Reading Reviews for Wake up, Rose.
  
73 Reviews Found

Review #1, by RavenclawFTW How to Lose Friends & Alienate People

18th July 2015:
Hiya Joey! I just recently encountered this story and I have to say I really really love it! First off, the chapter names are top notch. Keep it up!

Then the actual story itself...I love this concept. I understand that you're a huge Scorose shipper (shh just let me casually stalk your MTA, don't worry about it) and I really enjoy your approach to this story. It feels so much more mature than a lot of Next Gen fics-- there are serious topics being addressed, and the characters are reacting to them accordingly (or at least Rose is-- but the contrast between her and Al/Dom drives the characterization home).

On top of that, your writing is so wonderful! I love Rose's character-- from her protectiveness of Hugo/Lysander to her quick wit. This chapter I laughed out loud at “Thanks for the tip. I can’t wait until tomorrow’s Daily Unsolicited Opinion!” Everybody seems to understand how scary Rose is but also not to provoke her.

If there was one thing I would change in the story it would be that it feels a bit jumpy in the transitions. Also I wish there was more of the story! Can't wait for the next update.

Anyway, sorry for the rambling and slightly creepy background check. :) Hope you update soon!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Unicorn_Charm How to Lose Friends & Alienate People

7th June 2015:
Joseph!! Ahh!! New chapter!!

I had such a difficult time deciding on whether or not to review this or Faith for the swap. Who are we kidding though, we both know I'll make my way over there, too. :p

But on to the chapter at hand.

It seems that Rose has pretty much the same "Meh" attitude as I do towards NYE. But at least, like she said, this time she has a valid excuse. I loved the whole family joke about the Potter's NYE party - people putting it on their CV's. And that it was "mostly" not true haha. XD I'm also really liking this closeness between Rose and Hugo. You can kind of feel how they feel a bit closer now, if the makes sense. Oh god, could you imagine if Hermione or Ron (more Hermione) did find out what Albus did? No wonder she's trying to act like everything is fine. We know she's angry with him, but I'm sure she doesn't want his life ended.

Why would Al even follow her? He has to know that she's livid and it's going to take her a long, long time to forgive him. They're family, so I'm sure she will eventually, but he needs to give her time and space.

Oh I love how Scorpius thought he was doing a good thing there. But does he know Rose at all? I mean, he has to know she's not the damsel in distress type. What he did was sweet, but he had to know it was tick her off even more.

I hate to see Rose shut herself away like that, but I have to admit, I always retreat into my shell when I'm sad/mad/upset/hurting, too. So I can totally relate to her ignoring everyone and locking herself away for days. I'm surprised that Demi didn't try to drag her out as opposed to only getting a little snarky with her hahaha. And again with Hugo being the caring brother. I love it! Side note: Lysander is adorable. ♥

Bahaha!! Oh my god, I'm dying! “You weren’t under the impression that I would take your word for it, were you?” XD Oh Minnie, you're the best. It is better that Rose handles it this way, as opposed to being locked away in Azkaban for murder, like was said. ;) I wonder if she will go and "straighten him out" regardless. It seems like the type of thing she'd do.

Joseph, I adore you! As always your writing is a breath of fresh air for me. The emotions and the way your characters handle everything is always so real and relatable to me and I think that must be why I'm completely in love with everything you write. It's like meeting up with an old friend whenever you post something new. Thank you for sharing all of your wonderful work. Reading your stories always brightens my day!

Much, much love,
Meg ♥

 Report Review

Review #3, by pointless_proclamations The Nightmare Before Christmas

1st June 2015:
Hello there Joseph.

You look like you need to be breaking 70 already. Here we go.

You have conveyed Rose's discomfort very, very well here. Yr extended descriptions work amazingly. The emotional context you've provided along with the character connection you've established between Rose and readers adds to the efficacy of getting us in sync with how she is feeling.

Scorpius and Albus. . . I'm wondering if they understand something called privacy: Privacy as it pertains to Rose, privacy as it pertains to the conversation they didn't have to be making in public.

Rose just lost the two family members, besides Hugo, that were closest to her: Dom and Albus, so it made me rather happy that Roxanne found her and talked to her a bit. I really hope we get to see more of her because she seems really sweet. Aside from the fact that she and Rose haven't talked much before, she reminds me of my own sister. She is my new favourite character ever.

I know we have discussed this, but I must reiterate: LORCAN THAT GIT. WHAT IS GOING ON? Despite Rose's suspicions, I don't think he's homophobic. The mystery continues as does the growing need to get in there and give him a good shake.

Again, you have the most wonderful sibling dynamic between Rose and Hugo. They understand each other so well. They balance each other out which is also great. We've got Rose wanting to take rather aggressive action about Lorcan and being a very protective sister then we've got Hugo who just wants to calm her down. If I am not mistaken, they're roles have been switched from when Hugo made his debut on this story.

A digression: I am staring at the story title right now and this is what I am thinking: PLOT TWIST. EVERYTHING IS JUST A DREAM AND YOU MEAN THE TITLE LITERALLY.

Ahem.

I remember how I was urging these two to converse, but now that they have, it seems a bit late, doesn't it? Rose telling Scorpius that he is not the hero and he will not get the girl sounds a bit meta to me. Clever, Joseph. Very clever. He's got a lot of cleaning up to do before he deserves to even talk to her again.

Bahaha! School friends. It is true, though. I only see my old classmates because I live with them. That's a homeschooling joke. That's a bad joke. That's hardly a joke. I'm losing it.

