100 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Bubbles Auror Headquarters

30th July 2014:
Your endings are always so powerful. Yay for being the 100th review. :D

 Report Review

Review #2, by Percival Dumbledore Auror Headquarters

28th July 2014:
Nice Chapter!

I read your story Beyond the Shadow... Nice story
Good to know that Victorie chose Spell Damage ward...

I think Johnson is not at all as good head of the Auror dept. as Harry was, I wish Harry is made the head back...

Amanda or at least someone should do something to change the laws regarding warewolfs.. It's really bad to see that even after the war and so many years later still warewolves are not considered as beings... It just sucks...

*laughs* on the funny letters that are passed in the whole dept.

The Ministry has now changed back to what it was during harry and his friends' school period.
I just feel that it should be changed, there should be proper justice done to the people(in case of Boone)...

I just wanted to tell you that I have started to write a story(novel) on Albus' school years. Now I have added only one chapter, but, I was just thinking it would be nice of you to read and review it, so that I would know how you feel about it... Please read it... thank you...:)

Waiting for your next chapter...

 Report Review

Review #3, by Liana Auror Headquarters

27th July 2014:
Johnson sounds like an unpleasant type of person. There has to be some reason people glance away when they pass him in the hallway. He also seemed kind of sarcastic. I wonder how Scorpius is doing with Matt's dad. We'll miss you next week when you're on vacation.

 Report Review

Review #4, by ngayonatkailanman Auror Headquarters

25th July 2014:
Sorting post? Years ago, that was my job too. Brings a lot of memories, this chapter does. Looks like Johnson will be ok with Albus provided Al will keep his head down. Otherwise, there will be big trouble. I can just see it brewing. I would like to know how Amanda, Rose, John and speciallY Matt are doing during their internships.

 Report Review

Review #5, by MargaretLane Auror Headquarters

25th July 2014:
Yeah, thankfully, we don't have the same level of problems with regard to healthcare as some people in the U.S. have, but we could still do with this universal healthcare we were promised when our current gov took power.

I chuckled at John's excitement.

LOVE the change to the fountain. That thing was creepy.

Johnson does NOT seem like a fun boss.

And ugh, Greyback is nasty. Perhaps he's hoping somebody'd cut themselves on a nail paring, since werewolf scars are permanent. The idea of somebody having a permanent reminder of him, even in the form of a tiny scratch sounds like something he'd appreciate.

Just occurred to me that Albus is lucky, in one way, that Harry stood down, or he wouldn't have been able to do that internship.

I again chuckled at James jumping off the desk. That sounds SO like something he'd do.

*laughs at their sending the really funny ones around the department before binning them*

LOVE all the details you've created about illegal potions and how complicated the law can get. It makes sense, especially the part about having permission from the person you want to Polyjuice as. And I'm now thinking about somebody using Polyjuice to do the O.W.L.S. or N.E.W.T.S. for somebody. There was a case here where somebody impersonated somebody to do their Leaving Cert. exam for them.

 Report Review

Review #6, by Arianna Rose's Decision

20th July 2014:
I laughed so hard about the stag night part. I liked this chapter, except for the part about Burke possibly dying. I like him. Well, actually, I like anyone who makes things explode.

Author's Response: I can't wait to write the stag night. It's going to be hilarious. I'm glad you liked the chapter! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by MargaretLane Rose's Decision

20th July 2014:
Well, I FINALLY get around to reading this. *sighs* Yeah, I know a day and a bit isn't that long, but I've been trying to find a few moments to do so since yesterday morning.

*cheers for Kaden finding out who was second* That is a good idea.

And I can completely understand Rose's dilemma. I think I'd have felt the same as a teen. I've probably become a little more pragmatic since then, as so many situations have a grey area. At Rose's age, I was far more "nothing justifies doing wrong", "two wrongs don't make a right".

I really think she'll end up agreeing to do it though, unless MAYBE if the person who came second was somebody Matt felt safe with them doing it.

