Reading Reviews for Lightning
  
11 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Chazzie Five

4th September 2014:
Okay, I'm sorry it took a while, but I'm here for our review swap!
May I say wow? Because that is pretty much my reaction for this story. You have made the story seem so realistic, and the characters don't seem to be forced at any point. What I loved most was that you made Ginny a person. Quite often she appears very generic and boring, almost 'Mary-Sue'-ish in stories, but you have really bulked out her character a lot. She really denied that the world could move on and change for a long time, and in a way seemed really young again, fiery and angry that everyone wanted her to move on and forget about her late husband. You made me feel so many emotions throughout this beautiful piece of writing. Actually, I think most of your stories do. You are truly an amazing writer, and I feel very privialiged to be able to read your work.
Anyway, back to this story. Draco was sweet, but not overbearing. I loved the way he interacted with Ginny, and how he wasn't afraid to voice his thoughts. It seemed really natural the way they complemented each other. It wasn't like she was replacing Harry either, just accepting that her love for him would always be there and that she could perhaps give Draco a chance. Oh, I loved this part - 'It felt peaceful, as though this was the natural order of things. It seemed she had always been in that kitchen, washing dishes with Draco Malfoy.' Really, you made me smile there.
It's really been interesting to read a story based on a grown-up Hogwarts generation. Not when they are newly weds or sending their kids to Hogwarts, but when they are older and more mature. It's a really nice change from what I've read to date.
Lottie

Author's Response: No worries! I'm glad you liked this story. I still remember your review on A Rose by Any Other Name and it makes me smile. :)

I've always been interested in the trio as older adults, once their kids have all grown up. I'm actually taking a break from yet another story about them age 50+ to write this response!

Draco and Ginny are a lot different from canon, but I tried to change them in a realistic way as though those changes happened over the past thirty years. I doubt anyone is the same at fifty as they were at twenty.

I'm so glad you commented on Ginny not replacing Harry. That was one of my biggest worries about this story, that it would seem like they were just waiting for Harry to die to get together. I was aiming for a slower, softer type of romance here.

All your lovely comments about my writing made me blush. Thank you so much! This was a wonderful review swap! :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by Lostmyheart Five

14th August 2014:
I'm crying.

I was a little unsure whether to admit it or not, but I ended up confessing it. As a writer, nothing is more fulfilling than to hear that one's work has touched others.

The love Ginny has for Harry is so visible, it's pouring out of her - even after his death four years ago. He truly was her one and only, and when you wrote that she loved lilies because he loved them, it hit hard. A simple line like that, and you really didn't need more because her love for him was almost summed up with those words.

The ending of your story couldn't be more fitting. She finally started to live life, and I'm so happy she chose to give Draco a chance. She truly deserved it.

I'm not sure what else to say, other than I was incredibly touched by your story.
And I want to thank you for entering my challenge! It was a joy reading this story of yours.

- Avi

Author's Response: Aw thank you! Your reviews are some of the nicest I've ever received. I'm so thrilled you enjoyed this! It really means the world to hear all these lovely things, though I am a bit sorry I made you cry. (Just a bit.)

Her love for Harry was something I worked really hard on. I didn't want it to seem like she was just replacing him with Draco or moving on lightly. It makes me really happy you didn't think that. :)

I struggled with the ending. I wanted to go a bit further into her and Draco's relationship, but wound up stopping at the beginning. Sometimes it's better to just leave it hopeful instead of blissfully happy.

Thank you so so much! I'm blushing from all your kind reviews. :) It really was a brilliant challenge.


 Report Review

Review #3, by Lostmyheart Four

14th August 2014:
Hi...

I'm so... ugh... what have you done to me?
I'm smiling like a fool right now. I loved that ending. It was incredibly unforeseen and such a wonderful surprise.
I forgot to mention in the earlier review, that I was unbelievable touched by Ginny's thoughts on the last three christmases without Harry. The line 'three years too much' I believe it said, was such a hard blow - at least for me. Because it's one of the most 'natural' things when coping with a loved ones death - you fear the holidays, the birthdays, the day they died. It's the reminder that you're alone, that you've lost and you portray Ginny's sorrow so beautiful and so trutfully that it's impossible not to be moved by it.

And in this chapter, the line saying that time is now the enemy. It was also harsh reality, especially for someone like Ginny. She's getting older, Harry is dead, and she's slowly getting forgotten by the world. And it saddened me so much that the family wasn't as united as it once was... But I still loved that detail, because again you showed life as it really is - not everything stays the same. Things change, time passes and suddenly life is completely different and everyone are busy with everything else.

So I'm glad you ended the chapter on such a sweet note. It was needed after so much sadness.

I'll go ahead and read the rest of the story. Only one chapter to go and from what I can see in your A/N it's the last one. Oh boy... please don't make me cry.

Author's Response: Aw thank you so much! The ending made me happy too, even while I was writing it. I wanted this story to be bittersweet and she's sad for so much of it, but there are a few really sweet moments (or so I hope).

Time goes on and sometimes it's the same situations altered slightly, the presence of someone new or the lack of someone who should be there. But sometimes, everything is different and that's what I wanted here. If everything was the same, it would feel more like Draco was taking Harry's place which wasn't what I intended at all.

This review made me smile so much. :D


 Report Review

Review #4, by Lostmyheart Three

14th August 2014:
Hi!

I wanted to read the rest of your entry for such a long time, and now I've finally got the chance.
This chapter was just as lovely as the first two. I love how slowly this develop, it seems so much more natural. Draco seems so much more mature, obviously, since his younger days and Ginny seems to notice a lot about him. The way his lips form, how his eyebrows moves when in a certain mood. I love the details you come up with!

