Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Three
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by 800 words of heaven Luna Lovegood

2nd September 2014:
Heya! Here for our review swap!

It's a little pathetic, but I'm still reading through House Cup entries *looks guilty*. I also wrote about thestrals and contemplated writing about Luna, so this is super interesting to me.

I think my favourite aspect of this is that Luna feels lonely. Even though she doesn't really care what people think about her, it must bother her that she doesn't have any friends. I'm glad that she found friendship with the thestral she met.

Gosh! Children can be so mean! I hope that a thestral bites them :P

Lovely stroy! I'm sitting in class right now, so I hope to be back soon for the other two entries :

Author's Response: It's not pathetic at all! There were so many House Cup entries. I don't think Luna and thestrals was a particularly original choice, but there's certainly a lot of potential there for stories.

I'm pretty sure we just all want to hug Luna. She's so lovely and sweet and really wants to see the best in everyone, even when they're not always the nicest to her. Maybe a thestral will bite them. ;)

Thanks for reviewing! This was such a fun review swap!


 Report Review

Review #2, by elliecattermole Narcissa Malfoy

18th July 2014:
Ahh I'm such a fan of your writing. You're good at short stories - and endings. This one is so good man. Keep it up.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you enjoyed it. :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by elliecattermole Pansy Parkinson

18th July 2014:
I love this! It fits the prompt really well. I like what you've done with Malfoy and Pansy's relationship. I always imagined they dated at some point, though obviously they didn't stick together. Great Job.

Author's Response: I kinda liked the idea of Draco and Pansy as friends better than them in a relationship. ;) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #4, by elliecattermole Luna Lovegood

18th July 2014:
This is so great! I love your writing style, and I'm a sucker for Luna. You wrote her so well; she felt real to me, and a lot like canon Luna. Can't wait to see where this story goes!

Author's Response: Aw, thanks! I love Luna's character, especially once you get past her belief in nargles and such. She's a wonderful person, always seeing the good in everyone and everything.

 Report Review

Review #5, by UnluckyStar57 Narcissa Malfoy

10th July 2014:
Wow, Narcissa has some strong determination! I was really interested to see how the courtroom scene would pan out, especially since the only word that we get about the trials of the Malfoys is that Harry spoke for Narcissa and Draco. I really hope that Narcissa is able to reconcile with Andromeda, because it's been far too long since they've spoken. It made me sad that Narcissa declined Andromeda's offer of company in the trial.

Holy cow, Lucius is crazy. He really does need to get out of Azkaban. Perhaps he could attend therapy sessions? I don't know, the cruelty of Azkaban, even without dementors, is just too much.

A great ending to the story collection!

House Cup 2014 Review

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Thank you so much for all your lovely reviews! I think a lot of changes happened within the Malfoy family after the war. My head canon has always been that they, particularly Narcissa and Draco, saw the error of their ways, so to speak. That while they didn't do a one eighty, perhaps grew. Especially since Draco was so young during the war.

I'm never quite sure how to write people in Azkaban, so I often go quite crazy. And to be fair, the man did lose practically everything.

I'm so glad you enjoyed it! :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by UnluckyStar57 Pansy Parkinson

10th July 2014:
Huh. The theme of the House Cup entries seems to be "Make people think about characters in a different way."

I really started to like Pansy at the beginning of the story. I hated that her mother was so awful to her, and that Draco had left her. The war was hard for everyone, not just people on Harry Potter's side, and Pansy seems to be the embodiment of that fact. It's so sad that her friends are all no longer her friends. :/

But it turned around! I'm so glad that she and Draco can be friends again. I also love the explanation of him living at home--that it was for his mother. That shows a different side of Draco, too!

Great chapter! I wasn't disappointed! :D

House Cup 2014 Review

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: I like writing about the "villains" from their points of view because Harry looks at Draco and sees a coward. Sure, maybe he is, but he's also a whole lot of other things too that the people in his life see before they get to coward.

And after the war, I'm betting a lot of things changed for a lot of people. Pansy wasn't as directly involved as some of the others, but she made that comment in the Great Hall and I think a lot of people wouldn't forget that.

