137 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Shinicha The Effectiveness and Efficacy of Combined Action

23rd November 2014:
Another chapterr!!

First of all, thank you so much for your author's responses, I'm really happy that you find my comments helpful, and of course it's my pleasure to read&review! (But I think I expressed myself confusingly when I asked about the secret hiding place of Annett: I hadn't forgotten that it was in the library, but in the last chapter it is actually never mentioned where she is at when Al finds her, that's why I asked if it was, in fact, her hiding place!)

This was such a great Quidditch game and such a Annett-ish way to perceive it. The way she describes the crouds as fireworks and how she struggles to fight with the anxiety was really well written. And the whole chapter was so funny! I'd like to see that stunt where Indra and Davied actually SWITCH their brooms in mid-air, haha. This is quite elaborate.

It's so hilarious how she switches between full-on concentration on the game with her computer-like analytic skills and "reality". The flirting with Jordan was probably the best bit, so hilarious, ahaha.

I think it's good the way the game turned out. It was Annie's first game after all (I think I'll stick to that nickname now :P ) and it fitted that she'd need time to adjust. You really used a lot of imagination on it too (as usual pushing the boundaries of what we conventionally think about Quidditch) - I think noone ever imagined a game played without broom!

And the moment Al caught her I was actually holding my breath. Sooo cute! It almost made MY skin tingle *swoon*

The upcoming prank has had a long innuendo, I can't wait for it to happen. I honestly have no idea what it could be, but it must involve some complicated mechanical installations if takes so long to prepare and all kinds of equipment. Whoa.
The misunderstandings between James&co and Incog Imp are awesome. You know when there was this fake-article on Banksy's (the street-artist) capture in the news a few weeks back? It made me think of Incog Imp - only the other way round! Noone really knows if Banksy is a single individuum but everyone just assumes it, just as with Anett where everyone simply took it for granted that there must be several persons behind it. (which they now actually are, which is, again, so cool)

I liked the Slytherin way of dealing with their loss, and how it perplexes Annett. Fundamental Attribution Error, oh Annett!

Just small things about the German:
"Damn it" doesn't translate to "Verdammt es", it's just "Verdammt"
And maybe instead of "Dankeschön" (written jointly) "Vielen (, vielen) Dank" is better (dankeschön is very formal, not what you'd say when you're stirred up)

Anyways, wonderful chapter!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Unicorn_Charm The Effectiveness and Efficacy of Combined Action

16th November 2014:
Em!!! Em, Em, Em, EEEMMM!

I LOVED this chapter! Loved, loved, loved, loved it!! That Quidditch match was incredibly exciting! Oh my goodness! I can't believe her observational skills. They blow me away constantly. I think I may have said this before, but I'll say it again, I would not want to play poker against her haha. I love how pretty much the entire Gryffindor team are Wotters. That seems horribly appropriate.

I was really nervous for her when the match first began. She was starting to lose it a little bit with all of the people and noise and such. Buuuttt... Al. :D She calmed down because of Al! How freaking cute! I thought that whole match was written really, really well. I saw the whole thing playing out in my mind and was a nervous wreck the entire time. I couldn't believe when she was knocked off her broom and just dangling there. And the determination she showed, but swinging herself back up, and standing on the hoop, trying to block the goals that way. Holy moley!

I laughed so hard when she blew kisses at Jordan and then did the "X" at him. Hahaha that was great, and SO her! I love how Annett is still herself, yet growing with each chapter. Her development has been extraordinary.

AL CAUGHT HER AND SHE HUGGED HIM!! Ahhh!! That is like a MAJOR step forward for them! I can't contain my *squee* at this moment, Em!! :D I'm almost bursting with happiness!

Did James actually hand her plans for his prank against her?! Hahaha! That's fantastic! I can't wait to see what this prank on the party is going to be. Spiked drinks, possibly? Make it rain on the party? Sleeping potions? I want to know! Bah!

I am in awe of you, Em. Every chapter just keeps getting better and better! I can't wait for the next update, and will bother you incessantly until it is finished and/or in the queue. ;)

So much love, tons of hugs and lots of cake flavored adult beverages,

Meg ♥

 Report Review

Review #3, by Shinicha Developmental Revelations

11th November 2014:
omg omg omg SO AWESOME. This chapter had EVERYTHING. Humour, feelings, thoughts, plot development.. hach.
The conversation betwenn Annett and Al was so SQUEE worthy, I can't even properly describe how GREAT it was to read. The tension was almost feasable. I coudn't help but think KISS KISS KISS every few seconds. But I guess that wouldn't really work for two people that shy. NEVERTHELESS. I love you so much for this chapter.

I also had really beautiful descriptions and choices of words. The sentences flow in the right pace and still I was happily surprised by those quirky wordings and expressions. (And this: "Like an the head of a emu buried in the ground. Shy, but very much there." was just cute.)

The language misunderstandings were SO funny, my flatmate gave me a strange look when I was laughing loudly and didn't stop while reading... And the whole conversation in general was pretty ingenious. (REPUTATION!) Overall, I think your skills at writing dialogues have improved immensely, I never get confused as to who is speaking anymore and they start and end at the right points and are interrupted by description in a perfect way. It's really a pleasure to read. *hearts*

And plotwise I'm so thrilled that Al and Scorp are now part of the Incog Imp. WHATS THE PRANK. Can't wait to find out. Tell us more about their scheming, pleeaaassee?

Just a few questions:
The place were Al finds Annett, is it her secret hiding place behind the library? I guessed that it was, but it wasn't mentioned so I was wondering. Or is it another secret place we cannot know about yet?

And why would Annett deionise water? Isn't that usually for ironing and stuff? :o

Here I was a bit confused: "It was the morning Ronan told me he slept well for the first time. Now he can't even do that!" I thought Ronan was doing better? :( Or did she only later find out that he only has insomnia about once a week?

Here's just a small typo: "He say it's not something he cannot handle."

"...tame his nervous system on the moments they act up" And I'm not really sure, because I'm bad with this kind of grammar stuff, but I think it would be "in" or "during" the moments?

And here my usual annoying obsession with tenses xD (sorry for that).. "When I looked up at it, I saw that Al's face openly expresses his concern."

Thanks so much for this great chapter!

Author's Response: SHINICHA!

First of all, there is no need to apologise for your amazing ability to catch my annoying tense and grammar errors. I am endlessly grateful for that! As always, your suggestions are taken into account upon editing. You help me optimise the story in so many ways, Shinicha!

I am so glad you like it because after I wrote this the first time, I edited it again with you in mind!! This review just brings a gigantic smile to my face. You're too kind! Similarly, I love you so much for this review. ;)

Thank you for all your compliments about my weird way of writing and all those odd descriptions. It makes me so happy to hear that you like them. :D

The misunderstands are too fun to write and I'm delighted to hear that you find them fun to read. You know how my dialogue-writing has been improving? YOU! You've helped me SO much!! I am so honoured that you keep reviewing every single chapter of this story! All your support means a lot to me. :D You're a very, very lovely person. Thank you. :)

The prank will be revealed soon, I promise! I just hope that you'll find it funny and it's not just funny in my head.

It is in the library I only mentioned that in the second chapter I think, but I will keep that in mind when writing future chapters. It's hard to remember something so small, I completely understand.

