Reading Reviews for We Will Rebuild.
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Seamus 'The Bomb' Finnigan We Will Rebuild.

23rd May 2015:
Hi Margaret (I got that right?)!

Anyway, I was told to drop over here by a friend of mine who's on your... forums, I think? She said your stories were pretty good, and since I've... well, been having a few difficulties at work (wasn't my fault the cat caught fire, I swear!) I thought I'd drop by!

You know, you've captured Kingsley perfectly! He's just like that - tall and slightly brooding and always afraid of letting people down. A strange, but interesting trait for a Gryffindor to have (most of my friends come in the 'brawn but no braisn' category, you know :P), and it really fills him out - makes him so much more real, so much more personable, too. The little things pointing to his sense of justice and fairness were so good, too!

I loved the way you wrote Arthur, too. He's one of those people who's so particular - it would be scary to try and imitate him, but you've done it so so well here, which is even more impressive considering there's no chance for you to mention his muggle obsession :P

The way you talked about the Ministry was great, too. I loved the way you're so aware of the problems it had previously, and you use those to make it so clear how big a task Kingsley had (and it was huge - but he did pretty well, in the end) before him, and how terrifying that must have been at the start. It's all heightened so much by the way you write, too - the word choice is so so great for the things you describe and your dialogue is amazing. My friend has read some of your other stories, and she said your writing was good, but she forgot to mention just how good. I'll tell her off for you ;)

So glad I popped by - but I think I smell smoke so I'd better go! :)

Seamus :)

Author's Response: Yeah, you got the name right.

Thank you so, so much for this review. I'm really glad you enjoyed it.

Sure, it's not all that long, historically, I mean, since state building took place here and of course, up North, it was practically simultaneous with the wizarding world, with the Good Friday Agreement taking place only weeks before the Battle of Hogwarts, although, of course, the Stormont Assembly took a little longer to get off the ground!

State building after Ireland got independence really took most of the 20s and 30s and while I KNOW the wizarding world isn't the same, as they already HAD a functioning state, it's still a reminder that these things don't happen overnight.

I generally find it easier to write serious stuff than lighter stuff (as you may have noticed from the stories I've posted) so Arthur not going on about his Muggle obsession probably makes it easier for me.

Really pleased you liked the way I characterised Kingsley.

Thank you so much for the review and I'm now intrigued as to who your friend on the forums is. *notes clues*


 Report Review

Review #2, by tangledconstellations We Will Rebuild.

13th May 2015:
Hey there!

I am so, so sorry it's taken me forever to get round to my side of our review swap :( to try and make it up to you I'm going to try to review a few more fics of yours tonight, too. I've been meaning to read lots of your writing anywho - it just feels like there aren't enough hours in the day recently! :(

I really enjoyed reading this one-shot. It was really fresh to be within Kingsley's headspace and to see the wizarding world from his quite measured outlook. But at the same time I liked that his doubts were creeping in here, and that he wasn't 100% disillusioned to think that the Ministry could change overnight. In the books he comes across as a very aware and wise character, and I think that is definitely emulated here. It felt fantastic to see Arthur be given a new job with a pay rise! I think his work during the war wouldn't have gone unnoticed, too.

It's really important to remember that things weren't immediately rosy after Voldemort's downfall, and you showed that really well here. Even once his threat has been diminished there's still so much work to do and so much grieving to sort of get over, if you know what I mean. It must be really stressful to want to press on but also to know that not everyone is ready to make so many changes just yet. I always like seeing how other characters view the Golden Trio and the other Hogwarts students. It was great that Kingsley was really aware here of how helpful they were, yet also aware of how specifically Harry might also feel very failed and let down by the Ministry. Politically, this was really interesting because you've really highlighted the contrasting concerns of a political head here.

I sort of really want to see more of Kingsley! I know I said it a moment ago but it was awesome to see inside his mind and to be able to see that he's just another man trying to rebuild the future after such a catastrophic few years. Have you written any more fics with him as a central character, or do you think you will in the future?

I loved this! :D

Laura xxx

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for the review. There's no need to make anything up to me. I know life gets busy and school and work do come before fanfiction.

