148 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ngayonatkailanman The Recipe

19th December 2014:
Wow! What a lady! No, wait! What a woman! Good one, Amy! Excellent.

 Report Review

Review #2, by Shreyam The Recipe

18th December 2014:
I have been reading your stories for a long time now, and they are simply amazing! Great Going! Nice job done by Amy too, and I hope Boone is somehow proved innocent. Anyways, thanks for writing such wonderful books!

 Report Review

Review #3, by MargaretLane The Recipe

16th December 2014:
I wonder if there's something mysterious about the fact Johnston missed the first day of the trial. I'm being suspicious of everything in this story, aren't I? Because it's hard to know which little thing will turn out to hold the clue to the whole thing.

Poor Matt. It's understandable he'd be worried about people talking about him when he has so much he doesn't want them to know about - his lycanthropy, his anxiety. He's trying so hard to appear normal.

*laughs at Albus thinking Rose and Amanda are probably studying, but John and Kaden are probably playing pranks* Even in Kaden's exam year, studying isn't going to be his top priority.

YES! I can see why Albus would want to see Elsie testify. I do too. I'm as disappointed as him, because if he doesn't see it, I guess we don't either. I think this could be the test of which is the real Elsie, because if she IS the quiet, scared kid she seems, who is being bullied by her brother and reacted out of stress when she argued back, lying in court should be very stressful for her. Of course, if she's lying, she's a brilliant actress and might well act stressed so those making the judgement would feel sorry for her and think "that poor nervous little child would never lie in court." But I think it might be possible to get some idea of which is real, nonetheless, because if she's genuinely worried, then I can see her story slipping, especially since she was so anxious to avoid talking to ANYBODY about it and if she can't lie to Albus and Rose and Felix has to watch her constantly to make sure she doesn't give in and admit the truth, I think lying on oath in court would be likely to cause her some confusion. If her personality is a fake though, her evidence would probably be flawless, because in that case, she is a very accomplished liar.

I also wonder WHY she was lying. It implies her family is some way involved in the murders and that it is VERY important that things be covered up well. If they are going to the trouble of having a child sneak into Hogsmeade so she can give false evidence, it sounds like they need to lay a false trail, because if they didn't, the real one might be pretty obvious.

I can't help feeling sorry for Burke. While he clearly behaves in some immoral ways, nobody deserves to have to deal with what he does.

And Albus has pretty much said what I was thinking. Poor Burke.

I think Matt is doing the right thing. Even if it is really bad for his mental and emotional health, Boone doesn't deserve to go to Azkaban for murder and if Matt can help him by giving evidence, he should.

And I can't totally understand how the example of Boone would haunt him. No matter how impossible it is that he would ever end up in Boone's position - for him to be homeless, his parents, Amy, Albus, Rose, John, Kaden and Amanda would probably all have to have died, because none of them would let that happen - but as an example of what lycanthropy CAN lead to, it's pretty stark. And like I mentioned before, as a child, I was pretty creeped out by the fact people were interned without trial basically for being of my nationality and religion. It wasn't a real worry for me, because it happened in a country I didn't live in, so even though Matt is older and more able to see the differences in circumstances and the fact it's not ONLY Boone's lycanthropy that makes him suspicious and causes prejudice against him, just the thought that that's a factor is bound to be scary.

If he found about about two and a half years ago and people don't usually live more than four years, that means he probably doesn't have more than a year to live. Poor guy.

Yikes, I didn't realise Matt's anxiety was THAT bad. I guess the potion is keeping him functional and masking the worst of the symptoms. I SHOULD have guessed really, I suppose. Considering how stressed he is and the number of panic attacks he is having while taking a newly-developed potion by the best potioneer in the U.K., or possibly the world, I should probably have guessed it'd be horrific without it. I suppose I assumed it was only because it wasn't perfected that he was still having so many symptoms and not an indication of how severe his anxiety was.

Poor Burke. Amy had to say what she did, but I doubt Burke liked hearing that any more than Matt did. It's a reminder of how little time he has left, how dreadful the time he has left is likely to be and how much work he is unlikely to be able to finish.

Great chapter and thanks for letting us know of the changed date for updates.

