Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Golden Days
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by DracoFerret11 What a Time to be Alive

11th June 2015:
Hello there! This is DarkRose from the forums, here to review for you for the House Cup 2015! So, let's go over things:

Plot: This was a really sweet story, and I enjoyed reading it! A lot of it was stuff I was familiar with of course (since they were memories from the books), but I liked seeing older-Harry and -Ron talk about them anyway. And I was so happy to know that Harry still had Kreacher (even though Kreacher would be about 200 by that point...something like that).

Characterization: I think you wrote Harry and Ron really well. It was believable to me that they would laugh at each other like they did, and I was happy to see that their friendship seemed even better post-Hogwarts. Really nice job with them.

Descriptions: I loved how you described the beautiful day outside. It made me want to go sit on my porch. :) Great details. That made things really stand out.

Overall, this was really sweet and really well written. I enjoyed reading it, and I think you did a good job writing it. It was nice to remember "with them." :)

--Emily (DarkRose)

Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015

Author's Response: Hello again!

I'm glad that you enjoyed the story, this was my first time even attempting to write anyone from the Trio so I was really worried about characterization. (And I figure that if Dumbledore can live until 115/150 depending on whether you go by movies or books then magical creatures probably lived a lot longer).

I had a little bit of trouble writing the scenery to be honest with you because I'm not used to paying that much attention to detail so I was hoping that there was enough and that it was alright.

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #2, by tangledconstellations What a Time to be Alive

31st May 2015:
Heya!

I saw on the forum that it was your birthday, so I thought I'd swing by to leave you a 'HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!' review! ♥

This was really lovely - I love reading about Harry and Ron being bff's as adults. It's so heartwarming. And this was just so extremely nostalgic! It's a really nice reminder of all the good things that happened to them at school, and it's nice to remember that it wasn't all doom and gloom!

Anyway, I hope you have a really lovely day! Thanks so much for sharing this story, it was wonderful :) And Happy Birthday!

Laura ♥ xxx

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you so much for stopping by to leave me a Happy Birthday review!

I was feeling really nostalgic as I was writing this to be honest. I haven't read Harry Potter in a really long time and thinking back to all of the shenanigans that Harry and Ron pulled just made me realise why I love this series so much.

Thank you so much for your lovely review it really did add to my day!


 Report Review

Review #3, by adluvshp What a Time to be Alive

30th July 2014:
Hey! Here for the TGS review exchange.

Aha this was a very nice little piece. I loved reading this. It was amusing to visualise older Harry and Ron, sitting in a porch drinking tea, and reminiscing about their old days. Those seven years hold so many memories - good and bad - and it was really sweet to take a trip down memory lane with the two best friends. I found myself smiling along as I read, as they talked about all the things of the past.

You described some of my favourite moments from the books here, like the flying car and Sirius' rescue. I also liked the way Ron and Harry talked about these incidents, their manner was that of two comfortable best friends, and their dialogues were realistically written.

The descriptions were very good as well, and I had a great time reading this. It made for a light and interesting read. It was a feel-good kind of piece and I enjoyed it! Good job =)

Cheers,
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Hey there AD!

I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed it! I wanted to include more things that happened as they went through those seven years but unfortunately, due to the word limit, I didn't have enough room and the ones that I mentioned were the first ones that jumped to mind.

The flying car was probably one of Harry and Ron's finest moments in their young life. Not many people would immediately jump to the conclusion of taking a flying car to school because they missed their ride.

Yay for feel good stories!
Thank you so much for this lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by Beeezie What a Time to be Alive

12th July 2014:
Aw, this was really cute. I liked going back in their memories with them, to a lot of the best moments in the series - or at least the most entertaining ones. I especially loved their reminiscing about the first time they met Grawp (though in the books, was Ron there for that?) - I'm sure Hermione was close to falling apart, too! I also really appreciated the reference to Kreacher, and their going to look for him at the end of this - it really says a lot about how far he's come!