Yeah, things aren't going to return to normal immediately after the war. I live in a country that got independence less than a century ago and managed to descend into civil war within months of achieving independence. I guess the whole idea of state building plays a large part in our history. After all, some of the Founders of our State didn't die until around the 70s. Anybody older than about 50 would remember a time when some of them were still alive, or at least remember their funerals.

And yes, I think Harry would have good reason to be suspicious of the Ministry and of fame. After all, he'd been let down over and over again and had gone from a childhood in which he was despised into a world where he was lauded, then seen people turn against him in his 2nd year and again in his 5th, then been courted by the Ministry in his 6th year, only to realise they had their own agenda.

I haven't really written any more fics about Kingsley, although I did write a chapter about him for the house cup collaboration. I've just checked and it's chapter 59. He also plays a part in the second year of my next gen series, but only in the background really. I don't think he ever actually APPEARS in the story. People are just calling on him to support this or that piece of legislation or mentioning having spoken to him and received his assurances that he will do his best about this, that or the other.

I haven't any more stories planned from his point of view, but I wouldn't rule it out. I like him a good deal as a character.

And yeah, Arthur is the obvious choice to take on greater responsibility as he has proved over and over again that he can be trusted. Not sure how he'd feel about it, as he's not a man who really wants advancement and one of his kids mentioned that he turned down promotions in the past because he liked the job he had, but it IS good to see him get the recognition he deserves.

Thanks again for the review. Really glad you liked it.


 Report Review

Review #3, by The Summer Snake We Will Rebuild.

7th May 2015:
Greetings from The Summer Snake! I have recently slithered out of hibernation and discovered this amazing place with such amazing stories, so I want to read and review as many as I can before I go back into hibernation!

So, I am glad to have found this story! It was wonderful! This was a very fresh perspective on post-war stuff. I think it's the first time I'm coming across a story from Kingsley's point of view. I think you captured his personality quite well.

The issues that the Ministry must have faced after the war are considered quite nicely here. You must have given this a lot of thought and I can see that. The writing is strong and good, and I enjoyed this read. It has a hopeful feel to it, especially towards the end and that's nice.

After all, I am the Summer Snake and I'm here to spread cheer all around so reading this makes me happy. *showers confetti and flowers* It was definitely worth slithering around to read this. Good job =)

Now, I'm off to explore more of this wonderful sun! See ya!

With love,
The Summer Snake

Author's Response: Hey,
I live in a country that doesn't have snakes, so not too familiar with ye're hibernation habits and so on.

I read once that people who take power after things like revolutions are usually "reluctant politicians" and I think that may well have been true of Kingsley. We never really got any indication in the books that he was anxious for political office. He seems to have been more concerned with justice than advancing his own career.

Thank you for the review.


 Report Review

Review #4, by Miss "who am I, that is a secret I will never tell" We Will Rebuild.

10th April 2015:
Hi there, Margaret.

I'm Miss 'who am I, that's a secret I'll never tell', and I have to say that I really liked this story. I don't read a lot of post-war stories, but I probably should start doing so. This was really good, you could really see them all struggeling to keep it together, to stay strong in a very difficult and stressful time.

I liked that you focused on the adults instead of the teens, because the HP-books obviously don't do the same. It was nice seeing it from the perspective of someone older, who's seen more in life, experience more, who's expected to take on the important jobs now that the war is over. You even saw Arthur, who's just lost his son, but still had to work hard because the people needed him to.

I have to admit that Percy has always been my soft spot. When most people hated him, I still kind of liked him. I think it's because he really reminds me of myself. I too want to reach far, make a career for myself, and as much as I hate to admit there's a chance I would've done the same as him in the same situation.

So I liked that Percy was given another chance, because I don't think that's bad. He's a guy who made a mistake, it can happen to anyone, really.

I also think you captured the emotions well. It was stress, happiness but at the same time sadness, it was chaotic, it was just a lot of different emotions put together in one piece. So credits to you for making me see all of those different things!

I'm going to end it here, because I can ramble on forever really. So I'm just going to leave now, but you'll probably see me around the forums very soon.

