Reading Reviews for The Firework-Maker's Daughter
  
53 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MileyMalfoy Legacy

12th July 2014:
I'm crying right now, at the fact that George died, but also at how much Hugo being there for her clearly meant to Roxanne. I would have loved to know more details about what had happened that caused George to die, but I also think that the balance was just right given this was from Hugo's POV. I love this whole collection, and how it's about Roxanne but it's never once actually from her POV, so it's really more about how others see her. I think that's really unique and I think that you did a super job with this one, conveying emotions but also helping to make George's funeral as fun and lively as he was.

Thank you for writing such an awesome set of stories.
~ Meg
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #2, by MileyMalfoy Bonfire

12th July 2014:
I love that you have pulled the kind hearted Roxanne from the first story into this story and shown her from a different angle. It's so sweet that she was trying to protect the muggle cousins and that's how she got hurt, it really helped to show that she might be a mischief maker but she's not actually a bad kid, which is a good thing in my opinion. My favourite line of the story was definitely: According to your son Freddie, the only reason you and Angelina aren't plagued with school letters is because they're too intelligent to leave evidence behind.

I love what you've done with the characterisation, and that you've shown that George is a strong and loving father who is willing to do what is right to make sure that nobody else gets hurt. You definitely see a lot of him in his daughter.

~ Meg
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #3, by MileyMalfoy Songbird

12th July 2014:
Aw. I am so glad that Roxanne saved the Fwooper from being caged. I love her characterisation and the fact that she found it so cruel that she was willing to sneak back to make sure that the bird got out. The way you describe this scene is just perfect. It is so vivid and clear that I could see it all playing out in front of me while I was reading it. I love that she was interested in the bird to begin with, but even more that she showed that there are good people in the world, people willing to help others. I really loved that you emphasized that, and I think that you did a brilliant job throughout this!

~ Meg
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #4, by maskedmuggle Legacy

12th July 2014:
Hey!

I loved this story so incredibly much as well. I really enjoyed reading all the stories in your short story collection, and I really love how they're all linked and connected together, but each one tells such a distinctive and fantastically thought out story. The plot in this was seems initially quite simple - George's death, but you made it into so much more. I loved how well Hugo and Roxanne's friendship was depicted here, despite the age gap, and how both helped each other out in times of need. I loved how the funeral wasn't completely heartbreaking, but instead had an element of 'cheerfulness' to it, so I liked the idea of setting of the fireworks at George's funeral, and tying it in to how that was what Fred's funeral had been like as well. I just really liked all the little things of this story, such as the line about Crookshanks tattling on Hugo (lol) and Hugo knowing the answer to Roxanne's unanswered question.

I don't think my review does justice to just how much I really enjoyed all your stories and how brilliant I think all three plots of each story were! I genuinely loved your whole story collection so much! ♥

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #5, by maskedmuggle Bonfire

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Aww, this story had me feeling so many different emotions. It was definitely a brilliant well thought out plot that was also so unique and different. At the beginning everything was so happy, with Roxanne helping her dad out with fireworks. I really liked reading about all the aspects of her life, such as her and Dominique wreaking havoc like Fred/George did despite Roxanne being a Claw. Oh, I also loved your use of the second person here! I personally find it the most difficult to write as compared to first or third person, but you made it look so easy! It definitely worked so well for your story!

The accident was so sad. I was so moved by George's decision to get rid of the fireworks in his shop because it so very strongly depicted the significance of Roxanne's injuries on changing his mind about the fun vs safety of fireworks. I was even more moved by the ending where Roxanne is able to overcome everything and wear a skirt. That was a lovely moment. I also haven't as of yet stated how much I love that you've chosen to focus your story collection on Roxanne - you've depicted her as such a fascinating character to read about and I really love all the different facets to her personality. I really thought this was a terrific story and it was really well written as well! :)

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #6, by maskedmuggle Songbird

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ah, I honestly enjoyed reading this so much! It was such an original and unique plot, as was the magical creature you chose to feature in this! I've never even heard of a fwooper before, but after looking them up and reading about it you did an awesome job describing it here. When I read about the fwooper it definitely didn't sound like a very nice creature as it would drive people insane, however, you managed to write a story about it where the fwooper was able to have such a special interaction with a person - Roxanne, so I'm very impressed by that. I loved how Roxanne questioned the cruelty of the Silencing Charm and later released the fwooper - I thought that was such a great idea! Really awesome writing, and a really fantastic story!

