Reading Reviews for To the Very End
  
26 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Tris  To the Very End

1st October 2014:
This story is so beautiful on so many levels. It also made me a little sad to think of George without Fred (it always does) but I like the idea of himfinding a way to cope with friends and his wife, and also that he is still prancing after all this time... And always. Love how realistic this is!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed it! Thank you for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Anon To the Very End

17th August 2014:
Loved it. Sad in places but in
a good way.

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Pink Syssa To the Very End

16th August 2014:
I love this one!! Very unique and sweet!!

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Felicia To the Very End

11th August 2014:
very touching.
and thank you for writing this story.

Author's Response: You're very welcome. I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Thank you very much for dropping me a line, it really is so encouraging.

 Report Review

Review #5, by anon To the Very End

8th August 2014:
excellent, highly original, a refreshing read from paint by numbers fics

Author's Response: Oh my goodness, thank you for that. I know exactly what you mean too! So glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Crescent Moon  To the Very End

22nd July 2014:
I love this. Really sweet and very well written.

Author's Response: Thank you for leaving me a review! It's always nice to know someone enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #7, by zealousVisionary To the Very End

12th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Wow, this story was just so adorable- I loved everything about it. It made me so sad but also so happy and I just... wow.

Seriously though, this was amazing. I love the idea of wizarding retirement home- I find it hrd to imagine George and Lee being in one, but still, you wrote it so well. It was so sad to read about Lee forgetting things and having to use a walker, but I loved to read about how George and Lee worked together to help each other.

Your writing in this piece was lovely as well- it flowed, and I just loved the dialogue. You wrote George and Lee's friendship so well, too- I love how they were still pranking people, just like when they were young.

Great job on this story. Though some of this fic was pretty heartbreaking, the ending was wonderful and made me smile.

Author's Response: Oh, goodness. Thank you!

I can see what you mean, but I figured if their wives were in declining health they'd go in together with them, for the care. I knew a few older people who elected to go into assisted living nursing homes to make sure that their significant other was taken care of.

Thank you so much for this review! I'm so glad you enjoyed it!


 Report Review

Review #8, by Elenia To the Very End

11th July 2014:
Aww, those two are just adorable, even when they're so old and in a retirement home. Still up to their mischievous ways, I see ^^

But gosh, it was so sad too. That moment when Lee couldn't remember his wife had died, and George had to remind him, it broke my heart to see him come to the conclusion and the tears filling his eyes. That's such a horrible thing and one wishes it only happened in stories like this but sadly it's too common in real life.

This story was beautiful and your writing is flawless. Such a lovely and melancholy little glimpse into their lives. I'm so glad they still had each other and could find joy in their life until the end!

Great work!

-Hanna

Gryffindor - House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Yes, it was happy, and then sad, and then not so sad. I figured that real friends are there for you when you laugh AND when you cry, so I couldn't have a great friendship one-shot without exploring both.

Thank you so much for this review! It really means a lot for people to stop by and let me know what they think. +]


 Report Review

Review #9, by randomwriter To the Very End

11th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Hello :) I
I'm reviewing entries for the house cup and I came across this. Now I'm wondering why I've never read any of your work before. I'm not the best when it comes to short and speedy reviews, but I'll try for the House Cup, so I'm sorry about this.

What can I say about this story that doesn't come out as an incoherent gush fest?! Ah, I don't know. I give up.

I LOVE THIS STORY TO THE MOON AND BACK! I LOVE IT AS MUCH AS LEE LOVES DARLA *CRIES*

This was really sad, but sweet at the same time. It killed me to see George and Lee in a retirement home like that. I highly doubt they'd ever be in one. Also, in general thinking about them, old and close to death was pretty sad. But the idea was really cool, nevertheless. Now I want you to expand this and write about various characters of the story in retirement homes, because this was just so good :')

I love how George and Lee still share pretty much the same relationship. Only thing is that that friendship has grown so much over years. There's so much more depth to it now. I know that George will miss Fred for as long as he lives, but I'm glad he has Lee with him.

