Reading Reviews for The Last Snowy Feather
  
20 Reviews Found

Review #1, by StarFeather Biding Her A Silent Farewell

31st August 2015:
Hi, Alishya. I have some time to read in the morning, so I stopped by.

I've been curious to read your Harry/Hermione story. I'm wondering to write about them near future. I remembered the scene when Hedwig was shot in the air in the movie then reread the book 7, “The Seven Potters” and realized she had been in the cage and fell to the floor of it. So your description of Harry who was staring at the snowy feather made us sad again.

In the midst of grieving over her, Hermione entered. We realize again how she had been encouraging him since they were in the first year. You expressed her cheerful and positive attitude towards anything with your words: her features, how she entered the room.

You let Harry tell about how Hedwig was important for him with his words full of sadness, which makes us trace his memory together. We observe him through Hermione’s POV.

Then the description of flame of the candle told us the quiet time passed by.

Their farewell ceremony for Hedwig is just beautiful. We can imagine his beautiful snowy owl hooting in the night sky vividly. I was very impressed by your picturesque way, Alishya!

Kenny

 Report Review

Review #2, by bittersweetflames Biding Her A Silent Farewell

20th June 2015:
Hi there again Alishya! Again, you have managed to capture my heart so vividly. This was a wonderful little missing moment, slice of life type thing that I really enjoyed. Hedwig. Hedwig was my favorite and I CRIED and I got SO MAD when she died. She was one of the things that made Harry happy and for her to die like that. It seemed, at that very moment, that Harry wasn't allowed to be happy (which isn't true, I know but I felt that way). Anyway, I love the way that you had Hermione involved in this. That she would stay quiet, this girl who loved to talk, it spoke volumes. She felt his pain and that was the mark of a true friend, a real best friend - that she could touch him and his heart without a lot of words but with simple gestures. And that bit at the end when you had him drop Hedwig's feather and the hooting and the STRENGTH of emotions in this fic. It made my heart sing and I just really loved it. I really loved that you would write a little fic about Harry grieving for Hedwig for she WAS her friend and he would definitely grieve for her. And, at the end, that last snowy feather just leaves an imprint in my mind and you had me, as well, grieving for her.

Thank you for sharing, hunny.

Carla
House Cup 2015 Amazing Race Part 2, Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #3, by ad astra Biding Her A Silent Farewell

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Review - Slytherin

Hi Alishya! This is such a bittersweet story and you've done an amazing job with the conflict of emotion here - the grief and the comfort shared between Harry and Hermione was really well done. I love that you've explored what Hedwig's death means for Harry - like you said in your author's note, it wasn't really touched on in DH and the loss of Hedwig was a really momentous thing for him. I like how you describe exactly how Hedwig helped Harry and her role in connecting him to the wizarding world - both physically through carrying letters as well as simply being a friend to him while he was stuck at the Dursleys'. I think it's easy to forget just how important she was to him both as a friend and as a reminder of a world where he had value and people who loved him. Your depiction of Harry and Hermione's relationship was also really well done here - whether you view them as romantic or platonic, there's such a strong connection between them and I love how Hermione knew exactly how to help Harry say his farewells to Hedwig and to help him move on. This was a really lovely, touching piece!

Author's Response: Hi Lisa!


Thank you so much for your lovely words. I'm very happy you enjoyed reading this too!

I was (or at least) still am happy to have wrote this, as I, many others, and you even said it, Hedwig's death was a pivotal moment for the beginning of the end of the series. For Rowling to have skipped over Harry grieving over her... it was like hitting me with a truck.


I'm also glad you enjoyed the interaction between Harry and Hermione too! Yeah, I really believe Hermione was the right person to help Harry move on, and it's great that you saw how I went with it.



Thanks for reading and reviewing!



- Asphodel


 Report Review

Review #4, by Infinityx Biding Her A Silent Farewell

20th June 2015:
House Cup 2015 Slytherin

Oh god, Alishya, this is so beautiful and heart-wrenching. It's the first fic I've read that is focused on Hedwig's death and Harry's reaction to that and you've written it so, so wonderfully. The way you've begun gives it this deep, melancholic feeling, and the imagery is just so powerful. It's so believable that Harry would have such a strong reaction to Hedwig's death especially since he was his only companion and only constant for a long time as well. I love how you've brought in his explanation about what happened as well. It's a smooth entry into the fic and fits in well with the rest of the story.

