Reading Reviews for Icarus
  
71 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Unicorn_Charm Facing the Facts

24th April 2016:
Kristin!! I'm here!! :D

Ugh I just keep feeling worse and worse for Lily. I can't imaging having to choose between a possible suicide mission, or staying in this place that is almost like home, but not quite. I'm shocked the poor thing hasn't gone completely mad yet!

Every time I read this, I'm always filled with the strangest feeling. Like this tense, uncomfortable, homesick feeling. I can actually feel Lily's emotions and anxiety through your writing. It's quite remarkable how that hopeless tone is just hovering throughout the chapter in the background. It really brings you in and makes you feel for poor Lily.

I love this whole idea of multiverses. It's so interesting, isn't it? Who knows, it could possibly be an actual thing, and there could be carbon copies of ourselves out there living totally different lives. It's freaking to think about.

I feel so bad for her when she runs into this Marta, who is so cold, hard and just plain mean. That would be such an awful feeling to run into some version of one of your best friends and they wouldn't even know who you are. Talk about a total nightmare. And what a shame what happened to Iris. :(

I thought you handled the whole eating disorder thing here really well. Yeah, Marta was pretty harsh, but sometimes that's what person needs to get better. Sometimes walking on eggshells and sugar coating things doesn't work. But having Lily there to balance out the harshness seemed to work quite well to have Iris admit she had a problem, then eventually get better. But it explains why she was such a control freak when she got older. Eating disorders tend to be more about control than looks, so that made her character make more sense.

I'm so excited that you updated! I really cannot wait to see what happens. And I'm excited to read about this journey into space. I keep wondering if Lily will get back to her world, or if she'll be stuck in this crazy universe. I really hope she gets back.

Thanks so much for the swap!! As always, this was fantastic! Can't wait for the next update! ♥

Tons of love and hugs,
Meg

Author's Response: My darling Meg ♥

yeah, Lily certainly isn't in the best place right now. She did bring it all upon herself though by messing with things she couldn't understand. Not that that makes it any easier for her to deal with.

Wow, thank you - that's really such a compliment that the atmosphere translates so well through the writing! Thanks!

The idea of parallel universes is one I've seen in sci-fi a lot and one that kind of just blows my mind. The scientific, skeptical side of me that considers all the mathematical probability of that says that probably no such thing exists, but... what if? This whole story is kind of just an exploration of what if, and it's kind of crazy to just imagine what *could* be in slightly different circumstances.

I imagine it's especially hard for Lily to see Marta this way, given that she's had such a crush on Marta for so many years. And then she meets this person who is Marta but isn't, no matter how much Lily tries to make this universe turn into her familiar one. Iris, yeah. :( A lot of things were different without Lily there and often in ways Lily wouldn't have predicted - like a whole ripple effect where it's impossible to predict how far the ripples will reach.

Thank you, I'm so glad the eating disorder issue was addressed well here. I did really worry about my portrayal of it here because I know it's such a sensitive topic and I wanted to to it justice, so that's very reassuring to hear, thank you. And I think in this situation, Lily did all she could with being the person who's more concerned about Iris' feelings, where Marta focused less on feelings and on the situation as a whole. So put together, Lily and Marta together did provide some sort of balance for one another and I'm glad it came across that way. And yeah - I'm glad you picked up on the control freak thing as well. I don't know if it was ever directly stated apart from a few mentions of how much Iris likes lists and things, but I'm really glad to hear that you think her character is consistent.

I've been having to do all my writing on google docs due to not having my computer with me and gdocs keeps crashing, so I haven't been able to write much lately. I have a lot of the next chapter planned out and I'm so excited for the next chapter because things are going to veer in a totally new direction and I hope I'll be able to actually get it written soon!

Thanks so much for the swap and your lovely review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #2, by Claire Evergreen Prologue

3rd April 2016:
Hey, Kristin! I'm here for our swap :)

Alright, if I was skeptical of this story at first, that all died the minute that I read the opening paragraphs. I'm already so intrigued by what's going to happen later on. Obviously there's some sort of time travel element? And Lily screws everything up? OH, wait, does she try to stop her grandparents from dying? Because that would be super rad and really fun to read.

Anyway, I digress. I love Lily in this. From the very little that I've read with her in it, she's not generally the one without a job or who sits around all day with nothing to do, but it works really well with this. I also love her narrative voice. All the little side comments about their names were absolutely perfect. Those Potter children really do have some unfortunate names, don't they? This is just a really fantastic introduction to the main character :)

I'm honestly so excited to see what exactly the plot of this is going to be. There are hints, of course, but I'm already so invested, it's a bit ridiculous. It definitely has to do with the War though, right? Because you picked May 2nd as the date? Am I right?

Alright, I'm going to stop badgering (hehe) you and finish this so I can go read the rest of it as soon as I have time. Amazing as always, Kristin!

Claire

Author's Response: Hi Claire!!

I think your reaction was probably pretty typical of what people think when they see this story. I mean, it's an AU sci-fi where I've changed a lot of things, so I think it's natural to have some doubt, haha. Lily definitely screws something up, but I won't say more about it here because spoilers. But yay, I'm glad you're intrigued about the story!

This was my first foray into next gen and so I was kind of starting from scratch with what I thought the next gen characters were like. There's honestly not a whole lot about Lily II as a main character, at least compared to the number of next gens about Rose or OC's. I'm really glad you like the kind of lifestyle I've written for her, and her narrative voice. She may be the daughter of a famous person, but she's also a girl in her early twenties trying to figure out how to adult, and is cynical about it - like many other people her age. Oh man, the names. Sometimes this fic is actually just a platform for me to put in my opinion about things, and that's very much the case with the names :P

I'm so excited that you're excited about this! :P Do you want me to tell if you are right or not? I'm going to assume that was a rhetorical question. But I guess it'll be answered soon enough anyway!

Wah THANK YOU ♥ thanks so much for the swap and for this absolutely lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #3, by princesslily_36 Prologue

5th March 2016:
Hey Kirstin!

I’m here for the HPFF review-a-thon! Thanks for the swap :D

It’s so wonderful that people are pledging to keep the site alive!

So, this is my first Lily Luna story, so excited :D I love how she says that her parents were brilliant but couldn’t think of original names for their children! And her feelings about the name Albus Severus is hilarious! I’m liking the tone of the story already!! You know her feelings about the three names are EXACTLY mine! I love her already. Especially when she goes on to say that she doesn’t want to use her family name to get a job… she reminds me of her fiercely independent mother.

Molly and Arthur are absolutely doting grandparents is just so adorable! Albus and his plug collection made me crack up! Arthur must have been so proud :D

And Lily wanting to know her grandparents on her Dad’s side, well don’t we all… DON’T WE ALL? *Marauders-4-ever* I like that you’ve added small details like James stealing the Marauders Map and the description of her roommates!

The idea of Rememberance day is unique and wonderful! This is my new headcanon now.

I like that this chapter wasn’t so heavy like some of the next-gen but deals with really serious events… I’ve read, and I love that
there’s an element of light-heartedness here!

Great job with this chapter. I’ll come back for more when I’m done with the other reviews!

XOXO
~Ysh

Author's Response: Hi Ysh! Thanks for dropping by, you leave the best reviews ♥

It's odd that there aren't that many Lily II stories compared to the rest of the next-gen characters or OCs. I was pretty excited to write about her. And yeah her feelings about the names, that's definitely the author speaking there :P I'm glad you see a resemblance to Ginny there as well :D

I have no doubt that Molly and Arthur would be the best grandparents. :D And yeah, the plug collection just had to make an appearance. Arthur would have been sad if none of his grandchildren carried on the legacy of plug collecting!

haha your reaction to Lily's curiosity was priceless :P YES, WE ALL DO. haha. And thanks, I'm glad you liked the little details sprinkled throughout. Not a lot really happens in this chapter so it was important to have at least something, haha!