The way you wrote those old folk was so spot on! From Mrs Rencraw being loud, batty and complaining to the looks that they received from the other old people, everything was so perfect. It's exactly how old people would behave! Also, talking about 'the deplorable fashions of the young'. I cracked up at that. Old people are always doing that!

I like how you ended it as well. It shows that though they are old and they have gone through so much, they are still young at heart, thinking about various ways and means to prank people. I'd love to read more about how the others react to their pranks.

This story was so well written. Excellent characterisation and story idea. It also flowed really well and was easy to read.

Overall, this was such a great read. I laughed and chuckled here and there, but I was also a little sad in parts. Still, it was a perfect balance. Good job! :)

Author's Response: Haha! I'm a newb (compared to the people who have been on here FOREVER!) It's alright. +]

I'll take length over speed anytime. It's always nice to get paragraphs back. +D

I figured if the wives needed care they just couldn't give, it would be possible they'd willingly go into an assisted living type nursing home, but I definitely see where you're coming from. So much family!

Expand it!? No one has proposed such an idea. Hmm... maybe after I get a few WIPs crossed off the list I'll come back. Haha. +] Tis definitely an idea though.

I love old people! I love to find humor in the ones like Mrs. Rencraw, and I especially love old people like Lee and George. I'm glad you thought I did them well!

I'm so glad that you enjoyed it all! As he is one of my favorite characters, I was a little apprehensive about writing George, so it really is nice to know you thought the characterization was on point.

Thank you so so much for this lengthy review! They're my favorite, and I love hearing what people think so much!



 Report Review

Review #10, by emmacweasley To the Very End

10th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Hi! This was such an adorable idea, though it really did kill me to see George and Lee so old and in a retirement home. I don't imagine that they'd ever actually be placed in one, but the idea of a wizarding retirement home is fantastic! Surely they'd have to exist, right? Wizarding folk, though they do seem to be more able in their old age, need a little assistance at one point or another. And the fact that George and Lee are still up to their old ways - finding ways to prank their friends and retirement-mates in new and amusing ways each day, that's just great. Of course they would. The prose in this was very well constructed, and the description of Lee's dementia was heartbreaking, though it's lovely that George is there for him like that. Great Job!

Emma

Author's Response: I figured, if they ever thought that they might be a burden, they would put themselves in one. Like, I have a great aunt who lives in an assisted living type place, and she went there willingly, but I totally get what you mean. +]

I'm glad you liked the structure and description. As one of my favorite characters I was a little apprehensive about it, but it worked out well!

Thank you so much for this review, you're awesome. +]


 Report Review

Review #11, by ThatOneGirl To the Very End

9th July 2014:
Oh god. You have no idea how much this broke my heart. It's so beautiful to feel words that come straight from the soul like this. This is just wow. No words.

Author's Response: Awh! Thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed it.

 Report Review

Review #12, by kenpo To the Very End

8th July 2014:
Oh my god.

Oh my god.

This.

Oh my god.

This was so fantastic.

(Does that count as my five lines? JUST KIDDING YOU'RE NOT GONNA GET AWAY THAT EASY)

I'm just sitting here completely in awe of how amazing of a story this is. I'm going to try to say everything I liked about it without this review turning into a huge rambling mess.

I'll try. No promises.

First, the plot. The idea. You talked about the story in the CR, and I loved the idea then and I love it now. An old George and Lee messing around is just so... perfect. Brilliant. Then the way that you wrote it... you just took that idea and made it even more wonderful.

I loved the character of Mrs. Rencraw. She's nasty, paranoid, and horrible. Setting her against George and Lee just makes their cheerfulness stand out even more, and makes me love them more and love you more and this story more. Have I mentioned that this story is amazing?