I love Hermione's characterization her as well. She's such an insightful, caring person, and it's so wonderful how she lets Harry vent out his feelings to her and then show him the way to say goodbye to Hedwig. She's so patient and compassionate and that's shown so well in this fic. I love the way you've written their friendship, it's truly beautiful.

“She may be gone, but it doesn't mean she’s not flying.”
This line was just gorgeous. And your descriptions were so powerful. Great job with this wonderful fic!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Crumple-Horned Snorkack Biding Her A Silent Farewell

18th April 2015:
Greetings from the Crumple-Horned Snorkack! I have ventured out of my hiding place in the woods for a short time in order to leave this review for you.

What a beautiful tribute to Hedwig. I was so saddened by her death, yet she didn't get much of a mention, so it was really nice to read this farewell to her where Harry gets the time he needs to grieve over one of his first friends in the wizarding world. Even though she was just an owl, she was so important to him - animals can be just as good of friends as people are. (I know, because most of my friends are animals, of the mythical variety.) Hedwig kept Harry connected to the wizarding world, and was by his side for six years. It's only appropriate that she should get a good-bye.

I also liked that it was Hermione who was there with Harry - as you mentioned, they do have such a wonderful friendship. And she was the one who was there with Harry at his parents graves, too. Hermione is good in situations like this (whereas Ron, despite being such a good friend to Harry, wouldn't be much good in that kind of situation.) I like stories that focus on platonic friendships, anyway, and you wrote the friendship between Harry and Hermione so well here.

That scene where he let the feather fly away on the wind was so beautiful - in letting go of the last thing he has to remember her, he is letting her keep flying the way she used to.

What a lovely story, I really enjoyed reading it. But now I must depart as I'm late for tea with my good friend the Yeti.

Author's Response: Hello Crumple-Horned Snorkack!


Aw! I appreciate you taking the time to read and review this!


Yes, you're right. I knew before how important animals can be as a friend, but... I truly didnt understand until I had gotten a puppy two months ago. I have grown such an attachment him. Now... I can't picture my life without him.



Great! Yeah, I am mostly for platonic relationships... or like... I enjoy a great friendship between characters. Thank you, I'm glad that you said that I wrote their friendship as good as I tried to make it be... I was afraid of over-doing it. I mean... even though I ship H/Hr, I still enjoy their friendship more than their relationship... which is incredibly weird. I know. I guess... you can say, I ship them for their special friendship. So yeah.



Ahh! Yes, I'm glad the flying feather scene took to your heart. ♥



Thank you, thank you again! I'm happy you enjoyed reading this one-shot, and have fun with friend! Tell Yeti I said hi!




- Asphodel


 Report Review

Review #6, by Deeds/hey-its-a/capture the flag round 6/7 Biding Her A Silent Farewell

12th April 2015:
FOR CAPTURE THE FLAG ROUND 6/7

“Yeah, it’s Hedwig’s feather.” Harry answered: his voice deeper and his throat clogged up.

Oh my god. How could you make me cry like this? This is so sad! I’ve never read a story with the focus on Hedwig. To see Harry crying and being able to mourn his poor owl. Hedwig was his first friend and his first gift from a real person that cared for him. WHY!

“She was my very first birthday gift… a friend in fact.”

SEE! WHY?

“She may be gone, but it doesn't mean she’s not flying.”

This line was beautiful. I can’t believe this story. I have to favorite this ASAP. It was just so intuned to Harry’s emotions and Hermione’s too. I think she was the perfect person to help Harry say goodbye to Hedwig. I just feel a little devastated after reading this. Poor Harry, his first friend gone but he has so many others. War doesn’t just affect the people it gets the animals too. OH MY GOD THAT’S SO SAD.

I get that Hagrid was trying to protect him but maybe, just maybe…no. Right? The Killing Curse would have hit him. Can you believe that? Pets always try to protect their owners. That really speaks volumes of their connection.