Aw, thank you! I've been surprised by the reactions I've gotten to the Remembrance Day. It just seems like something pretty natural to have after such a long war, especially since in the muggle world we have those days as well. Your new headcanon wow, I'm flattered!

This fic has been a really interesting balance to write, as it does deal with a lot of heavier things like big 'what if's and science fiction, but the narrator is quite casual with a dry humour - such opposites, so it's been an interesting challenge!

Thanks so much for your review ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by Felpata Lupin Facing the Facts

18th February 2016:
KRISTIN!!!
How are you so brilliant??? Lend me a bit of your talent, please... Just a tiny bit, I don't need much... *makes pleading puppy eyes*

Ok... I need a second bachelor in Astrophysics, so I can visit the Department of Mysteries... :P (what a pity I don't like Physics at all... There is this Mathematicians/Physicians rivalry going on, you know?)

Lily's train of thought is always so amusing! You write it so well! I loved how she listed all her worries in her head and stopped listening to Lance at all!

And the conversation with Miriam! Wow! I loved their "small talk of the biggest mysteries in the universe. (The multiverse, I should say.)" By the way... doesn't this soung familiar? :P

Jump into an uncontrolled portal on a faraway planet hardly sounds like a solution... Not sure if I would have the guts to do so, as awful as this reality might be... But Lily is a Gryffindor, so I suppose it's quite an obvious choice...

And, oh... poor Iris...
It must be devastating to know how her two best friends' lives were ruined in this reality, only because she wasn’t there...

I've never known people with eating disorders, but I imagine it's a really tricky, really difficult thing to deal with... I'm so grateful Iris (the one from Lily's reality, at least) had some great friends who helped her get through it! I loved the flashback! And I loved Marta's brutal honesty! She was definitely unsensitive, but at least she gave Iris the shake she needed! I love the three girls' friendship!!!

Will we see some more of the Potters before Lily leaves for Balthazar? I need some more old Marauders' stuff and secret family awkwardness...

Now I really have to leave you, just got to the office...

Amazing work, as always, my dear!
All my love,
Chiara

Author's Response: Chiara! ♥ ♡ ♥ ♡ ♥

Thank you for stopping by and for being the first review on this chapter! I have to admit I was pretty nervous about this chapter because of the eating disorder bit and Marta's handling of it and I was kind of like "ahhh, I hope I didn't offend all my readers oh nooo" so it is really wonderful to have feedback on this. And your reviews never fail to put a smile on my face. For real. :)

Okay, so first of all, you don't need any of my talent because you have so much talent of your own! ♥ My main writing talent lies in procrastination, and let's be real, neither one of us needs any more of that. :P #teamunreliability

Ever since I heard of it, I've always thought astrophysics is basically the coolest thing ever to exist. HOW SPACE WORKS!? But I'm not very strong in math so it wasn't ever going to work out for me. Haha and yeah I can see how mathematicians and physicists would have a rivalry. Both subjects are quite similar though, at least to my eyes. Haha, but I'll not get involved in the middle of a rivalry I have no part in... :P

I have so much fun writing Lily's thoughts. Because she's rather introverted and doesn't say a lot out loud, her mind ends up being very busy and full of things going on. Poor Lance :P I'm really glad you enjoy Lily's narration, thanks!

Omg, I thought it sounded familiar when I was writing it but couldn't place why, and now I see it. HAhaha, oh dear, definitely didn't intend to copy you there.

Yeah it's a pretty bad solution. But I guess she has the choice between 0% chance of returning and maybe 30% chance, she's going to go for the higher odds, even if they're not great. And yeah, she is Harry's daughter, so she's more apt to jump into something without really figuring it out first.

yeah. If nothing else, being in a world where she doesn't exist has made her realize how important she is, in a sort of 'It's A Wonderful Life' way. Not sure how the story ended up going there. Someone please teach me how to plot.

You know, I'm not sure if the Potters will show up again. I had only intended for Lily to meet them once, and it happened much earlier than expected and for a shorter scene (the story kind of writes itself sometimes, you see) so... I don't know. I really do want to write more of them because 70-year-old Sirius was like the funniest person to write. ever.

Thank you so much for the review! I really value your reviews so much. Thanks for all your support on this story!


 Report Review

Review #5, by alicia and anne Old and New

11th January 2016:
I am so close to falling asleep on my sofa right now haha :P

I feel like I can relate to Lily so much right now, the messy hair, the falling asleep on the sofa, being the daughter of the hero of the wizarding world. wait, that last one might not be true. But the rest totally is!

I love how relatable she is,she's just as normal as the rest of us and it's brilliant!

Eurgh! I think that flat needs a tidy before those noodles come alive and start taking over the whole apartment with those socks as second in commands!

THEY'RE CLIMBING IN BINS! THIS IS BRILLIANT! I REALLY HOPE THAT SOMEONE SEES FROM LILY'S FAMILY HAHAHA THAT'LL BE A STORY TO TELL HER MUM! :D

But seriously, Marta is pretty brilliant! She's so unusual and that makes her just so awesome and fun! I hope we get to see more of her in this story!

I also love that game so much!!! I used to play it all the time!

Ooooh! What is in the mysterious box?! I am so excited to find out more!

I will be getting to the next chapter soon! :D

Author's Response: Hahahaha! Your commentary always makes me laugh. I always knew you were the daughter of the hero of the wizarding world!

So glad to hear Lily is relatable. Comments like this about my characters are honestly some of the best compliments there are! ♥

Omg, get ready for the spin off fic: THE ADVENTURES OF MOULDY NOODLE MONSTER AND THE SOCK ARMY. It would make a great comic strip or low-budget film. :D

I'm now imagining which member of Lily's family would have the funniest reaction to their rubbish bin adventure. (Harry, I think.) Kind of wish I'd written that in, now :P

Marta certainly is unusual, haha, and there will be more of her! I'm so glad you like her :D

haha, I know, that game was the coolest thing back in the day!

Glad to hear you're excited to find out what's coming next :D Thanks so much for yet another wonderful review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by Diogenissa Prologue

21st December 2015:
HAI Kristin! Happy Belated Hot Seat Day! Sorry it’s taken me so long to get this to you but here I am, ready to rock and roll on your awesome sci-fi-meets-magic story! :-)

Okay I love how you open this—with a ‘Captain’s Log’. I’m left wondering as to who this Captain is. Then it goes on to mention Lily (which I initially thought was referring to Harry’s mother Lily because the description of her connected with what I initially read and hear of her, but perhaps it’s her namesake and our beloved narrator). The last paragraph is an intriguing moment of possible danger and foreboding and I love that sort of stuff, as it sets the stage of ‘alright one problem has been solved with Lily’s safe return but another and perhaps far more dangerous one has been born’)—good good stuff!

I really love your Lily Luna—she’s definitely got a mind of her own and has a lot of color in a manner of speaking in the way in which she sees the world around her, as well as her frank honesty. I can appreciate her desire to want to be a simple and normal human being and I feel for her. I especially enjoyed her insights about her grandparents Molly and Arthur (I can totally, 125% see the two of them being the most obsessively doting grandparents on the face of the planet for real!).

Once again I am amazed at your ability for vivid and beautiful description, as well as stage setting—that’s such a powerful and crucial thing to do and often difficult to get right to where one’s readers can see what you see (or what you’d like them to see). You always do it master-fully and you have a knack for those tiny details that while may seem small at first are actually large and significant and add so much to the flavor of the story! Well done!

