Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for The Start of Something
  
38 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MargaretLane Prompt 1 - Lily's Fairy

28th November 2014:
Love the first paragraph to this story. There's something about it that makes me smile and it also gives an introduction to how you are characterising fairies here.

And I like the comment about the magic box. It is such a clever way of showing how television might appear to a creature who has no familiarity with it.

I find it interesting that Harry and his family appear to have a TV. There's no reason they shouldn't, of course, but it doesn't seem to be common in the wizarding world, and while Harry is a Muggle, I doubt he got to see much TV as a child or at least, he probably only got to see what Dudley decided, so I doubt TV would be a big deal for him.

Love how the grown-ups are described as giants.

LOVE the ending and how the fairy thinks about "the silly daddy."

 Report Review

Review #2, by MargaretLane Prompt 2 - When Darkness Fades

26th November 2014:
I really like the first line here. I'm assuming it's the end of the war and I can well imagine Harry'd be tired after everything he's been through.

I can also imagine he'd feel empty. He's spent the last two years trying to defeat this man, knowing he and only he can do so, and the four before that wondering exactly what is going on and knowing that for some reason Voldemort wants to harm him. And now it is over.

The part about him not knowing how to heal is sad, but hardly surprising.

And I like the acknowledgement there may be followers of Voldemort still out there. After all, things don't end neatly.

Oooh, that part about Hogwarts not being his home anymore is creepy. It makes sense though. The place that has been his home for so long has now become a battleground, a place he almost died and that some of those he cared about - Remus, Fred - DID die.

Hmm, that's interesting about Theodore Nott running away. Not many people would do that.

It sounds like you've created a pretty interesting back story to Theodore Nott. He is a rather interesting character, since we know little about him other than that his father was tied up with the Death Eaters. It leaves plenty of possible speculations.

And I'm wondering if the Aurors who took his father did so when the Ministry was under Voldemort's control or not. If not, why would they try to take a teenage boy who has committed no crimes and if so, why would they take a man who appeared to be on Voldemort's side. Interesting.

 Report Review

Review #3, by alicia and anne Prompt 3 - Neverending

12th August 2014:
Aw Mickey! :D

Poor Seamus! And it's great that Harry is there to talk to him and help him through it. I like to think that Harry and Ron still argue and I'm not suprised that they leave bruises on each other.

Awww Seamus and Dean planned their lifes around each other!! They're so cute!!

I honestly thought the line "Misses kicking him" Was "mimics kissing him" Hahahahahahaa

Awww I loved this! I love seeing what Dean and Seamus are up to after school.

Loved this!!

Author's Response: Mickey! It was nice to write him.

Harry is there for his friends to make them see sense. And he definitely still fights with Ron.

They have the most adorable bromance.

Haha! Now I wish it was.

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #4, by alicia and anne Prompt 1 - Lily's Fairy

12th August 2014:
I absolutely adore that this is written from a fairy's pov and you can see everything the way she sees it.

How cute are the Potter family? I just want to hug them all!

Awww Theo talks about fairies hehe.

This was so cute and adorable and I really hope that the fairy stays living in the Potter household!

Author's Response: It was odd and cool to write this from the point of view of a fairy.

*Hugs the Potters*

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #5, by alicia and anne Prompt 2 - When Darkness Fades

12th August 2014:
Oh Harry *hugs him*

I am so sad, you captured how I pictured him feeling after the battle beautifully. The way he feels about the castle, how it's not his home anymore. Awww he's having the starts of a panic attack. :(

Awww yay! Theo! He'll make Harry feel better (I'm totally listening to that song by Westlife just as they looked at each other and it's perfect for them too!)

Oh no! Theo! *cries* The tears are in his eyes.

Aw Theo likes him because he's weird!

I'm so glad that this had a happy ending to the chapter. They both deserve it! Because they're both awesome!

And I know that headcanon :P Hehehehe

Author's Response: *Hugs Harry, too*

I'm glad you liked it even if it was sad. It's how I see Harry being after the war.

Isn't that song just so perfect for them?

*Hugs Theo*

Of course Theo likes him because he's weird. :P

I had to give them some sort of happy ending.

