Reading Reviews for Icarus
  
39 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Unicorn_Charm Inferno

14th December 2014:
Hiya!! I just had to keep going after that last chapter.

Oh poor Lily! I can't even imagine how scary that all would be. Some strange woman lives in your place, one of your best friends doesn't even know you, your father doesn't work in the same place he did, Muggles know about Wizards and Moaning Myrtle is the Minister of Magic! Craziness! She must feel so alone and frightened. I don't know how she didn't just curl into a ball and sob. I might have.

I don't blame Lance for being so hesitant. She's right, he doesn't even know her. It must have been a little strange to have this random show up at your door, claim they know you and everything about you, and appear to be running from the cops. I wouldn't want to let her in either haha. But it shows what a good person he is that he took her in, albeit very reluctantly.

I really can't wait to see what else is different besides Colin being the head of the Aurors, Cedric being alive and Spacecrafts existing. This already seems like an extremely futuristic world and I'm dying to read more about it!

I'm wondering if it's just Lily who doesn't exist in this universe or all 3 of them Potter kids. Ginny and Harry may not even be married at all! He might be with like Hermione or something. Harry and Ron might not even be friends. There's so much that could be different with James and Lily not being murdered by Voldemort. I'm really excited to see where you go with all of this!

I so cannot wait for the next chapter! Hope there's an update really soon!! ♥

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Meg! Ahh! You are the best! ♥

Yeah, it's definitely a big change! She's decent at thinking on her feet, given what an experienced liar she is, but yeah, "flee from the scene and hope your neighbor will help" is probably the solution I'd go for as well!

It must have been super weird for Lance. I can't even imagine someone showing up and telling me all about my life, my first instinct would be that they're some sort of undercover spy. Lance is a really good person - Lily is lucky that she ran into him first rather than someone like, say, Marta.

Omg, I LOVE that you are wondering all these things and have all these fantastic theories. This is exactly the thought process I went through when I was planning out the story because ANYTHING could be different muahaha. I'm thrilled to hear you are excited about the story! With any luck I'll be writing the next chapter soon.

Thanks so much for your review!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #2, by teh tarik Cultivated Arts

14th December 2014:
Ooh, the cube steals dishes?!? Does it get its energy from dishes? AND MARTA ROBBED THE DEPARTMENT OF MYSTERIES GAHAHA. Good lord, that girl is going to be in so much trouble if anybody finds out. (Will Marta go into the parallel universe with Lily???)

Ahh, I LOVE the Potter family dinner! James the Writer whose only positive review is from Lockhart>! Albus speaking Chinese? And Lily spewing lies about her nonexistent job muahaha I LOVE THIS FAMILY. ♥

Ooh, ooh, can't wait to see what happens with the cube!!

Another amazing chapter my dear. ♥

-teh

Author's Response: Who knows what the cube does. Certainly Lily doesn't. :p Wow dish powered, it'd be like totally clean energy ahaha. Marta is a loose cannon! I think she's the only one who can't see how much trouble she'll be in...

So glad you loved the Potter family dinner! :D Ahaha I love the idea of James as a kind of failing author. He should tap into the Seer/Mystic side of himself, I hear there's loads of money in that. ;)

Thanks so much for your awesome reviews, teh! ♥


 Report Review

Review #3, by Moonyxluna Inferno

14th December 2014:
Hey Kristin! Happy Hufflepuff hot seat day! :)

SWELL. Lily.. swell. That opening scene was hilarious. Lily was so pleasantly awkward there! (and yay representation :D - it's so minor, but I love seeing it.)

I'm just sitting here as I read her checking for her wand just trying to imagine all of the possibilities for a world without Voldemort.. I can't even think! Would Lily even exist?? *must read on*

AW Lance still lives there! I really liked that touch. And I kind of figured he wouldn't recognize her, but it's still bittersweet to read.

Oh god it's everything I didn't think of. Cedric! I'm so excited (if you can't tell) for all of the little things that are going to show up in this story. The whole interaction between the two was hilarious, and soo awkward. And the part where she asks But you've heard of me? - where she has to --attempts to -- use her parent's name was entertaining.

So I decide that maybe it's time to find Lily and James the first - I dunno if this was intentional or not, but did you mean Albus and James here? or is she looking for herself? Or her grandparents? (Really though, I blame my confusion on Harry naming his children.)

I love Lance's curiosity, and how it seems to be the link between him sending her away and helping her. And Myrtle as the Minister of Magic! Of course, I jumped a little bit from SPACESHIPS being a thing, but I love all of the tiny little touches you're putting in.

I like the moment when she's sort of realizing just how different everything is. I get the impression that she didn't realize just how intertwined her direct life was with Voldemort, and that it's all sort of coming out for her now.

I don't want to wait for more! I do hope you have more in the works for this; it's been so entertaining! I can't wait to see what happens if/when she meets Harry.. and just everything! The possibilities are seemingly endless. Lovely work!

Julie

Author's Response: Ahaha, I think it'd be hard to NOT be awkward when something like that happens. And yay for representation! :)

So many possibilities yeah. Planning this story out did a number on my brain! Ah, I love that you are considering all the possible repercussions of no Voldemort. :D

Aw, yeah it was kind of sad to write Lance not knowing her. But as she is realising, things are about to get pretty different. Other than the fact that Lance doesn't seem to know her, at least he is pretty constant...

Cedric is alive! And Colin! One of the best things about writing this story is I can bring anyone I want to back to life XD And I know hahaha, after all she does to try escaping her famous name, now she has to use it!

I did mean Lily and James (her grandparents). But yes I completely understand why that's confusing. UGH HARRY. WHY

Ha, I like what you pointed out about Lance's curiosity - that may indeed have been a large part of the reason why he helped her. I thought the idea of Myrtle as the Minister of Magic was just so outlandish that it needed to happen. After all, anything is possible! :p So glad you're excited about spaceships! They will indeed make a return.

I do have more in the works! Haha, I was working on this for NaNo which sucked out all my enthusiasm for it, but now that I've sufficiently ignored the story for a month now, I'm getting back into it. Hopefully won't be too long of a wait!

I'm thrilled that you are liking this story! Thanks so much for another wonderful review!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by likeness_of_a_seabird Prologue

14th December 2014:
Hufflepuff Hot Seat Review!

Wow, that was a really interesting prologue! I'm particularly curious about that Captain's log at the beginning and can't wait to find out who the captain is and why they were so glad to have a passenger who wasn't as fatalistic as the rest of them (I have already an idea why that might be so I'm curious to see if my theory is correct).

