Reading Reviews for Outsmarting Umbridge
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Lady Asphodel Outsmarting Umbridge

11th July 2014:
*Rolling on the floor laughing my head off!* Oh my goodness! Seriously, stop it! This was so funny!

I'm getting so much feels here! I love Professor McGonagall! I always will! It's even more funnier
when students get in trouble with her - particularly the twins, Malfoy, and the trio!


Anyways, I really love how you kept Professor McGonagall in character! I wrote about her before (in my older - and now - deleted works) but not so much - and I always fear of writing her because I feel I can't capture her personality like Rowling. However, you did wonderfully! She's always loyal, takes crap from NO ONE, and she knows how to show people who they're reckoning with!


I truly love the loyalty and friendship of Professor Sprout and Flitwick! I always enjoy teacher/staff scenes - and these were great! This really takes me back to the fifth book... you opened some room here for me to bask! Thank you for that!


And of course, I enjoyed the part with the twins and the bit with Hermione and Ron cutting in.


You definitely kept Professor, or Headmistress, Umbridge in character too! Professor McGonagall giving her "the sweets" was the icing on the cake!


Overall, I seriously enjoyed reading this! Amazing! Absolutely amazing!




~House Cup 2014: Event 5

- Asphodel

Author's Response: Thanks! I enjoyed this one. It was a great random dialogue bit I got, and I adore McGonagall. I haven't written her nearly enough. The pressure she was under and the grace with which she handled herself was incredible. Wish I was half the witch she is. :-)


 Report Review

Review #2, by MileyMalfoy Outsmarting Umbridge

10th July 2014:
"Besides: of her own accord, High Inquisitor Umbridge is currently partaking in unauthorized sweets. Who is she going to tell?" Can I tell you how much I started laughing at this line? I love the fact that McGonagall and Flitwick are willing to protect not only the students but each other. You have really managed to show a great amount of characterisation for all of the professors and I love that you chose to show Professors Sprout, Flitwick and McGonagall as professors but also as friends. The fact that Professor Sprout was sneaking around the castle like she was back in school had be highly amused as well. I think this is a great snapshot into the lives of teachers that we don't often get to see (at least I don't often read stories about the professors but I'm thinking that's going to be changing). I thought you did an excellent job crafting this story and that the choice to show it from McGonagall's POV was the right thing to do!

Great job!
~ Meg
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Thanks! I wish we'd gotten to see more of Professor Sprout in both the books and the films. Extra material on Pottermore tell of a long-standing friendship back to their own school days. In hard times, friends come together.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Beeezie Outsmarting Umbridge

10th July 2014:
I love that you referenced Minerva's backstory at the beginning of this - it brought the entire story very round-circle in a lot of ways, and really explained why she was so good at filtering herself (which she clearly managed to do throughout the books, most notably in OotP and HBP). I can definitely see how being a Muggleborn/Halfblood would be an advantage on that front in general.

I also loved the way you depicted Minerva's and Pomona's friendship. I never thought of them as being about the same age, but it's certainly plausible, and I love thinking of their friendship stretching back that long.

I loved the interaction with Fred and George. You captured their voices perfectly - I can totally see them nitpicking and claiming that canary creams didn't necessitate wand use. But it ended up being to the best that she took it... I would have loved to see the look on Umbridge's face.

Great job!

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

Education Decree #7

Author's Response: Thanks! I read somewhere on Pottermore (I think) that Minerva and Pomona were friends in their school days, or at least knew each other. And Pomona, being a Hufflepuff, would absolutely go the extra mile to be loyal to both the school and her co-workers. I have Hufflepuff friends, and trust me, I do NOT cross them! They're great people to have on your side in tough times, as the seventh book clearly showed.