It will be interesting to get to know her best friends Marta and Iris based on what Lily says (shame on Marta for the firewhiskey—not nice lol and her thoughts on Iris—21 year old or 70 year old LOL – that’s brilliant!).

My favorite part is the Remembrance Day—that was just very lovely and heartfelt and her desire to wish to know those family members that she had never met but still in a way lost is really moving and understandable. I can to a small degree relate as my Dad’s dad died shortly before my older sister was born, so we never knew him outside of stories. It’s one of those even though you know it’s just life being life, it –still— sucks and feels unfair.

Another beautiful story my dear and I can already see the ‘Icarus’ allusions from the Captain’s log. A very good thing you’ve got going here! Thank you for writing it and I’ll be sure to come and check out more of it when life and time are kinder to me!


Karen xoxo


P.S. – I (sadly) have to agree with Albus and most of her family—Hyacinth is an awful name (sorry! lol)

Author's Response: Hi Karen! :D

Haha, there is a lot of confusion raised by the fact that Lily and her grandmother have the same name, isn't there? I blame Harry. But yeah, the Lily in the Captain's Log is Lily II. (I'm not spoiling anything by saying that.) I'm glad the log entry is intriguing though! :D

Thanks so much - this was my first attempt at next gen and I hadn't fully figured out my headcanon of next gen characters personalities yet. (Actually, I still don't know if I have. :P ) I'm so glad you like this portrayal of Lily, and her struggles with fame. And omg yes, Molly and Arthur would be the most adorable grandparents.

Aww thank you! I'm flattered that you like my description and stage setting so much! I do really love writing description, though as this story is primarily an action/adventure type, I think description is often something that falls by the wayside in those types of stories, so it's been a kind of interesting balance to maintain. Anyway thank you so much, I'm really glad to hear that it was effective here and that you like my stage-setting. Thanks!

:D I hope you enjoy the proper introduction to Marta and Iris!

Aw, thanks! I definitely thought there would be a Remembrance Day just like there are in the Muggle world for Armistices and things. And it's really touching to hear that you appreciated what the day meant for Lily and that you could relate to her. (I mean, I'm not glad about why you can relate, but... you know what I'm trying to say, right? I'm touched that this struck a chord with you. *hugs*

Thank you so much for your amazing review! I'm so glad you're enjoying the story so far ♥

P.S. Don't worry, I agree with you and Albus as well. :P


 Report Review

Review #7, by alicia and anne Prologue

14th December 2015:
Yes! You've started this with a captains log and I feel like geeking out! I love this! This is already epically awesome!

I am hooked already and it's only the first paragraph! I have so many questions! I need all of the answers!

I like that Lily doesn't want to use her families fame to get a job, that's really good of her. And I love her thoughts on her name! She's so right, Harry really should have thought this all through.

I love the fact that Albus has a plug collection! I may have to request a one shot about it. I don't even know why I want this one shot, but I feel like it's important to have one!

Ahhh! I can't wait to see where this goes, and what happens to make things change! You have done a wonderful job at getting me hooked already and I am so excited about that one shot about Albus collecting plugs. I mean the next chapter!

Author's Response: Haha aww thanks! I'm so glad you love it right from the beginning! :D

Based on how Harry reacted to his own fame, I figured his kids wouldn't be the type to search for the limelight either. And ahaha, my distaste for the next gen names really is no secret :P

XD a one-shot about Albus' plug collection. There is probably a story potential in there somewhere!

I'm so excited that you're excited about this :D This review made me smile so much and goodness it looks like I have some work to do to write that chapter of Albus collecting plugs. ;)

Thanks for your review Tammi! ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by HeyMrsPotter Prologue

12th December 2015:
Kristin ♥ I'm here a few days late for the hot seat :D

I like that you've chosen to have Lily Luna as your main character, she's so rarely in stories as anything more than a background character. I love how bitter you've made her about her name, and pretty much all of the other next-gen character names, I really think they would all hate them, especially poor Albus! I also really like that she isn't living up to what is expected of her, it's a refreshing change not to have the Potter children all being amazingly talented.

This is such a great first chapter, and from your story summary I think the whole thing is going to be very intriguing!

Dee

Author's Response: Dee, thank you for stopping by! ♥

You know, I was surprised by how few stories actually feature Lily II as a main character as opposed to ones about Rose, Albus, etc and that was definitely a huge part of why I picked her as the MC. And yeah, the bitterness about the names is perhaps some of my own opinions sneaking their way into the fic :P but like, those names really are unfortunate and poor Albus Severus indeed.

I think it's quite unrealistic for them all to be amazingly talented - after all, there were quite a few things Harry's not that talented at either, and ultimately my goal is to make Lily realistic in all her (many) faults.

I'm so glad you enjoyed the first chapter and that story sounds interesting! Thanks for reviewing :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by my_voice_rising Prologue

3rd December 2015:
Hello!!

Thank you again for your help with Keep Calm and Carry On. I'm here to put my words into action!

Ooh, the beginning entry is very cryptic. I'm assuming by "ship" you don't mean the seafaring variety. As someone who's never read a science fiction HP crossover-y type fic, I'm very intrigued. The writing within the log is revealing enough to give the reader information but it doesn't feel clunky or expositional. Nicely done!

Remembrance Day! Is that canon? Why have I never thought of this? I love the idea, and how realistic Lily's reaction to it is: it is significant because it is from such recent history, but as somebody who never lived through it, it's just "a week off work." Time moves on and people forget, and you've portrayed that nicely.

The balance between Lily's annoyance at her family (the repeating names, the unwanted fame) and her interest in what things would be like, sans Voldemort, is well-done too. You could have easily taken the "If only poor mummy and daddy were able to have a normal life" path, and you didn't. She's mostly apathetic, and apparently only spending time on the thought because she happened to straighten a picture of them in her boredom. That was another nice touch, by the way: the fact that she noticed a slightly crooked photo tells us a lot about her character.

I love the idea of her as the atypical hero, too. She's an unemployed daughter of two Very Famous People. She sounds like she has a lot to live up to and feels she isn't quite making it. Albus is the Golden Child and even takes an interest in his uncle's Muggle item-collecting hobbies, but Lily doesn't seem so involved with her family. You paralleled the "atypical hero" bit nicely by mentioning her neighbor and their habit of watching superhero movies (which, you are totally right, do usually have terrible female characters.)

I am interested to know why she's unemployed, too! Is it the economy, or did something specific happen? Did she have a job and lose it? I'm sure time will tell.

A great start to a story with a very intriguing title! ♥

Author's Response: Hi! You're very welcome - and thanks for stopping by my AP! :)

I'm glad the beginning is cryptic and not just a random clunky paragraph, haha. This isn't technically a crossover, although I do admit much of the science fiction elements which come up later are inspired by sci-fi books/tv. I'm glad you're intrigued by the idea! I haven't found many other sci-fi fics out there.

Remembrance Day, I don't think that's canon, but it's my headcanon! Given all the days meant to commemorate ends of wars in our own society, it felt fitting that the magical community would have one too. And along with that, Lily's reaction. I'm really glad you liked the way it showed the passage of time, thank you!

I'm also thrilled that you pointed out how Lily seems such an atypical hero and that you appreciated that. As you said, her parents are Very Famous People and war heroes and it's made Lily about as opposite of a hero as she can be. And yeah, can you imagine having to try and live up to people's expectations of you based on your famous, world-saving parents? :-/ Or your famous, world-saving grandparents? I think it'd be a lot for someone to handle.

I'm so glad you liked the start to this story, and the title :) Thanks so much for stopping by and reviewing! ♥


 Report Review

Review #10, by Dirigible_Plums Prologue

22nd November 2015:
Hey,

It's Plums here for our review swap :) I decided to review this little gem because it just seemed so interesting. I've read a few parallel universe fics on other websites, but none of them were Next Gen so I'm very curious about this. (By the way, I am loving the title.)