I really like your interpretation of Lily, particularly the fact that she knows she could easily get a job by using the "famous relatives" card but refuses to do so. Also, I like how she is not too thrilled about being named after her grandmother because people are expecting them to be alike. I can easily see that happening.

Albus collects plugs! That's so funny! I can just imagine what the conversations between him and Arthur would be like! ^_^

I'm really intrigued to see what's going to happen next! Great job on the beginning!

- Emmi

Author's Response: Hi Emmi!

I'm so glad you liked the prologue, and the mysterious captain's log. Mm, I love that you're making theories already! That is really the intention of that captain's log so that's great to hear :D

So happy that you like my portrayal of Lily as well, and her sort of resentment about her name, I'm glad it seemed realistic.

Ahaha, I really wanted Arthur's plug collection tendencies to live on. I figured he had to want one of his grandchildren to appreciate Muggle weirdnesses the way he does! :p

Thanks so much for your review - glad you enjoyed this chapter! :D


 Report Review

Review #5, by teh tarik Old and New

14th December 2014:
Hey again!

Ooh, Marta is such a character! Bahaha, I can so totally imagine Lily and her rummaging through Muggle rubbish bins together. And Marta trying to secretly call the paparazzi on Lily and her family just so she can have her moment of fame! And I love the story of how they gradually became friends. So Marta was like a kind of stalker back in Hogwarts, trying to snap pictures of Lily and sell them to the newspaper. She's like a crazy Colin Creevey! Love her!

And I love the contrasts between Iris and Marta as well; they're pretty much extreme opposites of each other with Lily being somewhere in the middle. Iris seems to have the most perfect life of all: she has a cool kitten-cuddling job, is engaged, has an active social life, etc. Neighbour Lance is an interesting sort of bloke...and there's possibly some chemistry between him and Marta already? :P

That silver cube! WHAT IS IT! I really can't wait until you introduce the sci-fi elements of the story! I know these chapters have been mostly setting up the characters, but I've enjoyed them! Your characters are such a unique and sometimes hilarious bunch and I can't wait to see what you do with them.

Fab chapter!

-teh

Author's Response: Haha, yeah it's sort of a compromise, because if given her own way Marta would just steal - this way is both effective and legal and keeps Lily out of the camera eye. Ooh, I love the comparison to 'a crazy Colin Creevey' - yes, I think that sums her up pretty well :D

I'm glad you like the kind of odd balance of their friendship. Lily is definitely right in the middle - she's sort of similar to Iris in personality but more like Marta in terms of her life not being entirely together :p Lance is pretty interesting. I didn't actually intend for him to become a main character, but then he decided he didn't like that and wrote himself into the plot. And yes, there's some... one-sided chemistry :p

Sci-fi elements are coming soon - I'm so glad you've enjoyed the exposition chapters and are finding them unique and hilarious, that's so great to hear. Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #6, by teh tarik Prologue

14th December 2014:
Hufflepuff Hot Seat yay!

Kristin! ♥ Holy cow, how did I not know about this story of yours! Parallel universes and possible time paradoxes (at least I'm guessing what's going to happen...)? I love it.

That opening log entry was so so intriguing...what is that ship? Who wrote it? Gah, I'm hooked!

I love how you've characterised Lily so far; I'm loving her narration. There's the sense that she's definitely bored with her life and not really enjoying fame that much. I love all the references to the extended family: Molly and Arthur...and Albus of all people has taken up Arthur's hobby of plug-collecting hahahaha. :P Also, LOVE how disgruntled Lily sounds when she refers to her name, and to the names of her brothers and how they're all named creatively after dead people. I laughed quite a bit at the part about her, James and Albus being named after James I, Lily I and Snape and the whole messy triangle. She's right; I just wonder why Harry would even do this to his children. :P

Ooh, does Lily want to tamper with time just so she can meet all her dead family members? HIGHLY INADVISABLE, LILY. (But go ahead and do it, anyway, or we wouldn't have a story :P )

Brilliant start, Kristin! I can't wait to find out more. :)

-teh

Author's Response: Yay, I'm glad to hear this zany story premise sounds interesting! :D

The opening log entry is there to raise many questions and no answers, at least not for a while >:-D muahaha. But I'm so glad that it intrigues you!

Aw, thank you! I am so thrilled that Lily's narration and her resentment of fame are entertaining. I thought the idea of a plug collection was so hilarious and obviously something that had to be passed down through the generations! :D

Ahaha, yeah I really was not subtle about my distaste for all the next gen names. But I figured Lily might feel the same way, given the shadow she's grown up in because of who her parents and grandparents were.

EXTREMELY INADVISABLE but wouldn't it be exciting anyway? ;)

Thanks so much for your review and I'm so glad you liked this!


 Report Review

Review #7, by Unicorn_Charm Playing with Fire

13th December 2014:
Hiya!! Here for our swap! :)

I've been meaning to come back and continue on with this. RL kicked my butt the last few weeks though. But I'm here now! :)

This chapter had a very high anxiety feel about it. I was on the edge of my seat from the time she first dipped into that alternate universe in the beginning until the end. It was just all very unnerving.

I absolutely loved that idea of tons of alternative realities existing due to different choices that people have made throughout their lives. That is such an interesting concept. I mean, could you imagine? You never really know. It could totally be a thing that happens.

I imagine it must be kind of awkward for Lily to hear about her grandmother Lily. I feel like she, James and Albus would have grown up thinking of James and Lily as more of legends than relatives, if that makes sense. So I'm sure hearing something as mundane as "Lily couldn't wear pink," would have been a little refreshing for her to hear. It humanizes her. They probably have heard every story about what a hero and wonderful person she was. I just really liked that little detail a lot.

On a related note, hearing that seemed to really prompt Lily's decision to see that universe where her grandparents could have still been alive. Maybe that little tidbit of information resonated with Lily the same way. That it made her grandmother seem more like a person. A person she would want to get to know.

Well I'm guessing her dropping that cube was not a good thing at all. If she doesn't have that, she's pretty much stuck, isn't she? Yikes! And I'm dying to know who's home she's in and who the woman is that's gawking at her.

I really, really liked this chapter. It left me feeling extremely uneasy, which is fantastic! Excellent job! I can't wait to see what happens in this new world she's travelled to. :)

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: I know exactly what you mean about the high anxiety feel, it's exactly what I felt reading the most recent chapters of Saving Severus Snape :p

Thanks, I'm glad you like the multiple realities stemming from choices concept. That's not my own original idea, I've seen it in sci-fi shows and always thought it was just such a mind-blowing concept as it gets so close to infinity it's just beyond comprehension. Gah!