Bahaha!! The exertion of common sense line!! I absolutely love it. This makes me have almost no idea what you're talking about because this is stellar.

EVAN HOOPER THAT JERKFACE! SOMEBODY EXPELL HIM! Empathy-less git that he is. I have strong, negative feelings about him. He, too, has some cleaning up to do.

Oh no? Dom! She's a mess. Really, though? To ask Rose to not say anything first? Before any apology? Why even bring it up if she really cared about Rose? She's only sorry it turned out badly and that she's in trouble because of it, isn't she?

WHY DO SO MANY BAD PEOPLE SURROUND THE PEOPLE I CARE ABOUT, JOSEPH!!!

 Report Review

Review #4, by marauderfan The Nightmare Before Christmas

6th May 2015:
Hey Joey! I'm here with your third prize review! I know you said chapter 4 but... technically, I have already reviewed that, just not under my own name. heh heh.

Poor Rose! I felt so bad for her, being argued about in the middle of the Great Hall, and Albus, WHO STILL HAS NOT APOLOGISED TO ROSE, is standing up for her, but so loudly that it's only making the situation more embarrassing for her. And Scorpius! Ugh! I thought he felt badly about this whole thing and I am just so irritated at those two boys for being insensitive. I can't even imagine how mortifying that would be for Rose. Hopefully (and most likely), Hogwarts will have something different to gossip about tomorrow.

Roxanne is really sweet. I like that she's there for Rose. And I'm pretty sure I've said this before but if so it deserves to be repeated, but I LOVE the wonderful sibling relationship between Hugo and Rose. They are so supportive of each other, and honest, it's really great. Though, ahaha, those rumors :p

Small detail, but I love that she pays a first year to deliver a message to Scorpius. Haha. I'm glad she confronted him because that's important, but I do hope we get Scorpius' side of the story at some point. I don't hate Scorpius, but I don't like him much either - he seems insensitive but not intentionally malicious - but at this point I really can't decide what to make of him.

Wow, I actually loved that conversation between Rose and her friends because 'school friends' is such a real thing - though, as they pointed out as well, even best friends drift apart after school and despite their optimism I can't help thinking it will happen to them too because that's just what happens.

Hugo! Omg, I felt so bad for him, poor guy! *hugs Hugo* So glad Teddy knew where to look for him, but that is just such a horrible thing to happen to him - I would be absolutely PANICKING if i were shoved into a closet and not able to move for eight hours - and I hope those bullies get put in their place and stop being homophobic bigots. Bahaha, Teddy's reaction "that's illegal... but I don't care". XD He is the greatest.

I agree with Rose, Dom's apology is nothing but selfish because she just doesn't want to get in trouble. But Dom totally would deserve it. Also, how Rose doesn't want to tell anyone because it also reflects badly on herself for being involved - this whole scene is so strong for what it says about victim blaming in society - the incident wasn't Rose's fault but it makes her look bad so she says nothing, although by keeping silent she is also kind of protecting the people who did it to her. Gah! :( Anyway, I like that you addressed that. You really are taking on some important issues in this fic and I think that's really great.

Awesome chapter!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Siriusly21 The Nightmare Before Christmas

8th April 2015:
I really like your story! Keep going!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your interest! When I revamped this story a while back, I only replanned certain parts to go along with the new storyline, so I'm still working on deciding what to do with the sixth chapter as of now. But, rest assured, I'm working on it and trying to get it up as soon as possible! Thank you again for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by TheHeirOfSlytherin The Nightmare Before Christmas

19th March 2015:
Oooh. Fighting over Rose. I get the feeling that's not going to go over too well later. Considering how embarrassed she is now. Though I'm not sure how I feel about Albus trying to defend her when he's the one who started it all.

I totally don't blame Scorpius for not wanting to come out to talk to her. I mean, I want them to talk, but she keeps being rude and interrupting him when he tries. So I don't blame him.

Don't think he's a good guy either. He's just also not a bad guy. Important distinction... I think. It's 4am, I may not be using the right words right now. :D

Evan... why is he important enough to be mentioned? ...WHAT DID HE DO?

Christmas with the Weasleys sounds terrifying when you're avoiding family members. I'd stick with Harry... or hide behind him. No one messes with Harry.

...Where's Hugo?

Oh, thank God for Teddy. I hope Evan and anyone else who goes after Hugo gets what's coming to them. Because I really wanna hurt him right now.

But then, you’ve got to consider the fact that I don’t care in the slightest. - I giggled for, like, five whole minutes because best line ever.

Rose should tell. I would. I'd whisper it, like a rumor. Have people wonder and talk about them. That would be so much worse than outright tattling... That sounds mean. My stream of consciousness is a total douche... especially when they deserve it.

I am very much looking forward to the next chapter and the story as a whole, especially everything with Rose and Scorpius. And Hugo, Lysander and the bullies. I love where the story is going and the characters and I can't wait to read more!

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #7, by TheHeirOfSlytherin The Outsiders

18th March 2015:
See before, with my little giggle about Hugo and Lysander, it was because I wanted it and it made me smile thinking about them (because I have a story with them as a main pairing ♥). Now I have them AND I KNEW IT, I JUST TOTALLY KNEW IT AND I AM SO FREAKING HAPPY RIGHT NOW. YOU HAVE NO IDEA.

Judging from the caps, you probably have some idea...

WHERE ARE THESE HORRIBLE BOYS MESSING WITH HUGO AND LYSANDER? I'LL GET THEM MYSELF. I'm glad Rose is there for him right now.

