184 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Liana The Wedding

30th January 2015:
That sounded like a nice wedding. I can't imagine having a wedding on Christmas day though. I was struggling with how to pronounce Eponine. I wish I could use heating charms in the winter. Apparating would be fun also.:D

 Report Review

Review #2, by myhorserockyrocks The Wedding

27th January 2015:
Great chapter! I can't wait for the update and the wedding seemed like a lot of fun!

Horse :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by MargaretLane The Wedding

27th January 2015:
*laughs at Albus not telling his parents he went to a club because they might be angry at Teddy and James* The first time I went to a club I was technically underage, but I was like four months shy of 18 - it was the Saturday after I finished my Leaving Cert. (our equivalent of N.E.W.T.S). My parents knew. Mind you, they also knew, I didn't drink.

LOVE the wedding favours.

And I like the comment about how Stanley might never marry. Nice to see a bit of possible variety from the "grow up, marry, have babies" thing.

*laughs* Lily is lucky she doesn't have Fred and George as older brothers. They were going on that Ginny was "going through boyfriends rather quickly", when she dated like three guys in her entire life and had only dated TWO at that point.

I was wondering what the cut off age for the hen and stag parties were going to be, since there are cousins virtually ever age from adult down to what...9 or 10? So somebody was bound to be left out when cousins a year or two older were allowed go.

Are they getting married on Christmas day? I missed that.

Yeah, that would be pretty awkward all right, if Teddy and Victoire broke up. They wouldn't really have the option of avoiding one another afterwards.

I like the way Harry has a word with Teddy alone. I guess he's sort of in the role of "father of the groom" in a way, since Teddy doesn't have a father of his own, so it's nice that they have a moment together.

LOVE the way Aunt Muriel comments on Albus's name. She seems really in character already. Even though she only had a small part in the books, she has a very distinctive character. And I would LOVE to see her with the great grandmother who hates the English! I was once planning a one-shot about Seamus, in which his Muggle grandmother had relatives involved in the fight for independence and was giving out about him being sent to an English school and refused to acknowledge there was a difference between English and Scottish. I never got around to it though, partly because I was concerned about readers taking the character's view as the writer's, when I am Irish myself.

Wedding days! At my friend's wedding last summer, we were up nearly 24 hours. We'd to get up around 6 to get ready and didn't get to bed until about 5:30 the next morning. I wonder if this'll be as long.

Yeah, I can imagine it must be annoying to be treated like a kid when you're almost an adult, but I can also understand why his parents and Amy would do it. It must be a difficult situation.

The failure of the Occlumency surprised me. I guess I've got used to assuming Hermione is all-knowledgeable and of course, nobody is.

Staying with Albus New Year's Eve sounds like a good compromise - means he's not alone, but also that nobody is giving up their fun for him, which would be bound to make him feel guilty.

OK, the last part has me intrigued. The fact Dawlish is here makes me trust him a little more. If he were lying about working with Harry and Hermione, he'd hardly risk showing up somewhere they were. On the other hand, this is odd behaviour. I am looking forward to the next chapter.

 Report Review

Review #4, by ngayonatkailanman The Wedding

26th January 2015:
Thanks for the update. Cheered me up big time. Love your take on everything to do with the wedding. Great idea about Matt and a bit of drama. After all it is a wedding. LOL. Aunt Muriel was so funny. Oh no! What a cliffhanger. I wonder what Dawlish have in mind. I look forward to see whether Matt and Al will spend time together, what will they be up to and whether something will happen to add to more drama in Matt's life through Al's adventures that may be as a result of whatever it is Dawlish will need Al for.

 Report Review

Review #5, by Arianna Stag Party

25th January 2015:
How much alcohol did Albus drink? I'm just really curious about that right now. Good chapter!!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Moonlight Nightshadow Stag Party

24th January 2015:
I really liked this chapter a lot and it was interesting and I know how Albus felt about clubs and all. I've had anxiety since I was born and still have it. Being in big crowds is never comfortable for me and it was understandable that was how Albus felt. I'd never be comfortable being in one at all haha I even don't like small crowds so as long as I'm by myself or with one or two friends I'm fine. You did a very good job writing this and people really relate to this. Keep up the good work and I can't wait for the next chapter! :P