WHY?

I want to be you because I’m jealous of this skill you have here but I would be weeping at my keyboard if I wrote this.

Author's Response: Hey Deeds!

Aww! So sorry that I made you cry! I somewhat did not mean to!

I'm happy though that you enjoyed reading this anyway! It's great that you feel Hermione is the perfect person to help Harry. Yes, it's deeply sad... for him to let his very first friend go.


I know... sometimes, I do wish Hedwig got to live - because she was the last - I know she's a creature, but she's a human to me - person to go out like that. And she was the first to go. It's very sad.


I do hope you found solace of letting Hedwig go like Harry did in this story. :)




Much appreciation for reading and reviewing!


Thank you, thank you!



- Asphodel


 Report Review

Review #7, by looneylizzie Biding Her A Silent Farewell

10th April 2015:
CTF - Round 5 - Jailbreak Post!

Alishya,

One of the things that I love about this is that it's not a Harry/Hermione ship story (I mean, I guess it could be, but as you said in your a/n, you intended it to be platonic). Everyone has different deaths that hit them hard during the DH, but Hedwig's was only just behind Fred for me, and always I hated that her death was sort of glossed over in favor of others. Everyone lost someone during the war, at least in some way. And Harry lost a LOT of people, but losing Hedwig was really just for him. You highlighted his mourning and recovery that he had to go through in the time after the war, since he didn’t have a chance to during the war.

I like that Hermione was involved in helping him letting Hedwig go, and I definitely see how she would have been more impacted by Hedwig's death than Ron would have. The greatest way that you wrote Hermione in this is that she wasn't OVERLY affected by Hedwig's death. You found the right balance, and that is what makes her participation in this just right.

Am I making any sense?

Anyway, we've got a flag to find, but it was a pleasure to read another phenomenal story from you!!
LL

Author's Response: Lizzie! :D


Yeah, I thought making this a Harry/Hermione story would have messed up the gist and the feel of what I aimed for. It's mostly a tribute to Hedwig, and she needed a dedication. ^_^



Yes! Hehe, you're making sense. :P I'm glad that how I wrote Harry and Hermione's grieving was not... too much... and not too little.


It's great that you enjoyed my story overall! ^_^



Thank you for reading and reviewing! Sorry that my response is suckish! I've been sitting on your review all day (believe me) and couldn't think properly.

Your review is much appreciated nonethless! ♥



- Asphodel


 Report Review

Review #8, by Laurenzo7321 - round 5 Biding Her A Silent Farewell

10th April 2015:
Hi Alishya!!

Give me a minute to recover... Wow.

You're writing in this is incredible. The grief Harry's going through is so palpable. I love how you've done this. He doesn't get the chance to grieve for hedwig properly at the time with Voldemort happening so you've given him the chance.

His explanation to hermione is so true and saddening at the same time. Hedwig was his first friend and connection to the magical world and it must have caused him a lot of pain to loose her (it did us right?).

Hermione was really good in this. I think despite her usual nature to be a bit more bossy and stuff, she can see how much harry is hurting and so realises she needs to be there for him. It's a mark of how much she's matured too. Her idea to make sure hedwig flys again is lovely and you can see how much it means to harry which makes this one shot at least a little bit more bearable from all the heartbreak haha!!

I think you've done a really great job of this alishya! You really have some beautiful imagery at the start in particular, it has a real haunting quality about it that gave me chills!!

Excellent work m'dear

Lauren

Author's Response: Lauren! Hey!


Awww! ♥ Thank you! Yes, I'm glad to have give not only just Harry and Hermione to grieve properly over Hedwig, but you, myself, and other fellow HP lovers. :D


Hehe! Yeah! Thank you - thank you! :D

I'm glad that you liked Hermione in this. And I had to soften the heart break. :P


Aww! Thank you Lauren! I love how I wrote the imagery too, and it's great that it captured you in a way of how I intended for a reader to feel. n_n



Thank you for reading and reviewing! :)



- Asphodel


 Report Review

Review #9, by 1917farmgirl Biding Her A Silent Farewell

2nd March 2015:
*sniffles*

You, my friend, owe me a box of tissues. Seriously. A whole box.