Feeling a little sorry for Demi. Not completely sorry because HUGO/LYSANDER. But a little sorry.

She threatened them. Granted, she threatened them with Freddie and James. But still. They need to be punished. *punishes them in my head*

Hey, it's Scorpius. He's a thing. I didn't imagine him... I felt like he was gone a long time, that's how much I missed him. :P

I wanna know what he wants to say. I kinda feel like I can guess, but I don't want to... yet. Not until I'm absolutely sure. But he's so adorable when he's nervous. :P And then she laughs in his face. :(

Sad times. I wonder how much of what she said to him will end up being a lie if she actually sits down and talks to him. Because no, I don't believe the last few years have been completely his fault either.

Oooh, Scorpius' PoV. I feel like their entire feud, if you want to call it that, could have been avoided if he'd replied with something else when she recognized him. Not that he didn't have a right to defend himself if she had said something more, because what Draco told him was right in my opinion, but assumptions make such messy business.

Next chapter, I think.

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #8, by TheHeirOfSlytherin The Art of Getting By

18th March 2015:
I feel so sad for Rose. In chapter one they're like best friends and now they've really betrayed her trust. I like how you've set it up, though. The anger and the hurt and then finally letting hit her by crying when she goes to see Hugo. I can see that being her reaction.

By the way, HUGO!!! ♥ So I love Hugo. Not as much as Theo, but pretty damn close. I love how you wrote him, that they're not so close but close enough for her to talk to him. And nobody does Sundays, Sundays are evil. I'd stay in bed and listen to music, too... In fact, I do. Probably why I like Hugo so much! :D

I hope Hugo at least hits Albus. Hex them both. Spikes their drink. Just a thought I have. ;)

Uh oh. They're not in Sweden. I'm sad that they don't seem to get why Rose is so mad. Yeah, Hugo should definitely spike their drinks and see how they like it. I bet they'd be sorry then.

Nonverbal magic. Rose is kind of scary when she's mad. Albus and Dom should totally have been in the classroom for that. :P

Hugo and Lysander sitting in a tree... Haha! Sorry. :P

He’s poetic and an artistic genius and he has that whole introspective vibe to him. - Best description of Hugo ever. Everyone should totally love him.

Dun, dun, dun. I wonder how the friends would take knowing...

Onwards.

Sam.

P.S. I should probably have said this sooner, but my reviews can get really really rambly. Like, stream of consciousness. I should apologize for that. :P

P.P.S. Who doesn't love a conflicted artist played by Freddie Highmore?

 Report Review

Review #9, by TheHeirOfSlytherin It's Kind of a Funny Story.

18th March 2015:
Oooh. So what happened at the end of chapter one did happen...? And it clearly didn't end well if she's in the hospital because of potions and alcohol. And... did Albus give it to her? Damn, man, what was he thinking? Or anyone who did do it (because I like Albus and don't want him to have done that to Rose, even if he didn't mean for her to drink).

No. Scorpius. What was he going to say? But I agree, he could totally prove to her that he's not who she thinks. Change is good, as my creative writing lecturer likes to say. I can't wait to see how that progresses.

OMG, HE DID DO IT.

Double murder can't be that much worse of a sentence than plain old homicide, can it? - I think she should do it anyway.

I'm very curious as to how Albus and Dom might try and fix this. Becuase I refuse to let Rose forgive them if they're gonna make excuses. What they did was really messed up, whether he was telling the truth or not.

I like her friends. They're honest. There's definitely something between Rose and Scorpius even if she doesn't want to admit it. I think what Ron said to her in the epilogue made her think they should hate each other. But it's totally not true. Just totally not. :D

I loved this chapter so much, even though I am raging over Albus and Dom a little. I'd say much harsher things if I could.

Onwards.

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #10, by AriesGirl40 The Nightmare Before Christmas

17th March 2015:
I do hope Rose gets some payback for all this trouble. Al is a jerk and Malfoy should have some explaining to do. Good chapter.

Author's Response: Oh, she will eventually. I'm putting her through a bit more before that happens though :)

Thank you for reading!


 Report Review

Review #11, by TheHeirOfSlytherin Wake up.

17th March 2015:
Hola!

Well, I should be finishing an assignment for school. So naturally I am here. :D

Anyway... I love this. Not so much because of the pairing - though I love Rose/Scorpius, too, don't worry about that - but because of the backstories for the Next Generation. Everyone writes them so differently, even when some traits are the same, and I love finding out different headcanons and such. So this first chapter was really exciting for me to read.

Did that sound as nerdy out loud as it did in my head? :P

I love Rose. How she can laugh and joke with her family and friends, but can also be serious when it matters. Like, for school and stuff. The whole not needing a guy bit was particularly cool, though that kind of got thrown out of the window - along with sobriety - at the end. :P

Although, judging from the chapter title and the fast pace of the end, going from hating Scorpius to... doing other things, makes me wonder if it was a dream. Or if any of it is a dream? I'm so curious now. I must now.

Albus is cool. And an awesome Slytherin captain, if I do say so myself. :D I look forward to seeing more of him in the story.

Onwards, I think... after my assignment is done, of course. ;)

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Unicorn_Charm The Outsiders

13th March 2015:
Hi Joseph! ♥

Ok, I can't believe I haven't reviewed this yet. I actually did a double take when I noticed I haven't. I read it. Like right after it was first up. I don't know why I didn't. Last month was kind of wonky for me though. I kind of dropped the HPFF ball. But anywho, I digress.

