Reading Reviews for Event Three - Lament
  
16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by RedHairGinny A Giant and a Phoenix

22nd September 2014:
This is absolutely lovely. It made me feel a whole range of emotions. It was melancholic with just a touch of hope, but that much was enough to swell and blossom into a heart of emotions at the end.
I think you also did a very good job portraying the giant and the phoenix! It's a peculiar friendship, but you certainly did it credit!!
Now excuse me, gotta go read the rest of your amazing stories!

Author's Response: Ahhh, thank you so much! I'm really glad you liked it, as I was a little unsure about how I portrayed two essentially non-human beings, and I'm so glad that you think I did a good job, it means a lot to me! It is a peculiar friendship, isn't it? That's why I love challenges, I would never have thought to write this without the House Cup prompt.
Aw, thank you! I hope you enjoy!


 Report Review

Review #2, by Pretense Of Perfection A Giant and a Phoenix

12th July 2014:
Wow, i can only imagine how hard it was to write from Gwarp's POV, but you really managed to do him some serious justice here. You turned a creature of "limited intelligence" into a person that was easy to relate to, and who's feelings and emotions I enjoyed hearing about. His simple, childlike wonder was sweet. I loved his interactions with Fawkes, and I love that Fawkes healed him, essentially showing Gwarp that there is more to life than being bullied and being fearful all the time. The understanding between them was beautiful, and I think you did a wonderful job showing their friendship. The spelling and grammar were perfect, and I really enjyoed how quickly this one-shot moved along.

--house cup 2014 review-
gryffindor

Author's Response: Hahaha, it was definitely something different! I'm so happy that you think I did him justice, I wasn't sure about his intelligence or feelings but hearing/seeing you say/type that I did a good job is so reassuring. ♥ I'm really glad that you could relate to him and enjoy reading about him at the same time. The relationship/meeting between him and Fawkes was something which just sort of happened (I meant it to be Hagrid, or a random student when I started out, haha!) but I'm really glad that you liked it! Thanks so much for the lovely review, Fae. ♥

 Report Review

Review #3, by adluvshp A Giant and a Phoenix

12th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review.

This was surely a very interesting piece. The idea of Fawkes and Grawp being friends is something I never thought of, but now that you've written it, it looks so believable. I loved how you wrote Grawp's thoughts. I'd assume a Giant to be more 'stupid' but I think that is a stereotypical assumption, purely based on the fact that they can't speak human English. Their thoughts can be sharp and sensible and you showed that well. It was also kind of sad that poor Grawp was bullied and hurt, but I'm glad he met Fawkes and it helped him. The whole interaction between the two of them was really nice and sweet.

The descriptions were well-written and I quite liked reading this. It made me smile, and had a bittersweet kind of feel to it. It was surely a unique concept for the House Cup prompt, and you managed to justify it very well with your lovely writing. Good job!

Cheers,
AD
(AditiDraco95)

Author's Response: Hello there Deets! :D

I'm glad you think so! Honestly, I had this nasty feeling that I was grabbing at straws when I came up with the idea for this piece, but I didn't have any other ideas for magical creatures so it ended up like this. ;) I'm really glad that you think it's believable, and that I captured Grawp's thoughts well, I was definitely worried about that aspect of the writing, especially as he seems to come across as pretty dim in the actual series. Yes, I think Hagrid mentioned that Grawp was a runt and he got bullied and honestly, bullying is never nice, even if you're a giant. Yay, I'm happy that you liked the interaction between the two of them!

I'm glad you enjoyed this piece, and yay for making you smile because smiles are good. :D To be honest at the time I felt like this was just something I came up with because I was desperate, haha, so thank you so much for your lovely words, it means a lot to me!

Thank you for the amazing review, Deets! ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by Beeezie A Giant and a Phoenix

12th July 2014:
Oh, this was a really lovely look at Grawp! I don't think I've ever read a fic about him before, and I really think you captured him perfectly.

One of my favorite things about this story was the way I felt like you captured Grawp's thoughts - his frame of mind. He was clearly a pretty simple creature, like most giants, and you did an amazing job at portraying that. It was obvious in his stilted, awkward attempt to talk to the bird, and in his memories of all of his prior experiences with birds, and in his ability to distinguish between past birds and this one, even if he couldn't really articulate why this bird is different and beautiful and something that he wants to keep around.

I also loved the idea of Fawkes singling Grawp out to heal, out of everyone hurt in the battle. I think it's because in Grawp, Fawkes saw a little bit of a kindred spirit - some secluded and reclusive and not well-understand.

This was beautiful.

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Hey there Branwen! :D Yes, there are a sad lack of Grawp fics on the archive. :P

Oh, I'm so glad that you think I captured him well because I was nervous that he would come across as *too* smart for the way he was portrayed in the books, if you know what I mean. He is pretty simple, but at the same time he's definitely sentient, and he had thoughts and feelings, so all I could do was write and hope that I got it down okay. :P

I'm glad that you liked it! I was hoping that the interaction would go down alright and it would be realistic/sweet, and yes, you definitely have it spot on there with Fawkes, I think.

