Reading Reviews for Hero
  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Tris  Hero

6th October 2014:
Tears. Like for real. Beautiful! I love it! I really like the idea of harry as an old man who will just die a normal death (ok not suffer, and not that I like the idea of death) but I think it's kind of poetic that this man who went through so much already would just die a normal muggle way. The last line here was way too sweet for me to handle!

Author's Response: Hi! :)

Wow, thank you. You are so sweet. I'm so glad you liked this and the normalization of Harry's death - you've offered a reading of his future in this story in a way not many other people have touched on, and it's really neat to hear. Thanks so much for the very lovely review! :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by mymischiefmanaged Hero

21st July 2014:
This was very bittersweet. Obviously it's incredibly sad but also it's wonderful that Harry had such a long, fulfilling life with family that loved him when he once thought he wouldn't make it through his teens. It's sweet to see Lily's children and the way they interact with Lysander, who's always a bit of a favourite of mine. Lu is beautifully characterised. You really get across how kind and caring she is but it's clear she has more depth than just being the nice one. Lovely to see how much Harry still loves Ginny, even after so long. It's difficult to read about ageing like this and I'm sure it's even more difficult to write about, but you've done it incredibly well

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Aw, I'm glad you found this fulfilling as well as sad. I agree, Harry did have a long, wonderful life even if it's sad it had to end with him forgetting about it. I'm so glad you liked Lily's little family!

I really loved Lu and writing her relationship with Harry. I like how you noticed that there is more to her than just being caring and kind even if it is important for her in her relationship with her grandfather - that's such a wonderful and thoughtful observation.

This story was both easy and difficult to write - easy because it's based on my own family experiences and was almost therapeutic to share with others, and difficult because I was worried about not doing dementia justice. I'm so pleased you liked this - thanks so much for the lovely review! :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by maskedmuggle Hero

12th July 2014:
Hey!

This was a really interesting and different story. And quite sad as well. But I liked how you also conveyed a sense of optimism, which I think is pretty important in difficult times like this. I thought you wrote a very realistic reaction different family members might have had to the situation - especially about how Lu was better at dealing with the situation at hand. I thought the way you wrote this made it seem so much more 'high impact', in that we could really get an understanding of Harry's degeneration - the dialogue definitely emphasised that even further. All in all, this was definitely a very powerful and moving story, and one that you wrote really well. You conveyed a lot in a few words.

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi again, Charlotte!

I'm glad you liked the sense of optimism in this, and the way the family adjusted to Harry's having dementia. It's very tricky, but I'm so pleased you felt it was realistic and liked the different family members as I really liked exploring the different relationships.

It's so nice that you mentioned the dialogue as it is a weak point of mine. I'm so pleased you found it moving and impactful - thank you so much for another wonderful review! :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by Elenia Hero

11th July 2014:
Wow. Such a great story. And a difficult topic!

It's funny. I don't know why but I've never really imagined that witches and wizards can still get some 'muggle' diseases. Somehow I've managed to completely ignore this (x but I can see it now, and I think this was a great idea for a story.

It's never easy to see a person close to you to go through dementia. I've seen it, and that moment when they're right in front of you, staring at you and frowning because they don't recognize you, it's beyond horrible. All those feelings came back when I read that part about Harry not recognizing his granddaughter making me all teary eyed. Urgh, seriously, when did you all amazing hpff writers start writing so heart wrenching stories that always make me cry...

It's hard to imagine Harry in a situation like that. He's the biggest hero and to have him forget all that, it's a sad thought. But you turned it into a beautiful story and I'm really glad I got the chance to read it.

- Hanna

Gryffindor - House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi Hanna! :)

Wow, thank you so much for all your kind words!

I'm glad you liked the idea of wizards being able to have Muggle diseases. It fit well with my idea for the story, though I'm not sure if it's strictly canon (though I do remember some elderly wizards being accused of going "senile" and "batty" in the HP books, like Dumbledore and Bathilda for example).

Aw, it is really difficult, and so tough to deal with. I'm sorry, I'm glad you connected with the story though and I hope it did dementia and the experience of having a loved one with dementia justice! I was a little nervous of posting it for that reason, and this whole scene was very close to my heart.

i've had a couple reviewers say they found it powerful that Harry was the one who had dementia and how that was pivotal to the story. I'm so pleased you liked this, thank you for the beautiful review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #5, by MissesWeasley123 Hero

10th July 2014:
nerp Jenna why Jenna why. When Rose said this made you cry I knew I had to read it and I was rooting for this to win and it did, thankfully. You handled the emotions and the topic of this story so well, and it's really amazing how you did it.