I know a lot of people ship Draco/Pansy, but they could have a really sweet friendship as well that often gets overlooked.

Thanks for leaving such a wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #7, by UnluckyStar57 Luna Lovegood

10th July 2014:
Oh Luna. I love her so much. :)

The way you described the thestral was very beautiful. I could see it in all its skeletal glory, and Luna, being Luna, fully appreciated it. I feel like your eleven-year-old Luna was very close to canon--unruffled by bullies, easygoing, unafraid of things that might get in her way. She's a character that I would love to be like in real life. :)

Brilliant first chapter! I can't wait to read and review the others.

House Cup 2014 Review

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Thank you! I just tried to see the world how Luna does- that everything happens for a reason and there is beauty in everything, particularly those things that are different. She's such a difficult character to write because like her thestrals, she's so different, but in a wonderful way.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #8, by evil little devil Narcissa Malfoy

10th July 2014:
Ooh, I am loving the potential for a Narcissa-Andromeda reunion. Even if at the moment Narcissa seems to be interested purely for selfish gain.
I think you really nailed her characterisation. You managed to give her all that stiff, pureblood haughtiness she's famous for, but also at the same time really highlight how fiercely loyal she is to her son and her husband, and how much she cares for them.
It's really interesting to think about what would have happened to them after the war. I don't remember if it's been stated in canon, or if it's just so firmly entrenched in my headcanon, that Harry speaks up for Narcissa and Draco after the war - but I really do see him doing that, for sure.
This was a really great character study, I really enjoyed it :)

- House Cup 2014 Review.

Author's Response: I want to say it's canon that Harry speaks up for them, but I couldn't point you to a place. I'd kind of like to try writing that at some point in the distant future, but no idea if I could pull it off.

Narcissa is interesting because we really only see her in relation to her son throughout the series. If she has a number one, it's going to be Draco every time. Maybe Lucius as second. After the war I think they'd all have a lot of thinking to do, working to overcome their past beliefs and atoning for their crimes.

Thank you so much for reviewing these chapters! It really means a lot and I'm so happy you enjoyed them. :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by evil little devil Pansy Parkinson

10th July 2014:
I really liked your take on this prompt, it's very unique compared to the other House Cup entries I've read so far, to take a failed romantic relationship and turn it into a successful friendship. I really loved Pansy's emotional journey throughout this story, how she realised she needed Draco, no matter in what form.
The characterisation was so well done, too! You really worked within and around what has been given to us in canon, to really humanise her, and make me sympathise with her. I loved your Draco, as well - the way he tried to hide his emotions, but couldn't manage it, how fragile he is beneath all the bluster. I also really enjoyed the exploration of what the life of these people would be like after the war, the difficulties they would face, and what they would seek to do with themselves.
This was a really enjoyable one-shot!

- House Cup 2014 Review.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing! I always thought Pansy and Draco made for better friends than romance. And with all the negative things we learn about them in canon, they had to have some positive qualities.

I think fragile is a good word to describe post-war Draco. After what we see of him in HBP and DH, I think he has a lot of growing to do. Everyone associated with the pureblood ideal would have a lot to deal with after the war, even those who didn't directly side with Voldemort.

Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it! :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by evil little devil Luna Lovegood

10th July 2014:
I love how she called the thestral Pegasus, because she didn't yet know the name for a thestral!
I think you did a fantastic job capturing Luna here. I love how many people have done Luna-thestral stories in response to this prompt (me included!), I just think it's such a perfect match. I think the fact that she loves them, and doesn't fear them, says so much about her. You really captured her so well here, the way she just brushes of the bullying because, although she feels it, she's found better things to focus her attention on.
This was such a sweet one-shot to read, I really enjoyed it!

- House Cup 2014 Review.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reviewing! I adore Luna. She's such a caring person and so open to everyone. I always felt the bullying didn't affect her the same way it would most people because, like the thestral, she can see so much good in everyone. That just overshadows even their cruelty and it's such an admirable quality.

She's so completely lovely and I'm glad lots of people wrote about her. Different takes on her are excellent. :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by maskedmuggle Narcissa Malfoy

8th July 2014:
Hey!

