Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Have a Biscuit, Lupin
  
44 Reviews Found

Review #1, by AlmaVK Have a Biscuit, Lupin

20th January 2017:
I see you got a lot of positive reviews and prices already, but I still wanted to tell you - I love this story! I've never read anything that was so imbedded in the event of a book, and yet could say something new! Thank you so much for writing this! (My first 10/10 rating ;-))

 Report Review

Review #2, by Crescent Moon  Have a Biscuit, Lupin

1st January 2016:
Loved this story, so sweet and with the right amount of sadness for Remus' story.

Author's Response: thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Sue Clover Have a Biscuit, Lupin

10th December 2014:
This story made me very, very happy. And also very sad, but mostly it was just well written. Thank you.

Author's Response: you're very welcome! i'm glad you enjoyed it and thank you for dropping a review :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Penelope Inkwell Have a Biscuit, Lupin

4th October 2014:
Oh my gosh, I LOVE this! I ADORE it!

I was dropping by to check out Dobby contenders--congratulations on your nomination by the way--and I'm so glad I got to take a look at this. It's bittersweet, but it just warmed my heart.

I really loved how you included the bit about Oliver Wood coming out of McGonagall's office. It really tied it into the story and canon, and was just a very good move on your part.

Also, the way you utilized the "Have a biscuit" refrain was perfect.

Often, I don't care much for one-shots, because it's so hard to tell a story in so few words, but you really did an excellent job with that. Really nice work, and, again, congrats!

--Penny

Author's Response: thank you so much Penny! it means a lot that you enjoyed this even if one-shots aren't normally your thing, and thank you for your lovely comments!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Amethyst Lovegood Have a Biscuit, Lupin

1st October 2014:
The most delightful fan-fic I've ever read. Thank you!

Author's Response: you're very welcome, thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #6, by wolfgirl17 Have a Biscuit, Lupin

28th September 2014:
Fantastic! I loved it.

Author's Response: i'm glad you did, thanks for telling me!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Mary Have a Biscuit, Lupin

27th September 2014:
This made me happy and upset at the same time, I love it.

Author's Response: thank you and i'm sorry!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Parvati11 Have a Biscuit, Lupin

20th September 2014:
Wow absolutely mind blowing!!! loved it hehehe

Author's Response: thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Verite Have a Biscuit, Lupin

13th September 2014:
How delightful. It's rare that I get to read a story about a friendship that so surprises me, but this one certainly did. I love the idea of Remus and Minerva becoming friends in Remus's time teaching. After all, we do know that Minerva always had a soft spot for the Marauders.

I also think the play on Minerva's line "Have a biscuit, Potter," was inspired. It adds all new context to the line- now I see it as the early recognition of Minerva and Harry's eventual friendship, rather than relationship as teacher and student.

I'm very glad this story was on the first page. What a great way to start out on this site.

Author's Response: thank you! i'd never thought about this friendship either until i wrote this story, and i'm glad you enjoyed it! and that's a beautiful way to see the "have a biscuit, Harry" line as well - i love that reading and the thought of a friendship between Minerva and Harry as well.

welcome to hpff and thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #10, by raghu ram Have a Biscuit, Lupin

3rd September 2014:
it was like i was reading the prisoner of azkaban.


just from another point of view

Author's Response: i'm glad you got that feel from it :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Alexannah Have a Biscuit, Lupin

28th August 2014:
Oh wow, I really love this. I'd never thought too much about those two, but this was so sweet, and sad as well. You portrayed them brilliantly and tugged on the heartstrings with expertise. Amazing story.

PS: I'm not a guest; I am logged in but for some reason I still have to input my name. I haven't been on this site in a while, so maybe it's changed. Just wanted to say in case you wanted to reply.

Author's Response: thank you so much, and i'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Felicia Have a Biscuit, Lupin

11th August 2014:
This is an amazing story! Thank you so much for writing this.
I always have a soft spot for Remus Lupin and this story makes me melt for him. And Prof McGonagall too!
This story fits perfectly into their unique characters and it tugs my heart~~
Thank you!

Author's Response: thank you so much! that's high praise indeed - i love Remus and Minerva as well, and i'm glad i got them right! thanks again for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #13, by TheDirigiblePlum Have a Biscuit, Lupin

10th August 2014:
This was a very enjoyable read! They were both incredibly in character; I loved how you captured Lupin's insecurity without making it obvious and how you made McGonagall stern but warm hearted.

It was all very subtly done and written very well.

Thank you for writing it!

Author's Response: you're very welcome and thank you for your lovely comments! i'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #14, by alya Have a Biscuit, Lupin

5th August 2014:
that was heartwarming...

Author's Response: i'm glad you think so! thank you!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Dyhana Larson Have a Biscuit, Lupin

4th August 2014:
i loved it so much. i just expected Lupin and Macgonagol to kiss each other.

