Reading Reviews for True Romance
  
265 Reviews Found

Review #1, by TreacleTart Such Great Heights

22nd August 2015:
Hi Rose!

I'm back with another review for your baby shower! Since I read chapter one awhile back for one of our swaps, I figured it was high time that I get back and see what's happening.

Oh, Albus! He seems so indecisive and I'm not sure why. Scorpius is a nice guy and all, but I think I like the two of them much better as best friends. I think that's probably the best thing for them in the long term.

Brandon on the other hand is such a sweet guy (unless you plan to break my heart with more gut-wrenching one-shots down the road). He and Albus just seem so made for each other. And clearly Albus is into him or he wouldn't be spending all day fantasizing about what he wanted to do with him.

Rose is awfully perceptive in this. She's quick to pick up that Albus' mind is somewhere else and she does a good job of extracting information from him. She comes across very casual, but really she's working him over for details.

I adore that Rose went and talked to Brandon. I can already see her trying to get involved with some matchmaking. I think she feels like Albus' indecision is going to lose him this amazing man and I tend to agree. I hope she'll drop some not-so-subtle hints about Brandon approaching Albus.

Ugh. And then the kiss towards the end. It's all so confusing. I suppose when you've had something intense with someone, it's pretty hard to keep it platonic afterwards, but considering that Scorp seems smitten with Corbin (ick) and Albus had this enjoyable snog session with Brandon, I'm really not sure why the two of them are kissing.

Anyway, now I absolutely have to go read chapter three because I need to know what happens next! Good work on this!

~Kaitlin

 Report Review

Review #2, by merlins beard Simple Song

22nd August 2015:
This was quite a nice ending. Much nicer than I remembered actually, but thatís probably because I interpreted a little too much into everything after reading You Donít Own Me. I like that Albus and Scorpius get to talk again, and itís really nice to see that Albus still cares enough for Scorpius to be really worried about him. Making Scorpius promise that heíll get out when things take a turn for the worse almost seems like an offer to contact Albus any time for help.

This whole story was just as brilliant as I remembered it, and I enjoyed reading it just as much this time as I did the first time I read it. I canít wait to dive into your other stories and see what else youíve got in store for me. But first I have to go make a chart of something.

I had a lot of fun and I hope youíre enjoying these reviews.

~Anja

 Report Review

Review #3, by merlins beard Time to Get Out

22nd August 2015:
Some pretty awesome stuff is happening in this chapter! I happy-danced a bit when Albus and Brandon passed their inspection and that horrible Ministry-Woman left their place a little less prejudiced than she entered it. They are just so cute with Cora.

Itís so great that Lily visits Molly. Thereís some sadness there as Molly seems to have lost all purpose in life after her husbandís death, but the solution presents itself with Lily wanting to move out from home and Molly wanting to have someone to take care of. This is a very beautiful thing happening here, and it will be good for both women, Iím sure.

Rose has accepted that being alone/free doesnít mean being lonely. She has Pedro to go to when she wants to spend time with someone who wonít hurt her, which is awesome. And moving to Spain will probably be very good for her business as well.

Which leaves Corbin and Scorpius.
Corbin is trying. He really is. And I feel really sorry for him because Iím sure something has happened to him before the start of this story that made him like he is. But Iím still not happy that Scorpius forgives him. He needs to be very cautious. The agreement they reach sounds reasonable though, so thatís actually kind of good too.

On to the last chapter now

~Anja

 Report Review

Review #4, by merlins beard Don't Let it Pass

22nd August 2015:
I knew Harry would find out and be mad at his sons, but I really wasnít expecting Archie to FRAME THEM. THEY DIDNíT EVEN HURT HIM ALL THAT MUCH. What Albus and James did was stupid (I was cheering them on anyway), and it might still have bad consequences. Iím glad that Harry believed his sons after talking to them.

Brandon has every right to be mad at Albus, but I love that he is mature enough to just accept the apology and then let Albus comfort him. I love it when you write scenes where Albus takes care of Cora. It shows that you donít have to be perfect at caring for a child right away, but that thereís time to learn if you put in the effort. The investigation just has to go well, because both men are easily able to take care of the baby and she wants for nothing.

