Reading Reviews for Derailed
57 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Slide cinco

13th November 2015:
Oh God, the cat's back. Ah well. I shall endure. And onward!

I hate morning people. Especially Monday morning people. It's not NATURAL. Then again, I get actual sleep, so Carlotta has rather a better excuse to object to this.

I always enjoy little nods like the cultural confusion of a Sherlock Holmes reference, though that must be horribly isolating for a Muggle/Muggle-born (at least a Muggle-born often disconnects from Muggle society more and more from age 11). All your cultural touchstones are completely alien to wizards. Maybe this is a POINT. Maybe I'm reading too deeply into a joke. :-D

Yeah, a statue commemorating a break-in at Gringotts wouldn't be the best plan in the world. Especially as Gringotts are clearly an organisation with some international reach (Bill's work in Egypt, for eg), so it doesn't pay to mess with goblins! Plenty of other incidents to celebrate. And yet Ron, of COURSE, raises a valid point. I love Ron.

Ahh, hell, she's making ready with money. I can understand that even without the illness; become financially codependent in any relationship is risky, let alone a Muggle in the wizarding world. She's right and sensible to keep things organised. And then it's deeply sad that she needs a bolt-hole just in case.

Oh dear. Rose is a MORE concentrated version of Hermione? The world will tremble. Yesss, George is brilliant.

Oh my God. Pygmy puff names. Carlotta. HOW intentional was this? Has this been a joke three years in the making?! Did you just realise it yourself and BLOW YOUR OWN MIND?! MY mind's blown, ANYWAY.

Yay, Ingrid. I mean, sad, because this was inevitable, but good to see her again. ...okay, with less SPIES and DEATH you're going to have to put up with slightly more mundane crackpot theories. My NEW crackpot theory is Carla is making Ingrid and James spend more time together with a TEENY TINY part of her thinking 'at least they can console each other once I leave James/die.'

Okay, maybe not strictly a crackpot theory if James has jumped to that conclusion himself. YAY my crackpot theories are getting better. I can see why he's upset, though his parting line is RATHER hurtful.

For some reason I am happiest with characters when their damaged reactions are contradictory; Carla wanting Ingrid around for James and then resenting her appearing all effortlessly good-looking just PLEASES me. Poor Carlotta. I find myself oddly more on her side in this, even if I don't think she SHOULD leave James, but he does give the faint impression of shoving his head in the sand. On the other hand, what's he SUPPOSED to do but reject the danger, now he's decided he ants to be with her. Still, calling her SELFISH isn't exactly on.

Yay, Brigid to the rescue. With Firewhisky. Good girl. I HAD wondered idly about 'the whole love thing.' I wasn't sure if I was just being oblivious or over-thinking it. But Brigid is right, really. On all of it. Including Carlotta doing a terrible job of avoiding commitment, bless her. :-D

'You can have more than one friend,' says Carla as the reason to not push Brigid away. OBVIOUSLY polyamory is the answer to her lamentations with James, then.

Great chapter; I'm surprised at the impression you gave that this was a last-minute addition. It feels a very NATURAL part of the catch-up process and the arcs of their relationship, and really is one of the meatiest chapters yet (even with a mighty fine shindig). And you have no idea how hard it has been to write this chapter with a fluffball on me. Good stuff!

 Report Review

Review #2, by Slide cuatro

13th November 2015:
Right, I'm here to review. If the cat lets me. It's a serious risk with his neediness today. Hands are made for petting, you see, not typing. Anyway, I read this on my tablet when it came out so I didn't ACTUALLY review. Let's try again.

James is a winner boyfriend just for plying Carla with support when hungover. Mine just mocks me. Good play, James. And, he's right, we never listen or learn, we just do it again...

It's good to see him being supportive as she struggles; not that I'd expect anything else of our boy, but it's nice to see the relative ease with which they handle it this far into the relationship. Even if her bitterness and reluctance to be helped is still there - and I imagine that wouldn't go away any time soon.

