Reading Reviews for Feel Again
  
14 Reviews Found

Review #1, by The Mischievous Easter Flitterby Feel Again

30th March 2015:
Hello!

I was floating around the archives, playing in a little breeze, when I suddenly thought I might swing (or swoop) by your page to leave a review! It is nearly Easter, after all, and Easter is quite a nice time for small gifts.

This very simple, very honest snapshot was breathtakingly lovely. You had me feeling remarkably awful for James throughout the majority of this but I adored the way you turned it back around. I think you captured his desperate, semi-conscious fear very well here, especially at the beginning. I would be terrified in his position, if I thought I might never be able to fly again. James grappling to understand the situation was appropriately disorienting and very cleverly done. But what was most wonderful was that the school really grouped together to support James in his time of need. It was so wonderful to read and gave me a wave of gratitude for his school peers.

I think this is a lovely little piece that really captures the spirit of Hogwarts, and you should be very proud of it indeed! Thank you for sharing :)

~ The Mischievous Easter Flitterby xx

 Report Review

Review #2, by Rita Skeeter Feel Again

19th March 2015:
Why hello there my dear!

I'm Rita Skeeter. You may know me from such publications as The Daily Prophet, The Life and Times of Albus Dumbledore, and a few others that I can't quite keep track of. Really, there's so many that sometimes I just forget!

You may be wondering why I'm here on this errr...computer thing, but I've found them quite helpful in digging up dir..I mean looking up information on my latest subjects. Especially since that meddling Hermione Granger found out about me being an illegal animagus.

Oh my! I had no idea that the Potter child was paralyzed. Of course, I was aware he had been injured as they couldn't keep it quiet, but they certainly hushed up the gravity of it. This will make for a nice read as a cover story for The Daily Prophet. I can imagine it now. James Potter And His Road To Recovery.

Now because you've shared such a beautiful, personal story with me, I'd like to share a bit of gossip with you. There was a dual purpose to me stopping here. I'm running a bit of a contest. You see, things aren't always as they seem. If you can guess who my alter ego on the forums is, I will donate E50 in your honor to the HPFF fundraiser. You better hurry though because others have received similar offers and there can only be one winner. You have until March 30th.

Oh and I suppose I should leave you one clue so you can start some digging of your own. Unlike Rita, I have lots of house pride!

Best of Luck!

 Report Review

Review #3, by alicia and anne Feel Again

5th March 2015:
Okay, now I'm sad! Like, really really sad! Poor James! Please tell me that he gets better! PLease!! I'm begging you!

Is he paralysed? :(

Oh, James! I am so proud of the Hufflepuffs for clapping and making it so that James doesn't feel alone. That made me feel so happy inside.

Once again, I really hope that James makes it through this!

As sad as I am that James is going through this, I enjoyed this, because you are so amazing at writing. So I shall forgive you putting James through this :P

Can't wait to read more of your work! :D

 Report Review

Review #4, by MrsJaydeMalfoy Feel Again

11th January 2015:
TANYA!! *Gasps, places hand on heart and dramatically falls to the floor* The Feels! You're killing me with feels!!

First "Waltz", now this. I mean, really?!? Come on now! How are you so versatile and just completely brilliant with EVERYTHING?!?

At first, I thought this was Harry, and told myself "Oh, he's going to be okay, he lives at the end of the series". Then, when it said "James", I thought it was Harry's dad, and again told myself he would be okay, because we know he didn't die from a Quidditch injury. But, when I realized that it was James II, I really started feeling concerned for him, wondering if he would be okay.

You've once again done something I haven't seen done before; a bodily injury that possibly can't be fixed by magic. We know, of course, that magic can't cure EVERYTHING, but a wizard, paralyzed? I'd never even thought of it before, but it makes COMPLETE sense.

And the clapping. I mean, really? Everyone coming together, even the Slytherins, and cheering for him and calling out best wishes... I think it was your intention to get me with the feels tonight, so well done! :P

This was another of your AMAZING pieces, dear, I really loved it!

 Report Review

Review #5, by HeyMrsPotter Feel Again

29th December 2014:
TANYA! I am SUPER behind on the review hot seat but am determined to catch up :p Also, when do I ever need an excuse to be positively green with envy at how amazing your writing is?

How is it possible that even writing a story in 5 hours and not having it proof or beta read you STILL manage to write something so wonderful?!

This is such an adorable snap-shot into next-gen life. Even though James has a terrible accident, it still had this lovely feeling of just every-dayness about it. There's all the elements of a perfect Hogwarts Quidditch match, the competitiveness, the houses rallying together (albeit against Gryffindor but still), the cockiness of James and how it would be an easy defeat. It was so refreshing to read!

