Reading Reviews for The Death of Severus Snape
  
19 Reviews Found

Review #1, by pointless_proclamations Dying

24th August 2014:
Gladis Gudgeon,

Hello from the review tag!

What a very interesting story you have here. Quite captivating, indeed. You have a very spectacular voice on your writing. It's remarkably consistent. I love that light sprinkling of humourous sentences here and there that somehow doesn't take away from the seriousness of his death.

It's an awesome first chapter. I'll have to come back for more. :)

Cheers.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I'm glad you like the story and hope you keep reading. I'm not really a humorous author, but I felt like the chapter needed to be lightened up a bit.
Gladis Gudgeon


 Report Review

Review #2, by Veritaserum27 Forgiveness

23rd August 2014:
Hello!

Tagging you from review tag!

This was a really sweet chapter. It was perfect how Lily and Snape were children, the way that they were when he first began to fall in love with her. Heaven brought him back to a time when he wasn't possessed by blinding greed and cowardice.

I thought you got Lily's character spot on. She was kind, fun and spunky. Her feelings for Snape were deep, but not romantic and she said just the right things to know that he was forgiven and her heart held only kindness for him.

You have a few typos here and there - I'm not going to point out any of the specifics, but if you don't already have a beta reader for this story, you might want to consider one.

I like the progression of Snape in this chapter. At the beginning he is very hung up on his own misfortune and shortcomings - the way that he was in life. But, by the end, he starts to open up to his own feelings and there is a sense of freedom in his thoughts and actions. He is even able to inquire about others that died in the battle. Great job with growing his character.

Really enjoying this story so far!

Beth

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I'm glad you liked the story. I am horrible at writing plots so I chose a story that was pure character development . It looks like it worked out. Thanks for reminding me about the typos. No I don't have a beta reader, but I will go over it again. I'm glad Snape's progression was evedent, I spent a lot of time making sure it was just right. lily is a character that I feel is portrayed badly a lot. I see her as like Harry, but a little more sensitive. It's good to hear that it worked out. I hope you keep reading.
Gladis Gudgeon


 Report Review

Review #3, by mymischiefmanaged Dying

19th August 2014:
Hiya, I'm here from the review tag in the forums.

Ooo, this is such an interesting idea for a story. I'm so glad I came across it!

This is a wonderful opening to the story. You've managed to get Snape completely in character and yet have still put a spin on his death that we don't see in the books. I particularly like the observation that he's being killed for an act of loyalty rather than for all his treachery, and it's upsetting but very believable to think that he wouldn't place any worth on his own life.

It's interesting how Snape evaluates the successes of his life in terms of what Dumbledore would think. His regrets come down to his own fears, and his failure to meet Dumbledore's explanations. The line 'Dumbledore would be proud' shows how much he respects the wizard that gave him a second chance.

I love his confusion over his feelings towards Harry. He recognises that his attitudes have been wrong, but his final thought that 'There was no debate the boy was stupid' shows that even in his final moments he can't let go of his prejudices.

This is a really good first chapter to what looks like a really good story. It's a very short chapter but I quite like that in opening chapters. Thank you for writing this.

Emma xx

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, I'm glad you liked the chapter. I hope you consider reading more of the story. It is about Snape's afterlife. I worked really hard on this chapter to get this strange combination of bitterness and bravery. It's good to know it worked out. thanks again for such a comprehensive review.
Gladis Gudgeon


 Report Review

Review #4, by Veritaserum27 Dying

13th August 2014:
Hello!

I'm tagging you from review tag!

Fantastic start to the story here. I'm intrigued because this story is five chapters long, but you've already started with Snape dying. I think that's a great way to keep the reader interested. The first paragraph is really well done. Right off the bat, you've characterized Snape perfectly. He knew he was going to die and he accepted that willingly. In the end, Snape knew that he only needed to say alive long enough to give the proper information to Harry.

A bit of cc: I don't think you need the section where it says "These reasons were:" It reads a bit like a list of shopping items. You had already stated that there were three reasons why Snape was concerned about his death and then you describe them in the next paragraph, so I don't think you need to include that little bit. Not a big deal, but I felt a like that took away from the emotion you are invoking in the reader.

For the rest of the chapter, I think you've captured Snape's emotions beautifully. He is clearly unconcerned with himself. He is finally accepting that Harry is brave, but, in the end, can't give him complete credit - Hermione had to help him find a vial!