Poor Matt. I guess it's his anxiety that causes him to fear the very worst in any situation where there is the SLIGHTEST chance of somebody finding out about his lycanthropy or anxiety.

Albus hates not knowing anything, doesn't he? I know the feeling though. Once you know the situation, whatever it is, you can start making plans.

I'm laughing at the idea of crazy hair being a side effect.

While I can understand their concerns, I really don't think many people would go to Kendrick. If you don't have the information Al and his friends have, then there really is little suspicious about an ill Potions Master asking a student to assist him with his potions. OK, the question of why he is brewing Polyjuice so often could arise, but most people aren't as inquisitive as Al and I don't think most teenagers would jump to the conclusion that "oh, a teacher is asking me to brew an uncommon potion; I'd better tell the Headmaster in case he's selling it illegally." Though, I guess considering Hogwarts' history with teachers, it might be a more reasonable assumption than it would be in most schools. And I guess "they probably wouldn't figure it out" isn't much consolation when your health and well-being depend on the CERTAINTY that they wouldn't.

OK, I didn't expect Rose to come to that conclusion, though I can understand why she would.

And *grins at the idea of her punching Malfoy* If my Rose (from my next gen) had a friend who was a werewolf or who suffered from anxiety and somebody mocked them over it, she'd probably hex them, but I think your Rose is a little less likely to do so. As a matter of fact, if my Rose heard somebody mocking a classmate over one of those things, she'd probably hex them anyway, even if the person they were mocking WASN'T a close friend.

Matt is lucky his parents HAVE the money. It further emphasises the differences between his life and Stuart Boone's. Healthcare should never come down to money. Actually, our Government has just had a REALLY badly managed assessment of who was entitled to free medical care, including doing things like asking parents to confirm their child still had Downs Syndrome. Understandably, people were panicking, particularly the elderly. The idea of being in a situation like Stuart Boone or Burke, where you can't afford the care you need is just scary.

Yeah, classy and James aren't exactly two words you expect to find in the same sentence. It'll be really interesting to see what happens on the Stag night.

And Teddy does leave it rather last minute, doesn't he? I was recently a bridesmaid at a friend's wedding and she asked us almost two years in advance, shortly after they got engaged.

Author's Response: I would've had a hard time deciding in Rose's shoes, too. Rose is very much a "black and white" type of person, whereas Albus will break rules without thinking if it's to help one of his friends or family (like Harry).

Albus is incredibly nosy. He and Scorpius are very similar in that, although neither one of them would admit it. Haha, the crazy hair is mostly from the humidity the potion causes.

You're right that most people wouldn't go to Kendrick. Most of the kids at Hogwarts would accept the extra credit and not question it, since they'd be grateful for the extra points! No one else has even read the law as deeply as Rose, so most don't know about Polyjuice being illegal to sell anyway.

The mention of Rose's idea of punching Scorpius is a nod to Hermione's punching of Draco in the third book. But since Rose follows the rules so closely, she'd probably never do it.

Matt is very lucky his parents have money. If they didn't, his life would be a lot different. It sucks that so many times healthcare does come down to money (especially in the United States, but I won't get into that).

I can't wait to write the stag night. It's going to be hilarious. Teddy is very much a last minute guy. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by ngayonatkailanman Rose's Decision

19th July 2014:
I know that Matt suffers so much and I am glad his parents will do anything, pay any amount just to ease their son's pain. But, I am jealous of Matt. He has perfect parents. Any more of them in this world?

Author's Response: He does have really great parents, and really great friends. I really enjoy writing the different effects lycanthropy has on people depending on their circumstances. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Kira Rose's Decision

19th July 2014:
WHOOP WHOOP I love this story!! I'm dying of the amazingness xD.

Author's Response: So glad you love it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Percival Dumbledore Rose's Decision

19th July 2014:
Good Chapter...

