Reading Reviews for Wake up, Rose.
  
50 Reviews Found

Review #1, by pointless_proclamations The Outsiders

13th January 2015:
JOSEPH!

THIS CHAPTER WAS SO ADORABLE AND AWESOME AND HILARIOUS AND I LOVE IT!!

Again, you've explored their brother-sister dynamic and it's remarkably sweet. It's Rose's turn to play angry, protective, super supportive sibling--it's all very endearing.

Okay, I completely understand why she refuses to talk to Scorpius, but I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY SHE DOESN'T TALK TO HIM ALREADY! Seriously, what happened that night, Joseph? I propose an intensely uncomfortable conversation because it feels absolutely necessary, but I suppose you've already thought about that, haven't you?

And that flashback! It did provide loads of clarity and I really like that changed perspectives. Your explanation of the many situational variables was great! It's a perfect example of a domino effect. They wouldn't hate each other, if he hadn't called her Red, which wouldn't have happened, if he wasn't fascinated by her hair and if he was nervous, which wouldn't have happened if Draco didn't say what he did, but that wouldn't have happened if the Malfoys weren't Death Eaters and also if she didn't have that bias based on what Ron's said, which wouldn't have happened if Draco wasn't a bully which wouldn't have happened if his parents raised him a bit better. . . anyway, it's Voldemort's fault, right?

'Im most interested in the only member of the trio that possesses an inside voice.' BAHAHA! I love that line. She would look the safest human being to converse with for an introvert like him.

KEEP WRITING, DARN IT!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Maelody The Outsiders

12th January 2015:
Looks like I didn't have to push after all! Who would have thought the day that I find this story is the day you enlighten us with a chapter four! YAY!

Anyway, I do like this chapter! It comes off heavy with Hugo's coming out, but out of all the characters that it could be, that makes sense with him. I don't know why, if I were to go off canon in my head, it would be Hugo that comes out as gay. It's just doubly adorable that he's seeing the Scamander boy. :3

I love how Rose was so accepting from the get-go, and promises to kill the boys that are making fun of him. Her approach to the three boys couldn't have been done better, either. It's what I would have done for my brother.

As for the bit in Scorpius' view, I sort of feel bad for him. He didn't mean anything by it, and I think even she sort of knew it. She just happened to guess who he was. But he took that out of the wrong context and continued to open his big mouth until he made all matters worse. I'd like to see a chapter like this in the same scene under Rose's view. I'm sure she had reason to be upset in the first place. Maybe Albus was already picking on her hair. As for the girl with strange curly hair that was blonde/red, was that supposed to be Victoire? I would assume so since Dom is in the same year and wouldn't know if they would love Hogwart or not.

Either way, I'm just so super happy chapter four came so soon for me! Now I can just threaten.err, ask you nicely to post a chapter five at a decent time! ;)

Thanks for the update! It was quite delightful!

~Mae

 Report Review

Review #3, by Crumple-Horned Snorkack The Outsiders

12th January 2015:
Greetings from the elusive Crumple-Horned Snorkack!

I really like the first scene when Hugo comes out to Rose and it literally changes nothing. (I can sympathise, as my first time coming out of my forested and secluded hiding place was scary, but it was okay because there were no wizards or witches around to document my existence anyway.) I loved how Rose phrased it like she had a really serious question and then it was just to tease him about writing poetry, like any older sister haha. And it makes me so glad that she's so supportive :) Hugo's homophobic roommates make me sad though. I hope they'll grow up and realise that 'normal' isn't really a thing. People are people.

I like the way you've kind of juxtaposed Hugo's prejudiced roommates with Rose's very different form of prejudice against Scorpius. Hugo and Scorpius are dealing with similar things in the way that people judge them.

Ooh, I love how you've written Draco as a father, and that he says Scorpius should never apologise for his family's behaviour in the war because it isn't his fault. It's obvious how much regret Draco has just because of how it hurts his son all these years later. Aw.

Scorpius likes Rose at first because she has an inside voice - that made my day. I don't think Rose meant 'oh, you're Scorpius Malfoy' in a bad way, just a statement, so really their whole dislike of each other is based on misunderstandings. This is similar to why the Loch Ness Monster and I were on bad terms for a while, but we got past our differences and now we're good friends. I wish the same for Rose and Scorpius.

An excellent chapter, and now I'm off for tea with Nessie!

 Report Review

Review #4, by toomanycurls The Outsiders

12th January 2015:
I had quite the vested interest in this when I saw you had it in the queue. I am so happy with this chapter.

I loved Hugo's conversation with Rose. With all the sharp pokes you've been giving me as a reader, I'm glad that this did not turn into one. I would have died. Then I would have resurrected myself and come after you. At least Rose's reaction wasn't a sharp poke. I love that she had a moment of wha- with Lysander but started to tease him about writing poems and usual sibling stuff. And Hugo defining volatile made me laugh (it's hard to sneak a review in at work when I'm laughing at my computer screen). Okay, okay, I'm going to pay a visit to these Gryffindors. Actually, I'm sending Rose as my agent. Whatever she does wtih this, I approve.


My one bit of frustration is that Rose leaned on her male relatives as enforcers of her threats. It would have put me over the moon to have her threaten them with her own power.