Great job with this!

Beth (Veritaserum27)

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for such a well done review. I see what you mean about the listing. I'll try to find a way to rework it. This story is my favorite of the ones I've written, and I hope you consider reading more. (and possibly reviewing more.) This story might be completed, I haven't decided yet and I'd love some input on if I should add more.
Gladis Gudgeon


 Report Review

Review #5, by FriendofMolly Home, Multicolored Hair, and Unpleasant Absolution

12th August 2014:
Gladis Gudgeon,
Again, you nailed the afterlife personalities. I must ask, where were James and Remus? I would have suspected that Tonks would have loved the hair color charms. And as far as entertainment goes, watching Harry trip over his tongue is the paradox of his bravery in the face of Riddle, is highly enjoyable, at least for Severus and Sirius.
Thanks for posting,
FoM
PS I am glad that Severus has been given his second chance at happiness. I do hope he'll finally be able to see the real Harry.

Author's Response: You are officially my favorite person in the world! I am pretty sure you reviewed every single chapter of this fic. Thank you so much. It means the world to me! James and Remus were sucked into the vortex of plot convenience because they would have overcomplicated the chapter. I suppose Remus and Tonks were watching Teddy or something and James was playing Quiddich with his afterlife Quiddich friends. Getting the characters right is so hard, and I am glad that I pulled it off. Sirius is a lot harder than I thought (I am not really a comedic author). Thanks for sticking with the story so far, not sure if I should add more or if it's over. I wrote the first bit of a next chapter, but got distracted by writing another fic that isn't nearly as good. I will always remember you as my first reviewer ever!
Gladis Gudgeon
P.S. My only other story with the good characterization you seem to value in it is called: Love Lost to the Greater Good. It is a slash fic, but there isn't really any smut. It is more mental and emotional conflict!


 Report Review

Review #6, by FriendofMolly Explanations

12th August 2014:
Gladis Gudgeon,
You wrote a wonderfully perfect chapter. I think you nailed the characterization of both Dumbledore and Snape. I viewed each of them a bit changed just because they are no longer burdened by the trials and tribulation of being on earth. They are lightened of their worries and can look back with more openness. On to the next.
Bravo!
FoM

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review, and for sticking with the story. I'm so glad you liked the characterization. I had some trouble with it. Snape and Dumbledore are my favorite characters and I feel like I get them, but I still had to go over the chapter with a fine tooth comb to make sure each word was just right. I hope you keep reading.
Gladis Gudgeon


 Report Review

Review #7, by nott theodore Dying

11th August 2014:
Hi! I'm here for review tag from the forums - just as a side note, it would be really helpful if you included a link to your stories in your signature, because it took me a while to find your AP! :)

I think this was a really good start to your story. I don't think I've actually seen many stories about Snape in this moment, especially not ones that are longer than a one-shot, so I'm really intrigued about how you're going to continue with it.

Your characterisation of Snape was really interesting. You chose to focus on some aspects of his personality that were different to those that are normally emphasised, and I thought the effect of that was really good and I enjoyed it. I thought the way that he didn't really care about dying, and wasn't afraid of it, were both very in character with the man that we see in the books; the lingering annoyance that Harry isn't there and he hasn't been able to fulfill his role properly make a lot of sense too. I can't imagine that he'd just let go of all of that scorn and hatred he feels towards Harry - as James's son - would just disappear because he's dying.

There are just a few suggestions that I'd make for improvement, though there aren't any major problems with this. I noticed a few different occasions when you'd missed out the capitals in something like 'Shrieking Shack', and if you just go through and correct those, the presentation of your chapter will look a lot better.

Aside from that, I thought that the description in this chapter was quite strong - I really enjoyed your personification of death as it comes to take Snape. And the ending, when Snape thought of Lily, was really effective. Good job!

Sian :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I'm glad you liked the story. I'm sorry about the mistakes and hope they weren't too distracting. Snape has always been such an interesting character to me and I have read a lot of stories that I feel do not do justice to the complexity of the character. I don't know what it says about me that writing death scenes is my favorite, but they are. I feel like it is when a character's true nature is shown. I hope you liked the story enough to read more.
Gadis Gudgeon
P.S. Thanks for writing such a long review. I'm embarrassed to say that some of mine for the review tag were slightly crappy.


