Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews for Hurricane Luna
  
72 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Seasons_Greetings They Meet in a Tree

2nd December 2015:
Hi Beth!

My name is SeasonsGreetings and I'm here on this lovely site spreading joy and cheer across the forums/archives from October all the way through the New Year. (Don't ask me which new year though.) I noticed that you were leaving reviews to celebrate Thanksgiving, which happens to be one of my favorite American Holidays! I thought that one good turn deserved another, so here I am.

A hurricane seems to be an apt comparison for Luna. She certainly seems to have wrecked quite a bit of havoc on Rolf's studies. I do wonder if he'll be able to continue watching the firds or if his chance has been blown.

I must say that I'm impressed with Luna's fortitude. Sitting on a branch for six days to observe someone observing firds can't be easy. She must really be into Rolf. Too bad he's so busy being angry.

The description of the firds in this story were sublime. I can't wait to see their scales replace their feathers and their flight turn to swimming. I do hope we'll see more of them in the next chapter.

Now, after this lovely story, I think I'll go enjoy some Plum Pudding by the fire.

Before I'd go I'd like to wish you the most magical of holidays!

SG

Author's Response: Hello there Seasons Greetings - or do you prefer SG?

Thank you so much for the lovely and unexpected review. I must admit, I'm a terrible author for not having updated this story in erm... a YEAR. Now I feel the guilt pouring in and I must finish it.

Anyway, I really appreciated your kind words about my description of the firds. I had a blast writing this.

Thanks so much!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #2, by Beeezie They Love in a City

10th November 2015:
Hey, Beth! I'm here for BvB!

I remember loving Hurricane Luna, so I thought I'd stop by again and review another chapter. (... which I've totally already read and just hadn't reviewed yet. I'm sorry!)

I love your characterization of Rolf. He's so well done - the dichotomy between how reserved he is and how dreamy Luna is works so well, particularly in the context of how long it's taken him to really warm up to her. His discomfort with social interactions, busy streets, and surprises is something that I think is really easy to identify with - I do think that Luna is good for Rolf, but oh my god, I would have the same deer-in-the-headlights response to "let's go spend time with my friends and their kids!" It's nice to see him making the effort anyway, though - from what I've seen of Rolf, I honestly think that a little of Luna's ability to approach situations with a little more confidence would not go amiss.

That's especially true because it seems like once he does put himself out there, it turns out to not actually be that bad. It seemed like the idea of "kid" was a lot more intimidating to him than actually dealing with a child was. If he hadn't ended "I love" with "Paris," I bet he'd have found the reality a lot less scary than he clearly thinks it is.

I also absolutely adore your world-building and the way you've interpreted existing artwork to fit into the secret wizarding world framework. It's so wonderful, and it kind of makes me want to go to a museum and three and wander around doing the same thing.

Amazing job. ♥

Author's Response: What's better than two Beeezie reviews?

Why, THREE, of course! (thanks so much, by the way)

Eeep! So glad you like my Rolf. I know he's very different than what most people's head canon is. But I really thing Luna would need some balance in her life partner - and clearly Rolf needs it as well!

It's been so long since I've worked on this story that I completely forgot about the Paris chapter and incorporating the artwork and architecture into the story.

Wander the Museum at night? That sounds awesome!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #3, by Northbound24 They Meet in a Tree

12th October 2015:
Oh this so brilliantly in character for Luna. Of course she'd follow some random fellow for the fun of it. She has no qualms of questioning Rolf's idea of what he found but also more clued up than she seems which again is pitch perfect for her.

Rolf is one of those characters who JKR just seemed to create so she knew where Luna would end up. Character-wise you've written him very well.

His frustration at both Luna's presence and the legacy of his grandfather was brilliantly done because he wants to earn his own fame but as a result he's clearly cut himself off from meaningful interaction with people to an extent and now Luna pops up! The poor man!

Great opening chapter.

Author's Response: Hi there!

I apologize that I'm just getting around to replying to this. Eeep! I'm sooo happy you like my characterization of Luna. I know that most people see Rolf as a sort of male version of Luna, but I wanted him to be opposite in personality - practical to a fault. The story is mainly about the two of them finding common ground. I'm always relieved when a new reader likes my version - so thank you very much!

I also needed readers to be a little bit sympathetic to him, because he doesn't behave so kindly in the future chapters - hee hee!

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #4, by Gossip Girl They Fall in a Cave

3rd September 2015:
They say that familiarity breeds contempt, but our two little love firds seem to be determined to prove us all wrong. When we last left our adventurers, it seemed as though the friendly attitude only went one way. For those following along at home, you'll remember how well my source was able to define both R and L.L. as separate characters. First time readers will probably assume that R is exactly the same as L.L. personality wise, but my source has proved in great detail that all they have in common is their love of the natural world (and cramped, tiny spaces), which any loyal reader would know.

You'll all be glad to know that my previous source has left us yet another tip about the dynamic duo's latest escapades and boy, is it a good one. Someone seems to have spotted them making their way into a secluded cave and, thanks to this amazing source, I was able to get the inside scoop.

It seems as though our awkward naturalist is starting to more than tolerate our wild Hurricane. My source has done a fantastic job at describing the little moments and emotions that R has been having throughout their adventure. The source is able to give so much away through just the actions that she details, this writer, at least, doesn't ever need for her to explicitly say anything. The focus on smell and the details about L.L.'s hair make it obvious in a subtle way that R is definitely catching some feelings.

