199 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Liana Aftermath

28th February 2015:
I hope James doesn't get discouraged. I think the right attitude is important in the healing process. Accidents can always happen even though you're careful. I wish there wasn't that rule that one never cancels Quidditch. Sometimes they play in the most brutal conditions.

 Report Review

Review #2, by MargaretLane Aftermath

24th February 2015:
Oh gosh, it didn't occur to me to wonder who'd become captain of the team now. And poor Albus; he's bound to feel rather conflicted about benefiting by his brother's injury.

And poor Grace. Of course she's going to blame herself, even though it obviously isn't her fault. If it's anybody's fault, it's that of the school administration for not cancelling the match. But mostly it's just a freak accident.

Poor Lily too. This is rough on everybody.

This is actually a bit like the way both Stuart Boone and a certain character in my stories had their career plans derailed by lycanthropy. Although the condition is different, the whole issue of having to give up your dream is the same. Though in the case of my character, I'm not entirely sure they'd have enjoyed that career as much as the one they eventually ended up in. So MAYBE it'll be the same for James. OK, it's unlikely to be the SAME, as I think it would be hard for James to find something else he loves as much as Quidditch, but he could still find a career that fulfills him. And of course, there's no guarantee he'd have made it as a Quidditch player even if this HADN'T happened.

I must say you've shocked me though. I was sure James would end up playing Quidditch as his career. I like the variety of careers your characters have or are hoping for actually. You don't just have everybody becoming Healers, Aurors, teachers at Hogwarts or Quidditch players like sometimes seems to happen. Not that there's anything WRONG with any of those careers, but it's nice to see more variety.

And I'm now wondering how Lily spouted a pair of antlers. My immediate thought was JAMES.

And Albus knows Matt has gone through full moons before and that he's survived them, without too much physical impairment so he's likely to survive again, whereas the extent of James's injuries are more of a mystery.

*googles pudding cups* They look like yogurts or mousses or something.

Actually, James's awkwardness is starting to remind me of Burke's. Obviously, the reasons are different, but some of the effects are similar, although obviously much milder in James's case.

I'm with Meg on this. Schools have a responsibility towards their students' safety; they do not have a responsibility to make the games they play "more exciting."

Meg really seems to care about James. I guess that SHOULDN'T be surprising; the fact she's going out with the son of somebody her dad hates indicates she feels something serious, but since they're so young, I guess I assumed they were just having fun.

 Report Review

Review #3, by ngayonatkailanman Aftermath

24th February 2015:
Oh dear... is it not ironic that James's life is really simple because he knows what he wants and is very good at it.now, it will become complicated because he has no back up plan. His love life is not exactly smooth either - Meg is a Johnson...I really look forward to the update where James will be told he no longer can play Quidditch.

 Report Review

Review #4, by Eliza The Accident

20th February 2015:
I promised myself every chapter to write a review since it had been too long since I had written one, but I kept postponing it. Not because I don't like the story enough, because I adore the story!

This is horrible, but in a way it makes sense. It explains why James didn't go into into professional Quidditch. I feel very sorry for him, but it is so real. I mean this happens quite often in life, to people, etc. So I don't hate you for this, I think it is a good step and it creates many storylines, indeed!

I really love the story so far. It's just so natural. I've said this a million times before, but to me this is what happens to them. It has the right atmosphere, the right characteristics, etc. I just love your stories so much!

Btw, I was the girl having PTSD last year and identifying with Matt because of that, and I wanted to let you know that I am doing much much better. I'm almost through with therapy and I had never imagined life could be so light and so nice without the pressure of depression and PTSD :)

Author's Response: Aw, don't worry about it! I have so many reviews to respond to. I am glad you chose to leave one on this chapter, though, since it's a bit of a deviation from the regular plot. I'm glad you like the story so much!

It is horrible. I knew from the very beginning of this series that James wouldn't go on to play professional Quidditch, but wasn't sure why. I already had Georgia get recruited, so I figured the chances of another Weasley cousin getting recruited would be slim. But then I made James out to be so good that I had to figure something else out. So I decided to give him an injury. Considering how dangerous Quidditch is, it's likely. Plus, it adds so much additional angst. But it's definitely realistic.

Aw, I'm so glad you love it so far! That means so much. I try to be realistic with it without making it boring. I didn't want Al to have as crazy a time at Hogwarts as Harry, but didn't want him to have an average experience either.

