218 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MargaretLane A New Seeker

25th March 2015:
Ugh, it's just occurred to me that this replacement really cannot end well. If they are as good as James, it's going to make him feel he was nothing special all along and like the team doesn't need him, but if they are NOT as good, he's going to feel he's let them down by getting injured and not being able to play. On the whole, I think James would prefer to see the team do well, even without him, but that too is bound to be hurtful.

I had to laugh at "third, if you are Hugo, you can't try out." Poor kid.

The imperfect ball might be better. It might make it harder to catch and rule out a few extra people.

That was my immediate assumption too - that being in either James's own year or Albus's, the sixth and seventh years might feel reluctant to take James's place.

Poor James. He really is having an awful time.

I can completely imagine why he wouldn't want to miss the trials and of COURSE he'd want to be involved in choosing his replacement.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Liana A New Seeker

25th March 2015:
I know--I've been thinking that it's Saturday all week. I feel so bad for James. I still think he'll feel better when he gets up and around more. Since the accident he hasn't been getting a lot of exercise.

 Report Review

Review #3, by Liana James's Return

25th March 2015:
Once again, I like how you bring things from Muggle life to Hogwarts--that would be the concept of special education and IEPs. You have to feel bad for James but Albus was right. James will build up his strength over time and find his body being more cooperative.

 Report Review

Review #4, by ngayonatkailanman A New Seeker

24th March 2015:
Oh dear, I want to cry. Poor James. He has fallen so low from a very high place in Quidditch, bless him.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Harrypotterfan James's Return

21st March 2015:
Wow this is one great story so far. Would have preferred a bit more romance of albus life but I finished this series in 2 days without sleeping much and I hope u do keep posting!

 Report Review

Review #6, by MargaretLane James's Return

17th March 2015:
Happy St. Patrick's day.

Some of our politicians are probably over in New York actually, on the annual exodus.

*laughs* Yeah, I hadn't thought about that. Who'd believe a guy caught in a crime over somebody as well known as Burke.

*laughs at Rose objecting to the assumption all girls want to go to Madame Puddifoot's* Why doesn't that surprise me?

Yeah, I really don't think it'd be a good idea for Matt to drink.

And I think Matt in particular should understand about James needing the Marauder's Den, although, on the other hand, he might be worried about anybody else using it. I don't think John and Kaden would mind, not when it's James, who is hardly likely to care what they are plotting.

And people shouting like that, with his headaches, was never going to end well.

*laughs* The whole paperwork taking forever is pretty much the same here. Though of course, they have to process applications from hundreds of schools here, whereas wizarding Britain only has one.

I'm not surprised James is considering leaving school. Even under normal circumstances, I doubt his exams would be his top priority. And now...

And James's description of how he feels reminds me of the Spoon Theory. I don't know if you've read it.

Aw, I really like the last line.

 Report Review

Review #7, by ngayonatkailanman James's Return

16th March 2015:
Aw! I love the big brother switch. It is just so sweet.

 Report Review

Review #8, by GunnerBoy12 The Interrogation

14th March 2015:
Hey just a little friendly note I've noticed you've used 'oatmeal' a bit as the Potter's breakfast meal( and possibly else where -can't remember) in your Albus Potter series however as the Potters are English/British & live in England/Britain) they would call it porridge.

 Report Review

Review #9, by PurpleShoes2 The Interrogation

10th March 2015:
Thank you for the quick update - I'm addicted to your story!

 Report Review

Review #10, by MargaretLane The Interrogation

10th March 2015:
Hmm, I wasn't really expecting this title. It seems somewhat out of place with what has been going on in the last couple of chapters, and rather intriguing.

Oh gosh, that's a bit of a dilemma to be in. It's not a good time to raise the subject with James, but it wouldn't be fair to accept the position without asking his opinion, or to refuse it without doing so either.

I suppose it makes things a bit better that at least James had a pretty fair idea the issue would arise. I suppose he was bound to really. With James's love of Quidditch and his loyalty to his team, the question of who would replace him would be bound to be on his mind.

*grins* Extra time and a scribe are two of the "reasonable accommodations" you can get on the Leaving and Junior Certs., so I would imagine the N.E.W.T.S. would be similar. The school has to contact the State Examinations Commission here.