Exactly! I like what you said about Lily (I) being more of a legend than a real person, and hearing from Mrs Stebbins reminds her that Lily (I) was a real person with idiosyncrasies and friends just like any real person has. I'm so glad you pointed that out.

Although yes, you're right, it did have the unfortunate consequence of prompting her to want to meddle with things. ;)

I'm so thrilled that you liked this chapter! Your feedback is so wonderful and makes me smile every time. Thanks so much!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #8, by Aphoride Prologue

13th December 2014:
Hi there! So I am a huge canon fan, but the idea of this was just so cool, and the summary sounded so interesting, so I just had to come by to this one! :)

I love the whole set-up of it. How you don't give away much, but drop little hints and things about what's going to happen, what Lily's going to get herself into and how she's going to handle it. Having the little section at the top with the part of the log by the captain of the ship (which is in itself a little thing I wanna know more about! Why is she on a ship? Wah, sounds so cool!) is so clever - just gives enough to reel the reader in ;)

I love how you've characterised Lily, as well, with her being so disatisfied with fame and fed up with it and not really understanding why so many of her family are named after dead people. I think it's so true to life - people who are often removed from the situation don't always get it, particularly kids. It just seems to alien to them, so I loved how you included that. I love as well how she wishes she could have met her grandparents - and it's again so real: my dad's dad died when he was young, so I've never known him and it's the same kind of thing. As well, I really like how she doesn't want to rely on fame, and so she's not super-clever or talented or successful; instead, she's broke and jobless. It gives her this really nice sense of independence, which I love.

As always, your writing is lovely, and there are so many details in this which really bring it to life. It's so good! I really loved how she described her siblings and family - it could have been list-like, I think, with how many of them, but you wrote it so well, it was all just like anecdotes and really felt like someone talking to you and saying those things.

I'm so so curious to know where this goes, as well. Obviously she crosses over into a different time stream, but how? And where in it does she end up? Who does she meet? What happens while she's there? Gah, I'm so curious and you've left so many threads hanging it's wonderful :)

This is a really, really brilliant first chapter; we will have to swap again at some point so I can read more :P I really loved this! :)

Thank you so much for the swap! :)

Aph xx

Author's Response: Hi! Haha, I'm a huge canon fan as well, which makes me wonder how this story ever ended up existing. I suppose it starts out canon! :p I'm really glad to hear it sounds interesting despite being AU though!

I'm so happy to hear that it was the right amount of information revealed for the prologue! I'd never done a story with a prologue before, so it was kind of a wild guess at how much to put in :p And I'm thrilled you liked that bit about the ship hehe.

Aw, thank you! I'm so glad you like Lily's characterization and that she seems real, that means a lot to me. That's exactly what I was hoping to show there, about the disconnect for people who are removed from the situation. As well I think that since Harry was always awkward about his fame/hero status, that he wouldn't raise his kids to take advantage of that fame either. Outside of her fame Lily is pretty normal.

Gah, thank you for saying my writing is lovely *blushes* It is so wonderful to hear that the story seems alive in the details and anecdotes, and that you are curious to find out what's going to happen! Soo many threads hanging indeed. This prologue is basically one of those fringe dresses from the 1920's. XD

Thanks so much for the swap and your fantastic review!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #9, by Moonyxluna Playing with Fire

12th December 2014:
I had to come back for more :P (Okay, let's be honest. I wrote like half of this out as I was reading the same day, but excuses... heh. I'm here!)

I was okay when Lily was looking. I was thinking "okay, she probably shouldn't be doing that, but it's just showing pictures, right? I mean.. Loki could just pop out at any second, but she's just looking.

and then Lily STICKS HER HEAD IN IT.

I think her magical background helps her not immediately give things away when she is in the new dimension. She's used to out of the ordinary things happening, so she sort of seems to immediately accept it, which helps keep her the only one in the loop about what's going to be going on.

There are no pictures of Marta in the other universe, though :/

Just casually hopping dimensions on her kitchen floor :D

She's too curious for her own good! I know Lance didn't exactly give her warnings in his speech, but that doesn't mean she should be messing with things like that! haha. Red hair does NOT match a lot of things! (I had to stay away from that color because none of my clothes matched anymore :p ) But it's sort of bittersweet, how she definitely could.. and probably will.. see what could happen without Voldemort.

As the summary of the story suggests :p moving on!

So far, this is exactly what happened last time... - oh jeez, she's jinxed it now.

I really loved the descriptions of the actual 'universe traveling' - I really felt like I could visualize everything that was happening to Lily. You create such a good narrative voice for her that makes this enjoyable to read and makes Lily very relateable.

Can't wait to see what happens next! Lovely work, Kristin!

Julie

Author's Response: Julie!! Hi again :D

Hahaha... looking was fine, but Lily does take after her Dad, in that she sometimes doesn't know when to mind her own business! :p

She is a pretty good liar, and maybe that helped her keep it together pretty well haha. At least not too many things were different, which probably made it easier.

Oh you know. What's a little dimension hopping every now and then. :P

That's very true - Lance didn't give her warnings, because he didn't realize the questions weren't hypothetical. I tell you, if Lily had listened to all the reviews on this story, she never would have gotten into such a mess! :p

I'm so glad you like Lily's narrative voice and the descriptions of the universe travelling! I was worried the universe travelling would make no sense, so this is very reassuring haha :D

Thanks soo much for your review!!


 Report Review

Review #10, by BookDinosaur Inferno

9th December 2014:
Review Battle!

How did I not know there was a fifth chapter of this up?! Gosh I'm lucky I had a look at your page for the review battle, seriously. How did I miss this?? I've favourited the story and everything! >:(

OKAY FIRST THINGS FIRST I REALLY NEED TO MENTION THIS: Iíve stepped into the scene of Ludwig, the Half-Android Dolphin Tamer II and III parts 1 and 2, the rubbish sequels about Ludwigís adventures in space and subsequent new life on another planet populated by robotic whales. THIS IS UTTER GOLD how on earth does your amazing mind come up with this stuff? Robotic whales - ahaha, that's hilarious. Someone should totally make that a real movie. I would go and watch those. (It probably says something about me that this was the first thing I needed to comment on :P )

Now onto actual, serious, constructive reviewing things - I absolutely love the way you've crafted your parallel universe. The differences like Moaning Myrtle and Colin Creevey really did emphasise how different things were, and the similarities like Lance being in the same flat and liking the same movie(s) were pretty fun. Also: the removal of the Statue of Secrecy and the invention of spaceships. Spaceships are awesome. But the real message you should be taking away here (after 'spaceships are awesome') is that I really love the way you've shaped your alternate universe. it is very alternate, and also a universe, and also awesome, which isn't in the name but is true anyway.

