Reading Reviews for Flutter
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Veritaserum27 Flutter

28th July 2014:
Hello!

I wanted to review another one of your stories because I was "previewing" my review on "Death on the First," I accidentally hit submit without meaning to.

I'm so glad that I decided to read another one of your stories! This fic is absolutely beautiful and it is written so well.

I am always amazed when a writer finds a little snippet of the Wizarding World and just takes off with it. How you managed to create a lifetime and a platonic love story around a small fact from J.K.'s notes is just plain awesome. You also managed to give your character a back story and motivation with very little details. I just loved how you ran with it! Fantastic job!

I have to admit, I was trying to guess the identity of the girl from the very beginning. I thought she might be Ariana Dumbledore because of the red hair, the fact that she didn't go to school and that the story was set very close to Godrics Hollow. I realized that the times do not match up for the girl to be Ariana, and now I think she might have been a Muggle girl who lived on the cusp of the magical world.

The beautiful way you described Bowman's love for the bird was so heartwarming. I loved how he revered the snitch he created, striving to impart the beauty and delicacy of the tiny animal within the charmed metal.

Second person point of view was flawless with this piece. I actually only just noticed it now, after going back to re-read a few parts. It was done so well, I, as the reader, didn't feel like I was trying to fit into the story. Rather, I was already a part of it.

The story could have had a happy ending, but this one was so much better. The death of the girl gave his life purpose to want to save the tiny birds that she loved. It was as if Bowman felt that this girl, who meant so much to him, could go on living if he found a way to create a metal object that would allow the birds to live. The fact that it took him a lifetime to do it shows us that it was no small feat - and that he had the passion to pursue this task until he had succeeded.

Great, great job putting so much heart and emotion into so few words. Thanks for writing this!

Beth

 Report Review

Review #2, by maskedmuggle Flutter

12th July 2014:
Hey!

I really loved this loads and enjoyed reading it. Since I have previously read 2-3 stories about golden snidgets from the House Cup, I had looked them up and read up on their history. I found it so fascinating for the history to be translated into a story here, and I found it so interesting to read. I loved your characterisation of Bowman, and the story of how he came to realise the magical nature of the golden snidget and hence create the Golden Snitch. I also really liked the mysterious vibe of this story, especially with the unknown girl. I just thought this was such an awesome idea for a story, and that you did a wonderful job writing it as well.

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #3, by Pretense Of Perfection Flutter

11th July 2014:
Sian, I am simply at a loss for words. You took a canon event that we rarely get to see, and transformed it into something so touching and beautiful that I'm not sure mere words can express how I am feeling right now. I think this is my favorite story of yours so far, and your talent really shines through. I love the way Bowman grows as a person throughout the piece, his characterization is just lovely. And the mystery girl is simply enchanting. For some reason I feel like we know her that much better because we don't know her name, if that makes any sense. I have to say though, my favorite character is the golden snidget, Caro. He really manages to embody all of the wonderful qualities of any animal companion, and its so sweet how he and Bowman spend the rest of their days together. The mystery girl's death was quite heartbreaking of course, but I don't think the story would've had the same powerful impact if that hadn't happened. I didn't notice any spelling or grammar errors, and the pacing was perfect. Great job!!

--house cup 2014 review--
gryffindor

 Report Review

Review #4, by MissesWeasley123 Flutter

10th July 2014:
ERM HI SORRY FOR TAKING A MILLION YEARS RAPIDLY REVIEWING SO SORRY FOR TYPOS.

Okay, so the girl. The girl really reminds me on Luna, and if you shall listen to me and read The Name of the Wind, Auri from that. I flee like you need people in your lives like her, as they show you it's okay to be different, and bring forth different perspectives at life. I think the second person worked so well to show how she was too, as it was going at Bowman like, "you" and how "you saw her" if that makes sense in a way :P

I think you characterized Bowman so well. His admiration and love for both Caro and the girl, was beautiful. He treated them both delicately, and how he acts around the girl is really sweet. It's amazing how you decided to show the invention of the snitch, using Caro and the girl.

Also, the GIRL! WHY DID YOU HAVE TO KILL HER YOU EVIL PERSON WHY WHY WHY. Her being too free to love him, was so heart breaking. It was good in a way, but so sad for him. Cannot handle, okay? :(

Beautiful writing as always, ♥

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #5, by Karou_Marauder Flutter

10th July 2014:
Hiya! This is for the House Cup and also the Review Race in the common room :)

Plot: Snitches! And Snidgets! I've always thought of latter as cute, and you've turned them into respectable and wise creatures. Which they probably are. I also like how you made Bowman into a magical smith, and that's how he was able to make a Snitch. If that's not canon, then it's my new headcanon.

Characterisation: We see Bowman's determination to help Caro - and therefore all Snidgets - and also his longing to see the girl again. What was her name, anyway? She seems very mysterious and otherworldly.

Description: You describe the Snidgets well, and you give a great description of the girl - I feel so sorry for Bowman, never knowing her name. The second person POV works really well here too.

Go Gryffindor!

-Karou, 2014 House Cup Review

 Report Review

Review #6, by MischiefNotQuiteMannaged Flutter

9th July 2014:
I adore this story, and how it explains so beautifully why Bowman Wright would go on to make a golden snitch, and why he could care so much about the Snidget and see their suffering, in a time when most other wizards were unable to see this!

The girl really reminds me of Luna, how she see's the goodness in people and in her ability to befriend animals. Giving Bowman Caro is so touching and just makes her death so much more heartrending.