Good to know that Burke is going to give the formula of the anxiety potion to Amy after it's perfectly complete.

Rose actually did a right thing because it would put her career in danger if she helped Burke brew possibly illegal polyjuice. And it wont do any harm to Matt too, because Amy would get the formula even if Burke get's sacked, right?
And it wont do any harm to Matt even if it's a Slytherin who will brew polyjuice and other potions for Burke.

I was just wondering.. Is Burke, in any way, related to 'Borgin and Burke'?.. it just popped in my mind, so I thought better to ask.

*Laughs* at the thought that Rose would punch Scorpius in his face if it came to defending Matt from him... It made me remember the day of Hermione punching Draco in his face in their third year...
Rose is like her mother...

Good to know that, now, Victorie and Amy are official residents. Curious to know that what will be the specialty that Victorie will select.

Yea!... the wedding of Teddy and Victorie is in Christmas.. Can't wait till the day comes.. Yes it would probably really be insane because of so many guests in Shell Cottage as it's small...

*laughs* @ the thought that James would create a classy stag night...

I figured that it's Felix and his sister who are the purebloods whose secret is going to be secret until the ending chapters or so...

Waiting for the next chapter...

Author's Response: Burke will definitely give Amy the recipe, but it might take a while. He is a perfectionist. Rose did do the right thing. Amy should get the recipe even if Burke gets sacked, but Burke is volatile and might not, because all his resources are at Hogwarts. If he's sacked, he won't be able to perfect the potion.

Burke is distantly related to the Burke of Borgin and Burke's. He's a pureblood, as is the Burke of Borgin and Burke's, so they're definitely related. I'm undecided about whether that will actually play a role in the story, though.

Rose's mention of punching Scorpius in the face was a nod to Hermione punching Draco in the face. Rose is definitely like her mother.

Victoire's specialty is mentioned in Beyond the Shadow, if you're interested in reading that. The wedding is going to be really fun to write, as is the stag night! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by Liana Rose's Decision

19th July 2014:
Sometimes I think Rose is too much of a goody two shoes. At least Malfoy won't be one of the people to help brew wolfs bane.

Author's Response: Rose is a goody two shoes, but she does need to think of herself. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by HarryGinnyLove88 Nonverbal Spells

14th July 2014:
create as always.. keep going :)

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Liana Nonverbal Spells

14th July 2014:
Some days I could just slap Malfoy. He's so annoying. On other days I feel sorry for him. Who knows? Maybe he's interested in werewolves or something. I can't see him wasting his internship on a topic for a joke. I'm very proud of Matt and his accomplishments over the summer.

Author's Response: He really is obnoxious, isn't he? He is fighting his dad's reputation on a daily basis, but he doesn't help his cause much by being a bully. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by ginnyREEpotter Nonverbal Spells

11th July 2014:
The plot thickens!! I wonder what Malfoy is up to. Is he really doing this because he wants to, to be mean, or as a joke? I can't wait! Thank you for spending time for this!

Author's Response: It does indeed! Can't say why he's doing it, but anything's plausible. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by ngayonatkailanman Nonverbal Spells

11th July 2014:
If Rose is anything like her mother, she will grit her teeth and brew just for Matt.

Author's Response: True. But Rose isn't exactly like her mother. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by Karou_Marauder Nonverbal Spells

11th July 2014:
Hi there!

Ooh, Gemma's in trouble! Serves her right too. I'm glad John is happy with her punishment, and doesn't want to give her more. That'd be mean.

Poor Burke. I do feel bad for him, even if he is selling illegal Polyjuice Potion. Hang on, is Burke a Pureblood? Or is it the Williams' the title is referring to? Sorry, random brainwave.

Er, yeah, so I feel sorry for Burke. He's such an excellent brewer, and having that disease must be killing him. Oh, no, no, sorry - wrong wording! :P I mean he must hate being unable to brew his potions and having to rely on someone else all the time. That must suck.