Aww, Lance is so nice to Lily. I wonder if Marta is in this alternate universe? And poor Lily's train of thought throughout the chapter was really fun to follow, hehe. Her reactions are completely realistic to the situation around her, and she really does seem like a real person that anyone can relate to.

OOH! Just had a thought - there was a ship log in the prologue, wasn't there? What if ship was spaceship? The spaceship is going to take Lily home!! O.O

Ooh, ooh, and I really wanted to say this before signing off - you know I lived in the Middle East for six years, and THANK YOU for including a hijabi character, no matter how briefly, in the story. I never see anyone in fanfics who are Muslim, and I think there's quite a stigma surrounding them in RL because of 9/11 and ISIS going on now, when I know plenty of Muslims who are seriously lovely people, so I just really wanted to say thank you for that representation, even if it was just for a second. ♥

Okay, this chapter was awesome and as upset as I am for not even knowing this thing was up, and missing first review, I really can't wait to see what happens next to Lily (here's to hoping that she goes onto Ludwig's planet of robotic whales!!), update soon Kristin! *hug*

Author's Response: Emilyyy! I'm glad you had a look at my page too, because then I got this lovely review from you! ♥

:D I love that you commented on that silly part there. It was like the most un-subtle jab at Hollywood ever - how any film that makes ANY money at all automatically gets a sequel or two... which are now, more often than not, divided into multiple parts, that's what the absurd numbering is about. As for the plot... yep this fic is secretly a parody :P Really don't know where the robotic whales came from.

Sooo glad you like the parallel universe! That was one of the parts I was kind of unsure about, because this begins the section where the details that I change are very specific and I need to trace literally everything back to Voldemort. There was a lot of work involved in planning this universe. So it's wonderful to hear that it makes sense and that you like it in its similarities and differences. And yes, spaceships are indeed awesome.

It's funny because Lance was not originally intended to be a main character, but he definitely is. I'm so glad you like Lily's thoughts and reactions to everything - and especially that she seems relatable (that's especially important as the plot is so out there, it's good to hear that the characters seem real.)

Hmmm... hmmm... interesting... but, my lips are sealed ;)

You're so right, there is definitely an underrepresentation of Muslims in fic (or, honestly, a lack of diversity in general!) And yeah, it makes me so sad when an entire group of people is judged for the actions of a few individuals - when most people are generally good. Anyway, I'm glad you appreciated that :)

Ooh, I like your idea. Maybe I should scrap the rest of the plot and instead write the screenplay to 'Ludwig the Half Android Dolphin Tamer'. XD Thanks so much for your review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #11, by Moonyxluna Cultivated Arts

7th December 2014:
Dad laughs, then tries to pretend he didn't - I think this just has to describe Harry and Ginny's relationship with each other concerning their kids. So cute.

Lily's family is so adorable. I love that you have James as an author; I don't think I've ever read that and it's neat and original! And Albus learning Chinese. I wonder if his mother is right and it's for a girl, or for different reasons :p Also, it's nice that they still care about Marta so much even though their kind of rough patches in history. It seems like a very 'Harry' type of a thing to do.

So we find out that the cube from the previous chapter is something Marta stole from the Department of Mysteries. I feel surprised and unsurprised all at the same time. I really love her characterization wise! But, I can't believe she doesn't see how much trouble that could get Lance in! I love the tiny flaws like this you give your characters. It gives them such a realistic personality, and makes me love this all the more.

I just want to go home and read my book. - In which Lily is me every time I go out.

Mostly just mine, but she doesn't know that - AH WAIT REALLY!? I had my suspicions, but I'm so happy right now. Aw, I love this all the more now. Thinking back to the previous chapters, Lily seems to do a good job hiding her feelings for Marta. I can't wait to see how that sub-plot develops. Does Iris know!? Don't tell me. I'll have to read on!

Ah, Lily takes what Marta says and fidgets with the cube, and now something's going to happen! She should have known better, but I still can't wait to see what comes of it!

Another lovely chapter. I love how you're developing these characters and this story.

Julie

Author's Response: I think Harry and Ginny would be really cool parents :p

So glad you liked reading about the Potter family! Haha, yeah most next-gen fics I've read that are set after Hogwarts have James as a Quidditch player, but I wanted to do something a little differently! And now I kind of love the idea of him as a really bad writer :P I'm glad you thought that seemed very 'Harry' for Harry to continue looking out for Marta despite the rough patches. :)

Yes indeed... she is something else. It's really so great to hear that you like her characterization, bad decisions and all :p

Hehehe :D Lily does do well hiding her feelings - but it explains why Lily has kind of a blind spot where Marta is concerned and will get into stupid situations with her like using stolen things.

Thank you so much! I'm really thrilled you're enjoying the story and characters - thanks for your reviews!


 Report Review

Review #12, by Moonyxluna Old and New

7th December 2014:
We've only just met Lily here, and I already love her. You give her such realistic and relateable qualities; falling asleep on the sofa and the thought that she /could/ stay in pajamas all day were wonderful.

Marta is so well thought out, too. I love the contrast she provides for Lily, with her interest in being seen by the paparazzi versus Lily's desire to be out of it. They seem like the adorable 'opposites' best friends - Lily makes sure to straighten out the flat before she leaves, (Though I don't know yet how much of that is for Iris' benefit) and she gets to Marta's house and has to throw away the whole bowl. :p

And then we meet Iris! (who's name I still love) There's the characterization differences here, too, with Iris seemingly having her whole life in order (job, engagement, purple vase) whereas Lily is unemployed and (I'm assuming) single. The three of them together are instantly likable, and I love how you've introduced them here.

HAH! I remember that game. And Marta's jabs at Lily about her attractive parents were hilarious. I have to believe there were more than just one or two schoolkid crushes on that couple :p

And the set up at the end! Ah, things are fleshing out now and I am definitely excited to see what happens when you throw in more of the SiFi element. You have this incredible set up of Lily, and all of her friends and life surrounding her; I'm excited to see what happens when that changes on her.

Lovely work so far!