Even though it's only a prologue, I enjoyed reading from Lily Luna's POV. For some strange reason, I don't tend to hunt down fics from her perspective, but it was lovely to see how being a Weasley-Potter would've affected a girl, especially one named Lily Luna. You can see the stress of being a Potter in the way that she wishes desperately to be normal and then the Weasley in her rears its head with her refusal to just walk in and grab a job because of her surname.

Of course, with a story like this, there's bound to be reflections on what life would've been like without the presence of Voldemort. You don't tend to get that with Next Gen fics as it's an era that usually contains a lot of humour and chick lit in it. The Weasleys are too busy having fun and making a general mess of themselves to properly ponder on the effects of the war. I like that Lily's musings are both selfless and selfish; she thinks about it because 'there would be more people in that picture if there hadn’t been a war or a Dark Lord killing everyone. And Dad’s side of the family would actually exist.' But she also considers the possibilities of her having a normal life as well. It's very realistic.

I like the way that the humour and heavier thoughts are balanced. The whole kerfuffle about having several members with the same name (Lily 'Not That One' Potter strikes once more) had me smiling throughout it. And before it was mentioned in this fic, I never considered how creepy it is that the Potter brothers' namesakes were both in love with their younger sister's namesake. Lovely.

Al is right. Hyacinth is a fairly awful name (no offence to those who are called Hyacinth, of course). The fact that the boy collects plugs made me laugh especially because in my headcanon, he's a surly Slytherin with little patience for his fangirls. The two portrayals are so incompatible, it's hilarious :D

Overall, I enjoyed reading this immensely. I genuinely can't think of any concrit so keep up the good work!

Plums xo

Author's Response: Heya! I'm glad you were intrigued by this story! It's definitely a weird one, I've not seen anything like it anywhere else- which is why I decided to write it. And thanks, I'm glad you like the title! :D

There aren't comparatively that many fics from Lily II's pov than there are from other next gen characters, say Rose or OC's. I'm not sure why. I think the next gen Weasley-Potter kids have a really interesting perspective as they're quite famous by association, but I never thought they'd really /want/ all that fame, so it's really interesting to write her.

With a family that lost so much during the wars, I could easily see this being something that they think about every now and then - the 'what if' thoughts that come up in your mind despite your better judgement haha. I love how you described Lily's thoughts as 'both selfless and selfish' - that's a very astute conclusion and the fact that you picked that up from just the first chapter makes me really happy! I'm so glad to hear you found her realistic.

Thanks, it means a lot that you like the balance between humour and heavy topics. As you mentioned earlier, next gen fics do tend to have a lot of humour and snark, but this one also has a prominent sci-fi plot, so there was a lot of balancing involved and I'm glad it seems to work! Ahaha and yeah the names - you description of it as "Lovely" just cracked me up. Yeah... the next gen kids names are probably my least favourite part of the HP series and I did not try to hide it :P

Haha, yeah, very different Albuses (Albi?) I love how different the interpretations of various next gen characters are for different authors!

Thank you so much for this amazing review and for the swap! ♥


 Report Review

Review #11, by Unicorn_Charm Lily, Meet Lily

16th November 2015:
Awww Kristin!! *hug* Thank you for that beautiful dedication!! ♥

Gah! Harry doesn't exist! It totally makes sense though. They probably wouldn't have rushed into getting married without the war going on and not knowing if they'd survive the day. I'm sure tons of weddings were rushed in the Marauders era.

I'm surprised no one noticed (or maybe they did and you just hadn't gotten to it yet :p) that Lily II happened to look a lot like Lily I when she was younger... If they thought anything about her at all. Or if they'll see her again. They have to see her again. I'm sure Lily won't be able to help herself and will want to see her grandparents again, even if they're technically not her grandparents.

I LOVED that scene in the Potter's kitchen. It was so cute seeing what they would all be like as older adults. Sirius hadn't changed a bit lol. And it was funny to imagine him with a long Dumbledore-like beard. :D

I'm glad you've decided to keep it Jily and not Snily. I don't hate Snily, but I like that Lily got to see her grandparents together. I think seeing Snape with older Lily would had been too much for younger Lily to handle.

Oh I'm so excited that you've updated and that all the Marauders are alive in this universe and that she got to see almost all of them together and just gah!! I loved every bit of it!

I do hope they find a way for her to get back home. I can't imagine how lonely and hard it would be to be stuck in this situation.

I am wondering if the Quidditch player that James spoke of was Ginny with a different surname, because obviously she isn't married to Harry? Probably not now that I think of it. Ginny would be a little too old to be playing at this point. Never mind. Oh! What if it's Ginny's kid! Ah! All of these weird scenarios are floating around my head haha.

I really can't wait to see how this unfolds and what you have planned. This is such an amazingly, wonderfully, awesomely unique story. I adore it!

Thank you for updating!! *tackle hug* Can't wait for the next chapter!!

Tons of love and hugs,
Meg ♥

Author's Response: MEg ♥ of course! You've been such a wonderful supporter of this story this whole time and I really wanted to thank you for it!

Yes... I think you guessed it in a previous review, haha! There wouldn't be that pressure for them to get married in a hurry without the war hovering over them.

Hm, yeah, I don't really imagine her looking incredibly similar to Lily I. In this story at least, Lily II has brown hair (it was mentioned once, but now I think I could probably do to mention it again just because that's not the norm for next gen stories). I don't strongly resemble what my grandparents looked like at my age, so the thought really didn't occur to me :p

I'm so glad you liked that scene! I had so much fun writing it and imagining what they would all be like when they were old. And then I got really sad because they never got to be old :( Yeah, Sirius hasn't changed much :P

I think Jily was a better decision too. Originally with the Snily idea, Lily would only met one of her grandparents because James I and Lily I weren't married... but yeah, the more I got into thinking about it, the less it made sense, and it wasn't really what I /wanted/ to happen. (This story is very much just me writing things for my own amusement.)

Yep, as fun as it is, Lily does have a lot to worry about in terms of getting stuck in this situation and having her grandparents not know her and her parents nonexistent. (well, at least her dad.)

The Quidditch player is just a random name :p I don't think they will have much else to do with the story! But I do love that it's given you so much to think about haha. Perhaps I'll have to revise my idea of not using that character again. IT'S ACTUALLY... VOLDEMORT

Thank you so much!!! I'm so thrilled you are enjoying this story ♥ Thanks for your amazing review. You're the best. ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #12, by Felpata Lupin Lily, Meet Lily

12th November 2015:
KRISTIN!!!
This was a great chapter! Well, just as always...
Ahahah! Stories do write themselves. Not sure how this happens, but they do! :P

So you did consider Snily... I must say that I love Jily better as well! ;) As for Henry, I suppose without the war they took things more slowly and didn't have a child when they were barely twenty?

Aw... Sirius and Melanie... I knew it was them in the moment you said a man and a woman were there! It's so sad to think that they could've been a happy and playful married couple without the war... And Pete is still a good guy... :'( Knowing how it could've been makes it even sadder to know how it was...

By the way... Remus is with Marlene? And should I know who Bertram is? I'm quite sure I should, but I can't remember...

I must admit I didn't expect such an unexpected meeting, but it was fun to read. Less fun for poor Lily. How confused must she be, poor thing? I'm still impressed by her ability to lie. I wouldn't be able to sustain a conversation with my non-grandparents like that.

And the memory of Marta in the beginning...How sad and sweet at the same time...

I'm very curious to know about what happens next too...Will she meet them again? Will they discover the truth? When and how will she go back? And that thing about Balthazar is intriguing. Will it have any importance later in the story? (Still wondering about the prologue, by the way...)

