253 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Tris  xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

12th November 2014:
I rally enjoyed this story. First off I was obviously crushed when Fred died and think the scholarship is totally a fabulous idea! Also I really love how you approached real, tough issues with grace and a dose of reality. I really stayed up way to o late reading last night becaus I was so into this story. The lack of sleep was totally worth it.

 Report Review

Review #2, by peachgirlxo xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

6th November 2014:
Wow, truly amazing story! The characters were so great and the storyline was awesome. This is such a well written story, thank you so much for posting it and congratulations on winning the Dobby award! Keep up the great work, I look forward to reading the sequels!! :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by willowee xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

4th November 2014:
It took me two days to read this entire thing, but I LOVED IT. Thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Mariano_Pingitore xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

31st October 2014:
Wonderful story. Started reading it last night and I just could not stop. I was particularly fond of the howler essays though I must say it was a surprise (a pleasant one) to ready about a Hogwarts so sexually open and tolerant. I would have thought that due to the highly conservative wizarding society those kind of things would hace been frowned upon at the very least. It shows how wizarding society developed in the years following Voldy's demise.

Congratulations, I'll be looking for the sequel!

 Report Review

Review #5, by WeStoleVoldysNose xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

25th October 2014:
Salve, Ravenclaw333,

I have somehow managed to read your entire incredible story in the space of a few short hours and it is now 3am in the morning. #yolo isn't dead (Oh the Irony).

I absolutely love the absolutely wonderful and equally weird things that come from your brain. I loved the plot and the characters and the references to Latin and Classical literature and All Things Entirely Nerdy. I hold myself entirely responsible for the fact that what your characters find witty and banterous, I find equally so.

You may find it confusing that I am a Gryffindor but can totally relate to these five dorky Ravenclaws and all (well, some) of their problems.

My absolute favourite thing about the story however was the ulterior motive behind the pranks at Hogwarts in 2024. It's great how you give Fred the respect he deserves in the form of your literary masterpiece. It is also wonderful how you get the nerds to come out of their shells and become ultimate prank masters in memory of Uncle Fred and get them to 'mess things up' (for the sake of keeping this review free of profanities and 12+)

With that solid reasoning I deduce that (at 3am) that this story is quite simply the epitome of awesome. It has been a pleasure reading.

From your fellow Classics and literary nerd at just after 3am in the morning- it's a good job it's the weekend or I wouldn't be functioning in lessons tomorrow ;)

Oh, P.S. (LATIN IS EVERYWHERE! GO POST SCRIPTS) please check out my story it would mean a lot :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by Calliope13 xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

24th October 2014:
This read a lot like a John Green novel, in all of the good ways. All five characters are so diverse, and so believable and enjoyable. And they are all nerds! All with their own unique interests and talents and problems. I think that's what I enjoyed most- these five students, the overachievers, the child prodigies, they were very much like me, in both the interests and intelligence, and with the pressure and anxiety they constantly dealt with because of said intelligence. Also, the number of nerd jokes were outstanding, I could have been happier. Especially the Exit, Pursued by Bear chapter, and the fact that Holly has a Pygmy Puff called Pythagoras. I'll have to look at whatever else you've written, in case that at my point in time, there's more in you're inventive take on this beloved world. I don't know if you read any of these now that the story's finished, but thank you for writing this fanfiction. You definately deserve that Dobby award.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Penelope Inkwell xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

20th October 2014:
Well, that tied up nicely. I've enjoyed this story.

I was totally wrong about Rose and Emily, then, but that's okay. It's nice to mix it up sometimes and have an MC who doesn't end up with anyone. I'm glad that it all worked out, and that they got the scholarship and had a bit of fun as well. I think the experience was good for all of them and, despite their worries, I suspect that this lot will remain close.

Thanks for the story!

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #8, by Penelope Inkwell the spirit of fred weasley [or] exit, pursued by a bear

20th October 2014:
Okay, mega-points for turning "Exit, pursued by a bear" which was already excellent, into a prank.

And reggae-style Hoggy Hoggy Hogwarts? That was inspired. Also, I love that their last prank wasn't just funny. It also gave the whole year a good time.

Also glad to see that they all did well on their exams. Not that I ever doubted they would, the crazies. Of course, it's very easy to be sure of someone's prospects when your future isn't actually riding on them, so I can't blame the Order of the Raven for going absolutely mad over exams.

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #9, by Penelope Inkwell xix. the calm before the storm [or] regroup; onward

20th October 2014:
“Always the tone of surprise."
--Nice reference. Made me smile

“I will duel any teacher who thinks you’d let them down.”
--This was great. So Hermione.