Julie

Author's Response: Ah, thank you!! I'm so glad Lily is likeable and relatable. Hehe, I think the desire to stay in pajamas all day is kind of a universal feeling. :D

I'm so glad you like Marta! She is definitely a huge contrast to Lily in some ways. Lily and Iris are both very neat and picky, which is why they make good flatmates, and why Marta doesn't live with them :p

It really is so wonderful to hear that you like the main characters and their friendship together. Thank you!!

:D I loved that game way back in the day. As for Marta's jabs about Lily's parents... I imagine you're quite right. After all, they're celebrities, and for the students at Hogwarts, well most teenagers go through that phase of having a celebrity crush! :p

Thank you so much, I'm glad the set up is effective! Things are definitely going to be changing soon for Lily muahaha.

Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by Moonyxluna Prologue

7th December 2014:
Hufflepuff gift tag! You always leave me the nicest reviews so I had to snag you when I saw you posted :p

I always love reading Potter children who are characterized to detest using the Potter surname to their advantage. I think it adds such a realistic characterization to them, that they are embarrassed by their parents just like any other kid. And I got a good chuckle over all of the Potter kids being miserable about their names.

Really little, but I love the name Iris. :)

because women never get leading roles in those films - preach! lol. (No but seriously. Black Widow movie? Where is it!?)

The humor in Lily's internal monologue is so entertaining. I love all of the subtle jabs at her family, and through it you can really tell that she loves them all dearly. I am definitely giggling at Albus' plug collection.

The offset dates in the captain's log versus the actual introduction are definitely thought provoking!

Ah, after your author's note I am definitely excited to continue this! I love AU stuff like this; I always think it's so wonderful to see what authors can do with just a few characters from the HP 'verse. Moving on!

Julie

Author's Response: Aww! ♥ You're too sweet!

Hahaha, yeah, I bet they were unbearable as teenagers, because every teenager is embarrassed by their parents, but they had famous parents. XD But yeah, I just couldn't really see it any other way. Harry was always irritated by his own fame, and I felt like his children would be similar.

I'm glad you like the name :D

I KNOW! WHERE?!

It's so great to hear that you like Lily's internal monologue! Yes, it's definitely affectionate mocking :p

Hehehe. I'm glad the A/N makes you want to continue rather than give up on reading it as I threw canon to the wind! I'm a huge fan of sci-fi and the idea of writing a sci-fi HP fic really opened up the idea of AU to me. :D

Thanks for your review(s)!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #14, by patronus_charm Cultivated Arts

25th November 2014:
*ninja slides in* I am so sorry for taking aeons with this Kristin, my only sort of valid excuse is that memory has been like that of a goldfish's lately so I hope you forgive me! :P

I loved the Weasley family as they all had such exuberant personalities! First of all, I must admit I am bit creeped out/scared by Harry and how he knows all these random facts about people. I can just imagine him being this all seeing, all knowing person while he sits in his office stroking a white cat. :P Albus and James made me crack up and I thought you wrote them really well together as it was so natural and funny. Aw, Albus is adorable learning Chinese just for a girl though and I do hope we get to see more of those two as they really did make me smile.

Yay for world making! I loved Steve's it sounded so interesting and like a lot of drama had happened there before so I hope it features again. Ooh ooh ooh tension with Lily seeing her ex-girlfriend, I hope we get to see more of her as that will mean drama which will mean excitement and yeah you get the gist :P I have to say, Marta really warmed to me in this chapter even though she did kind of steal something from the Ministry she had this really cool and vibrant character which just draws people into her and you want to know more. I have a feeling the thing she took is going to be very, very dangerous and probably top-secret too so it will be interesting to see how the story develops from here.

You write humour so well because that scene with Marta and Lily changing names and being generally awkward around Conor had me cracking up throughout and I really would want to spend a day with them as I can imagine it would be fun.

Great chapter! :D

-Kiana

Author's Response: Nothing to forgive, my friend! :D (I took aeons with the response so we are even :p)

I had so much fun writing the Potter-Weasley family! And omg hahaha, it is kind of creepy when you think about it! I figured Harry would see a lot of reports about minor law enforcement issues as an Auror, and given that Marta was under his care for a while AND has something of a record, he'd have an eye out for that :p Now I'm wishing I'd added a scene in the office with a white cat and an evil grin. :D I'm glad you liked Albus and James! I kind of envisioned them as very similar to how they were in the HP epilogue, only slightly more grown-up :p

Haha, I'm glad you liked reading about Steve's - the place will actually make a reappearance later. As for Anna... only time will tell hehehe. So glad you like Marta! As I was developing her character I wondered what people would think of her because she has far more faults than good qualities and is largely devoid of morals, but she's a lot of fun to write as a character. I'm so glad you like reading about her! :D

Ha, thanks! I think it'd be so fun to spend a day with them too! Though they'd be miles ahead of me as I'm terrible at lying and they're basically professionals.

Thanks so much for your review, Kiana! ♥


 Report Review

Review #15, by LightLeviosa5443 Old and New

19th November 2014:
Hi again!

So I know myself and I was really worried that I would prioritize wrong and end up not continuing on reading this story, which made me decide that a review swap was the perfect way to ensure that I read chapter two! (sorry if you're getting sick of me :P )

I love this narration, it's so personal and spunky and just really enjoyable. I love the way she thinks and talks about herself, and the people around her and her view of the world is filtered in a way that is both amusing and very realistic. It's just a nice little nuance to the story that I definitely felt I had to compliment.

Wow, Lily might not have it all together, but at least she doesn't have rotting food sitting close to the door. That's so awful. I'm really curious as to what this friend does/is about that has prompted such a state of disorder in their flat. LOL I was not expecting her to go digging in trash bins looking for cookware and dinnerware for her friend because she tossed out a bowl. That's just... Dedication.

I love that her friend is acknowledging that Lily lives inside her head because so much of the novel so far has really been in her head, and it's nice to know that real time is happening while we see the past and her thoughts, and not just seconds as we get a quick backstory.

I really am so interested to see what Lily is going to end up doing with herself, job wise. Especially now that Iris is leaving. I love that you have her verbalize that she wants to do something on her own merit because I think that's such an important point that all of the Potter-Weasley kids would have to deal with in some way or other.

This was a really wonderful chapter, I'm so glad I started reading this story :)

Nudge me if I don't keep up on it!!

xoxo Sarah ♥

Author's Response: Haha I would never get sick of you! Thanks so much for swapping with me!

I'm so glad you like the narration and how Lily sees the world around her - and so great to hear that she's at once amusing and realistic. That's especially great coming from you as I know you write a lot of Lily Luna yourself.