Okay, so I probably should NOT have read this story. I am the biggest animal lover of all time and second only to Fred dying, Hedwig's death in DH just killed me. It was made even worse by the fact that it was hardly even acknowledged! She was there, then she wasn't, and Harry was expected to go on like she didn't even matter.

So, while I shouldn't have read this story because now I'm bawling like a baby, I don't really mean that because I'm very grateful that someone recognized that Hedwig was important and Harry deserved to grieve for her.

Pets are special. Loving them isn't complicated like it can be with loving people. You love them, they love you in return - it's as simple as that. And it's a loyal love that is very hard to break. And when a pet dies it's like a hole has been ripped in your heart, but all too often society has the attitude of "they're just a pet, just an animal...get over it." But they are so, so much more.

I have to admit I was torn by Harry letting the feather go at the end - his last reminder of Hedwig. I don't think I could have done that, let her fly one last time. I would have kept the feather. I guess that makes Harry much stronger than I am.

Thank you for a beautiful, thoughtful, gentle story - and for giving Harry the chance to grieve and say goodbye to his first and most loyal friend. This was a wonderful story.

And I'm so glad you found your ability to write again and are feeling happy about it! That's something I'm still struggling with.

Bravo.

(P.S. This is for the Gryffie Feb. exchange, just in case you didn't figure that out, which I'm sure you did. :) )

Author's Response: Aw! *hands you a box of tissues - a big box.*

I'm sorry, and not sorry that you cried. I do get what you mean though, their deaths really did blew me. I did not even... Like... Reading when they first died... it hadn't hit me until... a while later. And it is sad that Hedwig's death wasn't even... explored. It was only a brief mention of her, after everyone made it to the Burrow.


Yes, pets are just as special when it comes to taking a places in one's heart. It's a shame and downright depressing the abuse and cruelty they have go through. Once, when I was young, and I was living with my grandmother, she had a lot of cats, and I loved them... until they were either taken away by someone else or they died off. The house felt lonely when they were all gone. There were two black cats I grew really attached too, and I cried when they both died. (At that time, we didn't have proper living arrangements or food - especially for the cats, sadly.)


Ahhh! Mostly though, because this is a one-shot, Harry would have to have let her feather go to move the story. However, now that you said that if it were you, and you wouldn't have let go of Hedwig's feather, it gives me the idea of... like having that in a novel one day... like... me writing the Aftermath of the second war through Harry's view. And he discovers it, and he doesn't let it go... at all at first... but maybe some time later... he might when he grieves properly. So yeah! Thanks for the inspiration!


You're welcome! I was happy to have the chance to write this, since I think everyone needed closure with Hedwig's death as much as Harry did.


Shoot... it's been months since I've wrote this one-shot. I'm still having difficulty writing like how I want to. *sad face*

Maybe we both will find our rhythm again.

(Lol, I do know it's from the previous Month review exchange. *smiles*)


Thanks for reading and reviewing! ♥



- Asphodel


 Report Review

Review #10, by TreacleTart Biding Her A Silent Farewell

7th February 2015:
Hi there,

I'm reviewing your story for the Review The Person Above you post in the Gryffindor Common Room.

I really enjoyed this story. I, like everyone else, really appreciated the closure that you gave to Hedwig and Harry's friendship. I also felt that you kept Harry and Hermione's relationship pretty similar to the book, which I liked. I think you showed her supporting him just like a best friend should.

After this one I'll have to check out a few of your other stories!
~TreacleTart

Author's Response: Hi, hi!

I'm happy that enjoyed reading this story! Yes, every HP fan, I believe needed the closure between Hedwig and Harry as much as Harry and Hedwig needed it themselves.

Yeah, I thought if I wrote Harry and Hermione more than that, then it'd ruin the overall point of the story.


Oh really? Thanks! I hope you enjoy reading those as much as have reading this. Although, I must warn you, my older stories have errors in them such as grammar and sentence structure. This one-shot is my latest improvement! Nevertheless, I still hope you like my other works.