First of all, to be able to write something of both quantity, and quality in such a short amount of time is amazing. But it's nothing I wouldn't expect of you, with your mad machine writing and such beautiful way with words.

The way you wrote Lily was brilliant. It's heartbreaking how she's the only one who visits him. You make up for Albus and James absence so well, it's entirely believable and so heart breaking. I love how she's the one who visits him, because she's the daughter and the youngest which makes it 100 times more sad but also uplifting.

You wrote Harry so well to, treating his condition with respect and so much care. I think this piece is such a well deserved win, and thank you for writing this and I really, really loved it Jenna. Beautiful, as always. ♥ ♥

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Hi Nadia!! :D

Aw, I'm sorry! :( You're so lovely though, thank you thank you! These reflections and reactions to this story really mean so much to me, and it's a very special one-shot to me.

I was surprised that I was able to fit this into the word limit, frankly, because that is not my strong point. But I'm glad you still thought this had quality, it really means a lot.

I'm pleased you liked Lily! I wanted to explore the brothers not being there a little more but there wasn't really the space for it, but family members not being able to face their relatives who have dementia or being able to cope with them is a very real problem that I've seen before.

Thank you! That means so much to know you thought I portrayed dementia with respect. This review was so wonderful, Nadia - thank you so much! I appreciate every word! ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by nott theodore Hero

9th July 2014:
Hi Jenna!

I'm sorry first of all that it's taken me so long to read this, and once I'd read it to leave a review, but it's taken me this long to be able to formulate some vaguely coherent thoughts and try and write something that does this anywhere near justice.

Thank you. Thank you for this. I know you've said that this theme is quite close and personal to you, so thank you for sharing it. But this story was just so poignant and touching that I can't really do it justice. I've had family experience with dementia as well and it's so difficult for the people who aren't recognised anymore by their loved one, to see those changes happening and not be able to stop them or help at all. I just think that it's so special of you to write something like this as fanfiction and put it out here for everyone to read.

This brought back so many memories for me and I had tears in my eyes for most of the story - by the end of it I was fully in tears (with my family looking at me worriedly). I'm so, so glad that this won the category because it's entirely deserved. I keep repeating myself in this review because I can't form proper thoughts to express how this made me feel, and it's not often that writing - especially fanfiction - manages to do that to me. Although this was in a magical setting and with HP characters, it was so incredibly real and believable, because I've been in this situation and it's so incredibly distressing and difficult. Your writing is beautiful, Jenna, and you handle this subject so well and... just thank you.

I can't believe you managed to write this in the short amount of time we had - I suppose I should stop being amazed by the quality of writing you manage to produce at some point, but not yet. And for you to manage to write it in such a short amount of words (compared to your normal chapters) was even more impressive. I just know that one day you'll be published and I'll be buying every book you write.

If you hadn't worked it out already, this piece made me really emotional. The way that you wrote Lily was brilliant, and it made me so sad to hear that she's the only one of Harry's children who still feels able to visit him and cope with the changes that dementia has wrought on him. She dealt with it really well, even though the disease is heartbreaking. And Lu ♥ It's incredibly hard to experience that first time when a grandparent doesn't recognise you and I know exactly how she felt at that point, but it was amazing that she was able to overcome it in part and still talk to Harry as if things were normal, and treat him with all the love and compassion she feels without blaming him for the hurt.

As for Harry, he was so perfectly characterised in this. I was so sad to hear that both Ginny and Ron have died as well, but Harry's mind can't hold onto those facts and he's living in a world that's not really there anymore. Even though dementia can make someone into a different person, there were still elements of Harry, like when he worried about his wand and his broomstick, although obviously he's become a lot more suspicious. The moment when he spoke about Ginny and how lovely she was made me smile and cry at the same time, because that love is still with him and there's some happiness to be found there.

The ending, when Lu calls Harry her hero, was beautiful. I probably need to come up with some new adjectives, but really, it was. I'm so glad that you ended this on a moment of hope and happiness, showing that even in the darkness and struggle that dementia creates there can be warm memories and love.