 Report Review

Review #8, by BellaLestrange87 Forgiveness

8th August 2014:
Review Tag!

This is such an original idea! Not a lot of people would even think about what happened to Snape after he died, and you pull it off well.

Just a bit of CC: There are a few (minor) spelling and grammar errors in here. They don't detract from the story, but they're noticeable if you're a nitpicker like I am.

Excellent story! 9/10

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I'm glad you liked it. I'm hopeless at spelling and grammar, but I'll look through the story again to see what I can fix. I hope you keep reading even though it was a review tag!
Gladis Gudgeon


 Report Review

Review #9, by hangingwallflower Dying

1st August 2014:
Review tag!

This seems like it could flow into an interesting story :) I really like the idea of viewing this scene from Snape's perspective, and the last line about Lily looking back at him tugged at the heartstrings. I particularly enjoyed this line: "For the first time when Snape looked into Harry’s disturbingly familiar eyes he saw the boy for what he truly was: a person not unlike himself who had the fate of the world on his shoulders."

Nicely done! Thanks for sharing.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I am glad you liked it. I hope you liked it enough to try a few more chapters.
Gladis Gudgeon


 Report Review

Review #10, by StarlightAsteria Dying

29th July 2014:
Hi!

Interesting take on this scene. I liked your use of Severus Snape's last name throughout: it created a kind of distancing effect, a metaphorical echo of the distance that occurs when someone dies. (I hope that made sense :)) I also liked how he still has his sense of humour even though he's dying - that quip about Harry's stupidity was classic Snape :) I do think that you can be careful about using clichés in your writing: watch out for phrases like 'faded to black' and the like.

Overall, a good prologue :) Keep up the work :)

Author's Response: Glad you liked it. It's the first fic I've ever written and I was really unsure about it. I used the last name to show Snape's self hatred. He despised his father, but still thinks about himself with his father's name. That wasn't obvious or anything. It was just what I was thinking when I wrote it. Putting in his sense of humor was both the most fun and most difficult part. There aren't a lot of places for jokes with a death like Snape's, so I'm glad it turned out alright. Almost all HP fanfic stories are a bit cliche because how many stories can you really write about one universe, but as long as it wasn't boring I'm happy. I hope you keep reading. Reviews are amazing!
Gladis Gudgeon


 Report Review

Review #11, by marauderfan Dying

26th July 2014:
Review tag!

I've never read this scene from Snape's POV before, so the difference in perspective was nice. I like that he actually compares Harry to himself, that was a really nice touch how Snape lay dying, thinking about this huge task he had to accomplish and his double allegiance and everything, Harry had the world on his shoulders as well.

And even though he's being so sentimental, he is still SO classic Snape when one of his last thoughts about Harry is how stupid he is in not conjuring a flask :p

Nicely done at writing Snape's side of the story!

Author's Response: marauderfan
Thanks for the review. I just discovered review tagging, and am so happy about it. I'm glad you liked the story and hope you read more even though you have completed the requirement for the review tagging. I know Snape is not a particularly nice character. I really hate when people make him too sympathetic. I tried not to water him down. I hope I succeeded.
Gladis Gudgeon
P.S. If you review another of my stories I'd be happy to return the favor.


 Report Review

Review #12, by Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeella Home, Multicolored Hair, and Unpleasant Absolution

26th June 2014:
It was great, but a few grammatical mistakes. ;)

Author's Response: Eella
Thanks for the review. Sorry about the grammar. I don't have a beta reader. I'm glad you liked the story. I hope you keep reading.
Gladis Gudgean
P.S. Cool name


 Report Review

Review #13, by ravenhuffledor Home, Multicolored Hair, and Unpleasant Absolution

1st June 2014:
Nice. I don't know what changes or suggestions I could make... nice hair-changing spells. Oh, Sirius with magenta hair, if his mum could see that...poor Sirius. I liked the part when Sirius is saying how to get women to like you. Then someone else says that the single man should know, clearly sarcastic. Like I said before, nice.