A minor bit of CC, though -

I wasn't sure about the order they listed the people they lost in the war, or who listed what. I'd think that Harry would be the one who mentioned Lupin, Sirius, and Dumbledore, and not necessarily in that order, and I certainly don't think Colin and Griphook would come before Dumbledore, Sirius, and Dobby. It's minor, but it stood out to me as a bit odd.

Overall, though, excellent job!

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Hello there Branwen!

I fixed the whole Grawp thing because someone else had pointed it as well and I felt like such an idiot about it because I completely forgot that Ron wasn't there to meet Grawp so I went back and fixed it.

I took into account about what you said about the order that the names were listed in and I went back and fixed that as well, taking out some names and I think I put in a couple of new ones in their place. i see what you mean about it being odd in the way they were listed.

Thank you so much for your awesome review!


 Report Review

Review #5, by TidalDragon What a Time to be Alive

9th July 2014:
Howdy!

When I read strictly happy stories, I almost always tend to gravitate toward Post-Hogwarts reflective pieces like this and I think it was a really good idea to just isolate Harry and Ron's friendship for a moment. I think because of the prominence of the entire trio throughout the series, the individual dynamic between Harry and Ron too often gets forgotten.

The atmosphere you set for the meeting was, I think, quite believable. The kids are off at school and the wives are busy so the guys get a spare moment to talk. As far as what was missing from said talk, I think for me it was some more focused dwelling. You were hemmed in by the word limit and I know you clearly had a lot you wanted to cover, but I think it could have strengthened the piece to pick your most key moments and build on them, really describing Harry and Ron's reactions and how those moments helped define their friendship rather than just being incidents in it. Just a thought.

This is more minor in the context of this story because I don't think it really detracted, but I'd be careful with canon. Note that by the time all their kids are at Hogwarts, Harry is Head Auror, so if you come back, you might rejigger the opener based on that.

Thanks for sharing!

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hey there!

I do agree with you that Harry and Ron's friendship sometimes gets forgotten, I haven't seen too many stories around the archives that's about them (but then again I'm not looking too hard).

I definitely see what you mean by picking the key moments and one that jumped to mind was when Ron sat down with Harry during the Hogwarts express in their first year because that's what started it all and then another was when Ron left in Deathly Hallows.

Oh no, I was perfectly aware that Harry was Head Auror after everything settled down and I had that in mind when I wrote this but there are those higher up in the Ministry with more power and more say than Harry so it's not as if orders come from him and only him all the time. He could've chosen to give his department a day off whenever he wished to but in my head this order came from someone a lot closer to Kingsley and that was why Harry and no one else questioned it. They had a lot of work to do, because it is the Auror department after all, so no one wanted to protest against whoever had given them the day off despite their piles of work.

Thank you so much for your lovely and helpful review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by UnluckyStar57 What a Time to be Alive

9th July 2014:
Hey! Happy House Cup tidings to you! :D

I really liked this look at Ron and Harry's friendship in their slightly older years. They're still the same old besties, except now their relationship has mellowed. Ron knows that he was stupid for abandoning Harry and Hermione, just like Harry doesn't romanticize the past. It's all very realistic, so good job on making them sound like themselves! :D

The one thing that I have to mention is that Hagrid didn't take Ron to meet Grawp on that first time. He only took Harry and Hermione because Ron was playing Quidditch. (Sorry, someone else might have mentioned that, but I'm mentioning it just in case.)

I didn't think that there was anything missing from this! It was great. :)

House Cup 2014 Review

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Happy House Cup tidings to you as well!

Harry would never be one of those people that would romanticize something that was horrible, that's something that I always loved about him was the fact that he recognized what was good and bad and didn't make it seem any less than what it was. I don't think there would ever be anything that would happen to them that would be quite as exciting as what went on during their adolescent years.

Thank you so much for pointing that out because I completely forgot about that bit! Someone else has mentioned after you and I went back and altered to fit what really happened in the books. Thanks a bunch for pointing that out to me otherwise I never would've noticed.