I like that you're pointing out that Scorpius may also be a victim after the love potion incident. I'm pretty sure he thought Rose eager for what they did and was very taken aback by the fact that she wasn't making her own choices that night.

Ooh, I loved your flashback of Rose and Scorpius meeting on the train. I could see Draco giving that advice to Scorpius. That's definitely not a start to a very nice relationship.

love this chapter
-rose

Author's Response: Wow, Rose thanks so much for stopping by and reviewing!!

I don't think I could have even possibly made Rose's reaction a sharp poke. I'm pretty sure I would have sent myself hate mail if I ever did something like that. I'm pretty sure that as any scene featuring Hugo goes on, the probability of serious topics turning into jokes approaches 1.

It's interesting that you picked up on Rose using her male cousins as a threat because I kind of did that on purpose. Rose has a bit of a way to go before she reaches that point where she's like 'I'm POWERFUL. I'm just as good as them.' And secretly there is a scene where we get to see her power in action later in the story but for now she isn't aware of the fact that she's kind of awesome

So yeah I'm a little bit frustrated too but I promise Rose reaches her full potential :)

I like to play with the perception of Scorpius a lot in this story through a super unreliable narrator because I'm pretty sure I've never written a character as rotten through and through as Rose thinks Scorpius is :P

Their meeting definitely got off on the wrong foot. I'm glad you liked my advice from Draco I was slightly worried to write him in that scene from the point of view of a child. So glad you liked the chapter, thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #5, by Maelody The Art of Getting By

12th January 2015:
It's OK! I love Freddie Highmore, too!

OK, so I've decided. This is my favorite chapter by far and if I have to bother you over in the pit and by PM over at the forums to get you to update a chapter four, I will do it :p.

I like the humor that was lined up in this one. It seemed to flow a lot better and I actually laughed out loud at a few of them!

I'm glad to see that Rose is rightfully mad at her cousins. It also make sense that they don't get what they did is totally wrong, as most wrong people don't. By the way, one of the lines that cracked me up the most is "Most decidedly not in Sweden."

So Professor Spinnet actually kind of annoyed me with her question after class. She didn't really ask if it was due to drinking (though she assumed because of the whole first weekend back thing) but she also assumed it was a 'problem'. Unless Rose is known to get drunk every weekend, or even every day, I wouldn't consider going to one party and getting drunk a 'problem'. That's rather annoying. I'm surprised Rose was able to handle it so well.

My favorite scene was when he went to Hugo to confide in him though. I love the relationship between those two, as I've always imagined it to be more intimate than that of Lily, Albus and James. Even if they haven't been super close the last few years, there's still a bond that can't be broken. I love that. It's just like me and my own little brother.

OK, well hopefully I haven't annoyed you too much with reviewing all of your lovely stories! They've just been such a treat and I couldn't stop after just one because, well, simply put, you're amazing! :) I love your stories, and I especially love this one since it is a WIP. Now you HAVE to update because I'm asking oh so nicely, right? PLEASE! :3

Haha, alright. Enough doting. I've got to go over to the pit and bug you now :p.

Excellent job as always! Keep up the good work!

~Mae

 Report Review

Review #6, by Maelody It's Kind of a Funny Story.

12th January 2015:
Oooh! Everything makes sense about Albus now! See, I thought maybe he was embarrassed and wanted to leave the party so he gave his drink away. Sneaky little bugger! He should be ashamed of himself, though! I mean, even if he didn't know that would poison her, that's sort of, well, you know...

Anyway! I love her dorm mates! They are by far some of the most realistic gaggle of girls in a dormitory. Happy is my favorite, with her little quip of "You guys are my new favorite couple!"

It's at least a good thing that Rose figured out on her own that she and Scorpius slept with one another the night before instead of denying it. Though I'd think she'd feel a little more violated. Or even more angry with Scorpius for taking the advantage point of alcohol. Then again, maybe that is yet to come.

So far, I'm liking the looks of this story. I'm excited to read more! Like I said, I hope to hear that a chapter four is in the works because I don't like having to bug people on the forums when I get into a story :p.

~Mae

 Report Review

Review #7, by Maelody Wake up.

12th January 2015:
Hey there! So I decided to check out the WIP, too, so you best get to work on a chapter four soon since I noticed it hasn't been updated since November! ;)

Anyway, I think this is a cute beginning of a Scorpius/Rose story. If that's what it is going to be, that is. I'll admit it all seemed to come on a bit fast once she got drunk, but I also see it all going back downhill once they wake up and realize what has been done.

I get this strange feeling that, by chance, Albus might like Scorpius. So I hope this doesn't wedge Rose from her favorite cousin! Though there would be no drama if it didn't (assuming I'm correct). That, or it'll be cool to know that after Hogwarts in this story is when Albus finds Destiny! Ooh, another Easter egg! ;)

So far I actually think I like the relationship between Dom and Rose the most. That might be because Albus hasn't really stuck around much, but Dom seems to have that perfect relationship with her. They both get mad at one another, but they're family so they quickly get over it just to get mad at one another again.

I also like how swiftly you were able to describe all of the (most of the) next gen characters. Not only did you get their approximate age with their years, but you got their most important traits down. I admire anyone who can introduce so many characters without having the confusion of 'who is who and who is where'.