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #7, by teh tarik Legacy

12th July 2014:
alskdjlkjafkjsad so this is what that purple devil of evilness is for!

George is dead. :( And was that George's funeral I just read? I've read Fred's funeral so many times in fanfic and now George's too? *wails*

I love that you've introduced Hugo here, and written his very close relationship with Roxanne. Of course the whole short story collection revolves around Roxanne, and how she's seen through the eyes of those around her. It's lovely and amazing to see the two of them being so close growing up, and always being there for each other, watching out for each other. That speech Roxanne gave at the end...awww, it was so beautiful! And even Hugo was driven to tears as well. And I loved Roxanne for saying that her dad was her best friend ever. It's like the two are more partners, rather than just father-daughter. I believe they're equals, and I like to think that George somehow sees a bit of Fred I in her. You really worked the prompt well, showing the friendship between father and daughter as well as between cousins

This was such a delightful collection, Isobel! I really loved this, and I think you did wonderful work with those prompts! Lovely writing!

-teh
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #8, by teh tarik Bonfire

12th July 2014:
So I've already read this, when I was doing the quick beta job for you, and I absolutely loved it! It's great to see that you've kept using second person POV, even for a different character. I think second person POV works marvellously well with short pieces, and I think you did a great job with George's character. I love seeing more of Roxanne. She's definitely grown up a lot more. Her accident was so awful, and I guess it's one of the worst things that can happen to people. But Roxanne is strong; she just doesn't let the accident define her for life; she picks herself up and recovers and regains her life, slowly. I can just imagine George swelling with pride when he looks at his tough, spunky daughter.

I'm a little sad that George and Angie have divorced; George/Angie is one of my favourite Weasley canon ships, but oh well, at least they're on relatively cordial terms with each other!

This was a wonderful piece, Isobel! On to the next chapter!

-teh
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #9, by teh tarik Songbird

12th July 2014:
Hey Isobel!

Finally, I'm here to read and review your HC collection! I've heard of Fwoopers before when I read Fantastic Beasts, although I can't remember them at all...at least until I read this. This was lovely! I love that you've chosen to go second person on this, and through the perspective of the magical creature as well! I must say you've done a great job characterising a bird, and one with a song that drives humans insane as well! I also love the bond that Roxanne strikes up with the Fwooper. Roxy is such a little firebrand, and definitely has her father and her mother's spark in her. There's a hint of rebelliousness in her as well, and the part where she releases the bird from the cage is wonderful!

Haha, I love how that the Fwooper bit that shopkeeper! That will teach him to stock magical birds that have been plucked from their habitats and plonked into cages.

Lovely story, Isobel! I can't wait to read on!

-teh
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #10, by ginnypotter242 Legacy

12th July 2014:
Okay, now I'm crying. This was incredibly sad! Seeing the relationship Roxanne had with her dad, even just through the past chapters of this, I can only imagine how hard this would be for her. I think you kept her in character though, and it was a good way to bring the fireworks back. I think it was the kind of funeral Fred would have wanted, and Roxanne's speech was definitely in character for her relationship with her father. The entire story was really sweet, but obviously rather sad as well.

I like the friendship between Roxanne and Hugo. It's not a friendship that's typically seen, as their ages are usually portrayed as so far apart. I like that this was r=from Hugo's point of view as well, it added a bit of a twist. The conversation between Roxanne and Hugo in the beginning, when they were discussing the fireworks at her birth was adorable. It was heart-wrenching when Roxanne said that she would never had a chance to ask him what the second kind were. I'm glad Hugo was there and was able to answer for her. They had a really nice relationship and it was portrayed really well. Great job on this story!

~Sara (House Cup 2014 Review)

 Report Review

Review #11, by ginnypotter242 Bonfire

12th July 2014:
Aww, this was so cute! I love how you wrote George and Roxanne's father/daughter relationship. It was so adorably sweet, and I loved getting a glimpse into George's mind throughout the entire story. I liked their father/daughter bonding time at the beginning with the fireworks- it shows how close they are. The terror that he felt when he heard about Roxanne's accident was very realistic and well written.

I really liked the part with George taking the fireworks off his shelves. It really showed how close he was too his daughter and how terrified he was for her, considering fireworks have always been a big part of WWW. I liked his reasoning too.

