298 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HappyMollyWeasley ix. the family we choose [or] all you need is love

29th January 2015:
Albus and Lily. Just adorable! :-)

Author's Response: i'm a real sucker for sibling bonding. thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #2, by HappyMollyWeasley viii. the spanner in the works [or] keep your enemies closer

29th January 2015:
This is really a good story! All the characters are very well-written, and there's something new happening all the time.

I love how your characters are not all straight cis-persons, and that you manage to mention this in passing without letting that be the main focus of the story.

Emily.? Can she be trusted?!

I can't wait for their next prank! :-)



Molly

Author's Response: thank you so much, i'm glad you're enjoying it! it's always been important to me to have effective lgbtqa representation in my stories without making it the be all and end all of their identities or their stories. and emily's a very complex character, i'll give her that. thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #3, by BellaLestrange87 ii. the initiation [or] five thousand galleons justifies everything

29th January 2015:
Hi Lisa! I'm back for the next of the reviews I promised three days ago! I took too long to return, and I'm currently in between semesters so I can't even use schoolwork as an excuse. Ummm. I was procrastinating on finishing my chapter?

I love this idea of pranking, first of all. And yes, I'm fully aware that pranking was probably going to be part of the story (Fred Weasley Memorial makes it sort of obvious). I love how they know that if they start pranking their cousins, they'll have to be on the watch. And the fact that they realize they wouldn't be safe anywhere, but still want to try. (Besides, since McGonagall was able to enter the Ravenclaw common room in Deathly Hallows, anybody who can solve riddles could get in. On another note, guess which Claw hates riddles and would end up camping outside the knocker? Yeah. Me.) Five thousand Galleons is a personality-altering amount of money, it seems.

Love their bantering about names. I have to agree, wizard names suck. But Rose Nymphadora! YES TONKS GOT ACKNOWLEDGED. That makes me happy. I can see her, hair turning red, snarling "Don't call me Nymphadora". So... Rose Tonks Weasley? I can also see Ron and Hermione laughing as they named Rose, remembering Tonks and how she hated her first name.

Nobody in this room has any friends outside this room. Hehehe I feel kind of bad for laughing.

Scorpius as Head Boy? I have to admit, that's not something I've seen before, but my reading list is limited (despite the fact it has like 250 fics on it, waiting to be read. It's still limited.) to either one-shots, romances, nextgens where they've graduated, and AUs.

I think you have a typo here - whingeing - which I think should be whining.

Love their banter in general. And yes, Albus being mistaken for Scorpius would be saying something, since (assuming they both look like their fathers) Harry and Draco are something like complete physical opposites. Sort of.

Uncle George sounds shocked that Rose of all people is in the store. But also knowing. And I love how she says the default defence seems to be "blame Dad".

Ugh I hate Louis already. From the sound of him, he seems to have picked up Fleur's worst traits. Bleurgh. (Whatever that sound is. It's supposed to be one of disgust. Homophobia is not tolerated.)

On another note, I'm glad you waited to announce that Albus and Scorpius were together, and didn't give it a whole lot of fanfare, just mentioning it in passing. I have to admit that I'm a complete noob with writing LGBTQA characters (which I'd like to change at some point) but I'm happy that you didn't start the novel by saying "This is Albus and this is Scorpius. They're both gay and dating each other." (That imaginary opening made me cringe.)

And that prank was awesome. I'm sitting here giggling nonstop and I'm very happy I'm not at school right now because if I was everyone would think I was crazy. I wonder if Scorpius used it as an excuse to get ahead in the House Cup? Winning the scholarship AND the House Cup would make for a wonderful year, I think.