I like what I've seen so far, and I love Scorpius/Rose stories. I can't wait to see how this one unfolds! It seems like a pretty different writing style compared to the other stories I've read from you, so I'm quite excited!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Ravenclaw333 The Art of Getting By

11th January 2015:
and so concludes the thrilling saga of "how long will it take lisa to complete a three-chapter review swap"

this is a really, really good chapter where your treatment of the whole issue shines. rose's reaction to everything seems more realistic than the last chapter now that her feelings of betrayal have come to the fore - her relief even in the first line that she's waking up in her own bed, her nervousness in telling hugo what happened, her wondering why albus and dominique don't understand why she's so upset with them. i'm really interested to see where you're planning on taking this and the continued fallout their actions have had - not only on rose herself but the implications for the rest of the family as well.

you're continuing to nail the teenage perspectives and the realities of high school - having rose's head of house concerned about her drinking was a nice touch, because of course the teachers aren't going to be turning a blind eye to binge drinking among teenagers.

let me know when you update this!

Author's Response: i am so excited to actually show how all of this affects the family at large. that's the chapter i'm currently struggling with right now and that means it'll be up any time between next week and four months from now tbh. but yeah i really had things sink in for her in this chapter more than the last.

i love writing teens and all of this high school-esque stuff because i think it's just so weird and kind of backwards. like the way people acted back then is not even how real people ACT. anyway thank you so much lisa you're lovely as always


 Report Review

Review #9, by Ravenclaw333 It's Kind of a Funny Story.

9th January 2015:
I really need to work on my turnaround time for review swaps. upwards of 24 hours is probably too long

this chapter is definitely more 'filler' than the last one (i originally thought the story itself was only three chapters long but now i know you're continuing with it that makes more sense)

i'm not sure whether this is meant to be a statement or just an accurate reflection of teenage girls (especially when they decide a couple "should" be together) but i found her dormmates' reactions to the love potion issue quite interesting, and how unconcerned they seemed about it (there's definitely a rant about consent and lack of teaching about consent to be found somewhere there)

Your real strength is with Rose's internal monologues, i've found - especially this one: "Marching in here, planning to lie right to my face about nearly poisoning me to death, and then trying to paint outright manipulation as good intentions; all within the same breath... She'll probably try to make this out to be all my fault somehow. Just something else I've done wrong. Some kind of social blunder or something, Im sure of it." I feel that in my soul and you've done that really well. I also like the comment about how none of the stress she's felt at Hogwarts has been in her dorm room - it's a good piece of scene-setting and characterisation.

one thing i would suggest is to watch the verbs you use when it comes to dialogue - i'm not sure if you've heard the phrase "said is dead" but if you have, said is not dead. said is very alive and very underappreciated. you want the focus to be on the dialogue, and using a different verb every time can be distracting. if it's clear who's speaking, the dialogue can also stand alone - you don't always need a verb.

i have to say though, overall your ability to write teenagers, and to write them accurately, is awesome - and i know you appreciate how important that is to get right. every piece of dialogue is spot on for the situation and context, good job!

Author's Response: Oh no, don't worry about it at all. I am most likely even slower so turnaround time is a nonissue, trust me.

Oh no, I could never tell the story I'm trying to tell without only three chapters. I just take so long between chapters that I wanted fresh perspectives on all of this.

Her dormmates are like half statement half realism. Because, like, everyone can't be super informed about consent and where that line is if this is meant to be ANYTHING like real life. It's almost satirical how totally blase they seem to feel about everything, but I decided not to point towards it to obviously.

Thank you so much about the monologues because that is my favorite part of writing this story. Her voice is super fun to slip into and kind of writes itself. So glad you think it's a strong point!

Also--about the verbs. I know this story has the stuffiest dialogue tags in the world lol. That's something that I only really learned about after this story was written tbh. I really should go back and clean it up. But yeah, my newer stories aren't abusing verbs nearly as much as this one :P

So stoked on you complimenting my ability to write realistic teenagers and actually writing dialogue that sounds like a teenager would say it. In a list of compliments this story could receive, that is up there.

Thank you so much for this! I'm going to get onto your second review so soon. Right after I get this chapter into the queue I promise ♥


 Report Review

Review #10, by Ravenclaw333 Wake up.

8th January 2015:
Oh my god you didn't.

I'm just reading away like "Sweet love me some Hogwarts fun times and banter" and then whoa. I can see what you mean by getting up on your soapbox about feminist issues and I'm really curious as to how you're going to handle the aftermath, but you've done a really good job with this first chapter and that final sentence really packs a punch - it changes the meaning of everything that happens in the last scene completely. You do a really good job with the drunk/out of it stream of consciousness, and the whole feel of that last scene - the "everything's fine and wonderful until suddenly it's not" - is really well done. So, brilliant start and I'm really looking forward to seeing where you take this.

Author's Response: okay Lisa it's been exactly a month since we did this swap and idk where the time went?? we're both aware that i'm trash so there's no need to even acknowledge that.

'sweet love me some Hogwarts fun times and banter' has been my unofficial catchphrase about every story that includes any since this review. this chapter has been through like a thousand or so edits so i'm really glad that it finally kind of says what i want it to. this story wasn't going in this direction at first but now it's totally about consent. i have no idea what it was about before but i can only assume it was garbage. thank you so much for this review you're the best


 Report Review

Review #11, by marauderfan The Art of Getting By

8th January 2015:
Sorry about all the yells last chapter. I am still angry at Albus though.