Well, I'm not usually a vindictive person, especially when it comes to wishing damaging, long-term consequences on people, but Louis and Lucien deserved that, for sure. I mean, how awful! Besides, Hermione totally did the right thing. And if she'd done anything different, the opposition would have just accused her of burying the incident because he was family.

They're absolutely right, though. Fred would want them to go out with a bang!

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #10, by Penelope Inkwell xviii. the hour of reckoning [or] april fool's

20th October 2014:
Well, that was a right mess.

Honestly, if I were Rose, I don't think I'd have got over Alfie sleeping with one of my closest friends/my cousin's super-recent ex-boyfriend quite so quickly. It's less to do with the sleeping-with-the-same-person thing than it is the whole emotional trauma thing. Like, I'd think that someone who did that didn't have a lot of respect for me, even if we weren't together. That said, I'm not piling blame on Alfie for everyone else's emotional issues. I just couldn't have hooked up with him immediately after - on some level, I don't get it. But then, Rose is a big girl and she can make her own decisions, and forgiveness is a virtue, and all that.


AWW! I loved the way they did the Howlers with each other's favorite works of literature. It was adorable, and totally dorky in a way that fit them perfectly. It was just perfect, over all. That was some well done resolution.

Louis. Ugh! He really is the worst. I can only hope that he doesn't know Lester's backstory, because that would just make him unbearably awful. Seriously. Ugh. Good on Rose, though, for staying sensible in a stressful situation and outwitting him!

CC:

I did have this one thought. Rose says of Holly and Lester, "Neither of them are particularly close to Albus." And I get that you mean particularly as in, they are not close to Albus above all others. But "particularly" in that context usually reads as "very" or "that". Like, neither of them are that close to Albus. And, of course, they are all quite close. So maybe I'd suggest saying something like, "None of them were as close to Albus as I was" just to clear things up.

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #11, by Penelope Inkwell xvii. the implosion [or] when it all hits the fan

20th October 2014:
OH MY GOSH!

OH, MY...

I did not see that coming even a little. Poor Scorpius. Hopefully they'll patch things up. But wow.

Favorite quote:

"Alfie’s so deep in the closet he’s eating Turkish Delight with the White Witch of Narnia."

Also, Rose's prank idea is terribly clever. No, like it's terrible--the idea of your almost-finished essay self-destructing?--but clever.

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #12, by Penelope Inkwell xvi. the way ahead [or] i reminisce too much and scorpius has a plan

20th October 2014:
Whew. This was a big chapter, too.

So, all my questions of Rose's unresolved introspection were solved here. She was quite introspect-y.

I liked the thought that "good" isn't always the exact equivalent of "well behaved" and vice versa, especially since your behavior being in line with what an institution expects may not actually have anything to do with how moral said behavior is or isn't...if that makes sense. It's late, and my brain's a bit addled.

I like that we're getting a sense of the teachers being real people. It makes it easier to picture Rose and Holly being part of that crowd.

Aww, poor Lester. I really feel for him.

Interested to see how this last big prank turns out, and how Louis' turns out, as well. How can you combat Felix Felicis?

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #13, by Penelope Inkwell xv. the game-changer [or] between a rock and a hard place

19th October 2014:
Oh dear. Poor Rose. That's so difficult, and I'm very glad that they were willing to call in Holly.

Man, this chapter was packed. Rose was so casual about it last chapter, I didn't even realize it had been her first time. In fact, she seems quite blasé about the whole thing. Not that I assume it has to be on the same level of enormity for everyone, but she seems to barely even process it. Of course, maybe it already had her on edge, having such a big event happen and not really processing it? Maybe that's part of what led to her panic attack? Not that I'm suggesting that losing one's virginity leads to panic. Calmness or being emotional are both fair responses. But it could have put her in a more tenuous emotional state.

Then again, perhaps the two had nothing to do with one another. But I am surprised she didn't think about it more. Or maybe she did, and there was just so much in this chapter that it's slipped my mind. Because this one was really a rollercoaster. I feel like so much happened!

Six thousand galleons? Oh my goodness!

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #14, by Penelope Inkwell xiv. the easter buns [or] don't leave me to my own devices

19th October 2014:
I really want to know what Professor Vector is going to make of Bunnygate (that's what I'm calling it in my head, anyway).

So, Rose and Alfie, huh? Well, I'm glad to see that Rose finally gets a bit of romance. Though my theory is that she'll end up with someone else. But we shall see. Alfie seems like a nice guy.

I'm sure they'd like to see the holidays stretch on forever--these poor kids need a break--but I am eagerly looking forward to what happens when everyone gets back.