Annett would deionise water for all her lab experiments. :) I never knew it was for ironing. Oopsie.

You're right. Ronan was doing better, but then the trypanosomes damaged his nervous system and now he's not getting better again. With Sleeping Sickness, I think that when an individual has been infected for too long, some of the damage is permanent even if all the parasites are gone.

All typos are fixed. :D Thank you so much for catching them, Shinicha.

And once again, thank YOU for this wonderful review. :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by Shinicha Among Frustration, Feigns, Faintings, and Fun

11th November 2014:
Chapter 22 already, I can't believe how time's passing!!

I loved this chapter for all the Quidditch action. Because I LOVE Quidditch. Those were quite tough try-outs, wow, I would've died after 3 minutes of running.

There were a lot of moments I had to laugh out loud! Like when her fox-instincs kicked in, hahahaha! (If only Al new who he was spending the night with..!!)

This sort-of animal behaviourism were really adorable with Sirius too (I wonder if McGonagall has any cat-treats?), it's so cute that Annette can't help it.

Anette's becoming - there is no other word - cool. When she teased McLaggen I had this image of teenie-movies in my head with the cool football-gang crowding in on some poor bloke, and she's the center of attention! That's quite a development, and I have to say you made it very nice and gradual as to not seeming unrealistic. Nevertheless I am hoping that we'll soon get some more intimate moments (as in her thoughts on feelings and such) with her again, I love those so much! They always give a very different perspective on phenomena that are usually regarded as normal.

Her chat with Flint was hilarious!! (Who might the person of his interest be? Male female THOMAS?)
So verryy Slytherin-y to talk down the opponent in a moment of physical weakness haha. And the surprise at her "pretty" first name! When he suggested to call her Annie I immediately thought "how fitting!!!" thinking of Annie Oakley. (You now her? She must be one of the coolest women in history. And after being shot by Quaffles over and over again it made even more sense.)
Speaking of names, Maximus is a very unique name. His parents must have high hopes for him :P

I have a few suggestions. I don't know why I'm so concerned with tenses, haha.. but there were several 'switches' from past to present again that you might want to correct:
"Although, she catches six of Al's shots, she could only pass to Davies twice (...)
My roommate, Farley, was next. She could only catch five, although she successfully passed to Davies all five times (...)
In the obtuse, upside down "V" of his eyebrows, I saw more guilt as opposed to the anger I expected. (...) she couldn’t hold on any longer and drops to the ground" Maybe there are others that I didn't catch.

Also here, there's a "my" missing :)
"I shake head, willing myself to focus."

In my opinion it always disturbes the flow of a novel-style text to have "etc" inserted, as in "to test our reflexes and strength and agility, etc." but that's a question of style, obviously!

Thanks for the chapter :)

Author's Response: Shinicha,

Bahaha! Yes, it's very, very tough. I felt that the Quidditch tryouts needed to really let the players know what they will be doing or what it will really be like to play such a sport.

Oh my! Yes. Yes, indeed. If only. . . ;)

I'm so, so, so happy to hear that you liked that! There are somethings about being a canine I just had to take advantage of!

Nice and gradual and realistic is EXACTLY what I was going for, Shinicha! That means so much to me for you to say that!! That image you described is absolutely hilarious! This was written like a behind-the-scenes look at how Slytherins keep up their reputation as mean people. Which is to say, they're not actually mean, they just have a very twisted sense of humour.

I love getting into her thoughts and I am super glad to hear that you do, too! 'They always give a very different perspective on phenomena that are usually regarded as normal' is the most awesome thing I've read today. Again, THAT'S EXACTLY WHAT I WAS GOING FOR!! :D You're too kind, Shinicha!

Who might it be, indeed! It's all up to you. ;)

Thank you so much for comparing my character to someone as awesome as Annie Oakley!! Admittedly, I did have to look her up and read about her, but she really is very, very cool!

I guess his parents do! Haha! That's actually exactly what I was thinking when I name him.

No, not at all! I love all the help you can give me, because you're always, always so helpful. You have immensely sharp eyes and I genuinely appreciate that! You're the best. I have taken all your suggestions and edited accordingly! :D Thank you so, so very much for them! You're awesome!!

Thank you, yourself for the review! You always help me with future chapters that you haven't even read yet, which is wonderful!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Chazzie Developmental Revelations

10th November 2014:
Em! I love this. Really I do.

Annett is really quite funny and the figures of speech that she doesn't understand just make the story even better. Al was really cute. and the bits with him and FuFu were so adorable I cant even start to explain! I'm really glad they have become friends again. I didn't like it when they were arguing. The ring that Annett made for Teddy was really sweet. I loved the reason behind the lupine flowers.

I am still laughing because Scorpius knows that FuFu and Annett are one and the same and that she shared Al's bed and yeah. I'm odd.
Gah I have to go and read the other stories you have written now. Except not right now as I have class, but soon.

Much hugs,
Lottie

Author's Response: Lottie!

Gahh! Much, much thanks for reading and reviewing. You're too lovely. I am delighted to hear that you find humour in her. I figured she read science textbooks rather than too many fantasy books during her childhood and, as a result, wouldn't really understand such figures of speech. :)

I am also thrilled to hear that you like the bits with him and Fufu. They are fun to write, so I'm glad they are fun to read as well. :D

I know right? They were mad at each other for 10 whole chapters now that I think about it.

That's wonderful to hear given that it's as far as the romance goes in this one. ;) Or is it? It's all up to you to decide.

WHAT?! Scorpius knows about Fufu and Annett? Where?

I suppose I should clarify with this one, Annett, the poor girl was left on the dog bed Al left her in from last chapter. Quite sad. Bahaha! If you're odd, I guess I'm odder considering I kind of wrote it. ;)

Hope you had fun in class! And thank you, so, so much for reading and reviewing, Lottie!

Much reciprocated hugs,
Em


 Report Review

Review #6, by Unicorn_Charm Developmental Revelations

9th November 2014:
Em! Ahh! Ok. I need to calm myself before I try to type a coherent review.

I LOVED that whole scene with Al and Annett! There is just something so intimate about cutting a guy's hair. Like, when you're not their barber or something like that. The fact that she does it shows that she cares for him and the fact that he let her shows that trust he has in her. It just seemed like a lot more than just a haircut to me. I could be WAY overthinking that, though. They definitely seemed like they took two steps forward, hopefully they don't take one step back now.

I can't believe these people think that she is some sort of new Dark Lord. They're insane. It goes back to her thinking "I'm not evil. I'm just Austrian-German!" lol. That was one of my favorite things she ever thought/said. But, I digress. It was so cute that Al stood up for her like that. And I loved that she didn't get mad at him for it! I'm still dying to know why Al has trouble sleeping. It's been driving me CRAZY!

Yay!!! She made the team!! And holy moley! Al and Scorpius know she's the Incog Imp! What are you doing to me this chapter? There was just so much *squee*! As the kids say, "I can't even!" ;)

I'm nervous for her now, with this match coming up. I'm afraid she's going to have another panic attack. I hope that she doesn't, but I fear that she will. It was really sweet of Al to offer to get her through it. Oh my god, Em!! I want them together now! Waaahh!!