Great job writing this! It was very sweet, and I loved reading it.

~Sara (House Cup 2014 Review)

 Report Review

Review #12, by zealousVisionary Songbird

12th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Okay, this fic was just so unique and amazing on so many levels. I don't think I've read anything in second person on hpff, and you did it so well. I loved that this was also written in the perspective of the fwooper itself- that added a unique twist that made this story even better than it already was.

Though the plot of this story was a simple one, the wonderful writing and interesting choice of perspective makes up for that completely. I loved Roxanne's interaction with the Fwooper, (ahh she's just so cute!) and that ending line was so powerful.

All in all, great job on this story- I'm definitely going to check out more of your work soon!

 Report Review

Review #13, by ginnypotter242 Songbird

12th July 2014:
This was a really interesting take n this prompt! I've never seen a story written from the point of view of a creature before, so this was really unique and interesting to read. I think you did well though. The description of Roxanne was really interesting, and I loved that she was so indignant that the Fwooper was locked up and silenced. She was so sassy in it, t the shopkeeper, and I could totally see the George and Weasley blood in her!

Your characterization of her was just perfect, and the little family moment of George, Angelina, Fred and Roxanne was adorable- that family is adorable and I think you did them all justice! This was such a sweet one shot, especially with Roxanne letting the Fwooper free in the end- I can totally see her being mischievous like that (she does have George's blood after all). Great job!

~Sara (House Cup 2014 Review)

 Report Review

Review #14, by potterfan310 Legacy

11th July 2014:
Me again!

The way you've written each chapter has definitely got me hooked. Especially the second person POV. I like all three of them and how you did it not just from one person but the Fwooper, George and now Hugo. Who again is underloved compared to other Next-Gen kids so I like you put him in.

The bit about Hugo and Ron's tie, when he's wondering how he managed in his school days made me laugh.

And now I'm crying again :'( Poor Roxanne, not too mention George. I can't believe you killed him off, meanie :p Her looking at the photographs breaks my heart, I know the feeling of looking at pictures of those who have passed and wanted nothing more to ask them a certain question.

"When I was born, Dad was disappointed that I missed the New Year fireworks, so he set a bunch off inside St Mungo's. " - THIS LINE, IT GIVE ME ALL THE FEELS!! I love this idea and it has George written all over it, who else would think to do that. But of course Roxy was born on New Year's Eve (I'm assuming) perfect for the fireworks. ♥ Trust Ron though to think of trying to do it. But I'm not surprised Hermione said that, it's such a good judge and show of their characteristics which are spot on.

The fact that despite the age difference Hugo is there for Roxanne and it's adorable,especially the memory and their closeness. He's suddenly the older one in this chapter and I would say he definitely looks up to Roxanne. It's nice to see that Rose follows Ron in that snippet about them being unhelpful when it comes to emotional. We know where Ron stands, teaspoon anyone?

Aww the thought of George giving Fred a send off with fireworks make me teary (again!) but it's absolutely perfect and somehow I don't think George would have let his brother go without a having some sort of prank or firework at his funeral. Roxanne correcting herself in the shop, is heartbreaking to read. And those last lines finished it off perfectly, especially about George being her best friend and that Hugo despite knowing he won't fill those shoes will be there for her ♥

One teeny thing is that this didn't quite make sense? "They being in Uncle George's coffin and hymns"

I really hope that you might expand on these stories after the House Cup because they are beautiful and I'd love to read more of Roxanne! The way you used the three POV's to point out and show all of her best bits is just fab, especially considering none of them were her point of view.

House Cup Review 2014 - Gryffindor
-Potterfan310

P.s I'm curious as to what George died of?

 Report Review

Review #15, by potterfan310 Bonfire

11th July 2014:
Hi!

Again I really like the second person POV, it flows effortlessly like a river. I LOVE the idea of Roxanne adding the Instant Peruvian Darkness Powder to the fireworks, it's so creative.

Roxanne and George are so perfect and I adore the father-daughter bonding over their love of fireworks and explosive things. It's adorable! George is ultimately proud of her there's no denying it and of course you can tell he loves her. I definitely think their relationship is made stronger by their love of pranks and Weasley's Wizard Wheezes items.

Dom is one of my favourite characters and I love the idea of her being a rebel! I think maybe her and Roxanne deserve their own story :p so we can see all the mayhem they cause. I love the idea of them being best friends even though I always picture Roxanne as one of the younger children but I like it.