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #15, by Penelope Inkwell xiii. the smoking gun [or] i flew too close to the sun

19th October 2014:
Well, we know Rose can totally become a Potions mistress! She can obviously think on her feet. After all, she figured out a name and alternate explanation for the Valentine's prank on the spot, with Professor Vector and the teacher of the subject she wishes to one day take over staring at her. Plus, she's getting lots of thinking-outside-the-box experience from this scholarship.

I wish there had been a pranking scholarship back when I was in high school. We could have used something to liven things up a bit.

Favorite quotes:


-What happens in detention?”
-“I’ve heard stories,” Albus offers.

“You sort of have to royally [mess] up to lose your badge,” Scorpius points out. “My dad never lost his, and he tried to assassinate the Headmaster.”

If you need me – don’t. It’s Faculty Friday at the Three Broomsticks, and I want my half-price pint.”


--Penny

 Report Review

Review #16, by Penelope Inkwell xii. the art of love [or] nothing is sacred anymore

19th October 2014:
I'm so glad that they were concerned about consent and things going too far, because that's exactly the sort of thing that would have given me pause planning this kind of prank. And the Potion theory was clever, with the Hades/Persephone thing.

Hmm...I wonder what this whole Lara/Louis debacle will turn into.

The bit about this happening at Beauxbatons, too, struck me as really funny.

Favorite quotes:

“I’d like to take this opportunity to congratulate Rose on her success,” Albus says, smirking. “And on the beautiful poet’s heart that lies within. May nobody ever awaken it again.”


“He did,” Albus confirms. “He always said he wouldn’t give it to me until I could say the words truthfully. So when I told him about the scholarship over Christmas, he said it was time I had it.”

--I just love this detail! I really do. I'm sure James couldn't be prouder.

Unfortunately, no refuge can be found from the hell known as Other People’s Love Lives.
--Girl, I feel you. This is a problem I have faced so often. There is no escape.


Great chapter!

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #17, by Penelope Inkwell xi. the drawing board [or] my time to shine

19th October 2014:
Hermione's reaction to the Draught of the Living Death shortcuts--bwahahah! That was such a great detail to include.

I'm really looking forward to the themed pranks! That should be fun.

Aww. House Elves. I just love House Elves. They're like bunnies. Anytime there are Elves around, I'm smiling :D

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #18, by Penelope Inkwell x. the weasley christmas experience [or] scorpius and lester get festive jumpers

19th October 2014:
Oh boy, mistletoe shenanigans. Good on them for shutting that down. I'm sure everyone was grateful.

Oh dear. Unresolved sexual tension with anyone? That does sound like a lot to handle, even if it does mean less mistletoe weirdness. Poor Rose.

Ohmygosh, James cracked me up! He was fantastic.

Favorite quotes:

“Apparently by about May all the professors are setting sleep hours instead of homework. Otherwise you just don’t.”
--I'm kind of resentful that none of my professors have ever done this. They should.

“It’s seventh year, nothing will be okay again.”

“That one looks like a book,” Hugo says, pointing. “And so does that one…and that one…that one too…this {} family,”

--This made me laugh, but I would love that!

Fun to see everyone. A very merry Christmas chapter! :D

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #19, by Penelope Inkwell ix. the family we choose [or] all you need is love

19th October 2014:
Bahaha! Louis' singing, though it is too non-12+ for me to post in the review, is EXCELLENT!

And Holly is going to be a teacher! Hooray! (Although Vector seems like she'd make a much less cuddly Headmistress than Sprout. Oh, the poor troublemakers of the future!)

Favorite quotes:

“I wonder if he has any control over the genre,” Albus muses, twisting to face the Slytherin table. “Add a bit of soul, Louis!”

Holly dotes on her, Emma worships the ground Holly walks on, and Albus and I are left glaring at our detached and condescending younger siblings wondering what went wrong and whether we could ever pull off a quiet trade.


Very much enjoying this story!

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #20, by Penelope Inkwell viii. the spanner in the works [or] keep your enemies closer

19th October 2014:
Wow, so Emily didn't double-cross her. Or apparently did not. Is it just me, or am I getting the vibe that we're meant to ship those two? I could see it.

I loved what Emily said about Louis and Lucy not knowing what it's like to have to bury your heritage. I think that's a very realistic problem to have as a Slytherin. She was a well-drawn character in only one chapter, and I think you did a great job with her.


Favorite quote:
I can't pick a favorite quote. I can't even pick a couple I'm picking a whole section.

“You snogged my little sister?” Albus roars.

“Snog is a terrible word,” Lester says delicately. “I’m sure there are better ones…”

“Raine, have I ever told you how appropriate your middle name is?” Albus asks.