!! Is Hugo listening to Radiohead? :D Nice choice Hugo.

I'm glad Hugo is seeing the situation as it is. I could see him being the sort of guy who's really aware and involved and somewhat of a feminist, given that his mother is Hermione. I really love the way you wrote Hugo, how he's so caring and looks out for his sister, though has this outward display of moody teenager blasting Radiohead on the wireless to wake the whole dorm :p

Hopefully, they feel guilty enough to have changed their identities and moved to Sweden by now. -- ahaha. I love how even with a serious topic like the one you're dealing with in this story, there is still this lovely humour.

Well, Rose is certainly an accomplished spell caster, that's impressive nonverbal magic! I appreciate Professor Spinnet's concern but I don't think she has quite the right idea, she doesn't know about the love potion. Rose should tell her the truth! But then, she probably doesn't want to cast the blame on her own family members. It's a tough situation for her. :-/

Aw, I think the idea of a secret circle is kind of cute. :p I'm glad Rose's friends are at least upset about Al and Dom being the ones that gave Rose the love potion. They seem a bit shallow and frilly to me, but I'm hoping that throughout this whole experience/this story they'll become more aware and more thoughtful. I see lots of potential for character growth there. ;)

This is a really great story so far and I love how you're taking on this idea. Also I must mention you do really well at writing teenage girls! I'll definitely be checking back to see when you've got the next chapter up, thanks for the swap!

 Report Review

Review #12, by marauderfan It's Kind of a Funny Story.

8th January 2015:
After the first half of this chapter, I'm more on Scorpius' side than Rose's. I think he genuinely feels bad about what happened and I saw him trying to apologise and make amends with her, but she didn't want to hear it yet as she's still too angry. In the last chapter I had thought Scorpius was under the effects of a love potion too, given what he said - but he wasn't, which must have made it really horrible for him when he realised what had happened and that there was really no consent in the situation.

It's an interesting perspective though, having the actual character be so different from the narrator's perspective of them. Of course, it's still kind of hard to tell with Scorpius!

HOW IS ALBUS STILL TRYING TO DEFEND HIMSELF

HE DIDN'T EVEN SAY HE WAS SORRY

GRR

(sorry for capslock but I'm angry at Al. And Dom. How could they think it's okay to do that to Rose?)

I'm disappointed by Rose's friends' reaction too. Especially once she reveals the bit about the love potion and they still think it's romantic. Ugh. I don't like it. But I DO like the statements you're making about society with this whole situation, as it's definitely something that should be addressed.

The reason she hates him is because he made a joke about her hair in first year?! I mean, it's kind of hilarious that one thing could have produced so many misunderstandings that result in them hating each other. And while I want Rose and Scorpius to give up their old rivalry, I don't want Rose's roommates to be right :p

 Report Review

Review #13, by toomanycurls The Art of Getting By

8th January 2015:
Finally - Hugo at least acts how I would expect someone to with the news of Rose being slipped a love potion. I really love Hugo right now with his anger and outrage. Again, finally, someone acting with some sense. I also really love how close Hugo and rose are - he clearly knows his sister quite well by his knowing that Scorpius would be the worst for her. Okay, maybe I was wrong about them being close at that point in their life but I'm glad they had been close (and that he was there for her in his way).

I have a ridiculous level of hate for Albus in this. There's no way to just make that better. There are certain lines that can't be uncrossed. Just so you know, It's really a sign of your excellent story that I'm so angry with him as I adore Albus in my own and other stories.

Wait, wait, wait, why does she let Alicia think that it was just a hangover? I'm giving Rose a look and it's not a happy one.

Rose's friends fail to impress me. Shouting about a secret circle? Okay, I do forget they're 15. Still. Alright, at least they reacted right to news that it was her family that slipped her the potion.

I love the title and how you're handling such a difficult subject. Please let me know when you update - this story is incredible and poignant.

 Report Review

Review #14, by toomanycurls It's Kind of a Funny Story.

8th January 2015:
So, impressions:

I think Scorpius is messing with her and I doubt his sincerity.

I am very angry at Albus and Dom - how dare they drug their cousin and inhibit her ability to consent.

I feel as if you're purposefully presenting a very skewed idea of consent with Rose's friends. I guess I think part of the point of this, so far, is overtly looking to point out some widespread misconceptions about intimacy with young women (and men).

The beginning of the chapter is brilliant. I love that you don't spell out what happened but it's clear (at least by his words) that Scorpius didn't play a part in giving Rose a love potion. I have a very clear mental image of him having quite an ordeal, after their ordeal, where he realized that something was wrong iwth her and had to get her to the hospital wing. Even if he had thought their interaction consentual, afterwards it must have been quite a shock to realize it wasn't.

I am annoyed by Rose's friends who romanticize the whole thing, even after hearing about the love potion.

so, I'm excited to see what happens next!

-Rose

 Report Review

Review #15, by marauderfan Wake up.

8th January 2015:
wooo, new story! This is totally different to the other stories of yours that I've read so far. It's really neat how you manage to write in such a variety of genres.