You do know that headcanon. ;)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #6, by The Misfit Prompt 1 - Lily's Fairy

12th July 2014:
AWWW. TOO CUTE. Clary's analysis of the Potter family is adorable! The way she refers to Harry and Ginny as giants is funny (although if she's small enough to hide in a tree, they probably do seem like giants :P) and the way she compares Lily Flower to the flower she sleeps in at night is so sweet!

The conversation between Lily and Clary didn't feel one-sided, despite the fact only Lily could verbalise dialogue. You wrote Clary's actions so well, it felt like a two-way conversation ^.^ I love that you chose to write this chapter from a fairy's perspective, it's incredibly unique. :D Harry pretending to believe in fairies was sweet, and Clary's reaction to his "silliness" made me laugh. This is my favourite chapter of the three, definitely!

And her opinion that Lily would make a good fairy is heartwarming -- another fairy and I'd have been worried, but you' em characterised Clary so beautifully in such a short piece that I really love her. ^.^

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: I loved writing Clary so much. She was just so cute and lovely and sweet. For a fairy. :P

I'm glad you feel that way about their conversation. It was a little odd to write it one sided without it feeling one sided. So I'm happy it felt natural. :)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #7, by The Misfit Prompt 2 - When Darkness Fades

12th July 2014:
Sam ♥ I am here at last!

I love this. I love the way you begin this chapter, with Harry broken and tired and just needing to be alone with someone who understands. It's super narration, and it instantly gets the reader into Harry's mindset at that particular moment.

His interactions with Theo are great; the moment with the cigarette was amazing. You really managed to convey so many emotions with just a small action. And the handshake moment was fabulous -- particularly the funny ending with his joke :P

I spotted a typo: in the fourth paragraph, you say "slither of joy" -- I think you meant "sliver", although the typo does tie in well with the chapter ;)

This was amazing, and I am off to the next one now!

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hey!

The beginning was so hard for me to write. Because it made me so sad. I had to keep stopping and hug Harry. The poor boy. *hugs him again*

You know, I didn't even plan that bit with the cigarette. It just showed up. :P

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #8, by Elenia Prompt 3 - Neverending

12th July 2014:
How do you people do it really? How do you write three amazing stories in only a few days? Is there some sort of free talent delivery service I've never heard about?

I loved this so much! I'm very, very surprised to say this actually, but I think this was my favourite! And I was so certain nothing could beat that previous one!

But this moment was so real! It showed what a strong bond Seamus and Dean really have, and I loved how you'd combined that with their friendship with Harry. But that was not all! Then there was also some really good parenting advice! All three of them are great dads and their kids are super lucky to have them!

That ending sentence made me chuckle so much! It was a perfect way to end this lovely one-shot!

Excellent work!

-Hanna

Gryffindor - House cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: I just didn't stop writing. I was going on holiday and wanted them up before I left. :P

I think this was my favorite to write as well. It was just so... nice and easy. I'm so glad you liked it, too.

Thank you so much for leaving a review, Hanna!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #9, by Elenia Prompt 1 - Lily's Fairy

12th July 2014:
Aww, this was adorable!

I love little Lily Flower and her silly daddy and Clary the fairy. I love it that you wrote this from the POV of the magical creature! And most of all I just love every single thing about it!

Seriously, if I could hug this story, I would. I'm hugging my laptop and trying to make up for that, but it's not the same. This story just made me smile so much and all warm inside!

Harry Potter - the silly giant man. Why didn't Rowling ever write about that?

It's funny though, I'm not sure if I've ever read a HP story with fairies in it! One would think it was more common, but this really is the first one I've bumped into!

Your writing is amazing as always. Can I just hire you to write my stories for me (x but seriously though, all your descriptions actually made me feel all Christmas-sy inside!

Beautiful work!

-Hanna

Gryffindor - House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Awww, I'm so happy that you liked this so much. It was awesome to write. I loved writing Clary the fairy. *hugs it with you*

I feel like we missed out on Harry Potter the silly giant man. JKR should definitely do something about that. :P

I love your stories. You wouldn't want me, I'd ruin them.

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #10, by Elenia Prompt 2 - When Darkness Fades

12th July 2014:
Hey there, Sam ^^

It's been awhile since I've read anything of yours, something I really should do more often since your stories never disappoint me!

This was just as amazing as always. I loved the way you showed Harry's feelings and how exhausted he was! I can't even imagine! I can't blame him for seeking a moment alone, and his reasoning about the castle being his home no more made perfect sense!