XOXO

Miss 'who am I, that's a secret I'll never tell'

Author's Response: Hmm, another anony review. I'm rather intrigued as to who you might be when not under your cloak of invisibility. I am particularly intrigued by the comment that I might see you around the forums soon. I wonder whether that refers to seeing you in your anony form or your everyday identity. The latter would imply you could be somebody I know or at least that you are one of the forum regulars, whereas the former would imply this is the beginning of some kind of game or mystery.

Hmm, I'm not getting very far, am I?

The rebuilding of the Ministry interests me and I was sort of disappointed there was nothing about that (or the Trio's careers) in the epilogue. I'd much rather hear about those things than who they married or how many kids they had. I myself live in a relatively "young" State - actually we're just about to start commemorating the centenary of when we declared independence, so to speak - and the early years of the State are a major part of our history.

I think it would be utterly ridiculous if the Ministry were to fire everybody who failed to believe Dumbledore and Harry's assertion that Voldemort was back. Those who believed them appeared to be a fairly small minority and really, why should people? The story sounded utterly ludicrous. A dead man coming back to life to murder a teenage boy, who would only have been about 4 when he died, who played no part in his defeat and seemed to have no connection to anybody Voldemort might have a grudge against. If Harry had been the one killed, it might have been more convincing, though you'd still have to get past the whole "risen from the dead" part.

In Ireland, in the 40s, people went into coalition with those they'd fought against in a civil war. Compared with that, I don't think forgiving somebody when they didn't believe a rather unconvincing story is fairly minor.

I think the aftermath of a war is often going to be a mix of emotions - for the victors anyway. It's good the war is over, and in this case, that wizarding Britain is free, but not so good that so many people died.

Thanks for your review, whoever you might be.


 Report Review

Review #5, by Fuzzy Duck We Will Rebuild.

9th April 2015:
quack!

I'm a fuzzy little duck, just hatched a few days ago, but I'm learning how to read with Harry Potter fanfiction. I've learned quite a lot in my four days of life!

Kingsley is an awesome character, and I know he'll be a good Minister. There is a lot of rebuilding to do, but if everyone at the Ministry can shake a tail feather, they can get it done. I hope that Percy isn't met with too much opposition when he comes back...

Arthur Weasley is a brave and good man. Even if he doesn't know the function of a rubber duck, I can forgive him for that because he's such a helpful person. He deserves a raise and a promotion, and hopefully he'll be able to take a good vacation after the Ministry gets settled.

I wish the same thing for the Minstry that Kingsley does. After Voldemort's reign of terror, a little peace would be quite nice. You wrote this really clearly and really well, and I enjoyed the insight on Kingsley's thoughts and feelings.

Be kind to your web-footed friends!

♥Fuzzy Duck

Author's Response: Oh wow, I think this is the cutest review I've ever got. As you only hatched a few days ago, you're probably not familiar with the "reviews that made your day" thread in the forums, but I've posted this there.

I am so honoured that you'd choose this fic to read on one of your first days alive and glad you are using it to help you learn to read.

Yeah, Kingsley and Arthur Weasley are pretty cool, aren't they?

And you know, there's a certain Irish politician who is very fond of rubber ducks. He posts about them regularly on his twitter. Arthur seems pretty fond of them too, even if he's not sure of their function.

And yes, he DEFINITELY deserves a raise.

Glad you enjoyed it. Thank you so, so much for this review. I was so delighted to get it. You're such an adorable little duck.


 Report Review

Review #6, by BookDinosaur We Will Rebuild.

1st April 2015:
Hello there! :D

I've read quite a few post-war fics while I've been on the archives, but I've never read anything that centred so firmly on the Ministry before. It makes sense, of course, that the Ministry would be one of the most broken places out of the entirety of Britain, but I think that most people like to focus on the students and see how things were for them, and as a result the adults in the HP series kind of get glossed over.

Which is wrong, to say the least; just because they're adults and it's not quite as fun to write an adult's grief and angst compared to a teenager's (let's face it, writing teen angst in the most fun thing ever :P) doesn't mean that the adults weren't grieving in their own ways after the war as well.

