Reading Reviews for Event Three: Life Goes On
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MileyMalfoy Life Goes On

12th July 2014:
Aw this is sweet. I like how Parvati is the one to talk to Susan about the panic attack she was having in the shop. It's really interesting to see how these two girls, who I don't think I've ever thought of as spending too much time together, connected, and to see how they have changed since the battle. I wasn't sure how long this was since the Battle of Hogwarts, although for the second part it's clearly long enough for a book to be written and published, so that might be something to put the maturity of the girls into perspective. I still can't get over how mature Parvati seems, which is a good thing. I also love that you used Susan for this piece.

Awesome job!
~ Meg
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

I estimated that it would be about six-eight months after the war because she'd gotten a job and there'd been a book written about it, and I think even the worst author in the world (*cough*Rita Skeeter*cough*) would have the decency to wait a little bit before writing a book like that.

Thank you so much for this lovely review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #2, by maskedmuggle Life Goes On

12th July 2014:
Hey Kayla!

I really loved this so much! The plot of this was so fantastic. I loved how Susan had someone she didn't even know that well - Parvati - just randomly stopping by and helping her to overcome her adversity. I loved how despite that they weren't very close friends (as evidenced by Susan mistaking her for Padma), Parvati was able to offer such wise words of advice to Susan. The message of this story is also so important for life as well - it really is important to realise that life goes on despite past difficulties, and that it is possible to cope with them. I especially thought the beginning of this story was really powerful and instantly captured my utter attention. Really amazing writing :)

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hey, Charlotte!

Thank you so much for this lovely review! I'm so glad you loved it! It really makes my heart warm hearing that :')

Thank you again! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by teh tarik Life Goes On

12th July 2014:
Oh my gosh, Kayla WHAT IS THIS.

WHAT IS THIS HUGE PILE OF SUSAN BONES SADNESS AND FEELS THAT YOU HAVE INDUCED IN ME. And why am I capslocking!? Aww, aww, where do I start. First, I love Post-Hogwarts era fic. I love angsty post-Hogwarts with minor characters. But more those, I absolutely adore and worship angsty post-Hogwarts minor character fics that end with a note of hope. Oh my goodness, the ending melted me down to puddle of slop.

I love how you wrote Susan in this. The opening was so striking, her holding some unnamed Slytherin boy, bleeding all over her, and how she tries to brush his bloody hair out of his face, and kiss his forehead. Seriously, such a horrifying image, gave me chills all over, but also one of great sadness. It's no wonder she's having such a hard time getting over the war. Especially when you take into account that her whole family was killed. Panic attacks, nightmares, reading books to find out about things that she could have done, but will ultimately be useless because the war's over now.

I love that you brought Parvati in this! She was such an unexpected addition to the story, and I love it when minor characters interact with other minor characters, and that speech that Parvati gave...well, Susan really needed to hear that. That was absolutely wonderful, that moment, all the way to the ending. I loved that ending bit so much; despite all the grief and the trauma, I feel that there's hope, genuine hope that Susan will recover and get on with her life.

Lovely fic, Kayla! I really enjoyed this!

-teh
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: OH MY GOSH TEH WHAT IS THIS

Hahaha, teh, you are the QUEEN of minor characters, post-Hogwarts era, and angsty fics so hearing that you enjoyed this makes me just fgsydkjfvjsfkhdkgfhgkfhjvchvj *flails everywhere*

ahaha in my original idea, I was going to make this into a short story where Parvati and Susan become a couple but word limits and rules and what not... :P

Thank you so much for this lovely review! You're such a beautiful human! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by SkyEcho Life Goes On

8th July 2014:
Hi ohmymerlin!

What a powerful opening to your story! I think I'm still in awe of how well it was written and how haunting it was. Susan comes across as incredibly relatable and I instantly felt for her. Being confronted with someone else's fear of their death is not only a scary thought in and of itself, but also a situation that many of us would find ourselves at a loss for words. Her reaction came across as realistic, and I liked that.
The nightmares and being consumed with finding the spell that killed him all speak to her unresolved guilt. You've captured the aftermath of trauma really well here and my heart really went out to her.
It was so nice to see Parvati here and I'm happy that Susan was able to confide in someone (as it seemed as though this was something she kept bottled in). Sometimes letting someone in, to help, is the greatest act of courage in overcoming something. Your story shows this.
I just have to say how much I loved reading this. It was emotional, and honest, and truly well written. I loved it!

*House Cup 2014 Review*

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you so much for this amazing review! You're so sweet! I don't know how I can possibly respond to this, it's just such a beautiful review! hfkjddhfjkfdkjjk ♥

Just... thank you! :D

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by nott theodore Life Goes On

8th July 2014:
Hi Kayla! I haven't had chance to respond to all your lovely reviews yet but I wanted to come and repay you with some because you've been so kind to me!

You probably already know that I love minor characters, so the fact that you're writing about Susan Bones has instantly made me like this story. And I loved the fact that you began the piece with a line that just set up a haunting image in my head, the fact that Susan was followed by the memory of this boy who'd died in her arms, someone she didn't know but who'd still left a big impression on her. You've immediately set up the adversity that she has to overcome and I thought you wrote that scene beautifully, describing it so well I could picture every moment of it.