Another reason why I don't want anything bad to happen to Burke is Matt. He's suffered so much and if Burke's potion was taken away from him I don't know if he could cope. Could he? Please say yes, because I want Burke to be punished for being illegal. Ugh, this is so frustrating!!!

Grr, Malfoy. He's such a show off! Although, seeing Matt completely thrash him next Charms will be awesome. Malfoy's definitely getting his come-uppance this year: first Lily, now Matt, and I'm sure Mr Eckerton will give him what he deserves ;)

As always, great chapter. Can't wait for the next one!

-Karou, 2014 House Cup Review

Author's Response: She sure is! She's quite the troublemaker, and unlike John, doesn't quite know when to draw the line.

Burke's situation is very tragic. It's one of those situations that makes you question the morality of the law. Burke is in fact a pureblood, but he might not be the pureblood the title is referring to. There are quite a few purebloods in this series. Burke, John, the Willinsons, Malfoy, Neville, just to name a few.

HAHAHAHA. I love a good pun, even if it comes off in poor taste. It does suck that he can't brew, because that's what he loves doing the most.

Matt might be able to cope without the potion, but it'd be a lot harder for him than it is with it. Amy would of course do all she could to figure out the recipe if something were to happen to Burke before he passed it on.

Malfoy is a huge show-off. He always has been. But he's not the best at everything, including nonverbal spells. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by Percival Dumbledore Nonverbal Spells

11th July 2014:
Nice Chapter...
I feel bad for Kaden as I said in previous review..
Scorpius is really a git as his father was or we may say even worse..
Good to know that the floo network of the shack was protected by spells..
It is so great in Australia that, a lot of parents teach their children to Apparate before the Ministry lessons in A.S.S. (laughs on the initials) Matt is really lucky..
The expression on Scorpius' face would be great to see, when, he would find out that Matt is so good in nonverbal spells than him..
It would do no good to Matt if Burke gets sacked and deny to give his of the Anxiety potion to Amy..
Albus is really a very good friend, because he decided to do some illegal work, only to keep his friend healthy.. he is really very good friend Matt had ever got.. Not only Albus but Matt's all friends are very good..

Author's Response: Kaden definitely has his hands full assisting Burke, but he has been enjoying it. Scorpius is a git in different ways his father was, and in the same ways as well.

The Floo connection is perfectly safe. I was always curious about whether parents helped teach their kids to apparate, but it didn't seem to be done that way in Britain. So I figured I'd make it a thing in Australia.

Burke really does need to give the recipe to Amy before anything happens. There will be more on that later. Matt really lucked out in the friend department at Hogwarts, and Albus is loyal enough to have been in Hufflepuff. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by MargaretLane Nonverbal Spells

11th July 2014:
*laughs at Gemma having already received two Howlers* How many will she have received before leaving Hogwarts?!

*also laughs at John holding his breath*

*cheers for two of the Hufflepuffs managing it* Considering how the house it underrated, it's good to see them outperforming Gryffindor and Slytherin.

Gringotts seems like something Malfoy would choose all right. And ha, his working with Matt's father could get interesting.

Maybe Matt's father is hoping that if Scorius works with him, he'll learn something about what werewolves have to deal with and gain some empathy.

Actually, that's a department which would have to be pretty careful what its interns get to do and see, as much of the work there is pretty confidential, I'd imagine. Though there's probably a lot of routine filing and stuff a teen could do.

That part about Ludbar hadn't occurred to me. Of COURSE, it makes sense he'd hate Flooing after that. What a memory to have to deal with.

Makes sense that the laws about Apparition and how teens learn would vary across the world, as driving ones do. In Ireland, there is now a law that people have to get like 12 professional driving lessons, but parents still teach their sons and daughters as well. A lot of people spend years as learner drivers. Just checked and apparently the provisional licence (learner's permit basically) has to be renewed after two years. Teenagers driving is nowhere near as common here as it appears to be in the U.S. either. A lot of my friends were in their 20s when they learnt. I mean, I also knew people who learnt as 17/18 year olds, but it's not unusual to be older.

