Reading Reviews for Dream Catcher
  
13 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Donner Alberta's

20th December 2014:
Hi there - popping by for Blitzen, who's busy painting his nails gold for whatever reason... strange reindeer...

Anyway, this is such a good story - I'm so disappointed I never stopped by on this one before! I love your Founders stuff, so it stands to reason that I'd love this too, I just never came by before... when this is over I'm going to have to come back ;)

I love your characters, as I said before - they're so, so good! So real and so quirky and different to most normal Next Gen characters, and I really do love that! The little inset with Lucy being so happy when the fire flared up was so funny, haha - typical response from Molly too! The moments with Molly's anxiety were written so well, too, and I liked how you dealt with it so sensitively, too - coz things like that are easy to get wrong, you know? And I liked how she'd got better, impoved, didn't need the potion, and then before her new job, before that step, she needed it again - it really does work like that in RL and it really enhances, in a way, the coming-of-age aspect of the story.

All the description of the house was gorgeous. So, so lovely. I loved how it was so clean and sort of run-down in a way before Molly bought it, and then she coloured it with blues and whites and things - it gives this strangely fresh feel to your writing, if that makes any sense.

I just want to add as well that I really liked how most of this chapter was Molly on her own. I think it's something that often gets left behind in coming-of-age stories, the loneliness people can feel when they move out of home for the first time, and yet it happens to pretty much everybody. It meant we could see so much more of her mind and how she was, you know, and it was so great.

Your writing, of course, was amazing as usual. The details are so wonderful and I've already mentioned your descriptions. I'm also so jealous of how easily your dialogue fits in with the rest of it - nothing ever seems out of place or strange in it. And the flow is perfect.

I'm so enjoying this story. Here's to hoping the other reindeer let me come back (once you've updated, of course! ;D)!

Donner xx

Author's Response: Hi Donner! I have enjoyed the reindeer games so much, and I'm looking forward to next week already!

Aw, I'm glad you're still liking Molly's family! They are definitely fun to write. Percy is a character that has always been close to my heart, and I imagine he would be a great dad; silly, for sure (dad humor seems like such a Percy thing, haha), but also very protective and opinionated.

It is so great to hear that you liked the portrayal of Molly's anxiety in this chapter. I was nervous about it; Molly and I are very similar in this way, so I really wanted to do justice to the feelings she would experience during one of those "moments" (as I've always called them.) I'm glad you felt it was written well, and now I'm feeling even more encouraged to finish up the next chapter!

That's such a good point about the loneliness that comes with a big transition. I'm glad you mentioned it, because it's something I wanted to bring out for Molly with this story. There's not always a friend around to hang out with, unfortunately :( But it's still early on, and Molly has some room to grow and adjust.

Ahhh, these reviews make me so happy!! Next chapter (which is almost done, and I will be posting ASAP) we will meet the Cannons, so I definitely hope that you get to come back for that. Thank you again, reindeer friends, for the awesome present!

--Maggie


 Report Review

Review #2, by Blitzen The Burrow

20th December 2014:
Well, hello, again! :) So Dancer had to run off to polish her pointe shoes, so I'm here in her stead - hope that's okay ;)

I love the idea of the Burrow hosting loads of parties for the cousins and aunts and uncles and everything - Molly Weasley really does love to cook, and they're such a close family in canon, so it's so brilliant you've included that sense of sticking together! (even if the overbearing attention, haha, might be a bit too much for Molly at times :P) I loved the idea of the banner over the doorway, and meeting so many more of the family in this chapter - though all of the introductions felt so natural, you know, which is hard to do when there's so many characters to introduce :)

The characters in this were amazing, too - I loved Victoire and how she was upset at leaving Hogwarts, and leaving all her friends and things behind, and how Molly Sr was so worried about Arthur being in hospital over the party (which is a really tough thing to deal with, especially when it's someone she cares about so much!), and how Freddie was so different to George and liked reading. They're all pretty different (apart from Molly Sr, who has basically walked out of canon into here) portrayals of the characters to normal, which I love seeing! :)

All the little comments about parents embarrassing their children were so good too - so true! Actually made me laugh :P And I loved how you wrote her family, too, with Percy being more relaxed, Audrey seeming so much fun, and Lucy being embarrassed by everything at thirteen :D I really hope there's more of them in this story, because they're such good characters!