Quite simply, this was perfect, Jenna. And thank you. Thank you so much.

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi Sian!!! ♥

Wow, this review is just beautiful, and I really have no idea how to respond to all your thoughtful observations. It especially means a lot to hear from others who have family members with dementia and how they react to it, and it means a lot that you were touched by how this was written.

This scenario was actually very much based on an interaction I had with my grandmother right before I left the city for a while, the first time where she didn't really recognize me, and it was an incredibly hard moment. Even though I knew she had dementia and should have expected that to be the case sooner or later it really was heartbreaking, and it helped me in a strange way to write about that and capture it here in fanfiction form. Knowing that you responded to it in that way makes me even more glad I wrote about this, because it is so personal yet also something that needs to be shared.

Weirdly, this was one of those stories which felt complete with the short word count. It was pretty unusual for me but I was pleased by that. :)

Aw! ♥ I based Lily quite a bit on my mother, she sort of detaches herself from the emotion of it and focuses on the practicality, which is how she handles seeing Harry like that. I felt that the sons really loved their dad but found it hard to keep going back there and seeing him so changed, which sadly is the case for a lot of families. Lu here was such a strong character, I really liked writing her and how she spoke to Harry. She was really the main one in the family who could make Harry smile.

I felt so sad that his friends and family weren't there anymore - especially Ron! :( My experience with dementia is that people do become suspicious and accusatory, and it felt right that he would cling to those things which grounded him in the magical world even though he's been living in it for years. I tried to bring back some of his insecurities from his early years in the books.

I'm so glad you liked the ending! I wasn't sure about it at first but it felt like a nice way to end the story with the element of hope as you said. Love is always still there.

Thank you, Sian!! This review was simply wonderful, and means the world to me. *hearts;


 Report Review

Review #7, by zealousVisionary Hero

8th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Hi there!

Wow is really all I can say about this story- it really hit me hard, right from the first sentence.

This story's writing was beautiful, even lyrical at times, which really added depth to the piece. The dialog also flowed very well, and despite the fic's short length, I still found myself connecting to the characters.

This fic was so heartbreaking in multiple ways- to read about both Harry and his family in pain because of Harry's dementia was just so sad... (and poor Ron, too!) I've never read a fic that describes Harry as an older man, which just makes this fic even more eye-opening than it would've been for me.

What I think I loved most about the story was the bittersweet ending- I may or may not have teared up when Lu told Harry he's her hero.

Anyways, beautiful story! I loved it!

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Thank you so much! It really means a lot to know this felt impactful and that you liked the writing. I struggled a bit with telling the whole story in such a small wordcount so knowing that it still helped you connect to the characters is really lovely.

Aw, I'm sorry it was so sad! I've had a couple reviewers say it hit them hard that it was Harry who was the man with dementia, and I definitely felt an odd connection to him through writing him this way.

I'm so glad you liked the ending! Thanks so much for the wonderful review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by MadiMalfoy Hero

8th July 2014:
Hey there! Here's one of your reviews for your Merlin challenge prizes! :)

I chose to review this piece (and favorite it) because your single-sentence summary intrigued me instantly! Such a heartbreaking one-shot, though it was written very, very well; a truly beautiful piece.

Your way of describing the dementia is unique in that you didn't simply list the disease and what it did; you artfully portrayed it as something not to be taken lightly with family or in general, and that it takes great strength to deal with it as an immediate family member. I love the liberty you took with Lily II and who she married and had kids, it really works well with the plot as a whole. Poor Harry! I think it's really great you have not diminished him as a character, but really just shown how a disease can hit anyone at all, it doesn't care what that person's accomplished in life.

Great job, and I'll be around soon to finish up your review prizes! :)
~MadiMalfoy x

Author's Response: Hello! :)

I'm glad you liked the summary!! I wasn't really sure what to put there originally but ended up liking its simplicity. I'm so honoured that you liked this - thank you!!

I'm pleased you liked how the dementia was introduced: I really wanted to "show" what it is like to love somebody with the disease and how pain and joy alternate. This is really based on an interaction I had with my own grandfather, except for some reason it felt right to write it from my "mother's" POV - Lily's - and with Harry in the place of my grandmother. It's very true: dementia is the sort of thing which can affect anybody, and no family is ever truly ready for it.