Brilliant work! Can't wait for what comes next!

Love you,
Chiara

Author's Response: Chiara. I never know what to say to your reviews other than aSDJFKALSD♥♥♥ because you're just too nice to me! :p

I really don't like Snily at all, but I wanted to mess with all the ships :p I still had to think about what would have been /realistic/ though, which is what eventually changed my mind. But, despite Lily and James still getting together, I don't think they would have felt the pressure to get married at 19 without a war, so they married and had children much later.

I felt SO EVIL writing that scene muahaha. Just a taste of how things could have been as a reminder that they're not that way! :P I'm sorry!

Remus/Marlene is a ship I mentioned in an older story about Peter, and as (almost) all of my stories are set in the same universe, I kept them together, as Marlene wouldn't have died. Bertram Aubrey was mentioned once in the books (I think OotP?) as someone that James and Sirius hexed and therefore they had a detention.

Yeah, Lily definitely struggled to have that conversation, but she covered it up well. She is quite the talented liar.

I'm glad you liked the flashback of Marta! I'm planning to scatter flashbacks in upcoming chapters as the story reaches the point where Lily has spent more time in the parallel universe than out of it, just to kind of tie back to her roots haha. And because I love backstory and have so much of Marta's story figured out in my head, and most of it will probably never make it into writing otherwise!

Hehehe, I'm glad you're wondering what's going to happen and whether Lily and James will find out the truth and what's the deal with that planet and what's going on with the prologue. That is absolutely what I love to hear :D I'm really excited for this next section of the story as soon as I can figure out how to write it haha. But I hope you like it :)

Thanks for your review!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #13, by crestwood Lily, Meet Lily

7th November 2015:
Hi Kristin! I was so excited to see another chapter of this story, let me tell you. I have missed everything about it. There is nothing else like this on the site :P

I'm loving this flashback. I believe this is first glimpse we've gotten of Lily before the events of the story? You really write kids convincingly. I avoid writing small children like the plague because I just can't get that voice correct. Your dialogue is always perfect, but that was just perfect in a new way. I really love the bit of backstory we got there. Sometimes I forget how little we actually knew about Lily before she was kind of thrown into all of this weirdness.

I'm laughing so hard at 'stupid sunlight streaming through the stupid window, stupidly early in the morning.'

I'm interested to see whether Miriam will be able to shed some light on how the inter-dimensional traveling actually works. More specifically, whether you can direct it at a certain dimension. Also, whether she even believe Lance in the first place.

Wow, I wasn't prepared at all for her to meet them. I thought that was a bit of a lost cause once she didn't find them before. And then you hit me with another surprise when she's hit by the car! That was strangely terrifying for that moment between the time I saw his expression turn to alarm and when I realized that she was okay.

As I read through this I'm just so jealous because you do so many things so well all at once and you make it look easy. Your description almost doesn't stand out because it just flows so well into the rest of the story. I don't register that you wrote it, I just see what you're telling me to see.

It must be beyond strange for Lily to come into contact with her grandparents and find out that her father wasn't even born in this reality. Although, in a way, it is good that she doesn't exist here since that could cause some issues in and of itself.

I really love how you've written all of the familiar faces. They're so carefree and happy in adulthood without having to have dealt with Voldemort. I really love AUs in which the wars don't occur, but I feel that idea doesn't make for much conflict. Which is why it's brilliant what you did here, by instead having Lily be stuck in a world like that which allows me to have my cake and eat it too :P

Absolutely excellent as always. Cannot wait for the next chapter ♥

Author's Response: Joesph hiii! So glad to see you back on this story - it has missed you as well. :p Really though, thank you, I'm so glad you think it's so original!

Yeah, since there were only three or four chapters before she hopped into the other universe, at a certain point we will have spent more time in the alternate universe than in the 'real' (well, you know) one. So I'm intending to have flashbacks scattered throughout as it goes along, kind of just to ground the story in where Lily came from - because you're right, we don't know a lot about her beforehand. And I have so much backstory in my head that I otherwise won't be able to share :p And wah thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed the dialogue there and thought they were convincing!

Haha! Lily is very much my opposite in that respect, but it's kind of fun to write people who hate mornings :p

Well, people in the Dept of Mysteries are probably used to strange things, so at least Lily's got that going for her :p but yeah - tbh I have a lot to figure out in terms of how it works :p I'm really glad you're interested in their meeting and hearing about how the dimensional travelling works!

I wasn't prepared for her to meet them either, at least not yet! I was like "THIS IS SUPPOSED TO HAPPEN MUCH LATER, GO BACK HOME LILY" but you probably know how it is. characters just do what they want. ugh #writerproblems :p

Aw, thank you! It's great to hear that the description isn't clunky or anything and just fits in with the narrative.

yeah, I think it'd be more of a problem if she did exist, to be honest. At least she doesn't have to meet herself - but it does mean that nothing at all is familiar, and she's even more out of place. It must be so confusing. I don't envy her :p

I had SO MUCH FUN writing that part and imagining what they would all be like when they were old. And then I got really sad because it never got to happen in the other/'real' world. Haha, I'm so glad that you enjoy this and get to see the world without the war but also still have conflict :p

Thanks so much for your review!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #14, by banshee Tabula Rasa

7th September 2015:
HI MY NAME IS JULIE AND I AM REALLY BAD AT TIME MANAGEMENT. So I'm here like forever and a half late and I suck at life because you dedicated this chapter to me and it took me WEEKS, MONTHS? IDK! to read it and I'm sorry. BUT SERIOUSLY the second I found some time ( :today) I am FINALLY sitting down and reading this chapter and I'm SO EXCITED FOR THIS. This new chapter has been at the top of my to-read list since it came out and I'M HERE :D

Okay here we go!

OMG MUGGLE TOURS IN THE MoM that's SO COOL. I love this universe. With the ease of the writing/reading you can tell that you have this 'verse so intricately planned out, and all of the little details like that shine through.

I'M SO NERVOUS TO MEET HARRY AND JAMES AND LILY OMG OMG.

I love your writing. Have I ever said this? I should say it more often. Even though it's been a few months since I've read the chapter prior to this, I still feel like I'm brought right back into this story's world from reading.


much like a Crumple-Horned Snorkack - hahaha ♥

Just as I suspected, this was a wonderful chapter. I'm so excited to see how the plot is going to develop more in the future chapters, and what's in store for some more of these characters as we go on. Is it about time to start bugging you for a new chapter? :D

Amazing work as always, Kristin!

-Julie

Author's Response: HI JULIE! MY NAME IS KRISTIN AND I AM REALLY BAD AT TIMELY RESPONSES! hehe no worries though, I'm just so glad to see a review from you!

One of the neat things about writing this is that I can take any silly idea and make it possible - I think that's been the coolest thing about it for me. So yeah, tours of the MoM! And wow thanks for saying that it feels so planned out! I am super glad to hear that because to be honest a lot of it is just made up as I go along, so I'm really glad it feels cohesive! XD

THE SUSPENSSSEEE!!!

Wah, thank you!!! ♥ ♥ Ah! *flailing* really, thank you so much for saying that. I'm thrilled to hear that it's easy to get back into the story as well!

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, and I'm so happy you are excited about the story and how it will develop. I'm so glad to have you as a reader!