My favorite part of this whole chapter was how Al made that remark about stealing her thunder and how she would reply, because I'm sure that's just what she would have said hahaha. That had me giggling. :D

I loved this chapter! I'm obsessed with this story and I absolutely adore you!

Hugs, love, homemade diabetes in a glass (aka that Butterbeer recipe I found), mojitos and fresh baked cookies!

xoxo Meg ♥

Author's Response: MEG!

[squeee]

In the same manner, this response warranted some calming down before being written because you're just lovely!

You can read into it however you want, this is totally up to you! I try to give as much space as I can for your own interpretation. Shame she didn't actually get around to cutting it haha. Coincidentally, I type this with a bandaged middle finger after accidentally cutting myself with a knife. If anyone asks, I'll say (with a Scottish accent because why not), I'll narrate a some story about flipping a highland beast the bird as a lesson to all to show courtesy to all living creatures.

[looks up] Well that was quite a tangent.

Bahaha! I am so glad you liked that scene! It was fun to write. She didn't get annoyed at them herself because she was too busy being amused, as you can see.

Al? All in due time, dearest Meg. All in due time.

Not so incog after all, huh? I figured that she couldn't completely hide it from everybody. Someone was bound to notice. ;) Bahaha! This reivew, I can't even either!

MEG! You're making me nervous about this ending I have planned out in which Annett realises she's been in love with Clinton this whole time. :P

It is my goal of every chapter to try to produce at least a bit of laughing, so I am immensely pleased that happened! Thank you.

The feelings are absolutely mutual, dearest Meg! The adoration is reciprocated, I am equally obsessed with all that you write and I love this review! You're just so sweet!! And your encouragement and support never fails to make me squee. I'd give you a hug if it wouldn't result in your being harmed what with my arms flailing and all.

Loads and loads of love, hugs, and chocolate mojitos with After Eights,
Em



 Report Review

Review #7, by mima pima Developmental Revelations

8th November 2014:
please continue. please. I just read this entire fic in two hours, I need more. its addictive :D
Oh, I've been wondering, are you a scientist?
thank you so much for your dedication to the piece. it made my day.
just... thank you so, so much

Author's Response: Dear mima pima,

I most certainly will do just that. You can count on it. :D I am so grateful that you took the time to 'binge-read' and review. Thank you so, so much. It means a lot to me to hear that you need more. This is very encouraging. I appreciate it abundantly.

I would like to think of myself as one (if you'd like to describe being a scientist as a state of mind rather than just a profession), but I am not a professional scientist, no. I am studying science, though.

Aww, mima pima. You are so lovely! I am thrilled to see that. :D I hope you will continue to enjoy the story and I hope to hear more from you.

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #8, by wolfgirl17 The Peculiar Childhood: A Prologue

4th November 2014:
Hello again Deary,

Me again. I was so pleased when I saw you'd requested another review. I was partially terrified after the last one being so critical, that you might immediately hate me and cast aside all my assertions as utter twaddle, especially after noting that the other reviews you had on the last story were all of a far more positive nature than mine.

However, here we are and I must say, I find myself alarmingly curious to continue reading this tale. To begin with I had a very 'Ye gods, so much Characterization!' moment, before recalling that this is an internal monologue and therefore needs to be soaked in characterization.

I really like the way you've portrayed Annette. I think you've captured her odd childhood and heightened intelligence perfectly, and you've balanced it very well with her personality traits by having her be somewhat shy and perhaps evenly mildly socially inept because of her upbringing and her intelligence.

Very cool on slotting Teddy into this, and I laughed for a good minute without stopping to learn that her father's name is Wolfgang, simply due to the symmetry between his name and Lupin. (I have an unhealthy obsession with any word in some way pertaining to or incorporating the word wolf, no matter the language).

The flow of this chapter is smooth too, you move it forward at a steady pace, giving us an abundance of characterization to play with in order to decide if we like/care about Annette and want to continue, and you ended it on just the right note. I very much like the idea of her being utterly terrified to go to Hogwarts due to the fact that such an act will require that she interact with people she's not met before, and will leave her well outside of her comfort zone.

You've laid some foundations for the next chapter and the story as a whole, allowing for the development of plot, which I'm looking forward to reading more of. All in all, I think you've got a great start here, and I honestly can't find much to give concrit on.

I am curious to see where you'll take this and which character pairing you're going to have for Annette. Do request more reviews, because I'm intrigued. Sorry I can't be more helpful other than to basically pass on the same type of praise you've probably already been getting in your other reviews.

I think the only thing I can offer is maybe editing to include the info of your CI creator, and maybe a little more indication about which parts are sarcasm and which are serious thoughts, as at the moment I'm picturing this highly intuitive and intelligent little girl with next to no social skills and not all that much interest in making friends, but again, I'm sure that will make more sense and I will get a better feeling for the tone of her thought-train as I read on and grow more accustomed to your style of writing.

I hope this has been helpful (and made up for all that concrit on the last review somewhat). Feel free to request more reviews on this and any other stories you've got =)

xx-Wolfgirl17

Author's Response: Hello there Wolfgirl,

Bahaha! Any review is a helpful review, I suppose. :) I completely respect that different people have different opinions and that's totally fine with me. Not everybody would have loved TNSPI, Joseph and I knew that.

I had no idea how you would react to this story, but I am quite alarmed myself with this response.

Yes, this chapter contains shedloads of characterisation. Annett is simply one of many thoughts. Although it is because of that reason that it's not quite so simple at all. I am unable to give away everything. She's not the most reliable of narrators as you may find in future chapters, so there's a lot of reading between the lines that must be done.

Annett is the kind of character I wrote because I haven't seen a homeschooled scientifically-inclined introvert around here (although that may be lack of exploration on my part). I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed my portrayal of her. She's amazing fun to write.

Bahaha! I just like the name because of Mozart (that genius). It's interesting the way you have connected Wolfgang to Teddy that way.

Thank you, Wolfgirl. This chapter has been edited multiple times to smooth out the flow and I'm pleased to hear that it's working. And wow, thank you so much!

I am equally curious to see what you think of the following chapters. ;) As for the pairing, just a little warning, romance is not one of the main genres. No need to apologise. Reassurance is always nice haha. :D

My chapter image creator? That would be myself.

Due to this being an internal monologue, I'm afraid I can't quite have Annett herself pointing out, in her own mind, what is sarcastic and what is serious. You are free to take it any way you like, actually. It's up to the readers.

Constructive criticisms are not something that should be made up for. They are appreciated in whatever form, Wolfgirl. I might just take you up on that offer. ;)

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #9, by Unicorn_Charm Among Frustration, Feigns, Faintings, and Fun

28th October 2014:
Hi Em!!

Yikes! What an intense try-out! It sounded like she was very impressive, though. Definitely took some of her classmates by surprise, for sure.

It's so amazing how aware she is of everything. How observant she is. I would absolutely never want to play a game of poker with Annett. There is no doubt that she would pick up on every tell haha.

Her sense of humor is so dark and I just love it. And it's so sweet how Carter is always on the same page as her. It just further proves the whole big sister/little brother relationship they're developing.