As before, your writing is lovely. The details you include are amazing, your descriptions are gorgeous... just everything flows so nicely, so much so that I'm almost jealous ;)

Sorry this one's a bit shorter, but, alas, I have to run off to go and buy cake and paint my nails... :(

Blitzen xx

Author's Response: Blitzen! Welcome! Thank you so much for coming by to review, y'all are making my day :)

Oh goodness, all these Weasleys! It was hard to keep them all straight in my mind--I've never worked with a cast this large before, and it's only the second chapter! But it was fun to imagine what all the nexgen cousins would be like. I've read some nextgen stuff here on the archives, and it was fun to decide which of the typical characterizations I liked and which ones I wanted to change. Freddie, like you mentioned, is very different from most of the Freddies I've read, and I'm excited to write more of him. And even Molly isn't exactly your typical Weasley; she's obviously very quiet and shy, and doesn't do well with a lot of noise :P

I've got some plans for Victoire, as well as for Arthur; they are both very important to Molly, and they will be showing up again! Honestly, you've inspired me to get back to work on this story. I had put it aside for a while, and now these reviews have me fired up again! So thank you for that! :)

I'm so glad you like the style. It was a little difficult to transition from founders to nextgen, but I tried to keep the best of both worlds. Thank you so much for coming by, Blitzen! Cake and manicures...sounds like you have a perfect night ahead of you :)

--Maggie


 Report Review

Review #3, by Dancer Patronus

20th December 2014:
Hello there, little Secret Santa giftee! :D :D

Just stopping by to spread the love - and I couldn't resist stopping on this story, so I hope that's okay! :)

The whole premise of this is amazing! I loved the flashback of the match within the Charms NEWT exam, and how you built up to the happiest memory she had slowly, describing the whole day and the whole experience as she narrowed it down herself - it was like a scene within a scene. All very meta :P But it was such a brilliant way to do it, and it worked so, so well!

Her having a panda bear as her Patronus was so cute too! Not my favourite animal, pandas, but they're so adorable! Always look so cuddly... an important quality in an animal, imo.

Your characterisation was so lovely, too - I loved how nervous Molly was and how she'd never managed to produce a fully-fledged Patronus before, and this was the one moment and time when she did. There's something so real about seeing characters struggle with things, you know? And I love how you brought that out. Her love of Quidditch, and everything about it, was so tangible throughout this too, and it was so gorgeous! It's something that I can really sympathise with, too, because while I've never been professionally good, lol, I love sports - watching and doing some - and can't wait to get back out onto the slop - field. Field. Definitely field :P

Your writing is so gorgeous - I'm so annoyed I haven't read anything of yours in so long, it's really ridiculous, tbh! Your descriptions are gorgeous, and so evocative; they really just paint this beautiful picture of what's going on so I can literally see it in my mind. It's amazing.

I'm going to have to come back to your page once this whole shebang is over... clearly it's been far too long! :)

Anyway, must dash off as presents won't deliver themselves, you know! :) You'll see me soon, though, I expect ;)

Dancer xx

Author's Response: HI DANCER!!! This is so surreal, I feel like I'm getting reviews from celebrities! :D Thank you so much for coming by!

I'm so happy you liked the structure of this chapter. It was difficult for me to get the layers down the way I wanted them, but I'm pretty happy with the end result. The idea of a Patronus, which requires strong feelings of happiness, seemed like a good way to introduce how important Quidditch is to Molly.

I definitely agree about the cuddliness of panda bears. And according to the interwebz, panda bears symbolize gentle strength, which fits Molly perfectly. I'm hoping that will become more and more evident as the story goes on.

I'm glad you could relate to Molly's nervousness here; as you know, she is going to have more struggles ahead of her when it comes to anxious moments. I've worked hard to get it right, and I'm glad to know her feelings are realistic so far.

I would love to see you back as soon as you can get to it! Thank you so much for the kind words, from you and the rest of your reindeer friends! :D

--Maaggie


 Report Review

Review #4, by Pixileanin Patronus

6th December 2014:
Hi, I'm here from Review Tag to check out this lovely story of yours! I picked it because the summary intrigued me about how Molly is going to save her team.

Your first chapter completely drew me into the story. I loved everything about your setting, all the way down to the Charms professor who didn't give her a shred of encouragement during her NEWTS exam. How un-professorish! All the descriptions of the room, the way Wainwright made her uncomfortable, and the little tidbit about her vastly differing opinion from Victoire... which made me laugh... gave me a clear picture of who Molly is in school. And I was very impressed with how you used her search for the perfect memory to fill in a tidy package of backstory and still make it plot-worthy. Excellent setup here!

The memory of the game was so clear, I could tell that Molly was really getting into it and reliving it in her head, blocking out Wainwright's impatience. The little touches that you threw in with her uncle tearing up made the memory even more special, making me truly believe that the win was an exceptional moment for her family.