Thank you so much for this lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #7, by evil little devil What a Time to be Alive

8th July 2014:
This made me feel so beautifully nostalgic! This is such a lovely, adorable little story, I love it to pieces! This is so realistic too, you really nailed the characterisations, and I can definitely imagine them doing just this - reminiscing over their school days. It's very accurate in that things that were difficult at school you often end up remembering with a fonder memory than you had at the time.
This was the perfect friendship to pick for this prompt, and you wrote it so well! It was incredibly heartwarming to read.

- House Cup 2014 Review.

Author's Response: Hey there!

I'm so happy to hear that it made you feel nostalgic because that's how I felt while writing it and that was my intention as well. I'm just really happy and giggly right now to hear that you loved this too pieces.

As always, I'm also really happy to hear that the characterizations were good and that the situation were believable.

Thank you so much for your lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by nott theodore What a Time to be Alive

8th July 2014:
Hi there! I've been trying to get through some of the house cup stories that were written for event 3 while I've been reviewing for the house cup and this one caught my eye!

I really enjoyed reading this! I thought that the situation and the characters you chose fit so perfectly for the prompt of friendship, because Harry and Ron especially have gone through so much together as friends and they are best friends, and I think they always will be. I think you portrayed them really well here, and captured their characters and their friendship so well that it could be a moment from canon.

I thought that the way they were reflecting on their teenage days was really interesting but I loved the way that they were able to bring in humour to it and tease each other about things like the Valentine's dwarf that Ginny sent to Harry or that necklace that Lavender bought for Ron. Then the moment when Ron started apologising for having left seemed really in character to me and I thought it was a great touch to add in. Overall, this was a really enjoyable one-shot and well done with it!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hey there Sian! I'm so glad that it caught your eye (and congrats on the huge amount of reviews that you left).

Whenever I'm given the prompt of friendship my mind just immediately jumps to Harry and Ron. You have no idea how much it means to me to hear that their characters weren't OOC and especially the fact that it seemed to be a moment from canon.

I think Harry and Ron have reached a point in their lives where they can look back at their young selves and make fun of some of the things that happened to them or that they did.

Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by patronus_charm What a Time to be Alive

8th July 2014:
Hi Grace!

I really loved this one-shot as it was just so sweet and adorable to read and even though it touched on moments of angst as well as humour they really went together well. You sit the scene so well together showing that while their lives were normal now, it almost seemed a little boring compared to the chaos of before. Another thing I liked was that you focused on just Ron and Harry because while they were the Golden Trio, it was just the two of them at first so it was nice to see them back together.

Aw, just seeing them going over all of the memories together really did crack me up because they really did go through an awful lot together and it was only when you really began to start listing everything I really began to realise just how crazy their lives. I thought it was really effective how you listed the names of the dead too, with each name on their own line so they really got that just to themselves and had that moment to be remembered. The way you left it was really good too, and I really loved this one-shot as it was just so lovely to read!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

Author's Response: Hey Kiana!

I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed it because it's my first time writing Harry and Ron so I was quite nervous about it. I wasn't too sure about going from dead people to funny moments and I was a little worried that it was choppy but so far no one has pointed it out so I guess I was worrying over nothing.

I feel like anything that happened after those seven years of crazy probably seemed boring to the Trio considering all that they had witnessed. They might've enjoyed it though, not running for their lives. I would've involved Hermione as well but Harry and Ron always seemed a lot closer than Harry and Hermione or Ron and Hermione (even though they have a pretty strong bond considering they're married and all).

All of the trouble that they got into seemed really dangerous when you were with them but when you take a step back and look at it from an unbiased perspective you realise exactly how ridiculous the messes that they got themselves into were (slugs Ron, really?)

Thank you so much for this lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Veritaserum27 What a Time to be Alive

7th July 2014:
Hello!

I thought this was a really sweet chapter. Sometimes I feel like, as authors, we are always trying to come up with the next sensationalistic, super-crazy idea for a story. I really liked the pace of this one. Harry and Ron deserve an afternoon off. It sounds like they don't get one very often. Your characterization of the two was spot-on. Harry is, as always, willing to underplay his role in saving the wizarding world and Ron is forever feeling guilty for decisions he made when he was just a kid. I could feel myself going down memory lane as well. You brought up all of my favorite scenes! You even managed to bring a little more depth to the story with remembering those who gave their lives to save the world. I think this was a great response to the prompt and I don't feel like anything is missing!