Even though it's a little bit cliche I always love it when Al is in Slytherin :D That house needs some love, especially after the war.

I love the juxtaposition of Rose seeing Hogwarts, the place where they all grow up... and then James handing out Ton-Tongue Toffees, because he hasn't grown up :p

Roxanne being an introvert, I haven't seen that before and it's great! :D

Gah, why is everyone hinting that Rose needs to find a guy? Maybe she likes being independent, she's happy who she is. Or maybe she likes girls. (can't assume anything! :P ) Either way it'd be so annoying to have her family constantly bothering her about it.

I'm not really sure what to make of Scorpius though. Since the story is from Rose's POV I expect I'm seeing him through a highly distorted lens, as everyone else at Hogwarts seems to really like him. I'm really interested in finding out more about him.

That escalated quickly! I enjoyed drunk-Rose's thoughts about making new friends and/or helping people haha. But then O_O Was there a love potion in her drink? (THE DRINK THAT AL GAVE HER?!) Or is she just really bad at handling her Firewhisky? Ah! Reading on.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Cannons The Art of Getting By

22nd November 2014:
All caught up now Joey! Eagerly awaiting the next chapter as well. ;)

So yeah, three chapters in and I don't hate this story. Sometimes I find first person stories too annoying, as in the character is having a conversation with the reader, but yours defiantly isn't like that at all.

You still get the humour across but its done naturally and subtly. For instance the shower washing away some of the stress. I like things like that.

You've written Hugo so well. I really do like him, very protective and rather like Ron in some ways. I'm rather hoping he decides to invite Albus for a bout of 'muggle duelling' :P

The more I read the more I feel like Dominique is not someone I would want to be friends with, she seem like such a manipulative little...

I'm really hoping this was just some stupid, drunken idea to spike Rose's drink because otherwise it would be so brutal for her. I really hope they all sort it out eventually though. :P

Oooo the silent treatment! Love it. I feel sorry for Albus now though weirdly, now I am hoping he was just Dominique's puppet in this whole charade.

Rose can cast some powerful spells? What a surprise :P Seriously though, that was fun to read as was Spinnet's comments. Is that Alicia btw or am I completely off the mark?

This was comedy gold -
Ill be next. One time I went on a blind date and it turned out the guy was my cousin, says Happy. - honestly I laughed at that and Demi has a crush on Hugo. :P

I feel like with that ending this story is going to really start 'heating up', I have no idea how you are going to approach the elephant in the room but I know it is going to be awesome!

This is a great read so far!

Fin

Author's Response: Hey Fin, another saga of Very Late Review Responses starting now.

You know the doubts I have about this story, so it's reassuring that you like it. I prefer to insert a bit of humor into my stories because I personally like funny people :P I do hope the humor feels natural because I don't plan any of it, I just write down whatever jokes come to mind haha.

I've probably already told you this, but Hugo is my favorite character. I've never been so weirdly obsessed with a character that I wrote. I rewrote his entire role in this story because I personally wanted to write him more. I don't know if I'm the only one who does strange stuff like this or not.

Dominique is very...complicated. I can't say I'm a fan.

Hm, I managed to make you feel sorry for Albus? I can't say that was purposeful. Although he's certainly not the brains of the operation.

It was Alicia! She was a last minute addition to the chapter, actually.

I needed something embarrassing and that seemed thoroughly so :P And I think Demi is the only person who's a bigger fan of Hugo than I am.

I am so excited that you like this story and went and read it out of your own volition, thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Cannons It's Kind of a Funny Story.

22nd November 2014:
Back again Joey!

This was so good! Rose reacted just as I hoped towards Albus. Yeah, I loved that section although it did make me laugh when Albus said -"Dom was in on it too!" Albus says apologetically." - as if that makes it any better for him. Now he is probably going to have two very annoyed females on his hands.

I was surprised to find out that Scorp hadn't in fact been slipped a love potion and it was only Rose that has, that certainly changes the dynamics of the situation does it!

So Rose has held a grudge against him since first year for a playful tease? Ouch, that must hurt Scorp if he really does like her. I'm unsure how he will react if he finds out that, that night only happened, because AL slipped Rose a love potion. Or does he already know that?

You write teenage girls really well :P Every line was a winner in the dormitory, my favourite was the one about the tattoo! :P

Anyway, can't wait to read on!

Fin

Author's Response: Hi Fin! I'm sorry for this super late response, I'm so bad with this stuff when life gets busy.

I definitely wanted Rose to react angrily because I didn't want to downplay how horrible what they did was. I wanted to make it really clear that they were at fault there because, obviously, I don't want to make slipping things in people's drinks seem normal or okay.

It certainly does! Scorpius was definitely not under the effects of a love potion that night.

Of course, one person's playful tease could be another's mean spirited bullying. I want to play with the idea of two people who've just had years and years of misunderstandings, rather than a solid reason for hatred.

I'm glad you think I write teenage girls well, because this story does depend on it :P

Thank you for this review!!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Cannons Wake up.

21st November 2014:
Joey,

This was interesting. :) I seriously have no idea what to make off Scorpius at the moment. He is either being a total *insertwordofchoice*, or has been drugged apparently, but everyone else loves him. So I will just have to read on to find out about him if nothing else. :P

I really like the way you went about setting the whole chapter up, with giving the ages and personalities of everyone. That was done well and now it's out of the way, I know I dont like doing that when writing a new fic. I thought you spread everyone out well, and I always, like it when Al is in Slytherin.