Oh, and I'm sure that kiss helped that realization along. Watch out, R. I hear that hurricanes can destroy you in the most beautiful way possible.

Until next time, lovelies. You know you love me,

XOXO Gossip Girl

Author's Response: Hi there Gossip Girl,

Oh, thank you so much for leaving a review. This was such a wonderful and unexpected surprise!

Hee hee - in my head, someone who would truly win Luna's heart would be a great balance to her spacey, ethereal personality. I'm so glad you are enjoying my different take on their story.

I like the way you phrased this part: "... definitely catching some feelings."

Oh! And you used a line from the quote! Eeep!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #5, by just.a.willow.tree They Scorch in a Desert

26th June 2015:
Oh, no. I felt terrible after Luna left. Why, Rolf? I mean, I understand why, but why? ;_; She's one of my favorite characters, too, so seeing her get hurt that way makes me so upset.

KEEP UPDATING. D:

Author's Response: Hello!

And thanks for dropping by to leave a review! I've made it a goal to finish this story by September 1st, so I hope to have the ending up soon!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #6, by Roisin They Meet in a Tree

31st May 2015:
Trade a novella for a novella!

I really love what you've done with Rolf here. I feel like he often gets portrayed as very Luna-ish--like her male counterpart. It's MUCH more interesting to read a dynamic between people who are quite different, and I can't help but think that Luna will be quite an influence on him.

I also really dug the descriptions of his data collection, and your use of terms like "mating pairs." It struck me very realistic, and I liked that he was convincingly a scientist.

That's also an interesting distinction between them. He seems like the sort of person who likes logic and rationality and note-taking and all, while Luna is, well, LUNA.

The whole scene with him falling from the tree had a great, almost slapstick quality. His various notebooks and supplies falling down after him were an excellent visual, and I adored the comic timing of it all.

Also, FIRDS. Spectacular! And was Luna dressed up like them intentionally? It seemed like the color of her outfit matched their coloring--such a Luna move!

I'll definitely be continuing with this story--thank you so much for the swap!

xoxo
Roisin

Author's Response: Hi Roisin!

Thanks so much for doing a swap.

Wow - you noticed all the little things I put into the story. Thanks so much for bringing them up. I definitely wanted a contrasting dynamic between Luna's personality and Rolf's. I felt like Luna's life-partner would be someone who was just as unique as she was, but also a balance for her.

Haha - I also wanted a little bit of comedy in the story to lighten the mood. The quote is very heavy, in terms of dramatics and I kinda wanted to turn that on its head for my story.

Yes! Luna was dressed like the firds. =) I tend to put a lot of little details in my writing and I'm always squeeing all over the place when someone actually notices them!

Thanks - I'd love to hear what you think of the rest of this story!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #7, by cherry_pop94 He Searches in His Heart

14th May 2015:
Beth this is amazing!!

I know this was in an earlier chapter mostly, but the bit with Monet and other muggle artists secretly knowing about wizards or actually being a wizard was really ingenious!! The way you wrote Luna and Rolf's relationship was so beautiful, especially Luna. I can really see grown up Luna acting that way and being like that.

I also really love how you incorporated the other characters in. Your portrayal of Xeno Lovegood was especially good. He acted exactly how a worried father would. It makes perfect sense that he would hate Rolf.

Please, please, please return to this story!! I need to know how it ends!!

Stefi

Author's Response: Hi Stefi!

I'm so, SO glad you like this story. The quote that this story was based on mentions Paris and my husband loves Monet, so I started looking at some paintings and the rest just sort of happened!

Yes. It really pained me to do this to Rolf, but he deserved it. And Xeno would NOT take kindly to someone treating his daughter with such disrespect.

Thanks so much!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #8, by cherry_pop94 They Meet in a Tree

10th May 2015:
Hello Beth! Here for the BvB challenge!

First of all, I absolutely love the title of this story. Luna has always felt like the embodiment of tranquility, but I can totally see how to someone scientific and logical like Rolf, she could be a hurricane ripping through his life.

I also really loved how you characterized Rolf. He's so different to Luna, but I can definitely see how a romance would blossom between these two. Also, JK Rowling sort of made a world where researchers seemed sort of eccentric, but Rolf seems like such a logical, scientific minded fellow. I love it. It's a really interesting characterization and I'm excited to see how you mix muggle scientific method with Rolf's work.

The creatures you created - the Carmella birds or Firds - are absolutely delightful! The way you described them, I can really see them flying around the redwoods and being all lovely and magical!

Can't wait to see where this goes!!

Stefi

Author's Response: Hi there!

Ooo! You picked my Luna story - haha - I had a blast writing this one. Thanks for your comments on Rolf. I really wanted to make the story about how Luna affected him. She doesn't change much during the relationship, other than she totally falls for him, but it's really more about how he falls in love with her!

I was worried about the creatures - I'm glad you liked the firds.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #9, by Aphoride He Searches in His Heart

2nd May 2015:
Hey Beth, dropping by for our review swap! :) There was no way I was going to go anywhere else than here when I saw I had another chapter left to read ;)

Ah, I feel so sorry for Rolf in this - with the whole way everyone else around, Xeno and Neville and Harry and Ginny all being so quasi-judgmental of him, because they feel like Luna's disappearance is his fault, in some way - and, you know, they kinda have something of a point there, in a way, even though it is kinda harsh to say on poor Rolf :( I loved, though, the moment when Neville is all bad-tough-guy, hehe, and Rolf finally admits he has feelings for Luna - true, strong feelings of the L.O.V.E. kind - which you made me wait a long time for :P (But it was totally worth it!) There was something so lovely about seeing all of these people rallying round to protect Luna, even from someone they knew she cared about a lot. It really spoke of the loyalty they have to each other as friends, which I love.