So did Max just realize that she may fancy Al? Or does he just think that she may like someone on the team? Is it becoming obvious to others how Annett and Al feel? It seems like she hides it well... Hmm. More questions.

Man, I would have been asking myself the same question after that try-out. I would absolutely be wondering if its worth it. That was A LOT to go through. I hope she makes the team!!

Ahh I want the next chapter, now! :(

Love it, Em! Love, love, love, love it!! I can't wait for more!!

Love, hugs, chocolate, homemade Butterbeer, cookies, cakes and more love!

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Dearest Meg,

As always, your reviews bring an unparalleled happiness to my days! I can never reply in a timely fashion because of that!

Sports these days, huh? They are more intense than ever. Even curling! I felt that this should be reflected in Quidditch tryouts as well.

Bahaha! She could be between intensely straight poker faces, looking out for bodily lie indicators, and calculating the probability of winning. You know her so well and that makes me so happy!

IT TOTALLY IS AND THEY DEFINITELY ARE! they share the twisted sense of humour, absolutely. I wanted this to be a sort of behind-the-scenes look at Slytherin intimidation tactics. We simply enjoy and take immense pleasure in frightening other people. We aren't actually all that bad. ;) Just very misunderstood.

I realised I should have clarified who was speaking and I have gone and edited this (and thanks to the amazing work of the validators, it has already been updated). It is Max who fancies the pants off of someone.

I know, right! All that work. She takes the honorary role of Carter's unofficial big sister seriously.

I feel similarly about your reviews, Meg! I (love)^10 it.

Meg, you spoil me endlessly!

Thank you so, so, so much for yet another encouraging review that leaves me with a raging urge to maul you with hugs,
Em


 Report Review

Review #10, by Shinicha The Irritation of Attention

28th October 2014:
Loved this chapter! For picking up and arranging all the plot-threads and for having Al+Fufu action! hoho

On one hand, I'm glad that Ronan is healed from the parasite, on the other hand (I know it's mean) I'm somehow hoping that we'll get a few more science sessions with Annette researching methods to heal his neurological damage! I'd love a good lab session ^_^

I'm pretty amazed at what is thrown at Anette. She gets so much attention for being herself, but not just because she's being herself, but because she's behaving the way she does around others - meaning social interaction! Which is positive. I like the controvercy that arises from this - some students being really scared of her, giving her a reputation, others seeing her talents thus suggesting her for the Quidditch tryouts. Superficially the plot has everything a typical Cinderella-story needs. But it's so different, because firstly, it's not about a single prince charming discovering her traits, but her own abilities showing in the course of social interactions, secondly it's her thoughts that make her personality so convincing and interesting, and thirdly it's the VERY likable and welcome lack of constant social-class-clichés being reproduced (happy end=marrying/becoming rich) that usually come with Cinderella-stories.

Just one thing I was wondering about during the Quidditch training was the tense-change here: "I found myself sliding sideways until I hung upside down a couple times. My trainers found this abundantly amusing. It amazes me that with all their howling, they manage to stay on their own brooms. “Your grip is too loose, Kluge.” Davies was explaining to me when we heard the first shriek."

Is it an intentional switch between past and present tense? I tried to think of it chronological but it just didn't really make a lot of sense to me, hence me mentioning it here! (But maybe I just didn't get it right)

Also, I didn't really understand why there would be someone screaming at the Quidditch Pitch - or why screams from the castle would be heard all the way to the Quidditch pitch if they discovered the prank. Maybe you could explain this a bit more? ;)


I'm really glad that Annette got some recognition for her treatment of Ronan. But I was also wondering - first, there was Hagrid finding out about a fox. And then there were the teachers, knowing that it was her. Do they know that she is an animagus? If so, it's quite a serious matter that would be taken to the ministry, no? Because every Animagus has to be registered... Or did they hear it from Ronan who saw her in her human form...?

I just LOVED the scene between her and Al. (It will be all the more awkward when he finds out that Fufu is her haha...looking forward to that!) He's such a sweet and thoughtful person, I think I have a crush on him! haha. The way he immediately sees her scars, wants to help her and trusts her. I hope she will get over herself and try to approach him in some way - after all she has the advantage of him babbling all kind of things to her! Such as the fact that he doesn't hate her, but actually thinks that she hates him. or the fact that he thinks a lot about her...

Looking forward to more!!

Author's Response: Dearest Shinicha,

Thank you for yet another wonderful review. You are amazing at giving these things!

Lab sessions are awesome, aren't they? ;) As for Ronan, you are definitely thinking in the right direction!!

Your analysis of the story makes me so, so happy, Shinicha!! I am honoured that my writing is worthy of such an analysis! :D The story is certainly far from a typical Cinderella-type story. And I DO stay as far from social-class clichés as possible! Thank you, thank you, thank you so much for noticing. I have this raging need to give you a virtual hug now.

No, not at all! You got that right. Silly me. Thank you so much for catching that!! And the thing about the shrieks, too. I've relocated them elsewhere. You are AMAZING!!

It does beg the question who knows and what are the consequences of them knowing, huh? I wonder. . . And IS she unregistered? Hmm. . . ;)

I am so glad you liked that scene!!! It was amazing fun to write. Aw, Shinicha. Al can be very sweet and thoughtful, can't he? He can get very concerned about people and foxes he cares about. ;)

I know right? Why can they just make up?!?! ARGGHHH!

I am looking forward to more, too! More thoughts from you, that is. You are so lovely.

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #11, by Shinicha A Collection of Confusing Conversations

28th October 2014:
Ahh finally I'm taking the time to review. And I'm lagging behind 3 chapters!! :( *cries*

After the last chapter, which was mainly about Annette's thoughts and herself coming to terms with what has happened to her over the last few months, this one was a lot about her interacting with people. Which is SO cool, because after her internal debates wheather friendships were even necessary, she now get's the answer in practice. And as we now, experience is the best teacher.

I have to ask: WHO the hell IS Bob? I just didn't get the joke, I feel exactly as helpless as Anette and Lindstroem. Is there something foreigners just don't get??!!! Please tell me!

I thought her cleverness to anticipate people's reactions was greatly shown in the fighting scene (he actually hurt himself! just great application of her non-magical pranks!...and martial arts training), as well as in her interaction with Scorpius. But the curiosity is just unbearable now. Scorpius seems to know SOMETHING. But not her relationship with his father? Why? How? Did he notice her eyes? Ahh.. suspense!

I think you put a lot of thought into your story and there are many details the readers will not know (of course, this is always the case with stories...) But I would really, really love it, if you would give more details about what is happening in between the major scenes. How she experiences classes (Those with Cunningham were awesome), her routines, her observations besides analyzing the conversations etc.

Now reading on! :)

Author's Response: SHINICHA!

Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review! I genuinely appreciate all your comments.

I'm delighted as always to see that you think it's cool! :D

Ah, yes. . Bob. It's from a phrase that is used to show the simplicity of a certain action. For instance, when one is making tea one might say: "You just put a tea bag in a cup of hot water and Bob's your uncle." I didn't understand it either until very, very recently. I totally understand how you feel!

You're curious? And unbearably so? I will take that as a compliment. Thank you! What does he know, indeed? And what is this thing with Draco?