The way that the moment she found her calling had helped her to pass her NEWTS exam in Charms tied everything tightly together. The panda bear sounds adorable, and having it be a bit fuzzy and last just a bit before disappearing sounded perfect for a first successful casting, but enough to make it count.

Great setup, and great job reeling me in. I shall want to read more now!

 Report Review

Review #5, by crestwood Alberta's

27th August 2014:
Wow, this chapter is definitely my favorite so far. Percy sounds like my dad the beginning haha. I think Molly has a good point about wanting to feel a little more grown up and self sufficient.

You did such a good job showing us some of Molly's insecurities in this chapter. The things that people have apparently said to her in the past would get anyone down I think. Audrey and Percy give pretty typical parental advice, but it's the truth. She will be fine and these things do take time. I think their family dynamic is so realistic in this chapter.

The ending with the anxiety draught was unexpected, but I've decided that I really liked it. Especially her thought about doing nothing wrong - but still feeling like she had just suffered a personal defeat. That kind of thinking is pretty common with people who need medication for that sort of thing. It can really get to a person to not feel in control of oneself. This is such a truthful description of these characters so far. I'm really impressed. Your writing is pretty flawless as well. No typos or awkward tense changes or anything at all. Thank you for your request!

 Report Review

Review #6, by crestwood The Burrow

27th August 2014:
I love a good Weasley gathering. I don't normally see any animosity between George and Freddie, so that was an interesting little thing to write in. Freddie kind of reminded me of myself. I love his character and he delivered my favorite line of the chapter: 'I'd offer to come with you, but then I'd have to get up.' That's hilarious!

Victoire was a bit sulky at first in this chapter, but I totally get it. I can't imagine graduating with a cousin that wildly successful. That'd just magnify all of your worries and fears about finding a good career and make you feel second fiddle and I think you did a good job fitting all of that into her mannerisms and dialogue. I like the way Molly and Victoire interacted at the end, that was so sweet. Great chapter!

 Report Review

Review #7, by crestwood Patronus

27th August 2014:
Hey, crestwood from the forums here with your requested review!

I thought you did a good job of introducing the plot in this beginning chapter. There a nice bit of build up from Professor Wainwright's intimidating nature and Molly's reminiscence about what she should choose as her perfect memory. I love that she dug deeper and deeper into her mind to find not just a good Quidditch memory, but the exact moment she fell in love with the sport. That gave us not only an explanation as to why she is so obsessed with it, but a great memory to make a patronus from.

I haven't read many stories that decide to make Quidditch front and center in the plot like this. It's usually playing second fiddle to a romantic arc or two, but here it seems that Molly truly is invested in her sport. Your description of the crowds reaction to the Cannons' win was spot on. It does feel amazing to be swept up in that sort of victory celebration. I definitely did not think this was too slow. I found that it progressed at a nice pace and didn't rush itself to the satisfying moment at the end. This is a good starting point!

 Report Review

Review #8, by lia_2390 Patronus

31st July 2014:
Hi Maggie :)

I thought this was a really nice opening chapter. I love the background you gave with Molly going to see the game with her father, uncle and grandfather. I especially like seeing her having a friendship with Victoire. It's not very often I see that - Victoire is the eldest, and is always with Teddy someplace.

The narrative was clear, and well suited for a seventeen year old - including her challenges: the intimidating Professor, exam anxiety, and most importantly, she has some hope.

I haven't spotted any typos or errors. I think you've made a decent start and I'd like to see where you go with this.

- Lia

 Report Review

Review #9, by emmacweasley The Burrow

25th June 2014:
Maggie!

Your edits were great! :) Molly is really gaining a lot of depth, and I love it. Additionally, I can't wait to see more interactions between her and Fred. I feel like they have the potential to get into a lot of trouble together.

Can't wait to receive the next chapter!

Emma

Author's Response: Emma, thank you! You are a gem. I'm so grateful for your help, and I'm happy you're enjoying the chapters so far. I'm kicking myself into gear so I can get you the next one soon! :D

 Report Review

Review #10, by CambAngst The Burrow

20th June 2014:
Hi, Maggie! I'm back for chapter 2!

This chapter had an awesome life transition/coming of age feel to it. Molly is surrounded by the familiar trappings of her childhood, but at the same time she's experiencing the highs and lows of moving on.

I loved this paragraph: Lucy rolled her eyes. She was thirteenóeverything embarrassed her. Your writing has real snap to it. You're great at using this sort of small aside or observation to break up the narration and lighten the mood.

You did a good job of defining Molly's niche in the family. She prefers not to be the center of attention, to observe from the periphery and pick and choose her moments. There's quite a contrast between her and Victoire. Definitely a situation of opposites attracting.