 Report Review

Review #7, by Ficfan The Verdict

22nd January 2015:
Love this chapter. Especially Draco's rant. I always liked to think that he'd have had something of an epiphany during/after the Battle of Hogwarts, and have become a better person for it. The idea that he may suffer from PTSD too really makes sense. Great writing :-)

Author's Response: I think Draco went through a lot of transformations after the war. As JKR mentioned, he led a quiet life after that and tried to raise his son better than he'd been raised. I think he's one of the characters who would've suffered most from PTSD considering the things he was made to do. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Ficfan Halloween

22nd January 2015:
Hi,

I thought it was about time I left a review, as I've become quite addicted to these stories, staying up well into the early hours reading them on my phone. I've read all the Albus stories and In Moonlight's Shadow, and it's been great seeing how the plots, characters and your writing style have developed since the first one. I think you have a real talent, not to mention dedication, and it's some of the best fanfic I've read.

A couple of niggly points, just because I'm something of a pedant: Firstly, wouldn't they be more likely to be playing the British version of Monopoly, with London place names? Secondly, I'm sure I remember Al receiving a Howler from Ginny after the chicken prank a couple of years back, although I may be wrong. And thirdly, I think you changed Walters' name once or twice and had Al refer to him by a different name. But these are all very minor points (I work as a proofreader, so notice things like that!)

I am hugely enjoying this series, and look forward to reading your other fics too. Keep up the good work! Sorry it's taken me till now to get round to reviewing - I've been too caught up in reading! I'll try to leave at least a couple more, though. Thanks for writing such an enjoyable series!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! I'm so glad you've enjoyed my stories that much.

I know I have a lot of typos and contradictions in my stories, but I don't have the time to go through and fix everything. I'd rather use my free time to write new stuff. I edit everything before I post it, but I don't have another set of eyes look at it. That's what it really needs.

I did ask a few Brits about the Monopoly thing, though! Everyone I asked told me Brits play regular Monopoly. It's very possible Al did receive a howler, but I didn't want to read through all my other fics to see. Hmm, I will have to look back and see what name Al referred to Walter as. That seems odd. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #9, by Liana Stag Party

22nd January 2015:
I think I know how Albus felt in the club. I don't like crowds and I get nauseated and a headache. Then there's smoke and alcohol. Yuck! Really enjoyed this chapter.

Author's Response: I feel the same way! That's why it was so easy to write about. Huh, I'm not sure what the smoking laws are in Britain. I don't even think about that much anymore because New York outlawed smoking in all buildings years ago. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by ngayonatkailanman Stag Party

19th January 2015:
lol. as stag nihgts go, this one was very civil nd proper!

Author's Response: Yes, it was! I didn't want to have to bump up to a mature rating. ;) Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by MargaretLane Stag Party

19th January 2015:
*laughs at Albus's reaction to Teddy and Victoire getting married* I guess it's understandable, but Teddy is what? About nine years older than him?

*laughs* I'm sure Ginny and Harry'd believe that Teddy and James are just going for a steak and a few pints. For a stag night!

*sympathises with Mark and Albus*

Oh dear, I wonder why Al is having panic attacks. Poor boy. Maybe he just has a "thing" about crowds.

This is probably about the shortest review I'll ever give you, but I haven't much to say about this chapter. I hope Al is OK and it was just a one-off and not the first indication he's suffering from some form of anxiety disorder or something.

Author's Response: Yeah, Teddy's quite a bit older. 8 years in this fic. Haha, Ginny and Harry did not believe James, but they're choosing to pretend they did.

Al is fine. He just doesn't like clubs. But since he's Al, he's going to worry about it until he talks to Rose and Matt.

I think it is the shortest review! This chapter didn't push the plot along much, but I have to lay the groundwork for my fics that take place after this series by doing Teddy and Victoire's wedding. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by Alex Stag Party

19th January 2015:
Great chapter! Really funny and the part with Al's panick attack was interesting. Hope you post the next chapter soon.

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed! Next chapter should be up on Monday. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Liana The Cave

18th January 2015:
I was starting to like Elsie and then she had to go and pull this. I wonder who she's helping. I don't think I'd like Christmas at the Burrow. Too many people. I'd get claustrophobic.