Thanks so much for the truly lovely review, my dear!! :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by Dark Whisper Hero

8th July 2014:
Lululuna,
Awe, you are pulling all the heart-strings on this oneÖ So sad and wonderfully written. Your subject is an unfortunate reality for many and you wrote it with dignity and heartbreaking truth. Both of my Grandfathers suffered from this disease and I know it broke my mothers heart to have her father ask her if she was the nurse. And it pained me to watch my other grandpa ask the same question repeatedly, only a few minutes after he asked it the first time. It is no surprise that your story won for Overcoming Adversity. Congratulations, my fellow Slytherin! Bravo!

Go Slytherin House!
Dark Whisper
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi Dark Whisper! :)

Thank you! I'm so honoured to know that you have that family experience with dementia and that this was a strong representation of it. It's so difficult to see a family member change through the disease and I really felt compelled to write about it. Thank you for sharing the stories about your grandfathers with me, it really does mean a lot to hear about other people's experiences. ♥

Thanks so much for the lovely review!! :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by evil little devil Hero

7th July 2014:
This was absolutely heartbreaking to read! It's the kind of topic that really touches most people, because everyone has an elderly relative that, even if they don't have dementia, is beginning to change and forget things.
That part about taking away their wands really hits home, it's so poignant, because it makes so much sense that they would revert to leaking magic uncontrolled just like children.
It's so sad to read about the characters getting old. I read another one for the House Cup that was about George and Lee getting old together, and now these one as well! It's so heartbreaking to think of, because the characters feel so immortal, though of course they're not.
This was an excellent one-shot!

- House Cup 2014 Review.

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Aw, thank you! Yes, it's so true: ageing and the pain on the family is a theme that so many of us cope with and everybody can relate to those experiences in some way or another.

It's interesting that the wands being taken away stuck out to you! Yes, exactly - they become like children and are treated as such, which is a bit controversial.

I read that story as well - it was amazing! At least they can live on forever through the books and fanfiction.

Thanks so much for the truly lovely review!! :D


 Report Review

Review #11, by UnluckyStar57 Hero

7th July 2014:
Dang it. This was so hard to read. I can't even stand it. I'm literally crying right now.

At first, I didn't know who the family was or who they were going to see, but then it all clicked into place. And it was all downhill from there. Oh my gosh. To see someone you love growing old and becoming forgetful and changing with the disease of dementia is hard, but seeing Harry Potter in this light was just terrible. I guess it's because I've never known anyone in my family who had dementia, so seeing the main character of my favorite book series in the whole wide world with it was like a knife in my heart.

And then you twisted the knife so that it would hurt even more. Ouch. The part about the forgetting, the regression back to his school days, the "They're all dead" part. No. That is not okay at all. I don't want them to be dead. I would be happily and blissfully ignorant of their deaths if you hadn't pointed it out. In my mind, they don't die. They live forever, but this story says otherwise, and it was so convincing that I'm beginning to believe it.

But it turned around at the end, as these things tend to do, and Lu came around from her initial reluctance/fright. I'm glad that she called him her hero, whereas Lily's brothers would have been in denial about Harry's condition. Lu acknowledged the condition--it obviously freaked her out--but she loves her grandfather because he is her grandfather, and not because of some disease.

Argggh, I'm going to be sad about this for a long time. That's the mark of a really great story. You should be really proud of this. :)

House Cup 2014 Review

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hello!! :)

Wow, this review was just amazing. Thank you so much for reading and all the thoughtful reflections in this review.

I'm sorry if this made you sad, and that Harry having dementia was even more meaningful. I was worried about not doing him justice. I did debate a little about whether I should mention Harry's friends and where they were, but it fit well to have them already gone. But made me very sad while writing it!! :(

I'm glad you liked how it turned around! Yes, you've got Lu just right: she loves him no matter what and is better equipped to meet him on equal terms, whereas his children are caught up in the pain and stress.

Thank you so much for all your lovely words, it really means the world! ♥


 Report Review

Review #12, by Remus Hero

7th July 2014:
Hello!

I just know that this is going to make me cry...

I really like the details you have in this. The fact that the elderly's wands are taken away and their magic explodes just like a child. There are some elderly that revert to act like a child; something they can't help.