I'm off to read the rest of the chapters. I enjoyed reading this, very much.

- Avi

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you're still liking it.

It did end up being pretty slow, but any faster and I think it would have felt rushed. I wanted to take the time to show their progression from acquaintances to friends, and then to romance.


 Report Review

Review #5, by Dianainga Five

26th July 2014:
This story was well-written but oh, so un-believably sad. Can't imagine Ginny without Harry and definitely not with Draco. You did paint a kinder, gentler Draco...but this is the same man who caused Dumbledore's murder. Cannot ever imagine him as someone Ginny could or would love. Poor Harry.

Author's Response: I'm not much of a Ginny/Draco shipper either. I really like my canon. I just got to thinking how much people can change in forty or fifty years and what can happen when they do. Draco was just a kid when all that stuff happened, a kid in a terrible environment. I always like to imagine when he grew up he matured and became a better person.

But maybe not. We can only imagine possibilities. :) I'm glad you enjoyed it and thanks so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Anon Five

26th July 2014:
This was such a beautiful story.

Author's Response: Aw thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Lostmyheart Two

3rd July 2014:
Hi again!

I seriously love this story. It's so sweet and so... different. I've only read a story where the characters are old once, and that was a one-shot Dramione. This is so different from all other stories - their children are all grown up, they have no one to go home to (that struck my heart - it was so sad) and they've somehow managed to outgrow that childish hate they once had, that Slytherin/Gryffindor hate. I'm really enjoying this, and again I loved how you managed to enter Draco into her life. It's so real, something a reader can relate to (or at least I can) and it makes the story so much more likeable (not that it wasn't already).

I thought I could recognize that line! And when I read your Author's Note I was like 'ah' :D
I think I'm going to listen to that song right now, it's been years since I've heard it.

Again, thank you so much for entering my challenge. I loved reading your entry so far! And please let me know, when your next chapters get validated :)

- Lostmyheart

Author's Response: I find it really interesting to think about the trio later in their lives and the family dynamics. It's one of the reasons I enjoy next gen, even when it's focused on the kids at school.

I always figured she and Draco, plus the others, would grow up. Given the opportunity and right motivation (their kids), I think they'd be able to put the rivalries behind them and have a friendly relationship at the very least.

Thanks so much for reviewing again! :D


 Report Review

Review #8, by Lostmyheart One

3rd July 2014:
Hi!

I'm so sorry it took me a while to read and review your entry, I hope you didn't mind waiting :)
And I can see your second chapter is up!

First of all, thank you so much for entering my challenge! :) And with such a well-written piece at that. I seriously enjoyed reading this chapter.
It had this slow beginning to it, and I liked how you made her think of the children when they were younger, and how she wished Harry was still there to protect them from the storm. It was very sweet.

And I certainly liked how you wove Draco into the scenario. There was something comfortable in the way they spoke, and were silent most of the time. It surprised me that he stayed with her, not leaving her out in the storm. It was a great detail, which only made me like Draco even more.

I'll go on and read the second chapter :)

- Lostmyheart

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing and I'm really glad you enjoyed it! Your challenge was awesome.

I think memories always play an important role right after someone's death. You remember things that you never realized before simply because things have changed.

Draco here is a lot different than the Draco from the books, but I think he would have changed a lot after Hogwarts. Not immediately perhaps, but after everything that took place, I really think he'd try to be a better person.


 Report Review

Review #9, by jessicalorewrites Two

2nd July 2014:
Hullo again uwu

20 galleons for a quill? That's so expensive. Woah. I guess it's like parker pens in the real world though. Quality costs after all!

I wish there'd been more of Albus, James or Lily in this chapter but Scorpius was a wonderful addition. He seems really nice. Though it probably wouldn't flow well, getting to see his and Al's friendship at some point would be great too!

Again you manage to encapsulate the feelings of grief. I loved this chapter even more than the last one!! :)

xo

Author's Response: It's a phoenix feather quill so I figure they're pretty rare. The kind of thing Harry would have no qualms buying for Ginny, but she wouldn't exactly buy for herself.

Yeah, I realized about halfway through that I really wanted to write more Al and Scorpius in this, but there just wasn't room. Perhaps that will be a story for another time.

Thanks again! I'm glad you enjoyed it, even with all the sadness. :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by jessicalorewrites One

2nd July 2014:
Hey!

Woah, the feels got me good on this one. I like to kid myself that Harry is invisible, so this hurt :( definitely ironic that it was a heart attack that did him in in the end though. Good one, Draco.

I sense that this will, indeed, evolve into a Drinny fic and despite the fact they are not my favourite pairing I'm interested to see where this goes and how you write them.

What I liked most about this first chapter was the way you described the emotions Ginny was feeling. And Albus, as well, seems very interesting in terms of characterisation. I like that you kept it simple in terms of character numbers as often writers include too many in one scene for no reason.

Very well done, I really enjoyed this :) the results of the challenge should be up later today.

Thank you for entering!! I will be reading/reviewing your second chapter shortly

xo

Author's Response: I'm usually pretty light on my character numbers, especially in short stories. Other people are around, but I prefer sticking with a few main ones.

I've never really attempted Drinny before and they're not my favorite either, but for some reason I just really wanted to write this. Go figure.

Thanks! Emotions are important to me when writing. Emotions and characters, and then plot sometimes gets left behind a little. Oops. But emotions are fun to write, particularly when that emotion involves pain and suffering.

Thanks for reviewing and glad you enjoyed it! Your challenge was really fun. :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by lexiatel One

29th June 2014:
Very nice start! I love this :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login