Even at this point it's readily apparent why you have that Dobby award ribbon on your banner. Hopefully by the time I finish reading (and reviewing) this there'll be more chapters of Pending Further Investigation for me to catch up on? *is hopeful*

~Olivia

Author's Response: hey olivia! it's great to see you back, and it's absolutely fine that it took you longer than expected - this review was definitely worth the wait!

this story was always going to be about pranking, but the realities of getting a bunch of overachieving claws to actually do said pranking is where the fun happens. five thousand galleons is definitely a personality-altering amount of money (i spent a lot of time on wizarding currency converters thanks to the hp lexicon and it is. it's a lot of money. i'd alter my personality for five thousand galleons). and i'd be joining you camped outside the knocker because i'm terrible at riddles too. we'd have snacks. it'd be a party

YES it seemed like rose and hugo escaped the whole 'we turned our children into walking memorials to the war dead' fate of most of their peers but i reckon they'd probably have a middle name commemorating someone and i couldn't let tonks go unrecognised because she's the best

you shouldn't feel bad for laughing. these guys are my babies and i laugh every time i think about it because they DON'T

for some reason i always make scorpius a head boy (well, i use 'always' loosely, but i definitely make him a high achiever of some description in every story i've written).but he definitely fits the role in this story

i did typo that word, it should be whinging though, not whining (i looked it up and its use is mostly restricted to australia/new zealand/britain, so that might explain why you don't recognise it? it just means obnoxious complaining. picture small children)

i had to pay homage to the weasleys' endlessly ripping on each other because george and ron are still brothers even if they're meant to be responsible adults, and rose knows how to take advantage of that

louis is the worst. he starts out as the worst and then somehow he gets even worse. it's almost impressive

that would be an awful opening. lgbtqa representation is a major part of this story and very important to me, but it's not a major plot point at any time, because it's important to me to normalise other sexual identities as much as possible. this is a story about dorks who happen to be queer trying to prank people, not dorks being queer. and you should definitely give writing lgbtqa characters a go because you have at least one reader right here with a vested interest in the subject

i'm glad you enjoy the pranks as well! that was by far the most challenging part of writing this story - i'm about as familiar with the art of pranking as the order of the raven, so their struggles with coming up with ideas (and their pride when they do) are entirely authentic.

thank you so much for this review, and i eagerly await hearing from you again! (and hopefully i'll have a new chapter of PFI up for you in the next few days!)



 Report Review

Review #4, by BellaLestrange87 i. the plan [or] five nerds face a life of hedonism

26th January 2015:
Hello!

I saw your status about answering all your unanswered reviews. Because I'm a horrible person, I immediately decided to come to this story and leave more reviews. When I should be sleeping. Yeah, I definitely need to sort out my priorities. :p

I'm going to say first off that I LOVE the idea of George setting up a scholarship in Fred's name. Considering how close they were, he would probably want some way to remember his brother without bringing stabs of pain every time he thought of Fred, and helping future troublemakers find their way in the world is an excellent way to do so. And I love how Hermione is trying to keep her daughter on the mature approach by urging her to tune out Ron.

A teaching course run by the Ministry? It makes me happy to hear that, and also a bit hopeful that it's a recent establishment and not one that was around when Harry was in school. (If it was, look at part of its distinguished list of graduates: Gilderoy Lockhart and Dolores Umbridge. I should probably hope.)

I love how the scholarship seems to be taboo in the house! (And the fact that Rose is feigning innocence of it makes me laugh.) It's sort of similar to how the Dursleys won't let anyone say the word magic in their house, thinking that it's horrible.

Everyone's enthusiasm for the scholarship was a lot of fun to read - especially considering they seemed to have automatically assumed they would get it, without even stopping to think. Then, of course, they read the terms and conditions - which made me laugh; I don't think I've seen a better descriptor of what Fred and George did at Hogwarts - and realized just what they had to do to get that money.

And the fact that they want to use the money for normal things was, for me, nice. I've heard too many stories of people who win the lottery or something and blow it in a few months. I love how Albus and Scorpius would like to move in together, using some of the prize Galleons, even though their houses are "literally made of money". (That is an awesome line, by the way.) I think it's a great depiction of teenagers: they want to be independent, and independent means not having to owl Mom and Dad for money.

