Reading Reviews for Stand Tall
  
33 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Lululuna Don't Wish, Don't Start

15th December 2014:
Back again!! :) Here for your third prize review.

Ahh, the Ben moment at the beginning was so cute! I loved how Alba is realizing that she might have a crush on both him and James, and how well they get along and are comfortable around one another. I especially liked her comment that Ben would probably carry her up the stairs even if she didn't have CP because it definitely seems like something he would do. Also, the way Alba rationalizes something like romance is so funny and typical of her character. :P It's like it can't be real until she's used logic to work through it.

Speaking of though, how the heck has Hogwarts made it this long without having some sort of accessibility services??! What if a student was in a wheelchair and couldn't physically climb all those stairs? I know that Alba is very determined and might not even accept help if the castle itself offered some sort of special stone escalator or what not, but I wonder if the school could help her out with getting around if she would let it.

Okay, jumping back a bit here... I thought the explanations of how the Tournament has evolved with the Guide and the Companion makes a lot of sense. It fits that they would want to not only make it less dangerous, but keep people from cheating as the Tournament Harry was in was pretty corrupt.

AHH I KNEW JAMES WAS GOING TO PUT HER IN!!! I totally suspected that when he was so insistent about dragging her into the circle and holding her hand. Or maybe it was someone else (Ben?) who put her in and James' weird behaviour was a red herring? Hmm, well James seems more likely to me at the moment. I'm not sure how I feel about his intentions, maybe he wanted to put her in so she can prove to the school that she can do anything, but it feels like forcing somebody to do something that scares them without their permission is going too far. I'm so curious to find out who put her in now!! Ahh!!!

Really great chapter!!! :D

 Report Review

Review #2, by Lululuna Sudden Heat

15th December 2014:
Hello!! :) Here (finally!) for your second of five prize reviews for the Beatles challenge. Real life really took advantage of me these past few months but I'm on break now so should hopefully be able to give you your prizes. Not to mention that I love this story so always excited to return to it.

One little comment: I found it a bit jarring that Alba's name wasn't mentioned in the first paragraph and it just said "she." I feel like that's the kind of thing that's easier for readers to notice than for writers so might be something to add in if you come back for an edit. :)

I liked how we got to see more of Chandra in this chapter and how it made her more likable. I liked how she was bonding a bit with Alba at the dinner table, and her having OCD is really interesting. I think it's great that you're showing diversity and representation not only through Alba, but her schoolmates as well, and it feels very authentic. As usual, you do a really good job showing how Alba has to make sacrifices and be mindful of her body's specific needs, but not making her whole identity and life revolve around it.

Alba's such a well-rounded character too. I think the way she reacted to Chandra's panic attack showed how she can be a little judgemental too, but how she still tries to see the most in people and be empathetic. That's very relatable.

Is it weird that I'm potentially shipping Alba and Albus?? He just seems sweet, if a little overshadowed by James. But I love the way the brothers work together and are such good friends, that's definitely fitting with my head canon especially if they're a year apart. And the names "Alba" and "Albus" are just too perfect to ignore. Hehe.

Hahaha, Krum!! I'm so excited that he's here - such a charmer, too. I like how he has such fond memories of Hogwarts, his feelings towards it reminded me of Harry a bit actually and how iconic Hogwarts is as both a symbol and a place in their minds. I'm so excited for the Tournament too, and what mischief the other schools might stir up.

Also, so funny to see Krum is still popular with the fangirls! Haha.



Couple typos I noticed (I know I like it when people review my stories and point these out so it might be helpful :P):

smart and cool." James answered - Should be a comma in the dialogue tag.
"Oh yeah!" Jam exclaimed Missing the last part of his name. Though Jam is kind of a cool nickname. :P
a better vantage point. He pointed to tops of Missing a quotation mark when his dialogue ends. Also I think it's supposed to be "the" tops.

Awesome chapter! I'm so excited to see what happens next. ♥

 Report Review

Review #3, by marauderfan Sudden Silence

14th December 2014:
For our review swap!

I am so glad this reminded me to come back to this story as I really loved reading the first two chapters.

I still feel terrible for Alba every time I remember that she has to go up and down all these absurdly tall tower stairs to get to and from the Ravenclaw common room/dormitories. Come on Hogwarts, it's the twenty first century and I think they should work on accessibility. Like what if there were a student who didn't have the use of their legs at all? As is, there's only one way to get into those tall towers and that's stairs. Gah! /rant.

A single thread in a tapestry cannot know itís worth, -- ooh, I love that!

I can also instantly relate to Alba as 'the cat lady'. We gotta stand together, us cat ladies. Ben does seem really sweet though! I hope she gives him a chance.