I kind of have an issue with everyone on at Rose to find a guy, it's her own choice at the end of the day. So I was kind of annoyed at Al for slipping them that potion. Especially if he knew the full extent of how strong it was and what it was going to lead to.

I enjoyed your description with the paintings and the castle and things, very atmospheric.

I'm very interested as to what will happen next!

It's late and I'm on my ipad so if this review doesn't make sense you know why.

Fin

Author's Response: I'll tell you, it takes a while before you really get a clear idea of what to make of him. For someone so essential to the story, he's kind of *talked about* more than he actually appears. His character is rolled out very gradually.

I almost never introduce everyone in the first chapter, but I thought it pertinent, if only to see if any of her assessments change over the course of the story. And I always put Al in Slytherin. I absolutely claim him for my house. :P

I have a huge issue with everyone on Rose to find a guy as well. A lot of this story is kind of a TAKE THAT! aimed at people who are like that. Some of my characters are really, really morally defunct. I don't downplay the horrible, horrible thing he did by slipping her that. The moral of this story is basically 'you should respect people's choices and consent is a huge deal and here's why.' That said, I don't think he knew what it would lead to, at all. He's still horrible.

Thank you! I have an unnatural obsession with the portraits at Hogwarts!!

I'm glad that I've got you interested! Thank you so much for this review :D


 Report Review

Review #19, by Chazzie The Art of Getting By

9th November 2014:
You got the third chapter up! Whoop go Joey! :D

I love the way Hugo is so protective of his big sister. He is a very typical Wesley in that respect, which was lovely to see. A lot of Next Gen stories forget how loving the Weasleys are, even though they have their differences.

Professor Spinnet being concerned was nice, although I was a little annoyed with her for not suspecting that something was surely wrong for Rose to end up in the Hospital Wing for alcohol consumption. I mean, she admits that she would expect it from her cousins but not Rose. Sigh. She ought to listen to her instincts a little more.

The Secret circle sounded fun. I loved finding out more about Rose's friends and dorm mates. This was a brilliant chapter and I'm really glad you decided to post it!

Lottie

Author's Response: Hi Lottie!

I still can't believe it took me so long to get this up. My goal is to never take such a long break ever again, BUT don't hold me to that.

Hugo is hands down my favorite character in this story and he really is a typical Weasley in a lot of ways. I couldn't wait to get to this chapter so that I could write him, honestly.

Professor Spinnet means well, but she's a little oblivious. I thought about giving her Dumbledore-like instincts, but I decided that it'd be more fun for no one to catch onto what really happened. At least for the time being.

The Secret Circle was kind of a Convenient Plot Device here, but I thought it was okay because Demi totally made it clear that it's purpose was to coerce Rose to tell her what happened. In my head, they have those whenever someone needs convincing to spill something. Kind of like - we all told our secrets, now it's your turn.

I'm so glad you liked the chapter! Thank you for stopping by to review, it means so much!


 Report Review

Review #20, by pointless_proclamations The Art of Getting By

9th November 2014:
JOSEPH!

Wow. Just wow.

This is a spectacular way to get back to WUR! It's astonishing how you continually improve despite how amazing you were already.

I get the feeling that this chapter is loaded with hints of plot threads. You are exceedingly talented in doing that. So much so that I want to get really mad at you, but my awe of your writing just gets in the way of that.

The way you imply Rose's slow degradation of mental stability is spectacular. Her thoughts and actions are written so precisely. My mind = smithereens, by the way.

Hugo is such a loveable character. He seems thoughtful and caring. I am guessing that he will prove to be a wonderful support system for Rose. And of course he listens to Muggle music! ;) The two have an admirable sibling-dynamic.

The juxtaposition of Rose's laughing and crying speak volumes! She is barely getting by. I have so much empathy for her! Why must you write characters that I care so much for only to put them through such difficult situations and, therefore, affecting me in such a way? Joseph. . . [wincing]

You've got her annoyed, crying, laughing, and enraged here and it all sounds very conflicting if I put it that way, but YOU have written this situation in such a manner that it is very in-character. I don't see a foolish girl who has been bequeathed with too many emotions from birth and hardly knows what to do with them. I see a strong female who has just been wronged by the very two people she called her best friends and, naturally, is exhibiting such emotions over it. Although still I wonder if the combination of alcohol and potion is still working on her here.

Now I am wondering what is Lysander up to? And what will Happy, Demi, and Liz do with that bit of information? What about Al and Dominique? What method of forgiveness-acquisition will they try next? So many questions! I can never restrain my curiosity, which I should figure is standard for everything you write! I don't even try!

This is insanely brilliant as always, Joseph. I consistently expect greatness, but I am consistently surprised by what you come up with!

Author's Response: EMILIE!

Thankyouthankyouthankyou!

You make me so happy whenever you say anything about my writing. There are a few hints, I will say that.