Haha, Marta really is a mess - and her ambivalence to that fact may be the main reason why Lily wouldn't be roommates with her :p Marta had a rough life and still struggles to make ends meet, and as I think I mentioned in this chapter (or maybe it's the next one) she's quite prone to stealing. So Lily and Marta's dumpster diving adventure was kind of like their compromise, as it's actually legal, haha. And there's other reasons for Lily's dedication, but we'll get into those later on.

A lot of the story does take place in Lily's head! She's not that much of a talker, but I'm glad that hasn't made the story boring in any way.

Exactly - the Weasley/Potter kids are kind of in a tough situation as there's a lot of pressure and attention on them, and probably other people expecting them to fill the shoes of their parents in a way. I'm glad you liked the way that was brought up.

Thank you so much for your review!!


 Report Review

Review #16, by 1917farmgirl Cultivated Arts

19th November 2014:
Okay, you miss, are a sneaky author. I caught several things in this story that have nothing to do with this story, hehehe.

1. I see the interest in the ever interesting and arrogant, if slightly insane, Lockhart continues. Nice plug.

2. Swearing in Chinese? I'm on to you, dong ma. I am, I am.

3. So, Agatha Christy was a witch, huh? Interesting...

I knew it! I knew it! I knew Marta somehow was responsible for that cube showing up. She stole it. This can't be good at all.

You know, I don't know this new Connor dude, but I have to be a little on his side. They should be more careful what they are talking about in public. Some of us Muggles are not as dumb as we look.

Now, is Connor from the future? Is this all a set up to something? Am I overthinking? Probably.

A screen with weird writing, a strange button. HELLO LILY! You DO NOT PUSH STRANGE BUTTONS!!! Didn't your mother ever tell you about her experience with a strange diary? Man, this family needs to share personal stories.

I have a bad feeling about this. I have seen too many of these scifi things. There will be a wormhole, or a vortex, or a fluxation in the time-space continuum or something and then bad things will happen.

You should have just read that book, Lily.

Author's Response: 1. You caught me. I actually do love writing Lockhart, and I missed it. Not necessarily a plug for the other story, more like me just reliving his fun POV :p

2. Haha! This will not be a Firefly crossover, just throwing that out there. Unfortunately.

3. The titles of her books, particularly those two, were just too good to ignore!

You guessed it! Maybe I should just have you guess the entire plot and then that'll give me clues as to what I should actually write from here on out. XD

Conor does have a point. Marta can be quite self involved sometimes and not think about things like that. As for Conor being from the future, I won't say a word because I like to be evil and mysterious, but I love your hypotheses! :D

Lily inherited an unfortunate trait from her father which is that she sometimes pokes her nose where it doesn't belong!

There will be... something. Wouldn't it be cool if it was actually an ice cream machine?

Thanks so much for your review! :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by LightLeviosa5443 Prologue

18th November 2014:
Hi! Thanks so much for review swapping with me!

I've decided to read one of your more serious novels this time, and I'm so glad I did! :P Right off the bat I'm pulled into the story by the strong narration of the main character, and I really like how much of her personality shines through here. It makes the story feel spunky and fun which is a great contrast to the journal entry, but also a really great connection. The captain obviously wishes he could go with Lily and her infectious personality here makes me wonder just how she affected the lives of the crew in this alternate universe that you've mentioned. I have no idea what I'm talking about in that last bit, but I basically just really really love Lily's characterization and the way that you've handled her narration.

I love that you have her taking the time to reminisce on her family and imagine what the people who came before her were like. I'm particularly enjoying the way she's reflecting on Harry's parents and the memories that she has associated with them. I really loved the way that you made the connection between James (the first) who is dead and George who is living because it shows how we sometimes connect people in the past who we've only heard stories of, to people in our present and that's how we relate to them and feel like we know them. It's just a really cool section of the story.

This was a really great starting chapter and I think this story is going to be so interesting. This chapter flowed so well and like I said before I'm really in love with the narration and the characterization that you've shown here. I'm really interested in seeing where you take this story and thanks so much for doing a review swap with me!

xoxo Sarah ♥

Author's Response: Hehe, I don't know about 'serious'. At some points I think it's a parody disguised as a regular fic, but at other times it delves into science fiction and cause/effect pretty heavily. So I'm not sure how to classify it. :p

I am so glad that you like the contrast between the captain's log and Lily's narration, and that her personality jumps off the page to you! I was so nervous to write Next-Gen when I began this story, because after 8 years of writing fanfic I'd never once touched that era, but I find that I really like it now. :P Anyway, I'm thrilled that you liked her characterization and her style of narration.

I love what you point out about James the first and George - although it was never directly said in the chapter, that's exactly what I was getting at and I'm so glad you interpreted it that way.

Thanks so much, it really is wonderful to hear that you like the narration and the story flow! This was such a great review, thanks for the swap :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by Unicorn_Charm Cultivated Arts

18th November 2014:
Hi there! I thought I would just continue on, because I'm really enjoying this. :)

I loved that dinner scene at the Potters! It definitely reminded me of my brothers and myself. Even though we are older, we definitely regress to children when having dinner with our parents haha. That just felt so real. Harry trying to suppress a smile while they were acting like idiots was really funny. :)

I definitely felt Lily's pain at not wanting to go out. It's really annoying when you're home, comfy and reading, and then a friend bursts in begging you to go out. I do like the idea of them going to a seedy Muggle bar as opposed to the Leaky Cauldron. It seems to fit in with Lily's character and how she doesn't want to draw attention to herself.

I can't believe (well actually I kind of can) that Marta stole that odd cube thing! How in the world did she get away with it?! She really must be an expert kleptomaniac hahaha. I'm wondering if that dude they met really is just some harmless guy, hoping Marta goes home with him, or if there's something more sinister going on there. Or if he has anything to do with that cube!

Ah! I loved the Simon and Garfunkel reference/lyrics thrown in there! I absolutely love that song and thought that was fantastic. I wondered if Lily kind of had a thing for Marta. I guess this chapter answered that for me. I wonder if Marta knows...

Oh my gosh! And now something happened with the strange cube! What is going to happen?? I have to read on and find out. That was some cliffhanger there. :) Awesome chapter! I'm loving this so far. ♥

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Eeee thank youuu I can't handle how nice you are ♥ ♥

I'm so glad that dinner scene felt real to you and that you could relate to it! :D Haha, I really love writing the Potter family as I just imagine them being so cool.

Lily is pretty introverted and likes to stay out of the public eye, but her friendship with Marta does get in the way of that a bit as Marta loves attention. So that's their manner of compromise. I'm glad you thought that location seemed to fit Lily's character!