I think you wrote both Harry and Theo really well, and their conversation was really interesting to follow.

It was definitely something I probably wouldn't have even thought of myself, but I think you did an excellent job with the whole idea and made it work really well with the situation. And I'm really glad you chose write about it for this prompt (:

The ending was brilliant and the irony of that sentence made me smile.

Great story!

-Hanna

Gryffindor - House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hey, Hanna!

Aww, thank you!

This scene with Harry was just always something I'd imagined. Nothing would be the same after the war. So when the prompt came, I just had to write it down. I'm gods you liked it.

Thank you so much for leaving a review.

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #11, by maskedmuggle Prompt 3 - Neverending

12th July 2014:
Hey!

This was great - I loved reading about Dean and Seamus' friendship through both of them going through the same thing of their kids unfortunately not getting along too well with each other. Their special friendship was also depicted really well through that bit informing us readers about how they'd even gone through big milestones together. I also liked how this was also about Harry's friendship with the two of them - all of it was depicted really well and I liked how close friends they all seemed to be. The dialogue between them was all written so well, and seemed very canon and in character for them. So this was a nice story to read, well done with it!

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hey, Charlotte!

I'm so good you liked that it was about Dean and Seamus. It was something I'd always imagined about them and it was nice to get it written down.

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #12, by maskedmuggle Prompt 1 - Lily's Fairy

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ooh this was a really cool story! I really loved that you chose to write about fairies, because whilst they're a really known creature, I've never read about one in HPFF before. I loved the plot of this, and it definitely felt very magical as it was at Christmas time, and with Clary revealing herself to Lily. Their interaction was just so sweet, and I especially loved your characterisation of Lily. She just seems so adorable and innocent! The dialogue between the two was also written really well. I also liked how you portrayed the whole Potter family as it made the whole story even more believable. All in all, I really thought the plot was quite different and unique and I enjoyed reading this!

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hey!

I looked through my Fantastic Beasts book and as soon as I saw fairy, I just got this idea. It had to be done.

Thank you so much for leaving a review! I'm glad you liked it!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #13, by maskedmuggle Prompt 2 - When Darkness Fades

12th July 2014:
Hey!

This was so interesting! I really liked your portrayal of the immediate post-war atmosphere here, especially on focusing from Harry's perspective. I've just realised I don't think I've really read any stories about Harry immediately after the war - usually they focus on a few days/weeks after, so your story actually gave me such a neat insight into how Harry might have reacted. I thought your characterisation of him was really great - I can totally believe that he needs some space away from it all - outside. I also thought Harry's thoughts were well written. It was such an unusual interaction between him and Theodore - but it worked. I have to agree with Harry in saying that it's pretty funny for Harry to say "I know who you are," given the irony of his own fame. Great job with this story! :)

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you! It's something I've always thought about and this is how I see Harry right after the war.

I'm really glad you think it worked between Harry and Theo and that you liked the end. I loved the end. :)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #14, by zealousVisionary Prompt 2 - When Darkness Fades

12th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

This was an interesting and unique story- different than most post-war stories I read, in a good way.

The way you described Harry's emotional state was really nice- that's honestly exactly how I would imagine him feeling- tired, needing time to think. It made the whole scene feel more real, and really drew me into the story.

I just loved Harry and Theo's interaction- it's really what made the story for me. The energy the characters have when talking to each other is perfect, and the ending is just wonderful. Awesome job on this story, the ending especially made me smile.

Author's Response: I'm so, so glad you liked it. It was something I've always wanted to write, it's just how I see immediate post war happening and it makes me happy to know that people like it.

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #15, by ginnypotter242 Prompt 2 - When Darkness Fades

12th July 2014:
This was interesting. I don't see a lot of stories about Theodore Nott, and I especially don't see a lot with an interaction between him and Harry.

The beginning of this was really good, and Harry's thoughts were great. They were perfect from the perspective of someone who had just fought such a war, like Harry did. His way of coping, by pretending everyone was just sleeping, was good- denial is a large factor when things like that happen. I think you really brought out Harry's emotions well, as well as everyone else's that were grieving.

Theo and Harry's conversation was pretty good as well. Discussing their issues and relative weirdness was really well written, and the interaction between the two was great. It brought a unique twist on the relationships Harry has with other characters- especially minor characters.