I can completely understand why Rose wouldn't be comfortable with this. It'd be different if she didn't know he was likely going to sell it illegally. Even though I have some understanding of Burke's position, I don't think it's right for him to get his students involved in something like that. It's sort of an abuse of his position to use his job as a teacher to see who can make him something he's selling for his own profit. Even if it wasn't illegal, that would be slightly unethical, I think - profiting from work completed by a student, I mean. But obviously the fact it's illegal makes it MUCH more serious.

Author's Response: I ought to have John and everyone take bets on how many howlers Gemma will receive...

Gringotts would be a very popular internship, I think. The role would've fit Malfoy, and I do see him winding up there after he leaves Hogwarts.

There's plenty Malfoy will be able to do without coming across confidential information. Spells can hide the confidential stuff. Matt's dad let Malfoy be the intern because he had to be fair. He couldn't not pick him just because his son doesn't get along with him.

That's what I figured too, with the driving laws. The driving laws are different state to state here. I think the youngest someone can get a permit is 14 and some states make you wait until 17, I believe. NY is 16 except in NYC. You have to be 18 to drive in NYC.

It isn't right that Burke might be making his students brew. And it's definitely understandable why Rose doesn't want to do it. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by Percival Dumbledore Liability

11th July 2014:
Great chapter...
Poor Madam Pomfrey, she has to do so much work because of Prof. Burke. I feel bad for Kaden too.. Because of Prof. Burke's illness, he is the only one who has to do all prof Burke's brewing, I know he loves it but still, it's his OWLs year and he already got so much of OWL work load on his shoulders and now he have to do brewing for Prof. Burke, I mean it's so much of work for an OWL student, He might go insane, I would've gone mad if I would've been in his place..
I feel really sad for Matt.. he was so close that he might have had transformed in school itself if Albus won't have helped, then the whole school would've known about it. But I think, before anyone would've told anybody about Matt's condition, the staff of Hogwarts would've deleted their memories, it would be so easy then. I think someone should use a time- turner and go back in time and announce the information to Matt's dad that he should pack everything and get everybody out of the area to a safe place because there is a werewolf roaming around them... But that would result in no England, no Hogwarts and that means No friendship with Albus and all.. So it's a bad idea..
I am wondering who will be the new potions teacher in replacement of Prof. Burke.. As its for sure that he is going to get replaced in a few weeks or months... I don't think it will be Slughorn as he is too old now and cannot teach that well..
I am still curious about Felix and Ellie's secret..
waiting for next update..

Author's Response: Madam Pomfrey is counting down the days until her retirement. Kaden is enjoying helping Burke, but he is taking on too much in his OWL year. It'll catch up to him.

I don't think the staff could've altered the students' memories. If that were possible, Dumbledore could've done that to Snape when he found out about Remus's lycanthropy. I imagine there are a lot of laws in place about memory modification.

No, it definitely won't be Slughorn. It'll be someone completely new. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by Karou_Marauder Balladanis's Visit

8th July 2014:
Hi there! This is for the 2014 House Cup Review event. Plus I've been meaning to review for a while.

I really liked the Quidditch game at the start, how Hermione doesn't want to let her kids play in case they get hurt and how Hugo just tries to play anyway.

And then Balladanis's visit was very unexpected... It's strange how he doesn't want Harry to resign, but then we see why. It's good that Laurentis doesn't have everyone under her control.

I think I'm with Albus and Matt - I never saw Laurentis as evil. Balladanis is just being paranoid, as per usual.

I hope Matt's Occlumency improves, and he doesn't suffer long. He's one of my favourite characters and you're so mean to him! :P I understand why he's having panic attacks and stuff though, I just wish it'd be easier on him.

-Karou

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked the Quidditch game! I see Hermione as very protective when it comes to things like sports since she isn't quite as familiar with them.