Oh, I remember you now! I'm so happy to hear you're doing better! That's fantastic news. Best of luck with the remainder of your therapy, and I hope things continue going up! Thank you so much for the lovely review. :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Liana The Accident

19th February 2015:
It's too bad that they wouldn't call off the Quidditch match. In all of the many stories I've read, Quidditch has never been canceled--just as you pointed out. Every story I've ever read has always talked about how dangerous Quidditch is. This is one of those events that had to happen to someone and this time it was Harry Potter's son.

Author's Response: Quidditch never got called off for weather in canon, so I think that's why it's never called off in fan fic. But it's definitely dangerous. They probably should've called it off this time. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by MargaretLane The Accident

18th February 2015:
Oooh, the title of this chapter sounds ominous and the fact they are playing Quidditch in dire conditions doesn't exactly reassure me. I feel somebody playing might have an accident due to the averse weather conditions.

Uh oh, I really hope James won't have an accident. That probably wouldn't impress the scouts.

Wow, that's really decent of James. I can see why it'd be dangerous to let Grace ride the Nimbus, but it was good of him to be the one to switch, when he REALLY needs to perform at his best. Pity the scouts couldn't get to hear of that - at least I don't see how they could. It shows real team spirit, which is surely what any team needs - people who play for the team, rather than trying to look good at the expense of their teammates.

Yi-i-ikes. Permanent damage. I did NOT expect that. And it is so unfair. Quidditch meant so much to James; it isn't fair all his dreams should be destroyed just in a moment's bad luck.

And I had to google those temperatures. YIKES. I don't know how people live through those. We had about 5 degrees Fahrenheit back in 2010 (coldest since something like 1601, apparently) and I NEVER want to experience that again. It's cold here, but like in the 30s/low 40s Fahrenheit cold.

Author's Response: James is very gallant, and a wonderful captain. He wouldn't have let Grace fly in that weather on that broom. But, unfortunately, that decision ruined his possible Quidditch career.

I always knew James wouldn't play professionally, but wasn't sure how I'd do it until partway through the 5th novel. It's awful, but it adds so much to the plot.

It's crazy cold! I try not to go outside for longer than it takes to walk to my car. 30s and 40s would be warm! It actually did get up to 36 the other day and it felt so nice! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by nayonatkailanman The Accident

18th February 2015:
I love that Matt who hates hospitals and never aspired for anything shows a lot of common sense, intuition and intelligence, bless him.

Author's Response: For all of Matt's anxiety, he's good in a medical crisis because due to all his own illnesses and injuries, he's very familiar with hospitals and the medical field. Almost ironic, but it makes sense when you think about it. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by ngayonatkailanman The Accident

18th February 2015:
oh dear oh dear oh dear. now i can connect James's accident to his future job situation in Waiting for Forever where James was mentioned when Lily's career and job situation becmae part of the storyline. I look forward to updates with great expectations and you never fail to deliver.

Author's Response: Yep. I tried to be vague in Searching for Forever. As is, I'm going to have to edit that a bit once I write James's story. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Sophie The Accident

18th February 2015:
I know someone who, under very different circumstances, found out their life long dream was unattainable for medical reasons. It was the hardest thing I've ever seen. They do not live for a while, they just function. I feel so sorry for anyone in that situation, worse that we know from the Matt/Lily story that he really does struggle after Hogwarts. Good plot line though :)

Author's Response: It's so sad, isn't it? I tried to be very vague about James in Searching for Forever, although I'll still have to edit it some when I write the James fic. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Liana Difficult, Dangerous, and Disappointing

12th February 2015:
I'll have to check out your new one-shot. I'm kind of surprised that Albus is having a hard time learning Apparition. It was great to see Matt having some success.

 Report Review

Review #11, by Liana The New Year

12th February 2015:
I'm glad to hear that this is going to be the longest Albus story ever. I was really worried that someone dangerous was in the Potter's house. If Burke still has his mind why wouldn't he give Kaden his papers? That seems to me to be the best option.

 Report Review

Review #12, by ngayonatkaianman Difficult, Dangerous, and Disappointing

10th February 2015:
Well, let us hope that Callahan, at least will be a good witch and not have a hidden agenda. Thank goodness Matt can apparate. At least he has one chance of getting away should he be in danger or in one of his panic attacks, although if he does try to apparate whilst having an attack, he might splinch himdself?

 Report Review

Review #13, by MargaretLane Difficult, Dangerous, and Disappointing

10th February 2015:
Hmm, this is an interesting title, though the summary makes it sound like it's just Apparition and not like a dangerous adventure.

