Reading Reviews for Derailed
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by madness uno

16th August 2014:
Looking forward to more of this :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by Bijn uno

7th August 2014:
Ooh, I already love the story!
It was quite a shock (in the good sense of the word) Carla now owns the Three Broomsticks, but I think itís brilliant Ė I think it really complies with the fact that Carla now sort of has to choose between the magical and the muggle world, a struggle Iím very much looking forward to reading about.
Iím also very curious how her disease will develop because apart from the revelation and major symptoms, it wasnít really dealt with in Off the Rails. Now youíre writing from Carlaís POV Iím curious how she deals with it together with James, her own pub and missing her family.
I think itís refreshing youíre writing from Carlaís POV by the way. I did like Jamesí POV in Off the Rails, but itís interesting to know how she handles things.
I liked the little row between James and Ginny because, in my opinion, itís exactly how those personalities would deal with the situation.
Looking forward to the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Ashcandy uno

24th July 2014:
Looking good so far! That's awesome they own The Three Broomsticks and Carlotta can fill in as the new sexy owner after Rosmerta lol...

I suppose this story will get a bit crazy when her parents and what not will have to learn about what's really going on with her life. And, of coa.rse (not allowed to spell that word correctly -_-), her disease conditions weren't elaborated on in Off The Rail very much so that I think will be a definite plot point at some time. But like I said you're looking good so far! Keep it up!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Ernie_the_Dino uno

20th July 2014:
Being the complete dork that I am, I've been re-reading Rails for fun (and because it's AMAZING! RIP Cordelia...) And then I saw the note at the end - Edit: Derailed is now posted! - I DIED! I was so, so, so excited. In the few minutes it took for me to get Derailed up and loaded (slow internet...grrr) I was coming up with all kinds of scenarios in my head as to what had happened in the space between stories, what this sequel (Whoo!) would even be about (because you wrapped Rails up very well, but still left enough open to be continued - did I mention I'm a big fan?) and merlin knows what else.

But when I saw the chapters were in Spanish, I knew immediately it would be in Carlotta's POV. However, that still didn't prepare me for the whole James/Third person thing (or Hogsmeade-HOGSMEADE!). It took me a few tries to understand what was going on - I blame sleep depravation.

I've been reading through your reviews and can see a lot of others mentioned this, but it was so. bizarre!

I love the plot start off. Seeing James and Ginny fight seems right somehow, like they needed to have a row at some point and in Rails that didn't happen. James is so like his mother and we all know about Ginny's temper... And so a fight of the two passionate personalities was brilliant, but expected (at least it was for me). The way that Carlotta behaves with them is very believable, it isn't her fight. And no matter how much the Weasley family welcomes her, she's still not quite one of them. Even if Kreacher thinks so... Love Kreacher, by the way, brilliant.

The whole Hogsmeade/Owning the Three Broomsticks thing was a shock. I was expecting something, something flipping enormous actually, but it wasn't this. I do love it though, it gives both Carlotta and James their chance to live their dreams together (Awww- Sorry, getting a bit soppy there...) but the complications with her family not having a clue where she lives (I doubt that Hogsmeade shows up on most maps... Speaking of maps, will Messers Moony, Wormtail, Padfoot and Prongs be making an appearance? James is back at Hogwarts... Or did he give it to Hugo? I can't remember if you wrote that in somewhere in Rails - sleep depravation again...) and them not being able to contact her will prove tricky...

Looking forward to more from you, I loved Rails, hope to love Derailed just as much.

x

 Report Review

Review #5, by ohmymerlin uno

12th July 2014:
Okay, I am SO SORRY for the massive delay in getting this to you! I can't believe how late I am :'(

But ahhh thank you so much for the chapter dedication!!! I'm so honoured! ♥ ♥ I can't believe I was right about it! :O I'm almost never right at guessing things in stories/books/tv shows/movies etc. etc.

At first I was SO confused because I was thinking, "What why is James thinking in third person?! This is so weird!" And I was getting more and more confused and then I realised it's still in first person but it's in Carlotta's point of view!!!

I can't WAIT to read from her point of view! Already she's such an entertaining character to read!

And before I forget, rest in peace Cordelia :'( I am interested in the new name though! But I have no idea what you'd call her! If I can remember correctly, there's a 'C' theme... Maybe he'd call her Carla after Carlotta? Charlotte? Er... I DON'T KNOW.

It was sweet seeing good ol' Kreacher there serving/helping Carlotta :') And I like that he's finally changed for the better and not insulting her for being a Muggle! YAY!