I actually panicked then, reading the second half. Is it any wonder George is in a panic and emotional hospitals are horrid places. George and Angelina, divorced? :O

Aww I feel so bad for Roxanne, and I am literally crying right now. She just wanted to good, to help them yet she got hurt. It was heartbreaking to read when George took all the fireworks our of his shop, what used to be his and his daughters love and has turned into pain and destruction for him.

Aww the end! ♥ These are not tears in my eyes, I swear. The ending is just perfect, she stood up to those bullies. I think George tell her she was beautiful was the last straw for me ♥

I adore this and I can't wait to read the third chapter. Roxanne is definitely headstrong and whilst she is a Ravenclaw I love how she's got that side to her which loves pranking. This chapter is so beautiful and probably my favourite.

House Cup Review 2014 - Gryffindor
-Potterfan310

 Report Review

Review #16, by potterfan310 Songbird

11th July 2014:
Hi!

I had no idea what a fwooper was until I looked it up but they sound amazing and now I may or may not want one :p

I've read two stories before in second person and I'm warming to them more and more. It too me a while to get that it's from the birds point of view, I was a tad confused at first but after reading that she bit the owners finger I got it :)

I LOVE the thoughts of the fwooper and you did them justice, considering it must of been hard what with him being a creature. Also the fact you chose Roxanne over the others is nice to see and read too, since she is generally underloved/written.

The poor Fwooper haven't been stolen from it's family and home to be put in a cage, is awful. And having to be a silencing charm on it, so mean :(

George and Angelina' characterisations are fabulous as is Freddie and Roxanne's. Especially Roxanne, she's as innocent as the child she is but she had definitely got traits off both her parents. Her stubbornness I like to think from Angelina and definitely her mischievousness and sneaking in to free the bird from George. She id definitely a strong character with her own mind!

The ending is beautiful and I love the interaction between Roxanne and the Fwooper because she flies away. The last line is perfect ♥

This is so unique and I love it! :D

House Cup Review 2014 - Gryffindor
-Potterfan310

 Report Review

Review #17, by emmacweasley Legacy

10th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

I think I'll review this one as I read.

Aww man, I'm already crying at "When I was born, Dad was disappointed that I missed the New Year fireworks, so he set a bunch off inside St Mungo's." :( :( :(

So, I stopped reviewing as I went after that because I simply forgot about it. I'm really angry with you, I've cried SO MUCH these past three chapters! This one was especially heartbreaking, as I'm sure you know. I loved the Albus/Rose relationship, and I'm near BEGGING you to make this into a larger fic! It would be so wonderful.

I love the continuing theme of the fireworks - they're so loud and expressive and powerful, just like the weasley twins. it's a great metaphor!

Great Job, Again!

Emma

 Report Review

Review #18, by emmacweasley Bonfire

10th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Oh wow, this was just heartbreaking! Father/daughter stuff like this is just too much to bare. It's so CLEARLY George it's unsettling. You did such a great job with the characterization and the structure and - UGH! its just all so good! I really don't have any cc. My favorite part of it - besides the whole thing - just had to be the end. It made me cry. (Congratulations are in order, I guess? ^.^)

But seriously. If this was a longer fic I would follow it religiously. You should consider it.

Great Job!
emma

 Report Review

Review #19, by emmacweasley Songbird

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

This was just as beautiful as the first time I read it! (I mean, duh, but you know what I mean. ^.^) It was such a clever idea in the first place. And the bird - I dont know if it's a creation of your own (obvi too lazy to google right now) or canon, but it was a great creature to choose. :) it was like, showing a creature that everyone perceives as "dark" to be just "misunderstood" and for once, that was a totally valid plot twist! Usually that kind of thinking is just used to explain away some character's flaws or mistakes, but here it was really used well. :) And Roxanne - so cute!!