As for a new chapter haha ugh, I've had like no time to write lately (as in, the most recent fic I wrote was written entirely on my phone ajsdkfjlk) and I keep having all these plot ideas and not having time to write them down (including somehow I've just started planning a sequel to Icarus? but that's like, YEARS away) anyway, I haven't even started chapter 7 yet. I think I've decided what's going to happen in it, but I'm making no promises for timing, because you know how that worked out last time haha. I'll let you know when I finally get it written though! but yeah, in answer to your question, nag away. It's probably good for me :P

THANK YOU SO MUCH for this review ♥


 Report Review

Review #15, by pottered  Tabula Rasa

14th August 2015:
hii here for the review swap!
omg i remember reading this and i can't believe it's taken me this long to catch up on this i didn't even know you updated eep
but aww lily here trying to get everything together, but her grandparents weren't at home neither is marta the same dorky bubbly girl she was back home. also: lance, what a cutie. it's like, he's always going to be cute in either universes aha
i probably have mentioned it, but this is sooo creative!!! I love the whole sci-fi concept!
plus i /adore/ Lily's narrative, it's so easy going, hilarious and not too overly descriptive as well. i loveee her!!! I think this is my favourite lily potter characterisation!
xx

Author's Response: Hi! Haha, updates do tend to sneak up and escape our notice, I understand! Regardless, I'm glad to see you back!

Things really are different for Lily here. Thankfully Lance isn't too different. Haha, I love how much you love Lance :D Originally I didn't even intend for him to be a main character (I realized while writing this chapter that I hadn't even introduced his surname yet!) but I'm so glad that he had other ideas and stuck around in the story :p

Thank you so much, I'm so happy you find the premise creative and are into the sci-fi concept and Lily's narration. and wow ahh thank you, I am so flattered that this is your favourite characterisation of Lily II! that's such an incredible thing to hear ♥

Thank you so much for this review!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #16, by casual_chaos Prologue

13th August 2015:
You are writing NextGen!! Okay, you've been writing it for a while now (and I meant to read it sooner, I swear!) but still, it's NextGen! And it's sci-fi! And it's awesome!

I really like first person and diary prose (is that how it's called? I don't know the proper term) and I really like this snarky, unamused Lily Potter! So I'm assuming they'll try and change the past - that should be fun! And that bit of (very subtle) foreshadowing in the beginning was a nice touch. For a moment I actually thought 2029 was far, far into the future, and then I realised my own NextGen novel is set near that time as well. 2029! I bet they'll have flying cars in 2029.

Anyway, I'm rambling. The names. I loved the part about the names! J.K.Rowling, a genius disguised as a human being and a literary Goddess extraordinaire, has managed to come up with the most horribly unfortunate names for a set of NextGen children this world has ever seen! What's with the relatives? What's with Albus Severus? Molly, Lily, James, what's with that? And then, out of nowhere - Hugo. HUGO!! How on earth did she come up with that? Well, maybe Hermione had an uncle named Hugo. A famous dentist perhaps. Haha, I'm cracking myself up. Anyway, I'm sorry for the rant (again) but I just appreciated that part so much! :D

I liked the details here - Marta is a very very nice name (In Croatia, we have that name, spelled exactly like that, and it's one of my favourites). Hyacinth, not as pretty a name, but a lovely detail nevertheless. The superhero movies, the crooked picture, plugs - so many great details! Oh, and I am Iris!! I am the gardening-tips-knitting patterns young-but-actually-old-person Iris! I love her already. :D

Eeep, I'm so excited about this story! I'm looking forward to the rest!

Andy

P.S. I'm so sorry about the amount of incoherent and basically useless in this review! I'll try better next time. :D Thanks for the swap!

Author's Response: I did start writing a next gen! Haha, I know, I had thought this would never happen. But I'm really enjoying writing it :) I really see the appeal of next gen now, because there's no limit to what you can do with the characters. Such as sci-fi! :P

First person is my favourite POV for many reasons. I'm all about characters and I think it's the most effective way to really write a character, by essentially getting into their mind. (which is sometimes hard with particular characters. but I digress.) I'm so glad you like Lily's voice in this! It's kind of an interesting dynamic writing a serious topic (kind of) in such a snarky voice. Yeah, next gen always feels like it's so far in the future, until I remember that stuff that's about Victoire or Teddy is essentially taking place NOW. like, present day. weird.

The names! That's like the one real complaint I have about the HP series. Like, Harry saw how bad bullying is when he saw James and Sirius with Snape at school, and when he saw Snape being a bully to Neville/everyone, and then he's basically inviting everyone to make fun of his own kids for having names like ALBUS SEVERUS. Poor kid, he sounds like he's 80 from the day he's born. Lol, you're probably right in that Hugo is named after a famous dentist relative. Or maybe Hermione was the only Weasley to introduce some sense into the family and not name a kid after a dead person.

I love the name Marta as well! It is a nice name (Even if Marta's not necessarily a nice person haha) Hyacinth - well, Lily apparently inherited the naming skills of her parents. :P Ah I'm so glad you like the details! I think we've talked about this loads before, but I love little things like crooked pictures and just weird character idiosyncrasies. Haha, I'm glad you can relate to Iris! It's always so wonderful to hear that a character is relatable.

Wah thank you so much! I'm so excited you're excited about this story! :P Thanks for the review!!! ♥

P.S. never feel the need to apologise about incoherence in reviews because I'm so the same way :P


 Report Review

Review #17, by Felpata Lupin Tabula Rasa

9th July 2015:
KRISTIN!!!

How could wait so long before reading this? This chapter was absolutely amazing!!!

Poor Lily, she's just so lost... Actually, I think she's dealing with everything pretty well! Maybe she's being a bit impulsive, but I know I wouldn't have her presence of mind. I would've panicked the moment I was asked why I didn't know where my father worked (I would've panicked long before that, actually...)

I kind of hoped that she would meet her grandparents... I'm wondering what happened to them (and to Harry consequently...) There are so many possibilities. For all I know they could've never married at all. I've been thinking that without Voldemort the "Mudblood incident" could've never happened, and Lily could've ended up with Snape instead. But this is just one of my many conjectures on the matter...

Let me tell you... You. Are. A. GENIUS!!!
I can't believe you included Miriam (I didn't make the connection immediatly, even if I knew that I should've known the name...)
Maybe Lily can suggest her to take a trip to Africa? :P

I'm so upset about Martha... Obviously being friend with Lily and kind of adopted by the Chosen One would have more than an effect on her life. It's still so sad to see her like that. And poor Lily, that was too much for her to bear after everything else she'd experienced all day...

I really hope you'll manage to have another chapter up soon! And I also hope that things will bright up for Lily.

Brilliant work on this, honey! Can't wait to read more!
Hugs,
Chiara

Author's Response: Chiaraaa ♥ ♥ ♥

She is dealing with everything remarkably well (until the end of the chapter at least) - I definitely wouldn't be able to keep it together that long. I think hanging out with Marta and lying about everything really helped her learn to think on her feet :P

:D I love that you're thinking about all these possibilities. That is exactly what I was aiming for with this story - just to raise lots of questions and make people think a lot about possibilities ehehe. There is literally no end to all the things that could occur after changing something that far back in time! So... I love your theories :D

Ahahaha, yes Miriam is in this story! And actually (ready for a ridiculous story? I don't think I'm spoiling anything by saying this - and as far as I know you're the only person who's read all my stories and therefore you'd appreciate this) she's the second of my OC's from another story to appear in here; most of my other OC's will probably appear in this story too! Just because anything is possible in a story about alternate dimensions :P The other one was more obscure, but it was Mrs Stebbins the old lady at Gladrags, who was Mandy from TBAH (her married name was mentioned once in the epilogue)

now that I've gone on the most unrelated tangent... yeah Marta is certainly not doing too well - and this whole encounter made it so clear to Lily how important she is in Marta's life. :(

I'm hoping to have another chapter up soon! But I'm prioritizing our collab fic first haha

THANK YOUUU SO MUCH ♡


 Report Review

Review #18, by Unicorn_Charm Tabula Rasa

3rd July 2015:
Um... OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD!! You have NO idea how excited I was when I saw that this was updated!! *frolic* I was just thinking about this story the other day, too. I'm so happy!