Author's Response: really? that's an unexpected interpretation of the story, but definitely an interesting one!

 Report Review

Review #16, by CassiePotter Have a Biscuit, Lupin

11th July 2014:
Hello!
This story was so wonderful. You write Remus and McGonagall incredibly well, and I loved seeing how their relationship changes throughout the story. One of my favorite details you added into the story was Remus not being able to call her Minverva. That was so funny to me, especially because I'm the daughter of a teacher, and while I call so of my teachers by their first names, my friends think it's the oddest thing, so I get why Remus would feel weird about it! Haha. The moment where Remus and McGonagall hugged was really lovely. It's so rare for her to show her softer side, and I think if it was going to make an appearance around anyone, it would be Remus! That moment between them was really nice to read, even if they were comforting each other over a loss that they both shared. I thought this story was absolutely fantastic, and I'm so glad that I read it! Wonderful job! 10/10
Cassie :)
*House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: thank you so much Cassie! i'm glad you think it was written well, and that you appreciated those little details! thank you again for leaving such a lovely review and i'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Elenia Have a Biscuit, Lupin

11th July 2014:
Ooh, such a beautiful story! "Have a biscuit," that was one of my favorite parts of the whole story so it's great to see it used again (x

Minerva and Remus, my two favorite characters brought together for this lovely one-shot. You did such an amazing job keeping them in character! I haven't really imagined what it was like for Remus during that year to meet some of his old teachers again, but this time have them as colleagues. It must've felt odd, and I can easily imagine him struggling to call them by their first name! Such a clever thought.

I really liked the idea of McGonagall summoning Remus to her room to (force) feed him cookies after his transformations (x all those talks were really great and something I'm sure they did talk about.

Your writing is excellent and you described Remus's thoughts really well and with great detail! Beautiful work.

- Hanna

Gryffindor - House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: thank you! that line's one of my favourites as well (obviously) and i really enjoyed repurposing it here!

they're my favourite characters as well, so it means a lot that you think i kept them in character. mcgonagall summoning remus to force feed him cookies was definitely a thing that happened and it's my firmest headcanon now

thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #18, by TidalDragon Have a Biscuit, Lupin

10th July 2014:
Howdy!

This story was so well done! I really like he explored an unknown friendship, but a very realistic one - that between teacher and former student. Aside from the individual characterizations themselves, you handled that dynamic very well - the awkwardness of the initial interaction now that the relationship has shifted, the awkwardness again when the connection deepens - it was both authentic and in a way emotional.

But I'd be remiss if I didn't mention how well I thought you did with the characterizations of both McGonagall and Lupin. I thought you handled McGonagall in particular well, differentiating her demeanor in class from her demeanor behind closed doors, but still maintaining faithfulness to her speech patterns and lines of thinking.

Lupin was also very much himself. A calm, collected man, who still struggled deeply with his identity and what happened all those years ago.

I really enjoyed this!

House Cup 2014 Review

Educational Decree #7

Author's Response: thank you so much Kevin! this was such a thoughtful review to recieve and i'm glad you thought that former teacher/student dynamic was realistic here. and as for the characterisation - minerva and remus are my favourite characters, and it's so gratifying to know that i did a job with minerva in particular.

thank you again for this review!


 Report Review

Review #19, by DracoFerret11 Have a Biscuit, Lupin

10th July 2014:
Hello there! This is DarkRose from the forums here to review for you for the House Cup 2014! I've been looking forward to reading this since it won Event 3, and now I have a chance! So, let's go over things:

Confusing Sentence: I'll just start with the one part that didn't quite make sense to me. When Remus goes to McGonagall's office after Harry's Patronus lesson, it says that he passes Wood who looks upset, but then after he enters the office, McGonagall says, "Wood, that's my final answer" or something similar. But I thought Wood was already walking down the hall. Maybe some clarification could help there.

Plot: This was a really sweet story. I liked the premise, first of all, with McGonagall constantly comforting Lupin with sweets. It's something he does for his students, and she does for him, and there's something sort of poetic about that. I also liked the moments you chose to showcase. It was a great summary of third year. Well done.

Characterization: Lupin and McGonagall were wonderful. I loved when Minerva hugged Remus. It was so sweet and caring, and we don't frequently see that side of her. I was really happy to read that. And Lupin was exactly right. Literally, you wrote both these characters perfectly. Fantastic.

Descriptions: I liked that the details you chose to showcase were how the cookies looked. That makes a lot of sense for this story. I didn't get many other details about the setting or characters, but I didn't mind since I think you chose the important things to show.

Emotions: Wonderful. I really liked the moments you showed them supporting each other. I think you did well with McGonagall showing her caring and supportive side through giving Lupin biscuits, and his affection for her showed in him accepting them. Their friendship was really beautiful and I loved it.

Overall, I think this was splendid. Well done! 'Claws for the Cup!

