Reading Reviews for Mean
  
53 Reviews Found

Review #1, by BellaLestrange87 The First One

24th December 2015:
Hi Kayla!

I really love the voice you have for Lucy here, and how she's very friendly with James. Her mum's memory of the two of them running around in dresses playing princess was very cute and I like the addition.

I really enjoyed the jokes between the family - Lucy's mention of Harry not going back to Hogwarts to do seventh year, the banter between Lucy and her mum, and her description of Percy's letter-writing tendencies.

The introduction, with her friends on the train seemed a bit weird. I think it's kind of creepy that someone would say "I know who you are" - which sounds like a stalker - instead of something less odd, like "Hi." I wonder why Eleanor's acting differently? And should Jake be someone she should recognize? How come her "friends" didn't tell her about this super cool (supposedly) party that they all went to. That doesn't seem like a very friendly thing to do. I'm glad that she has James and her other friends to hang out with, though.

I really enjoyed this chapter and I'll be back to review Chapter 2 (at some point. I have an unofficial award for longest time to return to the next chapter.)

~Olivia

Author's Response: Hello!

I feel like the Weasleys would be great with their banter, so it's nice to hear that you're enjoying it! :D

Lots of lil issues popping up already. Just planting the seeds if you will... ;)

Thanks for the lovely review! I understand long delays between returning to stories, so I won't take it personally or anything, haha!

Thanks again!

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by marauderfan The One Where Raine Apologises

24th December 2015:
Aw, yay! Finally things are looking better, for both of them. It's so much easier to navigate through difficult things with a friend beside you.

Ha, I loved what Raine said about her theory that Dumbledore was gay, and the stories about him and Grindelwald that could come of that, and how she's such a sucker for those stories - me too, Raine. :D

I like Raine, and I really appreciate that she's much more open hearted and forgiving than Cara and Eleanor - she seems really easy to get along with. I kind of wonder what would happen if Lucy apologized to Cara and Eleanor - would they continue to be catty and superior or would they try to make amends with her? At this point I can't say.

Anyway, great chapter, I just realized I'm at that sad point in a story where there is no Next Chapter button, so I'll be eagerly awaiting your next update! Great work on this story so far, I'll be back soon I'm sure! :)

Author's Response: Yes, I love breaking the fourth wall with these types of things. It makes no sense for next gen people to know that Dumbledore was gay but that doesn't mean I'm not going to make jokes about it, hehe!

Thank you so much for the lovely review! I'll try to update as soon as I can! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by marauderfan The One Where Lucy is Tired of the Year Already

24th December 2015:
I'm back! I'm so glad your hot seat day re-introduced me to this story and now I'm trying to make sure I don't neglect it for a year again. I'm really enjoying reading this!

In almost every fantasy story in Muggle literature there’s a wise spirit guide destined to help the hero. They generally have long white beards, super wise quotes that the movies always ruin…” -- Hahahahaha... aka "HARRRY DID YOU PUT YOUR NAME IN THE GOBLETOFFIYAAAHH!?!?!"

Aside from Aunt Hermione but Dad and her bonded over their academics rather than competed -- I can absolutely see this being the case! I don't recall seeing Hermione and Percy interact much in the books so I'd never thought about this much, but I could TOTALLY see them bonding about the history of broom regulations, or something. Ahaha

Oh no! Poor Raine :( I feel so bad for her, and I wonder how Declan found out about her. Obviously Lucy didn't tell him, and neither would Carter, so I'm wondering who outed her. Aww, I really do feel so bad for her as what a horrible thing to hear about yourself and leaving you with no idea who you can trust anymore. :( I hope she's more understanding than Cara and Eleanor and will talk to Lucy.

Sounds like it's a miserable start to the year for everyone! :(

This was a great chapter though, still really enjoying this story.

Author's Response: YES I AM STILL ANGRY ABOUT THAT AND I WILL BREAK THE FOURTH WALL TO WHINE ABOUT IT HAHAHA NEVER FORGIVE AND NEVER FORGET

I think only in the first few books you occasionally see Hermione talking to Percy and so that led me to believe that they'd often bonded! And there was once mention of Hermione snapping at Percy and Harry being shocked because she generally got on quite well with him so that kind of led me to believe they quite enjoyed each others presence.

