16 Reviews Found

Review #1, by patronus_charm Until The Very End

12th July 2014:
Hey!

So many feels, so many feels! ♥ Woah, this was good, really, really good! I really liked how you chose to structure this story by focusing on two big events which really cemented their friendship before going onto a general overview as it really helped me understand how they were such good friends and why too and that was really good. I really liked the magic reveal secret as it was just so sweet and adorable and typical of that age. Then the one about her mother dying is what made me all sad, but Simon was so sweet about he would be there until the end and that really was the sign of friendship instead of leaving to save himself. Such a lovely story!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

Author's Response: Hi Kiana!
I'm so glad you enjoyed this! I loved writing a friendship that was made up of two really different people who still get along regardless of the fact that one half of the pair is magical and the other isn't. Hannah and Simon really stay friends because at the heart of it all, they just like being around each other like when they were little kids. Thank you so much for the sweet review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by maskedmuggle Until The Very End

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Aw, this was a sweet story. You definitely did a great job portraying the special friendship between Simon and Hannah! I definitely got a very strong sense of how comforting Simon was to Hannah, and how loyal he was as well - especially keeping such a large secret that magic is real - and sticking with Hannah despite not fully understanding all that had happened to her in her final years at Hogwarts. I'm not actually that sure about how Hannah just told Simon about magic - I feel sure that there's some restrictions on that in the real wizarding world to prevent all little magical kids telling everyone they know about it, but for the purposes of this story it doesn't really matter - unless you're a stickler for canon as I know I sometimes can be. Another nitpicky issue just in case you like nitpicky crit, is the beginning, when Hannah goes off one afternoon to play by herself. I feel like if I was a parent, I wouldn't just let my child go off to play unsupervised for a couple hours.

Anyway, regarding the main point of the story: I really liked how you were able to show how friendship developed from the very beginning, when Hannah was seven, to when Simon was eighty seven, and how through all those years their friendship was so strong.

- Charlotte/maskedmuggle
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi Charlotte!
I'm so glad you liked Hannah and Simon's friendship! I loved writing it, and got to have so much fun with the two of them! I feel like it could have been a huge problem that Hannah told Simon about magic, but (at least in my head) it all works out in the end because he never tells anyone so no one ever finds out that he knows about magic until he sees the wizarding world as an adult. As for Hannah playing outside by herself, I think her parents were keeping an eye on her from the house, but Hannah was so young that she doesn't really remember anything apart from her fun with Simon. She wouldn't have been paying attention to her parents if they were watching her.
Thank you so much for the lovely review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by zealousVisionary Until The Very End

12th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

What a sweet story this was! I don't read much of Hannah, but you wrote her so well in this fic, it makes me want to read about her more often!

The friendship between Hannah and Simon was just so wonderful. I loved how you wrote them from when they were little to very old. I find that when people attempt to do this, often, the time jumps are too abrupt and the characters barely seem to have aged at all, but you did well with both of these things, which made this fic even more enjoyable for me! Seeing their friendship grow from just the two sharing secrets to an unbreakable bond that I loved reading about.

Anyways, great story- I can't wait to read more of your work!

Author's Response: Hello!
Thank you so much for the sweet review! I loved writing my version of Hannah and creating Simon's character, as well, so I'm glad you liked their friendship! I'm also really pleased the length of time I covered in this story worked! I was a little worried it would feel rushed, so I'm glad it didn't come across that way. Thank you again for reading and reviewing!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by ginnypotter242 Until The Very End

12th July 2014:
Hello! This was such a sweet story. Hannah is such a sweet character, and I love how you wrote her. Simon is a very interesting OC, and I liked him. He was sweet and such a nice friend to Hannah. Hannah never gets explored much, especially her life before Hogwarts. I like the idea that she had a Muggle friend that she told everything to- even things about magic. Their friendship was really sweet, and I loved the way you wrote the two. The beginning of their friendship was adorable-especially the part with the hole in the fence. It was completely adorable.

Your writing style in the story was very sweet and you had a really good way of writing the kids when they were young. Hannah's remembrance of her best friend, remembering what he was like and when he was there for her especially during special moments in her life was great, and so sweet. Great job!