Ah, I love that Alba wants to be a healer. Given her background and her personality it's a perfect fit - then she can help others stand tall. :)

I like Maude, even though Alba seems convinced they're not friends past academic acquaintances, Maude does seem to genuinely like her and it's nice to see Alba having friends.

just a note, you say Alba is really into astrology and then go on to describe the study of the stars, the class at Hogwarts - however Astrology is like horoscopes/sun signs, etc, whereas I believe the one you're talking about here is Astronomy.

I liked that we got a bit more info about Chandra at the end of this chapter (even though Alba was eavesdropping... tsk tsk! :P ) and their discussion about the Triwizard cup. Also.. ahh! the Triwizard tournament is returning! Well that should be interesting.

Can't wait to find out what James is up to, because he's obviously up to something haha. Awesome chapter and thanks for the swap!

 Report Review

Review #4, by macpp Don't Wish, Don't Start

8th December 2014:
Just read the whole story, really enjoyed it!! Nice to find something original for once :D please update soon...

Author's Response: I certainly will thank you so much for commenting! I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #5, by casa_bella Don't Wish, Don't Start

7th December 2014:
What!! Love this, update soon!

Author's Response: Will do! Glad you dropped a line!

 Report Review

Review #6, by hokiechick Don't Wish, Don't Start

5th December 2014:
Wow! I am in love with this story! It's not something I would have expected to find, to read, or to enjoy so thoroughly. But just like Alba herself, it's overcome all the things that might work against it to be something truly amazing.

What a bold decision to write about CP. It's something from the muggle world that I never saw as fitting in with the wizarding world, but you've addressed that so seamlessly in so many ways. The wheelchair, the potions, navigating all the stairs. Of course Alba is friends with a lot of the portraits at Hogwarts, she spends much more time in the halls and on the stairs than anyone else! Just wonderful. I can tell you've put a lot of care and thought into the characters and what their lives are like on a daily basis.

Sometimes, with such great character development, you don't see a plot emerge. It's just a story about the daily life of a character and nothing really happens. Obviously that's not the case here. I was so mad at James for risking his friend's life, and I think his dad would be more disappointed that he did that than if James had just entered himself.

In any case, I love your story. I think you've done a wonderful job so far and I hope you continue to post more chapters. Thanks for sharing this gem.

Author's Response: THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS REVIEW!

I've sat by and watched the read count go up on this last chapter while crickets go off in my head from the lack of reviews! I was worried the plot seemed too predictable or uninteresting, and it's good to know that isn't the case.

I'm glad you got my point with the portraits! +] I didn't want to come right out and say it, but you're exactly right.

And yes, I'm sure Harry would be much more upset with James for his trickery than if he had just entered. The question is will Harry find out. Haha.

I certainly have a lot in store for it, I hope you come back again! +]


 Report Review

Review #7, by Infinityx Hands Touch

4th December 2014:
Hi, here for BvB!

First of all, I am impressed that you're writing about cerebral palsy. You've done such an amazing job at capturing Alba's feelings and problems in this first chapter. This is the first story I'm reading of yours and I'm absolutely in love with your writing style. Alba's personality shines through so strongly and with just the little bit I got to know from her in this chapter, I love her already.

She loved when children asked about her. They were so astute, so ready to learn about the things they didn't understand. She preferred their honest curiousity to the gawkers who slyly tried to hide their interest with furtive glances and hushed whispers to others.
Those sentences held so much meaning to them and they really touched me. Just beautiful.

James seems like such an amazing friend. I love how you've brought in their first encounter and the way he's been a solid support to Alba throughout the years. And Alba is just such an inspiring, strong character. I mean, slipping and then rating it on ten. That was just such a normal, casual way of talking about something serious and that small detail gives so much emphasis on how cerebral palsy becomes such an inherent part of the person's daily life.

I totally ship James and Alba already. I hope that works out. At first, I thought Chandra would be a nice person if James really likes her so much but after her comment in the carriage I've decided that I thoroughly dislike her. It's gonna take a lot for me to change my mind so I'm interested to see how her character will progress through the story.

I also love that Alba's a Ravenclaw! You've totally brought out her cleverness through her quick thinking for the crossword. It's also sad that she has to climb such a tall tower, poor thing. :(

Loved this first chapter! You've done a brilliant job of setting the stage for the story and I'm definitely going to keep following this one. :)

Author's Response: It was a big decision, but I'm glad I decided to tackle it. I'm glad you think I've done a good job!

That's exactly what I hoped the six out of ten would convey! Haha. I guess you'll just have to wait and see about Alba and James.

I'm so glad that you enjoyed it! Thank you so much for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by ScorpiusRose17 Hands Touch

19th October 2014:
Hi!

I just wanted to start off by saying that I was reading through a section on the forums and saw that there was a story being written about CP, so I had to stop by and read it.