I really like how you wrote this, it was styled really well. And I love the line at the end with Harry saying :I know who you are" after they introduce themselves- a bit of irony there.

~Sara (House Cup 2014 Review)

Author's Response: Not many stories about Theo. even less about Theo and Harry. IT MAKES ME SO SAD! ;(

Sorry. It does, though.

It's something I'd always imagined happening and it was good to finally be able to write it. I'm so good you liked it.

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #16, by emmacweasley Prompt 3 - Neverending

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Well, it seems I was wrong about these three chapters being connected, wasn't I? :D it's quite alright, I'm loving this one-shot as well. It's a great scene to see - I've never thought a lot about Dean and Seamus after the war, in terms of their friendship. At times it did feel awkward that Harry was there almost as a mediator for them, that maybe they should have been able to figure these things out for themselves, but I got used to it. I thought it was quite a lovely read! great job!

emma

Author's Response: They're all connected in that they're snippets of Harry's life, but centered around different people. That's why he's always there. It's the things he does. Normal things.

It was fun to write Dean and Seamus for this. I'm glad you liked it.

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #17, by emmacweasley Prompt 2 - When Darkness Fades

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Hello! I haven't read an event three submission that works all three prompts into the same story yet, so I'm quite excited to embark on this one! I thought your description of Harry post-battle was great so far, and I'm really intrigued by the focus on theodore nott. He's such an intriguing character on his own - raised by a single parent (a death eater), but not part of Draco's "gang", really. He seems to be quite solitary. I'm very interested to see how this pans out! Great job!

emma

Author's Response: Hello!

I'm glad you liked reading immediate post war Harry. It's something I've always imagined happening to him.

Theo's a very interesting character to write. And I love writing him. He is solitary. But not completely by choice.

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #18, by anythingcouldhappen Prompt 3 - Neverending

8th July 2014:
House Cup Review 2014!

Hi!

I really liked how you framed Dean an Seamus' friendship with the hatred their sons had for each other. It made a nice parallel! You did a nice job writing the kids--sometimes kids can come across too old or too young, but they sounded just about their age here!

I like that Seamus realizes all those plans he made with Dean aren't quite going to work out. Plans never do! :P It's so adorable that they made those plans though--a lot of times only girls are shown as doing that kind of thing, but obviously boys can just as easily!

Older Harry was written nicely too, so good job with that. I 'm always very picky about Harry and have a tough time liking a story if he seems ooc to me, but you got him down I think :)

Great job!

Sam

Author's Response: Hey, Sam!

Kids are kind of easy for me, because I have a lot of siblings and cousins of all ages. I'm glad you thought they acted their age. :)

Yeah, plans definitely never do. And Seamus is going to have to start again, but at least now he knows it's okay.

I'm glad you liked Harry. *loves Harry* He's like the only main character I feel comfortable writing. :P

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #19, by Dark Whisper Prompt 3 - Neverending

8th July 2014:
Heir,
Ah, yes... friendship. You are so right to say they have been through so much! It is a shame their sons are having so much trouble getting along. I canít help but think of them as brothers, as they can fight constantly. Ah, but when one needs help, the other will fight to defend them. You have set this up so well that I can see this happening in the future. :)

You amazed me with your speed in writing so fast. Great job on giving us this realistic scene. Just because their fathers are best friends doesn't mean they need to be.

Great job,
Dark Whisper
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hey, DW.

Seamus and Dean are like brothers and think that way, definitely. Mickey and Leon, however, are destined to hate each other for a long time. I don't know about after Hogwarts, I guess we'll have to wait and see. ;)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #20, by Dark Whisper Prompt 1 - Lily's Fairy

8th July 2014:
Awe, Fairies? How cute.

I loved how she kept referring to humans as giants. :) And really, this is an adorable Christmas-time story. I think it is definitely in keeping with the prompt and how magical creatures are not all dark and creepy.

This was a really cute read. I am glad Lilly's parents believe in Fairies! Its a good thing. LOL!

Great job my fellow Slytherin,
Dark Whisper
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Fairies! Had to be down! :D

I'm so glad you liked it. Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #21, by Dark Whisper Prompt 2 - When Darkness Fades

8th July 2014:
Heir! Hello, Sam. Can I just say that you my hero in thinking / writing / posting 3 stories for Slytherin House so quickly? Wow!