You really brought out the emotions of this piece well, I think - again, while it wasn't as active and throwing-things-against the wall angsty, I could definitely feel the whole atmosphere of tiredness and stress that seemed to exude from both Kingsley and Arthur. Rebuilding the Ministry is a massive, massive task, because it become so corrupted during the war. Poor Kingsley really does have a massive job ahead of him as Minister, and while I have no doubt about how capable he is, I really like that you decided to write about him during a moment of weakness.

I love the way that you portrayed Kingsley in this as well; you really brought out the fact that he didn't really want to be in this position at all. It was like Dumbledore said to Harry once, although I can't remember the exact quote - about how the people who strive to be leaders are never quite as good as the people who have leadership thrust upon them. Maybe that wasn't an HP quote at all and I'm just mixing things up, but you did an amazing job of showing us how Kingsley wasn't one of those typical power-hungry politicians, and that he was in office to actually lead and rebuild.

I love how ultimately full of hope this story was; yes, there were sad moments like when Arthur was dwelling on the loss of his son, but the main message at the end, about how yes, things are bad, but they could get better - that was written beautifully and the hope shone through. This fit the prompt of overcoming adversity really well, major kudos to you! I'm really glad that I got the chance through the Gift tag to read this story, as it's probably something I would never have seen if I was left to my own devices. :P

Easter Gift Tag Review
Emily

Author's Response: I read somewhere (in some biography or something on my country's own state builders) a comment about how people who come to power as a result of things like rebellions tend to be reluctant politicians. And I know Dev (the man who wrote our Constitution) wrote to somebody around 1922 that he was going to leave politics as soon as it was possible to do so. He ended up not leaving the stage completely until the 1970s, when he was 90. Yeah. And there was no indication in the books that Kingsley was a career politician. He got the job because all the other options were dead or discredited, really. Or two young, I suppose. Hermione'd make a good Minister for Magic, but not at 18.

And yeah, I agree: older characters can be hard to write, particularly in angst typed stories, because readers will often feel less sympathy for a 30 or 40 year old who's not coping than they will for a 16 or 21 year old in the same situation. More is expected from adults. And I have a thing about writing youngish people anyway. It's weird - even when I was 8 or 9, my characters tended to be about 12 or 13 and now, I'm...a lot older, my characters tend to be 16-25.

Glad you liked the story. I just struck me that the rebuilding of the Ministry was an indication of the entire wizarding Britain overcoming adversary. And of course, there would be difficulties and of course, those involved would be stressed and many of them would still be dealing with various issues from the war, but they were creating a better country.

Like Dumbledore, and McGonagall, we don't really see much of Kingsley as a person, because they are people Harry sees as completely in control, but they must have been as stressed as anybody by events. And in a way, it's harder, as they had the pressure of meeting everybody's expectations on top of dealing with their own feelings.

Thank you again.


 Report Review

Review #7, by CassiePotter We Will Rebuild.

21st March 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
I haven't read many stories centered around Kingsley or the Ministry trying to rebuild after the Battle of Hogwarts, but I thought this one was really well done! I could feel how stressed and tired Kingsley and Arthur were, and that they knew how much work they had ahead of them. It's one of those times where it's really important to start getting things to a more stable position, but at the same time everyone just wants time to rest and grieve and be at home.
I loved the conversation between Kingsley and Arthur. I could tell that Kingsley is trying to be sensitive in offering Arthur a high position, since it will make him be away from home a lot, because he wants Arthur to be able to spend time with his family. The bit about Percy was really nice. I loved that they were willing to bring him back into the Ministry and forgive his past mistakes.
This was a great story, and I loved how I got the sense of people grieving, but it was still hopeful in the end, because they know they'll be able to move on.
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review.

Yeah, rebuilding the entire country can't be easy, especially considering how many personal issues a lot of people had to deal with at the same time - deaths of family members, friends, trauma from the battle and so on.

And I think it would be unrealistic for the Ministry to fire everybody who doubted Harry's word about Voldemort's return or who cooperated with Voldemort for their own safety.