I honestly don't know how they didn't realize just what they'll have to do. It's the Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship. By the sound of it, these characters would be more suited to the Percy Weasley Scholarship: for respectable students who have a spotless record and have no idea how to prank.

Yesyesyes I think I love these guys even more! They're so much like me I can sympathize with them. Those hedonistic Gryffindors can laugh all they want, but at the end of the day we achieve things. Between the five of us we only got two Exceeds Expectations in OWL year Lester for Herbology and Holly for Astronomy with everything else Outstanding. Revenge is sweet. And Scorpius's line: "Life is not a coming-of-age novel. Is it just me, or does this seem to be a coming-of-age novel? Did you do this intentionally?

Love the Game of Thrones references. And the fact that they don't know who Umbridge is. I'm sure they could ask one of the Trio for details. Long story short, I loved this chapter, and I'll be back for more reviews tomorrow, since it's 12:30 AM here, I need to sleep, and I have an exam tomorrow.

~Olivia

Author's Response: I have to say this tripped me up a bit because I'm answering everything from most recent so it's a little less daunting and i refreshed the page and went "wait what i haven't seen this one before" but congratulations you're going to get the fastest review response in my author history

also there's literally nothing wrong with your priorities your priorities are perfect and i have ulterior motives.

i honestly don't even know what sparked the idea for a fred weasley memorial scholarship because it sort of jumped fully-formed into my head but yeah george weasley in my mind is the ultimate benevolent uncle who insists on corrupting other people's children while also helping them, and this is the only kind of scholarship that he'd want to put fred's name to

the teaching course is definitely a recent establishment (i reckon mcgonagall pushed for it) and also definitely in response to the string of awful teachers Hogwarts had seen in its recent history

They're very financially motivated, that bunch - and they're at the right age where they want independence - not just to move out of home but to also not rely on help from their parents. and of course they're used to excelling at everything they do, so they saw "scholarship" and went "yep that's us"

they'd win a percy weasley scholarship hands down, but that wouldn't make for a very fun story.

yeah. yeah that was a very deliberate line. this is definitely a coming-of-age novel. meta jokes are just the tip of the terrible-joke iceberg in this story

Go to bed. and good luck on your exam, and thanks so much for the detailed review!



 Report Review

Review #5, by HappyMollyWeasley iv. the secret weapon [or] well, i didn't see that coming

24th January 2015:
OMG this was truly the most wonderful coming out scene I've ever read! Absolutely perfect! Albus/Scorpius is my favourite ship, and you're writing them very well. I love all your characters! :-)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Albus/Scorpius is definitely one of my OTPs, and I loved writing them in this. Thank you again!

 Report Review

Review #6, by HappyMollyWeasley ii. the initiation [or] five thousand galleons justifies everything

24th January 2015:
I can't believe I've missed this story! It's great, I'll keep reading! :-)

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I'm glad you're enjoying it!

 Report Review

Review #7, by marauderfan xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

23rd January 2015:
Okay! I've now read the whole thing. Apologies on not reviewing more of these chapters - when I read a fic that's got a lot of chapters I tend to just click right on through rather than reviewing, and I did that in this case because your story is addicting. I know, I'm terrible. BUT. This story was so, so wonderful and I am going to try to find the words to describe just how wonderful.

The way you handled LGBTQ characters, first of all, was just lovely. I also liked that within this group of Ravenclaws, four of the five of them were queer so it was the norm and Lester was the one who stood out as he was straight. Not that it mattered to any of them because they're just all good friends who love each other for being good friends. But I loved that because hetero was the minority here, it turned the tables on heteronormativity. That's so important.

Also, anxiety. I think you handled the subject so well, and as this is a big deal for some people it's especially important to handle tactfully and you really did. Rose's panic attack in the staffroom was heartbreaking and while I knew what was happening outside her head, (i.e. I could tell that the teachers weren't trying to expel her), seeing it all through Rose's eyes was so powerful and I felt so badly for her. It really did feel like a scary moment and you did so well portraying anxiety in this.