I absolutely adored the ending too, a really great link to the House Unity prompt :)

As always, brilliant story, Tanya!

Dee

 Report Review

Review #6, by Ilia Feel Again

15th December 2014:
Hot seat!

Aww! This story is so nice! It's nice to see all the houses come together in unity over James's health. I also think it's really smart that you chose to write about a Quidditch injury, because I feel like the danger of the sport is something many people overlook in writing. I like that you wrote about it because it makes it very real.

Also the way you wrote james's thoughts while he was feeling pain and--if I'm interpreting this correctly--going in and out of consciousness was amazing. The bit about toes and toes and toes will stick with me.

This was a great story and you should be proud!

Ilia (not logged in, sorry.)

 Report Review

Review #7, by marauderfan Feel Again

7th December 2014:
Here's part 2 of your Hufflepuff Gift Tag, since I'm in a Christmassy mood today. :D

What a sweet little story. I loved how you went through everything from his confusion and panic, and the thoughts that his competition was happy to see him off the field, to the wonderfully warm and fuzzy ending where everyone in all four houses are supportive of him and cheering him on as he goes. What a beautiful display of house unity, though sad that it had to show because of such a horrible accident. :(

I love that Lavender is the new healer at Hogwarts! Ahh, that just makes so much sense given what happened to her during the battle. New headcanon!

As I have come to expect from your writing, this is just perfect and you portrayed the emotions and fears and confusion of the immobilized James so well. The first person POV is great too, as the reader's confusion and then realisation perfectly match James' as he figures out what's happening. Sidenote: I'm impressed with how good your writing is from 10pm to 3am. If I try to write anything between those hours, it comes out something like: "ADFajsjfdjjj mdjwoiehfirwheiLOLOLOLOL." So, mad respect.

The only thing I wonder is... what happened to him in the end? Did he ever regain feeling in his limbs? I hope it wasn't a permanent injury! (Someone remind me again why high speed sports on flimsy bits of wood 300 feet in the air is a good idea...?)

Altogether this was such a great story Tanya! I'm so glad I read it! :D

Have some festive snowflakes!
* . * . *
. * . *
* * .

 Report Review

Review #8, by MileyMalfoy Feel Again

12th July 2014:
This is such a moving piece. I love how you take difficult topics and write about them in a way that makes the reader really see what is going on and see the bigger picture. I can't imagine what it would be like to be trapped in your own body and yet, because of this piece, I feel like I can understand where James is coming from and his thoughts. You did a brilliant job characterising him and showing us both the vulnerable and the tough sides of the same boy. I can't believe this was written over the middle of the night in five hours... It is so beautiful. You have done a really awesome job. Random question I know, but is Madam Brown Lavender?

Anyway, like I said. Awesome job!
~ Meg
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Meg, Meg, Meg! Gah, you're so lovely! Seriously, like, you're actually far too kind to me; I can't get over it. :-p

Gah, thank you so much! Is it weird to feel complimented that you called some of my writing topics 'difficult'? hehehe It's always fun to challenge yourself, I say! I'm glad I was able to make you understand James position, especially considering that I've never been in a similar situation myself and was just trying to imagine how it might feel! Yay! Ah, I can't believe how many nice things you're saying, cause YES, it seriously was written during those crazy hours and so very, very quickly! hahaha Have I mentioned before how way too kind you are? :-p Also, yes, Madam Brown is Lavender! When I was deciding who might be running the hospital these days, for some reason Lavender stuck in my mind - like maybe after being attacked so viciously by Greyback, with what I imagine are scars that (due to dark magic) will never fade away, she wanted to go into healing. *shrugs*

Gah, you're so wonderful. Thanks for leaving such a great review, Meg! You're the best! :-D


 Report Review

Review #9, by UnluckyStar57 Feel Again

19th April 2014:
Hoppy Eggstravaganza!! :D

Okay, so as the only person to give Prompt One a go, you're a pioneer! I certainly could not think of anything involving House unity that I could write about, but you blew the prompt out of the water by writing about the unity of ALL the Houses! :D

Wow, the accident was intense! I love how you wrote it from James' perspective, so that when the Bludger hit, all that we knew was his pain. It is limiting to write in first person PoV, but having his thoughts really added to the confusion of the scene that you created. That's pretty brilliant!