Thanks for reading and reviewing! I really appreciate it!




- Asphodel


 Report Review

Review #11, by toomanycurls Biding Her A Silent Farewell

25th January 2015:
Hello!!

This is such a beautiful story with Harry and Hermione's friendship. You've captured them so well and true to canon. I feel like Harry needed to grieve for Hedwig as much as he'd need to grieve for any other friend. There's something in the diction you give hermione that is perfectly true to her without sounding like a rehash of lines from the book - I rarely see people get her speech down so well. I thought it was surprising that Hermione didn't know Hedwig had died but there was a lot going on then to point out her death. One minor thing - they took Harry from Privet Drive before his birthday rather than on (but that blurring of a book date makes it more of an emotional impact so it's not a huge thing).

It was so bittersweet to have him release her feather into the wind. On one hand that was his last keepsake from her but on the other hand it felt like setting her free. I love the way you've captured this moment and the relationship not just between Harry and Hermione but Hedwig's impact on Harry as he grew up.

-Rose

Author's Response: Hey Rose!

Thank you! I'm so happy you said so! Yes, yes. Harry did needed to grieve over Hedwig. To me, it should have been a vital part in the Deathly Hallows. It's a shame it wasn't in there. And Hedwig does practically seems human enough that she was worth writing this.

Oh? You think I did Hermione well? Hehe? Thanks!

No - actually, she did knew Hedwig was dead, but I assumed that she did not how Hedwig died, so that's what I meant when I summarized her question. She did know... in this fic.


Oh - you're right, you're right! I had forgot honestly until you told me. I'm glad though it doesn't disrupt the flow of this story. I am in the process of rereading the series.


Aw! Thank you! His letting go of Hedwig's feather was to set her free as well as to overcome his grief or come to acceptance of him losing her.


Thanks so much for reading! :)




- Asphodel


 Report Review

Review #12, by Aphoride Biding Her A Silent Farewell

11th January 2015:
Hi there - dropping by for our review swap! :)

So, I just had to stop by on this because the idea of it just sounded so... cool isn't really the right word, but you know what I mean ;) Like such a good idea for a fic, you know? One of those missing moments fics which just fits into canon so, so well.

I have to admit I'm not much of a Harry/Hermione fan, so I read this without the ship aspect of it - also because I love the idea of this focusing on Harry's friendship with both Hedwig and Hermione - like how he loses a friend, but is reminded by another that he still has others.

(I'm not sure I'm making any sense here, sorry! :P)

Your writing in this was so, so lovely. It was so evocative of the mood, without drowning it in description or dialogue or anything... it just worked so well, with Harry's emotions and things highlighted so clearly.

I loved the use of the feather and the sort of echoing, fading hooting as well - it was so beautiful and so reminiscent of grief. I loved it! :)

This was a really beautiful one-shot :)

Aph xx

Author's Response: Hello! :D

Awh! ♥ You're right! Well, I'm flattered that you consider it to fit with canon!

Oh - it's alright. As I said in my A/N, it can go either way - friendship or romance (depending if one ships H/Hr or not.) I was leaning more towards friendship anyway, because to me, their friendship is equivalent to how I romanticize them. (If I am making sense?) Anyways. I stuck with friendship because it is mostly about Harry and Hedwig.


Oh thank you!! I fear how I go about description and dialogue, so I'm happy that you said, it isn't overwhelming. Honestly, I can't stand overwhelming dialogue and description - especially description. :]


Hehe, I'm glad you liked the releasing of the feather! :) And that you loved this overall. ^_^



Thank you for reading and reviewing! I appreciate it!




- Asphodel


 Report Review

Review #13, by The Basilisk Biding Her A Silent Farewell

9th January 2015:
This was beautiful! Several times I felt myself beginning to tear up and I could almost see it all happening in my head. I have to admire Harry's hesitation to let go of the only reminder of his faithful and loving pet/friend but I love what it signified and that it made it seem like she was flying once again. I really wish that JKR had given Harry some more closure in the book, but I guess with everything and everyone else that he lost there was no time for it. So I am just going to go with your magnificent goodbye instead. I am glad that you were able to use this one-shot as a way to break your own writer's block. Kinda like the feather/Hedwig was your block and you were saying goodbye as well. Great job!!!