 Report Review

Review #4, by emmacweasley Outsmarting Umbridge

10th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review : Decree Number Seven

Hi! Gosh I've been reading a lot of lovely one-shots about Umbridge lately. This was one of the best! I really loved the focus on Minerva (she's my all-time favorite.) The characterization of all four of them (Minerva, Filius, Pomona, and Umbridge) was great. They really felt like they were the same characters from canon. And the effort that they all went through to keep the students save was just heartbreaking. It added a nice balance to the story - it wasn't completely happy, it wasn't completely serious. It had a great tone to it. Overall, this was a very solid one-shot, constructed very nicely. Great job!

Emma

Author's Response: Thanks! Because the OOtP is from Harry's POV, sometimes it's fun to focus on other people. It would be great to see this year from the professor's points of view from JKR.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Leonore Outsmarting Umbridge

10th July 2014:
"The Haggis is on the fire now". I love that - a nice demonstration of her Scottish roots. Poor McGonagall, and well done her for trying to remain professional and follow the rules. And she can remember the numbers of the decrees! I suppose she has to know so she can warn students of violating them.

And the fact she's protecting her House. They broke the rules, but she's sticking with them. And good old Flitwick, offering to take the blame. Umbridge deserved that Canary Cream - you've presented her as suitably ghastly and right in character.

~ Leo xx

House Cup 2014 Review - Educational Decree #7

Author's Response: Thanks!! I read on Pottermore that she was a hatstall between Ravenclaw and Gryffindor, so her intellect and memory would make it easy for her to remember the decrees. Plus, I can only imagine what staff meetings were like under Dolores.

And Flitwick? Yeah, I have no problem imagining him trying to outsmart Dolores. Especially film Flitwick, and that little hand gesture he did when the Weasley twins made their exit.


 Report Review

Review #6, by ImagineHarmony Outsmarting Umbridge

10th July 2014:
Hello! This was really fun to read! I was laughing the entire way through, especially at Minerva trying to filter her words. I loved how you portrayed Minerva, and I liked reading her a new light! And my favourite line has to be: "Besides: of her own accord, High Inquisitor Umbridge is currently partaking in unauthorized sweets. Who is she going to tell?" - exactly what I thought XD Overall this was great to read, great to read Minerva's thoughts and how she's driven insane with Umbridge haha!

House Cup 2014 Review | Hufflepuff
Decree Number Seven

Author's Response: Thanks! I appreciate the kindness. I can only imagine McGonagall's inner satisfaction at not only getting to take a pound of flesh from Umbridge, but the way her staff rallied around her. Often times it is the little things that count.

 Report Review

Review #7, by ShadowRose Outsmarting Umbridge

10th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Educational Decree #7

Okay, this story was hilarious. I love seeing all of the teachers go up against Umbridge in their own different ways. I was giggling like an idiot by the end, thinking about Umbridge eating that Canary Cream. Hah, she deserved it.

I think you did a wonderful job characterizing McGonagall. You show a little bit of her softer side, as well as the conniving side that shows up whenever Umbridge is involved. I'm so impressed with her here, haha. I love the little flashback you threw in, in which she hears Dumbledore's advice from all those years ago - it shows how much she values his opinion. This sentence was perfect - "Except that you would never waste your energy or your anger on a prank. You harvest your anger, save it. Then when the time comes to use it, you have a huge reserve to draw from." - because it just summarizes McGonagall's character perfectly, but also proves to be a bit ironic, considering she does end up pranking Umbridge in a way. :)

Anyway, this story was massively entertaining - anything that results in Umbridge's embarrassment is, after all! Great job!

-ShadowRose (Taylor)

Author's Response: Thanks!!! I would pay good money to see Imelda Staunton act this scene out. :-) A writer can dream, no?

 Report Review

Review #8, by ginnypotter242 Outsmarting Umbridge

10th July 2014:
Ooh, who knew McGonagall was such a prankster? Poor Professor Umbridge.. *cough* Okay, she totally deserves what she gets.

McGongall is great in this story, in every part. She is characterized well, trying to keep order while wanting to join the kids n their rebellion. I have a feeling she's proud of her Lions right now- no matter how much she wishes they would just keep their heads down. I like how Professor Sprout and McGonagall recognized the Canary Creams right away. Shows how oblivious Umbridge is not to have noticed. Or did she just think no one, especially Minerva, would have the audacity to try to prank her?

