Reading Reviews for Mean
  
9 Reviews Found

Review #1, by maraudertimes The First One

12th December 2014:
Review tag!

ERMAGERSH. I really love this. It's fun, it's quirky, it's already got some tension (oh no!), and of course, it's got James II who is bae. :P

Okay, so Lucy is ah-mazing! Truly! I love your version of her. She's fun, enjoys chivalry, slightly awkward, and totally my type of gal. I wonder if we can become friends so she can introduce me to her cousin. ;)

I liked the dynamic between her and her parents, it really helped set the scene for character development, especially with her father, as well as with her uncle and cousin, because it really showed how tight-knit the Weasley-Potters are! Also, her dynamic with her 'friends' and then with the Gryffindor boys were both written so perfectly and I can *feel* the tension! I wonder what's up?

Well, obviously this tension will become something more! I'm wondering if maybe something bad happened? That would suck. :( Also, I hope something happens with James. As I've said, he's kind of my favourite. :P

This was an amazing first chapter, it helped introduce the characters, their dynamics, the budding tensions, and overall I adored it! :) Amazing job!
Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by HeyMrsPotter The First One

10th December 2014:
Gift tag! (sorry I'm late!)

I think you've got a really good opening chapter to your story! I always find opening chapters difficult because you've got to set the scene for the rest of the story, introduce the necessary chapters and give readers a clue of where we are on the Potter timeline but without it just being a big information overload. You've managed to balance it brilliantly :)

I like the characters that you've created for Lucy and James so far, and they seem to have a really close relationship which is nice. It's not one we come across often in fanfiction, I think Percy's kids are always a bit neglected so I'm glad you chose Lucy as your main character. Cara and Elenor seem fun too, I'm interested in getting to know them more.

I think my favourite thing about this chapter is the older characters though. You've got them really in character but more mature too, another difficult thing to get right! Percy is my favourite, even though he says very little, his manerisms are perfect. Like him not liking PDA's and telling Lucy that Ron and Harry couldn't be bothered to go back to school after the war. So Percy!

Really good opening chapter, I'll be back for more very soon :D

Dee

 Report Review

Review #3, by 800 words of heaven The First One

10th December 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

This sounds like a cool story! There aren't that many stories about Molly or Lucy Weasley on the archives, so I'm excited about this one!

I like Lucy so far. She seems like a very normal person. I especially like how close she is with her family, especially her mother. It's rare to see an adolescent character so openly close to one of their parents. I'm looking forward to getting to know her better.

I also like your take on James. He doesn't seem to be the obnoxious popular kid that is usually written. He's still very outgoing, but again, like Lucy, very normal. And I'm eager to learn more about his friendship with Lucy too.

Ooh! Why are Lucy's friends suddenly hanging out with Ravenclaw boys? Does someone have a secret crush? Did someone plot a nefarious deed like MURDER? Who knows? I'm excited to find out!

Lovely beginning :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by magnifique11 The One Where they Return to Classes

23rd July 2014:
bisexual(bi-curious?) character. lesbian character. omgomgomg.

let me hug you. omg. I'm bi and I literally have /never/ seen a bi character (who I didn't write) on this website and tbh I'm about to cry this makes me so happy omg.

Like I was basically just going to write about how much I feel Lucy bc I've literally had someone say "you don't look gay/bi" to me before -__- but now I'm just so pumped about James being bi/bi-curious. This is a really cool moment for me, ya know? I mean, I'm a girl - but still! Someone like me in a fic is so rad.

And you know, the plot and the characterization are super rad as well! I'm just really glad that I decided to read this and I can't really reiterate my thoughts well right now but it's safe to say I will be looking forward to future updates! :)

Author's Response: omgomgomgomg

I'm not bi or gay, just straight (but there are some times where I'm not too sure because GIRLS) and I see so many things online where there are hardly any other non-straight people (I could list every single one but it'd be a pretty long response, then!) and it made me a bit sad because people of other orientations instead of straight, like yourself, and I needed that to reflect in my stories rather than having just one gay character in the whole novel, which I have done before I admit. Just having one gay character doesn't mean ~representation~ and so I wanted to expand it!

And right there, where you said: "Someone like me in a fic is so rad." is why representation is so important and hearing you say that has just made my day!!

Thank you so much for this amazing review!! So sorry for taking a ridiculously long time to respond!

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by NoxFlame172 The One with the Feast

24th June 2014:
Nice chpter again!! :)

Lucy's such a nice person, she's still witty and funny, but not in a mean way which you sometimes get in ff.

I love the guy's...I can't decide who my favourite is, but I'd say it's between James and Carter. They're both super funny!

Hmm, I'm really not feeling Cara and Eleanor...Why didn't they invite Lucy? And why were they being so rude at dinner? I mean, I get it you've got a bit of a crush, but how is that a reason for snapping at your friends???

Anyway, I'm rambling now! Looking foward to reading more!

- Emma

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I love all the boys the same, tbh :P

Just wait and see what happens ;)

Thank you for reviewing! :D

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by NoxFlame172 The First One

24th June 2014:
Nice opening chapter...I love reading stories from Lucy's perspective, as there isn't much canon info on her she's sort of a blank canvas, if that makes sense! Lol!

I'm enjoying your take on her and love that she's such good friends with James!! Not sure how I'm feeling about Cara and Eleanor though...

-Emma

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm having so much fun writing her! :D

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by TotallyNotVernonDursleyInDisguise The First One

7th June 2014:
Oohh
This should be interesting.
And reviews on the first chapter of like every story ever are always really awkward for me
I hope you've enjoyed the awkwardness of me

Author's Response: hahaha don't worry about it! You've left a lovely review! :) Thank you! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by LilyLou The First One

4th June 2014:
Hi, Kayla!

This is a wonderful start! You've built Lucy's character very well so far, already defining who she is. As well as James. I cannot wait for more! I love how you left us wondering about Eleanor and Cara, and why they weren't coming. One could guess, but you still leave the suspense of not knowing, which urges a reader to read on.

Great job, update soon!

-Janelle

Author's Response: Hey, Janelle!

Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked this opening chapter! I'm very keen for this story so I really want people to like it!

The next chapter is now up ;)

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by justbecause000 The First One

27th May 2014:
Loved it! Her sense of humor reminds me of my best friends, haha :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :D Her humour is very similar to mine, I'm too sarcastic and snarky for my own good! :P

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login