and then bam itís him getting buried instead. I really liked how you lulled us in with description as it kept us guessing and made me think this was after the battle as people who fought in it were there and it would make sense, so I liked that sneaky little plot twist you added in.

Hannah seemed so strong and so brave though when describing the funeral and I felt so proud of her that she could carry on throughout it even though she must have felt like caving in inside, but I guess it just showed that she must have loved Neville a lot to let her carry on throughout that.

I really liked how you didnít make it a friendship story about them but about Hannah and Susan instead as that was another cool twist and it was nice to see how Susan was always there in her life supporting her and helping her through all these big events and how she would always be there forever and ever (well, hopefully) even though Neville was still again. Like with Blue Lavender, there was a big emphasis on hope and a better life at the end and that they could recover.

This was another great one-shot, Sian!

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hi Kiana!

Oops, I write far too much angst, I know :P I have no idea why though because I'm not particularly angsty in real life!

I couldn't have killed Neville off so young and written a story about that - he had a long and happy life before this, I promise!

It was really nice to show the friendship between Susan and Hannah in this story and that even though Hannah's lost her husband and best friend, she's still got a best friend in Susan who's going to be there for her like she always has been. I'm glad you liked the way that I portrayed their friendship and the emphasis on hope at the end!

Thank you for the wonderful review, my dear!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login