Aww, Ron is dead at this point!! Aww...

Meeehhh!! I've lost it by this point! T_T
"Ginny is there too," Dad says firmly. "I'd know her anywhere - she's my wife, you know. Isn't she lovely?" I feel really bad for Harry at this point, I mean...he's the "last" one left. He's been left behind! However, I think it's a lot more tough for Lily. To have watched her father slip away and to continue to slip away...

Lu sounds like such a great small character. She's a tough girl and is willing to help and look past her grandfather's state of mind and continue to see him.

This was such a great story! I really enjoyed it! And you definitely got me a bit teary eyed there a couple of times.

House Cup 2014 Review
Until next time,
--Rosie

Author's Response: Hi Rosie! :)

I'm glad that you liked this and the details! It was interesting to imagine the sort of elder care and safety precautions that wizards would have. The elderly can't help it but it still is de-humanizing in a way especially with taking away their wands.

It is quite tough, both for Harry even if he doesn't really realize it, and his family. Lu is better equipped to be cheerful around Harry in some ways since she didn't know him when he was a lot younger and she's been watching him slip away for a big part of her life, whereas Lily still has the memories of when he used to take care of her.

Thank you so much for the lovely review, and I'm sorry if it made you sad!! :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by MischiefNotQuiteMannaged Hero

7th July 2014:
This was beautiful! You made me feel so many things, and really open my eyes to dementia and how it affects not only the sufferer but also their family.

I really hope that Harry remembers Hogwarts as his first home and not as the death filled battlefield of the final battle. I need Harry to be able to remember the happy times with Ron and Hermione, not just the sad ones of his childhood in Privet Drive and the War. And at the same time it's heart-breaking that Harry's living in his memories without Ron.

Such a moving fic; well done for winning Prompt 2!

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Aw, thank you! It really means a lot to get such kind feedback, and if it showed the effects of dementia and the strengths and weaknesses then that's even more lovely.

I think with Harry's condition he would change from day to day, so some days he might think of Hogwarts fondly and other days be emotionally scarred from it. It is quite sad how his memories played out on that particular day and how his friends couldn't really be with him even in his memories.

Thank you so much for the lovely review! :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by ohmymerlin Hero

7th July 2014:
Hello!

Aw, this was so sweet! I can see why it was picked as the winner! It's very well deserved!

It's sad to see that Harry developed dementia :( And poor Lu, not being able to be recognised by her own grandfather! But I like that she showed him pictures of Hogwarts and told him about her cousins. I think it was very sweet!

I feel so sorry for Harry though :( He can't have his wand and he doesn't remember anything, the poor guy! It's like his life was never destined to be an easy one!

The opening sentence was brilliant! I nearly forgot to say it! I think it was such a great start and I absolutely loved it!

You wrote this very well! Congratulations on winning!

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014

Author's Response: Hi Kayla! :)

Aw, thank you so much! I'm so honoured that you liked it. :)

Writing this was so sad as well, but I'm glad that you find it sweet. I wanted to capture the everyday tragedy of dementia as well as the small victories and joys.

I'm glad you liked the opening sentence as I was a little unsure about it so that's very helpful. :)

Thanks so much for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #15, by patronus_charm Hero

6th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

Hi Jenna!

This was so heart-breaking seeing that way with him being so broken and so not him that you just wanted to hug him throughout as he was just so helpless. You wrote his confusion and delusion so well that I almost began to not feel sure of everything. But I think the saddest thing was how Harry really didnít have a clue about what was happening to him, he couldnít realise what was going on, so he didnít feel sad at all but the same, whereas Lily did realise what was going and knew what was going so it was just so heart-breaking to have that contrast.

It was so sad to see the way Harry kept on mixing up things of the past such as Aunt Petunia and Ginny with things of the present because the things and people of the past werenít around any longer so they couldnít remind him of what was the truth so he just kept on getting confused and it was just such a poignant moment. It really made me wonder if Harry would have been different if Ginny, Neville and everyone were still around or not.

This was such an amazing story and Iím sorry for this rambling and incoherent review, I need to sleep! :P

-Kiana

Author's Response: Hi Kiana! :)

Wow, thank you! I'm really glad you liked this and found Harry's character interesting and emotional. Writing this story was so sad for me and it's such a tricky situation to write, so I wanted to do it justice.

