325 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Bookmonkey ii. the initiation [or] five thousand galleons justifies everything

20th May 2015:
Great! The prank was hilarious, and the group dynamic is getting more fleshed out. Also the relationship with 'the enemy' has gotten off to a good start.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Bookmonkey i. the plan [or] five nerds face a life of hedonism

20th May 2015:
I see why this is a staff pick. Your opening is great. Pacing and dialogue are spot on. You have captured the feeling of the characters about the scholarship and have really shown how much they really have to do to be the group of seventh years that emulate Fred Weasley. Great work!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Kirsty xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

13th May 2015:
This story is brilliant. The first story I've read in a really long while and it was so worth it. I found the way in which your Ravenclaws were actually intellectuals really refreshing. They speak in the same way that me and my pretentious literature student friends have for the last four years. They were relatable, if only I too were a genius. Thank you for sharing. This was honestly a fantastic read :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by Kirsty xvi. the way ahead [or] i reminisce too much and scorpius has a plan

13th May 2015:
“Ooh, are we shaming women for choosing to have safe, consensual sex?” Holly asks eagerly. “I just want to know where you guys got the Time Turners, because apparently we’re back in the Dark Ages. Let’s burn some witches while we’re at it! Oh, and don’t forget the gays. I hope there’s enough hellfire for all of us!”

I love you. That is all.

 Report Review

Review #5, by HappyMollyWeasley xviii. the hour of reckoning [or] april fool's

5th May 2015:
Albus, Scorpius... I'm not sure which one of you I'm most angry with right now. What are you doing to each other here? What are you doing to yourselves? Are you totally insane?

I love the group of friends in this story. They remind me about my friends when I was that age. We were not as smart of course (no prodigies I mean), but we were a group of friends sticking together. Sometimes we fought among ourselves, and fell in love and there were a lot of trouble with who was sleeping with whom... It feels real to me. :-)

I'm glad Albus and Scorpius got together again!


Molly

 Report Review

Review #6, by HappyMollyWeasley xvii. the implosion [or] when it all hits the fan

3rd May 2015:
What an emotional chapter! I think you guided me through every emotion I'm able to experience here...

Oh, how I laughed about Alfie eating Turkish Delight with the White Witch. I can picture it clearly in my head!

The thing about both young Scorpius and Albus looking up to Teddy is awesome! I love the thought of Teddy being accepted in both families.

But seriously. What did you just do to Scorbus here?! I'm so sad for them... :-(


Molly

 Report Review

Review #7, by RavenclawDove ii. the initiation [or] five thousand galleons justifies everything

27th April 2015:
From what I have read so far this is a very interesting story, the plot, though there is not much of it, is quite good for a fanfiction. Most fanfiction are filled with mary sues yet I seem to find this one of the best fanfictions I have read.

 Report Review

Review #8, by knitting_goddess xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

26th April 2015:
Oh dear lord. You're an amazing writer! I feel a bit untrue to my Claw self as I have a master's thesis to finish and I've just read this entire story in one sitting... But that is definitely a compliment to you - your characters just jump out and live a life on their own, it's amazing, and just a tad enviable I must say. I'll need to check out more of your stories, but think I'll have to keep off HPFF for a few more weeks ;)

Again, I'm sure you've been told a million times, but keep up the good work! Your ability to deal with and balance sensitive topics, super-pranking and witty dialogue all in one story is really incredible :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by HermyLuna2 iii. the order of the raven [or] our reputation precedes us

22nd April 2015:
It's wonderful how you interweave descriptions such as for Holly, Albus and Lester here. The way you do it makes it interesting and never tiresome. The same goes for your dialogues, they are cute and witty and make the story very pleasant to read. 'Slytherindors' was a funny word invention. It's interesting how in this story, the Slytherins and Gryffindors are on better terms with each other and have turned twice as threatening together.

 Report Review

Review #10, by HermyLuna2 ii. the initiation [or] five thousand galleons justifies everything

22nd April 2015:
"
“Nobody in this room has any friends outside this room.”
" Hahaha, that was hilarious. I like how you made George appear in this chapter. I wonder why Rose started pranking on her own, but I'm curious how this will end. I like that you introduced Louis and Sophie as 'enemies' here, it creates another conflict. I also really like how you included homosexuality in a casual way.

 Report Review

Review #11, by HermyLuna2 i. the plan [or] five nerds face a life of hedonism

22nd April 2015:
Oh, this is well-written, original and absolutely HILARIOUS! I simply love the idea and I'm really curious what the hell they are going to come up with.

