Reading Reviews for Setting the Stage
  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by anon Epi: Fresnel

4th September 2014:
i'm not sure why this story only has 14 reviews on it, it definitely deserves more! i really enjoyed reading this, and the epilogue was probably my favorite part of the whole thing. thank you for writing this :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for reviewing and letting me know :D I enjoyed writing the epilogue - 'twas great fun!

 Report Review

Review #2, by grednforge217 Epi: Fresnel

30th July 2014:
ANDD were at the end. So lovely. I love how Rose hasn't really changed at all, the good parts of her. She's still willing to stand up for herself and doesn't care what anybody else thinks. A total Gryffindor trait, no matter how much she doubted her placement when she was in school.
Again, I am sad that Draco is a total Lucius clone, but that's mostly personal preference. I love the updates on everybody's lives, and I'm so glad that Rose is an official playwright! And Pippa and James are getting married. Again, I totally KNEW IT!!! A part of me does want to know what the other people are up to, like Lily and Stella and the like, but I'll leave that for you to decide. Or my own imagination! Thanks for sharing this story with everybody, it was wonderful.

Author's Response: Tis the end, for now! Haha I really debated putting Pippa and James together. I set it up early on and then almost didn't do it - but I think they both will go through A LOT of character growth in the next stages of their lives, so I had to do it!

Imagination is always good - I haven't even decided that yet, so dream on :)

Once again, thanks so much for all the reviews! I loved reading them!

Cheers, have a great rest of the summer (or winter if you live in the Southern Hemisphere)!


 Report Review

Review #3, by grednforge217 Act V: Anagnorisis

30th July 2014:
Seventh Year! So excited that Pippa rejoined the group, I was very sad without her. And I love her new group, with Al and Hugo and the fourth years from Gryffindor and Lily and the like. They're such a wonderful bunch of friends, and I'm very proud of Rose for getting in with them. I love this version of Rose, I really do. I almost teared up when Matilda died, and I honestly hate toads. And the sneaking out, and the last jump in the lake!? Oh man. I almost cried then too.
You have really created a whole new world here, and I'm so thrilled that you shared it with me. I love all the games and traditions and I am so happy that Pippa got her act together and Scorpius and Rose got it together too! About time!!!

Anyhow, I'll go on and review the last chapter, but I just wanted to let you know how clever you are, and how invested I've felt in these characters. How proud I feel of their progress, and how happy I was to find out that it all got all right for them.

Onto the last chapter!

Author's Response: I almost teared up in this review, you're so kind! Thanks x 50 million!

Rose did find her niche at Hogwarts, even though she felt like such an outcast at the beginning. I enjoyed writing this immensely so I'm so glad you enjoyed reading it! It means the world to hear it, and now I shall go respond to your last review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by grednforge217 Act IV: Catharsis

30th July 2014:
I think its wonderful that you included Al and Josef, and I TOTALLY KNEW IT ALL ALONG, but I feel awful that they had to be subjected to someone as annoying and awful as Nolan. On another note, I love the fact that Rose is building up a friend group. I feel really proud of her. And proud of Scorpius, too! He finally stood up for himself! Yay!

Author's Response: Good guessing! I was dropping hints like crazy haha Nobody should experience that sort of hate. And yet it still happens in some parts of our world, sadly.

Thanks !


 Report Review

Review #5, by grednforge217 Act III - Peripeteia

30th July 2014:
Ugh, Nolan is awful. I know he has an explanation, but he is a jerk. Ugh. I do think that Rose may have gone a little far, but to be honest, Pippa needed somebody that cared about her. I'm very sad about the Pippa plotline because to be quite honest, she reminds me of an old friend that's fallen into a similar path as Pippa has. Unfortunately, she's sort of cut me and my other friends out too. So this hits quite close to home.
I admire the fact that you've included such a wide range of people in these stories, with interests that both encompass the typical (Quiddich, troublemaking, etc.) with outside the box interests (for Hogwarts, anyway) like vegetarianism and playwriting. It gives it a wonderful mix of the new and retreads the familiar without giving way to cliches.

Author's Response: He is a jerk, honestly. Even if he apologised I'm sure he'd retain some of his prejudices. I'm sorry to hear that about your old friend. It's such a tough situation to be in and hurts everyone involved. Similar things have happened to me as well.

I'm glad you like all their quirks though, thanks for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by grednforge217 Act II: Chiaroscuro

30th July 2014:
You know, I always thought that Rose would be closer to Neville than she is in this story, but I can see where its coming from. Rose doesn't seem like someone who's really good with authority anyway. Must be Pippa rubbing off on her! I like how you are trying to show other professions other than the ministry. The idea that Aziza and Rose would go into business together is fantastic! And the Azkaban guard thing, a little bit scary, but I guess it'd be like the military for the Wizarding World or something? I could see Pippa fitting in there quite well. And the Bertie Botts game is adorable!