I HAVE TAKEN THIS AMAZING PIECE OF ADVICE AND EDITED THE CHAPTER! Thank you, Shinicha! As for her routines, they are on the latest chapter.

Thank you so, so very much Shinicha! I would be eternally grateful if I could live that long!

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #12, by happyanon Exploring Hormonal Minds

25th October 2014:
It's 2am where I'm from. I have review classes at 8 and I'm just going to stop up to here for now. It's such an interesting story! Im new in your story btw. Needless to say,I haven't read a fanfic where science is so well incorporated. I laughed so much when I read NE,Epi and Dopamine. I really can't escape Pharmacology. I do enjoy your story more because of it. anyway, i love that she's Austrian! I havent read one where the character is Austrian before its definitely interesting to say the least. Next, I'm curious about Al and what gave him insomnia? :) I wish she laughed more and i hope she becomes more "friendly" with, well her friends. But i hope she never looses her calm composure. And stupid alchemy professor! Arggh as someone who's in the field of science I completely agree!! You go Annett!! Looking forward to your story :) xoxo

Author's Response: Dear happyanon,

It's a massive honour to be able to write a story that can keep you up like that! Bahaha! That honour come with a load of guilt, by the way.

I am delighted to hear that you find it interesting! Thank you so, so much!

That scene was, indeed, amazing fun to write. It's got mischief, hormones, misattribution. It pleases me to hear that it's actually funny.

Gahh! Thank you. Multiculturalism is very important to me.

Oh. That's a wonderful question. What does give Al insomnia and what does not? Why does he sleep poorly some days and well on other days? Answers will come in time.

I do not aim for this to become an 'introvert evolves into extrovert' kind of story because introvertedness is certainly not a bad thing. I squee in delight because I love that you want her to get closer to her 'friends' and yet not lose her calm and composure.

Bahaha! I am so glad you can relate! Closed-minded people are very frustrating, aren't they?

Awww, thank you so much, happyanon! I equally look forward to hearing more from you.

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #13, by Cool bean The Irritation of Attention

24th October 2014:
This is pretty damn brilliant

Author's Response: Dear Cool bean,

It's lovely to hear that you've been enjoying the story thus far! :D I am pretty darn happy right now. Thank you so much for this lovely review!!

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #14, by Unicorn_Charm The Irritation of Attention

23rd October 2014:
Em!!! ♥

I don't even know where to start. Do I yell at you first, for ending the chapter there, or do I start at the beginning and work my way towards yelling at you? Hmm... Ok. I'll start from the beginning.

I think the idea of Annett playing Quidditch is hilarious, yet fitting at the same time. She could definitely work out some aggression on the pitch, for sure. It might also start to help with her social anxiety, too. Because, I've realized, that she also suffers from that, along side of being very introverted. It was pretty clear when she seemed to have an anxiety attack, while in checking out the Incog Imps' non-prank prank, and then ran to her sanctuary in the library. That was absolutely textbook panic attack.

I love Carter. I love every time he's in a scene, no matter how small. He's just the cutest thing ever. I want to hug him haha.

Scorpius didn't seem very fussed, at all, that Goyle is pretty much out of action. Goyle must be quite terrible, if no one seems to care that their Quidditch team is missing a Keeper. Well, he did seem very troll-like.

So does McGonagall know?? She must know, right? I mean, she took 50 points from her - presumably for her nighttime wanderings, but was it for being an Unregistered Animagus, too? Bah! Questions! - and then awarded her 200 points - which, I'm assuming is for saving Ronan. I'm very curious to see if she will be having a private conversation with McGonagall now...

I can't tell you how much it kills me, every time Al calls her "Fufu." I was dying when he was chasing her down, screaming after her. And I think Al is actually in love with Annett, isn't he? *eying my pitchfork* I wanted to read more!! Ahh!! Em! Why?! I need more Al and Em time! Even if she is Fufu during it! You're killing me here! She's totally softening towards him. *squee* And she's going to apologize to him!? I laughed out loud when Al said they would probably end up shouting at one another and Annett - well Fufu ;) - thought, "He’s not wrong there." They do still have a lot that needs to be hashed out...

Arg! I want more! I can't wait for the next chapter. I will be waiting, pitchfork near by... ;)

So much love, candy, mojitos, Butterbeer, and hugs!

Meg ♥

Author's Response: Dearest Meg,

Bahaha! I'm sorry? (not really, though).

THANK YOU! YOU ARE TOO LOVELY!! You leave these reviews that are just always, always more than just pleasant to read.

Annett and Quidditch. . . How will she do? What will she learn? How will she change? Will she change at all? Why is she even doing this? ;)

So there's the truth (not the entire one yet, though). I am so relieved that little panic attack came out well. It's a little more intense that I'm used to.

Aww, Meg! It's amazing that you love Carter! That means a lot to me! I've got a soft spot for him too. And so does Annett. ;)

There is that, yes. And Scorpius also has got a little soft spot for Carter, too. Who doesn't? Okay, maybe Mr. Filch, Adin, Brutus, and Ballard.

Speaking of Ballard, he isn't the most empathetic character, that's true, but bullies bully for a reason and he probably had it hard growing up with Goyle as a last name considering. Who knows? He should probably see an counsellor, but I digress majorly.

Well, Annett did come to Minverva first about Animagi. ;) She heard from Hagrid who mentioned it at a staff meeting as Mrs. Norris tells Annett. Hagrid just asked around about a curious fox who Ronan claims has been helping him. And as Ronan mentioned, fox like her don't live around that area. This information is scattered throughout previous paragraphs. I don't make it easy, haha.

Oh! Interesting point. Is she Unregistered? Are you sure? ;) Heh heh heh.

[gaze flickers from Meg to pitchfork to mojito]

That was a fun scene to write. I really tried to make it funny and then serious all at the same time.

Hmm. . . Why did Al keep the picture?

Oh and what will future interactions bring? I wonder. . .

Arg for Arginine?!

E! Meg! Thank you. Danke schon. Merci beaucoup. Grazie mille. Terima kasih. I have to think up of new ways to thank you because I've been doing it a lot, but it never seems enough.

I will be cowering, queueing the next chapters of TIMOASK (and TNSPI?).

Ferrero Rochers on Chocolate Hazelnut Semifreddos with a heaping load of love in the form of virtual hugs and a colourful array of cocktails,
Em


 Report Review

Review #15, by greenphantomme The Irritation of Attention

22nd October 2014:
Oh Al, telling his feelings to a fox. Poor lad is losing it! haha What a fluffy name as well, 'Fufu' not one you hear very often - and gives the impression of a furry poodle (at least to me I suppose). Great chapter! And I'm curious as to what people's reactions will be when they find out what Annett did.

I also love Carter and the friendship betwixt him and Annett. He's very mischievous. Together they are such a diabolic duo! :)

Author's Response: Dearest greenphantomme,

Bahaha! Yes, poor Al. He needs a friend, doesn't he?

That is exactly what Fufu supposed to sound like! I am so glad you caught that!

That is an interesting thought, if she tells anyone. . . Will she?

I love that description: diabolic duo, indeed!

Thank you again for your amazing review! I really, truly appreciate it. :D It pleases me to know you've been enjoying the story so far!