My immediate thought when you mentioned the teacher looking about the same age as Albus's parents is that she could be a canon character - one of his classmates. OR with the whole thing about her looking like the Weasleys, it's possible she's some distant relative. After all, Draco DID say ALL the Weasleys have big families; that implies there are plenty more of them around, although it's possible a lot were killed during the first war. Though I'm not sure having red hair is reason enough to consider her a Weasley.

OK, I laughed out loud at Enna Callahan's name, since Leonore and I are writing a collab about the Irish Ministry and one of the characters is a Neil Callaghan (the "g" is silent, by the way), who works for St. Mungo's Research Centre. He's the nicest character in our story; your characters will be lucky if she's half as nice.

*laughs* Kaden was disappointed when Slughorn left and now he's disappointed about Burke.

That IS interesting. I wonder why the Potions teachers were all male. Maybe brewing is sort of stereotyped as a male profession in the wizarding world. And trust Rose to be aware of the fact. I love it when fics include little details like that. It gives the world of the story a history and makes it feel more real.

And yeah, I wouldn't include Ravenclaw and Hufflepuff, because they weren't specifically employed as Potions teachers by the sound of things.

That's actually a smart idea for a first class. It'll give her an indication of what level the class is at, what kind of things they've covered, which students are good at the subject and which are struggling and what sort of potions interest them. And it gives her a chance to go around and observe, as she doesn't have to be concentrating on teaching, which would give her an idea both of the students' ability and of who might be likely to cause trouble.

And wow, teaching them not just to learn off the instructions in the book, so they will be able to answer the questions in the exam and brew the potions they have to in their practical exam, but to actually understand the ingredients, so they can create new potions themselves... That makes a lot of sense, as obviously the wizarding world needs people who can develop new potions, not just people who can brew the existing ones. AND it should help them with the potions they have to be able to brew in the exam, because it would be easier to learn the recipes if they actually understand which potions are likely to be a part of them.

She seems kind of cool.

*laughs* John can TAKE the test, but he probably wouldn't pass it. Not without any classes. It does sound easier than a driving test, as a lot of the students seem to pass it the first time, after only a few weeks of classes, but still not something you could pass without any classes at all.

*laughs at sixth year being meant to be a bit of a break year* I guess that makes sense, because the O.W.L.S. seem to be pretty important. Here 5th year is a good deal harder than 3rd year, but our Junior Cert. is nowhere near as significant as the O.W.L.S. or the G.C.S.E.S. 4th year is optional and really IS a break year - technically schools aren't supposed to teach any exam related information that year, especially as only about 40% of the country chooses to do it.

And I think Matt needs the free time. He must have a fair amount of catching up to do between the full moons and his panic attacks and anyway, it surely couldn't be good for his anxiety to be working until 2am.

Hmm, it sounds like Johnson suspects a connection between Dawlish and Albus, but for some reason he isn't acting on it. Not sure if that indicates he has something to hide or if he just has no proof they are doing anything behind his back. Or maybe he doesn't even suspect anything; maybe he just thinks Dawlish a maverick and doesn't want him criticising Johnson to Albus. Or MAYBE he thinks Dawlish suspects him of something and he doesn't want him passing it on.

It's hard to figure it out for sure as there is so much we don't know, and Albus doesn't know, about what's going on in the Auror Department.

Thanks for letting us know when next week's update will be.

 Report Review

Review #14, by MargaretLane The New Year

3rd February 2015:
Yikes, the fact Dawlish can get access to Matt's information so easily IS scary. OK, he's a unique case and most people probably wouldn't get the information he would, but still if he can find out, it's not impossible somebody else would. And that's even assuming Dawlish is completely trustworthy. The fact he turns up here makes it seem unlikely he's actually a villain, but that's not to say he can be trusted to keep something completely silent. I can't see why he'd WANT to pass this on, but he could easily let something slip or tell somebody he doesn't think matters.

OK, I'm now a little suspicious of Dawlish again. After all, Albus LIVES with Harry. Surely if Dawlish believed Albus might have information he couldn't give them and it was holiday time, the obvious thing to do with be to get Harry to ask him, if they are really working together. Now, of course, it MAY be just that he wasn't talking to Harry; certainly he wouldn't want to be be seen to be in contact with him. But I don't know.

I think I am predisposed to be suspicious of Dawlish for two reasons: firstly because he and Balldanis seem to be filling a very similar role and I wonder if you've reasons for needing both of them and secondly, because Dawlish didn't exactly cover himself with glory in the books. And while he was PROBABLY working for the Death Eaters through lack of choice - after all, Arthur Weasley and the Hogwarts teachers were all technically working for the Death Eaters too - we don't know that for CERTAIN. It is POSSIBLE that like some of the Death Eaters in the first war, he supported them voluntarily or for some form of benefit and managed to convince people he hadn't had any choice.