I really enjoyed this first chapter and getting to know who Alba is as a person. I think that is something that people forget is that no matter the disability the person is still them. She voices that when James mistakes her for a robot. I really liked that part. Kids and the innocent things that come out of their mouths. :)

I love and admire Alba's determination. She wants to prove herself. I like how she can joke about the serious issues like falling "6 out of 10" She just knows it happens at times and James is super awesome for not being afraid to stay behind and help her. Ego is something I always expect from James, but I am happy to see it deflate a bit when needed.

I look forward to reading more of this story and how your character deals with their disability in the wizarding world. CP is something near and dear to me as well as someone special in my life suffers from its effects.

Have an awesome day!! And keep up the awesome writing!!

-SR17 :)

Author's Response: Wow, I'm glad you decided to stop by!

I also have someone close to me with CP. It's nice to hear that you enjoyed my portrayal. Thank you so much for the lovely review. I hope you enjoy the rest of the story as much as this. +]


 Report Review

Review #9, by Lululuna Sudden Silence

29th September 2014:
Hello! :D I'm here for your first prize review for the Beatles challenge.

It's nice to see Alba's circle of friends expanded a bit and I liked her interaction with Maude and the latter's concern for Alba. The bandaid explanation was great as well in explaining not only to Maude, but to me about Alba's potions. It's really great how you weave in her everyday interactions with how she's always conscious of having Cerebral Palsy and its impact on even the smallest things. I thought the mention of her fear of falling and breaking her wand was especially poignant since it would be so disappointing and inconvenient for a witch to break her wand yet could happen so simply.

Unlike most of the girls in her year, Alba actually liked Maude, though their interactions were generally strictly academic. This sentence confused me a little as I wasn't sure if it meant that Alba disliked most of the girls in their year, or that most of the girls in their year disliked Maude. Maybe both? :)

tapestry cannot know it's worth I think this should be "its"? Also this was a great line and kind of reminded me of something Dumbledore would say. And the goblet of fire coming into Alba's life is so exciting and adds such a suspenseful future for the story. I like how James is quite down to earth about entering the tournament, though his yielding to Chandra is intriguing as well. Somehow I got the suspicion from his wink to Alba that maybe he was going to enter Alba's name - hmm. I don't think he would be that sneaky and he's pretty protective of her safety so maybe not, but it did seem like he was up to something.

I actually love how Alba wants to be a Healer. She would be a good one too, since she already knows so much about her own medical treatment and has a passion for communicating to people about medicine like we saw with Maude. But that being said I liked how you focused on the difficult aspects as well with Potions and Herbology. I wouldn't have thought of that but it fit well with how people accommodate disabilities in the Muggle (our) world.

Great chapter, I'll be back soon!! :D

 Report Review

Review #10, by academica Hands Touch

14th August 2014:
Hello, I'm here from the Claw Review Battle!

The idea for this story looked so interesting that I couldn't resist popping by for a review.

I loved the first part of this story. I thought you wrote Alba's struggle beautifully, and it seems like you've done your homework or at least spent time observing people who actually have her illness, because the way you talked about her behavior made perfect sense based on people I've observed. I especially like this part: She loved when children asked about her. They were so astute, so ready to learn about the things they didn't understand. She preferred their honest curiousity to the gawkers who slyly tried to hide their interest with furtive glances and hushed whispers to others. Maybe it's because it's what I immediately thought or would write if this had been my story, but it seemed so poetic.

I also really loved Chandra's maturity. Again, I think that's what you'd expect from a girl who has already had to endure so much in her short life. Even in the first part of the story, when she was eleven, she handled herself so well, and it only seemed to get better when she got older. It's clear that the disability is a central part of the story, and yet Alba doesn't let it be her whole story. She's very likable and inspiring in that way.

Oh, Chandra. We just can't keep her around. Every potential partner has to pass the best friend test! Hopefully James will figure that out soon.

Nice work! I hope to come back later for more :)

-Amanda

 Report Review

Review #11, by Veritaserum27 Sudden Silence

12th August 2014:
Hello!

I'm here for the BvB review battle - and so excited to see more chapters to this story! It is really riveting and well written. Yet again, you continue to seamlessly illustrate the daily struggles of Alba's disability without making them the center focus of the story you're telling, but also without glossing over the fact that she must deal with this every minute of every day. (Sorry that sentence was so long.)

The other feat you've managed here is nothing short of genius. Alba is a completely flawed character in her own right. I find myself getting frustrated at her periodically because of her stubbornness and low self-esteem.