This was for the House Cup and the prompt was overcoming adversary, which I guess the rebuilding of the Ministry counts as.


 Report Review

Review #8, by nott theodore We Will Rebuild.

21st October 2014:
Hi Margaret! I'm here for our review swap :)

I always find your stories so interesting to read, and I hope that you don't mind me picking this one, although it had a few more reviews than others. I've never read a story before that looks at this moment, when Kingsley knows that he has to face the mammoth task of rebuilding the Ministry of Magic after the war, and I was so intrigued to see your interpretation of this period. From what I've read before, your stories always show an insight that other people haven't thought about when writing about these sorts of things.

I thought you did a great job characterising Kingsley Shacklebolt in this. Although at the end of the books we see him being announced the temporary Minister for Magic, we never really get the sense that he's in the Ministry for the power that it can afford him - he's not one of those people who's a career politician. In fact, we see him choosing to belong to the Order because he believes in fighting for what is right, even if that has the potential to cost him his job, so it makes perfect sense to me that he'd be struggling a little with finding out that he's going to be taking this job on permanently, and the different tasks and challenges that he has to face with that.

I really liked the way that he thought about those challenges as well - he didn't immediately panic, although he was acknowledging the full extent of how difficult it would be. In the books, Kingsley always seems like a calm and measured character, so that fit well with what we see of him in canon. Even just little details like the way he doesn't try and say anything to Arthur to comfort him over Fred because he knows that there's nothing he could really say to console someone who's lost a loved one - that made it feel more believable because it was so in line with the Kingsley we know from the books. And as horrible as it is, it's also true, and I always picture Kingsley as a wise sort of person, so that fits too.

One of the things that I enjoyed the most about this one-shot was the fact that Kingsley was looking at moving forward, rather than going for revenge. I think that would be so easy to do, especially when so many people suffered at the hands of the Death Eaters, but he's smart enough to know that they can't lock everyone up who worked in the Ministry when Voldemort had control, and that the only way to rebuild the society is to move past that. I thought that was so sensible of him, very in character, and also really interesting because I've never read about the way that this rebuilding has been approached before. I really like your version!

Arthur was a great character as well in this. I thought you portrayed him very realistically, especially the way that he was trying to carry on somewhat as normal and help Kingsley because he knew that they had this job to do. It would be easy for him to fall into the grief of losing a son, I think, but he takes a more practical approach and in a way that's better, as he's going to have an instrumental role in rebuilding the society that his son died for. I love the idea of him having a bigger role in the Ministry as well, and being recognised for the sort of person that he is, even while he's humble about his own abilities.

I thought you did a really great job with this story, and I enjoyed reading it so much - it was so interesting to read this interpretation about what happened after the war was over and there was a new world to rebuild!

Sian :)

Author's Response: I read a comment somewhere about the founders of my own state that those who come to power as a result of revolution/political campaigns and so on are usually reluctant politicians. I think it would be the same for Kingsley and others involved in rebuilding the wizarding world - they are doing what needs to be done to rebuild society, rather than going into politics as a simple job. And there is no real indication Kingsley has any interest in being Minister.

Your comment about how I show insights other people haven't thought of, apart from being very nice to hear (so thank you) is also quite surprising, as when I write things like this I always feel I'm only filling in things that are already obvious from the series. Not in stories like the one about Demelza, as there is no evidence as to what she did during the war, but in stories like this one.

The Order of the Phoenix does in some ways resemble what war tended to be like in Ireland. It's actually kind of funny - since we've HAD an army, we haven't really had any wars (the army did take part in ONE year-long war, but that's it). And it's not THAT long, in historical terms, since State building took place here - just under a century.

And so many people who worked under the Death Eaters were forced to do so or did so because they felt leaving would allow the Death Eaters even greater free reign to do what they wished - people like most of the teachers at Hogwarts (who, by remaining at Hogwarts, could at least deal with some discipline issues BEFORE they came to the notice of the Carrows) and people like Arthur Weasley.

I felt I was being a bit mean to Arthur, pushing him further from the position he loved, but in circumstances like this, it's all hands to the pump and Arthur is definitely somebody who can be relied upon.

