221 Reviews Found

Review #1, by kassandra466 ii. the initiation [or] five thousand galleons justifies everything

30th August 2014:
Another brilliant chapter. I like the fact that Rose and Scorpius did not get head boy and girl. It makes things unique and realistic

 Report Review

Review #2, by kassandra466 i. the plan [or] five nerds face a life of hedonism

30th August 2014:
That was stunning. I loved it. I was laughing my pants off. I adore your characters they have so much personality. Youre doing a flawless job and its only chapter one

 Report Review

Review #3, by dracodarlingxx xviii. the hour of reckoning [or] april fool's

28th August 2014:
i already left a comment on this chapter so long ago o.O
but then i read the Iliad cos there were so many mentions of it in this story and it was on my list of 50 Book to Read before I Die, so i thought i might as well. and god, it was good :D
but i have the penguin's classic edition translated by robert fagles and the first line is : Rage - Goddess, sing the rage of Peleus' son Achilles, in contrast to the first line of the Iliad that scor's howler screams
but i guess the variation is just because it's a different translation right? sorry for asking, but i'm really just pretty curious :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by BookDinosaur xviii. the hour of reckoning [or] april fool's

22nd August 2014:
Oh my god Louis that boy doesn't deserve to be at Hogwarts, I'm telling you. He has no idea. Does he even have any clue what that could have done to Lester? Stupid, stupid, stupid. I am legit so angry right now. >:-|

UGH ALBUS. Where on earth did he get the idea in his head that he wasn't good enough for Scorpius? And that he was the least of his family? Where on earth did he get that, it can't be something completely unfounded and it's much much bigger than the thing about subjects so why why why is he thinking like that? :(

Wah, when Al and Scorp are together they're witty and when they're apart it's just they're both so unstable and they need each other, it's as simple as that. :( And Scorp why oh why would you choose Alfie as your rebound guy?

BUT YAY AL AND SCORP MADE UP!! You are master at manipulating emotions, you know that? :P Gah, Al and Scorp got together again over old Greek epic poems, that's so sweet you are fast making them my OTP Lisa which you can't do because Jily. I am so confused right now. :P

And Alfie and Rose made up as well, so that's fun. :D

This chapter is almost all sunshine and rainbows except for that bit at the end - way, I really really hope Lester will be okay!

 Report Review

Review #5, by BookDinosaur xvii. the implosion [or] when it all hits the fan

22nd August 2014:
LISA DON'T EVEN TRY TO APOLOGISE, OKAY? JUST NO. *cries* I can't. I won't. This is the second time I've read this story and I'm still so upset over this. You can't do this to me

Okay, even though I know what's going to happen I'm still so upset. :( Stop ripping my feels apart.

And Holly! I can so understand her actually, I get really sarcastic and short-tempered around exam time. But way, she and Lester and Al and Acorp and Lisa you're making them all upset and breaking my heart right now. :( At least Rose has a level head. At least Rose isn't upset. It's a good thing that she's right, and at least one person in the group is stable because if they weren't then the whole group might split apart and I DON'T THINK I COULD HANDLE THAT.

I never even considered that some subjects might be considered as better or more academic that another and poor Al is so insecure and just wah don't feel so bad about yourself it's not right. :(

I have nothing much more than this to say Lisa because you have broken my feels and I need to move on to the next chapter to make myself feel better.

 Report Review

Review #6, by BookDinosaur xvi. the way ahead [or] i reminisce too much and scorpius has a plan

22nd August 2014:
So after a lengthy, healthy, and pelthy break from reviewing, I'm back to raise your Unanswered Review count. *waves* HI LISA!

Oh gosh, Alfie and Rose are really kind of sweet. Even if there aren't really any feelings in their relationship, it's mutual and just yeah pretty much the perfect casual relationship.

Lisa, you are a clever clever author. All that self-inspection/introspection by Rose in the Prefect's bathroom really helped us to see a different, more vulnerable side of her but at the same time it was really natural and not as though you were shoving it at us just for the sake of developing her character.

Ahhh, and now the gang is back together and I love reading them together. I missed Al and Scorp and their witty banter. I missed your witty banter in general because nobody does witty banter quite like you and I promise that's a compliment. :P "You love my beanstalk physique" "Someone has to" Hahaha, laughing so hard at that one.