You'll see how it was all found out ;)

Thanks for another great review! I'm glad you're enjoying it! :D

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by marauderfan The One Where Lucy Tries to Hold it Together

16th December 2015:
I had to come back and keep reading! :D

Ugh, Declan. I feel like he has his own theme song when he shows up in the story and it's three really discordant notes, kind of like what you'd get if you dropped a volleyball on the low keys of a piano. The sound of doom. I don't like him, can you tell?

And I don't like Cara, but I feel really bad for her! It sucks to get in a fight with your friend, and although Cara hasn't shown it before, she's really upset about her falling out with Lucy and I can't blame her. Yeah, Cara said some mean things, but so did Lucy. Conclusion: high school is mean. As noted in the title of the story.

The sort of dynamic you've got with your characters is so, so interesting, because I think in this story it's entirely down to perspective. For example, if the narrator of this story were Cara instead, it would be a completely different story because her perception of what's going on is so different. Lucy's POV is really biased. But I love that.

This is such a brilliant story and I'm so glad I came back to it for the hot seat!

Author's Response: Hello!

hahaahaha if only we could incorporate in a theme song for him! I'd definitely take that suggestion :P

Yes, character dynamics are an interesting one! And yes the POV is extremely biased, so I'm glad you've picked up on that!

Thank you for leaving another lovely review! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by marauderfan The One Where There's a Confrontation

14th December 2015:
It was cool to see a different side of Viola in this chapter, and her genuine concern for Lucy was really touching. Even if Lucy is drifting away from Cara and Eleanor, she's not alone - she still has a strong support network of the boys, and also her own roommates. That support is so crucial, and I'm glad she has it. I think especially after her girl chat with Viola, those two will be even closer because sharing secrets always does that.

Cara's outburst was really... realistic. This is such a valid reason for one teenage girl to be angry at another, and having felt like a back-up friend myself a number of times, I can understand her a little here. But she is being very immature about it, and mostly I just feel bad for Lucy because she did absolutely nothing wrong and is just having to deal with Cara and Eleanor sort of projecting. Poor Lucy. At least the words are out though, and not just festering in secret. I do wonder if they'll ever work it out, and I'm not sure whether I want that to happen or not :P

Well done on this chapter! I'm so glad to have got back to this story!

Author's Response: Hello again!

Support is super crucial. I know for a fact that if I didn't have such a great support system, I wouldn't be where I am today so that's why it often comes up in my fics :)

I'm glad you're enjoying this story, Kristin! I'm loving hearing all your feedback on it :D Plus, I really appreciate you taking the time out to read it!

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by marauderfan The One Where Lucy Becomes a Confidant

14th December 2015:
“It’s just… does Declan sometimes give you a weird feeling? Sometimes he just gives Cara a look and I shudder.” -- LISTEN TO THIS INSTINCT ELEANOR. Can Eleanor and Lucy have a chat about how creepy Declan is and then go back to being friends? I know I said Lucy was better off without Cara and Eleanor, but I just really like friendship.

cara for real? not appreciating your roommates' concern for you? the more I hear about this girl the less I like her.

also how is Eleanor cool with being Cara and Declan's third wheel all the time? how does she not ever feel the need to branch out to new friends?!

omg, Carter clicking the pen without realizing - this is me ALL THE TIME. too fidgety to focus, and clicky pens just demand to be clicked.

Aw, Jake, bless him. that's got to be difficult for him as asexuality is sort of forgotten sometimes, which is why I love that you've given some visibility to this community by writing an asexual character. And he also seems to be a good guy, despite that he's friends with a creepy jerk.

Obviously sexualities were not black and white, but I always thought they were shades of grey but it seemed rather like bits of orange and green had also been thrown in it. -- Haha... well, almost like a rainbow! :P

I'm having this weird moment reading this chapter, particularly the bit about Alex, as this section basically exactly mirrors a fic I've been writing about a genderqueer person named Alex who came out in fourth year and like... I don't really know what the point of this comment is haha, except to say that I feel like our fic universes overlapped for a second there. Cool.