Mostly, I love the fact that I'm seeing Rose and the girls grow up. They're so different from who they were in first year, but their aging is believable. So excellent job!

Author's Response: Nope she's not great with authority - definitely some of Pippa's influence!

I think the Azkaban thing is moreso just a guard type deal, but I haven't researched it to see if there's much canon on it! I think Pippa would need some sort of structure like that, especially after everything that happened.

Thanks for the review !


 Report Review

Review #7, by grednforge217 Act I: Parados

30th July 2014:
I do love Pippa. The mystery that you've set up around her is intriguing, and I adore the girls' interhouse relationship. The Scorose moments are adorable, and I love the way that you're letting them grow. The play and literature references are excellent as well, and I love this play-obsessed Rose! Aziza is an interesting character, and I can see the ways that the girls fit into their houses, in a good way! And the insults that Rose comes up with are flawless.

One thing I wasn't sure about was the characterization of Draco. I suppose I can see him becoming just like his father, but I've always hoped that he would be able to rise above such behavior. But that's really the only issue I have, and it doesn't reflect on the writing at all, its more of a personal issue. Sorry for the rant. Great job!

Author's Response: I must say, I had a grand ole time making up Rose's insults! It was very fun for me to do haha

I'm glad they all fit where I placed them, it eases my soul a bit. And I do agree with your thoughts on Draco - I would explore his character more if I continued this story further!

Thanks!


 Report Review

Review #8, by grednforge217 Pro: Vignette

30th July 2014:
I cannot believe that this doesn't have as many reviews as it should! I read this all in one sitting, nonstop, and I just wanted to re-read and review each chapter like you deserve! This is such wonderful writing, I love the Rose that you set up here. She's an outcast in a different sort of way that most next-gen fics try to write her as. I love the whole obsessions with toads, because most of the depictions of toads that we get in canon are a little uncomplimentary. I wasn't sure if I agreed with the sorting of Rose and Scorpius, usually because I've always seen Scorpius as more of a Hufflepuff or Ravenclaw, but the way that you do it is very smart and I totally support it. I love how you've separated all of the characters over all four of the houses. Brilliant Writing!

Author's Response: Hahaha, awh, thanks so much! That's a lot to read in one sitting, wow! :)

I usually see Scorpius more as a Ravenclas/Hufflepuff as well, but I think his fear of his father when he was younger pushed him more in the Slytherin direction when he probably would have fit in better in another house.

Thanks so much for the review(s)! I appreciate it


 Report Review

Review #9, by fizzingwizzbies Epi: Fresnel

30th July 2014:
This is such a great story! Love the ending, everything tied up so well without feeling at all forced.
I had a feeling Pippa would end up with James aha! I like that you left what she was doing as a job, as a mystery, I like to imagine she's causing trouble with whatever she's doing though!
Anyway this was a brilliant read, and I think your characterisation of Rose has to be my all time favourite. I will never look at toads the same either!

Author's Response: Hahah oh I'm sure she's out causing trouble! We'll see what she ends up doing though, in about a years time when there is a sequel out (if I ever finish it hah)

Thanks so much for reviewing, it means a lot to me :)If I can change one person's thoughts about toads, I consider it a job well done! hahah

Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Dirigible_Plums Epi: Fresnel

29th July 2014:
This story has 5 reviews. 5. I can only hope that it is not in any way an indication of how many reads this has because if it is, I am sorely disappointed in those who saw this and didn't read it! It's a brilliant and original piece that was practically an honour to read.

I loved your characterisation. You managed to make characters like Albus, Rose and Scorpius your own while breathing life into your OCs like Pippa and Azzy. Somehow you managed to steer clear of most of the cliches that Next Gen is full of (a feat that I will never be able to do) and the minority you did have, you put your own unique twist on them. If your characters ever came to life, I would be able to treat them like real people.

I don't know how you managed to pull it off but you were wonderful at writing about such a long period of time in a few chapters without ruining the quality of each chapter or trying to cram too much information into them. I really felt like I grew up alongside the characters and watched them grow into the people they became.

I could probably list everything I like about this story, about the humour and the serious topics touched upon and the slow burning of Scorose but I'd be here forever. Just know that I favourited this story and recommend it to other people.

Thank you for sharing their journey with us

Dirigible_Plums

P.S I would love to read any after Hogwarts story you write (and sorry if there are any typos in this)

Author's Response: Awh, thanks! I'm glad you liked it so much! I've never been one to garner many reviews, perhaps because exactly as you stated I try to avoid the usual cliches. Oh well though! If I can reach out to a few people that's all that matters !

It took a lot of time, honestly, to fit like four years into one chapter. I didn't want to just start from Fifth year because how they were as kids influenced who they would become.