Your Harry and Ginny and Xeno and Neville are all so spot on, too - and I'm so excited to see more of them, in some cases, and to meet them in this in others. Neville especially - I love how you worked in Neville's friendship with Luna, especially, since I always liked the idea of them being surprisingly close as a pair, since Ginny was always that little bit closer to the trio, you know? As before, they're all so so well written - so real, and so true, and so close to their canon counterparts, it's really really impressive.

Little!Albus Severus is the most adorable thing ever. He's just too cute - and the way he's so helpful, and he knows where Luna is and wants to go with them... aww, poor little guy. Maybe when he's older :P

As always, I love your writing in this. Rolf's voice is so strong, and you portray things in this beautifully unique way, with the settings and the characters... your description is so good, and I love your dialogue, too. It's all so clean and so clear and just so lovely to read, it really is.

Okay, so I'm so so looking forward to the next chapter, and the team heading off to Iceland to find Luna - will she be there? Will she have found the creature yet, or will she discover it with Rolf? Will they make up (I hope so!)? Gah, just so many questions! :P

Please, please write another chapter soon? I really do need to know these things! :)

Aph xx

Author's Response: Hi there Laura!

Eep! I have to say. I never, never, never, expected my Hurricane Luna story to be so well received. You and Rose and a few others just send me the kindest, sweetest reviews for it - and I end up sitting at my computer screen just staring all giddy and smiley and such - haha!

Gah! The crew just HAD to be so judgmental to Rolf. First off, they're one big lot of Gryffindors who are fiery and temperamental and ready to fight anyone who does wrong. Secondly - it's LUNA! Everyone absolutely adores her and they *think* she's a bit more naive and innocent than she is, and might just need some type of saving - they are gonna step in. (I had a BLAST writing angry!Neville :D)

I really wasn't sure how to shape the end of the chapter (where they figure out to go to Iceland), but then I realized what was missing - and little Albus reappeared! Unfortunately, he's a bit *too* little to head off on an adventure with them, but he definitely helped out!

The next chapter. Uhh...

What?

Erm - I think someone's calling me. I gotta go!

:D

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #10, by Beeezie They Fall in a Cave

27th April 2015:
Aww, this was so much fun!

I really liked your choice to jump ahead six months here. Showing the very, very slow progression of their relationship would be interesting, too, but it would be a different story. The way the past six months are summarized in the first few paragraphs is perfectly done. It flowed perfectly and didn't leave me confused about the evolution of their relationship and Rolf's feelings toward her.

And, as far as the latter goes - you actually addressed this at a lot of points in a lot of really subtle ways, which I loved.

For example, his insistence that he's just tolerating her and is expecting her to disappoint him spoke volumes. My heart went out to him that that's been his experience to such an extent that it's at the forefront of his mind, and it also indicated to me that he liked her more than he was admitting.

Or his focus on her hair - even though it's initially couched in his being annoyed at her, it's pretty easy to see through him, particularly since just a couple paragraphs later he's looking at it again without any of that.

And can I just say: it is so like Luna to basically invite herself along, anthropomorphize all his subjects, and then come up with a really useful way to get what he wants. Combined with his noticing that Luna wasn't complaining, it also helped set up their romance. They're tangible, useful things she does that 1) show some compatibility with Rolf and 2) show that she cares about his passion.

I would like to see a little more of an explanation for what Luna's getting out of this - it's not necessary yet, but while I can guess at some potential reasons, it would be nice to see it addressed more directly at some point.

Loved this chapter, though, and the kiss was so wonderful. I got this ridiculous smile on my face as I read it - it was so cute!

This is wonderful. I can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Hi again!

Wow - thanks again. You picked up on every little detail that I tried to tie into their love story. I didn't want to rush it and I'm glad that came across. And yeah, he's not being entirely honest with himself about his feelings for her :D

I actually never considered what Luna's intentions or motivations were for this. I think that Luna is so complex and such a free spirit that she was just following her heart - to see the interesting animals AND be with Rolf. She is just going with the flow and seeing where life takes her.

hee hee - I wrote the kiss part first and then backtracked and set it up with the rest of the chapter.

Thanks again! I loved these reviews!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #11, by Beeezie They Meet in a Tree

27th April 2015:
I'm finally here! Sorry for the delay. ♥

I am so excited to get into this story - I find Luna to be such a fascinating character (and so difficult to get right, but I'll get to that in a minute!), and I love seeing Rolf - from what little we know about him, he must be a fascinating guy in his own right.

You had me hooked from the first paragraph. I loved the way you described Rolf and his surroundings for two reasons: first, the picture you painted was just so incredibly vivid, and second, I could see so much depth and promise in what you said about fkejjows - it was just wonderful world-building.

I also loved the way you showed part of Rolf's motivation as being based around a desire to make a name for himself, rather than just building on his grandfather's fame. It was perfectly done - I can totally see why he'd feel that way, and while I don't know quite how old he is, if he's at all close in age to Luna I'm assuming he's probably in his mid-late 20s or early 30s. That time frame makes perfect sense for this evolution in his career and perspective, which made the character feel realistic and rich from the start.