Lily should be very careful about that job offer, but I feel like sheís doing well. She asks all the important questions AND she doesnít agree right away. Maybe she ends up getting her dream job on her conditions after all.

I actually hate Archie more than I hate Corbin. Corbin loves Scorpius. Archie never loved Lily, or he wouldnít be doing that to her. I canít believe he attacks her in the middle of the ministry, and all his co-workers gang up on her. Iím so glad Lysander is there. He bravely steps in and saves the maiden in distress. I wonder what will come of thatÖ

Iíve been wonderingÖ what made you put the office of the Daily Prophet into the Ministry of Magic? Iíve often read about them having premises in Diagon Alley, but never before seen them INSIDE the Ministry.

Thereís one nitpicky thing I want to mention:
Making up her mind to interact with that creep, Lily headed straight for the fires so she could use the Floo and return home.
This should be ...íNOT to interact with that creep,í if Iím not mistaken.

~Anja

 Report Review

Review #5, by merlins beard The Long Day of Vengeance

22nd August 2015:
Hello again,
SCORPIUS SHOULD LISTEN TO ALBUS!! I know itís not that easy and I know he loves Corbin, and I also know Corbin loves him back, although in a very unhealthy, possessive way. It would probably get better if Corbin would get help and start to realize how much he is hurting Scorpius.
I knew Archie would be in for a treat when James heard of what heíd done, that cheating little piece of dragon dung. Lilyís Ďinterventioní surprised me a little, but Iím glad she got to vent her anger in the right place. Iím a little worried about whatíd happen if Harry or Ginny or even worse, the press, found out what the Potter boys did (especially in regard to Brandonís new child-related issues).
Whatís that even all about? That - nope not saying what I wanted to say - WOMAN and her prejudice is driving me up the wall. Brandon is an awesome father and Albus is just learning how to be that too, and Cora has a great home and a loving family. What more does a child really need. I hope Harry can actually do something about that. I LOVE THE LAST LINE OF THIS CHAPTER!!! ďIím Harry PotterĒ, is always a good thing to say.

~Anja

 Report Review

Review #6, by merlins beard I don't Think I'll Ever Get Over You

22nd August 2015:
Not a bad dream then, Arthur really did die. The funeral is beautiful and sad and depressing and Iím so glad heís by that muggle section of the graveyard, it would mean a lot to him. How can you do this to me? I shouldnít have so many feels at work. I canít focus on anything, not even the chapterÖ Poor, poor Charlie. I wish he could have been happy.
And everyone is so devastated, I feel so sorry for them all.

CORBIN MAKES ME SO MAD. Itís so nice of Scorpius to be there for Rose, and Corbin is such an idiot. Scorpius should see sense and leave him as fast as he can. This is the first time Corbin really shows what heís like. I still canít believe he actually hits him. This is so not okay. SCORPIUS SHOULD STICK TO WHAT HE SAID. GET OUT IS THE ONLY THING TO SAY IN THIS SITUATION. CORBIN IS A MANIPULATING GIT WHO STARTS CRYING JUST TO MAKE SCORPIUS FEEL GUILTY. I HATE HIM.

SCORPIUS LISTEN TO ME! DO NOT SEND CORBIN AN OWL. DO NOT CONTACT HIM AGAIN. MAKE HIM STAY AWAY. I PROMISE, ITíS BETTER THIS WAY!

I KNEW IT. ARCHIE IS AN IDIOT. JUST WAIT UNTIL JAMES HEARS THAT. HEíLL GO AFTER HIM AND MAKE HIM WISH HE WAS NEVER BORN. Poor Lily, losing her job and her granddad and then finding her finacŤ cheating on her all in such a short amount of timeÖ. Iím glad Rose went to see her and that she was there to comfort her. I hope she doesnít forgive Archie though.

Sorry for all the caps, youíre just causing so many feels that I have to keep yelling.

~Anja

 Report Review

Review #7, by merlins beard A Satisfied Mind

22nd August 2015:
This is perfect! Iím so glad Rose is taking a friend to the wedding rather than someone she barely knows. Corbin wonít be that thrilled though.