Albus and Scorpius were seriously amazing. I kind of had a mini-heart attack when they broke up for that short time there. I just loved your characterisation of both of them, and their obsessions with Latin and Ancient Greek made me smile every time. Please tell me they stay together forever.

All of your characters, though, were really impressive. You put such thought into their personalities and back stories and what makes them who they are, and it shows. They were all just such a delight to read, particularly all of them interacting together as a group. What an awesome group of people. :)

I can 1000% understand why this story won a Dobby. You totally deserve it. Thank you for writing this.

Author's Response: honestly it's such a huge compliment that you were so engrossed in the story that you didn't stop to review, it means a lot to me

turning the tables on heteronormativity is my mission in life. i can't articulate how happy it makes me that i achieved that because heteronormativity is such a damaging concept and it's so important to me that i challenge that. and lester being the 'token straight' is also lifted straight from personal experience - my flat is four-fifths queer too and we have the token straight guy, and nobody's queer in isolation. birds of a feather flock together and all that.

anxiety is another of those things i have a vested interest in portraying accurately because i have anxiety myself (and the staffroom scene was really draining and really helpful to write at the same time - this story has honestly taught me so much) but it was also important for me to show the value of having support networks in place - again, personal experience, because that wasn't something i had as a teenager.

albus/scorpius is endgame. they go through a lot together and some of it's worse than their brief break-up, but they do stay together forever and i don't think its spoiling anything of pending further investigation to tell you that.

i'm so glad you like them as much as i do, they really are my babies and i adore them and the way they interact. thank you so much for reading, and for this lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by marauderfan ix. the family we choose [or] all you need is love

22nd January 2015:
Hi Lisa. I apologise in advance for this review because it's 1 in the morning and as Rose can attest (i.e. toomanycurls, not Rose Weasley) my brain doesn't work past about 10 so I leave lots of loopy late night reivews.

Anyway, what I want to say is that I love this story. I've been hearing so much about it for so long and finally decided to read it and I'm so glad I did - I just love the characters and how hyou're addressing such important issues and things that are not often mentioned in fiction but are so relatable. And you've done it with such fantastic dialogue and humour. I want to be friends with all these nerdy Ravenclaws. Even though I'm not a Claw, I feel like I'd fit right in and that they are the sort of people who would actually appreciate my memorising Pi to 67 places.

Though I really want to just keep reading, I will finish the rest of the story tomorrow because my right eye is twitching in tiredness. That's probably for the best though beause then I'll be able to write proper reviews in the morning. Ciao!



Author's Response: don't ever apologise for loopy late night reviews because i treasure them so much

thank you so much! i feel like tfwms is probably sitting in that category of "i've heard a lot about this story, i should read it sometime" for a lot of people and it's always really gratifying to hear that it's been worth their time or lives up to expectation.

they would definitely appreciate your memorising Pi to 67 places. especially holly because she's a huge dork. i want to be friends with them all as well but alas they're not real and i made them up

thank you so much for the review (and for reading to the point of eye twitches!)


 Report Review

Review #9, by crestwood i. the plan [or] five nerds face a life of hedonism

10th January 2015:
Here I am, approaching the daunting task of reviewing this beautiful, beautiful story. I am almost afraid to sully it with what I have to say. But, I've been putting it off for far too long and now is definitely the time to start. (although I have my eye on a few other things on your Author's Page as well)

Can I just say--if we ever got a Next-Gen film, this is what I want. I will accept nothing less than a Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship movie.

Now that I know you agree with me about the importance of faceclaims I have to say that your Rose is spot on for this story and I can't see that person ever again without thinking of this story.

The beginning of this in which Ron is telling Rose about the scholarship is such an amazing set up. Especially when he mouths Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship at her. I remember when I first read this and I was jumping up and down because I already knew I had found a new favorite.