I was so sad, but so happy that I was sad. This easily could've just been a lovely little fluffy story, and I would've loved it like that, but you added an entire other level to it by bringing in some sadness. By doing that, you rienforced how George cares for him. You shows again how close they are. Watching someone lose ther memory like that isn't easy, and the fact that George has stuck around speaks volumes about his character.

It's also just really sad and I'm sad about it, but also completly in love with everything about this story.

This story. Is perfect. I'm in love. I'm jealous. I'm proud. I'm just... totally in love.

Fantastic job.

-Georgia

-House Cup 2014 Review-

Author's Response: Bahahahaha! Every time I read this, I laugh. +]

Haha. I envision Mrs. Rencraw like Mrs. Havesham, only marginally less dramatic. +] I'm glad you enjoyed her stint.

I figured that friends are there when you laugh, and best friends are there for when you cry. I figured I had to do the thing justice. +]

You're wonderful. Thank you so much for this review!!


 Report Review

Review #13, by anythingcouldhappen To the Very End

8th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

:(

This made me so sad.

But in a good way!

It's heartbreaking to see Lee so old and broken down, but the fact that George is still there for him is really sweet. And their mischief! Of course they're still at it, even when they're elderly! You did a phenomenal job of writing them so old--definitely keeping them in character but also adding little things that would have added up through the years. Even though it was painful to see them so old, I love Lee and George being in the same nursing home. It's so fitting :')

Basically, you jus did a wonderful job of fitting the prompt! I loved it!

Sam

Author's Response: Thank you! I figured your friends are there for the laughs, but your best friends are there for you when you cry too, so it couldn't just be a nice little fluffy thing about pranks. +]
Though I was tempted. I'm so glad you liked it!

Thanks for such a lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #14, by nott theodore To the Very End

8th July 2014:
Hello there! Congratulations on your story making the front page of the archives - I really enjoyed it!

This was both quite sad and really cute at the same time. I love the idea of Lee and George staying friends to the very end - I always imagine that after the war, Lee stepped in and helped George out with the running of the joke shop while he tries to recover from the death of Fred. So seeing them here in the retirement home together was really sweet and I loved seeing them still joking around.

I liked the fact you didn't ignore the facts of getting old, though, like the way that George is struggling to move and Lee forgets that his wife has died, because it makes it more realistic. The way that the manager in the home had to just accept their pranks made me laugh, and I thought this was a sweet story to show how their friendship has lasted through everything.

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: I'm so glad that you enjoyed it! Realistic is always something I strive for, and I figure real friends are there for you through the laughs, yeah, but they're there for you when you when you cry too, so it couldn't just be fluff about them in a retirement home. It had to have some depth.

Thank you so much for the lovely review and congratulations! I certainly wasn't expecting it, and it's good to know people enjoyed this!


 Report Review

Review #15, by maskedmuggle To the Very End

8th July 2014:
Hey!

Wow, I loved this so incredibly much, and I honestly can't even deal with how sad and happy this is at the same time. I loved the plot of this story, and I adored your characterisation of George and Lee. It felt so incredibly realistic because you captured how they were physically a lot older, whilst still maintaining their sense of humour, but also their fragility in having both lost their wives (that was so, so tragic). I really thought you captured their friendship so well, showing them still playing pranks on others at their ripe old ages, and being there for each other, comforting each other at the end. I also liked how you then ended the story on a positive note with them off to play another prank - it was just a wonderful way to remember that despite their age, their youth was still with them (if that makes sense to you). This was so beautifully written and I really, really enjoyed reading this.

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Yay! Fred and George are my favorite canon, so it's wonderful to hear that you think my characterization was good. +] I've always been nervous writing them.

My friend says "We'll be best friends until we're in a nursing home. Then we'll be NEW best friends," and it's kinda our way of making light of the situation. I changed that a little, and figured that real friendship is more than having a good time together. It's sharing the bad times too.

Thank you so much for the review! So glad you enjoyed it!


 Report Review

Review #16, by Veritaserum27 To the Very End

8th July 2014:
Hello!