Thank you so much for the review - your reviews are always awesome. I'm glad you enjoyed the story.


 Report Review

Review #9, by Beeezie We Will Rebuild.

12th July 2014:
I loved the way you depicted Kingsley in this. I think it's absolutely realistic that he'd have a lot of hesitancy about taking the job on - the Wizarding World at that point was pretty much in a shambles. Given Kingsley's position of pretty much total noncompliance with the corrupt regimes under Fudge and under Voldemort, he is an obvious choice and I can see why so much of the world trusts him... but at the same time, you're absolutely right - that must have left him absolutely bone tired.

However, I was glad that if Arthur was going to push Kingsley - albeit it subtly - into accepting the Minister post, he was at least willing to help out by taking on more responsibility, too. I get that Fred's death affects him and his family, but if everyone who lost a loved one refused to step in, the same corrupt, prejudiced people would be in charge.

Toward the end, though, I could see some anticipation and even eagerness at the idea of reforming the Ministry. I thought that this was a great one-shot looking at some of the consequences of Voldemort's downfall!

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.

I think a lot of people would feel some reluctance to take on the huge job of reforming the Ministry and covering the positions of those who died or were corrupt. After all, one of the Weasley kids said Arthur loved running the Misuse of Muggle Artifacts Office and never wanted promotion. But in a crisis, it's sort of all hands to the deck.

And Kingsley doesn't appear to be a career politician. He was an Auror, so I would imagine taking on the huge responsibility of running the entire Ministry would be a lot of pressure for him.

Thanks again.


 Report Review

Review #10, by UnluckyStar57 We Will Rebuild.

8th July 2014:
Oooh, Kingsley!

I never see Kingsley in fanfiction, so it's cool that you chose to view the rebuilding process from his perspective. He's so calm in the face of adversity, but he isn't a cockeyed optimist--he knows that there's going to be lots of reforms and lots of headaches as things get sorted out.

I love how full of hope this was. There were sad times, like the mention of Mr. Weasley's grieving family and dead son, but the main message of hope for the future rang true. You wrote it quite marvelously!

Thanks for a wonderful story!

House Cup 2014 Review

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: I don't actually know where this idea came to me from. I kept trying to think what adversity I could write about people overcoming and this suddenly came to me.

Rebuilding after a civil war must be a mammoth task. There's not only the physical rebuilding that follows any war, but also the healing of tensions.

Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed it.


 Report Review

Review #11, by evil little devil We Will Rebuild.

8th July 2014:
I love how many stories dealing with the immediate post-war aftermath that the House Cup has generated. It's a time period which really interests me, imagining how all of these characters manage to continue on with normal lives after all of the upheaval they've experiences. And rebuilding the government is a very prominent and fascinating part of that. It's been corrupt for so long, I imagine that changing that would take many years and a lot of hard work, but I'm sure if anyone can set it on the right path, it's Kingsley.
I think you wrote his characterisation very well, the tough exterior, the determination, the anxieties, the hope - it was all perfect. I loved his interactions with Arthur, though it's absolutely heart wrenching to read about the Weasleys dealing with the loss of Fred.
This was an absolute delight to read! You explored his character and the rebuilding of the Ministry really well, this is a great one-shot :)

- House Cup 2014 Review.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review.

I reckon the length allowed for the stories along with the relatively short time we had to write them explains why there are so many stories about the aftermath of the war. 1,500 words doesn't really allow for the creation and development of an adversity and then an exploration of how it overcome, so the easiest thing is to choose an adversity in the books themselves and the war is an obvious one.

Thanks again.


 Report Review

Review #12, by maskedmuggle We Will Rebuild.

7th July 2014:
Hey!

I really, really enjoyed reading this! I loved the plot here, as it feels so real and like something that would definitely have happened. I can just imagine Kingsley worrying about whether he's able to complete the mammoth task ahead of him. So I thought your characterisation of him, and Arthur as well, was really great. It definitely felt very realistic and believable, as did the dialogue between the pair. I really liked Kingsley's thoughts about the Ministry's future - planning to work with the Muggle Government and aiming to create a better Ministry for the future (I loved the ending line!) This definitely captured the post-war world extremely well, and really made me realise how much work it would've been for the next couple years as well. Lovely writing, I really liked this! :)

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed this.