You're so amazing. Have I told you that recently? No? Shame on me, because you are!! :D I love, love, love the whole exchange with Rose and Hugo in the beginning of this story. Their relationship is portrayed so perfectly lovely. I love how she immediately just sits down next to him, once he tells her that he is gay, and without a second thought lets him know that it changes nothing. I know that if one of my brothers ever came out to me, I would react the same way. I would probably tease them (non-hurtfully) like she did with the poetry.

And then my heart broke when he told her how some of the sixth years were being unkind (to put it lightly) towards him. Her reaction was priceless! "Tell me their names. I'm going to kill them." That is EXACTLY how I would have (and have in the past) reacted to the news of anyone bullying my little brothers. I am loving your Rose, she's such a great character. :D But I loved how you made it a point to let us know that Hugo still walked with his head held high. He has no reason to be ashamed of himself, and it's lovely to see that he isn't. Those Weasley kids seem to have pretty good heads on their shoulders.

Haha! Rose does not take any crap! I love it! She just walks up to those boys and name-drops James and Fred. That is hilarious! :D

Man, she really does not have any tolerance for Scorpius though. The poor kid just wants to ask her a question and she bites his head right off. I actually felt kind of bad for him there.

Ok, that bit with Draco telling Scorpius to never apologize for anything her or Lucius did, and to go and make friends like everyone else, honestly made me tear up a bit. I don't know why that got to me so much, but it did. I can imagine that Draco probably was very worried about Scorpius being ostracized because of the mistakes he made in his youth.

"The sweet-faced redhead sits across from me" squee! *dies*

Awww! Oh my god, Joseph! What? Why?! So her hatred is due to a stupid slip of the tongue! Although, it was really funny when he slipped and called her "Red." I'm assuming that was Albus who was doubled over laughing, too? :D I feel so bad for him!! He was just trying to stick up for himself, because he assumed that she was going to be mean to him for being a Malfoy!? Ugh. You kill me with the massive amounts of feels you throw at me! I can't even right now.

This was another fantastic chapter! I can't tell you enough how much I adore you and your work! Great job, as always!! ♥ ♥

xoxo Meg

 Report Review

Review #13, by Veritaserum27 The Art of Getting By

12th March 2015:
Hey there Joey!

I'm here, finally for the final chapter of our review swap. Eep. I didn't intend to take this long.

I'm totally seething at Albus and Dominique right now. I mean, I don't think they completely thought through their little "cupid" plan, but I can't find a way to forgive their stupidity and carelessness. Rose could've gotten really, really hurt. She almost died and they don't seem nearly apologetic enough.

I love the voice you've given Rose. She's a bit sarcastic - and even more so in her head. She kind of lets things happen to her and I really like the way you write her emotions. I feel like I'm experiencing them along with her. The scene in Hugo's room is a perfect example of this. She walks in to talk to him and thinks she's got everything under control and then it hits her like a tidal wave crashing over her at the betrayal. I mean, she'd referred to Albus as her favorite cousin and he goes and does this to her! My heart broke.

Hugo was really sweet. I do wish that he went to breakfast with her. I feel like Rose needed the support - at least for a meal.

I'm really happy that Rose has a solid group of friends in her roommates. They are supportive when she needs it and they know when to let her have her space. I think you've also struck a nice balance between how Rose feels about her friends and her family. Family is obviously very, very important to Rose and that just makes what Al and Dom did so much more unbearable.

Great chapter, Joey! I really liked how you jumped from scene to scene. It was very smooth and kept the reader interested.

Thanks for doing a swap!

♥ Beth

 Report Review

Review #14, by Aphoride The Nightmare Before Christmas

12th March 2015:
Hello again! :D Review number five! :) I have to say that I love The Nightmare Before Christmas - it's such a great film, and the title of it is so appropriate for this chapter!

(Oh, speaking of, I should say that with last chapter's title, I love Emerson, too! :D He's not my favourite poet, but he's so good!)

Again, your characterisation is so, so lovely. I loved how you had Rose stand up for herself against Scorpius and be so mortally embarassed by the argument - I think if that had been me I'd have literally melted into a puddle, haha. It was a great pair of moments to have together, you know, with their contrasting versions of Rose: one where she's so strong, and the other where she's almost helpless, in the sense that there's not really anything she can do about it, and she doesn't really know what to do, you know? It's a nice evolution of her character, I think, and it's so great to see someone showing just how much our characters and personalities change according to our moods and emotions. It's so true to life and I just love it.

I felt so sorry for Scorpius last chapter, but in this one... he's kind of a jerk. I mean, the whole argument thing really, really isn't cool. So unnecessary, and stupid - but I guess it's true enough to life and teenagers :P Yeah, he really didn't deserve Rose forgiving him so easily for that one! Her ending quip was pretty good, too - can you please teach me how you write snappy lines like that? Pretty please? I've never been able to do it...

Ohmygosh, I'm totally with Rose on Dom, too - though knowing you, this might well be a 'for the moment' kind of thing - she really does seem so self-serving and self-interested. I really can't believe she has any reason for Rose not to tell everyone what happened other than that I imagine both Bill and Fleur would flip completely. Almost a shame Rose is too embarassed by it to reveal it, tbh. Dom would deserve everything coming to her on that front!