I wasn't sure how you'd choose to depict Rolf and Luna's initial meaning. Sometimes he's shown as being immediately enchanted by her, and while I've seen that work, I think this is my favorite take on it so far. You got Luna so right (which is a feat in itself! She's so tough to write in so many ways), and his reaction to her... perfect.

His reaction actually brought something important that often gets overlooked, because Luna is such a popular character among fans: she's really quite annoying sometimes! Hermione's irritation in OotP in particular is not unreasonable, and neither is Rolf's here. Luna marches to the beat of her own drummer, and while that's a lot of fun, it can be infuriating when you encounter it in an actual person, especially if they're mucking something that you worked hard for up.

I love the quote at the end - I can't wait to read on! Amazing job!

Author's Response: Hi there Branwen!

Gah - two totally wonderful reviews :D I'm totally grinning right now.

Hmmm... this is a complete failure on my part as an author, but I never really considered how old Rolf was. I'm thinking that he is a few years older than Luna - (perhaps five or six) and that would explain why he's not mentioned as being at Hogwarts.

Wow. Thanks so much for your compliment about Luna. She IS a bit intimidating to write - because people love her so much. I'm just squeeing over this review so much.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth



 Report Review

Review #12, by Claire Evergreen They Meet in a Tree

7th March 2015:
Hey! Here for the BvB Challenge!

Even though I know that Luna does end up with Rolf, I am still in complete denial that she and Neville never ended up together, so I've never actually read any Luna/Rolf, but I'm already in love with this and it's only chapter one!

Rolf sounds fantastic! From what I've heard and read in Next Gen fics, most people seem to have Rolf be kinda spacey and strange, kind of how Luna came across when we first met her. But I think I much rather prefer this Rolf to that. It makes complete sense that since he went into the same field as his grandfather, he would constantly be overshadowed by his grandfather's work. His whole personality in this is just so different from what I normally see in fics, but I love it so much!

Also, the fact that he found a species of flying fish and called them firds just makes me love the giant dork even more haha.

I feel like Luna is a difficult character to write since it would be so easy to make her this spacey, weird girl that everyone things is strange, but from what you have in this chapter, it seems like you do a really great job of staying true to her character. She very obviously Luna and she mentions the Quibbler and speaks in a sing-song voice, but it never gets over the top.

Aw, I'm a sucker for the whole 'dislike to friendship to relationship' stories, so you have me completely hooked on this. I know it was part of the quote you were given, but I love the fact that he called her "Hurricane Luna." I know it was supposed to be an insult, but it was just so cute and I really hope it comes back at some point.

Such a cute concept! I'm going to have to come back to read more. I'm hooked!

-Claire

Author's Response: Hi there Claire,

Sorry for taking so long to get to this reply. This review was so lovely - and I really appreciate you giving the story a chance, considering you're not a Luna/Rolf shipper.

I'm so happy you liked my version of Rolf. I know that he is often characterized as you said - sort of like the female version of Luna. But I felt like she really needed some sort of balance. I also thought that Rolf would *need* her in a way that no one else does.

Thanks again! I can't wait to hear what you think of the rest!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #13, by Aphoride He Loses on an Island

17th February 2015:
Hey there - dropping by from the BvB! :)

I just couldn't resist coming back to this story - there's something so wonderfully sweet and romantic about this story, like a proper, good rom-com, you know? So, so lovely!

So you already know that I'm so so disappointed with you for breaking them up, and so I have to admit that I was kinda disappointed they didn't get back together in this chapter... but, at the same time, it's realistic, you know? No one wants to go straight back to someone who yelled at them like that... poor Luna :(

I actually still feel kinda sorry for Rolf, I have to admit, because I don't think he meant to be so rude or angry, and he's regretting it so much... I loved the little mentions about how he's always thinking of her, and how he can't help it, and how his discoveries in particular make him think of her, and how he'd gone back to the cave with the glowing worms on the autumn equinox to observe them wanting her to be there too. You write his loss of her so, so well, without outright saying it, and I love it!

I loved as well how we learned more about his work - with the animal specimens in jars, the mentions of the book and publishers and so on, how his row of assistants were all useless (or, you know, not Luna :P), and how he'd gone on more expeditions to learn more and was looking at being pretty successful with the book. It really makes this story come to life; grounds it in reality, you know :)

You write this so, so well, too - I love all the little details in this, with the little things about Paris and the names of various authors and so on, like Gustav Eiffel. It's so, so good - so in depth, and I love it.

I can't believe Luna's gone missing! It's so sad - such a cliffhanger to end this on! - though I love that Harry wrote to Rolf when they couldn't find her, thinking he might know something, and how determined Rolf is to find her. I'm totally sure he will, though whether or not he'll actually tell her he's in love with her remains to be seen... it would be nice if he did - so cute! - but who knows?

Gah, cliffhanger! Imma have to come back soon ;)

Aph xx

Author's Response: Hi Aph,

Ugh - sorry they didn't get back together :( Rolf seems to need to work through a few things first.

I'm really, really glad that you feel sorry for Rolf. Haha - not that he doesn't deserve to feel miserable and helpless because he certainly does, but I was worried that readers would find it hard to sympathize with him because - IT'S LUNA and everyone LOVES Luna.

I'm breathing a HUGE sigh of relief that you find the mentions of Paris, the paintings and the authors good. I did my research on this one (I've actually been to Paris a few times, but I still needed a bit of research).

