Reading Reviews for Mean
  
17 Reviews Found

Review #1, by marauderfan The One Where they Return to Classes

22nd January 2015:
Ah, I was wrong, oh well. It turns out she does like Declan the Ravenclaw.

I'm really appreciating Lily's humour, especially Asking Cara Out 101. It sounds so simple when she says it like that :p

Ugh, Declan. Did he really ask how come he didn't know Lucy likes girls, when he's known her for like, an hour? Is he expecting all queer people to wear signs around their neck that say "I'm queer!" just so he knows?? Ha. Lucy handled the situation very well though without rolling her eyes at Declan's ignorance. And ugh don't even get me started on 'no homo' what an absurd phrase.

I really do love the way Lucy and James interact. They're so supportive :)

Crashing a Ravenclaw party! Ha, of course it's on the Astronomy Tower, what a Ravenclaw-y place for a party. Maybe they'll have telescopes, just in case anyone wants to do a bit of stargazing in the middle of the party. :p Sounds nerdy but hey I'd love to go to a stargazing party haha.

Oh Lucy, famous last words. That last line is basically a sure sign that it WILL happen :p

awesome chapter!

Author's Response: The no homo thing came from this one guy that was in my maths assignment group and he was constantly saying, "No homo" and I just can't STAND that phrase! IT SENDS ME NUTS. I'm so glad you can relate though!

And I'm not queer (at least, I don't think I am :P) but I've read so many stories where people get asked why they didn't know/why they are queer and I always roll my eyes at the ignorance. It's ridiculous

omg a stargazing party sounds amazing if you have one, invite me! :P

Thank you so much for the lovely review!! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by marauderfan The One with the Feast

22nd January 2015:
Lucy is the best! I loved how she made that first-year feel so at home - and that's such a great point about dietary restrictions. Given that most of the food discussed in the books are meat dishes of various types, I always wondered (as a vegetarian) where that leaves the vegetarians, or anyone with food allergies - but of course there had to be special dishes. Just because Harry only narrated about British meat dishes doesn't mean there weren't other options on the table :p

Also, I really appreciate the representation having a Muslim character in this, even if she is only in this one scene, it's so lovely to see diversity in fic.

I love the banter with the boys and how she's such good friends with all of them, despite how ridiculous they all are. Although it's a useless skill I'm totally jealous that they can recite the alphabet backwards. :p

Cara and Eleanor seem like they're trying to hide a huge secret and they're not sure how Lucy will react to it. I don't think this has anything to do with Cara having a Ravenclaw crush. because then what would Eleanor be doing just hanging out there too? My theory is that they're using the Ravenclaws as a cover story and they're actually sneaking off together, just the two of them because they fancy each other. Yes, I realise this is more of just a collection of twigs than a ship, but that's what I think until I am proven otherwise :p

Author's Response: Don't worry, Aalia does come up more in this fic, I promise! I remember reading a headcanon on Tumblr about Muslims at Hogwarts and I was like !!! MUST DO !!! so she will slowly become more important ;)

(But I actually need to rework the whole story now because this is going in a completely different direction than I intended it so I need to rework Aalia in the story again haha)

I've ALWAYS wanted to recite the alphabet backwards but it takes such a long time for me :P I feel like if you learnt it, you'll never really un-learn it haha

omg that would have been a great plot twist but I am letting you know it isn't just the Ravenclaw crush. It's going to be a bit more, but the crush is really just the tip of the iceberg, per se

Thanks for the review!!! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by marauderfan The First One

22nd January 2015:
Hi Kayla! Happy Review Hot Seat Day! I know there isn't actually a day set aside for you, but as you've been running the whole thing and set it up, I felt like you deserved some appreciation for that. ♡

Already in the beginning I can relate to Lucy so much because my mum is a relentless hugger too - when I went off to university across the country, after two hugs she would still want another one at the last minute before I left to fly off. Ahaha

I love that James used to play princesses with Lucy. :D They are such wonderful cousins, I love how close they are.