Aw, Aalia's back! I really like her! Lol at her timing though XD She is such a sweetheart and my heart broke a little when she said she thought people wouldn't like her because she's different. And that on top of going to a new school and having to make new friends and learn about the magical world all at the same time is pretty hard, I'd imagine. Madame Zeller seems really nice and I'm so glad she's such a helpful and kind librarian.

The end of the chapter hints that maybe Lucy will try and work out her and Eleanor and Cara's issues with one another, and I hope they're as willing to make amends as she is. I mean, none of them are perfect at this point and have all said some unkind things, and maybe they can put it behind them? Here's hoping.

Great chapter!

Author's Response: omg I'm such a pen clicker as well. I'm sooo bad! Oh well, we can find solace with each other hehe

YES ALMOST LIKE A RAINBOW HAHAHA!

omg great minds think alike! How strange that we've got similar characters! When you put this fic up let me know so I can read it haha!

Thanks for the lovely review again! You're awesome! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by marauderfan The One Where James and Lucy Share Secrets

14th December 2015:
If it was five in the morning and I didn’t have a bunch of people sleeping in the same room I would have burst out into a song like in all the princesses in Muggle movies seemed to do. - you know, this is definitely on my bucket list. To be able to wake up, have birds join in on my song, then walk outside and have all of my neighbours join in and sing and dance in coordination. Wouldn't it be cool? :p So yeah Lucy, I'm on the same page as you

Aw! I love the way you write Al and Lucy - really all your cousin and sibling banter that you write is just so fun to read. And can I just say how much I appreciate the fact that Al's boggart is a snake. A Slytherin, afraid of snakes. Ahahaha... watch out Al, Lucy has the potential for blackmail.

I love the bit about jumping the stairs. Ha, that would totally be a thing, sort of like a rite of passage. It kind of reminds me of the story about when the Whomping Willow was first planted and everyone dared each other to touch it, and basically exactly the sort of 'tradition' I would expect of a school full of teenagers

I love how blase Lucy is about random people's opinions of her, and how she doesn't get embarrassed that easily, considering that her primary concern when she got to breakfast was not that she'd forgotten to button her shirt, but that she had made it to the table in time for pancakes haha. She's very strong in that regard.

Aw, and James. I really appreciate the fact that the queer people in your story are all different areas of the spectrum in terms of sexuality and also in how much they understand themselves. Some people know early on, and for some people it's a confusing process figuring out who you are. I can really identify with James in this chapter- and once again I just love the way you write him and Lucy as such wonderful, supportive friends.

I'm convinced there's something else going on with Cara and Eleanor but what is it? I think Lucy made the best decision though, if Cara and Eleanor don't have time for her and don't care about her anymore and just bring Lucy down, she doesn't need that kind of influence in her life.

Another excellent chapter! I love this fic.

Author's Response: Oh it would be so cool to do that. It'd be even cooler if we could actually sing and I didn't cause great pain to those who heard me :P

There's lots going on with Cara and Eleanor, but you'll have to wait and find out ;)

Thanks for another great review, dear! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by marauderfan The One Where Lucy is Exhausted

14th December 2015:
EAT THE TOAST LUCY. And drink all of the water. Poor thing. :-/

And then to have the staircases move, on top of all that! Hogwarts can be cruel. I mean, there are enough staircases in the school already, and on top of a gnarly hangover the last thing you want is for the stairs to move. I can't blame her for just sitting down and crying!

and JAMES hahaha what a trooper. And also crazy. He is very lucky he didn't get caught by that professor, because if Edwards gets that cranky over drinking WATER in class, I imagine he'd be a lot more furious about drinking other things prior to class!

Another great chapter!

Author's Response: James is a trooper, isn't he? ;) I do really love him and how he'll push himself to the limit for stupid things like this! :P

Thanks for another review!

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by marauderfan The One Where Lucy Eavesdrops

14th December 2015:
Hey Kayla! Happy Hot Seat! I had a bit of a dilemma deciding which of your WIP's to read, as I started reading this one last year for the hot seat, and I'm also part way through Sweet Tooth, and both of them are so good it was hard to decide! But I've neglected this one for longer so I'm here to remedy that :p I'm so excited.