~Sara (House Cup 2014 Review)

Author's Response: Hi Sara!
I'm so glad you liked Hannah and Simon! I had a lot fun writing the two of them. I really wanted one half of the pair to be magical and the other to be a muggle to show that they can be best friends even if their lives are so different. Writing the beginning of the story when they were kids was my favorite part, I think! I love writing kids, so getting to do it in this story was so much fun!
I'm so glad you enjoyed this! Thank you so much for the lovely review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by emmacweasley Until The Very End

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

I am so so upset with you. I know next to nothing about this Simon person and I'm crying about it because oh my god this was so sad and touching and important. Hannah is such an unexplored character, and she went through so much and doesn't get a lot of screen time. This was a great characterization of her, and inclusion of canon, and the untold story. The dialogue was great, very cute and realistic. Great job!!!

emma

Author's Response: Hi Emma!
I'm sorry I made you cry, but thank you for liking this story so much! I loved writing Hannah and creating Simon's character, as well! I'm really thrilled that you thought this story was well done. Thank you so much for the wonderful review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by MileyMalfoy Until The Very End

9th July 2014:
Oh my goodness. I love so many things about this story. Firstly, that you wrote about Hannah, I really love that given I love reading good stories about Hufflepuffs and there really don't seem to be a lot of them around. I also loved the fact that you managed to show their friendship from seven years old through eighty years, with all the events that took place, in such a short word count. I thought that the story worked really well. I love the characterisation of Simon, especially the way that he just accepts Hannah as she is. I think so often we see stories where muggles are upset or confused instead of just realising that witches and wizards are also people.

My favourite line of your story was this: "You mean it? You aren't just pretending?" he asked warily. "Because my secret was really good and it's not fair if you fake it. You swear you're not faking?"

You just captured the small child idea of, this is just another secret, like my secret of snakes, instead of having them be scared or something which I appreciated. I thought that overall you did a really really good job, especially given your note saying that it's the first time you've written a Hogwarts Generation story and your first time with Hannah.

I am really glad I clicked on this link!
~ Meg
House Cup 2014 Review - Hufflepuff

Author's Response: Hello Meg!
I'm so glad you enjoyed this! I was a little worried that it would feel rushed since I covered such a long time in so few words, but I'm glad you thought it worked well! I loved writing Hannah and Simon, too. I think he accepts her so easily because at seven, he has no reason to doubt her or question if magic is real or not.
I'm so happy you liked the way I wrote them as kids! It was a lot of fun for me!
Thank you so much for the sweet review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by anythingcouldhappen Until The Very End

8th July 2014:
House Cup Review 2014!

GAH

This was so sweet! Honestly it just made me smile because of its loveliness :) I love how completely simple it was, without any big climax or drama or anything. Just a tiny little story about a beautiful little friendship. The fact that he was a muggle, not a wizard, just made it even more precious. His faithfulness to her secret was so sweet, and his comforting her when her mother died.

BUT THE BEST PART WAS WHEN THEY WERE LITTLE! I just want to snuggle them both because goshdarnit they are so adorable! They sound just like cute little seven year olds--not too old or too young or anything. Just so funny and so cute.

Awesome job!

Sam

Author's Response: Hi Sam!
I'm so glad you enjoyed the way I wrote Hannah and Simon's friendship! I wanted it to feel real, with no dramatic fights or love triangles or any of that stuff. (Even though we all secretly love it. Haha) I wanted a simple story about two people and what happens when one happens to be a witch and the other is a muggle.
I loved writing them as kids! It's one of my favorite things to do, because I love exploring the unique view children have of the world. I'm so glad you thought they were cute!
Thank you so much for the review, Sam!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by nott theodore Until The Very End

8th July 2014:
Hi Cassie!

I really enjoyed this entry. Funnily enough, I wrote about Hannah Abbott too for the friendship prompt (a few people seem to have had the same idea there) and I really liked reading your version of her and a friendship with someone who wasn't such an obvious choice of character.

I think my favourite part of this story was the beginning, when Hannah was describing her early friendship with Simon and the way that they exchanged secrets. It felt very realistic and believable to read about them like that, because they were so trusting of each other. Hannah probably shouldn't have given away the secret about magic, but I love the fact that he was so good to his word and never told anyone about it!

The ending was sweet as well, with the fact that Simon and Neville became friends and that even at the end when they were both old, they were still close friends who were there for each other, in spite of the different worlds they came from. Great job!

Sian
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi Sian!
I'm so glad you liked the way I wrote Hannah! (Especially because you wrote her, too, and your version was so lovely!) I've always thought that it would be really hard for little kids to keep magic a secret, and when you're telling your best friend something you've never told anyone, at least one kid in the wizarding world has to tell! Haha. But Simon is a true friend and never tells her secret.
I'm so glad you enjoyed this story! Thank you for the review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by teh tarik Until The Very End

8th July 2014:
Hey Cassie!

It's great to read another lovely story by you! I love that you've chosen to write Hannah; she's such an interesting character, often overlooked in canon, but really, there's so much to explore about her, and I'm glad you touched upon all those important aspects of her life: her mother's death, her becoming the landlady of the Leaky Cauldron, and her marriage to Neville.

I love how you began the story: I pulled on my shoes and a coat and went out to explore the puddles in the road by my house. I hadn't gotten far when I looked up and found him standing in front of his house, watching me. He was red haired and freckled, and had big green eyes.