I'm on two minds about Albus so far... I like that he maybe was trying to stand up for Rose, but the argument itself is horrible for her to sit through. Good intentions, bad result? Eh, I don't know... I'm reserving judgment on him for now :P

Your dialogue in this was especially amazing - I loved so many lines in this - Rose's last one to Scorpius, Rose's to Dom, Teddy's to Hugo (though maybe get rid of the 'please leave' from Rose to Dom - it seems a bit repetitive? Like she's said, get out already, you know?). Your description too - especially of Rose with the embarassment at the beginning, in the hall; that was so well described I could literally see it in my head and everything - the feelings and sense of it was so real.

I'm so looking forward to seeing chapter 6 when it's up (soon, maybe? Perhaps? Yes? No? I'll trade you a chapter of L'optimisme? Two? :P) - I really hope Rose, or Hugo, gets back at Hooper for that. Horrible stunt to pull! Poor Hugo... he's so sweet, too!

Anyway, I'm so looking forward to seeing where you go with this, and I'm favouriting so I can stalk this more closely :)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #15, by Aphoride The Outsiders

12th March 2015:
Hi again, Joey! :D Review number four... and I'm already hoping you get another chapter up soon so we can just keep going ;)

I'm so so picky about characterisation in stories, I have to admit - it's one of the biggest things which turns me off books and ffs - and yours is just amazing. I love so much how all of your characters are complex, none of them are always right or wrong, they're all layered individuals, with reasons and myriad of personality traits. It's so so good, and I really can't get enough of it. Plus, I love as well how you turn normal characterisations of characters on their heads, like with Albus, and explore them deeper, too, than a lot of other authors. It's so impressive! :)

I loved how in this chapter you showed different, new sides to both Rose and Scorpius - especially in the end scene, with them as ickle firsties on the train together :P I loved how neither of them was really right - though I do feel a little more sorry for Scorpius, being so nervous and so sure everyone would bring up his family and be so rude about it (and who knows if Rose would have been or not?)... he's only eleven years old, but it seems like such a burden for him, you know? And it's so unfair for him to have to carry it. That being said, I loved how Rose wasn't exactly a pushover either - she wasn't rude, but she wasn't overly welcoming/friendly, either. It's hard to describe, but I just loved the sort of sense of tension, or apprehension from her character in that.

Of course, Albus just laughs like a mad hyena :P Typical of him!

I loved seeing the protective older-sister side of Rose come out, too. I'd have liked for her to maybe be a bit direct about it, rather than say, 'I'll tell these other people who'll do something', because those kinds of threats are far less effective, but, tbh, it's a very teenager-type thing to do, you know? Rely on other people, people who you perceive to be stronger - and then as you grow, you realise you are one of those people :) So I'm looking forward to seeing her hex them in the future ;) (They deserve it!)

(Also, that conversation with Hugo was amazing. It reminds me so much of when my sister came out to me and my other sister. Though we were more like 'we already know' :P But yeah, the teasing afterwards was so spot on for siblings! :D)

Hugo and Lysander! :D I have to be honest, I did wonder before, but I thought I was just seeing pretty blonde gay guys everywhere, haha, but I'm so glad to see it's true! They sound like such a cute pairing! :)

Your writing, as always, is so so lovely. Your dialogue is always your strongest part, and it's no different in this. I love your description too - each word is so well-placed, and right to describe exactly what you mean, and you're so good at getting the emotion out of the chapter.

So, so great... off to chapter 5! :D

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #16, by Aphoride The Art of Getting By

11th March 2015:
Hi again, Joey! :) Imma try and get all of these done before the uni internet decides it wants to throw another hissy fit and the IT guys refuse to fix it until 1pm the next day (again) :P Besides, I'm enjoying this story so much it seems foolish to wait :)

I love how your chapters continue on from each other so smoothly, and how so much of this is about exploring the after-effects of the event, without having it be overly-romantic and Rose be all 'oohhh, actually, I really love him' and so on. It's a really nice, original take on the love potion theme (which can work so well, anyway), and you've got so many interesting ideas and approaches and reactions to it in here.

I've got to say as well, that I love things with a family-centric vibe to them too. It's not often explored in ff, but I love it because it was inherently central to HP, you know, and it's such an important aspect of people's lives. Plus, it offers up so much opportunity for comedy, drama, etc. ;) So yeah, I love the family angle on it, with Al and Dom being the perpetrators, and Hugo being on Rose's side, and her friends and Hugo being so shocked that Al and Dom were behind it because they're family, and family doesn't usually do that. It also means you have brilliantly unique portrayals of Al and Dom, which I love.

I loved the scene with Al and Dom, and how Rose refused to accept their apologies. She has a point, really, in refusing to let it go so easily, and I love how she isn't and how they're so confident that she will. It really speaks volumes about what they think about the severity of it, you know? I mean, they could have killed their cousin, but nah, it's cool. Mad people. But they're brilliant characters. Hugo too - I love how laidback he is, and he sounds just like me concerning Sundays :P Sundays are a rest day, therefore I sleep *nods* Perfect logic. Also, I love how protective he is of his sister (though not to the point of getting out of bed to go down to breakfast with her, haha), again it's something I can relate to so well! :) seriously, you are so good at making your characters relatable. It's pretty amazing.

I loved the chats with Professor Spinnet, and her friends, too. It's so true that a Professor would get involved after that kind of incident, especially when it's a student like Rose who's not known for it, and I liked the little mentions of 'I wouldn't want to have to call your mother' and 'you can always talk to me'. They're such classic teacher lines and give Professor Spinnet so much authenticity as a teacher. Plus, that game with her friends - Secret Circle - sounds so much fun to play! It reminds me a lot of Never Have I Ever and similar games :)

Your writing in this, as always, is so so good. Your dialogue is super-strong, your description is lovely, especially how you describe emotions, and I love the style of this. It's so suited to the characters, and to the themes and setting of the story too.