Weasley jumpers are a rite of passage which always make my face leak. This is no different. And I, too, have wondered the logistics of Next Gen family dinners. I'm sure there are SOME occasions Molly wants EVERYONE together, but you'd need the Round bloody Table to get them all sat down. A function room sounds, perhaps, more sensible. :D

Yesss, Maddie and Cato. You go girl. Aaand, brief cat interlude. Right, he's on the legs, that's easier.

Ha, Harry is worth more than James... but Ginny has a point. I can see why Carla keeps covering this situation up with Lucius, though; God knows the clan would turn to chaos and anger and especially James. Oh my God, Louis, I love you so much. And Brigid's solidarity; Weasley grandchildren can indeed be diverting.

Yeah, I can see why Audrey would actually tell. Or Percy would tell. Either way, my affection for the Percy side of the family (well, Percy and Audrey, Molly does not acquit herself well here, poor thing :-D) remains intact. And I'd forgotten how much I like your Ginny; she's always a SENSIBLE sort while still being herself. Though I'm snorting at Molly the Elder enforcing law at the dinner table. Entirely how it would go.

Okay, this chapter is making me hungry, now.

James is worried, but at least he's handling it. I think a few years ago he'd have been a lot more volatile at Lucius Malfoy focusing on someone he cares about (especially as it's understandably for him to worry if Carla, a Muggle, really CAN handle him; she knows him only by distorted reputation). It's still nice to see how their relationship has matured with trust like this, and to see how James has matured. It's harder to tell how much Carlotta has changed - of course she HAS, but we weren't in her head. So we'll see!

Anyhoo, to SNACKS because the Sunday lunch chapter makes me HUNGRY, then Onward!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Prinzesa cinco

11th November 2015:
Okay, first Iím going to squeal because you have updated so fast! Yay!!

Well, I think I should understand that life isnít always a bed of roses and that the bliss of the previous chapter might not carry forward to the next one. And honestly, Iím beginning to feel the emotional roller coaster which you seem to be very adept in giving us - the readers Ė that! :P

I truly understand Carlaís point but I totally agree more on Brigidís ďlive in the momentĒ Ė Guess because Iím particularly a fan of carpe diem. I'm loving James, really. Oh well, I guess I forgot to inform you before that in OTR, you made me fall for him when I shouldnít have. So, itís definitely your fault. :)

I think I really just have to stay sit, relax and wait for all the twists that youíre going to put in this story and frankly, I canít wait for more. So, forgive me and the rest of us, for wanting more and a bit of pushing you to update. :D

Hooray on Ceceís appearance! :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by jenna98 cinco

10th November 2015:
love it so much!!!
poor james!

please update asap

Author's Response: Poor James ... and poor Carlotta. Hopefully updates will come soon as I'm doing NaNo with Derailed. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #5, by Matilda cuatro

8th November 2015:
Thanks for the update! Can't get enough of this, really.

Just wondering why Harry didn't react in the argument during lunch...

Author's Response: Harry certainly would have reacted, but Mrs Weasley got in there first. Thanks for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Prinzesa cuatro

7th November 2015:
Yay!! I love James on this chapter, a very loving and sweet boyfriend. I would pay a thousand galleons to be in Carla's shoes! :D

I'm loving Ginny more and more, how she held Carla's hand is really compelling. Can't wait for the next chapter again.

Hope to see more of Cecilia! :D I still love Cordella, though. ;)

Author's Response: James is so very lovely isn't he? I think he has the potential to suffocate Carla at times, but I'd still take him off her hands. :) Definitely more of Cecilia to come, that little ball of fluff steals every scene. Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Jenna98 cuatro

30th October 2015:
loved the update!!!

I was so excited to read this chapter - but poor carlotta. I love her and james (especially) in this.

Please update asap!!!

Author's Response: Poor Carlotta indeed. :( Next chapter is up, thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #8, by JT4HP cuatro

27th October 2015:
Ah yay!