Great Job!
Emma

 Report Review

Review #20, by Chazzie Legacy

9th July 2014:
WHY ARE YOU DOING THIS TO ME. GAHH THE FEELS :'( *cough* sorry. I didn't want George to die... I like George...
The fireworks were genius. It was great to see another point of view, so that we have even more knowledge about Roxanne. She is brilliantly brave and I think this shows how, since the previous chapter, she has managed to get stronger and more confident again. Expspecially using fireworks (albeit Hugo is setting them magically, but you know what I mean. Trauma like that which she experienced isn't going to be forgotten in a hurry). 'Never say you're sorry' is my favourite quote here. Hugo is so sweet, and I'm really grateful for this chapter being in his POV. He is shy and not usually the person you expect for this kind of thing, and that makes the chapter even more powerful, I think.
Lottie

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #21, by Chazzie Bonfire

9th July 2014:
I'm crying. That was even more beautiful. Seeing Roxy growing older but still wanting to stop everyone from being harmed, it was perfect. I like the fact that she is insecure, because it shows just how human and fragile she is. Your characterisation of George is lovely, and was heartbreaking to read. That he took the fireworks out of his shop shows just how deeply this experience has affected him. Especially when he loved the fireworks and they had such good memories together with the fireworks, to begin with at least. The last part was amazing because Roxy managed to face her fear of being ridiculed in order to wear a skirt for a date. And she was perfectly right about her decision. Loved it.
Lottie

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #22, by Chazzie Songbird

9th July 2014:
Hi there!
I have to say, that was a beautiful chapter, and a very different take on the prompt. I have only ever heard of Fwoopers once, when I was debating with my friend about the best magical creature in the HP universe. She brought them up, but I never got round to properly reading into them. From what you've written though, I think I'll need to. It was brilliantly written - the thoughts of the bird really make it stand out from the crowd. Roxie is so cute here, demanding to know why they would sell a Fwopper only for its looks and with a silencing charm. Sometimes children have a way of making you see the world differently, as everything is so straightforward to them. It seems like George and Angelina are used to her being so opinionated, which isn't really surprising. I loved that she snuck in to free the bird, it really showed the link between Roxie and her father.
Lottie

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #23, by nott theodore Legacy

9th July 2014:
Hi Isobel! I'm so sorry about the first time I reviewed this story, but thanks so much for letting me know! I really enjoyed this story and it would have been such a shame if I hadn't been able to leave you a review for this chapter! ♥

This was a really poignant and moving end to the story. I loved the way that you linked all of the story together by writing about Roxanne from different perspectives, using second person each time. I thought it was a really clever way of tying the theme into all three of the chapters of this collection.

I had tears in my eyes when I realised that George had died in this chapter; it's just so sad to think of that happening and his children then having to deal with it, which is something that isn't normally explored in fanfiction. But I thought that you wrote Roxanne's grief really well - it was so believable and raw, and I felt sorry for Hugo too, for wanting to be able to help her but not really knowing what to do. The background which told us about the way that Roxanne had looked after Hugo in the past was sweet to read, too, because it meant that we got to understand their relationship better.

I'm still sad at the fact that Roxanne had to deal with George's death in this story and go to his funeral, but I loved the way that she spoke at the end. He's definitely not the sort of person who would want a sombre funeral so letting off fireworks in his memory is something he'd have appreciated, and it ties in well with the chapter title 'Legacy'. The last few lines were just perfect, for tying this story together and leaving me with something moving and poignant to think about. This has been one of my favourite house cup stories and I've loved the chance to read it!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #24, by anythingcouldhappen Legacy

8th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review!

THIS WAS SO HEARTBREAKING BUT THE PERFECT WAY TO END THE LITTLE SERIES!

Gahh I am so in awe of the way you created such a rich story in just three short chapters! You tied everything together so amazingly and I love love love that she set off fireworks at the funeral! It makes perfect sense for George's funeral, and also for Roxanne to choose to do that.

Also, FABULOUS job on Hugo and Roxanne's friendship! Again, you are ubertalented for being able to do that in such a short story! But you did, and it's great. The fact that there's such a big age gap there even makes it better.

This review is a bit all over the place, so I'll sum up:

YOU ROCK

That's all :)

Sam

 Report Review

Review #25, by anythingcouldhappen Bonfire

8th July 2014:
House Cup Review 2014!

Well the first thing you should know is that this actually made me tear up. So congratulations on that. I think when George told Roxanne she looked beautiful was when the tears hit me! I think you've done an amazing job of giving so much background and detail in such a short amount of words! Roxanne has such a distinct character, helped of course by the last chapter as well. I love how she's in Ravenclaw but still a troublemaker like her dad. It's so nice to see her take after him, not just younger Fred.

And she wears a skirt! I love that she's pushed past the bullies and isn't afraid to show her scars any more. That is just like such a strong message there I can't even handle it.

So thank you.

Sam

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>