The thing I like most about this story was the vivid picture you presented to us. It is a great writer that can have someone tossing out a cigarette with meaning attached to it. I absolutely loved that piece! It shows so much character. It was excellent storytelling.

And tired? Indeed! That is my take on everyone involved in the war... just exhausted.

Great job with this little picture of a new friendship.

Dark Whisper
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hey, DW!

Aww, thank you. It was a scary moment, getting them all written and up quickly, because I wanted them up before I went on holiday. :P

You know, I didn't even plan the scene with the cigarette. It just popped up and I was like, yes! Haha. I'm glad you liked it.

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #22, by anythingcouldhappen Prompt 1 - Lily's Fairy

8th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 review!

Hello again :)

I really loved how sweet and simple this was. Little Lily is very cute, and I like that you wrote it from the fairy's point of view. That's a unique approach to take, and it absolutely worked here. The fact that it was set at Christmas time just added to the sweetness of it. Holidays always make things cheery for me!

There was one part that was worded a bit awkwardly: ""Mummy will not smile," the little girl says, still laughing. "But I am. Does that make us friends?"" The 'will not smile' and 'but I am' don't quite match up. Maybe you could say 'wouldn't smile' and 'but I will' if that makes sense to you :)

Great story!!

Sam

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I'm glad you liked it.

I'll look at that. :)

Thanks for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #23, by anythingcouldhappen Prompt 2 - When Darkness Fades

8th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 review!

Hey!

I found your choice for the prompt to be very interesting. The beginning of the story you definitely make Harry's helplessness clear. The end with the little sliver of hope was great too. I like that they both felt out of place, for very different reasons. It allowed them to reach out to each other, which is so nice to see after everything that happened.

The one thing I noticed as you had a few sentences that were kind of rambling. For example, "Now they mourn, they hear words that are meant to be soothing and they try to heal from all that has happened, both to themselves and to others. "

There's just a lot of comma use going on! Maybe splitting the sentences a little more, or using a dash instead of a comma would change things up a little bit. Just my thoughts! :)

Awesome story!

Sam

Author's Response: Hey!

Yes, Harry is very lost after the war, they both are. They've lost so much, but there is hope. I'm glad you liked that.

I'll go through this again, fix anything out of place. Thank you for pointing it out.

And thank you so much for leaving a review.

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #24, by Leonore Prompt 1 - Lily's Fairy

8th July 2014:
Hi!

This is so sweet! It starts off kind of like a passage from a non-fiction book about fairies. Especially until you refer to a specific fairy. It's a lovely opening.

It's all so sweet! Short, and really cute. And how at the end Clary says that Lily would make a good fairy. And fairies and Christmas are the perfect combination. So sweet, I loved it!

~ Leo xx

House Cup 2014 Review - Educational Decree #4

Author's Response: Hey!

If fairies are real, maybe this is how the books start. :D

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #25, by nott theodore Prompt 3 - Neverending

8th July 2014:
Hello again :P Sam, how on earth do you write so quickly? You had all three of these stories up before most people had written one, and I'm so impressed with your writing in them!

I thought your choice of Dean and Seamus was great to write about. We see them in the books as best friends, especially when they're separated in their seventh year when Dean has to go on the run.

The premise here was really believable and easy to relate to. I can imagine that it must be really frustrating and upsetting for the parents if they're great friends and they've had hopes for their children to experience the same thing, but the children hate each other and just don't get on at all. Seamus's worry it'll jeopardise their friendship is understandable too, and I feel sorry for him when he worries about it!

I liked the ending, and the way that Dean reassured Seamus it wasn't going to come in between them and their friendship - it captured the prompt really well and showed how friendship can last and endure a lot!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hey!

How do I write so quickly? I just didn't let myself stop. :P I just wanted them to be done because it was the only event I could really take part in.

They'll always be best friends to me. Dean and Seamus are the ultimate bromance, they had to be done for this to see show that no obstacle, no matter how small, can break them.

I'm glad you like the premise. I didn't really know what to write for this until I remembered that Mickey and Leon don't like each other. Then it was like LIGHTBULB (yeah, I totally just Despicable Me'd that :P).

Thank you so much for leaving a review, Sian!

Sam.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>