Scorpius says something haughtily here in the first chapter, how fitting.

And of course Holly is the only one to read the fine print. It's amazing coming back and seeing how much of their character is present here.

Honestly though--I am obviously a Slytherclaw for life because research, discovery, mastery of skills, massive superiority complexes?? Also known as Joseph.

Their reaction to this revelation that they'll have to prank is so great. It's like it's really not something they'd do, but then again TONS OF MONEY.

How did I miss how meta this is?? Scorpius talking about character development and coming of age novels is kind of the funniest thing ever considering that their lives are pretty much literally a coming of age novel.

I live my LIFE for anecdotes. I am all for eternal shenanigan glory. Also, the way they keep repeating each others words is so hilarious for some reason.

Game of Thrones references thrown in for good measure ♥

The Order of the Raven is perfect on a number of different levels.

This just made me realize that I've never written an Umbridge teacher before. I kind of want to write a Really Mean Teacher fic now.

The end of the chapter on that note of like 'were totally the most hated at this school, who are we even supposed to prank??' is perfect and this is like, one of the most flawless chapters of anything I've ever read.

You're so great at writing seriously what does one even say about this. Like--thank you for sharing this with the world I guess?? You're incredibly talented and I want to be you. Okay, I'm done - you're awesome.

 Report Review

Review #10, by ScarlettANDJames xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

6th January 2015:
i loved your story! its so not cliche and with very well written characters and this was just brilliant tbh, i think i will definitely stop by your other stories as well! xx

Author's Response: thanks so much, i'm glad you enjoyed it and that you enjoy my other stuff as well! thanks for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Dumdum ix. the family we choose [or] all you need is love

2nd January 2015:
So funny! Thoroughly enjoyed reading it!

Author's Response: glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #12, by Dumdum vi. the acceleration of chaos [or] holly & lester become inadvertent zookeepers

2nd January 2015:
I was laughin through the entire chapter!
left boob xD

Author's Response: glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #13, by Dumdum v. the tell-all [or] don't hold back now

2nd January 2015:
Wow that went well.
It's nice to see you seal with these circumstances with such realism.

Author's Response: Thanks, glad you think so!

 Report Review

Review #14, by Dumdum iv. the secret weapon [or] well, i didn't see that coming

2nd January 2015:
Asexual, really?
This just gets better and better

Author's Response: i'm glad you appreciate it!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Dumdum iii. the order of the raven [or] our reputation precedes us

2nd January 2015:
I'm liking Scorpius xD

Author's Response: i like scorpius too. thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #16, by Dumdum ii. the initiation [or] five thousand galleons justifies everything

2nd January 2015:
Loved the chapter.
Sorry for the typo in the last review. I was impatient to continue reading.
Albus and Scorpius are a thing! Aww

 Report Review

Review #17, by Dumdum i. the plan [or] five nerds face a life of hedonism

2nd January 2015:
Amazing first chapter.
I'm exoecting lots of fun and action in thee later ones considering the great storyline.
Good work :)

Author's Response: thank you, glad you're enjoying it!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Yazi xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

1st January 2015:
Wow. That's all I can say. I've wasted a whole 24 hours of my life reading this, but I can say that it was defintely worth it 😂

Author's Response: i'm glad it was worth a full 24 hours! thanks for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by ralphiegirl iv. the secret weapon [or] well, i didn't see that coming

29th December 2014:
I LOVE YOU!!! You are the first author of any kind to have an ace character and I LOVE YOU FOR IT!!! And your writing is splendid and this idea is amazing and you are officially my favorite author!!

 Report Review

Review #20, by amortentiaandroses xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

27th December 2014:
I just finished reading your fic and I must say that I was completely blown away by how amazing it is. Firstly, I love the way you wrote the 'Claws, as well as their group. They just seem to be like the dream team. Your inclusion of LGBTQ students was really great to read about as not many authors include people who are in the LGBTQ community into their stories. I would like to applaud you on your writing about anxiety disorders. You handled the topic with respect and care and it was a wonderful insight into Rose, Scorpius and Lester's characters.
All in all I just want to say that you are an amazing writer, and just like the characters of your story, you will go on to do amazing things.