Thanks again for reviewing and saying such lovely things. I appreciate it immensely and am slowly writing this 'after-Hogwarts' story :)

Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #11, by coolsilver Epi: Fresnel

28th July 2014:
You just got added to my list of authors on HPFF to watch out for!

Setting the Stage was a beautifully written story, with a wonderfully offbeat Rose and co. The dynamics between Rose, Pippa, and Aziza were well written, and I loved the dynamic between Scorpius and the girls.

It can be hard to shove a matter of years into a chapter, and you did so in Parados, and most importantly - did it well. I at no point felt like I missed out on anything. You segued between each year flawlessly, and didn't waste breath on needless details, exchanges or whatnot during the years. I felt like I stayed with Rose throughout her years without trouble, and saw her grow up into the wonderful lady she is, along with the other characters. (I totally called Al and Josef btw!)

I also loved your references to all the respective plays throughout Setting, and liked your mix of humor and seriousness.

Great story altogether, and if you do write about the adventures of the crew between graduation and the epilogue, I'll definitely be reading it! :)

Author's Response: Ahhh! Oh my gosh, thanks! I'm so glad you liked this story!

I did spend a lot of time on trying to mesh scenes and years together so it wasn't all disjointed, I'm glad it worked well - it's great to hear.

And I was dropping hints like crazy about Al and Josef haha. Perhaps too many, but oh well.

Once again, thanks so much for reviewing. It means the world to me to know that other people liked what I wrote! I would love to continue on with this story, I've already got a bit written for it but I'm sure it won't be done for quite a while.

Cheers :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by fizzingwizzbies Act IV: Catharsis

14th July 2014:
This story is so great! I really, really love your original characterisation of Rose, her quirkiness is brilliant! Her friendships are so relatable too (even if they do go to a magical school and all) Nolan is such a jerk, I wonder if he'll regret what he's done? Can't wait to see how this story progresses!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm glad you like it. I've just added the next chapter to the queue, so you will soon see how Nolan reacts and how it all ends!
Thanks again :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Dirigible_Plums Pro: Vignette

8th June 2014:
Okay this is pretty much hilarious so far- and strange. Can't wait to see where this is going.

Author's Response: Awesome, I hope you enjoy the rest of the story! I'm glad you like it :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by emma Act I: Parados

24th May 2014:
i like the plot but it is very confusing because rose has all her cousins and she hangs out with them and they hardly come in this and she is very good friends with albus, also they are all in gryffindor and it is hard to keep up with what year they are in and there are no holidays in this and no family things like albus is really good friends with sorpius and they get to pick a friend to come around for christmas and albus picks scorpius and rose has to be his roommate and they have a birthday party for scorpius (just them 2) and he kisses her or something like that i dont know but its just an idea for you to use if ypu want to like a boost helper for you to use.

Author's Response: Okay, I shall try to clear up some confusion. This first 'Act' is years 1 - 4, and yeah it's kind of a large conglomeration of moments/(scenes) in those 4 years. I didn't really bother labelling them, just mentioned them once in a while to give an idea of how time was going by. The other chapters focus on one year more specifically - so from hereonout it should be easier to follow.

And Albus is in Ravenclaw, Rose is in Gryffindor, and Scorpius is Slytherin. (Aziza and Pippa are Hufflepuff and Slytherin respectively.) Holidays will come up a bit in this, but they aren't quite the focus. And the friendship between Scorpius and Albus isn't quite so . . . hmmm . . . I don't quite know how to explain, they're not best mates or anything. If anything, Scorpius sometimes hangs out with them (Al and Josef), but he is more of a loner and doesn't have a steady group of people. He's kind of trying to find his way, I guess.

So although I like your idea, Albus would never really invite Scorpius over because they're not exactly close. (Scorpius is better friends with Rose). Albus and Scorpius are more like school friends - through Josef.

I probably made things more confusing, but more will be explained later on and I hope it will be more obvious how things are!

Thanks for your input! :) Everything helps! And I'm glad you like the plot.

Cheers!


 Report Review

Review #15, by paddlewaddle Pro: Vignette

24th May 2014:
This is a pretty great start and I would love to see more. Rose and her Toads HAHAHAH I always thought of her as more of an Owl type of girl but never thought of toads. The HP universe has conditioned me to think that Toads equate to pre-pubescent Neville (much like how scorpius teased Rose for having a toad)but I like that you've twisted this on its head cause Rose is a strong-headed girl - why play with stereotypes of giving her an owl when she could have a toad?

Can't wait for the other chapters. Prewritten stories always get me giddy cause I don't have to wait! how many chapters will this be?

Author's Response: Hahaha, that's why I chose toads :) to change some viewpoints! And I'm so glad you like it so far. To answer your question: this story has 7 chapters total (prologue, 5 acts, and epilogue) ! Hope you enjoy them!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login