“What, Dante? Why – ?”

“Because you’re about to be dragged through the nine circles of hell.”

“Do I at least get a Latin poet as my guide – ”

Albus grabs Lester by the tie, jerking him forward so their noses are almost touching. “I am your Virgil,” he growls.

“This may be really inappropriate and a complete overshare,” Scorpius whispers to me, eyes glued to the scene, “But I am so turned on right now.”

I shove him away.

Albus releases Lester and the latter is cowering behind me in two short strides. “Mediate,” he says in a small voice. “For the love of God, mediate.”



--Oh my gosh, I'm dying! Everything about this is INSPIRED. The Inferno references. 'I am your Virgil. I can't. Bah!

You are brilliant.

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #21, by Penelope Inkwell vii. the peace offering [or] we should've given them olive branches

19th October 2014:
Oh my gosh, I adore how geeky the Ravenclaws are! I want to be in on that conversation (I'm a Slytherin, myself, but it's a close call).

Personally, I'm not sure I trust Emily. Rose is supposed to show up after curfew, with no one knowing where she is? Sounds like a potential pranking situation, to me. But we can hope for the best.

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #22, by Penelope Inkwell vi. the acceleration of chaos [or] holly & lester become inadvertent zookeepers

19th October 2014:
You know, it probably is better for them to break some rules. It will make them much better at cutting their students some slack, and they'll be better able to connect with them.

This chapter had SO MANY BUNNIES! So obviously that made me happy.

I'm very interested to see the next few pranks, and the next few retaliations. Take those Slytherdors down!

Favorite quote:

“It’s exhilarating, isn’t it? I can feel the character development. We should write a novel.”

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #23, by Penelope Inkwell v. the tell-all [or] don't hold back now

19th October 2014:
Okay, this chapter actually put tears in my eyes. Like, eep! Feels! No, but when Scorpius was having his breakdown, it was just so...*sniffs* (no, literally, I sniffled while writing this) saaad. And then their parents' responses were just so in character and so great and I loved how you wrote Draco and how he obviously wasn't perfect and still had his hangups but he loved his son and that thing about the Malfoy name dying out and how he came to accept it and just...just...eep.

Deep breath.

It was very well done.

Favorite quotes:

"You know how the highest praise our teachers give you is that you’re like your mum? Or that Albus is like his dad? The highest praise they give me is that I’m not.”

“But we’re both anticipating the worst here, and if he’s incapacitated by his father’s crushing disappointment, he can’t help me cower from my father’s cold fury. Both tasks will therefore fall to you.”

“Though I always thought Scorp was more likely to be with Rose…heteronormativity makes fools of us all.”
--Bahaha. But really. It does. I've found that trying to avoid assuming that everyone's straight does wonders for keeping everyone out of awkward situations. Best to do your best to never assume.

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #24, by Penelope Inkwell iv. the secret weapon [or] well, i didn't see that coming

19th October 2014:
Man, it is Ravenclaw coming-out week. Well, good for them! I'm glad to see the Enemy's idea of a prank fall flat--because really. But now they've got Felix Felicis. Dun dun DUN! Maybe Rose can figure out a potions trick to get them out of this mess?

Favorite quotes:

“We cuddle,” Albus says frostily.

“Go you guys,” I call, unsure on the protocols here. “Congrats on your love that we totally didn’t know anything about.”
--Bahahaha!

They kiss on the table long enough for a bunch of Hufflepuffs to figure out a spell to make confetti rain down on them.
--Aww. Those Hufflepuffs--so sweet. Way to be supportive, ya'll.

“It’s changing us,” Lester says in hushed, dramatic tones. “The scholarship. It’s changing us.”
--Maybe for the better?


Dude, I'm loving this! It's great!

--Penny

 Report Review

Review #25, by Penelope Inkwell iii. the order of the raven [or] our reputation precedes us

19th October 2014:
Aw, the poor babies really haven't quite got their dramatic timing down yet, huh? Well, this will make it more interesting. Now it'll be all-out WAR!

Favorite Quotes:

"Louis finally managed to free himself from his curse and is now stalking through the Great Hall with the sleeves of his robes rolled up in case anyone forgot he has forearms."
--I love this. Because showing your arms is the perfect way to regain your macho-ness. Obviously.

"Holly gives him a strange look. 'Did you just say voluptuous?'
-I couldn’t think of the right word,' Lester says defensively. 'So I went for a synonym.'
-'You missed.'


“You realise you’ve just said your own name in that disparaging tone as well?”


Very good chapter! Your writing flows so well.

--Penny

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>