I understand why Ginny and Harry are nervous and they have every reason to be. Lily is springing something big on them, and they wonít like it one bit.
And Archie canít even cookÖ

It makes me laugh that Archie is so nervous around the Potters, and even more that he almost freaks when James asks when the baby is due. I like his discomfort.
Is he getting more comfortable talking to Albus and Brandon? Seems to be getting easier for him. Iím actually disappointed that Harry didnít yell. Lily shows that sheís just a little girl by running away and hiding in her room.

Albusí solo trip with Cora seems to work fine. YASS Molly doesnít like Archie either. That makes me happy. Oh no wait somethingís happening. No that shouldnít be happening no no no no no Ö ArthurÖ Molly canít be without him. No. This is wrong. he canít be dead. Rose what are you doing to me? I canít handle all the feels. At least Albus has Cora there with him, and Brandon will probably be there as soon as he knows whatís happened.

I need to keep going now. maybe this is only a bad dream.

~Anja

 Report Review

Review #8, by merlins beard There Goes the Fear

22nd August 2015:
YASS YOU TELL HIM LILY! I love that scene.
Right, calming down and starting from the beginning.

So Rose needs a date? I wonder who that will be. The whole wedding stuff seems to be fun for her, so thatís good.

The Quidditch match serves as bonding time between Albus, Brandon and Cindy. Poor James gets injured - that makes us see how much Cindy actually likes him. I love that you had Luna and her children meet them there!!! Sheís always so great to include in a scene.

Lilyís boss is an idiot. He shouldnít hire people for their names and connections. Iím SO GLAD Lily doesnít cave and write the article. But SHE SHOULDNíT GET ENGAGED SO FAST. Iím afraid Archie will not learn what she wants him to. Harry will get a heart attack when he finds out.

Corbin shouldnít expect Scorpius to leave his friends and family behind. thatís so unfair. Technically what Scorpius suggests is a good solution, but thereís this voice in my head, screaming NO DONíT DO IT. And I canít turn it off.

Have I told you how brilliant and addicting this story is yet?

~Anja

 Report Review

Review #9, by merlins beard Hold Tight

22nd August 2015:
Okay so Lily is moving WAY TOO FAST! This is the first time Archie meets her parents. I still don't like him very much tbh. It's SO SWEET how Albus takes care of Cora! I love that it seems to work well between the two. Ginny and Harry seem pleased with their sons' choices in partner, but I daresay Harry is less than happy with Archie. And just because Brandon is gay doesn't mean Archie should act any different around him. I hate that he feels so uncomfortable around Albus and Brandon - that's probably why I don't like him.

CORBIN... I can't believe he's asking Scorpius to give the shop up for him. Their relationship reminds me a lot of a marriage in the 1930s - and Scorpius is the housewife. But he's too smart for that. It's good that Scorpius and Draco get a chance to talk to each other again, but Corbin seems to have an ulterior motive for everything he does. While Scorpius has grown out of his parents' luxurious life and realizes how impractical it is he'll still be living the same life with Corbin, who imo already sees himself strutting around Malfoy Manor. I believe part of his motivation for having dinner with the Malfoys is to get Scorpius and his father back on speaking terms in order to get Scorpius back into the Malfoy family fortune. I'm not saying Corbin doesn't love Scorpius, but I'm not quite sure if he'd love him as much if he didn't have a rich family.
Poor Scorpius had had to retreat to the cellar in order to be allowed to be himself. It means a lot to him.

Albus' and Brandon's visit to the grandparents is so sweet. Molly loves babies so much, it's so sweet how she takes to Cora so quickly. They get along really well, too.
Oh Rose, you shouldn't have hoped that the kiss would mean something to Branon when it was so clear right from the beginning that it didn't.
They're all so grown up too, Albus being able to just say 'let's leave this behind us.' that's very mature.