At one point you have Rose saying "This only the first of many," when she's talking about how there are plenty more Weasley cousins to marry. I presume it should be "this is only the first of many."

I'm glad Al is OK. It must have been a scary experience, but as Matt points out, it's not the same as having to leave classes because of regular panic attacks or waking with nightmares on a regular basis.

That comment about Teddy supervising reminds me of a scene from an Irish soap, where a character persuaded her parents to let her 23 year old sister supervise her 18th birthday party. It...didn't end so well.

I actually laughed out loud when James said even he wasn't that stupid.

It's probably because it came right after the mention of the Ministry party, but the reference to calling out for pizza made me think of an interview with our last President's twin son and daughter, where I think her son said the most annoying thing about your mum being President is nobody ever believes you when you ring up for a pizza.

I think there's a full moon tonight actually.

Yikes, the idea of somebody being in the house is scary.

Ah yes, the seizures WERE weird. I should have twigged there was something strange going on there, but we didn't find out about his ALS until a while after they were introduced, so it didn't even occur to me. It probably wouldn't have anyway.

When Amy says Matt doesn't take Potions any more, I'd be inclined to capitalise Potions. I read it as he didn't take medicinal potions first and had to reread to get the correct meaning.

And I AM looking forward to seeing who takes over the Potions classes. Maybe Slughorn will return temporarily (*grins for reasons of my own*) Or maybe the new teacher will be relevant in some way.

This story is going to be a crazy length. I'm currently working on the 42nd chapter of a story, but it's really heading towards the end - the villain has been caught out and I doubt there'll be more than about 4 more chapters. And that is by FAR the longest thing I've ever written. I can't believe this is already 30 chapters long. It feels like it's only getting started. Not that I WANT it to end anytime soon. The longer the better, especially since there's only more year to go after it.

 Report Review

Review #15, by ngayonatkailanman The New Year

2nd February 2015:
LOL. Bringing Amy in the way you did is a stroke of genius. After drinking champagne, they must fixed the broken pane and whatever elese was disturbed due to the excellent entry of future Healer Amy. lol.

 Report Review

Review #16, by Liana The Wedding

30th January 2015:
That sounded like a nice wedding. I can't imagine having a wedding on Christmas day though. I was struggling with how to pronounce Eponine. I wish I could use heating charms in the winter. Apparating would be fun also.:D

 Report Review

Review #17, by myhorserockyrocks The Wedding

27th January 2015:
Great chapter! I can't wait for the update and the wedding seemed like a lot of fun!

Horse :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by MargaretLane The Wedding

27th January 2015:
*laughs at Albus not telling his parents he went to a club because they might be angry at Teddy and James* The first time I went to a club I was technically underage, but I was like four months shy of 18 - it was the Saturday after I finished my Leaving Cert. (our equivalent of N.E.W.T.S). My parents knew. Mind you, they also knew, I didn't drink.

LOVE the wedding favours.

And I like the comment about how Stanley might never marry. Nice to see a bit of possible variety from the "grow up, marry, have babies" thing.

*laughs* Lily is lucky she doesn't have Fred and George as older brothers. They were going on that Ginny was "going through boyfriends rather quickly", when she dated like three guys in her entire life and had only dated TWO at that point.

I was wondering what the cut off age for the hen and stag parties were going to be, since there are cousins virtually ever age from adult down to what...9 or 10? So somebody was bound to be left out when cousins a year or two older were allowed go.

Are they getting married on Christmas day? I missed that.

Yeah, that would be pretty awkward all right, if Teddy and Victoire broke up. They wouldn't really have the option of avoiding one another afterwards.

I like the way Harry has a word with Teddy alone. I guess he's sort of in the role of "father of the groom" in a way, since Teddy doesn't have a father of his own, so it's nice that they have a moment together.

LOVE the way Aunt Muriel comments on Albus's name. She seems really in character already. Even though she only had a small part in the books, she has a very distinctive character. And I would LOVE to see her with the great grandmother who hates the English! I was once planning a one-shot about Seamus, in which his Muggle grandmother had relatives involved in the fight for independence and was giving out about him being sent to an English school and refused to acknowledge there was a difference between English and Scottish. I never got around to it though, partly because I was concerned about readers taking the character's view as the writer's, when I am Irish myself.

Wedding days! At my friend's wedding last summer, we were up nearly 24 hours. We'd to get up around 6 to get ready and didn't get to bed until about 5:30 the next morning. I wonder if this'll be as long.