--Emily (House Cup 2014 Review, Educational Decree #7)

Author's Response: hey! thanks for the review!

i'm sorry you found that line confusing! wood has already left, but when remus knocked on minerva's door she thought it was him coming back to argue with her, hence the "wood, that's my final answer" before she realises it's remus.

i'm glad you enjoyed the rest of this story though, and especially the characterisation of minerva and remus because they're quite tricky characters to get right. thank you again for the feedback!


 Report Review

Review #20, by MileyMalfoy Have a Biscuit, Lupin

10th July 2014:
I love that this story shows such a human side of both Remus and McGonagall. We don't often think of teachers as being humans too, and so it really caught my emotions when he cried after Harry's lesson. I also love the fact that McGonagall gives him biscuits after each full moon. That strikes me as something so very caring, and so much like what she would do... even if the students don't necessarily see that side of her. I'm really glad that you brought that out in this story. I really enjoyed how you paced the writing and what segments of the year you chose to include. This feels like it could be something we would find in canon if the books weren't mainly around what Harry was doing.

Great job!
~ Meg
House Cup 2014 Review & educational decree #7

Author's Response: thanks so much and i'm glad you enjoyed the story! i think minerva and remus in particular are shown to be consistently caring towards their students, and while minerva presents quite a stern character in the classroom she's definitely very devoted to her students. i'm flattered that you think this could have been in canon!

thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Leonore Have a Biscuit, Lupin

10th July 2014:
Hi Lisa

This is perfect in so many ways, there's no surprise at all that it won overall! Seriously, I'm jealous of your writing.

Their relationship... just the right level of complexity. Ex-student - I adore how he can't call her by her first name, and how she doesn't force him to, and how he can't help but feel nervous sitting in her office. And the professional side, as colleagues - talking about lessons, in particular the extra ones he's giving Harry, and referring to Snape politely as a colleague. And then the friendship that grows, the way she looks after him when all of that stuff happens. It starts off cute and quickly gets sad, and all the way through is that little bit of normality: the biscuit. A truly great friendship. Gah, can you share your talent please?

~ Leo xx

House Cup 2014 Review - Educational Decree #7

Author's Response: thank you so much Leo! i really appreciate your comments about their relationship - it's a unique dynamic and one that i'm really glad to have gotten right. thank you again!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Beeezie Have a Biscuit, Lupin

10th July 2014:
Oooh, I loved this.

I've often wondered about the dynamic between Dumbledore/McGonagall (and later Slughorn, I guess) and some of the other teachers who were once their students. I mean, these were former students - I can only imagine that some of that dynamic would carry on going forward, and I loved seeing your take on that. I thought that it was perfectly done - of course seeing McGonagall would put Remus in the mind of being in trouble, even though he's long past that stage of his life!

I also loved McGonagall telling him that she'd never seen the students warm so quickly to a teacher, because that was definitely the impression I got in the books - "Moody" was certainly fairly popular as well, but he wasn't liked the way Remus was, and I loved the sense of pride McGonagall seemed to have when she told him that... especially given the rest of the undertone of the conversation, which was pretty sad both because Remus has been pretty sorely mistreated by life and because we know that he'll never get the chance to see one of his students fifteen years after he taught them.

And McGonagall telling Remus that he isn't responsible for Sirius's actions? Vintage McGonagall, and also something that I think Remus really needed to hear. The same was true of their next conversation, about James and Lily - I was really happy to see that you'd included it, because I felt like it was a cloud that hovered over everything in POA in particular, especially in retrospect.

You captured two pretty important and popular canon characters perfectly. I'm so, so proud to be a fellow Ravenclaw - amazing work.

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: i really appreciate this review and it's wonderful and lovely but can we talk about this comment for a second here:

"because we know that he'll never get the chance to see one of his students fifteen years after he taught them."

this was unnecessary, Branwen. so unnecessary. my heart hurts and i was not prepared for these emotions. this is my punishment for leaving my review responses so long. i didn't even think about that when i wrote that line. ouch

but seriously, this is such an incredible review and i appreciate the time you took and the thought you put into this. you've picked up on a lot of the little aspects of the story that i'm most proud of, so thank you for that!


 Report Review

Review #23, by rjlupin Have a Biscuit, Lupin

9th July 2014:
ad;lskja;dfja;sdjfasfda this was such a gorgeously written piece, i'm sobbing right now. D': and this just smacked me right in the gut with feels, with remus feels and professor mcgonagall feels, and this was perfect. thank youu~

Author's Response: thank you so much, and i'm sorry about the attack of feels!

 Report Review

Review #24, by Emily-Rosa Have a Biscuit, Lupin

9th July 2014:
This hurt my feels..

Author's Response: i'm sorry! thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Jojo Have a Biscuit, Lupin

9th July 2014:
Cute.

And here are several more characters to meet the minimum.

Author's Response: thanks for reading :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>