 Report Review

Review #4, by JK Rowling The Trial

9th December 2014:
WOW, I really am enjoying this book as I have with all of them. Matt is my favourite character and has always been even before we found out about him being a werewolf in secrets within.
I really want a sequel to Searching For Forever as I really want to know what happens next. Even if it's just one chapter about them moving in with each other.
Back to this story, I really hope Laurenties gets the sack because of her prejudice against werewolfves.
Also I wish all your Albus Potter stories were made into movies. Even if it was by a crappy non-budget group of amateur film makers I would still buy it. Maybe you should try and sell this as a paperback on Amazon and pretend to be JK and WB make a movie out of it.
Jokes aside, I am really enjoying this story and I want more about MATT!

 Report Review

Review #5, by ngayonatkaialnaman The Trial

8th December 2014:
Hopefully the last sentence will ring true after this part of the story has been told. I really would like to think that justice would prevail.

 Report Review

Review #6, by draco_lover12 The Trial

8th December 2014:
Does that mean we get another chapter on Friday?

No seriously every chapter of this story is well worth the wait. One of my favourites AP stories but still waiting for another one of Matt's sister stories.

Laura

 Report Review

Review #7, by MargaretLane The Trial

8th December 2014:
Oh poor Matt, having to deal with a full moon AND the stress of the upcoming trial all at once.

I think there was a full moon last night, actually.

Oh, it'd probably be hard to get a character witness for Boone as he spent so long in hiding and did some rather immoral things, like buying Polyjuice illegally and stealing Young's identity. They may be a long way from murder, but it's still sort of hard to argue he's such a moral person, he couldn't possibly do it. And of course, not many people knew him in recent years.

Amanda seems pretty knowledgeable about legal matters, which I suppose is hardly surprising when her uncle is the Prime Minister and she wants to go into politics herself. The wizarding world is rather archaic in a lot of ways.

And yeah, Matt's life is very different from Boone's. If he were accused of a crime, his lycanthropy would still probably go against him, but he would have other things like his friendship with people like the Potters, his record at school and the fact he appears "respectable" which would tell in his favour, so he'd be far more likely to get a fair trial.

Oh, you spelled "trial" as "trail" when Amanda was talking about how everybody on trial is being heard by a bunch of wealthy, white men.

I find it a little surprising that they seem to be mostly white men, actually. In the books, there seems to be far greater gender equality than in our world, with Amelia Bones playing an important role in the Wizengamot. Looking through the "known members", there seems to be a fairly equal gender divide, although of course, they are only a small proportion. And racism seems to be less of a factor too, as Kingsley race isn't even raised.

I like the reference to most of Albus's classmates not being interested in the trial. After all, to most people, it's just an ordinary murder trial and while the case had some interesting features, a homeless werewolf being tried for murder isn't really something that catches people's attention.

Oh gosh, the later Matt testifies, the more days he has to hang around getting nervous that they MIGHT call him any moment now. If I were him, I'd want to be on as early as possible to get it over with.

And there are more women and non-whites than Amanda implies. I'd still have expected more than three women though.

Ah! That is a good argument - that they can't prove the hair came to be there at the time of the crime. And that part about how it wasn't snowing on the day of the murder is even better.

That is a good opening for the Defence, but I've a feeling there's WAY more to come here.

 Report Review

Review #8, by Moonlight Nightshadow Dawlish's Plan

29th November 2014:
Another great chapter! I've been still reading all of them and back to replying again. Felix and his sister are definitely hiding something which I wonder what it is but I'm guessing it will be at the end of the last chapter. Poor Matt doesn't deserve this. I agree Boone is innocent and wouldn't have stabbed anyone. OH I am liking Dawlish more and more. He is suspicious at times and it sounds like he believes Boone is innocent. Funny that Johnson doesn't know I can't imagine what would happen if he was spying even though he probably wasn't. I hope Burke will be okay as well and Harry is a great teacher. I guess Belladanis isn't all bad I mean he's not as bad as Johnson and Laurentis. Surpringly Dawlish picked Albus and how he is his spy really amazed me. I've wondered if Harry knew about this at all. Great work as always.