Wah though, I feel so bad for poor Lester! I mean, I suppose that having a younger brother who has special needs does mean that Max gets more attention, but his parents are full-on ignoring Lester for his younger brother, and that's not right. I really hope Ginny can get over whatever she has against him, because Lester really does need someone to take care of him. It's good he has Lily and his gang. I'm glad for that. :)

Another brill chapter, Lisa! And the Eels have just beaten the Sea Eagles, which basically makes me a happy chappie. :D

 Report Review

Review #7, by jellylegs2066 xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

6th August 2014:
I just binge read this story today and it's just amazing! Such a unique take on the characters we read so much about. Each one had such a distinct personality, with their own flaws and shortcomings. Such a fantastic portrayal of Ravenclaws, with their genius but also neuroses and the pressure that comes with meeting people's expectations. And oh all the classical references! As someone currently doing a degree in Ancient History and Archaeology, it made me so happy to see all the classics-y things! Far too few stories involve them. So this was just fab, can't wait to read the sequel and see what happens next!

 Report Review

Review #8, by Gladis Gudgeon xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

1st August 2014:
That was fantastic, and original, and hilarious. I just binge read the whole thing and I never stopped laughing. Wow. I usually hate how Rose is portrayed, but she was a really interesting character this time. The story could have been paced a little better, but still 10/10
Gladis Gudgeon

 Report Review

Review #9, by Lindsay xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

23rd July 2014:
This is my absolute favourite piece on this website. Like seriously. I read it for the first time a few days ago, and I'm back to read it again. It's just amazing. It's so funny and witty and there's romance but it's not in your face and it doesn't dictate the plot, y'know? I wish I could read it for the first time again. I love the way you've depicted all the characters - Draco Malfoy is my third favourite character (under Snape and Sirius) and I have a habit of getting upset when Scorpius is portrayed as someone awful. This made me really want to go read some Scorpius/Albus (Albius? Scorbus?) because the dynamic just seemed fantastic. I'm waiting not-so-patiently for the next chapter in the sequel.

 Report Review

Review #10, by dracodarlingxx xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

20th July 2014:
SO PERFECT
SO FRIKKIN PERFECT IT HURTS TO READ THIS CHAPTER
i laughed so hard at the previous chapter where they went from talking about portkey charms to the gender of teddy bears, but argh everything was funny
and so good
i'm actually fangirling over this fic, and i only fangirl over boybands (don't laugh, the wanted are (were :'( ) so good) so i guess it could be a compliment :)
and about lester getting 3 top scholars? can't say i expected that, but it makes sense, of course, they're all geniuses :D
CAN'T WAIT FOR THE SEQUEL!
and Scor, mate : 'brainy is the new sexy'? i do love you so :*

 Report Review

Review #11, by DoctorUnderwood xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

15th July 2014:
OH MY GOD I LOVED THIS STORY SOSOSOSO MUCH. THANK YOU FOR WRITING IT.

I see the sequel is posted already. If you will excuse me...

 Report Review

Review #12, by Callippso xv. the game-changer [or] between a rock and a hard place

14th July 2014:
Just need to tell you I am so engrossed in your story right now I can't stop reading. It's 11pm (not that late I know) and my son will probably be awake in like half an hour bit I CAN'T STOP. Also I think Albus and Scorp are my new OTP. This story is very docent from what I normally read but I'm glad that I have xxx

 Report Review

Review #13, by nargles xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

12th July 2014:
God, this story is brilliant. It's so freaking hilarious. That hippogryffindor thing you mentioned a few chapters back absolutely killed me. Keep up the good work with future stories!

 Report Review

Review #14, by coolsilver xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

11th July 2014:
You have written one of the MOST unique, spectacular, excellent and praise-worthy pieces of fanfiction I have ever had the pleasure of reading.

I am half in love with you just from these magnificent characters that you fleshed out- Rose, Holly, Albus, Scorpius, Lester, and co. This may also be the first time I've seen so many sexualities defined and exemplified brilliantly in a fic. Not only that, you somehow made these wonderful, highly intelligent (so much more so than us mere mortals), and rather intimidating Ravenclaws relatable (italicize that). You did that through panic attacks, romantic encounters and failings, Rose's insights, among other incidents, and made them utterly human in a way that avoided SO many possible and painful obvious cliches, which, as any good writer worth their salt knows, is nearly impossible.

Pranks and such are a normal standard in fics, but yours definitely went A and B the C of D, haha. You also put such thought in writing and fleshing out the literary works (Epic poems, really?! I wanted to kiss you myself! Hah.), usage of appropriate quotes, and even aspects of magical theory that was on par with true excellence.

It's difficult to write a good story, and you did not write a good story.

You wrote a masterpiece. If you ever write a novel to be published in the world outside of fanfiction, you can count on me to be one of the first in line to buy it.

I also don't know how I'll be able to continue reading Next Gen fics again after this mindblowing display of genius! Such a conundrum! :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by patronus_charm xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

10th July 2014:
Dun, dun, dun final chapter!

Bahaha, why did Rose go and get so nervous it was like being with Hermione on results day really as you end up feeling worse as youíre with someone whoís bound to get fab grades. Ooh, I really liked the new grade you invented as that made me laugh, and I feel so proud for getting it in Potions and the rest of her results were so good too, aw, sheís such a good student!