Author's Response: Awww! ♥ ♥ ♥ Thank you! :D

I agree with you 100 percent! Maybe Rowling might give Harry that chance on Pottermore? Even though I don't be on there like at A L L! :P We, as fans, should definitely ask her! n_n

Ah! It's so sweet that you're using my story as your head canon (in some way). xD


Oh - you're right! I haven't actually thought of it like that, but that is a great way to put it. Reading this has encouraged me to break away from my block again. ;D


Thanks so much again for reading and reviewing! I'm eager to find out who you are! XP



- Asphodel


 Report Review

Review #14, by lindslo2012 Biding Her A Silent Farewell

29th December 2014:
Hello there,

Here for the review tag! :)
I was completely touched by your short-story. I have been wanting to read something about Hedwig for a very long period of time! She was one of my favorite characters in the movies even if she wasn't a human. She was always there for Harry, his very best friend, his companion. :) I absolutely hated that she had to die, just as much as I hated that the other favorite characters died. She was an amazing pet and one of the most loyal ever. Great job and characterization. I loved it! I also liked how Harry and Hermione seemed rather close in this story. I could see them being something more if they saw how good together they would be. But I like Harry and Ginny together too. So I am not sure who I would like better with Harry. I wanted to read more! What an amazing short story.
-Lindsey

Author's Response: Hey!

Wow! I'm glad! :D

I agree totally! Hedwig is a great asset as a character (even though not human) in the series, and I was so astounded and heart-broken when she died. :'(

Thank you! I feel great knowing that Characterization isn't a problem for me now. :)


Oohh cool! I've been wanting to see someone else sharing my sentiments for Harry/Hermione. I'm also a canon shipper, so it's fine whether Harry got with Hermione or Ginny - despite that I was a Harmony shipper first. ^_^



Thanks for reading and reviewing! n_n




- Asphodel


 Report Review

Review #15, by Unicorn_Charm Biding Her A Silent Farewell

22nd December 2014:
Hiya!

Wow this was absolutely beautiful. I'm definitely not crying or anything... Nope. Not at all.

Honestly, I thought this was perfect. I always wished that Harry grieved Hedwig's passing a little more than what we saw in the books. I'm really glad that I read this and got to see that moment happen. Everything that was said here was exactly what I always thought. She really was Harry's first friend and the thing that kept him most connected to the magical world, while he was stuck at the Dursley's. I imagine that her death shook him more that we saw.

I loved this idea of him finding one of her feathers and remembering her that way. I think Hermione was the most appropriate person to be with him during this moment too. You're absolutely right, she would have been the closest to her too. We did see Hermione borrow her to send letters to her parents. And then there would be the times that Harry sent Hedwig to her, or when Hedwig sought out Hermione so she would be able to send Harry a birthday gift. I'm sure Hermione would have been saddened by her passing as well.

The ending was just absolutely beautiful. I loved them letting the feather fly off into the night's sky.

This was fantastic! It was so wonderfully written and just so, so well done! I am super happy I had a chance to read this. Excellent job!! ♥

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Heya!

Ah!!! Don't cry! *Takes tissue and hands it to you*


Yes! Yes! Yes! I'm glad to fulfill the moment for you!


Hehehehe, thank you dear! Yes, I've been thinking on that idea (him finding one of her feathers) which is always and will continue to be a big contribute of her - at least to me.

And yes, I felt that with Hermione not having an owl of her own like Ron, she formed a closer attachment to Hedwig... as if she was her friend too.



I'm so so happy you enjoyed this!





- Asphodel

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #16, by HPFF Secret Santa 2014 Biding Her A Silent Farewell

17th December 2014:
So this is your best story yet! The description was absolutely wonderful and pulled me in from the beginning! I liked that this story didn't have a romance but was about Hermione being his friend and helping him remember hedwig and honor hedwigs memory. I think had you added romance it would have toned down the actual meaning behind the story and it wouldnt have felt right to me. I love how Hermione reminds harry that hedwig is still flying and how she is able to help harry move on as well. The bit at the end where they release hedwigs last feather into the sky is a really sweet ending that helps the reader realize that harry is finally coming to terms with hedwigs death and is going to begin moving on from it. I couldn't spot any errors in this or had any thoughts to improve this piece as it was just really well done. You definitely deserved the first place win on this one shot and you should be really proud of it! I look forward to reading more of your work as you post it! Great job!