 Report Review

Review #9, by ngayonatkailanman Dawlish's Plan

26th November 2014:
I thought you decided to take a long holiday. lol. Glad you are back. Love this story. Wow! Everyone conspired to put Al in a student spy position. Isn't that great?

 Report Review

Review #10, by MargaretLane Dawlish's Plan

25th November 2014:
YAY, more Albus. I completely understand being busy though and I am amazed at your usual update schedule. Mine tends to vary between a week and about a month/six weeks. And of course, slower updates means this series lasts longer, which is good, especially as there's less than two years to go.

At one point you've written "trail" instead of "trial".

Poor Matt. This is really stressful for him. Unsurprisingly.

Oooh, I hope James gets recruited. Of course he'd be nervous. I just hope his nerves don't cause him to mess up in front of the scout. Of course it's the same for the Hufflepuff Seeker. I'm guessing that maybe scouts go to college matches in the U.S.? I know ye're college sports are important. In Ireland, our main sports (Gaelic football and hurling) are all-amateur. I don't know how the national soccer and rugby teams recruit or the provincial rugby teams.

For a moment, I thought James was going to make a mess of things. Showing off for the scout rather than keeping his eyes out for the Snitch would't exactly look good. But then he caught it fairly effectively.

When Albus is looking for Elsie's statement, you've written "it there was still a significant risk." I guess you changed from "it was still a significant risk" to "there was still a significant risk" or vice versa and didn't remove something.

*laughs at the reference to Ron's handwriting*

Hmm, that part about the file being blank is interesting. It's possible it's written in some kind of ink that'll only reveal itself to certain people, but it's also possible there's nothing there because what they are doing is dodgy.

I'm glad Dawlish isn't going to tell Johnson, but I don't 100% trust Dawlish - in fact, I don't trust him at all, so I'm not sure this mightn't cause problems later.

*laughs* It makes sense they'd be protected by spells. Wizards could probably get into locked drawers quite easily and some could even get into drawers locked by complex spells.

I kind of agree with Johnson that in theory Elsie's nervousness COULD be due to being caught out of bounds. While a few detentions isn't a big deal to an adult, it could well be to a young teenager and just being questioned by adults when you've done wrong is enough to worry a kid in some cases, but in this case, clearly there is more to it. And I guess, as Dawlish says, he's been an Auror a long time and probably knows the difference between the nervousness caused by hiding something and the nervousness caused by "I did something wrong and my parents and teachers will be cross with me."

O.K, so Dawlish is working with Harry and the others. Or says he is. I still don't entirely trust him. We only have his own word for any of this and it doesn't sound ENTIRELY convincing that the entire Auror programme is just so Albus can get into the Auror Department and pass them information from Hogwarts. After all, Harry is already there and if that WAS the reason, I would have expected Harry or Hermione to have told him.

 Report Review

Review #11, by draco_lover12 Halloween

22nd November 2014:
Any chance of a update??? Getting withdrawn here.

 Report Review

Review #12, by HDLM Halloween

17th November 2014:
After a month, I finally caught will the story lol. I was even late to work because I couldn't stop reading it lol. Anyway, I love this series. It's really thought out. One thing that's been bugging me though, I thought Lily was a year younger than. Albus. This doesn't change my opinion on your story, I still love it, I just wondering. Anyways, keep up the great work and I can't wait til the next chapter is up.

 Report Review

Review #13, by myhorserockyrocks Halloween

16th November 2014:
Great chapter! I can't wait for the update!

Horse :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Padfoot's_Sister-From-Another-Mister Halloween

11th November 2014:
Hi Gryffin Duck! Just wanted to say amazing work. I started reading your series back when you only had books one through three finished, and just this week rediscovered HPFF. Thank you for convincing my boyfriend I am a irredeemable Potterhead! (I've read the entire series in about five days because I couldn't put it down...) Anyway, loving all of it, can't wait for the next chapter, and good luck with NaNoWriMo!!!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Percival Dumbledore Halloween

4th November 2014:
AWESOME CHAPTER AGAIN!!

I was also a bit busy so I too didn't got a chance to send reviews but I liked all the chapters so far!