Also, the last bit about how Ginny was basically her mother too now made me just hold a hand to my heart and silently weep at how beautifully you write her and how beautiful that connection between Carlotta and Ginny is ahhh :'D

And I agree with Ginny! It's mightily shifty that LUCIUS MALFOY wants to host a Squib Foundation. I'd be bringing a sword or something with me as a weapon just in case. What is his ulterior motive? *squints eyes suspiciously*

It also makes me laugh how everyone was giggling about how James was in a big grumpy mood! Maybe one day he'll stop being an overgrown child :P

NO I HOPE THAT NEVER HAPPENS

Haha, absolutely loved this chapter! I can't WAIT for the next one! 10/10 of course! ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Don't worry about being late with your review! I know what it's like when real life gets in the way of internet shenanigans. :p

And you're totally welcome! I giggled to myself when I read your review, I was amazed at how you totally hit the nail on the head, and were the only one to do so! A much-deserved dedication. :)

I'm getting a bit confused about this being Carlotta's POV. I know how her mind works, so being in her head isn't weird, but having James referred to in the narrative by his name is odd to get used to. I'm really looking forward to writing this story from Carlotta's POV, she has an interesting perspective on magical matters.

There is a C theme with the pygmy puffs ... it's not Charlotte though! It will be revealed in the next chapter I think. :)

The Carlotta/Ginny relationship makes me squee so much. We saw in Rails that they got on, but we're another year or so down the line now, and they're very close. Ginny sees that Carlotta doesn't see her family often, and she's taken it upon herself to be Carlotta's magical mother. It's very sweet. :)

Lucius Malfoy, ulterior motives? Surely not? ;)

Thanks as ever for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by Anon uno

3rd July 2014:
Please write the next chapter soon! I love it already!

Author's Response: I'll try to get it posted as soon as I can! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Justanothermuggle fan uno

17th June 2014:
Awesome first chapter!!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Babybear1216 uno

15th June 2014:
Y u no include more data?

Author's Response: Thanks for the review.

 Report Review

Review #9, by a rollerball uno

12th June 2014:
awsome start, please update soon

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by ohnobeans uno

11th June 2014:
Yay I'm so excited for this story! I loved Off the Rails and can't wait to see what you do with Carlotta and James next!!

Author's Response: I'm excited too! :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #11, by patronusflight14 uno

9th June 2014:
This is awesome!! I loved off the rails, and I know I'll love derailed too!!

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying so far! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by nott theodore uno

3rd June 2014:
Yay! The sequel! I'm so excited for this (and when I saw that your chapter numbers were in Spanish, I got even more irrationally excited...)

Okay. It is really strange reading James's name in third person now. That threw me for a second, because I remembered you saying that Carlotta would be the narrator and yet I was just like 'woah, what's happening?'. Once I was past that, I really liked the slight shift in style for Carlotta's narration as we see her personality coming through more, and a different voice to the one we've been reading. Considering you've been writing from James's POV for three years, it's really impressive!

I didn't expect it to open with an argument between James and Ginny, of all people, and I liked the way that Carla was trying to keep her head down and stay out of it as much as possible. It's brilliant news that Lily managed to set her Squib foundation up! Although I have to agree with Ginny, having the opening fundraiser in Malfoy Manor feels slightly... anachronistic. Great that James wants to support his sister, but I think that Lily could have found somewhere better to help out on the hosting side of things...

I really liked Ginny's explanation about why having the event at Malfoy Manor causes so many problems for her and the others of that generation. The fact that she was explaining it to Carla, as well, shows how much Carla's really been accepted and become a part of the family. But I'm really glad that those issues aren't being hidden and skimmed over, because they're important and would have a lasting effect. Even if they've done their best to forgive, they can't entirely suppress the memories and associations (and perhaps prejudices) that arise from things like Malfoy Manor. And the younger generation would find that difficult to understand. I liked the mention of the fact that they accept Scorpius but this situation is different though.

I feel kind of sorry for Carlotta to be going there, now!

Ooh, Carlotta's moved to Hogsmeade and taken over the Three Broomsticks! I wasn't expecting that, although I thought that maybe she'd move somewhere closer to James. It's brilliant she now gets to have her own pub and manage everything, and that they get to be closer to each other as well. Although it must be strange for her to be in an entirely wizarding environment!

Ah, Kreacher! I'm glad you included him - the fact that he's calling a Muggle 'mistress' really shows how much he, and society, have changed!

I'm really glad you explored some of the difficulties that Carla's already having now that she's living in the wizarding world. I'd imagine it's somewhat similar to a Muggle-born, only their family can know about their 'other' life and aren't restricted by it to the same extent, whereas Carla's bound by secrecy and she's going to struggle to fit both worlds into one, I think.