HPFF Secret Santa

Author's Response: AHHH thank you! It's awesome to hear (read) you say that!

Yeah, honestly - even though I ship Harmony, this story was not a Harmony-focused story anyway. It definitely would have ruined what I was aiming for - for Harry and Hedwig if I did added romance between Harry and Hermione - as you've mentioned.


For Harry coming terms with Hedwig's death was always something I wish J.K. had taken to the time to write more on. It was unfulfilled for me, so I'm happy that it fills something for me and readers like you! :D


Awww! Thanks so much for saying that!

And thank you so much for not just reading and reviewing this, but for everything on my archives!


I can't wait to find out who you are! XD





- Asphodel


 Report Review

Review #17, by Slide Biding Her A Silent Farewell

29th September 2014:
Here for the review exchange! And just from the summary I suspect this is going to upset me.

Not much in the book was made of Hedwig's death, which is sad because it was the first, shocking gut-punch of the story. It's good to see an analysis of Harry's feelings on the subject, as they were skimmed over very much in the books.

So I like that this is picking it up after it's all over, after Harry can stop and reflect on what's been, and realises that he misses her. I like the idea he found the feather after going through his stuff, or the like, and was just hit with this grief. It's natural, because Hedwig was all the things this story addresses - his tether to the world, as well as his first friend, even on top of being a beloved pet (which is still important!). So, the story handles Harry's grief very effectively and believably.

Hermione's role in the story works. I took a canon-reading of this by default, viewing this as them being just friends, and it didn't jar at all. It's entirely believable that Hermione would be the one to get why Harry's upset, and to be able to come up with something magical which would make him feel better. It's a nice way to say goodbye, and with all the two have been through, it's apt for them to say goodbye to Hedwig together.

So, I really enjoyed this! Short but sweet and tackled something I hadn't consciously realised was lacking in canon, which I always like to see in a story. From a technical perspective, my only comment would be that your prose can get a bit wordy, describing every little physical movement or tone of voice more than is strictly necessary. Have faith in your dialogue! It does a good job communicating what it needs to; don't worry too much about every tiny detail. This is something I've struggled with in my writing, too; trust your simple descriptions to convey what you want. The pieces you need are in place, just take a hatchet to excess words, is my advice (see, even this review section gets wordy, I can't judge).

Nevertheless, this was a very sweet piece, and one I enjoyed a lot. Both as a reflection of Harry's feelings on losing Hedwig, and what she meant to him, and as a snapshot of the understanding relationship between Harry and Hermione. Good work!

- Slide

Author's Response: Hi!

Yeah, it is sad that in the books, Harry didn't really had the opportunity to mourn over really those who've died. It was something I wanted to see... at least at the ending of the book - after Harry defeated Voldemort. I think it'd have made a better epilogue had Rowling wrote about maybe Harry reminiscing the past... what he lost... then a straight-forward 19 year happy-ever after. Not that I hated the ending. I just expected different that's all.


Aw, yeah... I don't know why I can't write what I imagine properly. I know when I be sounding confusing in my writing, and just at those times, I can't think of anything that would sound better when I want to replace it. I will try to be careful of how I word things.


I am glad too that you enjoyed this overall, and I want to thank you so much for reading and reviewing!



- Asphodel


 Report Review

Review #18, by potterfan310 Biding Her A Silent Farewell

26th August 2014:
Hi!

Here for the August Gryffie review swap.

I rarely read The Trio whether it be before or after the war but this is perfect. I thought it was going to be darker but it's not, it's delicate and beautiful.

Harry definitely didn't have enough time to mourn Hedwig at all, like he said she was his first friend. Which I think as well, since she was the one spending all the time with Harry and having to endure being locked in too. *Hugs to Harry*

The quote when Harry said it was his connection to Ron, Hermione and the wizarding world made me tear up slightly.