Love this story so much! Love that it's in Carlotta's POV, too. And I adore the dynamic of the entire weasly family!

Can't wait for the next one

Author's Response: Carlotta's POV is so fun to write! It's interesting to see James through someone else's eyes. Glad you're enjoying, thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #9, by chenn25 cuatro

26th October 2015:
This is one of my absolute favorites and I was so happy to see an update :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! Hopefully more updates will come soon :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by JAL_2015 tres

27th September 2015:
Sad to see that this story hasn't been updated in months as it's rather good.

Author's Response: Hi, I'm really sorry about the lack of updates, I've been working abroad! I'm in the process of writing the next chapter though so hopefully I will update soon :) thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Penelope Inkwell uno

8th September 2015:
So, I only recently saw that Off the Rails had a sequel--score! I'm so excited! :D And it's off to a very good start. I love that Carlotta took over The Three Broomsticks--it's the perfect thing. She gets to cook, James gets to teach, and they can be together! I feel bad for her about being separated from her family, though. I bet her mother worries.

But I loved the bit about how Ginny has become a second mother two her. Ginny Potter is exactly the sort of fierce friend you'd need, going into the magical world--and in a relationship with a member of the most famous family in wizarding Britain--as a Muggle.

And yay! Kreacher's made an appearance, too!

I have to say, Ginny has a point. The Malfoys may mean well--may being the operative word--but it doesn't seem the most sensitive place to hold that type of event. I could understand wanting to redeem themselves and show that they've turned over a leaf, perhaps, but it doesn't seem like a terribly comfortable situation for their guests. Hopefully nothing goes too horribly (but I wouldn't put money on that).

But a Squib Foundation meeting means Lily, and Lily was my favorite on OtR! Hooray! So I'm looking forward to that immensely!

I also wanted to say that I love your headcanon about the difficulties of adapting to magical life as a Muggle, in terms of overcoming the Muggle repulsion charms. That is such a great, thoughtful detail, and it seems really representative of a lot of the difficulties, over all, of being in that world, but not a member of it. And the idea of Hogwarts castle just appearing one day after months of hoping--that really was magical ;)

So excited about this, and looking forward to reading more soon. Hooray for sequels!


Author's Response: I have to say, I'm ridiculously envious of Carlotta - a magical pub all of her own! It's almost the ideal setup, but the separation that brings about with her family is awkward, and we'll see that develop as we go along. Her parents aren't going to be okay with never seeing their daughter!

Ginny Potter would definitely be a handy ally. And the Weasley clan are the type to see someone lacking in family figures close by and try to fill the gap. Carlotta's not short of family support ... it's just not her own.

Lily's decision on venue makes sense to her - it's a big place, the event is bankrolled by a rich family, and the person involved is someone who apparently wants to sort out his public image. It's just she forgot about the emotions. It was probably the wrong decision for her to make, but unfortunately she can't see that.

I'm glad Lily's your favourite! She's absolutely one of my favourites to write :)

Derailed is (hopefully) going to explore Carlotta's difficulties of living in the magical world a great deal. After all, that's one of the reasons why this fic is told from her POV. Much more to come on that. :)

Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Prinzesa tres

28th August 2015:
Patiently waiting on the next chapter.. ;)

Author's Response: Really sorry for the delay, I'll post the next chapter as soon as I can! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by NikiBeth tres

19th July 2015:
This story is shaping up to be as awesome as your last! Don't stop writing!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm excited for what's to come. :) Sorry for the delay in updates, I promise I won't stop writing though! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Elina tres

3rd July 2015:
Please please continue writing! Just finished my second re-reading of off the rails and I sure would like to know the end of their story :) otherwise, great work!

Author's Response: I'm really sorry for the delay in updates, I'll definitely continue writing and I'll update as soon as I can! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by CoporealPatronus87 tres

19th June 2015:
I absolutely loved Off The Rails! I'm majorly impressed by this story too, the way you've written it from Carlotta's POV makes it a very interesting read. Keep updating, I'm dying for more!