Now that I think about it, Lucy fics are rare, or really any fic about Percy's family, so I like that you've written about her here and that she's so awesome! She's not a Percy clone. And talking of Percy, I love how you've written him as well, how he cares a lot but is bad at saying so, particularly in public - that seems so true to his character in the books so well done with him.

Wondering what's going on with Lucy's friends! Hmm. Must read on. :D

Author's Response: OH MY GOODNESS, I SUCK AT RESPONDING BUT THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THE REVIEWS ♥ ♥ I need you to know how much this honestly touched me. You put the biggest smile on my face, thank you so much ♥

Yes, my mum is also a crazy hugger. Usually I don't mind it but there are times where I just want to escape the death grip :P

Cousins are your first friends, and I have a brother/sister relationship with my own cousins so I really wanted to portray that in this fic because the 4 of us (my brother, my older cousin, younger cousin, and myself) would do such crazy things together and now we're literally so close. A lot of fics have the Weasleys/Potters close but not as close as most cousins are tbh

Ahh, thank you! I was so worried about getting Percy right! He's such a tough character but he's still extremely important!

Thank you for the lovely review! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by TheHeirOfSlytherin The One Where Lucy is Exhausted

28th December 2014:
THE LAST CHAPTER... so far.

Poor Lucy. Hangovers just suck. I've actually been in her position, only I went home ten minutes after college started. :P I kinda wish I'd done what James did, because James clearly has the best ideas, but it got me out of class. ;)

Lucky Carter!

And back to poor Lucy. The damn stairs getting in the way of her sleep and making her cry. Too much is happening to her right now. *hugs her*

I can't wait for more!

Sam.

Author's Response: Hangovers do suck but I have really only had two bad hangovers (and one disappeared by the afternoon :P), I'm extremely blessed in the fact that I hardly get any hangovers :P

I actually got that idea from a guy in my grade. Fo r our year 10 graduation, the night before was the formal and people were all drunk and hungover, and the kid was in front of me and he was boasting how he woke up still drunk so he kept going on.

A valiant soldier...

We've all had those days where nothing goes right for us and the littlest thing sets us off, haha :P

Thank you for the review! I'm actually writing the next chapter now-ish, but it'll probably take a while because it takes me so long to write and put it in the queue, haha :P

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by TheHeirOfSlytherin The One Where Lucy Eavesdrops

28th December 2014:
PARTY, PARTY, PARTY!!!

Lucy and James are so cool together. So close and always there for each other. It's awesome to read. I also love Ben and Carter the more I read this, they're the cool friends you want.

BEN KNOWS!!! WOO!!! I'm totally seeing James/Ben in my head, which is kinda sad because Parker seems alright now that I've met him. But... *wants James/Ben*

There will only ever be one Harry.

And there it is... the reason I hate Cara, Eleanor and Declan. That's just so, well, mean (OMG, TITLE!). I hope James, Carter and Ben kick their butts. Or Lucy and James set Lily on them.

That seemed like a cool drinking game. I've never played it before and I probably should keep it that way, but I kinda wanna play.

Uh oh, she got sick. *hugs Lucy*

Onwards!

Sam.

Author's Response: Yeah, I love close cousin friendships -- the saying is that your cousins are your first friends, and in my parents and aunt and uncles cases, only friends :P (Their grandparents would literally say, "Friends? Why you need friends? You've got your cousins!") -- so I love writing them together!! And I absolutely adore Ben and Carter. They're basically brothers :')

Still probably no James/Ben, haha!

Yes, there will only ever be one Harry! No arguments there :P

Mhm. At first when I wrote it I thought it a little rushed but then I remembered back in high school that it literally comes out of nowhere.

NO DON'T PLAY IT. IT IS DEATH. I personally haven't puked from it because even when drunk, I'm extremely stubborn and won't let myself get sick but oh god, so many horror stories. I can't stress this enough: do not play King's Cup.

Thank you for reviewing! You're absolutely amazing!! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by TheHeirOfSlytherin The One Where they Return to Classes

28th December 2014:
The more I read this the more hooked I become. I just love finding out more and more about your characters. Which is why my reviews get shorter... :P

I don't think I like Declan very much. He seemed okay in the beginning, though a little annoying asking Lucy all the questions, but then he looked too happy when she called on for talking. I agree with Lucy, there's something not quite right about him. I don't know what Cara sees in him.