This was a great chapter! I really love the way you portray such a high-school-y feeling in this story - the good and the bad aspects of it. The friendship between Lucy and James is so wonderful, especially as shown in this chapter. They tease each other and make fun of each other all the time, but it's all from a place of love and they do really care and are there for one another when things get tough. Cara and Eleanor are a lot more of 'fair weather friends', or those who are just there when it's easy and who'll turn their back during the rough times, but Ben, Carter, James and Lucy have shown they are there when things aren't going well and that's a true friend. James in the end of this chapter was just so sweet. ♥

but ugh Cara and Eleanor are so shallow and I can't believe they'd turn their backs on Lucy like that. Although I know we're seeing them both through a biased lens, I can kind of see where they're coming from as they're in that phase where they're learning that it's okay to not spend 24/7 with your BFF and that you can have different groups of friends. Only they haven't figured it out yet. Also, for the record, Declan is a creep and I don't like him.

And that game! Hahaha, we have mostly the same rules here too XD The category one was always the worst.

“No, it’ll be freezing and you’ll probably drown!” someone mean scolded. -- Lucy's drunk description of the speaker in this sentence actually made me laugh out loud. Common sense is so mean, how dare they. XD

Also random minor character mention but I love Viola in all her emo grumpiness. I think she and I (when I was a teenager) would have been BFF's. :P

Loving this story! I am almost sad that I didn't read all these chapters when you posted them, but also kind of happy because then I can read through this story and not have to wait for new chapters for a while muahaha. All right, onward!

Author's Response: Hi Kristin!

Cara and Eleanor are being quite shallow, but there might be something underlying it ;)

Haha, yes I love Viola! She's so much fun to write! And we all had that one emo kid in our grade, so why would Hogwarts be any different? :P

Thanks for the lovely review and don't worry about being delayed in reading them, real life gets in the way sometimes! :)

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by ad astra The One Where Lucy Makes a Promise

9th December 2015:
okay i have to review this chapter because a) there are no reviews on this chapter?? what kind of injustice and b) you are nailing the high school thing here. like absolutely 100% nailing it. the cattiness, the secrets, the drama, the assumptions, the cliqueyness, everything. i cannot remember the last time i read a story that made Hogwarts feel so real and rich and vibrant and #relatable. im so impressed. write more. update soon. stay awesome. etc etc

Author's Response: Yus high school is ridiculously dramatic and I'm glad to know I'm getting it pretty good! It's a fine line to cross with making it just right or going way too over the top but it's nice to know you think it's #relatable ;)

Thanks for the excellent review! I'll try to update as soon as I can!

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by ad astra The One Where Lucy Becomes a Confidant

9th December 2015:
i am just going to drop a super quick review to say i love love love the diversity in this chapter and the talking about different sexualities and helping james work his out and then the discussion about Islam this story is beautiful bless u

also you already know about my favourite non 12+ lines from this chapter but there is some quality going on here

Author's Response: Yesss I always wished my friends were more open when I was at school (because I was a very confused individual and it's only now that I'm like 95% sure I am what I am) so that's why I decided to include all this because it's such an important part with teenagers and it sucks not being able to talk to anyone so I felt I should just release all that teenage angst onto this story hehe

Anywho, thanks again for the beautiful reviews and your favourite lines hehe

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by ad astra The One Where Lucy is Exhausted

9th December 2015:
spooning a big red bucket oh lucy. oh honey we've all been there

can you tell the quality of my reviews is declining rapidly i've hit the "talking to kayla's characters like they're real people" stage we're not coming out of this any time soon

this entire chapter is giving me flashbacks and none of them are good. drinking games amirite

moving on from the alcohol

“Yeah, I’m running on adrenaline,” he said happily. “I’ll probably end up crashing at like five but for now I’m going to ride it out." in which james is every student ever. same, potter

oh my god. get right back on that horse, james. what a trooper #lifegoals

QUIDDITCH INNUENDOS i am laughing alone in my room help

Author's Response: Yes we've all been there and it isn't pretty lol

hahaha I'm glad you like my innuendos I wasn't sure if anyone would get them/like them so it's nice to have external reassurance ;)