Author's Response: This should be an interesting story to WRITE from Carlotta's POV, already it's interesting to be thinking about the magical world from her perspective. I'll update as soon as I can, thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Larry tres

8th June 2015:
I'm glad you're back. I'm from a generation that buys books to express our appreciation of an author rather than send in 'reviews'. But having gotten hooked on FanFiction I'm learning. Although this chapter was fluff your past work is great and I'm looking forward to regular updates. Any predictions?

Author's Response: A lot of fluff in this chapter, yes, but a couple of deeper issues are mentioned too. I'm really hoping to be able to update semi-regularly, but my current job leaves me with little free time to write. But I'll be doing all I can to churn more out, I love what I have planned for Carlotta and co! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by a rollerball tres

5th June 2015:
amazing stuff as always, update soon

Author's Response: Hopefully the next chapter should be up soon, thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Violet Potter 434 tres

2nd June 2015:
this is amazing!
I've been waiting for this for so long tho, what happened?
and then I found this on Sunday and was like yay!
so of course I had to read all 64 of the prequels chapters again, and ten the first 2 of this one again and then this one for the first time!
I love this story, it has such a good plot and every thing

keep up the writing

from me xx

Author's Response: So sorry for the delay, I'm working abroad at the moment and I'm still struggling to find free time and internet connections. Hopefully updates should be a bit more frequent from now on though! Glad you're enjoying, thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by Slide tres

1st June 2015:

Prone to saying "yah" rather too much - snerk. And personally I'm quite sure Lucius Malfoy is capable of misbehaving with the eyes of the wizarding world upon him. I guess we'll see! I never did buy him dodging a prison sentence, but Pottermore proves me wrong on this count (and I don't recall you being specific in Railsverse if he dodged Azkaban entirely post-Second War, or if he's out after 25-30 years, which wouldn't be unreasonable).

I am of course most curious about your Scorpius Malfoy, and how he's turned from bully to going out with Rose - which says things about both Scorpius AND Rose herself.

It's fun to see James, still, from someone else's point of view. From in his head, we could often take his tolerance of people like Scorpius as a virtue, a capacity to look beyond reputation, but Carla's not wrong in this less-charitable assessment. A lot of people have a lot of reason to be upset, and James should probably make sure he's being compassionate to THEM, too.

BUT STILL IT'S THE EXCITING SHINDIG. Announcements! Ballrooms! It's like a magical Austen! Snarky Carla - ouch, ouch, wasn't expecting the invocation of 'Parky.' Suppose she's entitled to mention it as she pleases and she's doubtless tense, but poor both of them.

Oh Freddie, now you and Brigid are happy I can love you without reservation. YES, Ryan and Della are engaged. *fist-pump* HUGO. Stahp, Hugo. Stop. At least his inducing of nausea has led us to Louis, about whom I have NEVER had reservations in loving.

You know, it took until Roxie's arrival before I realised this was a very-suave update of the many faces of Railsverse and what's changed in the time-skip. Smooth.

Still curious about Scorpius. I like him and Carla being somewhat allies against the Weasley Brood and their involved extended families. Ah, Lucius did have another stint in Azkaban. Good!

Yay, Lily, Kit, and Maddie! Very judicious selection of character updates. God, writing Next Gen is SO HARD if you want to cover ALL the canon characters, AND their logical additions (other halves, that sort of thing), AND your own characters. You handle the entire thing better than any I've seen, and definitely better than me!

Harsh call from Audrey about the illness. I can understand it, and rules like that are there for reason, and Carla is a rather unusual case (though doubtless not unprecedented). It's still pretty harsh to know that even if magic can't cure her, it could alleviate the symptoms and people are CHOOSING to not do so. However justified.

Aw, poor James. Your name brings money, boy. Do it for charity.