Eeep - so they're not back together AND there's a little plot twist with her missing.

I can't wait to find out what you think of the next chapter.

Thanks so much!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #14, by Aphoride They Scorch in a Desert

14th February 2015:
Hey, Beth! :) Happy Valentine's Day - and no worries about not being single! ;) Most of my friends all have partners and my parents have been married for nearly thirty years straight, so I get it ;) Hope you're enjoying the day - and that your guy is doing all the right things (rose, etc.)! :)

Now I've got the nice bit out of the way - WHAT DID YOU DO? NO, SERIOUSLY, WHAT DID YOU DO? YOU SPLIT THEM UP? LUNA LEFT? ROLF YELLED AT HER? BUT HE LOVES HER, SHE LOVES HIM - OKAY, MAYBE SHE JUST LIKES HIM, BUT STILL - HE LOVES HER! WHY? WHY DID YOU HAVE TO DO THAT? :(

As you can tell, I'm a little upset over that! I liked them as a couple... I was waiting for him to say those three little words, and now he's alone in Africa and he's upset Luna... still, I'm holding on to the idea that they're going to get back together later... :P

Still, I do like how you portray their relationship, how their differences don't always mesh well together and they can get on each other's nerves and so on. It's so real, you know? it really rounds out their individual characters too, and develops them so well as people. I love how Luna is almost too understanding, and how Rolf gets so short with her when she scares away the animal (I can't spell its name :P). They're real, human flaws and I love it! :)

As usual, your details and writing is so gorgeous! I love the little things in this story so much - the goggles from Xenophilius Lovegood, and the description of the creature and the mentions of their journey and so on beforehand. It's so lovely! :)

You know I love this story, even despite what you did to Rolf and Luna ;) Imma have to find you in the BvB soon to catch up properly! :)

Aph xx

Author's Response: Hi there Aph!

Aaah! You've gotten to *this* chapter. Welp, ummm - I'm sorry? But it had to be done. What's a good romance without a little drama?

Haha - I think they both love each other, they just haven't been able to figure it all out yet. Rolf does need a good kick in the pants over this one. Luna is Luna and some readers haven't been as forgiving as you are :)

I'm still working on the last part of this one, so I can't give any hints yet.

Thanks so much for this review!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #15, by 800 words of heaven He Searches in His Heart

5th February 2015:
REVIEW TAG.

I NEED MORE. THIS CANNOT BE THE END.

Poor Rolf! He's beating himself up really hard over this. I am glad though that he's finally figured out that he loves Luna and that she's the one for him. Took him long enough. Honestly, this boy needs to get it together!

And the reactions of everyone else! I kind of felt bad for Rolf because whilst he did yell at her, I can't find it in myself to directly blame him for Luna disappearing. It doesn't seem quite like Luna to just abandon her friends without another word. Although Neville was very scary. I was sitting here and feeling terrified. I think he might've eaten poor Rolf if Harry hadn't intervened.

And yay! Albus saves the day! Go Albus! He's such a sweetheart in this story, all curious innocence and just wanting to help find his Auntie Luna. So adorable!

I've really enjoyed reading this story so far AND I REALLY HOPE YOU UPDATE.

Author's Response: Hello!

Gah - thank you so much. I'm working on it. I promise. I'm actually fretting over letting everyone down with this story. It's caused me a bit of stress - but I WILL finish it. Abandoning stories just isn't like me at all - that's why I have only 2 WIP on the archives.

I'm so relieved that you felt bad for Rolf. That is what I was going for and I've had mixed results. It's so hard not to completely Love Luna and clearly all o her friends are willing to do just about anything for her. I think he sees how special she is to everyone and that just makes him more determined to prove himself.

Thanks again for this review! It was so sweet!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #16, by 800 words of heaven He Loses on an Island

5th February 2015:
REVIEW SWAP.

I always forget how much I miss Rolf until I return and start reading this story again. I'm a bit sad to note that this is the second-last chapter published. Please write more soon!

Goodness. Rolf is a mess around people. How can he not realise that he doesn't like any of his assistants because they aren't Luna? But let's be real, who else but Luna can be Luna. She is amazing. I'm very annoyed at Rolf for pushing her away. Bad Rolf.

But it's so heartbreaking to see him finding Luna at every twist and turn. I expected him to be more angsty about it, but he's still very Rolf in the way he mourns her loss and wants her to come back but also doesn't want that and just wishes that all the pain would end. Hugs for Rolf are in order.

And now she's missing! I just love that Rolf is immediately all "I'LL FIND HER. BRB." He's such a sweetheart, if a little naive. It's so blindingly obvious that he adores her, even if he can be stupid about it sometimes. Alas, he wouldn't be Rolf without that particular quirk!

Also, I think I've mentioned this before, but it's just something that I think every time I see the banner for this story. TJ Thyne is the most perfect FC for Rolf there could possibly be. That is all.

Author's Response: Hi there!

Thanks for doing a swap!

You really know Rolf - he is a right mess around people and he seriously doesn't see that his dysfunction is because he misses Luna. He needs her - to make him whole. I know he doesn't come off as completely remorseful in this chapter, but he might need to REALLY lose her before he begins to see it.

Haha - a naive sweetheart! I like that description of Rolf. He is clueless and a lot in love and he just wants to save the day!

I'm glad you like TJ Thyne. He was the first person that popped into me head and I get so, so many comments on this banner!