I'll admit, I was confused in the last chapter why Alba didn't have any close friends other than James and Ben. It seemed odd to me that she didn't have any close girl friends. After seeing the interaction between her and Maude, it is obvious that she pushes people away. Maude clearly sees Alba as a friend - or wants to at least - but Alba insists that they are only academically acquainted. If I've interpreted this wrong, please let me know. I just find it hard to believe that after six years at a school of generally nice people, she doesn't have a single close friend who isn't James. She even keeps Ben at bay. I think the only reason she doesn't do this to James it that he simply won't let her. We see this in the interaction at breakfast. Alba tries to use her Ravenclaw intellect and logic to make it seem like James is overstepping his bounds and insulting her. He doesn't fall for it and pushes right back.

Poor Alba, she really has chosen two buddies with serious lack of manners! I laughed at those parts - especially when James seemed offended by Ben's belch after he had his own display of shoving food in his mouth. It is really sweet that he is so protective of Alba.

And Ben is so sweet too! Alba really should go out with him - he seems like such a great guy.

What's this about Professor Pimbly warning Alba about the Triwizard Cup? Do I sense some foreshadowing? That would be really, really amazing! This story just got way more interesting! (It was interesting before, but all the possibilities are running through my head right now.)

I really liked the interaction with Nurse Wainscott. Here we get to see Alba acting like a typical teenager, complete with an attempt at manipulation and a display of dramatics when she doesn't get her way.

And again, we see Alba eavesdropping on her best friend's conversation with his girlfriend (yet another character flaw - bad Alba!). It appears that Chandra has her own demons - she is living in the shadow of some fairly impressive older siblings. James, in his usual self, is trying to encourage her to not let that get in the way of her being the best she can - the same thing he does for Alba.

And that wink at the end -ooo! Ok, so I don't know if you like predictions or not, but I have one and you don't have to respond to it if you don't want to. I think that James and Chandra's "deal" of putting their names into the cup together is going to have a twist. James is going to put in Alba's name, thinking that she will never get chosen... but you have much, much more planned for these characters, don't you?!

Awesome story!

Beth

Author's Response: You totally get me (and Alba). She does intentionally distance herself from people, and the only reason James has managed to get close its because he refuses to let her do that to him. Ben has been hanging in there for awhile, trying to break through the cold shoulder she tries (and fails) to give him. Is it odd to say I hope she gives him a chance too? Haha. Honestly, Been didn't exist in the original plans of the story, so I'm not sure if he gets his way out not. I guess we'll find out together.

I'm so glad you like nurse wainscott. I thought she might come off a bit too much like a re-hash of Molly, which certainly wasn't my intention. So it's good to hear the interactions are enjoyable.

I LOVE PREDICTIONS! So keep them coming, though you will get no help from me +) I'm a big predictor too.

And yes. ALL THE CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT!!!

Now that my crazy is showing, I think it's time to thank you for such a lovely review and following this story. It's quite encouraging, and I hope you like the next chapters as well.


 Report Review

Review #12, by marauderfan Eyes Meet

22nd July 2014:
Hello :) I read the first chapter of this a few weeks ago, so now I'm back for another chapter!

This was just as good as your first chapter! I felt so badly for Alba in the beginning - of course James is just trying to do what's right, and Alba does need help for her leg, but poor thing to have to regress so far with her treatment. :( Her analysis of feeling like a number/a list of injuries instead of a person was really moving, too.

I loved the feast though, particularly the fact that Hagrid is still there, along with Grawp! Haahaha I can't even imagine Grawp 20 years later, like does he actually talk to people now, or just grunt and say 'Hermy'? haha /tangent

I'm also impressed with your writing of Chandra so far. I was really hoping she wouldn't be so one-dimensional as she appeared in the first chapter, so it was really nice to see that she does indeed have redeeming qualities - she might speak before she thinks sometimes (like in the first chapter) but she does care. A much more complex character that way ;)

The scene with Ben and Alba: adorable. Loved it so much. And ooh, James is jealous ;) Sidenote, what is he doing at the top of Ravenclaw tower with desserts? he went all the way up there just to see Alba? aw, that's cute.

Great chapter!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you came back to read some more!

No, I have some plans for Chandra, it wouldn't do for her to be one-dimensional. And James has standards. Lol. It's so good to hear from you! Thanks for the lovely words.


 Report Review

Review #13, by TidalDragon Sudden Heat

21st July 2014:
Howdy!

After some well-done character development we're starting to drive straight into the plot. In some ways that's a positive thing. In other ways, it wasn't.

Starting with the positives, we advanced back to the point where the focus is not so much on Alba's healing, but what she is going to DO in the story. You've set her personality up very well to achieve great things in the face of adversity, now we can move toward her actually doing them. We also got closer to the cup, which means you'll be able to flex your muscles (and your readers' attentions on some action scenes).

As for the negatives, advancing while covering various issues impacted your descriptions and drill-down on characters as dialogue became more prominent. You didn't suffer terribly from this, but I'd weigh up skewing the balance just slightly toward a little less dialogue.