 Report Review

Review #14, by Liana The Verdict

18th January 2015:
Yay for Draco. I thought he was going to stick up for Scorpius a little more but he seems to have changed a lot for the better. I figured the Wizengamot would find Boone guilty. If they have someone to blame the murder on they won't look any further for the real murderer.

 Report Review

Review #15, by Liana Breaking Point

18th January 2015:
Poor Matt! I loved that you had his mother step in and order his dad and attorney to get Matt out of testifying. I hope having him stay home for a week won't cause more stress by making Matt think of the work he's missing. Actually I don't have a lot of hope for Boone if the English legal system is anything like the American one. I have no faith in the American legal system.

 Report Review

Review #16, by MargaretLane The Cave

13th January 2015:
Hmm, the title of this chapter is a little unexpected. It's a bit of a change from the previous ones, but I guess now that the trial is over, we are going to move on to something slightly different. I expect it'll all turn out to be connected, but the focus can't really be on Boone so much any more. It'll probably move to getting some information about the real killer.

Rose has said "they'll drag Hugo and I along" and "you can keep Matt and I company." Somehow Rose doesn't seem the kind of person to make a mistake like saying "drag I" instead of "drag me" or "keep I company" rather than "keep me company."

Ugh, Vernon AND Aunt Marge. That sounds like a nightmare of a Christmas. Poor Kaden and Bethany.

Yeah, I can only imagine Molly's reaction if any of her grandkids missed Christmas at the Burrow to remain at school.

Hmm, I'm not at all sure Matt's doing too well. Obviously, he's not going to recover immediately, but the fact he's not telling anybody about why he's leaving class and stuff makes me think he's struggling more than he's letting on. Poor boy.

I've no doubt Elsie's non-appearance has something to do with whatever she was lying about at the trial, but that doesn't really help me. It could go either way. If she's being forced into lying against her will, then she might feel guilty about her part in getting an innocent man sent down and be unable to face Albus, possibly guessing what he would think about her doing that. On the other hand, if her whole personality IS a fake and she is lying for reasons of her own, then she may have been watching Albus for some reason in the lead-up to the trial and now that it's over, she may have no reason to continue doing so. And either way, she may be afraid he'll try and force something out of her. This is more likely if she really is as nervous and shy as she appears, but even if she is a willing participant, she may still feel it best to avoid being around somebody who may ask difficult questions. So it doesn't get me very far.

The way Felix constantly watches over her grants credence to her being forced into doing something, but her behaviour when she didn't realise she was being overheard WAS weird. In real life, I would assume it was just a stress reaction or that she was getting fed up with being forced into doing something she didn't want to. But in fiction, I tend to feel it's got to mean something more. Although the latter option IS a possibility, as it could be a hint that she is about to change allegiances. I doubt it's just being in a bad mood, because I doubt you'd bother showing us the scene unless it meant something more than that.

And now Albus has suggested some of the options. If she IS being forced into it, Felix DEFINITELY wouldn't want her talking to anybody, particularly somebody like Albus and if she's not, she may be being careful about who she speaks to.

I've a feeling Elsie is the pureblood the title refers to.

Yeah, I suspect John and Kaden would be easier to lose than Rose, Amanda or Matt, because they wouldn't particularly care. Matt would want somebody with him because of his anxiety and Rose and Amanda would get suspicious, whereas John and Kaden don't take things so seriously and would probably just think the idea of following people amusing even if they did know he planned to do it.

Hmm, I'm now beginning to suspect Elsie isn't quite as quiet and shy as she makes out. One time getting irritated could be pressure or beginning to realise what she was being made do, but twice when she thinks she's not being watched makes it seem like she's different whenever she and Felix are alone. And the way he is saying he doesn't see the point in it makes it seem her decision.

But this doesn't entirely fit with him collecting her from her classes. I mean, I'm sure it does when you know the truth, but I can't see a connection. That REALLY made it seem like he didn't trust her, whereas here he seems to be doing as she says unquestioningly, indicating he does. There's clearly a LOT that I'm missing.

Ah! This is beginning to fit together. It seems like somebody related to Felix and Elsie is involved in the murder and both want to help him, but have different ideas about how to do so.

And Albus knows where the murderer might hide, but of course, telling people is of limited advantage, since hiding in a cave isn't a crime.