Marta really is an expert. As for the dude at the pub... I love that he is raising these sorts of questions for you. But I'm not saying anything :P

It was so funny writing that actually as I really did not originally intend to make a reference to that song at all until I realized how fitting it was, especially as I had already picked out the pseudonym Cecilia for Marta. It just wrote itself in! And no. Marta knows that Lily likes girls, but doesn't realise that she is the particular girl Lily likes. :-/

Something happened indeed. Bwahaha. I'm so glad you liked the chapter despite my evil cliff hanger. Thanks soo much for your reviews on this, really made my day. ♥


 Report Review

Review #19, by 1917farmgirl Old and New

17th November 2014:
Okay, so first off, you have a knack for writing characters! Seriously, I never in a thousand years would have thought you could take this group of dysfunctional characters and weave them together into a story, but you did! And they are so vivid in their portrayal! It's like I can see them in my head. You have given them strange flaws, but in the end that just makes them more human. Although, I'm not sure I could handle Marta as a roommate/friend. She is very intense, and I would feel the need to clean all the time as I don't do weeks old food. hehehe

Next - Wow has Lily got a voice! Not as in she was yelling or anything, but this character comes right off the pages and tells me she knows exactly who she is. There is nothing generic about her. Bravo to your writing skills!

I also love how you are melding Muggle and magical stuff in this. Though I must admit I was a little worried when Lance came over. I thought he might be a Muggle and they were going to have to hide stuff fast. Was relieved that he's Muggleborn and knows what's up.

He talks to ghosts?!?! WOW! What a job! And, do I sense that somehow, that little nugget of information will be important in the future? Of course I could have just watched too many scifi shows so who knows.

LILY, DO NOT TOUCH THE BOX!!! That can't be good! Where did it come from? Did Marta leave it? Is she not who she seems to be? Did it just appear?

I know you've never seen it, but there is this strange, pulsating cube that exists in Andromeda known as the route of ages that can take you to different times and spaces. Makes me really worried about what this box is.

Well done! Will be back for more.

Author's Response: Hi Farmgirl! Eeee, this review made my day! Thank you so much, it means so much to me that you like the way I write my characters!! Haha though you're right, they are quite a dysfunctional bunch. There is a reason Marta is a friend rather than a roommate - neither Iris nor Lily could handle that kind of mess either! :P

Wow thank you so much for that compliment about Lily's narrative voice! I am so glad she is that clear and individual, aah thank you!

Lance is actually half-blood, but his dad is a Muggle so he's quite familiar with the Muggle side of the world and can relate to the Muggle-born Iris. I realise that at this point in the story Lance's background hasn't been discussed (as I didn't realise he was going to be a main character, believe it or not), but it is a couple of chapters later :p

Talking to ghosts would be super cool. Who knows if that's actually what he does though, because Lily has no idea. This is just her nearest guess. :D

LILY SHOULD LISTEN TO YOU. I'm so glad you're intrigued about the box!

Thanks sooo much for your reviews!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #20, by 1917farmgirl Prologue

17th November 2014:
Well, this is certainly interesting! I thought for just a moment I was in the wrong place and reading a Star Trek fic, with that captain's log at the beginning! That little paragraph has me very worried for how this story is going to turn out. I'm all for the occasional AU story to stop certain people from...er...dying, but even I know better than to mess with time! Grandfather clause and all that! WATCH OUT LILY!!

I think it's interesting that Lily seems very comfortable around both magic and Muggle things. Watching movies with her neighbor but having moving pictures in her flat and a magical family.

I also think it's interesting that she doesn't really like her name. Never thought before about how the Potter kids would react to their names. Nice spin.

Sorry if this review is a little on the short side. I just wanted you to know I was intrigued and reading. Nice writing, as always!

Author's Response: Hahaha, apparently it does seem to have that feel to it, you're not the first person to mention the Star Trek similarities :P Lily would do well to listen to you, as she seems to have a different opinion...

I figured that with Hermione for an aunt, and even with her father having grown up with Muggles, Lily would be more aware of the Muggle world than your average pureblood, for example.

haha, I'm glad you liked that about the names :P No worries about a short review, short is still lovely! I really appreciate the encouragement, thanks so much!!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Unicorn_Charm Old and New

17th November 2014:
Hi there!! Here for our swap! :)

Wow, I totally forgot I was even reading this for a review swap. I lost myself completely in this chapter. Lily's inner-voice is just so well done, descriptive, entertaining, sarcastic and captivating. I felt like I was right along side her, seeing everything she was.

Marta sounds like a real treat haha. She is so the complete and total opposite of Iris. It's a wonder that they have become friends at all. I love the idea of the Potters taken in another parent-less child! I mean, she does sound like she was more of a handful than Teddy would have been, but with Harry's childhood, I could totally see that happening.

I can't even tell you how much I love that they're playing the Wizards' version on MASH! My friends and I used to play that stupid game all the time, when we were younger. It always had some crazy outcome like you would marry a movie star, be rich, yet live in a shack haha. That was such a cute little moment for the girls.

I like the characters that you have introduced us to, but I'm afraid that we will not being seeing them all for too much longer. The end of this chapter definitely was foreboding with the mysterious silver cube. I can't wait to find out what it is!

I really like how you're setting this story up. Lily is just this normal, down on her luck girl, with average friends and a not so average life. Yet, you can feel that everything is just going to be turned upside down on her. I will most certainly be continuing on. I have to know what happens next!

Thank you for doing the swap! I can't wait to read on! ♥

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Meeggg. ♡ You are too wonderful leaving me this amazing review plus an extra one!

I'm so happy to hear that the narrative is absorbing and entertaining!

Haha, Marta is certainly something else. It is quite miraculous that she and Iris are friends as they are so opposite, but hey, stranger things have happened. Iris really takes care of people, no matter how offensive she finds them. :p I'm glad you appreciate the Potters taking Marta in, too. I could see Harry's sympathies for people in that situation overcoming the fact that she's a fame magnet.

So glad you enjoyed that bit about the Wizard version of MASH! Ahaha, what a ridiculous game, but I loved it way back in the day. And yeah didn't it always turn out that way? XD

That is a very astute observation, about possibly not seeing the characters much longer. I will neither confirm nor deny it. :P But I will say that you are correct in your feeling that things are going to be turned upside down soon.