Hannah's voice is gorgeous here; the writing is so simple and childlike and straightforward, and I love your introduction of Simon. Hannah and Simon's friendship across the years is so heartwarming, and I can't help feeling glad for her that she has someone so supportive in her life. Even if both their lives are vastly different, what with her being a witch and him a Muggle.

I also thought you covered the effects of the war on Hannah's life very well! This was a very lovely piece, Cassie! I always enjoy reading your work. :)

-teh
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi teh!
I agree that Hannah isn't explored as often as she should be! You know that I love writing minor characters, so I jumped on this as a chance to do that again!
Writing kids is so much fun, because they have such a fantastic view of life and the world around them. You can be so straightforward about everything, yet it holds so much wonder at the same time!
I'm so glad you enjoyed their friendship, and felt the support that exists between them even though their lives are so different.
Thank you so much for the fantastic review, teh! I always love hearing from you!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by SkyEcho Until The Very End

7th July 2014:
*House Cup 2014 Review*

Wow what a beautiful story! I think you captured the essence of a true friendship really well. I loved the beginning, and watching the instant friendship blossom between Hannah and Simon. The secret mailbox was too cute and Simon finding a rock that looked just like his dad put a huge smile on my face.
As Simon was a muggle, I wondered whether the distance and inability to belong to her world would prove to be too big of a challenge for their friendship... and I was so happy that theirs is a friendship that lasted a lifetime :) I liked that Simon was able to come visit her and learn about magic. This story really works to show the comfort and sense of peace that you feel when you find a true best friend.
Great job!

Author's Response: Hello!
I love writing little kids, because they have such a wonderful view of life, and writing little kids in the wizarding world is even better! Haha.
I wanted one half of the pair to be a muggle after I picked the prompt I was going to write for, because I thought it would really highlight the fact that they were staying friends despite really big differences in their lives. They were able to trust and learn from each other, which was really fun to write.
I'm so glad you enjoyed this! Thank you for the sweet review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by HeyMrsPotter Until The Very End

7th July 2014:
Hello, fellow Hufflepuff :D

I really love that you chose to write about a character from our wonderful house, and to have her friendship be with an OC.Their relationship is just adorable right from the start, and I love that there's not even a hint of it ever turning to something romantic. I also really like how you write them growing up, in the beginning they're exactly as seven year olds would be. Of course Hannah would think he was her best friend after only knowing him for a day, and the fact that they were entertained by a hole in their fence is something I can definitely picture two seven year olds being excited by.

I really like the part where they share their secrets too, I dread to think how her parents would have reacted if they found out what she had told him! It's a true sign of their friendship that even as they got older he didn't tell anyone. I really felt for Hannah after her mum died and then she couldn't even have any contact with her best friend in the year following that. It's so lovely that he became good friends with Neville and that they even named their son after him as well as Neville's dad.

I think you did a really brilliant job of writing Hannah, and you came up with such a great idea for the promt we were given. This was such a lovely story!

Dee -House Cup 2014 review.

Author's Response: Hi Dee!
I knew I wanted to write a minor character for this event, and settled on Hannah pretty quickly because I'd never written her before. It also helped that she's from our wonderful house! Simon took a little longer for me to develop, because I could quite decide in a name I liked, but once I didn't, I felt like I knew him much better, and little aspects of his character could come about.
The part where they shared their secrets was one of my favorite parts to write in this story! It was something I did a lot with my friends as a kid, so I had to put it in here.
Hannah's sixth and seventh years are really hard, and I don't think people think about that since she's such a minor character in the books. I wanted to show that everyone had to make sacrifices during the war, and they were all important, even if they didn't seem like they were.
I thought Simon and Neville would get along really well, and wanted to show that all three of them were really close through naming Neville and Hannah's some after Simon.
I'm so glad you enjoyed this story and liked my characterization of Hannah! Thank you for the lovely review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by evil little devil Until The Very End

7th July 2014:
Hello fellow Hufflepuff!
This was super sweet. This was such a fabulous prompt, because there are so few stories which focus on friendships, and all of the stories I've read that have come from it have been fantastic! Including this one, of course.
I love stories about minor characters! Hannah is a character I've never explored before, and haven't read many stories about, so this was a treat.
I can't even imagine not talking to my best friend for a whole year! I'm struggling enough because one of mine is in another part of the country, and we have skype and the internet and the like. Hannah must be a very tough person to get through losing her mother, and then temporarily her friend, all while a war is on.
I really loved this! It was lovely to read :)

- 2014 House Cup Review (GO HUFFLEPUFF!)