Thanks for this awesome review!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #17, by BellaLestrange87 They Fall in a Cave

2nd February 2015:
Hi Beth! I'm here for the Blue vs. Bronze review battle (I was taking the opportunity to come back to this.)

I love your characterizations! You've captured Luna so perfectly here. We can see directly why people at Hogwarts called her "Loony" Lovegood and thought she was weird, and the odd things she's saying are things that I can see Evanna Lynch (who is the perfect Luna) saying on-screen. Rolf apparently is still as grumpy as he was last chapter, which is fine by me, since it's entertaining to read his complaining about Luna. But then we have this - Her pretty blond waves were reflecting like gold in the hot Ecuadorian sunshine. - which is making me think that he does fancy her after all, even if he denies it.

The modified Extendable Ears idea is really cool, and it's such a great idea! How did you come up with that? It'd be very convenient to use for research purposes, and I did notice that Luna conveniently presented them at a time when Rolf was most annoyed with her.

Aha! He does like her! Although he does seem to be very confused by his feelings. I'm going to guess that that's stemming from being a naturalist and spending his whole life observing animals instead of socializing with people?

Something tells me that Luna planned that. Unless I misunderstood that paragraph, Luna's bag was beside her on her right, while Rolf was on her left. So it would've been very easy for her to simply get it herself, instead of asking him to get it. Hmmm. Sneaky Ravenclaw.

But their kiss was perfect! I could feel how happy they were and just FJFJFEJRTGN. (I'm going to ignore the fact that I've heard that Rolf is terrible and Luna shouldn't put up with him.)

Excellent chapter!

~Olivia

Author's Response: Olivia!

This review is so awesome and sweet and thanks so much! I'm excited that you like this story.

Thanks for the kind words about my characterizations. I really, really like writing Luna and Rolf.

Haha - yes! Rolf does fancy Luna - but he hasn't sorted that out himself yet.

The extended ear thing came to me because I wanted Luna and Rolf to be completely in the dark during this scene, but I needed a way for them to still be able to take research notes.

Yes! He is pretty confused by feelings that he's never had before. He's avoided people for so long - and always been disappointed in them, so he's not exactly sure what to do with himself in this new and uncomfortable situation.

Haha - I didn't intend for Luna to plan it, but I like that. I think she had her bag on her right so she could be closer to Rolf - but this worked out better for her!

Yes! I loved writing that kiss. Glad you liked it.

Ummm... Well... There are a few more chapters to go - and it can't ALL be smooth sailing.

Thanks for this awesome review!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #18, by Unicorn_Charm He Searches in His Heart

24th January 2015:
Beth!! Ahh!! This chapter!!! I absolutely LOVED this chapter!!

Ok, Meg. Calmly now...

Bah!! This was such an amazing, awesome, incredible chapter. I just loved how he has FINALLY admitted to himself that he loves her and needs her more than anything! He has literally went all over the world to try to find her. It's just so romantic and sad all at the same time! The amount of emotion that was packed into this was astounding!

He must have really hurt Luna if Neville and Ginny are two seconds away from beating him. I found his fear of Ginny to be very funny. I just imagined her glaring at him, slamming things and muttering under her breath and laughed. You do not want to mess with Ginny Weasley-Potter. And I imagine that Rolf was correct and she was holding a lot in because of Harry hahaha. Does Xenophilius know of their, I guess, relationship? Or does he just think they were only friends, but the traveling changed her?

Neville really impressed me there. I'm glad to see that he is no longer the pushover that he used to be. That he remained strong and confident we'll after the war. His loyalty to Luna was extremely admirable and it seemed that Rolf thought so as well.

It was amazing that even though almost everyone there was angry with him, that that was what seemed to calm him and make him think more clearly. He's definitely grown a lot in this chapter. He seems like a completely new man! And all of that with Albus was just so, so adorable!! I can't believe that out of everyone, Al was the one who figured it out! Good for him!

Oh I can't wait to see what happens next!! I hope they find her soon and make up and live happily ever after and get married and have babies!! :D

You're incredible! This story is incredible!! I love it! Hope to see an update soon! ♥

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Hi there Meg!

Aaa! This review is so amazing and incredible. Thank you so much!

He really did hurt Luna. But more important, Ginny and Neville won't stand for *anyone* hurting Luna.

Xenophilius does know that they are a couple. Luna introduced them and Rolf tolerated Xeno.

I had a blast writing Neville. He holds *all* his friends in a special place in his heart. I think fighting in the war made him realize what is really worth fighting for - and Luna falls into that category.

I'm glad Rolf's clarity came through here. I really wanted that to be portrayed - he knows what he wants, and despite the others' ire with him, he is willing to fight for it.

Thanks again - this review really made me smile!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #19, by 800 words of heaven They Scorch in a Desert

20th January 2015:
REVIEW TAG.

Aww! I don't like mean Rolf either! Although this was bound to happen. Rolf just isn't made to stand people, and sooner or later, he was going to snap at Luna, despite how amazingly perfect they are together.

I do like how it was partly because of the heat. If they'd gone to the Arctic circle or something, this confrontation almost certainly would have been postponed for another time. But heat brings out the worst in people, I think. Especially Saharan heat. That's the nastiest. I think it's interesting that Rolf believes that "people always leave". He was the one who sent Luna away, and all because she was trying to include him in her life.

Anyway, I'm sure Rolf is going to realise the full meaning of the quote on which this story is based in the next chapter. I both dread and eagerly anticipate the coming (almost certainly angst-riddled) epiphany.