Nope, Laurentis does not have Balladanis on her side, although she thinks she does. Balladanis is very powerful, and he'll be useful to have on Harry's side. But yes, he is very paranoid.

Aw, I'm mean to him because it fits the plot and results in him being a well-developed character. He's one of my favorites, too. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by MargaretLane Liability

8th July 2014:
Ugh, morning practices on the weekend. That would NOT be fun. Mornings are NOT my best time. I'm currently correcting Ireland's equivalent of the O.W.L.s, so I tend to work afternoons, evenings and if necessary into the early part of the night.

Oh, good, I'd forgotten about Harry teaching Defence. Looking forward to seeing his classes.

And Burke and Matt are both ill in this story.

Actually, in some ways aren't there some similarities between Burke's situation and Remus's? I mean Remus could have injured the trio at the end of Prisoner of Azkaban through no fault of his own and Burke is now injuring students through no fault of his own. And both are due to medical conditions. I mean, it's not the same, since what happened with Remus was a one-off, as a result of a very unusual circumstance, whereas this is ongoing, but there are some similarities.

Oh yikes, if there are parents around and Madame Pomfrey is distracted from the full moon, it sounds as if those students might have been seriously injured. I assumed it'd just be a normal, "Madame Pomfrey can fix it overnight" typed incident.

And Albus could easily have been attacked if Matt turned.

I was about to type, "oh Gemma is so bold", but I guess you won't know what that means. It's Irish-speak for badly-behaved.

Oh, maybe the parents are just there to complain and not because their children are seriously injured.

Author's Response: Mornings aren't my best times, either. I always feel the best when I sleep until 9:30-10ish. And I always write best in the evenings.

There are definite similarities between Burke and Remus. Although Remus was a better teacher and his illness didn't affect his teaching as much as Burke's.

The parents were mostly there to complain, and they did have a right to do so. Burke's time at Hogwarts might be drawing to a close.

Haha, "bold" here tends to mean very out-going or brave. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by myhorserockyrocks Liability

7th July 2014:
Great chapter! Can't wait for the update!!

Horse :)

Author's Response: Glad you liked it! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by Kira Liability

7th July 2014:
Yay!! I've been waiting for a new chapter seince the last one came out!! I looked around for more story's of Albus at school, but couldn't find any better than this!! Please keep writing!!

Author's Response: Aw, I'm glad you like my stories so much! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by Freda_and_Georgina Liability

6th July 2014:
For the House Cup 2014
Stupid quidditch maniac. :P That's almost just plain rude.
I'm glad everyone thinks Harry's such a great teacher. It must be nice to have your "coworkers"/boss like the job you're doing.
Ah no, Burke's losing it already!
That had better be a temporary Floo connection! Especially after the transformation incident that scarred Matt for life! And for the safety of anyone using Floo powder that misspoke!
What a rough position for Burke and Kendrick and Matt and Pomfrey...
I'm so excited for the rest of the story!
GO HUFFLEPUFF!
--Freda

Author's Response: James is definitely Quidditch-crazy. Burke got a lot worse over the summer and now it's really going to affect his teaching.

Don't worry! There are precautions set up for the Floo connection. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by Freda_and_Georgina Spying

6th July 2014:
For the House Cup 2014
Matt, repeat after me: you have two parents, a sister, five friends, a handful of people from their families, and a few professors willing to do whatever they can do to ensure your well-being.
I'm not sure if I trust the Slytherins either.
This is random, but is Albus still the only one sort-of in a relationship?
Hmm, Felix is definitely acting suspicious.
Sigh. The prank should be good, but it always means work for Albus and Rose.
--Freda

Author's Response: Matt does know he has people in his corner, but sometimes everything else overwhelms that. Albus isn't in a real relationship with Marina. They only went to Hogsmeade together. John and Janie were sort of together, but they decided to go back to being just friends. Felix is always acting suspicious. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>