I'm working through all of the Event 3 entries! This was really sweet and sad at the same time. On one hand, It was very comforting to see that Lee and George had made it to a ripe old age. On the other hand, and this is the caveat for anyone who out-lives their friends and family, they have had to deal with issues such as the loss of their loved ones, getting older and losing faculties. You have done a fabulous job with a realistic portrayal of what it is like to age and see your friends age past you. My heart is heavy for Lee and George - I loved the title of this. It could have so many meanings. I also loved that George and Lee never lost their love of pranking others! I can totally see them wreaking havoc in a nursing home right up until the very end!

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: I would love to work in the nursing home where those two were! I think it would be amazing! I'm really glad to hear you think it was realistic. That's something I always strive for, and this is a pretty difficult concept to convey appropriately, especially as I have never known someone to deal it with it personally.

Thank you so much for this lovely! And kudos on reading all the entries!


 Report Review

Review #17, by UnluckyStar57 To the Very End

7th July 2014:
Oh my goodness, all the feels just happened...

This story just went from happy and silly to sad and kind of deep, and I'm still not okay with it. I don't know if I can forgive you for that!

...Okay, I can forgive you, but only because George and Lee are so adorable that it's hard to resist their charm. Even as old codgers. :)

old!George and old!Lee are too much. I can totally picture them wreaking havoc in a nursing home together, and the way you described them made the picture even more vivid. Even in their old age, they're still committing "crimes" and pulling pranks. :D

Oh, but I think that the day is coming when Lee won't be so prone to pranks anymore, and that makes me so, so sad. Your transition from the light, happy scene to the serious issue of Lee's dementia and hand-wobbliness was incredibly seamless, and I applaud you for that. It happened almost before I could get over the lighthearted humor of the frozen milk. :/ But thanks for the feels! :)

A few points of criticism:

1. When the nurse is talking to George, she says, "Why do torture Ms. Rencraw like that?". I think that there should be a "you" in between "do" and "torture."
2. When you wrote "Angela," did you mean "Angelina?" Or did George marry someone who wasn't Angelina Johnson?
3. Lee and George's discussion about the "deplorable fashions of the young" was only in passing, but I feel it's worth mentioning... I don't know, I think that George would be interested in the new, crazy fashions. He was a businessman before his retirement, so he always had his finger on the pulse of the customers' wants and needs. So in my opinion, he would appreciate innovation in that field. But that's just what I think. :)

Great story! :D

House Cup 2014 Review

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Yay for forgiveness! I'm glad the transitions weren't jarring. I had quite a lot of mood/tone changes in not so may words. +]

1. Yes. Darn speed writing.
2. OH MY!!! HOW DID I NOT NOTICE? HOW DID NO ONE ELSE NOTICE BEFORE THIS!! (That's a little embarrasing.)
3. I do see your point here. George most likely would've celebrated anything he felt was ridiculous. It was really just a quick nod to the stereotypical 'old people' quirks.

Thank you so much for this review! I'm glad you liked it, and thanks for pointing out that Angelina thing!


 Report Review

Review #18, by evil little devil To the Very End

7th July 2014:
This was very touching. It makes me very happy to imagine the two of them remaining friends through to old age, and then continuing to create mischief wherever they go. This is a very good portrayal, because I can definitely imagine them doing exactly these things. It's a very touching portrayal of old age as well, both the difficulties and the upsides (of being able to create even more mischief!). The part where Lee was remembering his wife made me tear up a little, and George's support of him was heartwarming. This was a lovely little one-shot!

- House Cup 2014 Review.

Author's Response: My friend always says, "We'll be best friends until we're in a retirement home. And then we'll be NEW best friends!" So, I kinda took inspiration from that. I'm glad you thought I was true to their characterization! Fred and George are some of my favorites, so I'm always nervous writing them!

Thank you so much for this! I'm glad you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #19, by ohmymerlin To the Very End

6th July 2014:
Aw, poor Lee :'(

Although, I liked how he and George were still causing mischief, hehe! So typical of them!