Suddenly uncomfortable just because Lucy tells him she's gay. Now I really don't like him.

JAMES IS BI?! *hugs him tightly* He just is, that's the only way I see him. I haven't even met this Parker yet and I ship them. James/Parker for the win. Unless Parker is mean, then... OMG, JAMES/BEN. I SHIP JAMES/BEN!!!

...off topic, sorry.

You can't not crash a party, especially a Ravenclaw one. ;)

Onwards!

Sam.

Author's Response: Yeah, I don't like Declan either. He's just going to get worse and worse, ehehe :P

James is questioning at the moment ;) It's just hit me that my head canon of James may have been influenced by you! I'd never thought about it before, but obviously your excellent story has stayed in my subconscious :P

Ehhh... so far, there's going to be nothing between James and Ben but god knows what's going to happen, haha

Thank you for the lovely review, Sam ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by TheHeirOfSlytherin The One with the Feast

23rd December 2014:
Kayla!

Lucy is definitely the coolest person ever. Seriously, I love her so much already. I should have found this much sooner. *Shakes head at self* I'd have loved school if she'd talked to me on my first day... At least for that day. :P

The girls are cool, I hope we get to see more of them, but the boys are awesome. I wanna live in their dorm. It seems like so much fun.

Can I not like Cara and Eleanor? Eleanor more so. I'm getting this bad vibe, and I don't know if I should trust it yet because it's only chapter two, but it's there and I kinda want to. Or least know what the heck is going on with them?

I guess I shall find out. Back soon!

Sam.

Author's Response: Sam!

Haha, I would love Lucy as well! The girls are cool, yes, but I agree that the boys are so much more fun. Except I wouldn't want to live in their dorm. I've been in a room with 5 other boys for a week (it was literally one massive room with 6 beds in it .-.) and by the end of it I had never been happier to talk to girls, haha :P Boys living spaces are good for small amounts of time ONLY :P

You can not like Eleanor and Cara! Especially Eleanor! I'm trying to make her seem good but she keeps getting on my nerves already, haha :P

Thank you for the review ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by TheHeirOfSlytherin The First One

23rd December 2014:
Don't look. It's just me, casually stalk- going through your profile. Nothing to see. Seriously. Don't look. ANYWAY...

Awww, Lucy! I haven't read a Lucy story in a while. I love her already, especially her relationship with Audrey. I'd totally be like that with my Mummy if I was off to boarding school, excecpt without the dramatics because my mummy doesn't do that. No, wait, I wouldn't, my mummy would never send me away! MWAHAHAHAHAHA... *coughs* I mean, poor Lucy, having to leave her mum for school, but at least she's going to have lots and lots of fun for her final year...

Maybe. I mean, come on. What is with these friends of hers? That's odd behavior right there... But I'm not there yet... Hang on...

James! I love James already. He's so cool. I can't wait to see where you take his character. :D And Harry, but I can never not love Harry. I loved the bit about him being a lazy bum. "Yeah, he saved the world, but did he go back to school? I don't think so!" :D Percy was brilliantly Percy. But I won't go into detail, wouldn't want to make him emotional. ;) I hope we get to see more of them, at least a little, even Audrey and Ginny and their slightly scary hugs. :P

So, back to Cara and Eleanor. I owner why they're being so odd around Lucy, not doing what they normally do. And the boys who looked at her weirdly. What is going on??? *must find these things out*

I like Carter and Ben. I hope I'm supposed to, they seem cool. :P

I shall be back for more!

Sam.

P.S. Really, don't turn around. I'm not done. ;)

Author's Response: HELLO SAM I AM LOOKING RIGHT AT YOU

I'm like that with my mum and I don't go to a boarding school and I honestly think I would not survive in a boarding school. I'm torn between in wanting to move out and have so much more independence and being near my mum everyday, haha :P I'm glad to know that we're both on the same page!