Author's Response: Hello!
I love writing minor characters, and this seemed like the perfect chance to do that! I hadn't written Hannah before, and haven't read much about her, either, so I got to have a lot of fun exploring her character!
I think Hannah is tough, and people don't give her credit for that! She does us Hufflepuffs proud! I'm so glad you enjoyed my story! Thank you for reading and reviewing!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by ohmymerlin Until The Very End

6th July 2014:
Hey, Cassie!

First of all, awww! This was so adorably sweet and I am so glad you wrote a story with a boy and girl just being friends without all that excess 'love story', which is so nice!

You wrote Hannah so well! I loved how she kept a journal to show Simon at the end of the year. And it was sad to see how she stopped talking to Simon to keep him safe and the way she ached for him. It was sad but I think you wrote it very well.

I liked that you said that he and Neville got along. I could totally imagine the three of them playing cards together, haha :P

It was just so sweet. I loved the last line, "he was there until the very end." It was such a beautiful way to end an amazing one-shot. You wrote it fantastically! ♥

10/10

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014

Author's Response: Hi Kayla!
I loved writing Hannah and Simon together, and exploring a relationship between a guy and a girl that wasn't romantic. They both really do love each other, just not in that way. I think they're more like siblings.
I'm glad you felt for Hannah when she had to stop writing Simon. The little sacrifices people make can make all the difference, and Hannah was willing to give up some of her happiness to keep her best friend safe.
I'm so happy you enjoyed this! Thank you so much for the review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by UnluckyStar57 Until The Very End

6th July 2014:
Hannah Abbott/Longbottom is one of my favorite characters in fanfiction, just because she doesn't come up that often. When she does, it's really interesting to see how she is characterized and how she reacts to different things.

First of all, I like how your story is not all about romance. There is a boy and a girl, and they are nothing more or less than the greatest friends in the world. Hannah marries Neville, but Simon is still very important to her. I like that they kept up their friendship throughout the years. :)

It is so cute that Hannah trusted Simon enough to tell him about her magic. He was completely trustworthy with the secret and he wasn't overwhelmed or shocked when she confirmed that it was true. What a good friend! :)

This was really well-written. I liked your use of
little details, such as how they slipped each other notes and how his eyes widened when she told him her secret. The only CC that I can give you is that I would have liked to know a little more about Simon's life after the Wizarding War--did he have a wife and a family? Did he live next door to the Longbottoms? I'm just curious about those little details. :)

Brilliant story!

House Cup 2014 Review

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hello!
Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I really enjoyed writing Hannah, especially because, like you said, I don't read many stories about her. I was able to come up with a characterization that was totally mine, and I had a lot of fun with it!
I read (and write) a lot of romance, and wanted to take this chance to show a guy and girl that love each other a lot, but it never gets to be romantic love. People underestimate how close a guy and girl can be without things turning into a romantic relationship.
If anyone is going to hear that their best friend is magic and not be shocked, it's a seven year old. Simon only loves Hannah more for it! Haha.
I'm so glad you enjoyed this story! I think I want to write Hannah again, so if I do you would find out more about Simon then! Thank you again for the lovely review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by Infinityx Until The Very End

23rd June 2014:
Aw, this was so cute! I love how you've captured their innocence during young age and the simplicity of their thoughts. It's so nice to read about friendships between children! I also think you've tied your story line to canon events really well. The characters' transition to adulthood was depicted clearly and their friendship was incredibly touching. You've also traced so many events in such few words. Great job!

Author's Response: Hello!
I'm so pleased that you enjoyed this! I love writing kids, so getting a chance to do it again with this story was a lot of fun! Getting the transition to adulthood right was really important to me, especially because Hannah goes through so much in her last few years of school. I'm really happy you liked the way I handled all the events that happen throughout her years at Hogwarts! Thank you for the lovely review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by Red_headed_juliet Until The Very End

22nd June 2014:
Hello!

This was sweet. I love hearing about childhood friends, and the idea of telling someone a secret that big is certainly something only a child would consider. I think my favorite line was the one when he said, "cause mine was really good" lol. So cute!

You've never written Hogwarts? I couldn't tell. Good job!

I think you've done very well with the prompt, setting up an innocent childhood friendship that grew through trials and heartbreak, like the best friendships do. They're always there for you, which you showed nicely. Oh, and I'm jealous! I want to go to the Leaky Cauldron!

Thanks for swapping with me! Great minds do think alike +)

Author's Response: Hello there!
I'm so happy you liked the way I wrote Hannah and Simon as kids. I love writing really young characters because the way they see the world is so much more honest and simple than the way adults do. Plus, they still have oodles of imagination and can turn a hole in a fence into a secret mailbox :)
I'm so glad you enjoyed this story and thought I did a good job with the Hogwarts Era! It's always been a bit daunting for me, so it's a relief to hear that I didn't mess it up too much! Thank you for the swap and the sweet review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login