I really wanted to show some Actual Problems happening with Rose because she got her drink spiked by her cousins/best friends and it hasn't actually been said out loud, but really - she had her first time under the influence of a *messed* up love potion. Not to mention it was with someone she absolutely hates and vilifies and it all is just such a horrible situation that I really do not want to downplay it as okay in any way. She's going to have some problems for quite some time, as anyone would in her situation.

I've already told you that he's my favorite character in this story. He's just amazing in every way, I run out of words to describe the strength of character he shows. Of course, that's all in my head, but soon you'll see what I see, I think! - and I cannot resist plugging the Muggle music, especially when the lyrics are SO perfect for the chapter. I rarely plug things that don't symbolically say something related to the plot. *not-so-subtle hint to keep in mind for my nano novel*

I love to make you care for a character only to have them suffer!

In a way, this story would never have happened if it wasn't for her extrovert cousins thinking they needed to "fix" the nearest introvert. *whistles knowingly*

THANK YOU for saying 'strong female' because I've actually gotten multiple reviews calling her strong and you know my opinions on the matter of how women get written. I really just wanted to write a story where a girl is a normal person. I find that woman become caricatures and I refuse not to allow Rose to become that. Thus, she will never be overly emotional, but she will show emotions appropriate to the situation. It's a balancing act and she has just as realistic of an emotional range as my male characters do because they're both human beings. But, I'll end that rant there.

All of your questions and more will be answered pretty soon, I can't wait to see what you think of the rest!

So glad that you liked this, thank you so much for this review. You inspire me to continue writing!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Unicorn_Charm The Art of Getting By

7th November 2014:
Hey Joseph!!

Eek! I'm so excited that you've updated!!

I forgot how much I really do love this story. I mean, I knew I liked it, but after re-reading, and then reading this new chapter, I remembered just how good it is. :)

Ok, so on to the review.
I feel so bad for Rose. I can't even imagine how mad, upset, betrayed and hurt I would feel if two of my cousins did that to me. Her breakdown with Hugo was completely understandable. I'm really shocked it took her as long as it did to break down like that. But it did seem like the gravity of the situation didn't really hit her until she was explaining what happened to Hugo. Speaking of that, the whole moment with her brother was just adorable. It really reminded me of going to my brothers when I'm upset over something. The immediate "I'll kill them" type response from Hugo was so brotherly and so believable. It was my favorite part of this whole chapter.

I totally don't blame her for blowing off Albus and Dom like that. I wonder how long she'll go without speaking to them. If I was in that position, I'd make them squirm for quite some time haha. I'm sure they honestly are sorry, but they could have killed her. Idiots.

I'm liking Demi a lot. She seems like a really good friend to Rose, and she needs that right now. She was completely violated by her cousins and needs a good support system. I feel like between her dorm mates, and her brother, she'll have that. And how cute is it that Demi has a crush on Hugo? :) I've had friends before tell me that they've thought my younger brothers were cute. It's an odd experience. You never know how to respond haha.

I'm very curious to see how her next interaction with Scorpius goes. Hoping for some Scorose action next chapter. Maybe? Yes?

Excellent, wonderful, beautiful, amazing job! Loved it!! I can't wait for the next update. Even if it does end up taking four months. ;)

Much love,
Meg ♥

Author's Response: Meg!!

It makes me beyond happy that you love this story because it was very, very close to being abandoned not too long ago and this review makes me feel like it was worth it to give this story another try.

You really nailed all of my thoughts about her breakdown. I wanted her to not truly process what happened until that moment. I wish I could say that I'm done throwing things her way, but I'm afraid things are going to get worse before they get better.

Hugo is 100% my favorite character in this story, so I'm glad you liked his scene as much as I did! He's really fun to write and I can't even wait to update again because I don't wanna spoil but I totally wanna talk about Hugo!!

I'd blow them off too. Idiot is definitely the correct word for those two. I wrote it and I'm still shocked that they thought what they did was a good idea.

Okay funny story about Rose's dormmates. It was originally conceived as a ensemble kind of thing, which each of them getting equal spotlight in scenes, but then I started liking Demi more and more until I basically made her the Most Important Friend. She's great for being the leader of Rose's support system because she is so 'in your face, doesn't take no for an answer.' AND she likes Hugo, which elevated her character even more.

There's certainly a Rose/Scorpius scene in the next chapter. It may be a bit different than you'd guess. It's my favorite of any Rose/Scorpius scene in my head though.

The next update won't take four months haha! At that rate, I wouldn't finish this for a couple of years. NaNo has me in a really great writing zone, so I'm planning to quickly bang out another one of these chapters after I'm finished with that, but still have some of the spirit left in me. The next is my favorite chapter overall, so I think you'll like it!

Thank you so much for this review and being so amazing and kind. You are the greatest!! :D


 Report Review

Review #22, by Loonylovegood67890 It's Kind of a Funny Story.

5th October 2014:
Hey,
Great chapters! I'm already drawn in and I want to know more now! I really like the way you portray Rose. I think her character is very strong and self asured.
At first when they were declaring love for each other i was sat there like 'WHHAATT?' But then I thought either someone's put something in her drink or she's completely hammered out of her head. I was sort of right I guess! :)
I was shocked to learn that Scorpius' thoughts were real and nothing was spiked for him as well because he seemed to dislike her as much as she did him. Then I realised it was all probably just a front to hide his true feelings. I do believe that somewhere in the back of Rose's mind she does like Scorpius but she'll be too stubborn to admit it.