Overall, I think the pace remained fine in chapter and provided we get to that "cup spitting moment" soon you'll be right as rain overall too. I thought the ending was sound. Tossing James there right at the end of the wedding conversation is at least an excellent teaser, though if the plan is for James/Alba to be endgame it may come off a bit too literal in retrospect.

As for your A/N questions you've given us plenty to think about. Chandra continues to add some new dimensions, but I worry that this OCD addition is contradictory to her character. You almost explored that possibility on your own through the chapter and I'm interested to see how you keep it believable. As for Ben...he's fine I suppose. Not my cup of tea particularly as I tend to find happy-go-lucky people rather irritating (but that's probably just me). Perhaps give him a little struggle to deal with and he'll round out nicely. I'm not shipping anyone just yet, but I'd walk a finer line if you want people to really wrestle with it. I know if I had to write a story where a pairing was also an important hanging plot point throughout the story, I'd probably struggle too, but I think the key is to make Ben, Chandra, and James as realistic and balanced as possible. Then it will come together for you and if you get loads of readers you might have them debating ships in the end.

Another thoroughly enjoyable two chapters! Again, PM me if you've got any questions!

Author's Response: This is honestly, my least favorite chapter. Haha.

I've always had a problem with over doing the dialogue, so I'll keep a look out for it. Thank you for mentioning!

Ha. Didn't ever realize that I'd done that. I'd meant to continue, but realized that I'd written a little more than I normally did for a chapter and decided to split it in two. That seemed as good a place as any. +]

I do have a plan for Chandra. +] I have a pretty good idea of how to keep everything in check and explain it (through examples) throughout the storyline.

You and Alba seem to have the same opinion of Ben. +D As of right now, I wanted the tone between Alba and Ben to remain friends, so I'm kinda glad to hear that you aren't shipping them. I hadn't originally intended for him to be a character at all actually, he just kind of interrupted a chapter, and after that he just wouldn't go away. (I'm not crazy, I swear...)

I'm glad you're liking it so far! And I probably will PM you here once I get back trudging through chapter 5. I've got a few other things, (fics and RL) to get in order before I start back on it again though. +] Thank you so much for these, really!


 Report Review

Review #14, by TidalDragon Sudden Silence

21st July 2014:
Hello again!

I was glad to see this pop up in my thread as I really enjoyed it last time! This chapter was no different.

I continue to enjoy the way you continue to contrast Alba's inner strength with her physical weakness and the new obstacles that you present based on her condition. I think the way you've handled the latter has been unobstrusive, but still impactful (like Alba's contemplation of the extra danger of going down versus up the stairs).

Honestly, I don't feel that the story is dragging at all. You've introduced the characters believably and taken care to show us different interactions they have with one another rather than putting a certain aspect of their dynamics on repeat too frequently. For example in this chapter while we see more of James (II)/Chandra, we see Chandra differently, as a talented witch with a supportive boyfriend, but some confidence issues about the competition because of her family history. The emphasis is less on the relationship and more on the character, which I think is nice sometimes. That also segues nicely to display James (II)'s determination to live distinctly from his father (and presumably others who came before him).

See you next chapter!

Author's Response: I'm so glad to hear the pacing is well, as sometimes I'm afraid I focus on the trivial too much. (Not to mention I read these things over and over again, so I suppose they start to feel old.)

I'm glad that the little details about Chandra are coming out to make her more of a character. I do have some big plans for her, so I wanted there to be more 'juice' to her character. The bad impression was to make readers dislike her, since Alba dislikes her, but it was all on a superficial level. As Alba gives her chances and gets to know her, I want the reader to do the same.

Thank you so much for these reviews! I've requested a beta, but no one's bitten, so these are particularly important to me as I try to keep up the quality.


 Report Review

Review #15, by Panda Weasley  Eyes Meet

19th July 2014:
Hello!
Oooh I sense some trouble coming! Loved this chapter! I think it was brilliant how your thought to have a character with Cerebral Palsy attend Hogwarts. I think it's an interesting way to show what someone who has a disability has to go through to achive tasks that are easy for other people. I love how you are bringing awareness to the disorder through fan-fiction.

As much as I loved the chapter there were to small errors. The first one you say House Cups, I think you mean the House Hourglasses. The other one was a small typo. You wrote tforget instead of to forget.

All in all I thought this chapter was really good. I loved all of it!
~Panda
B vs. B

Author's Response: Woo hoo!

Thank you so much. Yes! Hourglasses! Gah. I need your keen eye +]


 Report Review

Review #16, by Panda Weasley  Hands Touch

19th July 2014:
Hello!

I loved this first chapter and can't wait to read more! I love your array of characters and the personalities of each of them. I can't wait to read more!