 Report Review

Review #12, by Arabellay xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

18th April 2015:
OH wow.
That's so great.
Dorky Claws :')
I've loved this, keep up the great work, you deserve every ounce of praise you get, it really is just fabulous!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Arabellay xvii. the implosion [or] when it all hits the fan

18th April 2015:
Oh shaiza oh shizaki oh kentucky fried chicken oh flippity flappity flop
NO NONONONONoasdjflssdjf;sdjf;lasdj

 Report Review

Review #14, by dude xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

14th April 2015:
This story is AMAZING! Definitely one of the best fanfics I've read by far. You are a genius yourself!!

 Report Review

Review #15, by TheHeirOfSlytherin iii. the order of the raven [or] our reputation precedes us

21st March 2015:
Macho Manly Louis Weasley. What a title. I wish this was real just so I could see him try to salvage his reputation. :P

Professor Vector seems like one terrifying woman. I wouldn't want to cross her at all, I'd be doing exactly what Rose and Scorpius did and I'm a Slytherin. Except the bow. Oh, my God. I can't believe he actually bowed. Hahaha!!!

Then again, it is, as he so kindly pointed out, high treason. ;)

The big, dramatic reveal probably would have been big and dramatic if they'd waited till the end of the year... or until they were discovered. Then again, I would have laughed even harder if the response was still Cool. Who's for gobstones?

The Corruption of Holly Holyoake: The title of the Order of the Raven's memoir. ;)

Potions is her kingdom... just saying that has jinxed it. After talking about their pride, you just know now that Louis is going to hit her in Potions.

Ooh, and as much as I hate to say it, he got her good. To actually bring about at least the beginning of what looks like a panic attack, though. I'll hit Louis for her. *nods*

I can't wait to see Holly's idea now. It bet it'll be good.

Sam.

 Report Review

Review #16, by TheHeirOfSlytherin ii. the initiation [or] five thousand galleons justifies everything

21st March 2015:
REVIEW BOMB!!!

(Its like a cannonball in a swimming pool, got actions and everything.)

I digress. Five thousand galleons. For that amount of money, I'd disregard my whole set of principles... work/school-wise anyway. People would revere my pranking as much as people will no doubt revere this group's. Because they're Ravenclaws, I imagine they'll be smart enough to not only be creative but step things up a notch. Once they get over the whole rule breaking part. :P

"Five thousand galleon," we echo. We sound like a cult. - But a cool one, with Game of Thrones references and weird names and Scorpius Malfoy (because he's a whole other league of awesome).

Throwing Ron under the bus. For shame. :P

Haha! I love how George sounds so serious about the scholarship and pranking. I wouldn't expect it any other way.

Ooh, what's her plan?

Okay. I won't lie. Louis is one of my favorite characters in the Next-Gen world and in my headcanon, so making him the bad guy really got me in the feels the first time I read this. I'm hoping I'm better prepared this second time around. But he's just come into it and I'm already making sad faces. BUT he's an interesting bad guy, I even want to hurt him for the first time ever.

HAHA! Pygmy puffs. Such an awesome prank.

DOCK ALL THE POINTS SCORPIUS. *glares at Louis*

First strike from the Order of the Raven. Good luck, guys! :D

Sam.

P.S. My reviews are bound to get weirder from here. I apologize in advance. :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by dumbledore_wannabe xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

16th March 2015:
Just... wonderful! Loved it!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Lobelia Sackville-Baggins xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

7th March 2015:
I am crying tears of joy.

 Report Review

Review #19, by toomanycurls i. the plan [or] five nerds face a life of hedonism

2nd March 2015:
I'm *finally* giving this a proper read. I'm on my phone so I probably won't stop every chapter. I've never heard of a legit internship where someone has to pay. Training, sure, but people do work in an internship and are usually paid (or they're not but they typically don't pay for the pleasure of going grunt work). Love the intro and how you're writing everyone

 Report Review

Review #20, by happyanon xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

1st March 2015:
I've passed by this fanfic for such a long time and I am hitting myself because I only read it now. I loved it. I love them all. I have no other words for them aside from it. I cant even comprehend one. They are amazing and i wish I had the same set of friends. I love them. And Emily oh emily.. i cried so much after the twin thing was revealed. I hope she has a bright future. Im off to read the sequel

 Report Review

Review #21, by hogwartsgirlsrule vii. the peace offering [or] we should've given them olive branches

20th February 2015:
I have to say, I LOVE the debate with the discussion of Alexandria. It's so realistic and geeky...I can absolutely see my friends and I having that sort of discussion. This is a fantastic fanfic so far. Definitely deserved the Dobby. Congrats!

 Report Review

Review #22, by BellaLestrange87 iv. the secret weapon [or] well, i didn't see that coming

15th February 2015:
Hi Lisa! This is a phone review so I'm sorry if it's shorter than usual or if there are any typos.

I love all your pranks! They're so creative and I keep wondering how you can come up with ones that fit the poor character's personality without getting old.

Albus and Scorpius' coming out was awesome. I think you wrote it in the best way possible (again, total noob). I love the fact that everyone was really supportive and cheering.