Yo, these guys are way too smart itís just making me feel nervous now about my own impending result so yeah stop being so good :P But ha, it was nice to see that they lived up to their Clawhood in that way. Yay they won! Though I kinda saw it coming after what silly Louis went and did plus the toilet paper dove thing was really cool. I didnít suspect Emily at all though, so it was cool that it was her as I can trust her now and whoo the Department of Mysteries what a fun job to have!

Yay, this was such a fun story and congrats on finishing this and you wrote it so quickly Iím kinda in shock!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #16, by patronus_charm the spirit of fred weasley [or] exit, pursued by a bear

10th July 2014:
Aw Lily ♥ Lester, so cute and their names are so cute, and the whole sort of Harry/Ginny thing is so cute, and yeah, just so cute really. I am kinda worried for Holly though because if sheís acting like this now when the exams actually start all hell is going to break lose so keep calm and revise on (bad carry on pun thing:P) you can do it Holly! Ok, these guys are kind of crazy with their plans for the final event itís like one person says one thing itís been expanded into a whole bunch of craziness but I should have seen it coming in a way.

Haha, the whole exam period made me laugh a lot but I think the best thing was the way Rose wanted to discuss the answers to the questions like Hermione did but then Albus was all no way jose like Ron, so yeah, just so cute seeing those traits come through in these two. Yay, they finished! Ha, the craziness of their planning did seem to pay off as they really did go out with a bang and good on James for the party he provided, it just seemed like so much fun!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #17, by patronus_charm xix. the calm before the storm [or] regroup; onward

10th July 2014:
Wooh! (but wah, just realised forget to HC 2014 in my last review :( )

Woah, so much drama, I really liked seeing Rose running around and getting everyone as it was oddly funny for some reason. Iím not entirely sure but it just made me crack up a lot even though it was a pretty serious situation. But yay she got her chance to teach and sort of survived it so wooh go Rose your future is looking bright. But Lisa Iím not sure if Iím meant to be supporting Albus and Scorpius anymore because if they are soulmates, like Lily said, they do seem to like destroying one another so yeah, the whole is it a good idea theyíre together is currently running around my mind so I guess Iíll just have to wait and see.

Yay for Hermione she made me laugh a lot that even though she was meant to be being all serious and stuff she still had time to go and be proud of Rose which was really cute and lovely and yeah I love this family! Aw, but poor Hermione getting into fuss over whether they deserved the punishment but as Rose said they were idiots to do that so they kinda do.

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #18, by patronus_charm xviii. the hour of reckoning [or] april fool's

10th July 2014:
Hi Lisa!

Woah, woah, woah, so much happened! First, Albus is an idiot why did he go and get that stupid idea in his head, something fishy is going on I tell you. Secondly, poor Rose because though theyíre not dating it still must suck so much to have that happen to you and I am sending her so many hugs right now. Thirdly, woah, Scorpius, woah, why choose him as your rebound guy, why?

Ok, Scorpius is such a mess right now. I feel as if Iím watching some celebrity on their downward spiral right now with the drinking, sleeping around, not knowing whatís going on then thereís the rumours and way people are trying to get him into rehab in a way, itís almost kinda funny to watch :P

Albus stares at Scorpius. Scorpius stares at Albus. ♥ ♥ ♥ Yo, they got back together after bonding over a Latin text, I mean, how cute is that, theyíre meant to be like me and pizza :P

Dun, dun, dun must read on!

-Kiana

 Report Review

Review #19, by patronus_charm xvii. the implosion [or] when it all hits the fan

9th July 2014:
Hi again!

Ok, I thought the teachers at my school were only cool enough to prank us (and yes they actually did prank us) so when I saw them doing it here I got a little too excited because whoo pranking, and yay theyíre in the know for all the pranks this will be interesting and I canít wait to see whatís going to happen next from this. I especially love the pranks against the other houses and itís true about the Gryffie/Claw rivalry as seen from this HC. :P Ooh tension and drama between Albus and Holly but I can imagine being a drama queen all the time as he just fits that image so I can totally roll with this. No, no, no you canít apologise, donít even try as I may throw things at you, why break them up, why? Just why? I have no words right now.