Thank you so much for the lovely review, Branwen! ♥


 Report Review

Review #5, by nott theodore A Giant and a Phoenix

11th July 2014:
Hi Emily!

This was a lovely story! I'm trying to get through as many of the house cup stories that I can right now and I really enjoyed reading this - it was interesting to look at Fawkes the phoenix from the perspective of another magical creature, Grawp. I don't think I've read any other stories about giants for this task so I think it was a great choice!

I liked the second person point of view in this story, and your writing style has improved and grown so much recently. The description was lovely and I loved the way that you chose to write the relationship - the friendship, of sorts - that grew between Grawp and Fawkes. It was unusual but really sweet! I loved the way you described Grawp's actions and the fact he tried to say hello to Fawkes, then Fawkes returns that by helping him and healing him, and the realisation at the end that Fawkes is different to the other birds in the forest is really cute!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hey there Sian!

I'm so glad you think so! You are an absolute reviewing ninja and I wish I had your reviewing skills because you're amazing. Yeah, there really aren't a lot of fics about giants on the archives, this is an area where authors are sadly lacking. ;) I'm glad you liked it!

Yes, thank you! I really do want to develop and grow as a writer and I'm never sure about how much I've actually achieved that, haha! It was definitely unusual to say the least, but I'm really glad that you enjoyed it and that you liked the kind of odd friendship that grew between the two magical creatures! I think Grawp is intelligent, and he has thoughts and fears and realisations of his own, and I'm really glad that you like this fic!

Thank you for the lovely review, Sian! ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by kenpo A Giant and a Phoenix

8th July 2014:
Oh my goodness. This was such a fantastic idea!!! At first, I had no idea who was narrating, but when I realised who it was... man, I was just totally in awe of your brilliance. I love that there's more to him than we see in the books! He understands the bullying and the pain, and he appreciates affection from other species. All off this is entirely realistic, though. I think what struck me the most was that he views his blood as precious - he values his own life very highly.

You said that you think Grawp and Fawkes is an odd choice, and it totally is but I love it. You wrote is so beautifully, with the gorgeous descriptions and the eventual kinship that Grawp feels... I just loved this one-shot so much. I never would've thought to do anything like this. Thank you for being so much more creative than me so that this story exists.

-Georgia

-House Cup 2014 Review-

 Report Review

Review #7, by randomwriter A Giant and a Phoenix

8th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review: Educational Decree Number Four

Hi Emily :) I don't believe I've ever read anything of yours before, or if I have, I don't remember. It's quite a shame though, that I haven't followed your stories because you're written this so beautifully. I can tell that you're a great writer!

This interaction was definitely between a very off pair of magical creatures, as you mentioned. Fawkes, a beautiful phoenix, loved and praised by several. Grawp, a giant,a creature that is feared and despised; a creature belonging to a species that people believed, allied with Voldemort. The contrast just struck me and made me realise how in spite of their differences, they still managed to bring each other comfort. Such gentle and caring things :)

You descriptions did them both justice. I loved your interpretation of them both and I think that your unique story idea has lent itself well to an interaction between them. The way you've written about Fawkes, I could just picture him. So, so beautiful!

Well, done Emily. I love your take on the prompt. It's really nice to see that even in times of darkness and decay, when the sad lament of the phoenix echoes, even then, these two found a moment of peace and comfort in each others' company! Great read :)

Adi

 Report Review

Review #8, by HeyMrsPotter A Giant and a Phoenix

8th July 2014:
Hi Emily!

This was such a BEAUTIFUL story! I absolutely LOVE the idea that you've written about a giant AND a phoenix, and what a wonderful job you did of writing from Grawp's perspective. I love the line
"Helluh," you attempt as Hagger has taught you painstakingly You make Grawp so cute for a giant :p

The way you've described Fawkes really does the beautiful bird justice. Every word of his appearence and his flight is graceful and magical, just like him. I just adore how gentle Grawp was with him too, and I can picture that mement where Fawkes puts his head in Grawps hand.

Lovely, lovely, lovely story, Emily!

Dee -House Cup 2014 revie Educational Decree #4

 Report Review

Review #9, by Veritaserum27 A Giant and a Phoenix

8th July 2014:
Hi Emily,

I am working through all of the Event 3 entries. You did an amazing job with this one! How clever to write from Grawp's perspective - and how challenging as well. I think you handled it beautifully. Grawp is a fairly simple creature and seems to understand only basic concepts. It was beautiful how you showed that even he was touched by the phoenix's song. He knew that something grave had happened within the castle. Brilliant work tying in Grawp's injury to the healing tears of the phoenix. I did not see that coming! I also really liked how he relates to his experiences with other animals - which were mostly painful experiences to say the least. Great job! I loved reading this!

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #10, by maskedmuggle A Giant and a Phoenix

8th July 2014:
Hey!