I'm off to the next chapter now
~Anja

 Report Review

Review #10, by merlins beard Don't You Want Me

22nd August 2015:
That talk between Albus and Scorpius was long overdue, I'm glad it finally happened. I'm very happy that your characters are almost always respectful towards each other (I can't stand excessive namecalling and fighting due to petty misunderstandings every other chapter)...
Albus is so sweet with Cora and with Brandon's mum as well. I love that he goes to make a bottle for the baby girl right away... and I LOVE that Albus and Brandon are so honest to each other here, that they can start their relationship with honesty and love and are not basing it on lies. I'm also quite relieved that Albus doesn't move in with Brandon and Cora right away. Both men need some time to get used to the whole situation. (Scorpius shouldn't be moving in with Corbin either)

Rose may be right about not telling Lily about Brandon. I'd get mad if someone was messing around with my brother's boyfriend. Lily's first article is exciting! I bet it must be really tough working with the other reporters and always having to watch out for what she can or can't say. I feel like Lily and Archie are moving too fast and I'm worried that she's going to be hurt. But let's not get ahead of ourselves. See you on the next chapter.

~Anja

 Report Review

Review #11, by merlins beard Ice Cream

22nd August 2015:
AW! Teddy is so sweet reassuring Albus, and Remus is such a cute kid. And Albus actually feels better after talking to Teddy, so that's awesome.
It's great that Rose's trip was a success... and it's sweet of her to bring Cora a gift, but I can kind of detect a different motivation behind that than just making the baby happy. She's falling for Brandon - or she thinks she is - and that's why she goes to visit him right when she gets back. When she kissed him I actually felt the need to hit my head on the desk in front of me. She shouldn't do that, but she's lonely and wants what everyone else seems to have. The engagement and pregnancy of her friend made her realize that there are things she doesn't have... but I don't think she even really wants them right at that time. She doesn't want to be Cora's mother, she wants to travel and work on her dream job. The only trouble is that she hasn't realized that yet. At least the rejection won't hurt too badly this way when she finally gets over it all.

NO SCORPIUS DON'T DO THIS NO
I guess the Eiffel Tower trip was quite sweet and everything, but I still don't like Corbin and I'm still hoping that the story will magically change and Scorpius will find someone else before moving in with Corbin. Only a brilliant writer can make me feel so strongly about something (especially the second time I read something).

~Anja

 Report Review

Review #12, by merlins beard Only Myself to Blame

22nd August 2015:
Oh Albus... (I seem to start my reviews like that a lot). He really should get his priorities sorted out though. It's completely okay not to know what you want all the time, but it gets harder when children are involved. Brandon is right to want commitment and stability for Cora. Their discussion doesn't end too badly though, they were both cautious not to say anything that would mess their relationship up completely.
Rose's trip sounds exhausting, and Henrik seems to fall into the category 'never ever not in my wildest nightmares'. he's just so boring and insensitive. Now the bar keeper on the other hand... he seems to be the complete opposite. Friendly, kind, funny, sensitive to other peoples' thoughts and intentions... I think he could be good for Rose, at least as a friend.

UGH, I wouldn't like being carried and blindfolded at all. Lily doesn't seem to mind too much though. Archie seems to care for Lily a lot, maybe he's not quite that bad after all.

~Anja

 Report Review

Review #13, by merlins beard The Wolves and The Ravens

22nd August 2015:
The party seems to go well for almost everyone. Albus really shouldn't be blamed for being kissed by a guy he used to make out with. I'm still glad Rose stepped in when she did, it saved Albus from an awkward conversation. James finally gets the girl!!! Cindy is exactly what he wants, and he seems to be good for her too. Their first kiss is so romantic.
Rose probably shouldn't have intruded on Brandon and Cora, but it's okay that she did because she got to see that Bran and Albus really are more serious than she thought they would be. It's so sweet that Albus seems to have been there quite a bit and knows Cora's schedule and what she wants and needs.
Corbin meeting Astoria went as I expected. He's such a git. And Astoria too. Scorpius is successful with his business and it's so unfair to ask him to give it up even for a bit, or to target a wealthier clientele. He does what he does for a reason and they sholdn't try to interfere. This is where Scorpius starts making compromises and making excuses for Corbin's behaviour. I don't like that he is starting to make himself unhappy.