Yeah, I can imagine it must be annoying to be treated like a kid when you're almost an adult, but I can also understand why his parents and Amy would do it. It must be a difficult situation.

The failure of the Occlumency surprised me. I guess I've got used to assuming Hermione is all-knowledgeable and of course, nobody is.

Staying with Albus New Year's Eve sounds like a good compromise - means he's not alone, but also that nobody is giving up their fun for him, which would be bound to make him feel guilty.

OK, the last part has me intrigued. The fact Dawlish is here makes me trust him a little more. If he were lying about working with Harry and Hermione, he'd hardly risk showing up somewhere they were. On the other hand, this is odd behaviour. I am looking forward to the next chapter.

 Report Review

Review #19, by ngayonatkailanman The Wedding

26th January 2015:
Thanks for the update. Cheered me up big time. Love your take on everything to do with the wedding. Great idea about Matt and a bit of drama. After all it is a wedding. LOL. Aunt Muriel was so funny. Oh no! What a cliffhanger. I wonder what Dawlish have in mind. I look forward to see whether Matt and Al will spend time together, what will they be up to and whether something will happen to add to more drama in Matt's life through Al's adventures that may be as a result of whatever it is Dawlish will need Al for.

 Report Review

Review #20, by Arianna Stag Party

25th January 2015:
How much alcohol did Albus drink? I'm just really curious about that right now. Good chapter!!

 Report Review

Review #21, by Moonlight Nightshadow Stag Party

24th January 2015:
I really liked this chapter a lot and it was interesting and I know how Albus felt about clubs and all. I've had anxiety since I was born and still have it. Being in big crowds is never comfortable for me and it was understandable that was how Albus felt. I'd never be comfortable being in one at all haha I even don't like small crowds so as long as I'm by myself or with one or two friends I'm fine. You did a very good job writing this and people really relate to this. Keep up the good work and I can't wait for the next chapter! :P

 Report Review

Review #22, by Ficfan The Verdict

22nd January 2015:
Love this chapter. Especially Draco's rant. I always liked to think that he'd have had something of an epiphany during/after the Battle of Hogwarts, and have become a better person for it. The idea that he may suffer from PTSD too really makes sense. Great writing :-)

Author's Response: I think Draco went through a lot of transformations after the war. As JKR mentioned, he led a quiet life after that and tried to raise his son better than he'd been raised. I think he's one of the characters who would've suffered most from PTSD considering the things he was made to do. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by Ficfan Halloween

22nd January 2015:
Hi,

I thought it was about time I left a review, as I've become quite addicted to these stories, staying up well into the early hours reading them on my phone. I've read all the Albus stories and In Moonlight's Shadow, and it's been great seeing how the plots, characters and your writing style have developed since the first one. I think you have a real talent, not to mention dedication, and it's some of the best fanfic I've read.

A couple of niggly points, just because I'm something of a pedant: Firstly, wouldn't they be more likely to be playing the British version of Monopoly, with London place names? Secondly, I'm sure I remember Al receiving a Howler from Ginny after the chicken prank a couple of years back, although I may be wrong. And thirdly, I think you changed Walters' name once or twice and had Al refer to him by a different name. But these are all very minor points (I work as a proofreader, so notice things like that!)

I am hugely enjoying this series, and look forward to reading your other fics too. Keep up the good work! Sorry it's taken me till now to get round to reviewing - I've been too caught up in reading! I'll try to leave at least a couple more, though. Thanks for writing such an enjoyable series!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I'm so glad you've enjoyed my stories that much.

I know I have a lot of typos and contradictions in my stories, but I don't have the time to go through and fix everything. I'd rather use my free time to write new stuff. I edit everything before I post it, but I don't have another set of eyes look at it. That's what it really needs.

I did ask a few Brits about the Monopoly thing, though! Everyone I asked told me Brits play regular Monopoly. It's very possible Al did receive a howler, but I didn't want to read through all my other fics to see. Hmm, I will have to look back and see what name Al referred to Walter as. That seems odd. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by Liana Stag Party

22nd January 2015:
I think I know how Albus felt in the club. I don't like crowds and I get nauseated and a headache. Then there's smoke and alcohol. Yuck! Really enjoyed this chapter.

Author's Response: I feel the same way! That's why it was so easy to write about. Huh, I'm not sure what the smoking laws are in Britain. I don't even think about that much anymore because New York outlawed smoking in all buildings years ago. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by ngayonatkailanman Stag Party

19th January 2015:
lol. as stag nihgts go, this one was very civil nd proper!

Author's Response: Yes, it was! I didn't want to have to bump up to a mature rating. ;) Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>