*laughs* I think Harry and Ginny might understand his doing underage magic under the circumstances.

It's a little coincidental that I'm reading Matt's comments about the laws regarding lycanthropy today, as I'm currently working on a chapter in which the laws regarding lycanthropy are being changed.

And yikes, I can't imagine how werewolves are supposed to find somewhere to rent under those conditions. I can't imagine anybody being too anxious to rent to somebody who could do the damage done to the Shrieking Shack, if the Wolfsbane failed, and considering how many werewolves appear to be unemployed or underemployed, it seems like a lot of them MIGHT be in the rental sector.

I can easily imagine why Albus wouldn't want to be a Seeker. It would just be inviting comparison with Harry, the youngest Seeker in was it a century?, Teddy, James. Of course, as a Chaser, he'd probably be compared to Ginny, but since she isn't as well known as "the Boy who Lived" and wasn't at Hogwarts with him, obviously, it's probably not quite as bad.

Hmm, that's a good excuse from Dawlish. Whatever Dawlish's agenda is, I suspect it IS an excuse, but it's a good one. Johnson can hardly argue with that.

Small thing, since we are talking about the wizarding world and who knows what their legal system is like, but the term "plea deal" is sort of American. Pretty sure they don't have the same kind of deals in the UK.

Well, at least whatever happens to Burke, Amy has the recipe for Matt's potion now. But yeah, putting a dying man in prison would be pretty horrific. I guess Burke has a lot of advantages over Boone though, as a well-known potioneer is more likely to have the powers-that-be prejudiced in favour of him, than against him.

And I'm a little reminded of the execution of James Connolly in 1916, who was shot tied to a chair as a result of his injuries. Let's just say, it wasn't one of the best ideas and probably contributed to the War of Independence. Not that the political situation in the wizarding world is the same and there's a difference between jailing somebody for brewing illegal potions and executing the leader of a rebellion, but still, the Ministry would want to be careful. They don't need much more negative publicity. After all, Fudge was forced to step down due to pressure from the public.

 Report Review

Review #11, by ngayonatkailanman The Interrogation

10th March 2015:
Excellent and realistic description of someone who has had an accident. Love the dialogue between Al and James and between Matt and Al. Seems Matt has gained a lot of confidence and self-worth through Al's friendship. The relaxed way in which Al and Matt relate to each other shows their close friendship.

I look forward to the next update: What will happen to Burke?

 Report Review

Review #12, by Liana The Interrogation

10th March 2015:
James seems to be handling the fact that he might not play Quidditch again. Unless he doesn't really understand. It's wonderful to see Matt finding Apparition as one of his skills. I'm not sure if Albus has time to be Quidditch captain. It just gives him something more to worry about.

 Report Review

Review #13, by GunnerBoy12 Broken

4th March 2015:
Poor James what will he do now? another good chapter well done

 Report Review

Review #14, by GunnerBoy12 The Accident

4th March 2015:
great story so far can't for the next chapter hopes James is OK(no spoilers please) I've downloaded all your completed Albus Potter series onto my kindle app for my Ipad 2.

Are you planning to do any more on Albus after he leaves Hogwarts or will you leave it at after his seventh & final year?

 Report Review

Review #15, by Liana Broken

4th March 2015:
I think this is the first story I've read that has something so life changing happening to one of the Potter kids. Sure, weird things happen to them but nothing this serious. I'm wondering if you'll let James experience a miracle cure or if he's going to turn to a different but amazing career.

 Report Review

Review #16, by MargaretLane Broken

3rd March 2015:
Oooh, I wonder what Neville wants and if it's as simple as Albus thinks. I was wondering if it had anything to do with his schoolwork - or maybe his internship.

Hmm, I'm also wondering who spoke to the papers. The fact that it's a mystery makes it seem like there's something a bit odd about it. It surely has to be one of the team - I can't see a Healer or Professor Kendrick doing so - and surely people would KNOW if a reporter came to the school and interviewed students. So that leaves...precisely nobody, since I think we can safely assume it wasn't Harry or Ginny. Hmm.

Grace sounds a possibility, if she had the opportunity to speak to a reporter, because she might THINK she was praising James, saying how kind it was of him to take her broom.