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: I finally have time to reply to these now! Hey there!

I know exactly what you're talking about! It's so hard to come up with absolutely crazy ideas that'll grab peoples attentions that sometimes we forget about the simple things that we could write about. As Aurors I don't think they would have many days off from catching wizards and enforcing the law and such so they definitely do deserve an afternoon off.

I never get tired of hearing that their characterization was good because they're one of the biggest characters throughout the series and I would really hate to mess them up.

I wanted to take down my books and I look through them for more scenes but I had a limit unfortunately so I just went with the ones that came to mind first.

Thank you so much for your absolutely lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Freda_and_Georgina What a Time to be Alive

7th July 2014:
For the House Cup 2014 Review
Ooh, I love memory lane!
The phrase "the seven years of his life in which Harry was present" makes it sound like this is taking place just after the War, or that Ron wasn't with Harry afterwards. I'm a tad confused, since it seems neither of those options is what's going on.
Heehee these are some great memiories to bring up!
GO HUFFLEPUFF!!
--Freda

Author's Response: I can definitely see where you might be getting confused with that sentence and I myself had a bit difficulty coming up with what I was actually trying to get across there. I was worried that someone would get confused so thank you for pointing it out to me, I'll go back and fix that part as best as I can.

Thanks so much for reviewing and I'll be stopping by some of your stories as well!


 Report Review

Review #12, by maskedmuggle What a Time to be Alive

7th July 2014:
Hey!

I really liked this. There was some reminiscing of sad moments, but on the whole it made me very warm and fuzzy remembering the good funny stuff that also happened during Ron and Harry's long time friendship. I really liked the moments you chose that they talked about - first teasing each other about their romantic relationships, then suddenly remembering all sad bits, before some of the crazy things that happened. What I particularly liked was your characterisation and dialogue. Harry and Ron are tough to characterise perfectly given how familiar all readers are with them, but they really felt canon and genuine here, so great job with that! All the dialogue between them felt completely realistic and believable. Nicely written, I really enjoyed reading this :)

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: I could've gone on for much longer about the good stuff that happened but I felt like it would end up being a really long one-shot of just memories and I didn't know how everyone would feel about that.

Oh thank the lord that they felt canon, I was so terrified that they wouldn't be because I've never written them before so it's actually a relief to hear that they were characterized good.

I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed it and thanks so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Hogwarts27 What a Time to be Alive

26th June 2014:
Hi, this was a really nice short read. I enjoyed it. If you had a time limit to do this in, you did a great job. I enjoyed the humor and the descriptions about the ease of the unhurried leisure time the characters had to spend together. The one very minor crit I might offer is that the parts about the next gen kids didn't seem to fit as well into the story as the Hogwarts memories because those would be more of a shared memory between between the kids' parents and not so much between Harry and Ron. I would also have loved for this to be a bit longer and to have a few more Hogwarts memories in it, so if you ever feel like adding a little more to this story, please do, because readers like to reminisce about the Hogwarts years too, so the theme is great. Nice job!

Author's Response: Oh my goodness, thanks so much for reviewing! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed it and I definitely agree with your crit about the kids. I'm actually going back and taking out that part of the story to replace it with something else now that you've pointed it out. I feel like it would definitely make the one-shot better so thank you so much for this!

 Report Review

Review #14, by The_Crookshanks_Saga What a Time to be Alive

25th June 2014:
GO RAVENCLAW! WOOT WOOT!

Oh, those delicious little tidbits you added in about Ron and Harry's kids- made my hour! I don't know about you, but I'm addicted to those sort of details. And then, where they listed all of the deaths. I think I may have teared up a bit. No matter. I loved your one-shot. And as always- RAVENCLAW FOR THE HOUSE CUP!

Author's Response: Yeah, Ravenclaw for the House Cup this year!

I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed the bit with their kids and the rest of the story as well! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed the one-shot!

GO GO RAVENCLAW!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login