There was one sentence I had to re-read a few times though. "boney limb that served as her right for moment before continuing." I think you probably just forgot a few words but for me it stopped the flow of the reading to figure out what you meant. I loved everything else though especially the very end with the carriage.

Excellent work! I'm adding this to my favorites!
~Panda Weasley
B vs. B

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it! I certainly have a lot in store for the characters. Hope to hear from you again!

 Report Review

Review #17, by crestwood Sudden Silence

17th July 2014:
Hello again!

I like the character of Maude. I know she's not quite a friend of Alba's exactly, but it's nice to see her interacting with someone other who seems to be her only two friends.

The way James acts towards her is so cute and protective. I wish they'd just get together already, especially since I am totally rooting against him and Chandra. I don't think it was right for her to pressure him into submitting his name at all.

Ben continues to be amazing. I love that he's completely fine with Alba's rejections and shifts right back into friend mode as if nothing ever happens. He and James didn't seem to like each other much, I wonder why that is.

This is just so engrossing. I don't even find myself critiquing your writing in these reviews. I feel like I'm just having a conversation about these characters, as if we're chatting about the happenings at school in real life. Such a great chapter! Can't wait for the next :)

Author's Response: Yes!! That's how I feel too, lol. Maude is nice. I think she's really the only feminine influence Alba enjoys, though she really is too private to be considered a close friend.

James is such an endearing soul, even if he does get on my nerves sometimes. Lol. Ben is amazing. I feel like he's my little brother.

Yay! I hope that you enjoy the following chapters as much as the previous ones. And, as always, thank you for a wonderful review. It is so encouraging to get feedback.


 Report Review

Review #18, by G Sudden Silence

16th July 2014:
Silly james, succumbing to peer/girlfriend pressure. I feel for poor Alba, James just doesn't seem to be listening to anything she says. I really enjoy your story, it's definitely very different to any other james/oc I've read, its very creative. Update soon please

Author's Response: Haha. Yes, silly indeed. He is a bit hard headed. Thank you so much! I'm glad you've enjoyed it!

I actually just submitted the next chapter to the queue, so in the next 3-7 days, it should be up! Thank you so much for reviewing and letting me know that you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #19, by crestwood Eyes Meet

15th July 2014:
It was close, but this chapter may be even better than the first. Alba takes her 'Stand Tall' mantra very seriously. I love that she wants to handle her condition by herself, but I'm still glad that James realized that she did definitely need to go to the Hospital Wing. Her monologue about the disconnection between Healers and patients was incredible. Extremely powerful writing there. People often kind of create characters with disabilities that have no traits besides their defining one, but you've avoided falling into that trap,thankfully. Chandra apologized, but I'm still too sure if I like her character quite yet. Ben seemed really awesome from his scene here. I wouldn't be too upset if Alba ended up with him honestly. You give so much information without info dumps and I just love what you've done so far with this story!

Author's Response: I'm glad I'm keeping up with your expectations! Sorry it took me so long to reply, for someone reason it wouldn't ever post my response. (Hopefully it does this time...)

I like Ben as well! He's kinda growing on me.

I'm so glad you like!! Thank you for such a lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #20, by marauderfan Hands Touch

15th July 2014:
Sorry about the delay! Omg your review for me was amazing, thank you. I hope mine will be that good (but, really, I just ramble a lot in my reviews, so sorry in advance)

Oh wow I love this already, from the very beginning description of Alba's disability. (Ps - there are so many staircases at Hogwarts, how on earth is that disability-accessible? I hope for her sake that she is either a Puff or a Slytherin because seriously the amount of stairs to the towers would be so cruel.)

Aw, and that's so true about kids versus adults. Kids are just curious and ask uncomfortable questions because they're curious, they don't know they're rude. Adults try to pretend they don't see. Alba's perspective is so refreshing here - I haven't seen another character like her in fanfiction like ever. And I think you treat the condition with a lot of care and respect - I feel like you either did your research very well or have some knowledge of it.

Bahahaa I love the idea of James showing of his prefect/head boy badge like Percy haha. Not the mischief maker but the arrogant goody two shoes, I kind of love your interpretation of James :D

Oh wait. Alba is the woman behind the curtain pulling all the strings, haha - James is a mischief maker and still made Head Boy. Alba must have had a hard time of it!

Eeep she is in Ravenclaw. Poor thing. Isn't that the tallest tower? O_o You'd think Hogwarts would have installed elevators. What would be really cool is elevators like the one in the book Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, you know the elevator that can go up and down and sideways. It'd fit right in at Hogwarts.

Ooh, Alba is so sassy to Chandra :p When you were describing Chandra before, she sounded fine, but when we actually meet her there in the carriage she didn't impress me. I hope the comment Chandra made about her being disgusting was about the mud and not some insult about her disability - that'd be the lowest of the low and I would hate her. I am already not a big fan of her. Alba is way cooler.