And Gemma being angry on John for not receiving an Howler is very funny.

And the pranks by both John and Kaden and Gemma were awesome. I doubt she did it alone.

By the way I was thinking what it was that Elsie showed Felix stating that "he" is abroad by looking into it! Was it a kind of 'Marauder's Map' or something? It just popped in my mind.

And thinking of the 'Marauder's Map' what happened to the one James was making with his friends and a little help by Rose?

Maybe you told about it and I might have forgotten because as I have told before too, I am famous for forgetting things!! :-P

By the way what is NaNo? I dont know it.

I am waiting for your next Chapter!

Be back soon!!

 Report Review

Review #16, by MargaretLane Halloween

1st November 2014:
This is SO perfect. It occurred to me it might work, because I knew your characters were talking a lot about Halloween, so it should be in the next couple of chapters, but going up on the actual day (by ye're time anyway) is perfect.

We're actually having summer temperatures over here at the moment. It's in the low 60s, which would be coolish summer weather here. And fun fact, in Ireland, we usually consider the winter to begin on the first of November. I know the English work it out differently though. We're just working from the traditional Celtic versions, in which Halloween marked the changing of the seasons. And this is some tangent from a mention of a chilly autumn day.

Oh gosh, I hadn't thought about Gemma. I guess I'm not used to associating pranks with Halloween. Fireworks, bonfires, trick-or-treating, scary films, barnbreac, sweets, apples, nuts would be my associations. I am anxious to see John and Kaden's prank though. You've been hinting at it for so long, I suspect it's going to be dramatic.

So Felix and Elsie are DEFINITELY up to something. I wonder what it was she didn't tell the truth about.

Yeah, I agree it's more likely to be about her reasons for being in Hogsmeade. It's kind of unlikely she'd lie about seeing Young right in the place somebody really was Polyjuicing as him. But there's clearly something she omitted and I'd imagine it's significant. I always SAID it seemed out of character for her to sneak into Hogsmeade just for the same of it. I'd expect GEMMA to do that, but Elsie doesn't seem the type.

I'm not entirely sure it's all an act. It's possible she's just stressed and that's why she was more outspoken here. But if it IS all an act then that means whatever's going on is pretty serious.

Aberforth's still alive? I guess it's not surprising, since Bathilda Bagshot only died in Deathly Hallows and she must be 20-30 years older than Dumbledore and Aberforth.

*laughs at Rose responding to the comment that Albus could go to Azkaban with the comment that he'd just have to be sure he didn't get caught* They do take risks, don't they? And I REALLY don't think that one is worth it. I can see why they'd want to know what Felix and Elsie are lying, but after all, just finding out what lie they told wouldn't help them find out the truth necessarily and they'd only be figuring out what was already known. It'd make far more sense to tell Harry or Ron or Dawlish or somebody what they'd heard. But I guess they wouldn't be Albus and his friends if they went straight to an adult.

Oh Gemma! Gluing the door of the Hospital wing shut could be serious, if somebody was injured or something and couldn't get in. When you consider some of the serious injuries that happen in Hogwarts, it could get problematic. I know it's unlikely somebody'd just be injured at that point, but it's not impossible.

*laughs* James had Kreacher help him with a prank at breakfast in my story, so that's a coincidence. It was a rather different prank though.

And that was a good prank, one that was just funny without really causing any great problem. Unlike Gemma's. And yeah, an owl home just for duplicating dishes would be a bit over the top.

Poor Burke. I feel sorry for him.

I agree with Harry on this one. Howlers are pretty pointless really.

Best of luck with Nano.

 Report Review

Review #17, by Liana Halloween

31st October 2014:
I think this story is as close to Halloween that I got his year. It's cold so we left treats outside in a basket. I'm glad everyone thought the prank was harmless and funny. I wonder if here's any hope for Professor Burke.

 Report Review

Review #18, by ngayonatkailanman Halloween

31st October 2014:
LOL. What a revelation. Shy Elsie is not really shy. Gemma is worse than John Anyhow, good job. I look forward to your updatesa, very much.