 Report Review

Review #21, by xelha horse ix. the family we choose [or] all you need is love

26th December 2014:
I am planning on finishing this today, and I love it already! Just wanted to say that I chuckled at this line, and I cannot wait to read more funny lines from you.
"Holly dotes on her, Emma worships the ground Holly walks on, and Albus and I are left glaring at our detached and condescending younger siblings wondering what went wrong and whether we could ever pull off a quiet trade."
Great work, Ravenclaw333!!

 Report Review

Review #22, by orderofthephoenix xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

24th December 2014:
Hi there! I've just finished reading this story on my Kindle and thought I'd leave a review. I enjoyed this story immensely, from the overall storyline to the individual developments of the five main characters. The group as a whole changed so much over the course of the year and a year of pranking did them well. As great as Rose, Albus, Scorpius, Holly and Lester were, I thought you did well with Emily too. The pranks that the students pulled were imaginative and original; I think the howler essays were my favourite.

I must commend you on your writing of the LGBTQ students at Hogwarts and the characters suffering from anxiety. I was surprised, but glad, to see an accepting Hogwarts where students weren't assumed to be straight and any sexuality was accepted. The scene where Rose had an anxiety attack in the staffroom brought tears to my eyes because the way you wrote it (from Rose's POV) felt so real and upsetting.

Congratulations on your achievement of winning a Dobby award. The list of winners was how I found this story and I'm very glad I did. I intend to read the sequel as well, but I will probably wait until it is completed as I prefer reading stories on this site that way.

A thorough well done on this story!

 Report Review

Review #23, by kenpo x. the weasley christmas experience [or] scorpius and lester get festive jumpers

19th December 2014:
Oh I love a good Weasley Christmas!! I enjoyed Scorpious in this chapter quite a bit. He's so inappropriate!!! I'm also still a huge fan of he and Albus.

I'm so addicted to this novel... The characters, their interactions, relationships, the plot, everything. I'm currently reading on my phone in bed, hoping the light of my phone doesn't wake my boyfriend up.

Great chapter!

-Georgia

 Report Review

Review #24, by kenpo ix. the family we choose [or] all you need is love

18th December 2014:
I'M SO HAPPY FOR HHOOH!!!

I don't know how to decide which of the parts of this chapter were my favorite.

I want to know what's up with Vector. I feel as if she can't have just been this oblivious, especially because she must know about the scholarship. So I'm thinking that mabe she knows about it, and she's supporting them because she wants them to succeed? You compared her to McGonagall, and that's something I can see her doing...

I don't know. I'll leave that for now. You know, I still don't know what's going on with the Felix, do I? TRICKY YOU!!!

I love Scorpius. He's so inappropriate. Oh my god. I also enjoyed the siblingness! I can see where Al is coming from, with Lily sort of encroaching on his territory, with his friend group. The banter in this chapter was just fantastic!!!

And then I also really enjoyed Hugo and Rose's little moment. It was nice. I'm looking forward to a Very Potter/Weasley Christmas!!

Another great chapter!

-Georgia

 Report Review

Review #25, by kenpo viii. the spanner in the works [or] keep your enemies closer

18th December 2014:
Your characters are fantastic. I love that they find witty what they find witty.

I am your Virgil

Oh my god, and then Scorpius oversharing. I love him. I did miss HHOOH. Okay I loved when Scorpius is going through everything they know about who Lester kissed, and then he just says "Albus I think we've reached the same conclusion". I love them. I love these characters!!

And then I laughed when Rose said "Al look at your parents!"

Rose and Lorcan, huh? I'm guessing that we'll find more about that, yeah?

Aaksdfj this was another short review but like I've said about 100 times, I can't stop reading!!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>