This is going so so well - I'm so curious to know what happens and I'm so hooked into the story. You really know how to work your cliffhangers ;)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #17, by Aphoride It's Kind of a Funny Story.

11th March 2015:
Joey! I'm back! :D I'd ask if you missed me, but we both know the answer to that ;) Sorry for the delay in getting back to this, the residence internet decided to take a long walk off a short cliff yesterday evening. Anyway, I'm here now!

I love your characterisation of Rose. I know I said that before (I think), but it's true! She's such a lovely character, and you write her in such a way that it's so easy to identify with her. She's so real, and all her reactions are so real - like, I know so many people, myself included, who'd react like that, or similarly, if they found themselves in the same situation. Personally, you'd have to remove anything potentially harmful from the room before letting Albus in to see me if I were Rose :P I like as well how Scorpius does make her think, too, with the unusual behaviour at the beginning; it speaks very nicely to Hermione's intelligence coming through Ron's tact (or lack of) :P

I love your... okay, so I was about to list off all of your characters I love in this and then realised I would name them all, so I love them all, mkay? They're all so real, again, which I love about characters, and they all are so multi-faceted, and ambiguous and almost unpredictable because of it. I love Scorpius, of course, and how he seemed to want to suggest that maybe they could be friends, or something like that, and how he was so competitive when she told him it was impossible because of him. And Al... being so terrified - and rightfully so! - though not quite ashamed of his actions, and sort of trying to pass off blame onto Dom, rather than accept it. And her friends, too, who are so sure they know her better than she knows herself. They're all so, so good, and I'm looking forward to seeing how they develop later on, too - because I have a feeling you're going to take them in interesting ways ;)

A little thing, but I liked how Rose chose not to dump Albus in it with Scorpius, too. It was a strangely sweet moment (right before she chewed him out, haha).

Your writing in this is so lovely, too. You're always so good at making things emotive, and really injecting emotion into a story - Rose's distrust of Scorpius comes through so well at the beginning, and her doubtfulness at the end with her friends making the bet. I don't think I need to tell you the anger came through, haha ;) I love the way you use Rose's internal voice, too - it's such a gorgeous way of writing and you do it so, so well.

(Btw, we should totally swap beautiful blonde boys at some point. Mine are all gay, and yours is at least more interested (or seems to be) in women than mine are :P)

You've left this on such a cliffhanger, too - I'm so glad this swap is for five chapters, because that last line is so great (like, seriously, it could have come out of a conversation with me and my sisters, it's perfect), and there's the whole hook with the bet between Rose and her friends, and Rose and Scorpius' unspoken one. It's so, so good, and so tantalising a point to leave it on.

Imma see you in the next chapter ;)

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #18, by Aphoride Wake up.

9th March 2015:
Hey there, Joey! :) Stopping by for our review swap - sorry this is so late, I've been swamped by uni stuff and arranging things (younger sisters are useless, I tell you! :P), but I'm here now! :D

You know, it's weird, with all the popularity of Next Gen, I don't actually read that much of it (then again, that might not be weird considering this is me, but who knows? :P), especially not much Scorose. But, that being said, considering how much of your stuff I read that I like, it's pretty much given that I'll like this too :)

I love the way you've characterised Rose and Scorpius so far - how she's the only one he picks on, for no discernible reason, and how he seems to target her but does also have a human side - like he's fine with other people, popular, and the moment in the corridor when his face softened... all seems pretty indicative so far to a hate-to-love kinda romance, but you've put your own spin on it, as always, which is so great! Plus, you avoid the whole bad boy/good girl thing, and especially with the end scene, it's debatable whether or not they even actually like each other (coz Albus is a very suspicious kid :P Very suspicious indeed! - and surprisingly unsubtle for a Slytherin, haha).

I'm so suspicious about what Albus did - the words you use, the description of their feelings and actions, seems to suggest that potentially there was more than just alcohol involved - either that or Rose is just a real lightweight :P I'm so curious to see where you go with it in the next chapter - what happens when they realise what went on the night before, how they feel about it and so on... I can't imagine Rose is going to be overjoyed/excited or anything, but I'll wait and see :)

I love as well how Rose isn't just going to let him walk all over her and doesn't, from the very beginning - it's such a great reaction from her, so like Ron actually :P - and it's one of those things you don't necessarily always see: the bullied standing up for themselves on their own, without almost bullying themselves, you know. Again, I really wanna see how she deals with Scorpius if he continues to bully her, and what happens if it goes on.

Poor Rose, she's got a lot on her plate - even without the cousins constantly trying to set her up with every other bloke :P

You write background characters so well, too - I loved the little mentions of James and Fred, how cheeky they are and so much like their namesakes, and Albus with his sly smiles and Quidditch obsession, and Dom with her boy obsession. They all feel so real - but then all of your characters do, all the time, so it's no surprise there ;)

The only thing I would say is that you have a tendency to repeat 'I' a lot at the beginning of sentences and it's a bit repetitive, to me. Maybe you could try rephrasing a couple of things so keep it less? The rule I always try to follow (emphasis on 'try', haha) is only use the same beginning word once in a paragraph, unless it's for effect ;) But then, I'm pretty picky about this things, so feel free to ignore! ;)

Anyway, I love this - it's a great beginning so far, and it's a lovely twist on a Next Gen Hogwarts story, and I'm so excited to see where it goes! Hopefully it won't take me so long to get to the next four reviews :P

Aph xx

 Report Review

Review #19, by Veritaserum27 It's Kind of a Funny Story.