Author's Response: Hi there!

Eeep! You've caught Rolf at his meanest, lowest point. And you're right - the head does play a big part in all of that.

Rolf is pushing Luna away as a defense mechanism. It's not excusable, but his experiences (other than Luna) have shown him that it's better to be analytical than emotional in most cases.

Haha - you're right about the angst-riddled. Thanks for the review!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #20, by Pookha They Meet in a Tree

19th January 2015:
So I'll start with your headcanon for Rolf; T.J. Thyne. He's not my first choice (I picture Rolf as very large and Viking-looking, more like Zakk Wylde), but I love the choice and I can see the Rolf in your story looking like this. Great faceclaim for Rolf.

As someone who writes Luna a lot myself, I think you got her characterization right on the money. So many people make her too strange or not strange enough and then she's flat or not understandable or relatable. You got her spot-on.

Her eagerness to help and learn often exceeds her skill, but she learns quickly and she's willing to listen to people, but if they don't agree with her worldview, she will think about it then dismiss it if it's not correct to her. You capture that well here with her stubbonness about the birds.

I really liked Luna watching him for days in the trees before announcing her prescence. I've already read the other chapters and hope to review them soon.

Author's Response: Hey there!

Haha - So, SO many people comment on TJ! Thanks for the compliment about Luna - I can't wait to read some of your work with her in it!

Thanks again - I'd love to hear what you think about how this story develops!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #21, by BellaLestrange87 They Meet in a Tree

16th January 2015:
Hi Beth! I was originally going to do a review dump last weekend, after the SS reveal, but then I got distracted by culminating tasks and schoolwork and couldn't. But now I'm here, with only exams left before the end of the semester and I AM SO SORRY THIS TOOK SO LONG. I've heard a lot of good things about this story but until now I haven't actually gotten around to reading it - it's been one of the (238) fics on my monster reading list.

Many things that I've heard about this story centre around Rolf, and how he's treating Luna. Right from the start, I can see comparisons between him and Luna, specifically their interest in wild animals. I love that it appears to be one of her major passions that will bring them together. And I think I noticed one thing - The fkejjow were a very jumpy species. that, specifically, caught my eye. Let's assume that all the other exotic animals are like that. It would certainly explain why the Lovegoods can see them and nobody else can. (Or maybe Xenophilius just went crazy after his wife's death. Who knows?)

I love Rolf's determination here. Even though he's dwarfed by his world-famous grandfather, and following in his profession (which must be frustrating, being known simply because of your last name), he wants to become famous in his own right, and not because he happened to be born into a well-known family.

This was not a sound he had heard the firds make to date. Perhaps it was a warning noise, or a new mating call. The way they meet is perfect, and it made me laugh. Walking through a forest to find different animals is definitely something I can see Luna doing, and the bits of random knowledge she's spewing is so her. There's a guy in my school band that's like that - a walking encyclopedia of random knowledge. Our band finds it amusing, but I'm sure the new members each year think "Um... okay?" Random personal tidbit aside, Rolf's reaction was also spot-on, a perfect mixture of what-is-she-doing-here and -you're-interrupting-my-birdwatching.

And that ending! Rolf's spur-of-the-moment decision to save his notes instead - when they'd be fine fluttering to the ground - shows just how much work he's put into these birds, work that Luna's messed up. She's so casual about her misidentification of the birds, it made me laugh. I could also begin to see why she was thought to be a loner when she was at school - if she interrupted, say, Potions during an important time, things could go very, very wrong.

Since I have no idea how to end reviews, I'll just say that I'll be back as soon as I can!

~Olivia

Author's Response: Hi there Olivia!

You're too sweet - thanks for all these reviews! I'm just blown away that you'd heard of this story before reading it. Eeep!

Haha - I wanted Rolf to be the opposite of Luna - down to earth and far too serious for his own good. I thought that I could write a story about how they meet in the middle.

So glad you liked this first chapter - I'd love to know what you think of the rest of the story!

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #22, by UnluckyStar57 He Searches in His Heart

14th January 2015:
Hi Beth! I'm here for the January BvB. :D

Seeing Rolf in this new context--in relation to people who aren't very happy with him--opened a window into his character that I haven't had the opportunity to see before. He has a slight cowardly streak, and it doesn't help that he feels uncomfortable in a room full of Luna's best friends and loving family. And you know, he can search the whole world and protest all he wants about how much he loves Luna, but the only way he's going to win them all over is if he actually gets results from his search.

Albus, in my opinion, was the hero of the chapter. He's such a precocious child, and it's a good thing that he was there to help. I want stories about this version of him when he's older. :P But now that the mission has been reignited by the adults, Albus's role is less important. He was awesome, though. Definite Ravenclaw material. :)

Neville was FIERCE. Daaannnggg, HE'S certainly been hardened by time and circumstance. And he might not have any particular romantic attachment to Luna, but she's one of the only people at Hogwarts who didn't mock him for his clumsiness. They're an amazing pair of friends, and he isn't going to let some newcomer "lover" get away with breaking her heart and not attempting to fix it.

Not that Rolf WOULD just walk away and be like, "Oh well, I tried," but Neville doesn't know that.

I like that Rolf is still so gruff and surly, but he cowers in fear around Ginny. Fear the wrath of the Weasley! Hahaha, I love it.

Another great chapter! How many more will there be? I need another one! :o

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hi there Mallory!