Thanks for the beautiful review you beautiful human ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by ad astra The One Where Lucy Eavesdrops

9th December 2015:
OH MY GOD THEY'RE PLAYING CIRCLE OF DEATH EXCEPT, LIKE, NOT CIRCLE OF DEATH BC IT'S CALLED KING'S CUP WHICH IN RETROSPECT IS A MUCH MORE FITTING AND LESS OMINOUS NAME

kayla we need to resume this conversation elsewhere but i am SO INTERESTED IN THE VARIATIONS OF THIS GAME. FOUR AND SIX ARE UNIVERSAL RULES. U N I V E R S A L i'm so impressed tbh. god i love drinking games as a plot device it gives me life ok i live for this

i'm so filled with joy. you write drunk lucy so well. thank you for this. this story is a gift and a blessing.

Author's Response: OMG I'VE HEARD OF THE GAME CIRCLE OF DEATH I DID NOT REALISE IT WAS JUST KINGS CUP

I've played the game so many times and EVERY time the rules are different smh so I know there's like a thousand versions of it haha

Thank you so much for the excellent review! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by ad astra The One Where they Return to Classes

9th December 2015:
KAYLA HELLO. I FEEL LIKE I SHOULD HAVE STARTED READING YOUR STUFF A MILLION BILLION YEARS AGO BUT HERE I AM, NOT REVIEWING EVERY CHAPTER LIKE I SHOULD BE

anyway i just had to drop this line off bc it is so good and perfect i love it

“I was the exact same person in Arithmancy."

bless lucy i love her. also i am way too invested in what cara and eleanor have against Lucy? i feel like i'm in high school again you evoke that whole environment so well

anyway i'ma keep reading but this is wonderful a++

(also can i just say what a great description "speculation and puberty" is for teenage boys exploring their sexuality? fab choice of words tbh)

YOLO IT, LUCE

Author's Response: HELLO ELISABETH DO NOT WORRY I HAVE READ LIKE EVERYTHING OF YOURS BUT I'M HORRIFICALLY LAZY AND NEVER REVIEWED IT LEL

I'm so so glad you're enjoying it though! It really means a lot, especially coming from you because your works are just ♥ ♥ ♥ omg

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by Lil lily71 The One Where Lucy Gets in a Duel

21st September 2015:
Love this story so much can't wait for more.

Author's Response: Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #16, by BookDinosaur The One Where There's a Confrontation

20th July 2015:
house cup 2015 - ravenclaw

hay kayla! :D last chapter for now!

aw, so it finally happened - they finally talked to one another! screaming would probably be a more accurate word but they are at least discussing (?) their problems with each other so at least that's a start, hopefully. i really am rooting for them to resolve their problems but if that's not possible, i just hope that lucy's brave enough to cut her ties with them. :( i wonder what on earth it could be if cara and eleanor are lying, though? i can't think of anything that might have caused them to push her away so suddenly and nastily. i'm really glad that viola seems to be opening up to lucy and maybe the two of them can become friends? and obviously, i'm so glad that james and the boys are always there for lucy. have a strong support system is so, so important. i wish that it'd come around in different circumstances but i love that lucy relies on her mother still, despite being in her last year.

i'm so glad that i finally got to read all of this, and i'm looking forward to the next update!

♥ emily

Author's Response: Hehe, yes screaming is more accurate but they're dumb teenagers remember who don't know how to properly control their emotions just yet!

All will be told in future chapters, never you worry ;)

Thanks for all the great reviews! I really appreciate every single one of them! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by BookDinosaur The One Where Lucy Becomes a Confidant

20th July 2015:
house cup 2015 - ravenclaw

hay again kayla!

ooh, i'm honestly so glad that we're getting to see more of Aalia. it's so lovely that we're going to see more diversity through hogwarts and that you're going to explore the issues of being the only muslim in a sea of hogwartians? i really hope everything turns out well for her, though, she honestly does seem like such a nice girl. and james as well - aw bless, all that procrastinating on his sexuality ended up with this, researching in the library. it honestly sounds like something a ravenclaw would do, i think - be horrified at the lack of books on sexuality in the library and get the school to change that. and madam zeller seems so nice! at first i was a bit iffy but she honestly does seem to care about the students so much, bless her. and at the end - i'm really looking forward to seeing what she does to make this up to eleanor, because even though she's right in that eleanor doesn't exactly have a clean slate, those were some admittedly insensitive comments.

looking forward to seeing what happens next, kayla!