~Anja

 Report Review

Review #14, by merlins beard Where the Wind Blows

22nd August 2015:
That meeting between old friends from school was so spot-on. While I myself would never ever want to meet the people from my school again, I can totally see that Rose isn't really comfortable here. The girls are going in different directions. Rose is right, a break up isn't the worst thing that can happen. Staying together for the child is a horrible idea, and getting pregnant to keep the boyfriend is even worse. How will that kid feel if it ever figures out that it was only born for this?

Scorpius promising his mother to go to lunch with her and Corbin is interesting. I can't remember how Corbin reacts, I'll just have to wait for the next chapter for that.

I'm SO HAPPY that Albus goes to see Brandon!!! Cora is such a sweet name, and Brandon is handling fatherhood really well. Albus helps out and that's exactly what Brandon needs. Albus' fear of commitment is back again, I hope he'll get over that soon.

~Anja

 Report Review

Review #15, by merlins beard The Love You Save (May Be Your Own)

22nd August 2015:
I have to agree with Rose, I really don't like Archie all that much. He really shouldn't be talking about Brandon like that, nor should he believe in the cliches about gays or aurors. Lily could do so much better than him. I admire Rose's self control and that she manages to just ignore the stupid comments and carry on as if nothing happened when Lily steers the conversation away from dangerous topics.

Albus should probably listen to his uncle, George does know what he's talking about. And Brandon misses him a lot. He's right that stringing both men along is unfair, but at the moment he can't make a decision. He knows what he's doing isn't quite right,but he is convinced that - for the moment - there is no better way to do things. And both men kind of need him in their lives.

Brandon's mum is actually someone I like (despite that comment about Bran needing a woman's touch in his life). It's sweet that Rose is visiting him, but she should be very careful not to fall in love with the guy.

I'm on my way to the next chapter now

~Anja

 Report Review

Review #16, by merlins beard A View to a Kill

22nd August 2015:
Okay so I have a question: Did you hate Corbin while writing about him? Because I hate him even though he hasn't done anything yet. I'm actually surprised that he let's Scorpius order his own dinner. It would have fit into his controlling nature if Corbin had ordered for his boyfriend, assuming that he knew what the other man wanted anyway.
The way Corbin answers Scorpius question about being exclusive is so mean. Okay, he's hurt by the question, and that's okay, but he could still have reacted differntly. He sounds like the main reason he's dating Scorpius is because he has money and status.
So Rose finally talks to her parents. I love that Ron suppots her right away, but I'm not too happy with Hermione for not trustig her daughter to do well.
Oh Albus, poor Albus. I feel so sorry for him. He's so bitter about it though... He'll love Brandon's daughter when he gets to know her. I love James' no-nonsense attitude about this whole thing, and I love that he tells Albus what he thinks. It'll take some getting used to, but everything does work out eventially, especially with things like that.

~Anja

 Report Review

Review #17, by merlins beard Live and Let Die

22nd August 2015:
Oh Rose, hiding out in Lily's room is probably not very wise. Ginny almost caught her there... it might be easier on everyone if she decided to come around and act like a grown-up and went to talk to her parents. I feel so sorry for Ron, he must be terribly worried.
Albus is taking forever to get ready, and he's obviously nervous about his date. Brandon is a good guy and it would be great if they would get together again - even James seems to think so... I like the brotherly bonding time before Albus has to leave.

There is one thing I want to point out. When Albus get's to the restaurant, there are windows showing the Canals in Vienna . Vienna has no canals, you might be talking about Venice - that's in Italy, not Austria (like Vienna is). Also, I feel like, since this is a French restaurant (the name is French, right?) it seems a little bit strange that they'd have magical windows where you see Austria/Italy instead of France.

Ohhh I remember the date now... it's making me sad. It's so sad that Albus has to experience the feeling of getting stood up, but Brandon really didn't do it on purpose. It's that uneasy feeling that I had about Brandon's case in the first place. something's going wrong. Al probably shouldn't have gone to Scorp, but in his state, intoxicated and brokenhearted, I completely understand that he did.
Oh NO, they shouldn't assume what the other is saying. They really shouldn't do what they are doing. But they are and it's highly plausible. It shows how much Albus cares when he worries about Scorpius not being able to feed himself.