I really loved this, because you really managed to capture how special and magical a phoenix like Fawkes is, and I definitely think you did it justice with its interaction with Grawp. These two characters are definitely quite odd/unusual, but I absolutely loved the way you wrote this - it all made sense and was so believable. I thought your characterisation of Grawp was so, so great - it felt really realistic and really gave me an interesting insight into his mind. His perspective is just so fascinating to read about, such as comparing what he thought of most birds with his realisation that Fawkes was completely different to the other birds. I also loved the moment where Fawkes cries to heal Grawp's wounds, as that really embodies the magic of the phoenix for me. Really nice writing, and I really enjoyed this :)

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #11, by MischiefNotQuiteMannaged A Giant and a Phoenix

8th July 2014:
This was beautiful!

Reading this I felt the pain Grawp was in; how much he loves and admires "Hagger"; his guilt at disturbing the birds when he uprooted trees; and how much being bullied by the bigger giants upset and affected him.

I think you did a brilliant job of Fawkes Lament. The Phoenix song accentuated all of Grawp's emotions perfectly.

House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #12, by UnluckyStar57 A Giant and a Phoenix

7th July 2014:
Oh no, this was so beautiful! I think I might cry now...

Really, I loved seeing an interaction between Grawp and Fawkes. That's not something that anyone would expect, and you pulled it off really well. Also, you gave Grawp way more personality than I usually imagine him to possess, which is great. He has more feeling and depth than in the books, when he was just a silly sort of mountain that Harry and Hermione were intimidated by.

And it was so sad, too, because Fawkes is doing his circuit of the grounds after Dumbledore's death. Grawp doesn't know that, but the fact that he sensed the sadness in Fawkes' cry and the fact that you put that sort of thing into words is amazing.

This is perfect. It made me smile. It made me want to cry. I loved it. :)

House Cup 2014 Review

~Mallory

 Report Review

Review #13, by evil little devil A Giant and a Phoenix

7th July 2014:
You're right, this is a very odd interaction - I never would have thought of it. It was very interesting to read about!
Poor Grawpy, he didn't have a particularly easy time of it, did he?
I think writing about a connection between him and Fawkes is really great. They're two characters I would never picture putting together, but it works. It's a really interesting connection between two creatures that can't really communicate that well with one another, but feel connected anyway. I thought that it was really sweet of Fawkes to heal Grawp.
This was a cute little one-shot, and a delight to read!

- House Cup 2014 Review.

 Report Review

Review #14, by ohmymerlin A Giant and a Phoenix

7th July 2014:
Heya, Emily!

When I first started reading this and saw 'Hagger', I was so confused because I thought, 'Is this Grawp's point of view?' because I have never ever seen a story from Grawp's perspective. This is definitely a first!

I think you wrote him very well though! I feel like his internal dialogue was a bit /too/ smart but I still enjoyed it!

I loved seeing him interact with Fawkes. He was so gentle and careful with him, it was so sweet to see! And even Fawkes liked Grawp, how cute?!

So yeah, I really liked this one-shot, Emily! You wrote it very well! ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014

 Report Review

Review #15, by patronus_charm A Giant and a Phoenix

23rd June 2014:
Hi Emily, Iím going on a blitz of all the posted Claw stories and Iím at yours now :D

Wow, this was so god Emilly (the y bit was unnecessary but I needed to keep with the pattern :P), I honestly think this is your best piece yet as it was just amazing how you managed to sustain Grawpís narration throughout without any flaws because that is a massive feat. I really loved the second person POV and thought it went really well with Grawp, and added another layer to him and was generally just really good. Also, his narration was smooth and flowed throughout showing you really got and understood Grawp.

I loved the simplicity of his thoughts with how only memories of pain and love were present. The former really got to me as he thought about the people who were mean to him but the latter was actually quite cute when he thought of Hagrid and how much he meant to him and I got all sorts of feels. I also liked how much his thoughts focused on nature which was really fitting given how much time he spent in it.

Grawp and Fawkes seemed to go so well together even though they seem kinda random when you place their names together. Aw, Fawkes continues to be the cutest phoenix in the world with the way he went and saved Grawp and I just have really lovely images of him going round and saving everyone else now too.

This one-shot was really lovely, Emily!

-Kiana

 Report Review

Review #16, by Ravenclaw333 A Giant and a Phoenix

23rd June 2014:
AHH EMILY THIS IS AMAZING

No but really, you've done an incredible job capturing Grawp's POV here - I've never given him much thought before, but you've given him a voice, thoughts, feelings and fears that are so incredibly real, building and expanding on his characterisation in the books - he's so innocent and childlike, and the details you've added about him being bullied are made more poignant by that. This is just a really, really beautiful piece (and I'm sorry for any incoherence but it's nearly 4am and this kind of blew me away, so.) Awesome, awesome work - and GO RAVENCLAW!

Author's Response: GAH LISA THANK YOU SO MUCH

I'm so glad! I was super worried about Grawp, to be honest, and I'm super happy that you think I've managed to develop his character while staying close to the books. Hearing/seeing that you feel his thoughts and fears were real is so good to hear, and I really do think that being bullied would affect everyone no matter what species they were. And no, this was such a lovely review to receive, don't apologise for anything!

Thanks for such an amazing review Lisa, and celsa sub conveniant aquila sapientes mentes! (is it bad that I feel proud for being able to recite that from memory? Yes, yes it is. :P) RAVENCLAW!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login