♥ emily

Author's Response: hello hello hello!

Yes, it does seem like something a Ravenclaw would do but we have to remember Lucy IS the daughter of Percy Weasley ;)

Aalia is a sweetheart! I'm going to try and explore her story as much as I can but unfortunately it is a story about Lucy and they're in much different years! But I always do try and bring her up as much as I can without detracting too much from Lucy's story!

Thanks for the lovely review again! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by BookDinosaur The One Where James and Lucy Share Secrets

20th July 2015:
house cup 2015 - ravenclaw

hay kayla! (i've given up. you can just expect to be addressed using a food for, like, cows :P )

ugh ugh ugh so not cool of cara and eleanor to just keep cutting lucy out, honestly. i hate that they on't seem to be interested in reaching out to her or trying to talk about their issues with her, ugh. and on the one hand, i'm really glad that lucy seems to be standing up for herself, but on the other hand she should at least try to talk to them and discuss how she feels, you know? and honestly, al is a slytherin who's afraid of snakes. the irony of this kills me. i suppose a pelican's a supremely odd boggart to have as well, though? i mean, her story about trying to be eaten by one makes sense, but it's definitely a "what the heck" kind of hilarious. :P this was my favourite exchange within the chapter:

“Bruh,” he said in a gormless tone.

“Bruh,” I repeated.

This went on for several minutes.


i really enjoyed reading this!

♥ emily

Author's Response: hullo!

Lol that exchange came from when my brother and I did that earlier that day :P I borrow a lot of things from my real life experiences, if you haven't noticed haha

Ikr what type of Slytherin is Al smh

Thanks for the lovely review, Emily! You're so amazing! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by BookDinosaur The One Where Lucy is Exhausted

20th July 2015:
house cup 2015 - ravenclaw

hey again, kayla! (i keep typing 'hay' and having to correct it, hah)

ugh, poor lucy, honestly. i've never been in her position, thank goodness, but hangovers sound awful, ugh. and she had to go through lessons with that! that couldn't have been good for her, and james has the best ideas, to be honest, just continuing to drink to put off the inevitable hangover. genius. (genius with a really unhealthy liver, probably, but whatevs.) and aw, the stairs moving just at that moment must have sucked for poor lucy. i'm so glad that her family was there to take care of her, she really does need them. i wonder whether lucy's right to be angry at declan or whether she was overreacting? and gosh, that teacher doesn't seem like a nice fellow but i suppose we've all had *that* teacher. :P

looking forward to reading on! (this is getting old. i need a new closing phrase)

♥ emily

Author's Response: hay gal hay

Oh god, you're lucky to never be in Lucy's position! It's not a fun one, trust me ;)

And yeah, that lil idea came from someone in my grade. We had our year 10 formal the night before the graduation (because I was the last year people could leave year 10 with a school certificate lol) and he turned up drunk to the graduation saying he didn't want to be hungover and would have preferred to be drunk hahaha it was insane. But it's what high schoolers do!

you have to remember we're reading from Lucy's perspective which is extremely biased. She tries not to be biased but she is.

Haha, don't worry about an old closing phrase! I've been using the same one to end my review answers as well ;)

Thanks for another great review! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by BookDinosaur The One Where Lucy Eavesdrops

20th July 2015:
house cup 2015 - ravenclaw

hey again kayla! pls forgive me leaving all these awful reviews that you're going to end up having to answer :(

fave line - "Always for da lols." it just sounds so teenager-y and something i might say to my friends, you know? you've done such a good job of capturing the teenage spirit here, i think, and the interactions between all the characters seem so organic and natural. ugh there seems to be so much to talk about, tho! cara is just not nice, and just expecting your friend to pick you over their own family is actually the most selfish thing?? and declan seems to just want to go along with whatever she's saying, ugh. i wonder if eleanor really does feel the same or whether she's just going along with cara? i really loved the touch of james being interested in a guy, but at the same time still just not confident in his sexuality and branching out? i really love to see that so kudos to you for including that in this story!

looking forward to reading on!