The Quidditch prank on The Enemy was amazing and made me laugh. For some reason, humiliating people publicly, furing something important, is very entertaining. I guess I must be cruel bu enjoying the pain of The Enemy. And the fact that their retaliation attempt was completely unsuccessful made me happy.

Sexual orientations 101... I feel like that is a class that will need to be taught at some point, judging by the fact that she had to explain what asexuality is. (I hope I phrased that right - I wasn't sure.)

I love the ending - I can't help but know that the poor group is going to be subjected to something terrible and I want to know what.

~Olivia

 Report Review

Review #23, by BellaLestrange87 iii. the order of the raven [or] our reputation precedes us

7th February 2015:
Hi Lisa! This is for the Blue vs Bronze review battle!

I love how Professor Vector obviously doesn't know that they're the Order of the Raven. Of course, nobody would be expecting them to chase after the Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship (since they could probably all win a normal one easily) so they're the last suspects on the list. Heck, they're not even on the suspect list, which I think is going to ensure for general hilarity to come. And since we know that they're behind it, the sight of them solemnly promising to stop the Order of the Raven (while actually doing no such thing) made me laugh.

Louis is also a, umm, not very nice person to girls (trying to keep this appropriate here). I HATE HIM EVEN MORE. How can he get even worse? You're going to publicly humiliate him again, right? But I love the fact that his ex isn't moping about after him and wishes that she could've pulled something more malevolent on him. And then the reveal! I think that Ravenclaw house didn't see the prank as the start of the five's yearning for the FWMS, instead regarding it as inter-family pranking. That explains their reaction of "That's nice."

And I love how they're preparing for retaliation by bickering. Of course Louis is a snake; he fits all the horrible Slytherin stereotypes perfectly. Why on earth did she let her guard down? I have a feeling that something horrible is going to happen in Potions. There have been too many incidents in the books of exploded cauldrons causing hospital wing trips for me to suspect otherwise.

Well, to be honest, that prank was a lot less violent than I thought. I thought that Louis would've enchanted the cauldron to blow up or something, although I suppose having to hand in a T-worthy potion would embarrass a Next-Gen-era Snape.

I love how Albus is one of the ones with a acerbic wit. With all the sarcastic lines Harry has in the books, it's so hard not to write him that way - even my Lily can sometimes be a walking container of sass. And Holly's mention that Albus and Lester would probably end up publicly humiliating Louis again made me smile. Friends sticking up for friends - I think Louis is outnumbered here.

I really do need to catch up, but I want to review every chapter, and reviews for me take approximately a half-hour to write, so it might take a while. (And because I want Blue to win in BvB, I have to get my timing right and catch you.)

~Olivia

 Report Review

Review #24, by TheHeirOfSlytherin i. the plan [or] five nerds face a life of hedonism

1st February 2015:
I'm finally here and I've never been more excited in my entire life. Dobby, recommendations, this story has been so hyped up I actually can't remember why I didn't reds it before now, but already I am not disappointed.

I know it's only the start, but I love these people. I just do. You already get a sense of who they are as people just by the different ways they come into Rose's. I can't wait to know more about them.

I love the beginning. Ron is just awesome. I kind of got the feeling Hermione would want him to shut up for a reason, given the name of the scholarship, but it just go so. Much better as I read on.

Finally, GAME OF THRONES LOVE!!!

I'll be back! :)

Sam.

Author's Response: heya! thanks so much for the review and i hope this lives up to your expectations! the more popular and well-known it gets the more i worry it will stop living up to its reputation, but so far so good it seems (knock on wood).

these characters jumped into my mind almost fully-formed and sometimes it surprises even me that i had such a clear sense of who they were right from the word go. i can't even claim credit for that, i just got really lucky.

i hope you keep enjoying it!


 Report Review

Review #25, by HappyMollyWeasley x. the weasley christmas experience [or] scorpius and lester get festive jumpers

1st February 2015:
Another great chapter! There is nothing like a Weasley Christmas, and you do it justice here! It's just as fluffy and sweet as it should be! James is a darling, so is Nana Weasley! A hand-knitted sweater is the icing on the cake.

The Potions book was a really good idea, I liked that very much! :-)

A small detail which didn't make sense was that the sunrise was far to early. Midwinter days are short, I guess the sun isn't up until 8 am in December. ;-)

The conversation about the scholarship between Rose and her father is wonderful! I love the idea of Ron thinking that Rose needs to have more fun! That was in character! :-)



Molly

Author's Response: thank you! i really love the idea of weasley christmases - writing them is just my happy place and i love that i was able to capture that sweet fluffiness that goes hand in hand with it.

omg, i didn't even think of that! i managed to make the mental switch in my brain for northern hemisphere christmas = cold but completely forgot that winter means, you know, shorter days. thank you for pointing that out!

i really liked that little moment as well. thanks for the review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>