I enjoyed reading how much their meetings changed Bowman, and how the boy with the difficult relationship with his father, grew as a result of these encounters, and changed how the wizarding world viewed Snidgets forever!

House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Chazzie Flutter

8th July 2014:
Sian, that was amazing. Oh, I'm supposed to say hello first aren't I. Oops. Hi.
I loved your characterisation of Bowman, as I have never read a story in which he is featured. The mystery girl - well in a way I'm glad you didn't specifically name her. Partially because it makes it sound too final, like she has to die, and partially because I don't feel any burning need to find out who she is. Which is unusual for me. You expressed Bowman's feelings so beautifully that I was feeling heartbroken when the snidget was caught, and when he discovered that the girl had died. His reasons behind creating the snitch are infaultable, as is your writing. I seriously loved it, and your descriptions made it seem extremely realistic, very well done.
Lottie

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #8, by Elenia Flutter

8th July 2014:
Hello, dear ^^ I'm here to give you lovely reviews because you are simply amazing and a super reviewer ♥

Oh my, this was such a beautiful little story! It was so sad, but still had so much hope in it. Seriously, I was all tears eyed when I finished.

Bowman Wright sounded familiar when I first read his name, but I couldn't make the connection at first. I think it finally hit me when you mentioned his chest tightening when ever someone caught a Golden Snidget during a game. And then I realized what a clever idea this really was. I could easily imagine something like this happening to Bowman in canon that made him come up with the idea to replace the bird with the Snitch.

Your writing is absolutely beautiful and showed really well all the emotions in it. I can't believe you actually managed to tell this whole story in so few words! You could so easily turn this into a longer story, but it works really well as a one-shot too!

The second person POV works really well with the story too!

Amazing work, lovely (:

-Hanna

Gryffindor - House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #9, by UnluckyStar57 Flutter

7th July 2014:
Argggh, I love you for writing this story! :D

Birds are awesome, and Golden Snidgets are the cutest. The fact that you wove a bit of a love story in there was absolutely priceless. The girl was "too free to love [Bowman] back," and although I kind of shipped them (a LOT), I'm glad that you gave her a sense of independence. She was free, like her bird. :)

It's really beautiful that the guy who invented the Golden Snitch was influenced by someone who showed him how wondrous and magical the little birds actually were. Headcanon accepted!

The tone that you used for this is so shimmery and wonderful--it's like reading a fairy tale, only with more magic and awesomeness. I really enjoyed reading it!

House Cup 2014 Review

~UnluckyStar57

 Report Review

Review #10, by evil little devil Flutter

7th July 2014:
Ooh, I just read through the reviews already posted and discovered your name is Sian. Snap! Me too!

This was a very interesting subject to explore! The name was bugging me the whole way through, I felt like I recognised it but couldn't remember why :P
It's kind of horrifying to think of witches and wizards actually using a snidget for quidditch. The poor things! I love that you made the motivation for him making the snitch not the mysterious girl, but the snidget itself. It makes the message that much more powerful.
This was a really enjoyable read :)

- House Cup 2014 Review.

 Report Review

Review #11, by ohmymerlin Flutter

7th July 2014:
Hey, Sian!

This was so good! I've never really thought about Bowman Wright (when I first saw his name I misread it as Bonnie Wright and then when I re-read it, I was trying to work out how I knew that name and then it came to me :P) but now I refuse to accept anything other than this as canon, hehe!

I am SO CURIOUS as to what her name is! And how she died :'(

It makes me so sad that witches and wizards actually used to use the golden snidget for Quidditch. I know it isn't actually real but any animal cruelty makes me very sad :P

I'm glad he came up with an alternative though! I also liked that Caro was with him the whole time and was his little friend. That was so sweet! :')

This was a great one-shot, Sian! You did a great job of it!

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014

 Report Review

Review #12, by FredWeasleyIsMyKing Flutter

6th July 2014:
Hey Sian!

Once again I'm blown away by your awesomeness. This story is just sweet and lovely and gah. I love it so much! You've turned a simple fact from JK into something so wonderful, it was a pleasure to read!

The unknown girl reminds me a little of Luna, so carefree and in love with nature. I think you did a great job of showing us her character, despite having no name or anything. Bowman's affection for her is lovely and it's so sweet that he makes the Snitch for her and Caro (another amazing addition)

This was an amazing entry Sian, honestly! Your writing is beautiful and so easy to read.

Lauren :)
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #13, by patronus_charm Flutter

6th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

Ok, I read this when this was posted so Iím so glad that I can actually review it as it was such a cool story, Sian! :D

I really loved the spin on this and how you made Bowman Wright make the Snitch because of that girl, again, it was something I didnít see coming. I really liked how Bowman, the girl and the bird, Caro, all seemed mutually interested in one another when they all met up. It sounds so strange but it was interesting to see that it wasnít only Bowmanís attraction to the girl which kept him going but the wonder about the Snitch too.

Wah, when she died I was a bundle of feels all over again as it really did seem to crush Bowman because their relationship was so innocent but so pure too and they really seemed to like one another, so I could see how the Snitch came from that and I really liked it. First, there was the lovely bit of Caro helping Bowman recover over the girl then Bowman could help his own species recover from potential extinction with his skills and it was just so lovely how everything matched up and joined together in this story.

Iím sorry I keep on saying lovely, but this story really was that, and a really interesting and different read!

-Kiana


(ah, I just noticed the word count thing, that was sooo cool! :D)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login