Yes, like Carter and Ben! I love them so much and I'm never going to not like them, haha!

Thanks for the review, Sam! You da bomb ♥ ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by maraudertimes The First One

12th December 2014:
Review tag!

ERMAGERSH. I really love this. It's fun, it's quirky, it's already got some tension (oh no!), and of course, it's got James II who is bae. :P

Okay, so Lucy is ah-mazing! Truly! I love your version of her. She's fun, enjoys chivalry, slightly awkward, and totally my type of gal. I wonder if we can become friends so she can introduce me to her cousin. ;)

I liked the dynamic between her and her parents, it really helped set the scene for character development, especially with her father, as well as with her uncle and cousin, because it really showed how tight-knit the Weasley-Potters are! Also, her dynamic with her 'friends' and then with the Gryffindor boys were both written so perfectly and I can *feel* the tension! I wonder what's up?

Well, obviously this tension will become something more! I'm wondering if maybe something bad happened? That would suck. :( Also, I hope something happens with James. As I've said, he's kind of my favourite. :P

This was an amazing first chapter, it helped introduce the characters, their dynamics, the budding tensions, and overall I adored it! :) Amazing job!
Lo :)

Author's Response: Hey, Lo!

James II is bae, I agree ;) I LOVE writing him sooo much, haha!

I'm glad you like my Lucy! I've always envisioned her to be much more carefree than Percy (and my headcanon of Molly) so it really makes me happy that you like it!

Whenever I see in stories that people within the Weasleys argue and aren't that fond of each other, I just want to scoff. I have a huge family like the Weasleys, and sometimes I think that some members are weird but I still absolutely love them and could spend all year with them. So I really wanted to reflect that :P

Thank you so much for this amazing review! I absolutely loved it! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by HeyMrsPotter The First One

10th December 2014:
Gift tag! (sorry I'm late!)

I think you've got a really good opening chapter to your story! I always find opening chapters difficult because you've got to set the scene for the rest of the story, introduce the necessary chapters and give readers a clue of where we are on the Potter timeline but without it just being a big information overload. You've managed to balance it brilliantly :)

I like the characters that you've created for Lucy and James so far, and they seem to have a really close relationship which is nice. It's not one we come across often in fanfiction, I think Percy's kids are always a bit neglected so I'm glad you chose Lucy as your main character. Cara and Elenor seem fun too, I'm interested in getting to know them more.

I think my favourite thing about this chapter is the older characters though. You've got them really in character but more mature too, another difficult thing to get right! Percy is my favourite, even though he says very little, his manerisms are perfect. Like him not liking PDA's and telling Lucy that Ron and Harry couldn't be bothered to go back to school after the war. So Percy!

Really good opening chapter, I'll be back for more very soon :D

Dee

Author's Response: Hey, Dee! Don't be sorry at all! Sorry for taking so long to respond!

Opening chapters ARE difficult, but honestly I think the second chapters are even more difficult, haha! But I'm glad you thought I wrote it well!

I always see Percy's kids as pushed off to the side which is sometimes a bit funny, but I feel like that that wouldn't happen in the Weasley family. I personally feel like they would all be very close to one another :P

Oh thank GOD I got them in character, haha! I was so worried about that!

Thank you so much for the lovely review, Dee ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by 800 words of heaven The First One

10th December 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

This sounds like a cool story! There aren't that many stories about Molly or Lucy Weasley on the archives, so I'm excited about this one!

I like Lucy so far. She seems like a very normal person. I especially like how close she is with her family, especially her mother. It's rare to see an adolescent character so openly close to one of their parents. I'm looking forward to getting to know her better.

I also like your take on James. He doesn't seem to be the obnoxious popular kid that is usually written. He's still very outgoing, but again, like Lucy, very normal. And I'm eager to learn more about his friendship with Lucy too.

Ooh! Why are Lucy's friends suddenly hanging out with Ravenclaw boys? Does someone have a secret crush? Did someone plot a nefarious deed like MURDER? Who knows? I'm excited to find out!

Lovely beginning :)

Author's Response: Hey!