Yes, James was in a terrible accident, but the most important thing about this story is, in my opinion, the end. All of the students were looking at James and he was thinking that they were glad to see him go, but he was proved otherwise. Their cheers were because they admired him and wished him well in his recovery. That's a really powerful moment of inter-House unity, which is what HPFF is really all about. :)

Oh, psssh. Your grammar/spelling/sentence structure were perfect. There's no need to fret! I had to rush to finish my entry too, because I was worried about the queue. But we made it, and go Team Luna Diggory! :D

~UnluckyStar57

 Report Review

Review #10, by TidalDragon Feel Again

19th April 2014:
Howdy! You are my last stop on my quest to R&R all the Eggstravaganza entries! Don't worry! It's only because I went in order on the list.

At any rate, this was a dramatic take on the usually light-hearted subject of Quidditch. Throughout the books we usually get the idea that Quidditch is this delightful interlude, yes it's dangerous, but nothing bad has happened in FOREVER. And now James (II) might be paralyzed! Great story to bring the relative brutality and danger of the sport home!

I also thought your descriptions and word choice were very well done. James (II)'s sensations (or lack thereof) and emotions were well written and you chose strong language and phrasing patterns that had a powerful impact.

The scene at the end was also very touching. What's more, it really brings home the point that the world has changed and there is more house unity going on these days with the Slytherin foes clapping as well.

Excellent!

Author's Response: Hey there, TidalDragon! Wow, wow! Thank you so much for not only leaving me this wonderful review, but for also going around to all the others who wrote stories for the Eggstravaganza! That's incredibly kind of you and I'm certain you made a handful of people very, very happy! :)

Too true! Most of the drama that comes with Quidditch is related to winning the game itself, and even with the few injuries that have occurred, they've all been easy enough fixes! This was my first attempt at anything Quidditch related at all, and I thought it would be interesting to talk about another side to it all; that it's not all glory and hard-work and competition - there are real dangers present. I'm so happy you enjoyed my take on it all!

Ah, thank you! That's always wonderful to hear (especially on a story that I had to write so quickly and at a such a late hour)! I was extremely worried about the quality of writing in this piece and feel like I lost some perspective on it due to how quickly it was thrown together, so I'm just thrilled to hear that my choices still managed to resonate with readers - especially in regards to the story having a powerful impact! I really appreciate you saying that! Phew!

This really means a lot to me, hearing that. I struggled with the ending and was honestly very nervous that it wasn't going to come across the way I meant for it to at all, but your comments really reassured me!

This is such a kind review and I appreciate it so much. Thank you for taking the time to leave one for myself and everyone else who entered the competition; very generous of you! Thank you, thank you, thank you! *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #11, by keyty Feel Again

19th April 2014:
This is not awful at all! It's so good! Especially since it wasn't even proofread -I didn't catch any mistakes at all. But I love this concept. And I love that you went with house unity! I couldn't think of anything so I just went with the third prompt :P But this is so great. It's so real. I love that it's in first person, I don't think third would have worked at all. Because he feels so alienated and confused, and the amount of information we get, as well as he, is so limited. But it works because it makes everything so frightening, is he going to be okay? Will he ever feel his legs again?

I also think it's interesting that everyone was against his team, that everyone wanted him to lose. Why is that? I like that they were rooting for Slytherin because that means that they redeemed themselves in terms of being a house full of (primarily) jerks. So that's good too.
I wasn't sure how you were going to relate it to house unity but I just loved it when they started clapping. I have to say I teared up a bit. It's so scary to be wheeled away in front of your whole school (I speak from experience here... *shivers*) and the fact that they put their differences aside is so heart warming. I wasn't sure how much time had passed but when you said the Slytherins were still in uniform I knew very little time must have passed. The footsteps must have been them returning from the pitch. But I just love that everyone got together to reassure and support him. It's just so sweet! You did a great job. If this is how you write in the middle of the night, I'm kind of afraid to read what you write midday. Because it must be absolutely brilliant. :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Veritaserum27 Feel Again

19th April 2014:
Hi Tanya,

While reading this all I could think about is our own Huffleclaw/Ravenpuff unity and the way we have come together the past few days with our Quidditch match (searcing for the snitch AND the game thread). Also, our unification with the Easter egg hunt and, of course the reveiw battle (and reading and reviewing each other's stories). Great job with your imagery. I felt trapped along with James and I felt lifted along with him as he was being cheered on by the whole school! Thank you for writing this.

Beth

Author's Response: Hi Beth!

Aww, that's too sweet! I completely agree and had such a blast teaming up with some of the Claws! It's always nice to see opposing Houses come together, both in real life and in a story! Ooo, imagery - what a great compliment! Thank you! And I'm so happy that the way I wrote this - with its limited perspective - allowed for you to feel as trapped as James did! I'm ecstatic that that came across how I intended! And yay for feeling lifted by the ending as well! I struggled the most with that part, I think, so it's wonderful to hear people were warmed by it!