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #16, by Midnight spark Exploring Hormonal Minds

22nd October 2014:
I'm actually here. Finally!

I can say that I'm glad Carter doesn't believe Annett wants to kill him now, as Annett got a new friend!

Hasn't Yang complained to the Professors about what happened? But makes sense, he was like super scared!

Ooh, mini Diwali party! I'm currently residing in India and TODAY is Diwali for them! I've learned to live with the firework's sounds, although I nearly jumped out of my skin when I heard them the first time! You don't see stuff like that in NY, you know.

A little confusion to why 'Thomas-Finnegan' family started the tradition, apart from that, nothing jumped out at me.

AL ASKED ANNETT TO GO WITH HIM! I'm just squealing so much beyond control! And that was the MOST CUTEST (yes, MOST CUTEST) way to ask someone! Their conversation was just, AH!! It's like pure heaven for me since I've always not-so-secretly shipped Annett and Albus. :D 'The youngest Potter' lol, I have no idea how to describe it!

And they enjoy each other's company! SO SWEET! HOW DO ANNETT KNOW DRACO? I'm sensing a mystery here!

Fave line: "Bonding is an intimate relationship between atoms. It involves only the outer most shell of electrons, the valence electrons. The higher the bond order, the more electrons involved, and the closer the atoms. Do human relationships work the same way?"

Leave it to Annett to make even the most simple things complicated scientific stuff. :P

OMG THE ENDING!! HE FREAKING WINKS AT HER!


Well, you can see that I loved it, I DEMAND you to re-request even though I won't be able to get to it before the end of November (NaNoWriMo, you know. Great stuff, prevents you from reading your favorite fic)

Sana

Author's Response: SANA!!

She does! She's been tutoring him for years and only now they can be called that. Haha.

Poor Arden. . . It'll all be fine in the end when, you know, he ends up with Annett. . . [shifty eyes and then evil grin]

I KNOW, RIGHT?! I LOVE DIWALI! HAPPY DIWALI! [more fireworks, but silent ones because they're magical]

Oh, that was because Dean Thomas and Seamus Finnegan both married a Patil each. They're all Hindu now. It was mentioned very, very briefly in a previous chapter.

YES HE DID! AS FRIENDS, YOU KNOW! BAHAHA! I am so glad you loved their conversation.

I figured, meh, why not? Or did I? The mystery begins, if there is one.

THAT LINE! Admittedly one of my favourites, too. I love chemistry. More so outside of class than inside. :P

That is a very interesting point you've brought up! To Annett, it's completely the opposite. She's trying to simplify complicated people things into simpler science things.

OH MY GOODNESS, HE DID! WHAT IS GOING ON BETWEEN THESE TWO. SANA, I CANNOT CONTROL THEM!

Demand?! Bahaha! The pleasure is all mine, Sana. I surely will do that.

FAVOURITE FIC?! If I had to type while I lost physical control of my flailing arms, it would come out as the most incoherent string of letters. [virtual hug] GAHH! SANA, THANK YOU SO MUCH, THAT MEANS A LOT TO ME!!

Best of best of luck with NaNoWriMo, I know you can do it!!

Your ever grateful fan (because Reincarnation is the most exciting thing I have read in ages),
Em


 Report Review

Review #17, by Infinityx The Peculiar Childhood: A Prologue

17th October 2014:
Hello, love! Here for your requested review!

This was absolutely unlike anything I've ever read and I absolutely love the way it's started. Centering the story around a kid with two muggle scientists as parents was pure GENIUS. I love how Annette's voice in this story completely reflects the background in which she's brought up.

Speaking of which, Annette's characterization is just brilliant. Her personality comes off strongly and every bit of detail just oozes out of the text adding such depth to her character. I think it's truly amazing, what you've done here. I love the matter-of-fact tone with which all the unusual occurrences are described, and the hints of sarcasm underlying throughout the chapter.

Wow, Teddy Lupin as a member of the muggle-born welcoming committee. That was just the cherry on top of this chapter.

Descriptions are just astounding. Especially when they go to Diagon Alley and she describes the goblins. That was just. wow. Loved it.

This was a brilliant first chapter and I enjoyed every bit of it. Thanks for requesting and introducing me to this!

Author's Response: Hello there!

GAHHH!!! THANK YOU SO MUCH! All I can say is that, with this review, my ego has been fed. :P Thank you for all your compliments. You really made my day so much more wonderful. Thank you for that, too! You mentioned all the things I intended to do with this chapter. That makes me so happy [squeee]. :D You are amazingly, kind.

Cheers,
Em



 Report Review

Review #18, by GingeredTea The Peculiar Childhood: A Prologue

11th October 2014:
I was very uncertain about this story, but you have write it well, and held my interest from the first sentence. It's well and good that I learned long ago not to judge a book by its cover. ;-)

You did a wonderful job capturing Annett's inner dialogue and the lens through which she perceives her world. I was impressed! I might even learn some awesome vocabulary from this story!

I thought it was interesting that Teddy was part of the Muggle Welcome Committee (and loved that you came up with that!!) Your flow, characterization, and plot were all well executed.

I would love to do an exchange again!!

Author's Response: GingeredTea,

I am so glad to hear that! Thank you for staying. Bahaha! Or the alliterating summary and the hand-drawn banner in this case.

Thank you so much! I am delighted to hear that. Really, your compliments help my ego grow. :P

I am so glad you liked the idea of the Muggle Welcome Committee. I, myself, wondered how Muggleborns would actually react to a letter from Hogwarts and what Hogwarts could do to help convince them of their being a genuine organisation.

Again, thank you so much for reading and reviewing. I really appreciate it.

I would love to do another exchange too!

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #19, by Gabriella Hunter Exclamations of Merlin’s Extensive Collection of Lingerie

11th October 2014:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums with your review and it's good to be back! I was wondering what was going to happen with Annett and this chapter didn't disappoint me at all.

Now, I have to say that I am a fan of lingerie. I make Albus Potter in my story (Albus Potter and the Dark Lord's Prince) actually turn everything into panties. Sexy panties. So, needless to say, I was roaring with laughter while Annett was cursing in her mind. I was terrified for her but also cracking up at the same time which is a good thing? I'm not quite sure. Hahahaha.

Anyhoo, Annett's clever mind saved her from being acromantula dinner. I liked that you described them in a way that made them seem very frightening but also eerily smart. They figured that she wasn't a Hogwarts student based off of her clothes (This means that they had thought of eating the students more than once)and even had discussions about whether or not they SHOULD eat her. I found that horrifying. Hahaha.

Now, Annett's clever mind got her out of another quick jam. I always like the bit of science and magic that you incorporate into this story and I was so relieved when she finally got away. I was kind of worried for a moment or two when she was cornered by Albus saved the day. Thank Goodness.

I thought that while she was being bathed in the tub that she would revert back to her human form , to be honest. I thought it would have been hilarious but thankfully for Albus that didn't happen but Annett is feeling attracted to him in a way that worries her. I liked this little tidbit and I'm wondering what will happen with their relationship afterwards. Al doesn't know that she's Fufu (I died laughing at this, he should never name anything.) but I wonder when he'll find out?

I'm really eager for the next chapter too and I hope that she'll be able to save her centaur friend. Don't keep me waiting! :D

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi Gabbie!