 Report Review

Review #19, by HarryGinnyLove88 Investigating

27th October 2014:
I was wondering when you write, finally :)

good story, please write soon :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by MargaretLane Investigating

25th October 2014:
Wow, that's a pretty interesting assignment for Albus to get to witness. If it wasn't one that was something of a moral dilemma for him, it'd be really exciting.

Makes a lot of sense that they'd be careful who they sell illegal potions to. It sounds as if they'd be in a lot of trouble if they were caught. I like the details you add that make the wizarding world seem real, like the rules about the selling of potions and the trials and so on.

Strikes me though that George could be a liability in an Apothecary. It's the sort of business where you'd need a clear mind. Making a mistake, after all, could be pretty serious. I suspect there is more to George being employed there.

And now you have me wondering if there's some connection between the illegal potions trade and the murders. I assumed they were just a red herring, a way to have Boone muddy the waters and get blamed in the wrong, but now it's occurred to me that covering that up COULD be a motive for murder - a vastly inadequate one, but I guess if the profits were high enough... And one of the murders took place in Diagon Alley, near where one of the Apothecaries is and another in Hogsmeade, near where somebody using one of the potions was hiding. I can't imagine why the latter would provide a motive for killing somebody there, unless of course, the victim had noticed Young in Hogsmeade at times he couldn't possibly be. Then it might have become necessary to silence him.

I've come up with more possible solutions to this mystery. And I've no idea which is the most likely.

Hmm, Fawley's becoming more obviously dodgy.

And I DO feel sorry for Boone. He really seems to have had a pretty awful time.

I like the fact Albus doesn't immediately recognise the phrase "the greater good". There's no real reason he should, when Grindelwald didn't directly target Britain. I do see Johnston's point though, about not raising the minor issues and how it's a dilemma.

I wonder though if your inclusion of the term "the greater good" is hinting at something more - that Johnston is untrustworthy, perhaps or a connection with Grindelwald. Or maybe you were just writing about Johnston suggesting the ends justified the means and you realised it was similar to Grindelwald's logic and decided to make a connection. I know there are a few times in my mystery stories when people start picking up on things that have no great relevance.

The term "citations" sounds a bit American. It wouldn't be one I'd expect to see used in this context. Can't remember what terms Arthur Weasley used, but I think he just spoke of fines.

I'm not surprised they aren't all in the Marauder's den often. With Kaden in his O.W.L.s year and helping Burke, all the sixth years having internships as well as schoolwork and Rose and Albus being prefects, they must all be pretty busy.

Oooh, there's something ominous about your last paragraph. I've a feeling this Hogsmeade visit won't be as much fun as Albus thinks.

 Report Review

Review #21, by Liana Investigating

24th October 2014:
I loved the comment about the guy experimenting with too many recreational potions. That was priceless. Too bad Ron didn't grab Albus and introduce him to Dawlish. Great chapter.

 Report Review

Review #22, by ngayonatkailanman Investigating

24th October 2014:
Excellent description of scenes and scenarious. One thing, though. When Al saw Ron with Dawlish, there did not seem a reaction from Ron. It is probably superflous to the story but, it adds to interest.

 Report Review

Review #23, by myhorserockyrocks Dawlish

20th October 2014:
Great chapter!! Can't wait for the update!!

Horse :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by Ms Mice Radcliffe Dawlish

19th October 2014:
Yay!!! Another review!! : ) i definatly agree with Walters that Dawlish is investigating the Boone murder on his own!! good for him i say!! I was wondering though why albus didnt talk to his dad at the end (when matt told him he would probably be missing class on wednesday due to the full moon) about investigating the Boone murder like a muggle would. i also believe that the killer is probably muggleborn or lives comfortably among muggles (like johns family)

 Report Review

Review #25, by Liana Dawlish

18th October 2014:
I'm so happy you're back. I checked for new chapters every week. If Harry knew that Albus was going to try to disarm him would he be able to protect his wand against Expelliarmus? Would it work to Albus' advantage if the incantation was used as a surprise? I would think that Apparition is hard to learn. I really enjoyed this chapter. I still think that there was something fishy about the last election. If Albus investigates he'll probably find out some improprieties.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>