I like you showed the rest of the teachers trying to band together against Umbridge. It showed how unified they really were during OotP, especially against Umbridge. And we got to see it from a teacher's view instead of Harry's!

This was a very good one shot, and I love the little mischievous streak in McGonagall- I think you kept her in character rather well :)

~Sara (House Cup 2014 Review) (Educational Decree #7)

Author's Response: Thanks!!! I think it's important that she wouldn't have done this on her own, she was just making use of an opportunity. Flitwick used his intellect to quickly get Minerva out of trouble. But Minerva was not about to let the opportunity pass. Have I mentioned I love Minerva McGonagall? :-)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Rumpelstiltskin Outsmarting Umbridge

10th July 2014:
Hey there,

There's several things that I absolutely love about this. I love the idea that Umbridge is absolutely driving McGonagall mad. The books gave us inclination towards that, but being inside McGonagall's mind enables the readers to fully understand exactly how strong this feeling is.

With Umbridge holding so much power over the school, McGonagall and Sprout are forced to speak in secret, like a couple of school children who are up to no good. In fact, McGonagall even has to reprimand her students (namely Fred and George) in private, because lord knows what Umbridge would do to them if she had found out.

Woosh, Umbridge even hassles McGonagall over simply having possession of sweets, a rule that was meant to be for students, not staff memebers. Oh goodness, I'll let my imagination go to town on exactly what happened when Umbridge ate the twins, erm, sweets.

Great job!

-Rumpel

::Slytherin - House Cup Review 2014 - Educational Decree Number Seven

Author's Response: I know. Don't you JUST want to know if anyone witnessed it? Please let it be Peeves.


 Report Review

Review #10, by nott theodore Outsmarting Umbridge

10th July 2014:
Hi there!

This was a brilliant story! I loved the plot and the way that you set it in the middle of Harry's fifth year and wrote it just as if it could have been a missing moment from canon. I liked the idea of McGonagall being able to get back at Professor Umbridge at the end of the story because really, she was breaking her own decree by talking to people about things that she didn't teach. And trying to impose her decrees for the students on the teachers instead.

I thought that you portrayed Professor McGonagall very well, especially her sense of humour which is quite dry, and her determination to protect her students from Umbridge as much as she can. She's great, and so is her dialogue. I loved the way that Flitwick and Sprout were both included in this story too and they tried to help her out - all of the teachers sticking together to try and protect the students while they can!

Sian :)
Gryffindor House Cup 2014 Review Educational Decree #7

Author's Response: Thanks! It was a great piece of dialogue I was given. It was a fun challenge.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Karou_Marauder Outsmarting Umbridge

10th July 2014:
Hiya!

Plot: I loved this! Having McGonagall get Umbridge back in such a subtle way that doesn't get Gryffindor in trouble is very satisfying :). I also liked how you showed the friendships between the Heads of Houses, and how the school looked to McGonagall to carry the weight while Dumbeldore was gone.

Characterisation: You've managed to get McGonagall pretty well; we see her dry humour as well as her devotion to her house, and the sternness for trouble-makers. Flitwick is very good too, helping out McGonagall, and Umbridge is as despicable as ever.

Other: It flows well and I didn't spot any typos or anything. I also like how Umbridge is breaking her own Decree, and that she can't complain or dock points because of it. She definitely deserves that!

-Karou, 2014 House Cup Review, Educational Decree #7

Author's Response: Thanks! I can't imagine the pressure McGonnagall was under this year. Being in the Order, she knew the truth. She had as hard a line to walk that year as Harry or Snape.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Lisa Outsmarting Umbridge

21st May 2014:
Great story - very funny :)

Author's Response: Thanks! It was a bit of a lark, but I spend too little time writing Flitwick and McGonagall. We forget that the rest of the staff was just as stressed with her as Harry and Company.

Thanks!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login