Awesome start to this story and I will definitely be reading more!!

Author's Response: I'm glad you like it! Hahaha. And yes. I felt a little bad about the staircases, but she really wouldn't fit in any other house. +[

Actually, one of my favorite cousin's has CP, though not exactly like Alba's. It was a mixture of both. +]

I love James. He's hilarious. Glad you think so too! And yes, she has had a hard time keeping him in line.

That kind of elevator would be EPIC in Hogwarts.

Hahaha. Yeah, no one so far likes Chandra. There's more to her though, if you give her a chance. +]

Thank you so much for the review swap! Hopefully you stop by again soon.


 Report Review

Review #21, by crestwood Hands Touch

15th July 2014:
Hey, crestwood from the forums here for a review swap!

The first section of this honestly warmed my heart. I've never seen anyone write about cerebral palsy in fan fiction or original fiction. Your character, Alba is a really nuanced look at it. For starters, her readiness to discuss her condition seems realistically how someone in her position would react, considering it must happen often with children as you noted. I thought that showed a lot of maturity on her part. James taking her hand and walking with her onto the platform was beautifully written.

I have a feeling I'm going to love James and Alba's scenes together. I was already starting to ship them and then I discover that he's apparently with this Chandra character. I can't immediately decide not to like her though, as I haven't met her yet. When Alba is getting helped back to her feet and into the carriage by James and she screams about not wanting her there because of the mud she had just fallen in because of her disability is precisely when I decided not to like her. I suppose I'm on Team Alba from the very start. I'm impressed with the way you chose to go about characterization; never explaining how anyone typically acts, simply showing us their actions. This is such an excellent first chapter and I can't wait to read on!

Author's Response: Yay! I'm glad you chose this one. Haha! It's my baby right now. +]

I have a cousin with CP (don't tell anyone, but she's my favorite +] ) So I have a little bit of an insiders take on it. I think people that deal with hardships like this grow up fast, so I'm glad you picked up on that.

I do enjoy James. He's a good guy, and a good character. Haha You're shipping them already? I hope you read the next chapter. +]

Yes. Chandra. She did seem a bit rude huh? +]

Thank you for the swap! hopefully you keep reading!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Unicorn_Charm Eyes Meet

15th July 2014:
Hi there! Thanks for doing the swap!

Wow I can't believe how badly she cut her leg when she fell! Not good that she couldn't exactly feel it, either. I thought it was very sweet of James, even though it didn't seem that way to Alba, that he went to her head of house.

My heart broke when she was talking about how she had become detached while being treated since the people who treat her must be detached while they work. To just feel like a patient and not an actual person at this point. And her struggle up the stairs was so sad to read. The poor thing with over a hundred staircases in that school.

I can't believe Chandra apologized to her. She seemed like such an awful person in the previous chapter. Maybe I judged her too harshly too soon? I guess I'll see...

Ben seems really cute and sweet. It's nice to see that she does have other good friends besides James. And I can't believe he was waiting there for her with dessert! Aww! So James became a little jealous, huh? Uh oh...

I've been meaning to continue on with this story, to be honest. I'm really happy you swapped with me because I got that chance to keep reading. I'll definitely be continuing on! I'm really enjoying it all so far. :) Thanks again for the swap!!

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Yeah. Pain killers man, they can be deadly. (pun intended +])

I think Alba is hard on James too, though I see both sides. (If you haven't noticed, my characters are practically people of their own. They don't do anything I tell them to anyways.)

Ah, yes. My hubby says that my past coming through. Haha. I was in and out of hospitals growing up. Actually spent my 16th birthday in a research hospital, so I get that part of it. I know what it's like for a doctor to forget your name, or look only at your chart and never at you.

*eerie music* Yes. Chandra apologized. Sincere or otherwise? The mystery continues! +] You'll get no spoilers from me.

Yes, Ben. He wasn't actually planned. At all. He didn't existed until he jumped onto the screen. Didn't expect it, but he's growing on me.

Thank you for the swap! I'm glad that you enjoyed it! Hope to see you here again!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Veritaserum27 Eyes Meet

7th July 2014:
Hello again!

Here for the next chapter. I am really, really enjoying this story. Ben seems like such a sweetheart ♥ ! What was going on at the end? Is James actually jealous? And why was Chondra being so nice? All is not as it may seem... Again you've done an excellent job with describing the struggles of living with a disability. While it isn't Alba's primary focus, she can't escape it and I think you've done well with continuing to describe it throughout the story, without glossing over it and, at the same time, not making it the primary focus. I'm so upset for Alba. It seems that she made great strides this past summer and didn't need her crutches again until this setback. I hope she doesn't feel too much pain as she strives to overcome yet another hurdle. Very clever, coming up with the Pain Philter and the Strengthening potion. That is so brilliant. Great job!