Thank you so much! I am relieved to hear that.

Everything into panties? Bahaha, Gabbie! Oh goodness gracious! It's now on my reading list, actually. I've gone over to your account and taken a peek. ;)

Ha! It is definitely a good thing. I did intend to both terrify and cause laughter! It pleases me to hear that.

Ah, yes. I figured Acromantulas must have a higher thinking capacity as opposed to regular arthropods. I am a huge fan of intelligent, non-human organisms. I am delighted to hear that you like that bit. Horrifying and hilarious are the two things I aimed for with this chapter. :D Thank you!!

Well that really depends on how you look at it, I suppose. Haha! She was already safe from the Acromantulas before he swooped it, but he saved her a lot of trouble by flying her to the castle and healing her, didn't he?

That is an interesting thought and what a scene that would make! But I had to have my fun with Fufu. I really had to. I couldn't resist. No, Al should not name anything. He inherited his naming abilities (or lack of them) from his mother.

Now that's a good question. When? I'll have to keep re-requesting. ;)

Gabbie! Thank you, thank you, thank you! You leave such wonderfully encouraging reviews.

Reciprocated love,
Em


 Report Review

Review #20, by teh tarik The Peculiar Childhood: A Prologue

11th October 2014:
Hiya! I'm here with a review which you requested from me ages ago. o.O Sorry for the delay!

I'm loving your story so far! There are many things which I found particularly amusing, like the title, and Annett's situation - a Muggle-born with Muggle scientist parents, and with a world firmly rooted in science and scientific theory. I always love fics combining magic and science, so I was absolutely thrilled to read this chapter. :D I can't wait to find out how Annett will reconcile all her scientific knowledge and logic with the wacky, sometimes illogical world of magic. I really enjoyed the level of detail of the ecohouse, by the way; I'm the kind of reader who likes detail in stories, and clearly you know what you're writing about.

In your areas of concern, you mentioned characterisation. Well, Annett's characterisation comes off quite strongly, which is great. I love the tone of her narration, and how calm she is, and her dry sense of humour, which was wonderful. Sometimes writers can go overboard with the humour, and it can sound a bit strained, but Annett's voice comes off very naturally, and the humour is skilfully woven into the tone as well as the narrative. I find it very interesting that Annett seems to accept the existence of magic so readily. I know she's had a lot of weird things happen to her as a child, and Teddy was pretty much turning her pencil into a flower...and I know that stoicism is probably one of Annett's characteristics, as mentioned in the story summary. But I would like to suggest that perhaps padding in a little extra detail, and creating a greater sense of buildup (it needn't be a huge dramatic affair at all!) toward Annett's point of acceptance would really make things more convincing. And it would help with character development as well.

I love Teddy's appearance in the fic, by the way! I'm grinning a little at him being part of a welcoming committee for Muggle-borns! And I do hope to see more of him in the coming chapters! Annett's observations of his Apparition were incredibly amusing to watch. In fact, I really do love how unflappable she is! :)

OK, my favourite part of this chapter has got to be 'the hominid banker' with a highly ponderable phylogenetic history! Brilliant way of describing a Gringott's goblin!

Well, this chapter has definitely captured my interest, and I think you've got a strong start to a very promising story! Great premise and characterisation.

THank you for requesting, and once again I do apologise for the wait, and I hope this review will be of some use to you. :)

-teh

Author's Response: Hey teh!

It's okay! Haha. No harm done. :D

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I am so delighted to hear that you're liking it so far. How will Annett deal with magic, indeed? ;) We shall have to see how she interprets this new side of the world.

I try, haha! Thank you! All you are saying about the novel so far is really encouraging me to write more and hope that I don't disappoint with the next chapters. I will certainly take your advice about adding more detail in to that part, thank you for pointing that out. :)

Ahh! I'm just so happy that her character seems to be showing successfully!

Bahaha! I'm thrilled to hear that you loved that line! It is one of my better moments. Thank you! i really hope I can deliver upon those expectations. Thank you, thank you, thank you, for such this wonderfully helpful review! You're just awesome, teh!

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #21, by Lise A Collection of Confusing Conversations

11th October 2014:
Fantastic chapter as usual!! I can't explain how much I love this story!!

Author's Response: Dear Lise,

As usual?! Bahaha. Thank you so much!! That means a lot to me. :D I am overjoyed that you've been reading so far and that you've left a review. You're awesome. ;)

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #22, by Unicorn_Charm A Collection of Confusing Conversations

11th October 2014:
Ahh!! SCORPIUS KNOWS!!! He does, doesn't he?!? Arg! I know you can't tell me, and I don't want you to tell me, but I want to know!!

Sorry for my freak out. Let's try this again.

Hi Em!! :)

Oh my goodness! I love this side of her! I love it so much!! She's fully embracing the idea of actually having friends! I can't even tell you how much I loved her thinking that no one picks on her friends when Hugo was being bullied. :D *squee*

Speaking of Goyle. What a slimeball! What kind of boy would physically attack a girl like that? Ew he's just as slimy as his father. That actually made my skin crawl. It was completely satisfying to see him break his fingers and smash his face against the wall.

Hahaha that scene with McLaggen was priceless. She is really, really funny when she pranks people. I love it! I bet he'll definitely be leaving Davies' sister alone after that!

I'm so happy that she's taking Carter on as her little protege!! :D He is the most adorable thing ever. I just love him. The two of them busting on Scorpius about Rose, and slacking on his Prefect duties, was so amusing. It's almost like Annett and Carter have this big sister/little brother relationship going on. It's really sweet. You can tell she cares about that kid a lot.

And then you have Scorpius hinting around about Fufu. HE KNOWS!!! Ok, sorry. Freaking out again. ;)

Oh she has it bad for Al and doesn't even realize it yet. She is highly offended that he hasn't looked for her or spoken to her. But she's really trying to convince herself that she's not. I cannot wait to read their next interaction.

Em!! I love this!! I love every last word!! I need more, soon! But I will try to keep the twitching to a minimum until the next chapter. ;)

So much love and tons of hugs!!

Meg ♥

Author's Response: BAHAHAHAHA!

Dearest Meg!!

[nods head vigourously] Aye. She is slowly realising that people aren't useless!

[gasp] SHE USED THE F-WORD, MEG!

Which was of course, all his own doing. Or the wall's doing. ;) He makes for a very unsuitable teammate for Carter to have. Poor guy.

Bahh! [hugs] THANK YOU! That was me exploring the idea that Slytherins aren't bad at all. We just have a reputation and we like to use that for our own amusement. It's a 'behind the scenes' look at Slytherin intimidation. ;)

That's exactly what it is, Meg!! It means so much to me that you like him. I wrote him in honour of one of my German Shepherds. She was wonderfully smart and had a personality of her own. First lesson was indeed hygiene. :P

Not that she treats Carter as a pet the way that Al treats Fufu like a pet. This is very much a big sister/little brother relationship. Unless you treat pets like little siblings. Perfectly normal to do so, right?

I DO?! WHAT?! HE IS?!

Are you sure?