Poor Vic can't quite figure out what to make of life at this point, it seems. After being the social butterfly and the life of the party, it must be hard to see "that life" coming to an end and be faced with one that's full of uncertainty and doubt. Being overshadowed by her less popular cousin's achievement probably makes it even harder. I feel badly for her. I think I hear "Glory Days" playing in the back of my mind. ;)

Nice job! I really enjoyed this.

 Report Review

Review #11, by CambAngst Patronus

17th June 2014:
Hi, Maggie! I enjoyed your review on CoB so much that when I saw your post in the chapter updates thread, I wanted to take a look.

It did take me a little bit to wrap my head around the idea of Molly and Victoire being close to the same age. For some reason, I always think of Molly as being close in age to James. But after a bit, I was over it. If you want Molly to be one of the elder cousins then she is!

I love the memory she chose to fuel her Patronus. I'm not the world's biggest sports fan, but I can definitely relate to that feeling of being completely immersed in the energy and passion of a stadium full of cheering, chanting fans. It's a magical thing, one you don't get to experience very often in life. You did a great job of drawing out the intensity and the magic of the moment with all of the details and emotions you evoked. Especially Arthur with tears in his eyes. What a wonderful moment! And you gave her a panda bear for a Patronus. Adorable!

Your writing was pristine in this. I didn't see any typos or grammatical problems or anything that distracted from the flow and rhythm of the chapter. Great job!

Author's Response: Hi, thank you so so much for coming by! I feel terrible for not responding sooner, but RL is attacking me at the moment. But this review makes me smile every time!

I had this idea of Victoire in my mind, and I knew she and Molly would balance each other so perfectly as friends. So I decided that they needed to be close in age. I'm really excited to explore both of these characters more deeply as the story goes on, and to flesh out their relationship. I'm glad it started to feel right after a bit, and hopefully as the story goes on it will feel more natural.

I don't know that I'm a huge sports fan either, but I do love the moment when it's down to the wire and the underdog pulls off something spectacular. It can be very inspiring, and that's what I saw as Molly's biggest motivation to pursue Quidditch.

Thanks again! I'm so happy you decided to come by, and I hope you continue to enjoy Dream Catcher :)

--Maggie


 Report Review

Review #12, by Veritaserum27 Patronus

12th June 2014:
Hello!

Tagging you from review tag!

This was a really amazing, great start for your story. You are a very talented writer. You have managed to set the tone of your story and introduce the characters in a very effective and enrapturing way. I was totally drawn into Molly's patronus story. Your descriptions are so perfect. The way you built up to the Cannon's first win in a decade and made it such a special moment for Molly and her family was really touching.

I love the idea of Molly and Victoire being best friends. I have never seen a story where they are so close in age, but it makes sense. I can't wait to see where you go with this!

I really liked the small details that you incorporated into your writing. Percy's almond shaped eyes and they way Arthur called her "Molly-cakes" were particularly endearing.

Your description of Molly's perfect day almost seemed magical (no pun intended!) - how the Cannon's were destined to win and her most favorite family members were there to be with her. It was so sweet.

I can't wait to see where this story goes. Great job on Chapter one!

Beth (Veritaserum27)

Author's Response: Hi Beth! Thank you so much for coming to review, and for all your kind words :)

I'm so glad you were drawn in by the descriptions. I'm always concerned that those sections will feel slow and draggy, since I tend to skimp on dialogue. But I'm happy to hear that it was compelling for you! Molly is a very sweet, dainty sort of person, and I wanted the feel of the narration to reflect that :)

Victoire will definitely be making more appearances as the story goes on! She and Molly have a pretty fun relationship, and I'm excited to expand on it. And I'm glad you caught the little details that show the Weasley family bond. I always saw family as being really important to the Weasleys in the books, and I wanted my Weasleys to stay true to that mindset.

Thanks again for the sweet review! I hope you continue to enjoy the story :)

--Maggie


 Report Review

Review #13, by emmacweasley Patronus

11th June 2014:
Hey! :) I just wanted to reiterate how excited I am to beta read this for you! I love the characterization of Molly and honestly, the description of the cannon fans' loyalty was really emotional and endearing. I've not read a story like this before - with quidditch at its' center - and I'm super excited to have this experience. I'm excited to receive chapter two!!

-emma

Author's Response: Hey! Oh my goodness, you are too awesome! I'm really happy that you think this is off to a good start, and that you've agreed to help me out with the rest :) I've seen how sports has the power to unite and inspire people, and that's a lot of what made me want to write a Quidditch story. Hopefully it turns out good! Thanks again for your help!

--Maggie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login