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Yay!!! Gah, I love Ben so much. *whistles* What? Jealous? Who? You'll have to wait and see! Chandra... is different. I'd say... 'misguided' is a good word. Don't worry, you'll figure it out. I'm glad it doesn't bog the story down or disappear! I've been trying to keep it balanced. Good to know!

I am kinda stretching my brain and trying to figure out what would really be possibly plausible in the wizarding world as far as treatments. Hopefully it continues to be believable!

Thank you so much for the reviews on this! This is really my baby right now, and it really makes my day when people drop me a line about it.


 Report Review

Review #24, by Veritaserum27 Hands Touch

7th July 2014:
Hi!

This was such a great story! I love that you are choosing to tackle a different type of topic. I think that a lot of stories go for the easy, "boy meets girl," style but this is so much deeper. James is a sweetheart and a good friend. He is genuinely a good person, but seems to have not the best taste in women? I'm curious as to why Alba doesn't have more friends? Surely James is popular, but since they are in different houses it makes sense that they don't run in the same circles. I liked the way that you intertwined the crossword puzzle with Alba's feelings. It was very clever and a great technique! Alba is an amazing character. The way you described her challenges was amazing. Although Alba has dealt with this her whole life, she still struggles constantly with activities that we all take for granted. Great, great writing and I can't wait to read more of this story!

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Different, certainly! So I'm glad you like it. And yes, this is not your average boy meets girl. James is a wonderful person and friend, and his taste isn't *too* bad. She has some redeeming qualities. +]

I was worried the crosswords would be hit or miss, so I'm glad you liked them!

Thank you for the review! Hopefully you keep reading!


 Report Review

Review #25, by TidalDragon Eyes Meet

2nd July 2014:
Hello again! Since I think you maintained the strengths of the first chapter pretty well, I'm going to focus here on a few things I noticed that you might consider going forward or choices you made that seemed wise in light of the first chapter.

First, I'm glad you walked back Chandra's reaction from the carriages. It makes her seem more human - though I am intrigued by why she's headed downstairs when James is up. Perhaps they fought about him waiting for Alba? Or perhaps the walk-back of her cruel line was an effort to disguise that she is in fact a bad person, headed downstairs to "look for" someone else.

As for specific lines or paragraphs, I'd start here. "She breathed deeply, taking in the smell of fresh polish, old parchment, and the thrill of learning. It had been like this for her every year, the excitement, the intoxication of euphoria." To me it seems that in the first line you are stating that the "thrill of learning" has a smell that can be detected. That rang a bit odd to me. In the second, "intoxication of euphoria" seemed a bit redundant after you'd already said excitement - perhaps you could fuse the lines somehow or move the learning to the second line and pair it somehow with intoxication, while replacing its slot in the first line with something else that can be smelled?

Then: "Breathing easier, she smiled at the brightly colored House Cups before her..." I think there's only one House Cup (the actual trophy). I think you're referring to the hourglasses. I'll admit I don't know what they would be named, but I'm sure you can think of something.

To comment briefly on the medical description here (the treatment) James recites, I thought it was actually excellent and not off-putting at all. It dovetailed nicely with Alba's thoughts about James reading the material and the concerned-but-not-pitying-friend tone of their dynamic right now.

Finally, coming to the end, I think Ben going through the door and Alba catching James's eye got a bit confusing with all the commas. I'm a comma fiend myself (if I bothered with obsessing over grammatical conventions, I probably misuse them) so I know how it can be wanting to express things that way, but sometimes it can get kind of hairy (especially when you're trying to pepper in action, description, and re-orient a character all in one go).

All in all though, I think you're off to a wonderful start. The story is interesting and I'm intrigued to see where it could go. I'm adding it to my reading list!

Hopefully my reviews were helpful and if you have any questions, feel free to PM!

Author's Response: Yes, I see how the thrill of euphoria doesn't really fit in that list, I'll go back and hammer that paragraph out a little more. Thank you!

Bahaha. Yes, you're right. The hourglasses, not House Cups.

I'm glad it didn't come off as too clinical! I thought setting it in a semi-humorous scene might counteract that a bit. It really was a testament to his character, so it's great to know it came off as such.

I'm not great with action, and there was quite a bit going on there. In grade-school I used commas to justify run-on sentences, and I'm afraid the habit still pokes through when I get excited. +] I'll have to go back.

Oh, yay! I hope you have the time to drop me a few lines as I update. Hopefully it'll start to go a little smoother when I find a Beta. +] thank you so much for the great feedback and CC! It's much appreciated!

Until next time!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>