Thank you so much for the review! I'm extremely close with my family (Mum is my best friend, tbh) and I feel like the Weasley family would be super close and so I'm really just writing my own family except varied genders/ages/magical abilities :P And we're all close to our parents, which I know a lot of families aren't so I really love reading and writing stories where people are close to their families :) I'm glad you liked it too!

I was actually so tempted to turn it into a murder mystery but then I had no ideas for that and heaps for troubled friendships so that stuck, haha :P

Thanks heaps for the review! Glad you liked it :)

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by magnifique11 The One Where they Return to Classes

23rd July 2014:
bisexual(bi-curious?) character. lesbian character. omgomgomg.

let me hug you. omg. I'm bi and I literally have /never/ seen a bi character (who I didn't write) on this website and tbh I'm about to cry this makes me so happy omg.

Like I was basically just going to write about how much I feel Lucy bc I've literally had someone say "you don't look gay/bi" to me before -__- but now I'm just so pumped about James being bi/bi-curious. This is a really cool moment for me, ya know? I mean, I'm a girl - but still! Someone like me in a fic is so rad.

And you know, the plot and the characterization are super rad as well! I'm just really glad that I decided to read this and I can't really reiterate my thoughts well right now but it's safe to say I will be looking forward to future updates! :)

Author's Response: omgomgomgomg

I'm not bi or gay, just straight (but there are some times where I'm not too sure because GIRLS) and I see so many things online where there are hardly any other non-straight people (I could list every single one but it'd be a pretty long response, then!) and it made me a bit sad because people of other orientations instead of straight, like yourself, and I needed that to reflect in my stories rather than having just one gay character in the whole novel, which I have done before I admit. Just having one gay character doesn't mean ~representation~ and so I wanted to expand it!

And right there, where you said: "Someone like me in a fic is so rad." is why representation is so important and hearing you say that has just made my day!!

Thank you so much for this amazing review!! So sorry for taking a ridiculously long time to respond!

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by NoxFlame172 The One with the Feast

24th June 2014:
Nice chpter again!! :)

Lucy's such a nice person, she's still witty and funny, but not in a mean way which you sometimes get in ff.

I love the guy's...I can't decide who my favourite is, but I'd say it's between James and Carter. They're both super funny!

Hmm, I'm really not feeling Cara and Eleanor...Why didn't they invite Lucy? And why were they being so rude at dinner? I mean, I get it you've got a bit of a crush, but how is that a reason for snapping at your friends???

Anyway, I'm rambling now! Looking foward to reading more!

- Emma

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I love all the boys the same, tbh :P

Just wait and see what happens ;)

Thank you for reviewing! :D

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by NoxFlame172 The First One

24th June 2014:
Nice opening chapter...I love reading stories from Lucy's perspective, as there isn't much canon info on her she's sort of a blank canvas, if that makes sense! Lol!

I'm enjoying your take on her and love that she's such good friends with James!! Not sure how I'm feeling about Cara and Eleanor though...

-Emma

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm having so much fun writing her! :D

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by TotallyNotVernonDursleyInDisguise The First One

7th June 2014:
Oohh
This should be interesting.
And reviews on the first chapter of like every story ever are always really awkward for me
I hope you've enjoyed the awkwardness of me

Author's Response: hahaha don't worry about it! You've left a lovely review! :) Thank you! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by LilyLou The First One

4th June 2014:
Hi, Kayla!

This is a wonderful start! You've built Lucy's character very well so far, already defining who she is. As well as James. I cannot wait for more! I love how you left us wondering about Eleanor and Cara, and why they weren't coming. One could guess, but you still leave the suspense of not knowing, which urges a reader to read on.

Great job, update soon!

-Janelle

Author's Response: Hey, Janelle!

Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked this opening chapter! I'm very keen for this story so I really want people to like it!

The next chapter is now up ;)

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by justbecause000 The First One

27th May 2014:
Loved it! Her sense of humor reminds me of my best friends, haha :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :D Her humour is very similar to mine, I'm too sarcastic and snarky for my own good! :P

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login