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Chazzie xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

9th July 2014:
Oh my god oh my god oh my god oh my god. Wait, what do you mean it's done? No Lisa, bad Lisa :'( gah. I just can't believe it's complete. Congratulations, by the way, because that is a very impressive achievement. I've loved the story since the very first chapter, and I will continue to love it forever more. Not to sound stalkerish or anything. You always add in such amazing things - the bear was inspired. I loved the way that everything they had done for the Scholarship was used in the final prank. I kinda wish we could have seen how it turned out, with the teachers having to deal with all these things and the fact that their seventh years have just gone AWOL (she says, hinting at a one-shot ;) )
I'm so glad they did amazingly in their NEWTs and even got the scholarship. The money from the ministry will certainly give Lester a hand too. I'm just so glad that everything worked out in the end, even if this is the final chapter. I will miss this story. And I will definitely be back for the sequel. You are an amazing writer, and thank you so very much for giving us the chance to read it!
Lottie

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #21, by MKReeds xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

9th July 2014:
Very well done! Love every bit of your story, in particular
the witty banter! Good job too on the pranks! Very clever!

 Report Review

Review #22, by grednforge217 xxi. the rest of our lives [or] an epilogue of sorts

9th July 2014:
Oh, I'm so sad that this story is over. It was incredible, and I honestly teared up a bit at the ending. Rose and the rest of the Claws feel like the kind of people I wish that I would have been friends with had I gone to Hogwarts. I was actually extremely proud of them when they all got their NEWTs, especially Rose! And Lester too. Well, all of them. I'm glad that you're not abandoning them entirely, as that would be too sad for me. I look forward to more from you and them. Please keep writing, you are so prodigiously talented!

 Report Review

Review #23, by patronus_charm xvi. the way ahead [or] i reminisce too much and scorpius has a plan

9th July 2014:
What time is it? Time for another review!

Aw, I really liked the moment in the bathroom with Rose as I feel as if I really got a new insight into her mind and how she thinks things through and it was just really interesting. I think it was because we saw something fragile of her with the mention of the reputation which was really good addition to include. She and Alfie are actually really cute together and have some really lovely banter going on, so I just love reading them together so much!

Yay the gangís back together again! I just love reading them all together so much as it just makes me laugh and yeah theyíre just so fab together. I think Iíve finally decided on my favourite character and itís Albus and Scorpius because as theyíre soulmates they count as one in my mind, and yeah they just make me crack up so much and are just so fab so yeah gotta love them!

ĎďTheyíve attempted to claim me,Ē Albus says distastefully, ďAs their gay best friend.Ēí Ė dying, dying, dying.

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #24, by BookDinosaur xv. the game-changer [or] between a rock and a hard place

9th July 2014:
House Cup Review 2014!

BAM. HIT RIGHT BETWEEN THE EYES THERE, ROSE. OMG WHAT'S SHE GONNA DO? Certainly a game-changer if nothing else!

Alfie and Rose are getting cuter by the minute and I really love their relationship together! Hopefully Lara isn't *too* angry because I don't want their relationship poked at by anyone because it's just too adorable. :D And it's just nice to see how the Claws do things differently and how Alfie like watching Rose study because yeah it's just the best and so sweet. :D

Hahaha, I find it so realistic that the Professors all let their hair down during the holidays and sit at their old House tables and that's going into my headcanon straightaway! I loved the little mini-argument/mini-standoff the Transfiguration and Potions Professors had, oh dear. :P People will always find womthing to be competitive about!

Ahh, the panic attack was just so awful and you wrote it so well! I feel so bad for Rose, and oh no - I really do hope she's not developing Potion Dependency as that would be akin to drug abuse and just no, Rose, you can't do that! You wrote the whole thing so well though, and it was really realistic, as was the almost-panic attack she had and Holly coming over to try and help her through it and yeah, just props to you there!

AHH CONGRATS TO ROSE THOUGH WITH THAT OFFER! She does deserve it though, from what I've seen Llodewick is right, he'd be hard-pressed to find someons as suitable for the title of Potions Master than Rose and congrats to her, really!

And then it hits you when you least expect it - six thousand galleons. What's Rose gonna DO oh no!

 Report Review

Review #25, by patronus_charm xv. the game-changer [or] between a rock and a hard place

9th July 2014:
Itís the final countdown to the final chapter!

Yo, Iím not sure what to make of Alfie and his whole dreaming thing as it wasnít so smooth to say that but sort of cute but sort of weird, yes Iím not sure of the whole situation basically. But ahaha, I just wanted to laugh so much when they were sat down for breakfast and the teachers were there because I thought they were going to be busted but I guess not. But theyíre such a Claw couple, with the way they go and revise straight after.

Aw, Rose was so at home with the teachers and there I was cheering her on for having her dream come true and that she could be a teacher and then wham so much happened but it was so good as I could really feel Roseís confusion and fear then and it was just written so well. Holly was such a nice friend though supporting her despite possibly ruining everything too :P

Yo, look at Rose guy with her guy and friends with benefits, I didnít think she would do it, but I can see it almost suiting her but I think I laughed way too at the mention of Krum. Woah, that was awkward with Vector if she knows about everything in the tower she knows you know what, wah, so awkward. But whoo, things are on the up for Rose! :D

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>