Author's Response: Hi,

I'm really happy that Rose's character comes off as strong! That was definitely something I was going for here. I wanted to write a female character who doesn't take what's done to her lying down!

It seems like both of your guesses were correct! Scorpius was drunk at the time, but he certainly was not under the effects of a love potion. He was, as they say, giving what he gets. There's a lot of things to describe Rose and stubborn is certainly one of them.
Thank you for this review! Sorry I took so long to respond :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by Chazzie It's Kind of a Funny Story.

5th October 2014:
Hey Joey!
*grins* I hope you're still writing chapter three. I would be most disappointed if you weren't. So story. I really love it so far. The way Rose says she is so close to her family, but then we realise that perhaps she needs to be a bit more wary of those she trusts. I feel sorry for poor Al, I doubt he had considered anything bad happening to Rose. Still, you should never mix your drinks. Or anyone else's. You know what I mean.
Rose waking up at the hospital was really effective. The reader instantly thinks that she is waking to find herself in Scoprius's bed, and don't really entertain much else. Then we realise just oh wrong we were. And Scor gets his little almost deceleration of love, which is sweet. Even if Rose doesn't belive him. Yet. I have a funny feeling she'll be coughing up a few galleons by the end of the year. ;)
So, you've done a fantastic job so far *hint hint* and I can't wait to read the third chapter that you are surely writing as I type this.
Your ever-encouraging-and-just-so-slightly-mean friend who hopes that you and your chapter are doing well,
Lottie

Author's Response: Hi Lottie!

I'm actually still working on it! I recently changed the overall direction and my edits on the first two chapters have gone through, so I have no excuse anymore.

Rose really doesn't have the greatest luck of all as far as trusting people. She's kind of at the end of her wits here, understandably. I feel sorry for Al because I know that he didn't think about any of this, but he learned a lesson about meddling in other people's lives and maybe the ethics of love potions?? I don't know, he learned a lot of lessons. Slipping things into drinks = bad 100% of the time.

Rose waking up in the hospital was my little bait and switch to twist this story away from the typical 'aftermath of the party' kind of thing. It's like, this is what would ACTUALLY happen if someone slipped you a love potion. It'd be dangerous and you'd be mad.

Thank you so much for all of the compliments! You're definitely encouraging me to get back into the writing of this story and that's just awesome and great of you and wow just thank you!!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Unicorn_Charm It's Kind of a Funny Story.

7th September 2014:
Hi again!

Ahh! I knew it!! I knew something was put into her drink. What were Dom and Al thinking?? They could have killed her. I know they meant well, but slipping something into their cousin's drink? That's a little too far. I'd be just as mad if I were Rose. Especially after what happened between her and Scorpius. That is something you can never get back.

I can't believe he told her that he may be having feelings for her! Of course she wouldn't believe him. Why would you believe someone who has treated you horribly for years. I would think it was just another mean joke, too.

I so need to know what happens next! Please update soon. :) Great story so far. I love it!!

♥ Meg

Author's Response: Dom and Al, very simply put, weren't thinking at all. I like to think that Dom convinced Al that nothing bad could happen because well, he'd be at the party as well. Not factoring in the chaotic nature of the party and the drunkenness of Al. Overall, bad plan. I don't think Rose is quite finished being angry.

I actually think I am going to go back and re-write bits of that conversation. But, yeah the basic gist is that Scorpius now thinks he has some kind of feelings for Rose and she does not believe that or just has no time for it to be true.

I am going to update pretty soon, don't worry! Thank you for the swap and for your kind words :D


 Report Review

Review #25, by Unicorn_Charm Wake up.

7th September 2014:
Hi there! Here for the swap. :)

Uh oh... What did Rose do?! I have a feeling she is going to regret that, horribly, in the morning. I feel like there was something funny going on with that drink that Al gave her, too... Hmmm.

Well. This seems like it's shaping up to be a highly amusing story. This first chapter was great! I really like your Rose. She seems very comfortable with who she is. Not needing to fit in with the crowd, doesn't need a boyfriend (although, at 15, I'm sure she does want one eventually), she's content with her family and the friends she has. She seems very put together.

I like the bit of banter between her and Dom. That was quite funny. And I loved Al. Him leaving the compartment yelling about there being a new era really cracked me up. :) Then came Scorpius to kill the mood. He was just so mean to her! I wonder if it's because he actually likes her, but he knows that his father won't like it, so he compensates by being a jerk? Or if he just plain doesn't like her. Until the drinks kicked in, that is haha.

I really, really liked this. I can't wait to see what happens next! As a matter of fact, I'm heading off to the next chapter now. Well done!!

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Well you guessed the plot of the next chapter there in the beginning of this review!

And yes - Rose is very comfortable with herself and doesn't want to rush her way into anything. She has her friends and and she is fine with them. I want her to be a very strong character throughout this story, even in her less fine moments.

I'm glad that you liked how she was with Dom and Al because that'll make the rest of the story much more poignant, I think. Scorpius is not exactly a nice guy in the beginning of this story. There's some things that need to happen before I even attempt to make Rose think of him as anything but terrible.

I'm really glad that you liked this enough to look at the next chapter, that means so much! Thank you for the review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>