Actually, THAT begs the question of why this person has fled abroad and why they need to hide. They're not being suspected, by the looks of things, so what danger are they in? There's obviously more going on than just the murders.

And I wonder why they want to come back so badly they're willing to live in a CAVE.

I wouldn't go to Dawlish. I still don't 100% trust him, although this makes it seem more likely he's innocent. I think Albus should tell Harry when he goes home for Christmas. If Harry and Dawlish ARE working together, Harry can pass it on to him and if they're not, better Harry has the information. Plus, it would just be safer and easier to give the information to somebody he lives with, as Johnston would be less likely to overhear.

Ah, and he comes to that conclusion himself.

And even once he returns, there is no evidence that we can see of to link him with the murders and the Ministry aren't going to want to investigate as proving their own theory wrong would make them look bad.

The only advantage Albus, Boone and the others have is if this guy is hiding, there must be some REASON for that. It indicates he was suspected of SOMETHING or why run and if he is arrested for whatever he's suspected of, then more might come out.

 Report Review

Review #17, by ngayonatkailanman The Cave

13th January 2015:
Oh dear. More trouble for our intrepid hero who seem to have the knack of getting himself into all sorts of trouble but without this there won't be be any story to write!

 Report Review

Review #18, by HDLM The Cave

12th January 2015:
Holy Monkey Balls, it's getting real intense lol

 Report Review

Review #19, by Arianna The Verdict

12th January 2015:
I feel like I recognize the name Verity Jones from the original books. Is that it or is it a name you made up?

 Report Review

Review #20, by Poppy The Verdict

12th January 2015:
Hi,
I just wanted to let you know that although I don't review most chapters I think they are all brilliant and that you are a brilliant writer. :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by ngayonatkailanman The Verdict

11th January 2015:
Sigh! I am so glad you ended the chapter with exploding snap. Something good just has to happen to Matt. It just has to.

 Report Review

Review #22, by ngayonatkailanman Breaking Point

11th January 2015:
Oh my word. That was a downer. Poor Matt. Poor Boone. Oh dear. Mr Eckerton having to think of leaving. he is right. What would happen without him? Bad enough without Harry and Ron at the Auror Dept.

 Report Review

Review #23, by MargaretLane The Verdict

6th January 2015:
Oooh, the verdict. I am really looking forward to seeing what it is. He SHOULD be found not guilty. The medical evidence was overwhelming. But I'm still not 100% certain he will be.

I don't believe they are finding it hard to study. Matt ALONE would be enough to distract them, I'd think.

Yeah, Lily REALLY doesn't seem the type to gossip about somebody's mental health. I wonder if there is anything significant to her being around so early. I'm assuming it's just a boyfriend, but it could be something more involved.

*cheers for Hagrid intervening*

Scorpius is nasty.

Yikes, Boone's been found guilty. That is utterly ridiculous.

Oh gosh, this is horrific. Not only is Boone being arrested for a crime he didn't commit, but the media are implying it's Matt's fault. I think this is going to affect Matt pretty badly - the combined effect of knowing a werewolf could be arrested for a crime it was physically impossible for him to commit and the lingering doubt he may have contributed to his being found guilty. Of course, his testimony wouldn't have helped. If "he couldn't physically have committed the crime" wasn't enough to have them find him not guilty, then the testimony of a 16 year old boy would hardly help, but still, Matt is bound to wonder "what if?"

This is beginning to sound like Ireland in late 2010. Of course, our Ministers didn't resign due to a disagreement with the Government then; they did so in order to give Ministry experience to more members of the party in order to try and get them a higher profile and lose a few less seats, but then their coalition partner (who hadn't been consulted) refused to accept new Ministers in the place of those who'd resigned. And this was only one of a number of crises.

Yeah, I can DEFINITELY imagine Draco having PTSD. What he went through was horrific - feeling he had to decide whether to commit murder or be killed and have his family killed and then seeing people murdered and tortured in his own home.

Sorry this review is pretty short.

 Report Review

Review #24, by Clark Breaking Point

1st January 2015:
I enjoyed this chapter a lot. One thing I wonder is if news of his panic attack will spread to everyone at Hogwarts.

 Report Review

Review #25, by ginnyREEpotter Breaking Point

31st December 2014:
Aww, poor Matt. Hope starts feeling better. A week off should help.

Sweet banner!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>