I could just have Scorpius trying to make parallels between what Annett and Fufu mean to Al, without knowing that they are the same organism. He could just be totally dazed at any mention of Rose. I apologise of I'm getting your hopes up. If. [hides behind that blue couch]

She cares!! She feels guilt! Bahahaha. Your analysis of them is always a pleasure to read.

Could be in the next chapter, which is already in the queue. They will have to interact eventually, won't they? It'll be one of those big arguments that end with a snog. Or maybe a big declaration of their respective feelings. Or there will be some jealousy involved by bringing up Valentina and Carter into the picture. Or maybe all of the above. Or maybe even none of the above! What in the world did I write?!

[GAHHHs] MEG! Your words mean so, so much to me. So does your endless encouragement. I can never thank you enough!! You are too, too kind to me.

LOVE, and so much more LOVE, with a lot of HUGS and maybe some COOKIES,
Em


 Report Review

Review #23, by lindslo2012 The Peculiar Childhood: A Prologue

9th October 2014:
Hello there :)
I am here from the review tag.
I think that you have an awesome and unique story going here.
I think that she is going to be an awesome witch, probably as smart as Hermione Granger since she was raised with scientists.
I think it is really good how you described everything, like how she was in a new house with a forest behind it, how she was moved to England. I felt as though I was looking in on the scene. I actually never thought about how crazy it would be if you were raised with muggles and all of a sudden received this weird letter. I would probably not believe it until someone showed up on my doorstep either! Especially if you never really realized that things you were doing that were 'magic' was abnormal.
I thought it was so cool how Teddy was the person to come to her door. I love reading about Teddy through everyone's eyes- because he is so different in every story :) She is in good hands with him though because he will make sure she is taken care of. I can't wait to read more of your story so plz come by and ask for another review on my review thread!!!

-Lindsey

Author's Response: Dear Lindsey,

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

I am delighted to hear that you liked it. :D

You raise a fine point with "I never actually thought about how crazy it would be if. . ." That part of your sentence was essentially how this story came into being.

He really is, isn't he. He's always nice to read. Especially in Joseph the crestwood's 'Morbid.' I'd have to say that it's one of the more fascinating of interpretations of Teddy I have ever read. If you have not yet, I really encourage you to check it out.

And I can wait to hear more of what you think of this story. I will definitely stop by your review thread.

Thank you, again!!

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #24, by Gabriella Hunter A Night of Discoveries

8th October 2014:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums with your review and it's good to be back! I was wondering when I was going to get back into this story and so I was really excited to catch up!

I liked seeing that Annett was getting a little closer to Albus and his friends in this chapter. I'm guessing that she doesn't quite mind having them around so much anymore and I'm eager to see how her friendship with Al is going to develop. It's obvious that he still likes her but I'm not sure how she feels about him just yet. I guess I'm just going to have to wait and see. Hehehehe.

Scorpius should just ask Rose out! Hhahahah.

Anyway, I really liked seeing Annett in her Animagus form as well. That was something that I was looking forward to the most and I enjoyed reading about her experiences with Mrs. Norris and her theories on her old age as well. It was actually pretty neat! I hadn't even let that possibility sink into my head at all so it was something that got me thinking.

As always, Annett is clever and precise and while she was wandering in the Forest I was kind of scared for her. I was under the impression that she was going to see someone doing something naughty or come across some dark monster. I was half right but I'm curious about the centaur and I'm hoping that he's going to be all right. But now Annett is in some big trouble! What?! I'm worried now! I don't want her to get eaten and I really need to know what happens next!

What a cliffhanger!

*Ahem*

So, I am really curious to know what happens after this little adventure so don't be shy about stopping by again!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Dearest Gabbie,

Thank you once again for such a lovely review! They are always so encouraging! I love reading them.

I'm so glad you are enjoying it all so far. She is spending more time with other people, yes. Haha.

Rose and Scorpius. . . They annoy me to no end. I mean why can't they just get together already! Teenagers. . . :P

I am thrilled to hear that it got you thinking! I was actually caught by Deana the RoxiMalfoy about Mrs. Norris's age. It is thanks to her that that's up there.

Bahaha! Absolutely. Nothing too friendly can come out of visiting the Forest alone, huh? It pleases me to her that you were scared for her.

BAHH! YES SHE IS! WHAT WILL HAPPEN? And, more importantly, what will Gabbie say to the events in the next chapter! I cannot wait to hear your thoughts!

Gabbie, once again, you have made me grin madly with your review. Thank you. :D

Much reciprocated love,
Em


 Report Review

Review #25, by Roisin Yang’s Audacity

4th October 2014:
Hello!

I'm SO SORRY it's taken me so long to get to your requested review! I really wanted to acquaint myself with all the other Dobby nominees while I had time (and by the way, CONGRATULATIONS!)

I'm continuing to love Annett's character. She really is an incredibly unique person--or rather, you have managed a particularly insightful characterization of a commonly misunderstood person. I particularly enjoyed the manner in which she deduced that Al is an insomniac.

Also, the idea that Annett is friends with Mrs. Norris! "She's in it to scare the students." That part was very, very funny!

The thing I like most, is while she may be very different from other people, and very misunderstood--she doesn't misunderstand others. She is, indeed, rather a keen observer. People often portray characters of this type as socially oblivious, and too often, prudish. I like that Annett knows about "snog fests," and has a good understanding of what's going on.

And this line was hilarious: "Sometimes, it feels like watching a convoluted, massively extended series of family reunions in Hogwarts." It was very funny in a meta sort of way.

That said, you did introduce a lot of OCs as a kind of information dump, and it was difficult to keep track. I only criticize it, because there were several nice nuggets in there (Seamus and Dean each marrying a Patil)--and I wished it had more time to breathe.

This actually segues very nicely to my next concrit: everything that is present in this story is exceptional, but physical description is still rather lacking. The chapter has the sense of being hurried, and with so much information getting introduced so quickly, it can be difficult to find things to hold on to. I would recommend adding some more description--and also, it would be a great opportunity to see through Annett's eyes! She has such a unique perspective, I would love to see the way she describes visual things!

I love this story! It really is so original, and I am intensely flattered and humbled to have my own story nominated alongside you and Shez!

xoxo
-Roisin

Author's Response: Dearest Roisin,

No, no. That's completely fine! :D THANK YOU AND CONGRATULATIONS YOURSELF!! You write spectacularly. I am a huge fan.

Thank you. I am thrilled to hear that you do! That means so much to me.

Bahaha! Thanks. I thought her friendship with Mrs. Norris really illustrated what kind of a person Annett is on multiple levels.

I felt that it all added up this way. A large part of science is observation. It makes me endlessly happy that you caught that!

Thank you! I write to inspire laughter. Mostly. It's a relief to find that some lines are working.

Looking back on it know, I realise that, too. Thank you so, so much for pointing that out! I am definitely using your amazing piece of advice to optimise the story. I wanted the reader I feel as Annett did--drowned in a sea of so many names, but I went way overboard. Yikes!

You are wonderfully helpful. I value your advice immensely and will most certainly implement them! Thank you, Roisin!!!

[incomprehensible 'GAHH's]

Not at all! 'Year Five' is one of the best stories on here. I love it so much! It's me who feels flabbergasted and privileged.

And I cannot seem to say this enough in this response, but THANK YOU!!

Your fan,
Em


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>