(...) He was uncomfortable having their relationship in the air but couldn't for Albus to make up his mind. it should be couldn't FORCE Albus...

this is all just too much for Albus... and I'm worried about how Albus will react even though I know what's happening.

~Anja

 Report Review

Review #18, by merlins beard In the Waiting Line

22nd August 2015:
Aww poor Scorpius. It's so sad when parents don't accept their children the way they are. It's so good that he is speaking to his mother again though, that makes all the difference. He's still bitter about what happened but who can blame him, I would be too. I like that Scorpius and Rose are on good terms despite the fact that Scorpius kind of used Rose as a cover story for his sexual orientation.
Albus visiting his grandparents on his own is something that seems to fit so well with his character. It's great how you manage to capture in such a brief moment that Molly and Arthur haven't changed much. The flying car would be impressive to Albus, but the explanation about the TV is also very impressive to Arthur. And Molly cooking more and getting Al to take it home for him and James... that's just so MOLLY.

The Broomsfield case sounds dangerous. "It shouldn't be dangerous..." makes me think 'Famous last words'...
I knew it would hit Ron hard to have Rose storm out like that, and I get that everyone is really worried about her, but isn't she an adult? She's fine on her own. They don't have to worry about her quite that much...


~Anja

 Report Review

Review #19, by merlins beard Mr. Kiss Kiss Bang Bang

22nd August 2015:
Oh Scorpius GET OUT OF THERE WHILE YOU STILL CAN!!! Corbin's idea is the first hint that something might be off with the guy. It might not be strictly prohibited to infuse the pages of a book with an aphrotisiac, but it's certainly not a clean business approach. Sounds a little like fraud to me. CORBIN SHOULD PACK HIS STUFF AND STAY IN PARIS, FAR AWAY FROM SCORP. It's so telling that he's already getting jealous by just seeing the flyers. It's none of his business who Scorpius spends time with, even if what they have develops into a relationship.
"You're mine" is something no one should ever say to their lover. I don't like Corbin's possessiveness here. Scorpius is not a posession. He's a person who should be free to make his own choices.
I bet you've had a few people who think this is romantic, being mislead by first Twilight and then Shades of Gray, but I can't see it like that. It's not romantic to be posessive, it's not sweet to tell the person you love who they can or can't see. It's amazing that you made me hate a character so much. I think this is one of the most brilliantly written stories I have ever come across in fan fiction.
Awww, that scene with Albus and Brandon is sweet. I think they're nice together. It's an image that works for me. I like that Brandon wants more and asks Al out. I like that they are not caught snogging but have the sense to stop and go back. And I think the date will be very sweet.
Your characters are all flawed and not perfect, it's so much easier to relate to them that way. They're kind of unlikeable a little bit, but their actions are completely understandable because THEY are convinced that they are doing the right thing at that moment in time.
Rose is right to pursue her dream. It's not going to be easy, but I know she can do it if she wants to. Hermione should accept that, but it's just part of her character to think she knows what's best for her little girl. I think by walking out, Rose hurt her father badly. Ron loves Rose more than anything in the world, and I'm a little worried that he's going to take that hard.
I'll head to the next chapter now.

~Anja

 Report Review

Review #20, by merlins beard Such Great Heights

22nd August 2015:
Hey Rose,
This chapter developed the story nicely. I enjoy watching Albus trying to figure out what he wants. All the characters seem to be struggling with knowing what they want at the moment. Rose isn't certain about her job and Scorpius is getting things started with Corbin but can't quite let go of his old feelings for Albus. It's sometimes very hard to get over an old relationship and the feelings stick around, I can completely understand that. Plus, there don't always have to be feelings involved in sharing intimate moments. Obviously I know what's going to happen, but I'll act as if I don't here anyway and say that I really want Albus and Scorpius to get together. I'm also trying to ignore my feelings of disgust when Corbin is mentioned - but it's almost impossible. I really like that Scorpius has his own business and I think it's pretty cool that Albus works at Weasleys' Wizard Wheezes. It just seems to give us a broader perspective on his character. I did't have the impression that he was a prankster in the last chapter, but his work suggests that he does appreciate a good joke. I'm so happy to be reading this again