♥ emily

Author's Response: HOW COULD I HATE THESE LOVELY REVIEWS OMG EMILY NO

Lol I always say 'Always for da lols' or something along that variety. I'm glad I'm capturing the teenagery spirit as I was only just a teenager recently and I'm admittedly worrying that I'm already losing my touch :P

I know when I was a teenager questioning was a big thing but I unfortunately didn't have anyone to talk about it with and it's one of the biggest things why I'm including it in this story. Every person should be able to talk about it with someone.

Thanks for the lovely reviews that I DO NOT MIND ANSWERING AT ALL! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by BookDinosaur The One Where they Return to Classes

20th July 2015:
house cup 2015 - ravenclaw

hey again, kayla!

first things first or i'm afraid i might forget - this quote absolutely made my day. "I like being a dumb teenager. i think we all feel like that when we think about having to be an adult and yeah, that's definitely something that a dumb teenager would say :P i love lucy so much in this story! i feel like you've done a fab job creating a very real character with lucy and i feel so bad that she's going through so much rubbish with cara and eleanor not realy respecting her or appreciating her? i mean, declan is giving off creepy vibes as well to me, a little, what with asking all about cara, although i suppose that's forgivable, but what with all that sweat on his forehead i don't think i can trust him. :P and honestly, i'm just so glad that she still has james to be her friend.

looking forward to reading on!

♥ emily

Author's Response: Hellooo!

When I was a teenager, I really didn't want to be an adult. I've still got some qualms about it but I definitely prefer being an adult. Being a dumb teenager is admittedly easier but Carter doesn't know that just yet ;)

Thank you so much for this lovely review! I'm glad you're enjoying it so far! :D

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by BookDinosaur The One with the Feast

20th July 2015:
house cup 2015 - ravenclaw

hey kayla! me again :P

hmmph, it honestly doesn't seem very friendly of cara and eleanor to continue to cut lucy out of their group like that :/ it seems to happen so much, just rifts in friendships, and it's not touched upon very often in fanfic so even thoug i feel really bad for lucy, i'm really glad that you portrayed this issue in your story, y'know? i'm so glad that james seems to be willing to stick up for her, at least. i really really liked that you decided to include a muslim character with halal food requirements, that kind of diversity isn't seen often enough in fic so i really hope that we get to see more of her! she seemed so adorable as well :P

looking forward to reading more, kayla!

♥ emily

Author's Response: Hello again!

A lot of things happen in friendships, and ESPECIALLY in high school. High schoolers are catty, we just have to admit it and I hardly see it in fic but it's a realistic (and sad) part of the high school experience everyone has so I really wanted to write about it.

Thanks for the lovely review again! You're awesome ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by BookDinosaur The First One

20th July 2015:
house cup 2015 - ravenclaw

hey kayla!

ooh, i've been meaning to come and read your new story for ages now but somehow never got around to it because i am a lazy sack of potatoes? but the house cup seemed like a great way to finally, finally get started on this. :) i love how you've set this up this scenario and the characters - i think you managed to establish lucy really well, and i loved that she knows so readily that I’d rather be happy and stupid rather than miserable and a genius. she just seems like a really well-thought-out character, and i love her humour - "I left to come visit my favourite people ever. And then I came to visit you guys" i'm crying. as a first chapter, this worked really well to introduce our characters and already set up something of a conflict - i'm looking forward to reading on!

♥ emily

Author's Response: Hey, Emily!

I'm so glad you liked it! It's a story I'm working quite hard on :P And don't worry about being lazy, I'm exactly the same haha (*looks at your stories that I've never reviewed because I'm just as lazy in shame*)

Thanks for leaving a review anyway though! You're beautiful ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by May The One Where There's a Confrontation

19th May 2015:
Great chapter looking forward to the next one x

Author's Response: Thanks! :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by May The One with the Feast

19th May 2015:
Really good story I'm enjoying it

Author's Response: Thank you :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>