Author's Response: Ravenhuffledor again
Gotta love a person who reviews twice. I'm glad you liked the hair color spells. I had fun with them. I am not usaly a comedic author, so writing this chapter was slightly out of my comfort zone, but I am a deeply sarcastic person. I'm glad you thought it was "nice". I hope you keep reading.
Gladis Gudgeon


 Report Review

Review #14, by ravenhuffledor Truce

1st June 2014:
Quite interesting. I'm glad Snape's happy now. Imagine that, James potter and Severus Snape, actually shook hands in a friendly manner. Nice way portraying Snape after death.

Author's Response: Ravenhuffledor
thank you so much for reviewing. I really appreciate it. Writing James and Snape's resolution was really hard. Thet hated each other so much in real life.Writing a happy Snape was also hard because he's so bitter in the books. I hope I have done the complex character justice and you keep reading.
Gladis Gudgeon


 Report Review

Review #15, by FriendofMolly Truce

12th May 2014:
Gladis Gudgeon,
I am hanging on each sentence as if it will reveal what comes next. There have been a few Afterlife stories on this site. Yours has a different twist to it, that I find fascinating. The idea of the inhabitants of Heaven being able to visit their "happy places" and revert to the age they enjoyed those places, is unique. That you have included Arianna is a wonderful surprise. Just like so many forgot Albus had a brother, until Skeeter's trash pile disguised as a book included Arianna, only Magicals as old as Aunt Muriel and Bathilda remembered. So I'm liking this more with each chapter. You still have misspelled words, here and there, but not many.
Keep going,
FoM
PS I'm anxiously awaiting the visit with Dumbledore.
PSS I found your fiction, with my daily scrolling through the most recent posted stories. The title grabbed my attention, as I have always thought Snape should have escaped death, but alas he didn't. So now he gets his well deserved redemption. Your imagination has kept me reading.

Author's Response: FriendofMolly
Thank you so much for reviewing and telling me how you found the fic. I really value your comments. I happened to check out your page when you first reviewed and noticed you have posted thousands of reviews. I thought that was really cool. I'm sorry about the spelling errors. I blame dyslexia and lack of a beta reader. I'm glad you like my version of Heaven. I plan to add a few more twists. I hope you keep reading.
Gladis Gudgeon
P.S. I was thinking about Ariana because she is an important part of a Dumbledore fic I am writing.


 Report Review

Review #16, by CleaverElf Dying

10th May 2014:
Cool Story, but the flow of the thoughts is a bit disjointed.

Author's Response: CleaverElf,
Thank you so much for commenting. My favorite part to write in a story is the thoughts of the characters. Sometimes i get a little bit carried away. I hope you keep reading anyway.
Gladis Gudgeon


 Report Review

Review #17, by kayt Forgiveness

6th May 2014:
Nice start. I always like a story where Snape isn't made to be totally evil. Should be interesting to hear what Dumbledore has to say for himself.

Author's Response: kayt
Thanks for reviewing. I always thought the Snape Character was the most interesting. Harry is purely good and Voldemort is purely evil, but Snape cannot be defined so easily. I plan to go more in dearth with his interesting psyche. I hope you keep reading!
Gladis Gudgeon


 Report Review

Review #18, by FriendofMolly Forgiveness

3rd May 2014:
Gladis Gudgeon,
You certainly know the best place to stop. Darn, I really hate cliffies. But the chapter itself was excellent. I'm so very glad that it was Lily and not Dumbledore who met Severus in the Afterlife. That was a great transition, looking into Harry's eyes as he died, then,'waking' to Lily's when he next opens his own eyes. A very special moment. I am very anxious to see what comes next.
FoM
PS In your summary you wrote guild when you probably meant, guilt.

Author's Response: FriendofMolly,
Thank you so much for the review, I really value them. I debated who Snpae would see first, but I decided Lily would be more appropriate. He needed to be forgiven. Sorry about the cliff hanger. I hope you keep reading!
Gladis Gudgeon
P.S. Thanks for the spelling tip, yes i meant to say guilt.


 Report Review

Review #19, by FriendofMolly Dying

30th April 2014:
Gladis Gudgeon,
I often thought that at some point Severus needed to get over his hatred of James, so that he could see Harry as he really was. I only wish Albus could have told Severus the truth. I understand why he couldn't. I think you have a start of a very good story. I look forward to the next. Please don't take too long,
FoM

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing, I've never posted my fanfics before and i had no idea what people would think. I have a few more chapters already done. I will go more in depth about Severus's many complicated relationships. I hope you keep reading.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login