Poor Albus. It really does put him in an awful position. But I bet James would say he should do it. Considering how willing he was to fly Grace's broom even if it damaged his chances of being recruited, I don't think he'd want Albus to refuse the captaincy out of loyalty to him. But I know how guilty you can feel about benefiting from somebody else's misfortune.

Yikes, if none of the team spoke to the reporter, then there is a mystery to it. A teenager letting something slip to a reporter is understandable, especially if it were Grace feeling guilty, but anybody else who knows, except James' own family, are teachers or medical professionals, who surely have confidentiality rules that would prevent them speaking to a reporter. So either one of them broke that or SOMEBODY else (like Elsie) overheard. Or Albus is wrong or I've forgotten someone. But considering the amount of time you are giving to it, it's beginning to look like it's more than somebody letting something slip anyway.

LOVE that part about Albus being tired of being the one who has to explain everything. It makes me feel so sorry for him.

*laughs* The N.E.W.T. year really isn't a good year to be missing days, but I bet James will hate having to do homework. And even if his N.E.W.T.S are more important now, he'll probably hate the reminder of that too.

 Report Review

Review #17, by draco_lover12 Broken

3rd March 2015:
My heart goes out to James, it really does.

 Report Review

Review #18, by ngayonatkailanman Broken

2nd March 2015:
Oh no! James is not in this update... I mean Albus meeting James, that is! Will Meg and James's meeting be in the next update? Will certain issues like the captaincy be resolved? Who exactly talked to the paper? I think that of all the chapters, this dramatic incident with James are the best chapters because they pull at the heartstrings. poor boy!

 Report Review

Review #19, by jixedPotter Broken

2nd March 2015:
That last line just made me want to cry. Already can't wait for the next update!

 Report Review

Review #20, by Liana Aftermath

28th February 2015:
I hope James doesn't get discouraged. I think the right attitude is important in the healing process. Accidents can always happen even though you're careful. I wish there wasn't that rule that one never cancels Quidditch. Sometimes they play in the most brutal conditions.

 Report Review

Review #21, by MargaretLane Aftermath

24th February 2015:
Oh gosh, it didn't occur to me to wonder who'd become captain of the team now. And poor Albus; he's bound to feel rather conflicted about benefiting by his brother's injury.

And poor Grace. Of course she's going to blame herself, even though it obviously isn't her fault. If it's anybody's fault, it's that of the school administration for not cancelling the match. But mostly it's just a freak accident.

Poor Lily too. This is rough on everybody.

This is actually a bit like the way both Stuart Boone and a certain character in my stories had their career plans derailed by lycanthropy. Although the condition is different, the whole issue of having to give up your dream is the same. Though in the case of my character, I'm not entirely sure they'd have enjoyed that career as much as the one they eventually ended up in. So MAYBE it'll be the same for James. OK, it's unlikely to be the SAME, as I think it would be hard for James to find something else he loves as much as Quidditch, but he could still find a career that fulfills him. And of course, there's no guarantee he'd have made it as a Quidditch player even if this HADN'T happened.

I must say you've shocked me though. I was sure James would end up playing Quidditch as his career. I like the variety of careers your characters have or are hoping for actually. You don't just have everybody becoming Healers, Aurors, teachers at Hogwarts or Quidditch players like sometimes seems to happen. Not that there's anything WRONG with any of those careers, but it's nice to see more variety.

And I'm now wondering how Lily spouted a pair of antlers. My immediate thought was JAMES.

And Albus knows Matt has gone through full moons before and that he's survived them, without too much physical impairment so he's likely to survive again, whereas the extent of James's injuries are more of a mystery.

*googles pudding cups* They look like yogurts or mousses or something.

Actually, James's awkwardness is starting to remind me of Burke's. Obviously, the reasons are different, but some of the effects are similar, although obviously much milder in James's case.

I'm with Meg on this. Schools have a responsibility towards their students' safety; they do not have a responsibility to make the games they play "more exciting."

Meg really seems to care about James. I guess that SHOULDN'T be surprising; the fact she's going out with the son of somebody her dad hates indicates she feels something serious, but since they're so young, I guess I assumed they were just having fun.