~Anja

 Report Review

Review #21, by merlins beard New Slang

22nd August 2015:
Hey Rose,
I should have reviewed this ages ago, but at least this gives me an excuse to read it again.
I love the family dynamic you create right at the beginning with Albus and James living in a flat but always going to their parents' house for lunch on Sundays. I love all the teasing, especially with Lily, and I really enjoy Albus' little flirt.
Since I have read this before, I always go a little crazy at the mention of Corbin. Here I am sitting in front of my screen and BEGGING Scorpius not to go meet him ever again. I'm afraid he won't listen to me though.
I love that James invited Brandon along for their night out!! There's this one line there, I just love it.
It's this one: "They'd like to play darts," he announced as if he'd just negotiated peace between two warring nations."
I'll see you on the next chapter
~Anja

 Report Review

Review #22, by long_live_luna_bellatrix A View to a Kill

22nd August 2015:
Itís so interesting to see things from Corbinís perspective a littleÖ Really humanizes him, especially for me, when I know what things will look like from Scorpiusí perspective in the future. At the same time, heís still so harsh with ScorpiusÖ and at the same time as that, I know Iíd be upset if I were in Corbinís shoes and I learned that my boyfriend had hooked up with someone else when I was away, especially before weíd talked about being exclusive. Both Albus and Scorpius are trying so hard to have it all, and Iím worried that theyíre going to hurt the other people in their lives.

Once again, I really feel for Rose. You did a really nice job of showing her to be acting more mature, what with having the guts to apologize to her parents and also to come up with a compromise. But, with the bit about the cost of the trial business, you also reminded us that sheís still quite young! I find her to be a really appealing character overall, including her mixture of immature and mature.

Thatís crazy news about Brandon! Not at all what Iíd expected! Well done there ;) And here Iíd thought heíd gone off and gotten wounded in a duel or something. I like how James is quick to keep Albus on his toes the moment Albus seems to waver on his commitment to Brandon. And it was also funny when Albus pointed out the lameness of Jamesí girl-seeking skills.

Once again, another great chapter balancing the multiple storylines here. Iím so curious to learn more about Brandonís daughter! I imagine itís incredibly challenging for someone like Brandon, who seems to have it so together, to jump from one life into the next. Then again, it doesnít matter how together you are or notóhaving a child fall into your lap would throw anyone for a loop.

Iíd love to see how Albus gets along with a little kid. From what James says, it sounds like heíll be great at it. :D

Anyway, this is the last of the reviews that I was able to do in time for the baby shower. However, I will keep popping back to continue this story! I'm really enjoying it so far and I'd let to get to the end. Hope you've enjoyed the reviews!

 Report Review

Review #23, by long_live_luna_bellatrix Live and Let Die

22nd August 2015:
Hahaha, when Rose started asking Lily about her love life, instead of the words ďno oneĒ I saw, ďNOT one,Ē as in, there were multiple men. And I thought, dang Lily, way to go! But never mind :P. Also, I laughed pretty hard at the line ďI just donít look at them when Iím trying toóĒ

Iím beginning to think the character I can empathize most with is Rose. (For starters, my love life isnít nearly as complicated or exciting as Alís or Scorpiusí!) Getting out of school and trying to find a job that means something to you is just about always going to be pretty tough, and I donít blame Rose for being frustrated. That said, I donít think comparing herself to Lily is good for her; Rose is the one in the normal situation, and Lilyís just very lucky to have a job she likes thatís on track to get even better.

Thereís one typo I found: ďThis was the first fancy date Albus and he wanted it to go well.Ē Seems like thereís a word or two missing there.

I thought Albusí nervousness in a nice restaurant was a nice touch. He comes from a family with at least decent amounts of money, Iíd think, if not better than decent, but this showed that heís still naÔve about a lot of things in the adult world. Itís interesting that both Scorpius/Corbin and Albus/Brandon involves a more nervous party and a more mature, sophisticated party. Iíll keep an eye out for more links between the two couples.