Thanks so much for your review!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Felpata Lupin Inferno

17th November 2014:
Ahah! The first review is mine this time!!!
Well, Kristin. I really have nothing to say if not... this was positively BRILLIANT!
It was absolutely delighting following Lily's train of thought in this. And Lance... Oh, he's just so sweet, Merlin bless him!
I've loved every single detail you put in here. It really is a pretty different reality, isn't it? I mean, spaceships, and no more Statute of Secrecy, and... Moaning Myrtle?!? Minister for Magic?!? I mean, seriously?!?
I really can't wait to know what's up next!
Love, hugs and kisses!
Chiara.

Author's Response: Yes it is! you win! ☆

Aw, thanks! I'm so glad you continue to enjoy Lily's thoughts. Lance really is a sweetheart - Lily is quite lucky to have met up with him first thing upon arriving in the parallel universe.

So glad you like the details of what's different. Hahahah yes Moaning Myrtle XD Everything about this story is ridiculous, I'm aware - but since it's AU I can get away with it :P

Thanks so much for another wonderful review!!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Elyssia Playing with Fire

16th November 2014:
Review Swap!

Interesting story, I've yet to read a hp scifi fic. Just curious, does the name Icarus refer at all to Cracked . com's Starship Icarus, or is it the Greek story about flying too close to the sun?

I loved the very first paragraph in chapter 1. "Captains Log" brought me right back to my childhood of watching Star Trek :D

The first two chapters seemed a bit sluggish to me, but the last two really perked up and started to flow nicely :)

I just love Marta and her disregard of every rule imaginable. She says and does things I'd love to do but am waaay too chicken for.

I like how there's a good sense of humor in the story, but with a tiny bit of decorum to balance it out.

Good story so far! I can't wait to find out how getting rid of Voldemort brings in spaceships!

Keep up the good work!
Elyssia, A.K.A. Sorcha :)

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks, I'm so glad you find it interesting! It was written for a sci-fi challenge on the forums which I was stoked about because I love science fiction - and you're right, there don't seem to be too many sci-fi's here on HPFF. The title refers to the Greek myth of Icarus who flew too close to the sun.

Ah, so glad you liked the Captain's Log! :D Another reviewer mentioned that about Star Trek as well and I think I may have been subconsciously influenced by that even though I wasn't thinking of Star Trek when I wrote it!

The first two chapters were really just a set up to introduce the characters' personalities, daily life, etc, before everything goes haywire muahaha.

Hah, Marta is definitely a wild one - she is pretty fearless! I am so glad you like her :)

Thanks, I'm thrilled that you like the balance between humour and more serious things.

Part of your question about Voldemort and spaceships will be answered very soon. There's a bit about it in the next chapter, which will be up soon!

Thanks so much for your review and I'm so honoured that you kept reading through all four chapters for the swap, thanks! ♥


 Report Review

Review #24, by Unicorn_Charm Prologue

16th November 2014:
Hey there! Here for the swap!

I always imagined that the Next-Gen kids would feel a little resentful, backward and not quite sure how to deal with their parents' fame. You wrote that so, so well with Lily here. Her issues with her namesakes, having Harry as a father and the fame of her paternal grandparents and the Weasleys. I loved her inner-monologue so much.

I really enjoyed how she doesn't want to cash in on her fame, by simply walking in somewhere and pulling, "But I'm Harry Potter's Daughter," to get a job. Being the daughter of Harry and Ginny, it doesn't seem that they would be raised to behave that way, so that felt very realistic. I got a laugh out of her thinking how she and her brother were named after people who were married and in love haha. "Gross." That was really funny. :D

The little details that you added in here, were just perfect. The name Lily wants to use, if she were to have a daughter, shows that she inherited Ginny's horrid naming skills. (Pigwidgeon?? I still can't get over that one haha) How Arthur has Al collecting plugs (which was another thing that had me laughing out loud). The kids finding The Marauder's Map. It added a lot to this.

I really felt Lily's almost despair with growing up in this famous family and wishing they could all be normal and whole. You really got through how she wished that they could be just like anyone else, and, more importantly, how she wishes their lives were never destroyed by Voldemort. It was sad seeing that even this generation still feels the sting of what had happened because of him and the Death Eaters.

This was a really interesting beginning to your story and definitely has me wanting to continue on. I'm adding this to my reading list and will absolutely be back for more! Thank you for doing the swap! Really, really well done!! ♥

xoxo Meg

Author's Response: Hi Meg!
I'm really glad you like the way I wrote Lily's discomfort with fame, and just all of her internal monologue in general. Thanks so much!

It's so wonderful to hear you say that Lily sounds realistic, in that her parents raised her to not be too entitled relying on fame. Haha and the names - it's no secret that I think all of the next gen names are silly, as they're just named after all the other characters in the series. I figured that Lily might be a tad resentful as she and her brother being named after a married couple is a bit weird.

Omg, you're so right - I had forgotten about Pigwidgeon! The worst name ever XD But thanks, I'm so glad you liked the other details and odd quirks of the family :)

That is definitely a point I was hoping to get across as it becomes quite important later, so I'm glad that's what you took away from this chapter. So happy that you're enjoying the story and thanks so much for the swap and this awesome review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #25, by Veritaserum27 Prologue

14th November 2014:
Hi there!

Here for our review swap!

I really liked this chapter! It was a great prologue - really well done. I loved the first part - it was very technical sounding, almost like I could hear Captain Kirk (haha!) reporting the ship's log into the computer. And I also really liked that you started at the end - and gave us a little taste of what was going to happen, but not too much for us to really know the whole story.

Haha! I completely agree about the names! I've always thought that Lily Luna Potter might find it a bit repulsive that she and her brother were named after a married couple.

The way you kept her going with the names and silly idiosyncrasies about her family was both light and sweet at the same time. You showed us that Lily has a bright spirit, is a bit down about her life right now, but loves and cherishes her family, despite their craziness.

I'm also in love with the SciFi idea. This story is shaping up to be really interesting.

Nice job!

♥ Beth

Author's Response: Hi Beth! I'm so glad to hear that you liked this chapter. Haha, and I love that you heard Captain Kirk's voice in the prologue - it's definitely intended to be that style of ship's log. (And now I'm wishing I'd done a Star Trek crossover :P ) And thanks, it's so great to hear that the starting with the end worked! I basically just intended to raise lots of questions with that bit ;)

Oh, the next gen names haha. My only real complaint about the entire HP series :P

You've summed up Lily's feelings perfectly - I'm glad it came across that way!

I love sci-fi, so I'm thrilled to hear that that aspect makes the story interesting! Thanks so much for your review! ♥


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>