The overwhelming feeling of loneliness that is carried all through this chapter is just amazing. The entire time reading this, I had an uneasy feeling, like I could feel how scared and completely alone (even though she does kind of have this version of Lance) Lily felt.

I don't know how she covered so quickly in the Ministry in the beginning. How she was able to so quickly come up with the story of being adopted, growing up in Australia and then being Lance's adoptive sister. It was very quick and super impressive. I don't think I would be able to thinking of something on the spot like that. I'd probably "hmmm... uh... err..." a lot haha.

I think it's cool that this Lance, even though he doesn't know her at all, is sticking with her and making sure she's alright. Even though it's evident that he doesn't trust her at all yet. It seems like he's getting there, just slightly, but he is still uber suspicious.

Oh I was so hoping that she would meet James and Lily! When (hopefully) it does happen, I can only imagine how awkward and stressful that's going to be. And does Harry even exist?? I feel like Harry doesn't exist here. I'm thinking that because there was no Voldemort that Lily and James wouldn't have married so young, therefore wouldn't have had Harry. Gah! I know you can't tell me, but I'm itching to know!! :)

Oh boy, Marta in this universe certainly fell on hard times. I could almost smell the sweat, shame and despair that was hovering around in the last scene of this chapter. The poor thing. I mean, yeah she was kind of rude (very rude), but at the same time, she doesn't know Lily from Adam right now. So it's kind of understandable? I hope that Lily got through to her a little bit.

My heart is so broken for her! I can't even imagine how scary and lonely being in Lily's situation would be. To not have anyone you know know you. And to possibly find out that some of your own family doesn't exist. I would have broken down too.

This was such a great chapter and I'm so, so, so thrilled that I saw this was up! I can't wait for the next chapter, I truly love this story!! Keep up the amazing work!! ♥ ♥

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: I keep re-reading this wonderful review I can't get over how much I love it (and you!) Thank you!!! I'm so glad you were so excited to see a new chapter of this - I know it's been ages, so it's really wonderful to hear that it's still exciting!

Wow thank you, that is definitely something I was hoping to convey although I'd never really put words to it - it was all kind of subtle, but now that you mention it this chapter was definitely about loneliness. That's wonderful to hear that it was so present throughout, thanks!

I think if I were in Lily's place, I'd just panic rather than coming up with anything convincing. But since she's been Marta's best friend for about seven years, she's picked up a few skills such as proficient lying! :p

Lance really is a good guy. But yeah, totally doesn't trust her at all - I don't know that I'd trust anyone that soon either, especially after their weird first meeting. But he has figured out that he's the only help she's got at this point.

ehehehehe. All I'm going to say is that I LOVE how much you theorize about this story and put out all these great predictions. You're thinking about this story exactly the way I was hoping people would think about it!

Poor Marta :( Life has not been easy for her. I think Lily and Iris really had a calming effect on her, but here in this universe with Marta having never met Lily, she never had that shoulder to lean on. And while original-Marta isn't necessarily very refined, this Marta is bitter and therefore much more rude. I don't know what I'd do in Lily's place if this was the case with one of my friends! Probably just cry. Poor Lily :(

Aw, thank you so much! You are wonderful! I really appreciate the review and I'm so glad you're still so invested in this story. I can't make any promises on timing for the next chapter, but I'll do my best to make it soon ;)



 Report Review

Review #19, by wolfgirl17 Inferno

29th January 2015:
So I told you I'd get here eventually!

Happy belated Puff review seat day. I've been such a slacker and have missed so many people, but i'm here now and that's what counts.

This story is so far from anything I've read before that I have to admit it did throw me a little. I mean, I'm used to the idea of time-travel, but inter-reality travel is another things entirely. It's a really cool idea, so kudos for something so original.

Keep up the great work. =) Your requested story about Lucius from me is ready too, and just waiting for the queue to open up before I can slot it in and gift it to you. Thanks for such a great idea for it.

xx-Ellie

Author's Response: Ellie! *hugs* No worries on it being belated as I still owe you a review on the Lucius story you wrote for me! And loads of hot seat reviews. Real life can be a mess! :p

I'm glad this story kind of threw you a little - I'm definitely trying some new things with this story and can tell you already that it's going to be strange and sciency. I'm really glad to hear you say it's original though, thank you!

Thanks so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #20, by likeness_of_a_seabird Cultivated Arts

21st January 2015:
Hufflepuff Hot Seat Review, round three!

Oh, Marta. Stealing Ministry property just like that… and from the Department of Mysteries, at that! Don’t they have alarms or something at that place? Or are they simply assuming no one would dare to take anything from there? If that’s the case, they’re being very careless with potentially dangerous artefacts. Or maybe they simply didn’t think to make the department Marta-proof (is anything Marta-proof)? At any rate, her line “It’s probably really cool, does something interesting… or at least it’s expensive.” made me laugh though. Classic Marta. It’s nice that she realized she could get Lance into trouble for taking the mystery cube and is honestly sorry.

Poor Lily. Even at a seedy Muggle bar there are people who will recognise her. Luckily Marta is there to save her. “We live in a batik tent and we can do palm reading, card tricks, pull rabbits from hats, you name it! We can be contracted for birthday parties as well, when’s your birthday?” Another great line (seriously, how do you come up with all these great lines?)!

“What’s the harm if I examine it a little before we do so?” What’s the… Lily, you should never examine something that comes from the Department of Mysteries so casually! That place is dangerous! They keep brains in a fish tank! Or they used to keep brains in a fish tank, but that’s not the point! Just don’t go pushing any buttons!

…Now you’ve done it. Seriously speaking, I’m really curious to see what happens next. Will a wormhole open right in the middle of the kitchen and send Lily to a parallel universe? Or something else entirely? And how come Iris and Julian don’t notice the strange humming and come investigate? I suppose I’ll have to wait until next chapter to find out.

Another great chapter!

- Emmi

Author's Response: Marta is not the greatest critical thinker. If she stole it off someone's desk then they probably didn't have desk alarms or something, but maybe now would be a good time for them to implement alarms :p And, as you have guessed correctly, nothing is Marta-proof :p She may not think about others first, but she doesn't have any desire to intentionally hurt anyone.

Bahaha. I loved writing that scene! I swear, Marta just writes herself. Even I have no control over her. :P

Wise advice. If you were in the same situation as Lily, I'm sure you wouldn't get yourself into the same predicament! Lily is a bit like her father in that she can't keep her nose out of things that aren't her business. :p As for the humming, it wasn't that loud - loud enough for Lily to hear it, but not loud enough to be heard from the other room where Iris and Julian were.

So glad you liked this chapter! Thanks for your review :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by writeyourheartout Prologue

20th January 2015:
KRISTIN. I AM HERE WITH THE SEAT OF HOTNESS FOR YOU DAY. YESH.

What in the world is happening in this story. O_O

I feel I should state that I mean that in the best way possible! :-p But seriously, what is going on!?! hahaha

That opening is just beyond intriguing. Everything about it is a mystery to me at the moment - one I'm pretty desperate to figure out! Like... who's the Captain?? And if the majority of this story is from Lily's POV, WHAT DID SHE DO TO CAUSE THINGS. This line: Lily tried to change history and see what could have been, and only burned in the end. - UM WHAT?!!! Must know more.

Remembrance Day ♥ And what you said about how days like that do fade as time passes... Too true. It's so much sadder when you put it into this perspective for me, as well. Doesn't seem right we should forget or stop caring so much about such important days where the lives of so many brave people were lost. :(

HAHAHA The names thing is hilarious. You're always so brilliant with humor.