Teeny tiny thing, "Hermione kneel next to him." - This sentence sounded a little off, knelt would work better than kneel.

That last line is perfect, Harry has finally said his goodbye and in a way it's like he's seeing her fly again. This is a beautiful little one-shot!

-Potterfan310

Author's Response: Hi! Hehe, someone else said that as well... Maybe it's because of the banner I made. Maybe, I'll change it sooner or later.

I am glad you that you like this. I really wish Rowling had at least have Harry mourning of her like around the ending of the book... or exactly when he made it to safety after being chased by the DEs.


Thanks for the catch! I'll fix that!



Ah! Thanks! ♥ Thank you for reading and reviewing, and I will get to reading your story as well!



- Asphodel


 Report Review

Review #19, by lightthecandle Biding Her A Silent Farewell

22nd July 2014:
Hey there! I'm finally getting round to reviewing your story for the challenge! :)

Can I just say that I wholeheartedly agree that Hedwig was Harry's first friend when he discovered that he was a wizard because I always got the vibe that the bond between Hagrid and Harry only occurred later on in the Philosopher's Stone! And I thoroughly enjoyed this one-shot from beginning to end!

Hedwig was the only thing that reminded Harry of his magical side during the horrendous summers at the Dursley's and obviously that's so important to him that it seems a bit disappointing that this wasn't actually in the story. Because it deserves to be! It captures the relationship between Harry/Hedwig perfectly and it's a brilliant variation on Philia. Rather it being between two humans, a man and his pet. It's brilliantly genius!

Another thing is that description of him finally letting the feather go was just so beautiful to read and I completely understand that he would be unwilling at first to let go of the one thing he had left of his best friend. And the portrayal of Hermione/Harry's relationship is really good too! I like how Harry assumed she'd be irritated or exasperated like she usually would be because that's just how their relationship is when it's not serious, like this.

Such a lovely and sentimental ending to this one-shot! I genuinely and honestly enjoyed this story so much, and it describes Philia so aptly! Well done!

Good luck in the challenge!
~Aimee xxx

Author's Response: Hi!

Yay! I'm happy to know that! Yeah, you're right! Hagrid and Harry's friendship occurred later. :D I'm also glad to know that you really enjoyed this as I really put my all into that fic!

I fear of going out of character and that I'm weak in the description area, but it's great to hear from you saying otherwise!


Thank you so much for the challenge, for reading this, and for reviewing! And thank you!



- Asphodel


 Report Review

Review #20, by jessicalorewrites Biding Her A Silent Farewell

19th July 2014:
Hey! Here for our review swap :D

When I first clicked on, I expected this to be a lot more morbid than what it is. Instead, it's beautiful. The delicacy with which your writing in this oneshot flows is astounding and it just makes me so, so sad.

I definitely understand your point about Harry grieving for Hedwig! It was something that always bothered me in the books... I understand he had other things going on, but Hedwig was a dear friend to him and, as you say in this, his connection to the wizarding world whilst back with the Dursleys. What I'm trying to say here is that your idea of displaying this bond between them is very original and (also) incredibly well written.

The last line makes me feel a lot better. I'm not sure if you intended to write it this way but pollen always reminds me of nice sunny days, so it's like the little ray of sunshine finally peeking out at Harry and Hermione. It's a warm touch and intentional or not I really love it :D

Overall an excellent, in-character, heart-wrenching oneshot! Keep up the awesome work!!

xo

Author's Response: Hey Jessica!

Oh, I had a feeling readers (like you) would get that impression [I believe especially looking at the banner. :P]


I'm glad to know that I'm not the only one bothered by that. In fact, I was hoping to see Harry and the others in the book grieve, though the epilogue wasn't bad... just I expected different.


You're right though, towards the end, I purposely made where all hope is not lost. The pollen is a sign of the dawn breaking, so I'm happy you caught that. ^_^


So glad that you enjoyed reading this! I enjoyed reading your brief story as well! It was great!


Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! And I will!



- Asphodel


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login