7th March 2015:
Hiya Joey,

I'm here for #2 of our swap. Aaaand I have to confess something. I've already read up through chapter 5! I just wanted to keep reading your story and I couldn't stop! I NEVER do that. I stick to a strict regiment of read-review-read-review so that I can write out my reactions as they happen, but I simply couldn't help myself in this case. This story is addicting and I think I'll feel incomplete if you don't finish it. So... promise me you'll keep at this, yeah?

You wrote Rose's realization of waking up in the hospital room really well. In fact, I really, really like her character in this story. She thinks she knows herself really well, when deep down, she hasn't got a clue as to why she's having all these emotions. I also like that she's admitting slightly that Scorpius just might have feelings for her - I get a little frustrated when it's obvious and the main character doesn't even see it a little bit.

And I shall use my earnings to pay for your first 'I heart Scorpius Malfoy' tattoo!

My favorite line. By far, in this chapter.

So. Now let's talk about the horrible, inexcusable, violation of trust and consent that Albus and Dominique committed. I don't think Rose is nearly angry enough. They took away her free will - not to mention they nearly killed her. I have a feeling (and I have read ahead, so I'm totally cheating here), that as the realization seeps in, Rose will express herself more thoroughly. I also think you're being realistic because Rose is a teenager and a lot of times, teenagers are still learning what is a big deal and what isn't. This is a really, really big deal. I know Al thought he was doing it for good reasons, but it's never okay to drug someone.

I liked the conversation at the end with Rose and her roommates. Maybe she's starting to see that she's always been a bit prejudiced when it comes to Scorpius Malfoy.

I'll probably get to the next review in a day or so. So happy we did this swap!

♥ Beth

 Report Review

Review #20, by toomanycurls The Nightmare Before Christmas

6th March 2015:
Albus and Scorpius' argument at the beginning is weird/interesting. I'm not sure what to make of Scorpius' comment about Rose liking him enough at teh party and knowing there was a love potion involved. I kind of wonder when he figured out the love potion thing (or was it Albus telling Scorp it was a love potion). I really can't blame Rose for checking out of the day and seeking refuge in her dorm.

Roxanne! I love how you're including more cousins in the story and giving them each unique relationship to each other. Her gossip sharing is quite revealing - it's nice that she's sharing the information from a place of concern rather than being malicious. And, yeah, what she shared was somehow not a surprise to me, but quite cruel for people to be saying those things. I kind of laughed that the rumor Scorpius and Rose were dating for a few years was worse than the pregnancy rumor.

Rose's confrontation with Scorpius made me cheer a bit but I *still* feel like he needs to have a moment to say what he needs to say. Though, he kind of bungled it by starting off with 'you're not very nice' he would have gotten further without that added commentary.

One thing I like about this story is the mix of quite serious school drama and the lighthearted friendship moments between Rose and her friends. I loved their 'are we school friends' moment. I'v e never thought of that for friends but I can see how that happens. Also, I need something to happen with Hugo and the bullies. Not necessarily Rose being violent with them, but school suspension would be nice.

Dom's confrontation with Rose was weird. I mean, it's been months since the party and she's just now worried about being told on? I really don't think she and Al are sorry though.

Great chapter! I'm excited for the next one.

-Rose

 Report Review

Review #21, by Veritaserum27 Wake up.

5th March 2015:
Joey!

WHY HAVE I GONE SO LONG WITHOUT READING THIS STORY?!? I'M KICKING MYSELF AND I CAN'T BELIEVE IT!

Okay. I'm done with the caps lock now. I needed to get that out of my system. Joey. You uber-talented, genius, amazing writer- you...

This is so different than your other stories and I'm just in awe right now. I totally did not see this one coming.

I love your Rose. She is so like Ron, it makes me giggle. Although, it does seem that Scorpius antagonizes her quite a bit, I have to remind myself that the story is from her point of view, so that may be a bit skewed.

I suspected that it was because Scorpius fancied Rose, but I thought the comment "I simply don't like you," was taking it a bit far.

In addition to Rose, I think you've done a superb job on all of your characterization here. Dom is the forever flirt, Albus is a kind soul (but determined - he is a Slytherin), James and Fred are pranskters.

I also really like your dialog. The group has a comfortable way of talking to each other - and that adds to Rose's feeling that Hogwarts is her home.

Ok. I did not see this coming. Rose seems so set on her studies - I'm wondering if Albus put something in her drink. Hmmm... Great job with the description at the end. But - I'm still blown away by all of this. I have to read the next chapter. I'm wondering if that has something to do with the title "Wake Up Rose"

Great job Joey!

♥ Beth

 Report Review

Review #22, by Siriusly21 The Art of Getting By

5th March 2015:
Why is rose angrier with her cousins ? They kinda forced her to loose her virginity to someone she doesn't like! That's illegal

Author's Response: Rose is very angry with her cousins. She definitely comes to see just how terrible what they did was, over time. They absolutely did something entirely wrong though, that is for sure.

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #23, by BellaLestrange87 Wake up.

4th March 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap! (And I'm going to review as I go, so this might be the rambliest review you'll ever receive.)