And details, too! (I mean, really everything - let's be honest - but humor and details are what I'm focusing on at the moment, so there.) Like the way you introduce us into her home-life via small glimpses of her roommates - a social life, what's that? - and how Arthur has influenced Albus to start up a plug collection! hahaha Already your characters feel so three-dimensional to me.

Lily, naturally, stands out above the rest. I love the comparison to her namesake and how people expect that she'll magically take after Lily Evans simply because she was named after her, when in reality she's quite different - and in a way that seems to not be ideal. Poor thing. But I love it - she feels so authentic and substantial as a person, and her dry humor is perfection. I'm really loving being inside her head and following her narration. You've crafted an excellent version of Lily, my dear. ^.^

AND THEN THE ENDING. HELLO! I see what's a-brewing here now! AND I'M VERY EXCITED ABOUT IT. Well... except clearly something goes terribly wrong, doesn't it? hahaha I have no idea what's in store for this fic, and that absolutely thrills me. I'm very excited to see where it all goes.

This is a great first chapter, Kristin - just like everything you write! Stahp being so amazing. (Just kidding, don't stahp.) - I learned that trick from your Lily. ;)

LERV YER.
Tanya

Author's Response: Aw! Your reviews always put such a smile on my face!

Um, yes. This story is weird. I feel like there needs to be a warning for that, or at least I should put in a disclaimer or something so people know what they're getting into. ADVISORY: BIZARRE. :p But yeah, 'what is going on?' is pretty much the reaction I was going for :p

MUAHAHA. Things that will be explained later. Much later. :P

I'm so glad you like the idea of a Remembrance Day. It is sad when you think about it, how a lot of today's holidays are just days, and there's no longer as much attention put on why it's a day off work and such.

Haha, glad you liked the bit about the names. The names in the epilogue were my least favourite thing about the HP series. :p Sometimes this story is less of a fanfic and more a chance for me to comment on things under the guise of a fictional character XD

Thank you so much! I'm so glad you like the details as a way of introducing characters, as well as the glimpses into her life, family and friends.

I think having the same name as someone does invite comparisons, and in Lily (II)'s case where her namesake is such a hero, Lily doesn't really compare favourably - at least not at the moment when she's unemployed and kind of jaded. I am so glad to hear she feels like an authentic person! Thank you!

Ehehehe. If everything went well, there would be no story! :P

Aw, thank you! Stahp making me blush with your amazing compliments! :P

LERV YER TER.
(10 points to Hufflepuff if you can actually understand me.)

♡ ♡


 Report Review

Review #22, by crestwood Inferno

15th January 2015:
Hi Kristin! I got super sidetracked on tumblr looking through hpff blogs but I've finally crawled my way out of that pit and come to type up your review.

This is so awkward that someone else is living in her flat and she looks like she's breaking in! I would be freaking out a whole lot more if I was Lily and lost the cube though, she is way more levelheaded than I am.

The woman is wearing a hijab, I love that detail. I can't believe she got the police called on her, that's hilarious. Also--fellytone and Muggle Aurors!! I have a thing for Wizards Not Getting Wizard Things. I pretty much laugh any time that happens in any capacity.

I guessed that Lance wouldn't know her in this universe, but I suppose she's just lucky he did still live in the same place. I know she asked for a universe where Voldemort never existed, but it's still really creepy that Lance has never heard of him.

I love the 'tell them everything you know about them in order to prove you know them' trope. I'm not sure why, but I just imagine it really takes them by surprise and it'd be kind of super funny to watch happen? I want to live in a sci-film novel if you can't tell.

Colin Creevey is Head Auror!! He's one of my favorite characters and I like the idea of him living long enough to become someone important like that

No Statute of Secrecy is pretty awesome. To think that Voldemort wanted to get rid of it and in this world were he was never born, it's actually gone is really ironic and I like this. So, flying saucers are a thing in A World Without Voldemort. That's such a strange thing to be influenced by that. MOANING MYRTLE IS MINISTER. This story is amazing because it says such funny stuff with such a straight face. Like, Lance doesn’t even bat an eye at saying that Moaning Myrtle is minister. Of course, he doesn't know her as that, but STILL. It's SO funny.

I cannot wait for you to continue with this. It's not what I normally read on this site, (because no one writes it!!) but it is so fun and awesome, so I just want more! I'll be back here as soon as you update, I've got to know what happens next. Thank you for the swap!

Author's Response: Hi Joey! No worries. I understand how distracting the internet can be haha.

Lily is quite levelheaded - she's quite a proficient liar, and I feel like you've probably got to be well versed at keeping panic under wraps in order to be convincing.

I'm pleasantly surprised about how well that character has been received, given that she has such a minor role. but yeah I felt a lack of representation there so this was like one tiny step to remedy that. And yes, randomly appearing in someone's house probably would get the police called on you :p I'm glad you liked Lily's ignorance of Muggle things haha, that sort of thing always makes me laugh too.

Yep. Lily is going to find out that some things are very different. I'm glad you liked that bit where she told Lance his own life story. I can't even imagine how weird it would be with this sort of thing happening. If someone did that to me I'd freak out. XD

Yes, Colin's alive! in addition to having fun with spaceships and sciency things, this fic is really just an excuse for me to bring anyone who died back to life so I can live happily in denial. :P

There is a lot of irony in that haha. I wonder how Voldemort would feel about this world. I'm glad you liked the bit about Moaning Myrtle :p This story is sometimes just silliness masquerading as serious fic.

I'm thrilled to hear that you're so excited about reading on! I should be getting back into writing this soon. :) Thanks so much for the swap!


 Report Review

Review #23, by pottered  Inferno

12th January 2015:
OMG.
This was so good??? So GOOD. Just amazing. I loved this chapter so much omg first I thought that she had travelled in a universe where wizards didn't exist (SILLY) but then lance appeared and I love him even more now. I'm so looking forward to the next chapters, this keeps getting interesting.
I certainly miss iris, and Marta, I hope they are here as well and lily finds the answers she seeks in the ministry.

(: x

Author's Response: Gah, thank you so much! I'm thrilled that you liked this chapter so much! Also I love that you're making all these guesses as you read, it's fun to see people's reactions and I love writing stuff that makes people think. So yay, thank you :)

Iris and Marta... well, I won't say much due to spoilers, but I'll just say that you haven't seen the last of them. :) Lily's trip to the Ministry is in the next chapter which I am writing as we speak! Hopefully will be done soon :)

Thank you so much for all your reviews today!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #24, by pottered  Playing with Fire

12th January 2015:
OK so I forgot to say in the last review that I LOVE the potter family a lot and lol the review the old author left for James' book on the daily prophet, was so funny.
And omg this chapter! Brilliant.
Ooh I wonder where lily is, probably in the marauders era?? I THINK.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I had so much fun writing the Potter family and I would kind of love to be a guest at their dinner table or something :p Glad you liked Lockhart's absurd review of James' book as well. Poor James :p

Good guess! That actually would have made a cool story too :p I'm so glad you like this chapter, thanks for your review!


 Report Review

Review #25, by pottered  Cultivated Arts

12th January 2015:
omg Lily's ex ANNA, a she
SHE
A girl
IM SO HAPPY! I love slash stories, I adore slash stories especially girls.
And omg the muggle pub part was so funny and good. I love Marta so much and lily too sooo much.
The cube came to life.
oh my god
(runs around the house, screaming)

Author's Response: Yep ;) I'm glad you like slash stories! Romance won't actually be a huge part of this story - although it's present, it'll end up being kind of the side plot to all the crazy sci fi stuff that's happening.
Hehe I'm glad that part was so exciting :D
Thanks for your review!!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>