And, ugh, the torture room. I always have a morbid fascination in how any story which deals with reconciliation of the Wotters and the Malfoys post-war deals with the Manor itself. Hrm! Nott and Goyle, though as-yet no indication on if it's Junior or Senior, and their deference to Lucius doesn't really elaborate!

Percy to the rescue! D'aww, I love Percy, he always deserves moments of awesome. And, yes, Lucius is up to something! Or he's connected to people who're up to something, I am so THERE for when this plot explodes!

Good chapter! Mighty fine shindig!

Author's Response: If I ever actually insert Carlotta's friend Yvette into this story (and I'm pretty certain I WILL) then she'll be a scream. YAH.

Obviously yes, Lucius escaped Azkaban in JK's canon. I'm the kind of person who wants to accept the new things she reveals as canon (except the stuff about the Quidditch World Cup because it absolutely tramples all over Rails) but I refuse to believe that Harry and Kingsley let Lucius Malfoy escape Azkaban just because Narcissa lied to Voldemort. I think he'd let Draco and Narcissa off, but Lucius is a different kettle of fish, he was 100% committed in a way that Draco definitely wasn't, and I think Narcissa perhaps showed some sort of remorse or regret for her actions. Although she was maybe just trying to save her son's skin. EITHER WAY, I can understand Harry letting her go free, but not Lucius. The only way I can rationalise it is that he did it for Narcissa's sake, in that he didn't want to sentence her to living a life without her husband.


We will definitely see more of Scorpius. As I think I've said before, Scorose was set up in Rails mainly to allow for how that affects things in Derailed.

I think one of the most interesting things about writing from Carlotta's POV is seeing how we view James differently as a result. Even I've been surprised by how she reacts to a lot of his traits that we've seen before as being GOOD traits. But then, James has an incredibly pure heart even after what he's been through, whereas Carlotta has a very cynical outlook on the world, which definitely comes through in the narrative.

Freddie/Brigid makes me so happy. And Louis continues to spoil the show. He has a corker of a cameo in the next chapter as well.

We're going to see a lot of Carlotta's struggles as she tries to straddle both worlds, and Audrey's line on her illness is one of them. Audrey isn't WRONG - and it's interesting because Carlotta's own stance on this goes against the general attitude that she's tried to adopt in terms of integrating into the magical world, which will become clear in future chapters - but it's a hard pill to swallow. Pun not intended.

Who knows what Lucius is up to! Except for causing trouble, which is definitely his speciality.

Thanks for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by JT4HP tres

31st May 2015:
Ahhh! I love this story! I'm so glad you're updating and I love Carlotta's POV. Can't wait to see what happens at the brunch next. And I wonder how James will react when he hears about what Malfoy said?

Author's Response: Ha, James can get quite overprotective with Carlotta ... I'm not too sure he'll like what Malfoy said! The next chapter will hopefully be up soon, thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #21, by merlins beard tres

31st May 2015:
So Lily has really thrown together a huge event, and at Malfoy Manor as well. It's a weird place to choose for a get-together like this and I completely understand why George, Percy and Charlie feel the need to attend. I'm impressed at how well carla copes with being one of three Muggles there, even though she is very nervous about it. It certainly helps that there are so many people she knows.

Watching her boyfriend being auctioned off must bring a very uncomfortable feeling. I can't even imagine that, I really wouldn't want my boyfriend to put himself out there like that, even if it is for a good cause.

I'm sorry that Carla still has to stay on the Muggle medications and that Audrey can't really help her. I hope she'll discover some way to properly heal parkinson.

I was really excited that you had a new chapter up. Thanks for writing and sharing with us.


Author's Response: Lily HAS picked a weird place, but from her point of view it makes sense - a large place with the capacity to hold such an event, a rich family to bankroll it, and a person who wishes to redeem his appearance. But she's definitely not thought it through properly, or she'd have realised the emotions involved in this place for her family.