I think you also described Lee's illness very well and I liked that you included that they still sometimes got a laugh out of it, they were never really serious people and I can totally believe that they often made fun of themselves for being old :P

And poor Lee, thinking that his wife was still alive :'( I feel so sorry for him but thankfully George is a good friend. And it made me really sad to see, 'He only had to deal with the loss of Angela once'

So not only was it sad that Angelina died, but it was such a sad line. To lose someone once is bad enough, and just that small, simple line had so much impact to me. I have no idea why, it was just so powerful in my opinion.

This was a lovely one-shot! You did such an excellent job of it!

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014

Author's Response: Haha. I figured if any two people on the face of the planet laughed at their old age more than worrying, it would be those two. +]

The moment I realized this was something that could happen to George, I know I had to put that line in there. It was just such a profound realization to me, that that would be something you hoped for. I'm glad you liked it.

Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #20, by Beeezie To the Very End

6th July 2014:
Hey! I'm here to review for Ravenclaw for the 2014 House Cup. :) This was a great entry for Event 3 - the idea intrigued me, but while the beginning was something along the lines of what I was expecting, where you took it definitely wasn't - which is very much not a criticism.

A simply fluffy story about George and Lee making trouble would have been fun to read, no question, but the ways in which you emphasized that yes, they are getting truly, tangibly old really made this a deeper and more realistic story. Lee's hands shaking, his memory problems, George's hearing problems - they all really added to the narrative in a way that made it far more compelling than just a prankster fic (fun though that would be as well!).

I think the part that stood out to me the most, though, was when George comments that he'd only had to deal with losing Angela once - it really brought home how heartbreaking it was for Lee to cope with losing his wife over and over again, because he forgot about it.

This was really an excellent story. It wasn't quite what I expected - it was deeper and richer and explored human nature and the aging process far more than I'd initially expected, which I loved. Great job! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really proud of this, it turned out a lot better than originally expected, especially for speed writing.

I'm not good at fluffy. I try so hard, but this is how it turns out every time! Lol.

Yes. That part... yeah. When I had that realization writing it, that there might be a day when I have to go through that like it was new, it gave me chills, so I figured it was a good thing to include.

Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #21, by momotwins To the Very End

28th June 2014:
I love it. It's funny and made me tear up a bit too, which is a combination I love. So sad to think of the two lonely old men in the retirement home, but also so funny to imagine them pranking their fellow inmates. I can just see it, and I hope it's really how they go! It's just so perfect. Lovely job on this one. :)

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed it! Thank you! +]

 Report Review

Review #22, by Infinityx To the Very End

23rd June 2014:
This was such a touching story! I've never read a story about them during their old age before, and this was a remarkable read! You've captured their personalities extremely well, and done complete justice to their mischievous sides. Haha, Mrs. Rencraw seems like the perfect person to play a prank on, and I love how they haven't let go of their ways even after growing old.

When I saw that this was a story about George and Lee, I was expecting a lot of humor for sure. But I was surprised at the solemn tone it carried as well. I love the way you've tied in the events of Darla's death, and Lee's deteriorating memory to the plot line. It was seamless and so touching.

There were just a few spelling errors which you can get cleaned up in no time if you read through this once. Great job!

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it! I just had to include their antithesis in the story, a snobby old woman for them to have fun with. +]

I originally thought it would be just fluff, but when I got to thinking about it, your best friends share the good times and the bad with you, so it didn't seem like a complete representation without a little strife mixed in. I'm glad you thought I handled it well. +]

Thanks for letting me know!


 Report Review

Review #23, by MargaretLane To the Very End

23rd June 2014:
LOVED the idea of this when you mentioned it in the common room. It's just so typical of the characters and such an unusual and humorous idea. I'm not usually a big humour fan, but this seemed perfect for the characters in question.

I'm already laughing at Mrs. Rencraw. Her name seems perfect too, for somebody so awkward. Did you intend that?