Hmm, I wonder... how much of Carla's struggle to see Hogsmeade and Hogwarts relates to the strength of the protective charms on them, and how much is related to her illness? I'd guess that, since this is over a year on after we first met her, she might be having some more problems :/

I can't wait for the next chapter! (Well I can, but I'm looking forward to it... I know you have exams and lots of other stuff to do!)

Sian :)

Author's Response: You have NO idea how excited I was when I decided on Carlotta as the narrator and realised I could do the numbering in SPANISH. Although I've forgotten my Spanish numbering so this will be fun.

It's strange to be writing from Carlotta's perspective now. It's not weird to be in her head, because I've been planning out Derailed for almost as long as I have Rails (although despite that things still aren't fully fleshed out) so I know how her mind works now. What IS weird is the narration, because I'm not used to having James referred to as "James" in writing.

One of the main things which this fic attempts to tackle is the underlying tensions between the old Order families and the ex-Death Eaters. I don't think things would heal overnight, and while Harry, in particular, would try to forgive and move on, I can't imagine that everything would be rosy.

It's pretty awesome for me to be able to write this fic from the perspective of someone who's not a Weasley, because it means I get to portray them from the outside, and show how they pretty much adopt everyone who's remotely close to them. Which I love because I love the Weasleys far too much. YAY.

Another main theme of this fic is how Carlotta copes with being a Muggle in the wizarding world. It was hinted at in Rails, with Lily as well as Carlotta, but writing this from a Muggle's point of view will be good fun. I think I'm looking forward to writing this more than I was Rails!

Thanks very much for the awesome review, sorry it took me so long to reply!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Louise uno

2nd June 2014:
Great to have you back! Loving the story so far.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Slide uno

2nd June 2014:
First! *makes excitable high-pitched noises* It's heeere!

Okay. It's super-weird to see James being called James in the prose. Brain needs changing gears. And now my brain's weird because I approve of the reminder that Hermione was tortured in Malfoy Manor. Or, rather, it takes more than everyone holding hands and saying they're sorry to get over war-scars. But! Not an insurmountable problem. I look forward to how it goes down.

And already I need popcorn. Ginny's concerns are not ill-founded. James moving with the future is a positive sign for his generation. But Malfoy Manor for a Squib fundraiser is a wee bit beyond the pale! In fact, Ginny's entire explanation is exactly right. You know me, I hate these kinds of issues getting swept over, and any story dealing with the Next Gen has to eventually tackle it.

Then Ginny continues being awesome by channelling her mother. I know I keep gushing over your Ginny being maternal and obviously being her mother's daughter while still being Ginny, but it's TRUE.

Huh. Running the Three Broomsticks! I did wonder how she and James would cope with him working at Hogwarts; for some reason Hogsmeade didn't occur to me. And the ruminations on the wizarding world's much more lax standards for running a pub is... worrying. Not that canon ever established the wizarding world as halfway responsible with... anything. OFSTED would have a fit over Hogwarts.

But it works for them! And Carla. And I can imagine that there will be future problems with her family - that does not seem like a sustainable problem. She can't keep them out of Hogsmeade for the rest of her short-term life. Or, rather, they will EVENTUALLY demand to see where she lives. Surely.

I would have more thoughts, but Ginny accepting Carlotta as part of the family so openly is giving me the fuzzies, and I'm all a-flutter for the Malfoy Manor Shenanigans. So, good first chapter! Establishes passage of time, implies developments of relationships in the period, and sets up future conflicts, all in a nice, bite-sized chunk.

I need more bites. Good stuff!

Author's Response: It's taken me the best part of a month to reply to this? SHAME ON ME.

I'm finding it really weird to write James as James in the prose, too. It's not hard to adjust to Carlotta's head, it's just when it comes to actually writing it throws me.

This story definitely has much more focus on the war scars of the older generation, and how people have dealt with reconciliation after fighting on opposite sides for so long. It's certainly not one of those which brushes it all under the table. And that's why Rose/Scorpius exists in Railsverse; for the payoff in Derailed.

Ginny's almost MORE awesome in Derailed than in Rails - in Rails she's James' mum so she's going to be all motherly towards him, but in Derailed her maternal nature is much more apparent from Carlotta's perspective. So awesome is she.

Yeah, Carlotta's running the pub! This is one of the bits I was most excited about introducing. She's now well and truly living in the wizarding world, and putting her in the pub means I can orchestrate almost any scenario I want. Fabby. Not to mention the increased comparision between the wizarding and Muggle worlds. Including, yes, bureaucracy.

How does Carlotta balance living in the wizarding world with maintaining relationships with her family? Well, that will be well and truly dealt with here. :)

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login