Thank you so much for this lovely review; you're just the sweetest!

Tanya ^.^


 Report Review

Review #13, by Panda Weasley  Feel Again

18th April 2014:
Tanya, I don't see what you've been talking about. I thought it was actually really good! I especially like the part with Lavender being the school nurse. Great job!
~Panda

Author's Response: LOL! Aww, well thank you, Panda! I'm very happy to hear that! I get very in my head and anxious each time I write a new story, and this one was particularly nerve-wracking due to the late hour and last minute time-frame I wrote it all in! I'm glad you still found it good; that's very reassuring to hear I didn't completely botch it! hehehe And I'm glad you liked seeing Lavender as the nurse! I just had this idea while writing it that maybe after being so viciously attacked during the war, Lavender would come out of it with the desire to help heal as many people as she could, and school nurse just seemed fitting! ^.^

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review! I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Tanya :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by luvinpadfoot Feel Again

18th April 2014:
Hi! Here with that review. :)

For starters, I think you kept the story in the moment very well. It's a hard thing to do without confusing the reader or having chunky explanation paragraphs, but you straddled the line really well! I was never lost to the point that it was difficult to keep up, but you showed without telling. It all seemed like a realistic thought process for James.

The only thing that did seem out of place was the line that everyone was against him. Perhaps I missed something, but I didn't notice a reason for that? I understand Slytherin, of course, but not the other two. A brief explanation, even a line, might help clarify that a bit and give it a purpose in the story other than a plot point.

Two parts really stuck out to me. One was the beginning, just wow. Those first four lines were brilliant and instantly drew me in. "There. Right there." Utter brilliance, really. I love that line. It was such a perfect way to start the story.

The other was James's rambling line. "Something cracked and there was pain, unbearable pain, and there were cries and there was falling and fading and toes, and toes, and wiggle your toes, and I cannot." There was just something about it that flowed so well and fit with the story. I think I read that line about three times before continuing on. I can't exactly say why, but something about it is so moving.

I'll admit, the ending made me tear up a bit. It's so sweet and a little bit sappy, but only good sappy. It's such a hopeful end and I just adore it!

This whole story was lovely and wonderful! There was nothing at all awful about it. You definitely earned those extra points. :)

Author's Response: Hi, hi, hi! Thank you so much for the review! It's so nice to have some feedback on it! I'm always so panicky when posting new fics, and this one in particular was nerve-wracking because of how quickly it had to be written! hehehe This is exactly the type of review I needed - you're fabulous; thank you so much! *hugs*

Phew! Well that's great to hear! I'm pretty inexperienced with this sort of writing, so I'm relieved to hear I handled it alright! I tend to avoid all mystery, too, because of exactly what you said: finding that balance between giving the readers enough so they can follow along, without giving so much away that they know what's happening before you want them to. I was mostly afraid people would get lost, so I'm glad you could follow along! Yay! ^.^

Ah, I see what you mean! I know what I -tried- to do, but it must not have worked how I planned. :-p This paragraph here: "Today was meant to be so simple; just defeat Slytherin and take a heavy lead in both the Quidditch and House Cups. I'd been so certain that we would, too. It had been easy to ignore the fact that all the other Houses were rooting desperately against us, against me, because all that had mattered was guiding my team to victory and taking that comfortable lead." was meant to sort of allude to the fact that the other Houses were against Gryffindor because if they won the game, they would take a hefty lead against the other Houses - so it wasn't so much that they were against James as a person, but his team (though he was the Captain, but I should have written that... I did originally, but it was an awful sentence, so I deleted it, LOL). I can definitely make that clearer in an edit, though! Thank you for pointing it out; I'll work with it as soon as I get the chance! (I can't believe this is the only critique! *dies*)

*squee* Yay! Beginning are so important to me, and I'm just thrilled you like what I did with the opening here!

*double squee* That was actually part of the story I struggled the most with, so this is so wonderful to hear! I knew what needed to be said, but was having trouble saying it, and then finally this line came out! I'm so happy it was worth the extra time I took to sort it out! :-D

Aww, it did? *hugs* That's so wonderful to hear. Other than the section I mentioned above, the ending was the other part I struggled with. I'm really pleased and touched that it moved you, as it was about 2am when I was pulling that part together and was really unsure if it was going to land the way I intended for it to!

YOU are just lovely and wonderful! Gah! Thank you so, so much for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful review; I endlessly appreciate it! *hugs*


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login