I also like the way you introduce a degree of pathos at the ravages of old age in with the fun. It gives this a reality and a depth it mightn't have had if it were JUST humorous.

And there's almost a sense of going full circle, with their getting in trouble with the authorities just as if they were schoolboys again.

And Lee says exactly what I was thinking!

Oh, yikes, that part about Lee's mind wandering is so sad. My gran's best friend developed Alzheimher's. Must be so sad to have those kind of conversations with your best friend.

Wow, this story is so much more serious and affecting than I imagined. I assumed it would be just humorous, but it's a lot deeper, while still keeping the characters' sense of fun.

Really well done.

Author's Response: Haha. I'm glad I didn't disappoint! I figured that friendship only got better with old age, so why not! Everyone jokes about being friends until they're in a nursing home, and then they'll be new friends. Haha. +]

Oh Mrs. Rencraw. I imagined her to be like Mrs. Havesham, but I couldn't use that name so I tried to come up with something sinister sounding yes.

Haha! I'm so happy you did this as you went. It's good to see that we're on the 'same page' so to speak.

Ah, yes. Well, you can't have a best friend without going through hard times. They're there for you no matter what, and I thought it important to show that like in the past, it isn't always just fun and games. I can't write something just humorous. +[ This was my best attempt. Lol

I'm so glad you liked it! Until next time


 Report Review

Review #24, by patronus_charm To the Very End

23rd June 2014:
Here for the review swap!

Ha, I loved this one-shot! I loved how grumpy the old people all were with this line ‘“You’ll kill us all,” she was yelling at the young aide behind the buffet table. “Putting out sour milk. That’s just what you’d like, isn’t it!”’ as it just reminded me of how the few times I’ve helped at events like this they were very fussy over milk. I especially loved how the two of them went and tried to get revenge on her, albeit in a nice way, because only they would do that and it was just so great.

The healers made me laugh a lot as it seemed as if they were enjoying the mischief of Fred and George too even if they couldn’t really admit it and I loved that :P

Being the Claw that I am, I loved how you went into detail about their system as it was actually really interesting to read as they really did have it down in typical George and Lee fashion. It’s actually really sad that I could go on and on reading about their technique and how everything worked but you just wrote it in such a funny and interesting way that I wanted more and more!

I really hope there is a sequel to this with the way you left it and go Ravenclaw!

-Kiana

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it so much! I just had to put the antithesis of Lee and George in there, because you know for every kind old soul there's a crotchity one too. Haha!

I figured if I were working there, I would LOVE them, so they should too. +]

I wanted to do more! I really did! Word limits are my nemesis.

Sequel? Hadn't thought of that. Maybe after I get a few of my WIPs done I'll come back to it. +] Not a bad idea at all.

Thanks for the swap!


 Report Review

Review #25, by CassiePotter To the Very End

22nd June 2014:
Hello!
Since our story titles are so similar, I had to come read this, and you definitely didn't disappoint! The relationship between George and Lee was so wonderfully written. You can feel how strong their friendship is, and even though we don't know what their lives were like in the time between the end of Deathly Hallows and this point in their lives, there's still no doubt that their relationship has only grown over time. The bond between them here is fantastic. The end when Lee couldn't remember that his wife had died made me really sad, though. I've seen family members go through the same thing, and it's a,ways heartbreaking to see them relive something so awful. You took a very difficult thing for a person to experience and handled it beautifully. I thought this story was excellent, and I'm so glad I read it! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: I'm so happy you enjoyed it! I figured that after loosing Fred, Angelina and Lee would be his main support that wasn't family. I mean, Lee even did the radio broadcast with them during the second war, so it's not like he disappeared off the face of the planet. I'm glad you could tell they were good friends, even if it was so short!

Yes, the wife part was very sad, but I wanted to show that George was there for him through good and the bad, like all good friends are, and I'm glad you thought I did the emotions justice. It really makes my day to hear that.

Thank you for a great swap! Until next time


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>