Rebuilding after a civil war is a huge task, as there are bound to be remaining divisions. As well as all the difficulties of rebuilding after any war. Ireland had a civil war in 1922-'23 and ten years later when the losing side came to power democratically, they entered the Dáil with guns in the pockets for fear they wouldn't be allowed take over. There were supporters of the outgoing government advocating coups. Nothing happened though. And the wizarding war is essentially a civil war.

I think anybody would question if they are up to such a task. And Kingsley doesn't appear to be a career politician.

Arthur sort of took over a little more than I'd intended him to.


 Report Review

Review #13, by ohmymerlin We Will Rebuild.

7th July 2014:
Hello!

I love reading about Kingsley and you really did him justice in this one-shot! I think it's great that Kingsley doesn't really /want/ to take the position of being a Minister, after all most people in positions of power don't ask for it, otherwise they wouldn't deserve it!

I don't know if that made any sense, it's 1 am over here so my brain might be a little fried, haha!

I loved how Arthur was supporting his friend and the trust that Kingsley showed Arthur really warmed my heart :') It's so nice to see their friendship, haha!

And I loved that he knew that it wouldn't be an easy task to change the world but with the right people and motivation, it could eventually happen. It's very on par with the current Muggle world as of right now! Very clever! ;)

You wrote this story very well and I loved the style of your writing. It was very clear and gave me a very vivid image of what was happening/what Kingsley wanted to happen.

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: It makes sense. And people who come to power as a result of wars are often reluctant politicians. Kingsley doesn't appear to be a career politician; he's just the only one left who is really in a position to do the job.

Arthur wasn't meant to play as large a part in this story as he eventually did. This could almost fit the friendship prompt too. *grins*

I'm not sure exactly what you are referring to with regard to Muggle world politics, but I guess it is true in a lot of circumstances.

Thanks so much for the review. Glad you liked this.


 Report Review

Review #14, by Leonore We Will Rebuild.

27th June 2014:
I am just rereading and rereading this story and not thinking of anything to say.

It's all just spot on, a real sense of Kingsley's mood with all of the body language and speech. And the political side, the need to avoid a power vacuum and the understanding that he can't exclude everyone who supported Fudge and Scrimgeour. He's got an excellent grasp of the situation and it in control, something that fits the Kingsley from the books.

I love the way he doesn't try to tell Arthur that Fred's a hero and all of that, because as Kingsley thinks that doesn't really change anything. That he can want to give them sympathy and help them but there's really nothing he can do.

I can't do anything like your awesome reviews, but I've managed to not be lazy and to put something down. I really loved this.

I wish Kingsley luck dealing with pureblood supremacy - it's been strong for over 1000 years (since Salazar Slytherin at least) so as he says it's not going to just disappear overnight.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review.

Well, when you think how few people actually believed Harry and Dumbledore in Order of the Phoenix, they'd be in a bit of trouble if they were only accepting people who did. What Ministry officials were in the Order of the Phoenix? Arthur Weasley, Kingsley, Tonks, Mad-Eye Moody. Now, there were probably others who supported them but weren't going out fighting (and I've probably forgotten a few), but still.

I was actually thinking of 1916 while writing about how it was a small minority. The numbers who fought then were tiny, though it's been said that within six months or a year, there were a whole lot more people CLAIMING they've been there.

Johnny McEvoy, an Irish songwriter, actually has a song about how unfair it is to tell a soldier's wife what great deeds he's done, when he returns a different person than he left. Guess that's even more true when the person is dead. Johnny McEvoy's songs tend to be terribly sad.

And yeah, the world isn't going to change overnight. My next gen has him and Hermione and Teddy still dealing with the effects of pureblood prejudice and doing things like introducing a code of house-elf rights, but then having to deal with the fact that the house elves are generally too loyal to their families to report them if they don't implement the code and Teddy points out at one point that it's not possible to watch ever family that owns a house elf constantly to ensure they're not ill-treating them.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login