Wow - thanks for this amazing review. Yeah, Rolf is not entirely likable and he really is a coward. But he's Luna's coward - at least we hope so. ;)

Albus really was there hero here - and he was fun to write. Hmmm - an adult Albus, that is something to consider.

Neville was fierce because it's Luna. He's going to be protective of her because of their history (friends only, but they were close). I originally wrote the scene with Ginny being the one to tell Rolf off - but it worked so much better with Neville.

I'm not sure if there will be one or two more chapters - but the story is coming to a close!

Thanks again for the review!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #23, by kenpo They Fall in a Cave

13th January 2015:
Hello! I hope you don't mind that I'm reviewing you from the bvb again.

This story. I love it so much! I'm just at the first paragraph and I already have to come tell you how amazing it is and how amazing you are. Luna would totally do that, and I like that you made her good at what she does. It sucks that they couldn't find the new nests, though :(.

I like the jump forward in time, by the way.

Uhm okay Rolf apparently scientists can't muse about stuff like that. I personify everything in science and I'm okay with that.

Oooo I really like that magical application. And I'm glad that Rolf was happy about it, rather than wanting to stick to the old way of doing things. He's so... Rolf. I love him. I can't imagine Rolf in any way other than how he is here.

Hmmm I wonder why her hand was so distracting to him hmmm I wonder why I'm ROFL at ROLF.

HAHAH OH GOD I'M TOO FUNNY.

...sorry...


OH MY GOD THAT WAS SO PERFECT. Rolf is so stupid and I love him, and then Luna just goes and cracks her head open and she's like "oh whoops", and then she can't get into her bag because clearly there is a god that forced them together, and then they kiss and he's just like "oh you're bleeding", because that's what everyone wants to hear after kissing someone, and then THE GLOWING WORMS AND SO PERFECT.

AND THEN THE YELLOW ONES WERE BRIGHTEST AND HE NOTICED THAT AND I'M DYING I NEED TO KEEP READING.

Clearly, I'm in love with this story and I'm in love with Luna and Rolf and why are you so good at doing this to me?!?!?

-Georgia

Author's Response: Georgia!

This review is just too sweet. I didn't want the kiss to seem too contrived, but there was no way that Rolf was going to drum up the courage himself to even admit that he likes Luna, nonetheless kiss her.

And yeah, it was very Luna-like to think nothing of a gaping head wound - haha!

Thanks so much for this review and ALL your reviews! I'm so happy you're enjoying this story!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #24, by 800 words of heaven They Love in a City

13th January 2015:
REVIEW TAG.

Wow. It's been so long since I read and reviewed this story! I'm very sad about how infrequently I read your stories, since I enjoy them so much - especially this one.

Rolf is as adorable and awkward as always, but it's so lovely to see the way Luna is opening his eyes to the world around him. He already sees the world differently to the way most other people do, but with Luna, it's as if he's experiencing a whole new dimension. And the way he slowly opened up to Albus! Oh, my heart! What a cutie (both of them)!

I LOVED the idea of magic being hidden in paintings and monuments, and for some reason, Paris was the perfect city to showcase that. Despite being such an industrial city, it has this way of seamlessly blending its history with its present and future, and that lends itself very well to the idea of magic hiding in plain sight. Excellent choice!

I don't think I've mentioned this before, but this is possibly my favourite Luna/Rolf story. It's just so wonderful to read, because their growing love and affection for each other is so quiet to everyone else, but for Rolf it's this HUGE thing. It's changing the very fabric of his universe, and I absolutely adore that aspect of this story. Awesome chapter, as always ♥

Author's Response: Hi there!

I really didn't intend to take this long to respond to this. But I also wanted to say thanks for recommending my story on the forums! I'm so glad you like it. I really have enjoyed writing both Luna and Rolf... and the animals... and the magic hidden in monuments and paintings... Yeah. I've had a blast writing this story.

Eep! You're favorite Luna/Rolf? Oh my goodness, that is so much to live up to.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #25, by UnluckyStar57 He Loses on an Island

11th January 2015:
Hi Beth! I'm here for our review swap. :)

Okay, I'm so glad that you posted more chapters for this story because I was beginning to miss it. Don't stop posting, because I sort of love this story.

D'awww, Rolf is still so grumpy and surly. He's definitely someone that I wouldn't want to be around, but Luna totally brought out the best in him. And I suspect that he's only grumpy right now because she's not with him. He lurves her, and you can't fight that feeling. ♥

Urggh, but that ending though! He's so torn up, so distraught about the news. But he's going to find her. The brevity of his note is so... Rolf-esque. It's going to happen, and he's going to get it done as soon as possible, because this is Something Important to him.

I love your use of description in this, and how it serves to further Rolf's characterization. He's totally falling apart at this point, and he's got to get himself back together by finding his Luna again. And don't think for a second that I missed the significance of those cute little worms. Do the nitor vermis mate for life like swans do?

Teehee. Please post more chapters soon. I will definitely be along to review chapter six eventually. I want to find out where in the world Luna could've gone to!

~UnluckyStar57

Author's Response: Hello there!

I'm glad Rolf is coming off as a bit sympathetic here - I was worried that readers would be unforgiving of him for what he did to Luna. In my head, it's all part of their love story - and he needed to lose her to realize how much he truly loves here (although the rest of us could clearly see it!!)

I can't wait to see what you think of chapter 6!

♥ Beth


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>