I think if I had a longer word limit for this story, then some more characters from Harry's past might have shown up. However it did fit to have them be more poignant as memories than actual people.

Thank you so much for all your kind words, Kiana! :) It really means a lot to get such nice feedback! ♥


 Report Review

Review #16, by Ravenclaw333 Hero

28th June 2014:
Oh wow. This piece is so bittersweet and beautiful and poignant, and the way you've tied everything together at the end with the theme of heroism is really, really well done. You've captured the struggle of the family dealing with Alzheimers so well - the scene where Harry doesn't recognise his granddaughter is heartbreaking, but you've still managed to end it on a note that's not quite happy but gives a glimpse of hope and acceptance. Beautiful piece and a well-deserved win :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Wow, thank you so much! Getting such lovely feedback on this story really means a lot to me and I really appreciate it. Dementia is a very difficult disease in how it affects the person involved and the rest of the family, but I loved working on this and the hint of hope and happiness at the end. :)

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #17, by Red_headed_juliet Hero

28th June 2014:
Awh! This is so sweet, and brilliant. I would hate to be in their place, any of them, really.

You've worked a beautiful story, full of emotion and description, in so few words! As always, I love your characterization. Everyone seems so real, dialogue flows well, everything just fits! Congratulations on winning! You really deserve it! :hearts:

Author's Response: Hello!

I'm so pleased you liked this! I agree - this story is based off my own family experiences and while it was difficult to write, it's also an important story to share.

Thank you! I'm so pleased you liked the characters and the dialogue and everything. I was a little worried about the word limit but the whole scene flowed together and was such a pleasure to work on.

Thank you so much! ♥ :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by momotwins Hero

28th June 2014:
This is a very original idea, and I really love how you wrote it. It's very poignant, just a lovely piece all around. So sad to think of Harry that way, dementia is so terrible. It makes for a great story though, and you wrote it very well. Congrats on your well-deserved Best of Prompt 2 win! :D

Author's Response: Hello!!

Wow, thank you so much! I really loved writing this story even though it was quite sad as the moment is very close to my own heart. Dementia is such a tough thing like you said, and it felt really important to me to portray it with sensitivity and kindness and show how the family faces Harry not quite being himself.

Thank you so much for the lovely review, it really made my day! :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by toomanycurls Hero

24th June 2014:
I cried like a baby when I validated this. You have no idea. It's so beautiful and well-written. You handle dimensia with a velvet touch with just the right amount of thoughtful humanity to your creative story-telling.

I've been the grandchild who wasn't recognized after not seeing an aging grandparent and that is hard to pull through. I love how Lu managed to still talk with Harry by the end. Lily's strength in going through this is also amazing. I feel sad that she's the only child who is still visiting him but I know it can be hard for kids when their parents are no longer themselves.

Of course it was terribly sad to also hear that Ginny has died and Ron as well. :( It's so hard to imagine Harry at that age and state but you covered it wonderfully.

The line that really sent me over the edge emotionally was Lu telling Harry he's still her hero. I'm crying again just thinking about it. CAN YOU STOP WITH THE FEELS?!?!

This was a beautiful entry! Good luck in the cup! (go 'Claws :P)

-Rose

Author's Response: Hi Rose!

Aw! Okay, well I'm actually really honoured to hear that this touched you emotionally and that you liked how I handled a portrayal of a family member with dementia. This scene was pretty much exactly taken from my own life, but with the names changed and some magic added in, and written from Lily's perspective while I was in Lu's position. So it means so much and validates my writing about this to know that my experiences can affect others who relate to them. ♥

Dementia is such a difficult disease, although there are those happy, warm moments which make it all bearable. I wanted to show how there are bad days and good days, and even bad moments and good moments on the same day. I agree, it is so hard for the children to see their parents change, and although it's a shame Albus and James couldn't be there for them it also is a very real experience.

Aw, I felt so sad writing that as well, but I couldn't think of a way to fit them in and explain everybody's ageing history in such a short snippet. I'm glad you liked how I wrote Harry - he intimidates me as a character no matter what age or cognitive state.

Aw, I'm sorry for the feels! :( Just reading this review gave me feels all over again! Thanks so much for leaving such lovely thoughts, Rose! ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login