Carla's been in the wizarding world for two years now, and running a magical establishment certainly goes a long way to her feeling at ease within the magical community. Also, as you point out, there are a lot of familiar faces, so she's moving within social circles she knows. She's done very well to adapt to the magical world, but there has definitely been a transitional period between Rails and now, and as we'll see, she still hasn't quite gotten used to just how much magic is around her.

The position Carla finds herself in with her illness is one of the biggest conflicts she'll face in terms of integrating into the magical community, and we'll see that more and more as the fic continues. In some ways, her stance on this is at odds with her general stance, but Audrey isn't WRONG in her assessment, although it is a tough one.

Thanks for reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by MalfoyMannor tres

30th May 2015:
Finally you updated!! :)

I've been waiting and considering if you just abandoned this story, but I'm so happy that you didn't. :)

ughh Malfoy,Nott,and Goyle, they give you the creeps. Thank god for Percy looking for her when he did.

Author's Response: I've definitely not abandoned this, don't worry! I'm working abroad at the moment and I haven't quite sussed out when my free time to write is yet. More chapters coming (I hope) soon! Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by sambonifi9 dos

15th May 2015:
So excited to see this novel being written from Carlotta's perspective! I hope another chapter is coming soon!

Author's Response: And I'm excited to be writing it! :) Next chapter is in the queue, thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #24, by patronus_charm12 dos

26th April 2015:
Please tell me that you're writing another chapter.

I loved 'Off the Rails' and this is turning out to be just as fantastic (I hope so). I actually started reading 'Off the Rails' last week and after I finished it and found out that there is another story... I was up in seventh heaven.

I fidnt actually post a review for "Off the Rails' so its more like a combined one. YOU ARE A BRILLIANT WRITER. The plot twists were epic, I swear you earned that dobby. I loved how you introduced the next generation wonderfully, addressing all issues faced by them (fred, roxy, james etc).

The way you write and describe the quidditch matches... It just brings tears to my eyes. I swear I dont even dream of describing quidditch matches to that detail.

I cried at the end of the last book... WHY DID YOU KILL CORDELIA.

Brigid and Freddie FINALLY got together. Hard to be thinking of Brigid as Mrs. Weasley though. xD

Anyways. Post the next chapter soon. Dying to read more.

Author's Response: Next chapter is in the queue! :)

I'm so glad you liked Off the Rails, I really do think the next generation would suffer in some sense from their parents' legacy so it was a fun thing to tackle. The Quidditch matches were the bane of my life though, never again!

Oh man. Sorry about Cordelia. I've had a lot of people tell me off for that. :(

Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Rosie S dos

18th April 2015:
YAYAYAYAY I am so glad you updated! Have read all of off the rails again for a second time im combining my reviews here because I've only stopped reading at the end of your writing! Reading for a second time allowed me to appreciate so much more the subtlety of your writing, the way you brought all the plot points in but still made them surprising - like the way james always stressed the importance of Hogwarts quidditch and his happiness at teaching. Also I thought you dealt with the impact of their parents lives brilliantly - I particularly liked the line about them being "born lost" - it was its nice to see the 'famous rich kid' done without relying in a way that didn't make me groan at the self-absorption and I thought the George-Angelina relationship was really insightful. Also the whole begin and end on a wedding was lovely and circular :) Will this sequel be all from Carlotta's POV? It's interesting to see her insecurities over James and her place in their world - she sees herself as so much less than he sees her. I'm glad your dealing with all the messy decisions of politics with Lily's squib foundation - there's definitely no easy right answer here. I do feel like Carlotta has to compromise a little too much in this - but that's no doubt something you'll explore!

Author's Response: Hi, thanks for reading! :) I think the next generation would suffer to some extent from the weight of expectation from who their parents are, so I'm glad you liked that. I was pretty happy with how that little bit of the story turned out in the end. This sequel will all be from Carlotta's POV, I think she has a lot to say and of course there are a few matters left to be tackled, namely how she copes with living in the magical world and her little illness situation. Thanks for reviewing, I hope you continue to read!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>