 Report Review

Review #22, by ngayonatkailanman Aftermath

24th February 2015:
Oh dear... is it not ironic that James's life is really simple because he knows what he wants and is very good at it.now, it will become complicated because he has no back up plan. His love life is not exactly smooth either - Meg is a Johnson...I really look forward to the update where James will be told he no longer can play Quidditch.

 Report Review

Review #23, by Eliza The Accident

20th February 2015:
I promised myself every chapter to write a review since it had been too long since I had written one, but I kept postponing it. Not because I don't like the story enough, because I adore the story!

This is horrible, but in a way it makes sense. It explains why James didn't go into into professional Quidditch. I feel very sorry for him, but it is so real. I mean this happens quite often in life, to people, etc. So I don't hate you for this, I think it is a good step and it creates many storylines, indeed!

I really love the story so far. It's just so natural. I've said this a million times before, but to me this is what happens to them. It has the right atmosphere, the right characteristics, etc. I just love your stories so much!

Btw, I was the girl having PTSD last year and identifying with Matt because of that, and I wanted to let you know that I am doing much much better. I'm almost through with therapy and I had never imagined life could be so light and so nice without the pressure of depression and PTSD :)

Author's Response: Aw, don't worry about it! I have so many reviews to respond to. I am glad you chose to leave one on this chapter, though, since it's a bit of a deviation from the regular plot. I'm glad you like the story so much!

It is horrible. I knew from the very beginning of this series that James wouldn't go on to play professional Quidditch, but wasn't sure why. I already had Georgia get recruited, so I figured the chances of another Weasley cousin getting recruited would be slim. But then I made James out to be so good that I had to figure something else out. So I decided to give him an injury. Considering how dangerous Quidditch is, it's likely. Plus, it adds so much additional angst. But it's definitely realistic.

Aw, I'm so glad you love it so far! That means so much. I try to be realistic with it without making it boring. I didn't want Al to have as crazy a time at Hogwarts as Harry, but didn't want him to have an average experience either.

Oh, I remember you now! I'm so happy to hear you're doing better! That's fantastic news. Best of luck with the remainder of your therapy, and I hope things continue going up! Thank you so much for the lovely review. :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by Liana The Accident

19th February 2015:
It's too bad that they wouldn't call off the Quidditch match. In all of the many stories I've read, Quidditch has never been canceled--just as you pointed out. Every story I've ever read has always talked about how dangerous Quidditch is. This is one of those events that had to happen to someone and this time it was Harry Potter's son.

Author's Response: Quidditch never got called off for weather in canon, so I think that's why it's never called off in fan fic. But it's definitely dangerous. They probably should've called it off this time. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by MargaretLane The Accident

18th February 2015:
Oooh, the title of this chapter sounds ominous and the fact they are playing Quidditch in dire conditions doesn't exactly reassure me. I feel somebody playing might have an accident due to the averse weather conditions.

Uh oh, I really hope James won't have an accident. That probably wouldn't impress the scouts.

Wow, that's really decent of James. I can see why it'd be dangerous to let Grace ride the Nimbus, but it was good of him to be the one to switch, when he REALLY needs to perform at his best. Pity the scouts couldn't get to hear of that - at least I don't see how they could. It shows real team spirit, which is surely what any team needs - people who play for the team, rather than trying to look good at the expense of their teammates.

Yi-i-ikes. Permanent damage. I did NOT expect that. And it is so unfair. Quidditch meant so much to James; it isn't fair all his dreams should be destroyed just in a moment's bad luck.

And I had to google those temperatures. YIKES. I don't know how people live through those. We had about 5 degrees Fahrenheit back in 2010 (coldest since something like 1601, apparently) and I NEVER want to experience that again. It's cold here, but like in the 30s/low 40s Fahrenheit cold.

Author's Response: James is very gallant, and a wonderful captain. He wouldn't have let Grace fly in that weather on that broom. But, unfortunately, that decision ruined his possible Quidditch career.

I always knew James wouldn't play professionally, but wasn't sure how I'd do it until partway through the 5th novel. It's awful, but it adds so much to the plot.

It's crazy cold! I try not to go outside for longer than it takes to walk to my car. 30s and 40s would be warm! It actually did get up to 36 the other day and it felt so nice! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>