The switch in this story between the beginning and the ending was great, as well. I liked the introduction of Parvati and how she managed to come along at just the right time. Her words to Susan seem so simple and obvious, really, but for someone like Susan who's witnessed such suffering in the war, it's not that easy to move on. But life does go on, and now that Parvati's helped her to realise that I think it's going to be a lot better for Susan!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hey, Sian!

Thank you so much for this amazing review! I'm glad you liked it! Sorry this response is so blergh but I can't find the words to let you know how grateful I am for this review! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by evil little devil Life Goes On

8th July 2014:
I've been really excited to get to your story (I'm just going through the House Cup entries) in order to repay you for the lovely review you left me!
Oh wow, I really love this! I'm not going to lie, I do have tears in my eyes right now. That scene with her having a panic attack in the bookshop reading through the names of the dead really got to me.
I absolutely adore minor character explorations, so I'm so glad you've written this! Susan Bones is a character you don't often see written about, and I really love your take on her.
I've read so many fantastic House Cup stories dealing with how characters cope in the immediate post-war world, and this is definitely up there with my favourites. It's such a poignant thing to write about, how people continue on with their lives after such horrible things have happened to them.
I really, really loved the ending. "Life went on." There's no miraculous change, it's just a realisation that everything else is continuing around you, and you might as well join in. I just really loved that, I think it was perfect.
Just like this story! This was an absolute delight to read!

- House Cup 2014 Review.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this amazing review! I'm flailing everywhere from this review, I hope you know that! I just want to reach through my computer screen to squish you in a big, warm hug! :'D

Ahhh I love this and you so much! Thank you! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by HeyMrsPotter Life Goes On

7th July 2014:
Hi, Kayla!

It's been so long since I read anything of yours, and now I'm wondering why that is. This was SO GOOD. Don't get me wrong, it broke my heart from the very first line (amazing opening paragraph by the way!), but I enjoyed it nonetheless. The little hints about Fred, Tonks, and Lupin were just heartbreaking. I sometimes forget about the other people that were part of the final battle, and that the people that died though family and friends to some, were total strangers to others. Susan's kindness to that unknown Slytherin boy was just too much for my emotions!

What I love most about your story is how much of a realistic portrayal of after the war it is. So often I read fanfiction where it seems everyone just gets over it immediately but the reality is people would have nightmares and panic attacks, maybe even worse than that. I like that an old school friend was the one that helped her realise that she was going to be okay, and it seemed as though Parvati was talking from experience.

This was an excellent entry, Kayla :)

Dee -House Cup 2014 review.

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this review, Dee! YOU'RE SUCH A BEAUTIFUL HUMAN BEING!!! ♥

Yes, Parvati was speaking from experience -- in my head canon Lavender had SERIOUS PTSD and Parvati often helped her through panic attacks and nightmares and the likes. I've always seen her as a very helpful person so it was always going to be her!

Thank you so much, Dee! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by TheHeirOfSlytherin Life Goes On

7th July 2014:
*Comes back*

This was such an interesting take on adversity. Susan consoling and being there for the dying Slytherin boy, and then the panic attacks. War is a definite contender for the adversity prompt, so is probably a popular choice (I don't know, but I did and you're the first I've read for event three), but you've wrote something I didn't think of. And it was amazing. I'm now imagining how it would have gone if you didn't have to cut it.

I'm glad you picked Susan for this. She's such a minor character compared to others, so it was awesome to see the war from her perspective and watch her deal with the aftermath. I have a sort of headcanon for her thanks to another's story, but I can totally see this happening first. It was very well done.

It was a surprise seeing Pavarti as the one to help her, but in a good way. I like that it was another minor character, someone we don't know as well, because we can't predict the direction they'd go in like we maybe could with Harry or Neville or Ginny (just examples).

Great story!

Sam.

House Cup 2014 Review.

Author's Response: Basically there was a lot more gore and more focus on her panic attack and I nearly wanted to turn it into a short story about a Susan/Pavarti ship but I forced myself to shorten it, haha! It would have gone in a very different direction!

I absolutely adore Susan Bones and I always want to write her!

I picked Pavarti because she's friends with Lavender and I feel like she would have been able to help Susan just as much as she helped/was helping Lavender (in my head canon Lavender has SERIOUS PTSD) . I also included that in the un-cut version but word limits and stuff...

Anyway, thank you so much for this lovely review! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by MargaretLane Life Goes On

23rd June 2014:
I like the fact you choose a character who's involvement in the war isn't so well-documented. I'd imagine the events of Deathly Hallows were traumatic for everybody.

And I like the way she isn't sure which of the twins she's talking to.

"Mungo's" should have an apostrophe before the "s". That's the only mistake I noticed.

I especially liked the paragraph where she is seeing the Great Hall in ruins.

Sorry this review is a bit disjointed.

Author's Response: Hello!

Ah, thank you so much for your review! I must have forgotten that cheeky apostrophe!

It's okay that the review is disjointed, I still appreciate it all the same! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login