But oh no! Brandon never showed! I wonder if it has to do with the case he was talking about last chapterÖ I donít think heís the kind of guy to stand up Albus unless heís in physical danger somewhere. (I should clarify that Iím writing these reviews for the most part as I read, so you got this reaction before the final scene of the chapter.)

Iím worried about what Corbinís reaction to Scorpiusí news about Albus will be. But even though I already said that I prefer Al/Brandon to Al/Scorpius, I have to admit I liked seeing them together here. The line about Scorpius feeling more at ease than he had in a long time made me think more about them. And I guess there is something to be said about being in a relationship with someone where thereís 100% comfort. That sort of familiarity with someone else can be really, really nice. So now Iím conflicted! AhhÖ

I loved the comment about Lily walking past Albus with a massive platter of food. Nice touch!

But BrandonÖ NooÖ I really hope heís ok! Canít wait to find out.

(Love the song Live and Let Die, by the way!)

 Report Review

Review #24, by long_live_luna_bellatrix In the Waiting Line

22nd August 2015:
Yes! I was right! Rose was going to Scorpiusí! The conversation they had was so interesting, so many bumps throughout it. It felt like there was a lot going on and there was all these misconceptions theyíd had about each otherís pastÖ I felt like I learned a lot about them in that very short period of time.

I loved the comment Arthur made about Muggles making flying cars! I think a lot of people forget what time period theyíre dealing with when theyíre write Next Gen, and that little mention of something futuristic made me pretty happy. :D Then again, we are getting awfully close to the date of the epilogue nowÖ

I like that as this story develops Iím getting into the storylines of all these different characters. At first I thought it was going to be primarily about Albus, featuring his interactions with Brandon and Scorpius. But I love that Iím not only getting things from Scorpius and Brandonís perspectives, but that Iím now getting more about Rose too! Youíve done a really great job of weaving them all in and out together, and itís so interesting to see their stories from their point of view as well as being talked about by others. So much going on!

Why did you choose for Brandon to be related to a canon character, Savage? I canít remember anything about the original Savage other than the name. Wasnít he also an Auror? Or no? I recognized the name when you first mentioned it but Iím getting more curious. Iím also curious about this case Brandon is workingÖ I love a good romance (or four, or five, or however many love triangles end up in this story) but I also love to hear about the characters jobs. Scorpiusí in particular, as a potioneer, sounds so cool. And of course Roseís ongoing job struggle is interesting as well. I really hope to learn more about their careers as this goes forward!

 Report Review

Review #25, by long_live_luna_bellatrix Mr. Kiss Kiss Bang Bang

22nd August 2015:
Here with another baby shower review!

I caught one typo early in the chapter: ďWe should let this breath before drinking itĒ should probably use the word ďbreatheĒ instead. Incidentally, Scorpiusí comment a moment later about how the wine had probably breathed enough to be drinkable gave me the sense that Corbin could be a bit of a snob. But once again, I might just be getting that vibe because I know how things with Corbin turn out.

Corbin is subtle, though. After their conversation about Albus, Scorpius seemed reassured that it wasnít a big deal, but I wasnít. So manipulative on Corbinís part, to act controlling and then take it back. Leaves Scorpius feeling like everything is okay, but leaves me with a bad taste in my mouth. I think youíre doing a great job with Corbin overall. Right now he just seems like a slightly arrogant guy who treats Scorpius really well 98% of the time and maybe slips up on the other 2%.

So excited that Albus and Brandon are going on a date! I think itís much better for Albus to go ahead with that than to get tied down by his past with Scorpius.

Also, I loved Ronís line toward the end- ďWell itís a dull butÖ important jobĒ Haha. Hermione is right, Rose isnít acting like an adult, but Hermioneís not so understanding either. My guess is that Rose ran off to Scorpius, given the comment about how his parents treated himÖ Which would be interesting, because they also have a historyÖ Guess Iíll have to just wait and see!

Another really nice chapter!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>