I really like the start of this chapter. Rose's strong "I hate him" drew me in immediately as I want to find out exactly why she hates Scorpius and what he ever did to her. The line "to think I thought my dad was exaggerating about Malfoys" makes me think it's something bad, as I can't really imagine Ron having anything positive to say about that family. Either way, I definitely want to read on.

I love the personalities you've carved out here. Dominique seems to be the perfect blend of Bill and Fleur, having a recognizable bit of each of them. I especially like Rose's comments about how Dominique seems to go through boys like that. And the fact that Albus seems very uncomfortable made me laugh, as well as Rose's comment about Dominique's study habits and Albus's sly way of leaving so he didn't have to listen to any more fawning.

Your Scorpius/Rose interaction was really well done. I could really tell that they didn't like each other (at all) and knew where to send their verbal jabs when they bickered. Again, you keep drawing me in and I want to know just what Scorpius did to Rose.

I love how Rose isn't swayed at all by Dominique's argument that Scorpius is actually a nice guy. Sure, he might be nice - to other people - but all that really matters to Rose is whether he treats her nicely, and he doesn't. She's right: friendly joking and banter - like Rose making light fun of Dominique on the train on the way to Hogwarts - is okay, constant verbal bullying is not. I love how she's not letting him roll all over her, either.

I really liked the little comments Rose made about her family, specifically the part about how you definitely wouldn't want Fred and James to teach tact. I feel like that would go horribly wrong.

Why do I feel like something is going to go wrong at the party in the Slytherin common room? Scorpius is going to be there, probably, since it's his house, and Rose says she's going to go. I feel like there's going to be a problem or they're going to end up hating each other even more than they already do.

The Scorpius/Rose interaction (take two) was captivating, again. I feel like Scorpius is putting up a bit of a front here and has feelings more complex than 'I simply don't like you'. My explanation for that is that if he genuinely didn't like her, he would immediately have said so, rather than softening before putting his guard up again.

I love how Rose, while being single, isn't letting that fact take over her life. She isn't obsessively hunting after a boy, for example, and she isn't sitting around moping because nobody wants to date her. I like her even more - we even have matching philosophies: a boyfriend would be nice, but it's not necessary.

Oh. Oh. Oh. Oh. I definitely was not expecting that. At all. I feel like Rose is going to kick herself big time once she realizes what she did. It's going to change her relationship with Scorpius, too (for the better or, probably, for the worse). That being said, you wrote her under the influence really well. I've never drunk that much, but Rose's muddled thinking and list of bad ideas sounds exactly like stuff someone who's drunk as much as she had would think up.

I really enjoyed this chapter! A lot. I've heard a lot of good things about this story before and now I know why. If you ever want another review swap, let me know!

~Olivia

 Report Review

Review #24, by pointless_proclamations The Outsiders

13th January 2015:
JOSEPH!

THIS CHAPTER WAS SO ADORABLE AND AWESOME AND HILARIOUS AND I LOVE IT!!

Again, you've explored their brother-sister dynamic and it's remarkably sweet. It's Rose's turn to play angry, protective, super supportive sibling--it's all very endearing.

Okay, I completely understand why she refuses to talk to Scorpius, but I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY SHE DOESN'T TALK TO HIM ALREADY! Seriously, what happened that night, Joseph? I propose an intensely uncomfortable conversation because it feels absolutely necessary, but I suppose you've already thought about that, haven't you?

And that flashback! It did provide loads of clarity and I really like that changed perspectives. Your explanation of the many situational variables was great! It's a perfect example of a domino effect. They wouldn't hate each other, if he hadn't called her Red, which wouldn't have happened, if he wasn't fascinated by her hair and if he was nervous, which wouldn't have happened if Draco didn't say what he did, but that wouldn't have happened if the Malfoys weren't Death Eaters and also if she didn't have that bias based on what Ron's said, which wouldn't have happened if Draco wasn't a bully which wouldn't have happened if his parents raised him a bit better. . . anyway, it's Voldemort's fault, right?

'I’m most interested in the only member of the trio that possesses an inside voice.' BAHAHA! I love that line. She would look the safest human being to converse with for an introvert like him.

KEEP WRITING, DARN IT!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Maelody The Outsiders

12th January 2015:
Looks like I didn't have to push after all! Who would have thought the day that I find this story is the day you enlighten us with a chapter four! YAY!

Anyway, I do like this chapter! It comes off heavy with Hugo's coming out, but out of all the characters that it could be, that makes sense with him. I don't know why, if I were to go off canon in my head, it would be Hugo that comes out as gay. It's just doubly adorable that he's seeing the Scamander boy. :3

I love how Rose was so accepting from the get-go, and promises to kill the boys that are making fun of him. Her approach to the three boys couldn't have been done better, either. It's what I would have done for my brother.

As for the bit in Scorpius' view, I sort of feel bad for him. He didn't mean anything by it, and I think even she sort of knew it. She just happened to guess who he was. But he took that out of the wrong context and continued to open his big mouth until he made all matters worse. I'd like to see a chapter like this in the same scene under Rose's view. I'm sure she had reason to be upset in the first place. Maybe Albus was already picking on her hair. As for the girl with strange curly hair that was blonde/red, was that supposed to be Victoire? I would assume so since Dom is in the same year and wouldn't know if they would love Hogwart or not.

Either way, I'm just so super happy chapter four came so soon for me! Now I can just threaten.err, ask you nicely to post a chapter five at a decent time! ;)

Thanks for the update! It was quite delightful!

~Mae

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>