This was really interesting and I loved how you tied it in with what we know in canon. I thought it was a really good plot and making this story all about Narcissa made it unusual (in a really good way)! I really liked your depiction of how the post-war period was for the Malfoys, since there's some flexibility there in the writer's interpretation of events. I found it all very realistic and believable, especially the fact that Harry had spoken for Narcissa and Draco - that sounds like such a Harry thing to do. Your characterisation of the Malfoys was also really well done, especially in how Narcissa and Draco were still somewhat haughty and reluctant to accept help (after all, old habits die hard and it would be a bit unrealistic if they were both completely different people). I also liked how Narcissa still decided to stand by her husband, because that really emphasised just how powerful love is. The only thing I'm not so sure about is the final line, because it felt like there was something missing - how would talking to her sister help? I mean, I can kind of understand - perhaps to get on the good side? but it didn't feel like as strong a link to make, and it didn't really make complete sense. Other than that though, I thought you definitely wrote about the Malfoys really well, so nicely written story!

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the reviews! I'm glad you liked the characterization of the Malfoys. They're interesting characters, but I always feel like I don't delve into who they are enough when writing them. It's interesting to take a look at what would happen to them post-war, though.

I agree about that line. I was going for Narcissa swallowing her pride and asking for help after seeing Lucius in Azkaban, but I sort of ran out of time and rushed the ending. I'll definitely go back and take a look at how that was written. I was just trying to slap something on their to get it posted, I think.

Thanks for the advice! :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by maskedmuggle Pansy Parkinson

8th July 2014:
Hey!

I really liked this - it was such a different friendship to read about! I've never really seen Pansy and Draco's friendship in this kind of way before, so I really liked gaining a different insight into them. I also really liked your characterisation of the both of them. There's so many different versions of post-war Draco, with some showing him completely changed almost as if he's a different person, but I liked how your Draco here still retained some of the coldness we know, which made the whole story seem more realistic and believable. I also liked how Pansy was strong enough to realise she didn't need a boyfriend, she needed Draco as a friend. This was just such an interesting and unusual story to read because the ending was quite unexpected for me, yet at the same time it felt right. Lovely story and writing!

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Draco/Pansy gets shipped a lot romantically, but I think they could be better as friends, especially in the years after the war when they're trying to put their lives back together.

I think he did change after war, but probably not all in one go. He's still young and he's still suffering, so it's plausible he'd still be a bit of a jerk at times.

Thank you for the lovely review! I'm so glad you liked my interpretation of their relationship and the prompt. :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by maskedmuggle Luna Lovegood

8th July 2014:
Hey!

This was so awesome. I love reading about Luna and you did a great job capturing her character and quirky nature. What I particularly loved about your characterisation of her was her strong belief in herself and in the thestral, and her ability to disregard the taunts and insults of others. I really wish more people had the strength that Luna does! I also really liked how you portrayed the thestrals from Luna's unique perspective - in that the jutting bones of the thestral looked natural. The fact that Luna was the only one there able to see the thestral enhanced how special and magical the moment was. Really great story, and I thought it definitely fit Prompt 1 really well.

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I know writing about Luna and thestrals was pretty common for the first prompt, but I just love how she sees them. In OotP when she's explaining about them to Harry, I got the feeling she not only ignored the common belief that thestrals are bad omens, but honestly saw them as beautiful creatures. I think she was like that with people too. She always saw the good in them, like when the bullies stole her her things. She's not oblivious to the fact that they're bullies, but it didn't seem to bother her the way it would most people.

Sorry, I got off topic and rambly. I just really love the Luna beneath all her crazy beliefs. She's such a wonderful human being.


 Report Review

Review #14, by momotwins Luna Lovegood

28th June 2014:
Luna is a difficult character to write, and I think you really captured her. I love how she just brushes off the bullying, it is just totally meaningless to her so it rolls right off. Her fascination with the thestrals is great, it's very her. Very impressed at your Luna! Great job on this story, I really enjoyed reading it.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the sweet review! Luna really is hard to write so I just try to stick to the basics. And her and thestrals are always a good match. :)

(I may have flailed just a bit that you read and reviewed one of my stories.)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login